Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 485 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

485 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

485 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
331
4 stars
87
3 stars
13
2 stars
10
1 stars
44
1-20 of 367 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 367 total reviews
1-20 of 367 reviews
Pretty good
6/3/2009

Customer review by classicgamer

4.0 stars 6/3/2009 by classicgamer
by classicgamer

This router was very easy to set up. It did not come with any networking software which was good because it is not needed. Step by step on screen instructions were very precise and easy to follow. Had it up and running with my laptop, PDA, iPod Touch all connected and online. Set up for printer sharing took about two (2) seconds. I did that with Vista if you can believe that. It's true.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
classicgamer
Charlotte. N.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Netgear Wireless Router
8/20/2011

Customer review by smartypants17

5.0 stars 8/20/2011 by smartypants17
by smartypants17

I bought this router over others because of the brand, great price, and good reviews. It was very easy to setup it took only about 10 minutes! It works just as expected and has a really long range. The router was in the bedroom on one end of our house and i walked all the way around the outside of our large house on an iPod video chatting with the Skype app and it worked really well all the way around. I've had it for 4 days now and it hasn't disappointed me yet! :)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
smartypants17
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/6/2010

Customer review by Jetbert

5.0 stars 5/6/2010 by Jetbert
by Jetbert

Great product. Very easy to set up. I was able to connect it to a cable modem with the supplied cable, and then to my PC with a cat 5 cable. Once that worked I set up a Canon wireless printer (MP560) and my Acer Aspire One using the secure wireless setup.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jetbert
Paola, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Netgear wireless router
4/18/2011

Customer review by Fighterjock

5.0 stars 4/18/2011 by Fighterjock
by Fighterjock

A good router, but I don't know enough about routers to configure this one where it will work with another computer that needs a wireless connection. Connected to another computer with an ethernet cable it works great, but wireless I need some help. Too many terms I'm not familiar with.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fighterjock
Jackson, Ms.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better Than Linksys and Belkin
3/31/2010

Customer review by ALH1991

5.0 stars 3/31/2010 by ALH1991
by ALH1991

It seems alot of off-brand products are underated, this is a GREAT product. It took me 5 minutes to install, set up the security and get online. The range on it believe it or not, goes about 300-400 feet away from the house until it cuts off. And that's going through 3 interior walls plus brick. I'm glad it has the security feature on it, otherwise I'd worry about the neighbors getting on my service. One more thing I'd like to make clear, because I had trouble finding an answer. THIS WILL WORK ON WINDOWS 7. I have 64 bit Windows 7 and it installed and worked with no problems whatsoever. Overall this is an amazing product for the price. And I've owned both a Linksys and Belkin wireless router before. Also, when I did a speed test on a laptop wirelessly on a reliable site after installing, it had no problem keeping up with my internet service, it didn't slow down whatsoever.

Was this review helpful? (32) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ALH1991
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Router (once you tweak it)
11/23/2010

Customer review by MikeinNC

4.0 stars 11/23/2010 by MikeinNC
by MikeinNC

I bought this wireless router to replace one (Belkin G) that quit broadcasting it's wireless signal. The initial setup went well using my desktop PC to setup the router. I did not use the setup CD as I am a PC tech and I figured I could set it up without the media. I normally prefer to setup wireless routers so the SSID (device name) is not broadcast as a security measure. I was able to do this as well as set my preferred IP address scheme for my home network. All went well until I fired up my laptop and attempted to connect it wirelessly to my internet connection. No matter what I did, I could not get the laptop to solidly acquire the wireless signal and keep it connected. Long story short, after mucking about with various setups on the router, I discovered I had to assign the wireless channel on the device (#9 for me) before my laptop would connect and hold the signal. Apparently the Auto Channel setting was not going to work for me. I use WPA2 / PSK with AES encryption and a non-broadcast SSID. All seems to be working in concert now. Very happy at last.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MikeinNC
Fayetteville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very satisfied sketptical!
1/30/2013

