Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 53 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

53 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

53 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
36
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 stars
3
1-20 of 47 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 47 total reviews
1-20 of 47 reviews
Oh so nice.
4/28/2013

Customer review by Riggs1573

5.0 stars 4/28/2013 by Riggs1573
by Riggs1573

What we spent on chemicals last year would have paid for this salt water system alone not to mention the gas to go get the supplies. If I'd had know it would be this easy I would have gotten it last year.

Was this review helpful? (55) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Riggs1573
Nauvoo, Al.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LOVE IT
5/14/2013

Customer review by 2005kd

5.0 stars 5/14/2013 by 2005kd
by 2005kd

I have a 12 x 30 Intex metal frame pool, I was concerned about the pump outflow would not be enough to work with this filter but it has been working great. No problems! I used this pool last year with chlorine and all the other chemicals and I am very happy with the saltwater it is less work. I read many reviews before switching and many people said they would NEVER go back to regular pool chemicals and I am one of them too.

Was this review helpful? (57) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2005kd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works perfect!
6/10/2013

Customer review by Customer1892938147

5.0 stars 6/10/2013 by Customer1892938147
by Customer1892938147

Was a little worried about this salt water system from reading some of the other reviews. But it arrived with all the parts, connected easy, and had clear instructions. Bought 160 lbs of pool salt from Home Depot - Four 40lbs bags at about $7 each. Only needed 120 lbs, but realized that salt will be lost due to draining water from rain buildup in the pool. The salt takes about a day to dissolve completely, but I started the system after about 10 hours when it appeared nearly all the salt had dissolved. Pushing the salt around with a broom helps dissolve it quicker. Once started, it started making chlorine right away. The chlorine can be seen coming off the grid like smoke in the water. Did not get any error codes. I'm using this system with the 16' x 4' Intex pool. I like the timer feature, and that it works with the timer on the pump. Built a small platform 2'x3' from pressure treated lumber to keep the salt system and pump/filter off the grass. There are holes in the base so the unit can be screwed down #pump too# so this keeps both units secure and out of the grass, and easy to move when mowing the lawn. Its doing what its supposed to do, so I have no complaints.

Was this review helpful? (51) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Customer1892938147
North West New Jersey.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good system for the price, easy to install.
5/12/2013

Customer review by rjamess

4.0 stars 5/12/2013 by rjamess
by rjamess

The system works great and saves a lot of money over chemically treated pools. Comes with a 2 year warranty, save your receipt just in case.

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rjamess
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cleaned a green pool to a krystal clear pool
6/29/2013

Customer review by cool2bgrandma

5.0 stars 6/29/2013 by cool2bgrandma
by cool2bgrandma

The granddaughters wanted the pool set up before it was really time, but somehow they talked me into it. Then we decided to order the salt filtration system instead of using the chemicals this year to see if it would 'really' work. While we waited for the system to arrive, #about a week# then finding out we needed optional part B and waited another 2 weeks to get that, the pool turned green and slimy! I was afraid to add any shock to it, not knowing if that would affect the salt system once we were able to hook it up. To my amazement, the green slime disappeared, and even the slimy sides of the pool were cleaned up by this filtration system. I ran the system for 3 days to get rid of it, but it was well worth the wait. Now I run the system every other day for 3-4 hours and so far, it has maintained the beautiful water! The 16' easy set pool is krystal clear. I would definitely recommend this system. It's the best!!

Was this review helpful? (28) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cool2bgrandma
northeast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
maybe quality product, def. not a quality company
6/26/2013

Customer review by 12footpool

2.0 stars 6/26/2013 by 12footpool
by 12footpool

ordered online from Walmart. received in just a couple days. Was looking forward to hooking it up. It was missing a part, an adapter to hook up to the filter. The packaging says it is included. the manual says 'depending on what filter you have, you may not need this part'. my suspicion leads me to believe they stopped including this part to save a little dough and didn't bother saying so on the box, or the manual, etc. Other reviews on other sites have listed the same missing part. So I call the 800 number provided for missing parts and technical support. The person BARELY spoke English and we had a real difficult time having a discussion. I now have to track down my walmart order info, send off an email, wait for their confirmation, then wait for them to ship me the part. once it comes in and all is hooked up, the product may work like it is suppose to. By then, the whole ordeal makes me feel like we are living in the 18th century. Bottom line, stay away from Intex products if you can.