Customer review by 1skepticalbuyer

5.0 stars 1/30/2013 by 1skepticalbuyer
by 1skepticalbuyer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

i must say, i was very skeptical when i bought this item online, because it was only $25. in fact, i was so skeptical, that after i picked up my item,(which i have bought online to pick up at the store) before heading home i ended up going to the computer section and bought another router that was $80... because i had very little Faith on the $25 router i had bought. the reason why i decided to buy the expensive one, is because i watch a lot of Nextflix and i did not think this router was going to give me the quality of streaming i was aiming for. long story short, i went home, unwrapped and hooked up the router, i called their customer service to walk me through the installation, it was a breeze and i was online in no time. this little router performs very well even when both, my wife and I happen to be surfing the net at the same time. needless to say, the next day i went back to the store and returned my $80 router, because my WGR614, is here to stay.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1skepticalbuyer
dunwoody, ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great with Wii !!
1/1/2010

Customer review by audiophan

5.0 stars 1/1/2010 by audiophan
by audiophan

My operating system: Windows XP Home Broadband cable modem. Nintendo Wii Netgear WGR614 v9 (version 9) For those who are not familiar with installing wireless broadband routers, remember to first disable your Windows firewall (and remember to reactivate it when you are done). I forgot to do this my first try and I had to start all over again. And, after inserting the installation disk into your CD-drive, follow the instructions and do not take any shortcuts unless you know what you are doing. Remember to save your settings, including network type and passwords, as you'll need them to get online with your Wii - which will ask you for this information.

Was this review helpful? (157) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
audiophan
north of Boston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Works w/ Vista !!!
6/11/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/11/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Bought 2 HP machines w/ Vista Home Prem. 32 bit but my old Linksys would not "hook up" with either machine (one wired; one wireless) running Vista. Replaced with the WGR614 and now have wired 1 machine Vista, 1 machine XP, 1 machine Windows 2000 and wireless 1 machine Vista and 2 laptops running XP and all work great! Laptops and Vista desktop is on top floor and router is in the basement; no problem. I worked for hours trying to get the old WRTP54 Linksys to work w/ Vista w/ no luck. I usually don't write reviews but I had to write this one! Buy one ... great price!!

Was this review helpful? (88) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Jersey Shore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top Router for the Money
9/27/2011

Customer review by HawksterPhone

5.0 stars 9/27/2011 by HawksterPhone
by HawksterPhone

I have bought 3 of these Routers and installed them for customers. The setup is simple, I never use the setup disc, I just change the sittings myself. This Router has very good range even going up or down a floor. It uses wireless G so you could get interference from other products operating in the 2.4 GHz band like a microwave, but this has been rare for me, like all Routers at some time or another you will have to cycle power on it if the wireless stops working ALL routers have this happen from time to time, but it should not happen more than once a month at the most. A lot of people buy wireless N Routers that have the higher data transfer rate, but most of the time your products will still be using the wireless G, Your not going to get more than about 22-24 Mbps wireless data transfer over the internet, but that's about the max for cable internet anyway. As far as Range goes the G (2.4 GHZ)is better for longer distances than N (5 GHZ) Stick with G for now unless you have major interference problems.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HawksterPhone
Clarksville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/30/2009

Customer review by smkids1

5.0 stars 12/30/2009 by smkids1
by smkids1

This works great for the price. I have the Xbox live hooked up in one room on one end of the house, then I have my laptop all over the house, plus my computer is connected in another room! I just love this router and I wish I would have gotten one sooner! Easy installation with step by step directions.

Was this review helpful? (36) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
smkids1
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great Product!
9/2/2009

Customer review by miguelx

5.0 stars 9/2/2009 by miguelx
by miguelx

I had to return a Belkin G that didn't work so I decided to try this one instead. Am I glad I did! This thing was a breeze to set up and works great! I get 5 bars anywhere in my house, upstairs or downstairs. It always stays cool to the touch so I'm hoping it'll last a long time. This product works as advertised, buy it!

Was this review helpful? (32) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
miguelx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does what it states
10/16/2009

Customer review by eduardostewart

5.0 stars 10/16/2009 by eduardostewart
by eduardostewart

Great product, IT at work recommended it. He had it for 4 years and still works. I just put it in and it took a whopping 5-10 minutes. Computer is on second floor and PS3 is on first and I get 92% connectivity, and as a bonus my iPhone connects as well.

Was this review helpful? (168) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eduardostewart
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
"Great router"
10/17/2010

Customer review by dan813

5.0 stars 10/17/2010 by dan813
by dan813

VERRY ESAY SET UP TOOK ME ABOUT 5MIN. TO INSTALL..IF YOU ARE ON THE FENCE ABOUT IT TRUST ME WELL WORTH THE MONEY. TILL THIS DAY I HAVE HAD NO ISSUES WITH IT. I GOT MY PS3,WII, IPOD AND LAPTOP ALL WORKING WITH IT AND ITS ALSO VERRY FAST. BUY IT.

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dan813
TAMPA,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Speed surprise!
12/7/2011

Customer review by xrilander

5.0 stars 12/7/2011 by xrilander
by xrilander

Purchased the version 10 model, which also had the latest firmware installed. Imagine my surprise to find my laptop running at "N" speed! I thought this was just a "G" router, but a little investigation uncovered the latest firmware supported N speed. And this was the simplest wireless router I ever set up. I didn`t use the disk supplied, just followed the manual installation procedure. Hook up your router but DO NOT power up. Unplug your modem, wait a minute plug back in. Then power up the router. Turn on your computer and click on the wireless connection. Find the Netgear router and hit connect. It will ask for the 8 digit security code on the bottom of the router. Once that is punched in it should automatically set itself up, security included. Once all lights turn green, your online. Type in www.routersetup.net which will take you to the user interface. It will automatically check for the latest firmware, and install it if need be. Then you can change your password, and security code to your liking. Your done!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
xrilander
Kingman, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/7/2009

Customer review by Kagemulo

5.0 stars 9/7/2009 by Kagemulo
by Kagemulo

I found this prodct at my local walmart on sale for $37. Extremely easy to set it up and I'm very pleased with the results. I can connect my laptop and Iphone in the basement, even outside in the deck with no problems - the signal is strong. By the way, I use verizon DSL. I'm very much pleased with the results.

Was this review helpful? (95) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kagemulo
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect for Wii/PS3/Laptops
2/19/2009

Customer review by cptndoll

5.0 stars 2/19/2009 by cptndoll
by cptndoll

I got this to network my dsl thru-out the house. After 15 min, the Wii, the PS3 (in the other room) were able to be set-up for wireless internet connection. My laptop will browse anywhere in the house and this router exceeded my expectations. 100% satisfied, very easy. Before you touch any wires, just put the disk in, (or download the software) and in minutes the step by step guide has you smiling. Worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cptndoll
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
How easy!
11/28/2011

Customer review by jmitchell0513

5.0 stars 11/28/2011 by jmitchell0513
by jmitchell0513

I have a Dell laptop and when I ordered my computer from the manufacturer they asked if I was interested in a router, I said yes, and they sent me a Linksys system that was extremely complicated to set up. After hours on the phone with tech support, I finally got the Linksys system working. Well, that lasted about three days and then it never would work after! I was on the phone with Dell, Linksys and my DSL provider and they all said it was someone else's problem and that their equipment was working fine! Needless to say, I literally threw the $60 router in the trash, which is where it needed to go! Well, I gave up for a few months and decided to start looking for another brand. I came across this router and it had a very high rating and the reviews that I read said it was very easy to install. So, I tried it out! I was installed in less than ten minutes and it works perfectly! I have an iPad and a Kindle running off of it along with the computer and it has not failed me yet! For the money this was GREAT! I am totally satisfied!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jmitchell0513
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works like a charm
10/9/2007

Customer review by Josh324

5.0 stars 10/9/2007 by Josh324
by Josh324

Had for a couple years now, never had any problems with it, easy to setup and gives out good signal. Easy to secure as well. All you have to do is follow the instructions.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Josh324
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Great value
10/2/2008

Customer review by LMAnLa

4.0 stars 10/2/2008 by LMAnLa
by LMAnLa

I just got this 2 days ago. It works great so far. I can go anywhere in my 2200 SF house with my laptop and get the wireless signal. There is no interference with phones, microwaves, etc. I am also pleased with the speed. The set up process was easy-the CD gives you very specific instructions and illustrations. I would recommend having your DNS address handy-because you will need to type it in. You can get it from your ISP. Also make sure in your connection settings, the same address is typed in. Once hooked up, you no longer have to dial in for a DSL connection. Just open your browser. To use a laptop, just turn on the wifi and it should find the signal and ask you for the passphrase you created when activating the router. Then you are good to go. The price for this router was much better than the others I looked at and there doesnt seem to be any reason for it yet. Overall, a good purchase that has made my life much easier!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LMAnLa
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 367 total reviews
1-20 of 367 reviews