Was this review helpful? (17) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
12footpool
virigina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
6/10/2013

Customer review by pick1000

5.0 stars 6/10/2013 by pick1000
by pick1000

I have had it for three weeks and so far no complaints. I love that the tree frogs now stay out of the pool, therefore no more tadpole eggs. We have had rain on and off for 2 weeks and the pool is still crystal clear with on added salt. With the chemicals I would have to add more and fight algae.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pick1000
Hamptonville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Saltwater pools are the way to go, but...
7/19/2013

Customer review by LilWiz83

2.0 stars 7/19/2013 by LilWiz83
by LilWiz83

I actually wrote a review on this just a couple days ago saying it is a wonderful product. BUT... Now it doesn't work, if you can believe that! Power went out yesterday while I was at work and came home, turned the reset button back on and nothing, so I have no idea what happen to it, tried everything. Just filed a claim and hopefully they get me the replacement part ASAP. While it worked though it was good. Saltwater systems are the way to go with any pool these days, so easy and virtually maintenance free.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LilWiz83
Paragould, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fantastic value for any pool
6/23/2013

Customer review by Cee64E

5.0 stars 6/23/2013 by Cee64E
by Cee64E

I bought one of these this past fall just so I'd be ready to open the pool by memorial day. My pool, an Intex metal frame 15' by 48", sat uncovered all winter. It was as green as pea soup. I combined this with the Intex 1600gph sand filter and topped off my pool. I added the specified amount of salt, gave the salt a couple of days to dissolve, and tuned it on. It beeped and went right to work. I put it in boost mode and left it and the filter running. In less than a week, my green pool was as clear as crystal. All I had to do was vacuum the pool to get any debris off the bottom. I've had this in operation about 8 hours a day since then. My water has stayed crystal clear with just the right chlorine levels and not one bit of algae, something I had a real problem with last year. It has been running without issue since I installed it. Some points to address. You -must- allow time for the salt to properly dissolve. The manual tells you how much salt to use. I gave my pool a good two days with the pump running and going out a couple of times to stir the water with a canoe paddle. You can use water softener pellets if you want to save a few bucks but they will take longer to dissolve. If you turn it on before the salt is dissolved it will tell you there isn't enough. If you KNOW you added enough, don't add more just yet. Give it a day or two then try again. It's much easier to add salt than it is to remove it (you have to drain off some water and refill) If you add too much it will throw an error code. When I got my unit there was some cosmetic damage from rough handling. This has not prevented it from working but the packaging inside the box could have been better. Check yours before you leave the store. The small gray box in the picture is the transformer and it's quite heavy. The mounting lugs on mine were broken. The wiring runs through the base and was unaffected. This needs to be installed on a small base for best operation. I built a small plywood box to hold my saltwater unit and my filter pump then bolted both down with big screws through the molded in holes. This unit hooked right up to the Intex Sand Filter I bought like they were made for each other.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cee64E
Dayton Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easiest system you will ever use!
5/26/2014

Customer review by AG025

5.0 stars 5/26/2014 by AG025
by AG025

This is an excellent product....I set this up in about 10 min. Followed the instructions and let it run for 24 hrs, then tested the water and it was perfect. You will never use the old clorine system again after getting this...Highly recommended!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AG025
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Greatest thing since sliced bread!
6/8/2014

Customer review by SaulsFamily

5.0 stars 6/8/2014 by SaulsFamily
by SaulsFamily

I love this thing! We paired it with a sand filter just so we didn't have to use filter cartridges anymore. Let me say our pool was a green color when we set it up and it only took two days to clear it up and make it better than ever! We had to nothing more than add the salt, hook up the filter and the saltwater system and turn everything on. No more having to balance the chemicals, buy chlorine tablets, algaecide, filters, or shock! I recommend EVERY person with a pool buy this system. The ease of use is so awesome. It turns on the same time every day and does its thing and turns off without me having to do a thing. The start-up with buying the system AND the sand filter was a little pricey but the time and money saved in the long run well outweighs the initial costs. The salt and the sand are super inexpensive and the start-up salt will last us until the end of the summer at least. In addition, the saltwater in the pool doesn't burn/sting your eyes when you open them under the water and there is no powerful chlorine/bleach smell.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SaulsFamily
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great setup for busy lives!
6/15/2013

Customer review by Knickerbill

5.0 stars 6/15/2013 by Knickerbill
by Knickerbill

My pool has never been so clear, I think it works great and was easy to setup. I basically check it every couple of days and the water is crystal clear, great product.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Knickerbill
Red Bank
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Needs very little maintenance and works great!!
8/22/2013

Customer review by newlaptoplaura

5.0 stars 8/22/2013 by newlaptoplaura
by newlaptoplaura

I am extremely happy with this system. About once a month I clean the cell with white vinegar. Have added 1 1/2 bags of salt for a total of 4 bags (bags are $6 each) this summer. Very cost efficient. The pool water has been sparkling clean. Just be sure to check that it is running for the time it says for your pool size and your good to go.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
newlaptoplaura
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT VALUE
5/26/2014

Customer review by evenguard

5.0 stars 5/26/2014 by evenguard
by evenguard

BUY FROM ON-LINE AND SAVE $50 FROM STORE PRICE. easy to set up and run working fine

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
evenguard
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
On my second unit
5/30/2014

Customer review by SimonMTL

4.0 stars 5/30/2014 by SimonMTL
by SimonMTL

I bought a Intex saltwater system 5 years ago, and it has been great. I stored the unit outdoors in our shed this winter, one of the harshest Canadian winters we've had in years. I didn't think it would make a difference, I had done so in the last 2 winters without a hiccup. Well, this spring when I went to turn it on, it was dead. Lesson learned! So I just bought another one - I love having a saltwater system, it's just so simple! No more tests to do, no more chemicals to handle, and a whole lot cheaper to operate... I will be a lot more careful with this one, promise!! Well recommended... Used on a full-sized pool with real connectors.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SimonMTL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pleased with product
7/19/2013

Customer review by BigOrangeVolsTN

5.0 stars 7/19/2013 by BigOrangeVolsTN
by BigOrangeVolsTN

Was glad to receive this product after our unit we purchased back in April 2012 burned up. We tried to get a replacement part -- an electrolytic cell from Intex, but the people spoke poor English with a heavy Chinese accent. We waited three weeks, so I ordered a new unit from Walmart. What was funny, the Intex company must not have been able to get the back ordered part in stock and sent a whole new unit for free! Now we have two! We decided to put the other one in storage as a back-up. The unit from Walmart works very well and produced the needed chlorine from the salt that the pool needed. Now if only the rain would let up more often so we could enjoy the pool! This has been a summer with little chances to get in the pool -- too much heavy rain and dangerous lightening to be out in it. But it is better than a drought which is what we had last summer!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigOrangeVolsTN
East Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product, works as advertised.
5/28/2014

Customer review by Tlitbhw

5.0 stars 5/28/2014 by Tlitbhw
by Tlitbhw

The product arrived on time, exactly when Walmart said it would arrive. The salt chlorinator was easy to set up, because the instructions were well written in clear and understandable language. The instructions were written in both English and Spanish. I appreciated that all of the necessary hose adapters were included in the box The salt chlorinator also appears to be maintenance free but I have only had a few days. Finally I really like the fact that I will not have to deal with using Chlorine tablets or chemicals for periodically shocking the pool. Finally a maintenance free pool!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tlitbhw
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great set up, crystal clear water
5/11/2014

Customer review by floridasunshinemom

5.0 stars 5/11/2014 by floridasunshinemom
by floridasunshinemom

we purchased the intex saltwater system with our last 18' pool, after years of good service from both, purchased another pool and saltwater system, running it the desired length of time, crystal clear water, easy on the eyes and skin. Be sure to complete the monthly maintenance on the salt water system recommended by the company, will keep the copper clean and working properly.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
floridasunshinemom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy... if you read the instructions
7/25/2013

Customer review by Tekodda108

5.0 stars 7/25/2013 by Tekodda108
by Tekodda108

It was easy to set up the saltwater system next to the pump that came with my 18'x48' inflatable pool, so easy I didn't bother to read all the instructions so at first I got too much salt into the pool and had to drain some water to get it balanced right. Now the Saltwater system works great--with the right balance of salt the water stays clear and pleasant although the floor and walls get slimy. I don't like that. Even so, I like it better than chlorine so I just use a couple of cloths and wipe it down. I do advise reading the instructions as it also makes you appreciate what a good, simple, practical system this is. It has a timer, a booster, alerts for too much or too little salt. I am disappointed about the slime, but maybe if I read more instructions i would find a solution for that too!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tekodda108
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Working good so far!
7/17/2013

Customer review by NONONONONONNO

5.0 stars 7/17/2013 by NONONONONONNO
by NONONONONONNO

My only suggestion is that Intex and other pool companies like them make your pool hoses and such interchangeable! I have a Summer Escapes pool and bought this saltwater system, but it's a pain buying extra stuff trying to fit the pump from Summer Escapes with this system.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NONONONONONNO
Paragould, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 47 total reviews
1-20 of 47 reviews