Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 35 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

35 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

35 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
29
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 30 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 30 total reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews
An American Classic
3/20/2008

Customer review by narvi

5.0 stars 3/20/2008 by narvi
by narvi

Spencer's Mountian is a picture of all that is best about America. The story of a family struggling to provide a better life for the next generation. A snapshot of a family whose story gives us glimpses of four generations, from the first settlers in a sod hut fo modern times striving to gain the gift of an education for the first generation to graduate high school and reach for college. This story was the inspiration for the television series The Walton's, and in my opinion a much better story for being closer to the truth. Henry Fonda and Maureen O'Hara provide the backbone of a family that is truly All American.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
narvi
Coatesville, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Walmart associate
Simply the Best!
1/11/2012

Customer review by TFee

5.0 stars 1/11/2012 by TFee
by TFee

I am an old movie buff and Spencer's Mountain has always been one of my favorites. My Mom and I would sit up late sometimes and watch old musicals and movies together and I guess her passion spilled over to me. Movies like this intrigue me because there was an actual movie plot without a bunch of swearing and killing. It was about a family working hard together, survival and loving each other. What could be better than that? It also has some great stars in it as well.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TFee
Seymour, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great classic!
7/29/2011

Customer review by tdmanl1

5.0 stars 7/29/2011 by tdmanl1
by tdmanl1

While the concept for the television series The Waltons was based on this movie you should not allow your younger children to enjoy it! Lots of sexual innuendo for a movie of it's period and strong religious beliefs are debated. For the adults however it is an excellent movie that addresses many values that are pertinent to today!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tdmanl1
Georgetown, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great movie for the entire family
2/24/2013

Customer review by MakinSense

5.0 stars 2/24/2013 by MakinSense
by MakinSense

The movie is like watching the waltons. The scenary is breath taking and the characters are real and down to earth. A rare thing in a movie to see a family dealing with situations together. Something we could all learn from for todays families. Perserverance, commitment, and loyalty. Sticky together no matter what comes their way. Family, faith, and good old fashion work. A pleasure to watch would have liked to see the seguel. I give it a 5 star plus.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MakinSense
Berea,Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/17/2008

Customer review by SM1SW

4.0 stars 11/17/2008 by SM1SW
by SM1SW

It is a great reminder on how we baby-boomers were raised. Todays social services would have had a field day with this family and living arrangements. Parents might want to screen this before showing younger family members.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SM1SW
Waynesville NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
3/3/2010

Customer review by zoeyandcharlie

5.0 stars 3/3/2010 by zoeyandcharlie
by zoeyandcharlie

This movie was great for the entire family. It brings me back to times when life was simple and sweet and people valued their families above all.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zoeyandcharlie
Taylor, Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
2/10/2013

Customer review by Vala25

5.0 stars 2/10/2013 by Vala25
by Vala25

Good clean movie with a happy ending. Good for the soul.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vala25
Mid west
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Movie Spencer's Mountain
3/19/2010

Customer review by Geegee54

5.0 stars 3/19/2010 by Geegee54
by Geegee54

This movie made me cry when I was a teenager and now as a grandmother I am still crying Very good movie that depicts values and morals, respect for our parents and ourselves. Good Sunday afternoon movie.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Geegee54
Flint, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
DIFFERENT Values
11/9/2009

Customer review by Nerakyak

5.0 stars 11/9/2009 by Nerakyak
by Nerakyak

I purchased this movie simlpy because it was the basis of the Waltons. However there really is no comparison to them. The parents in Spencer's Mountain are total oppisites of the Waltons. The father drinks and cusses and the Mother does little to encourage her children to try for a better life. Clay boy seems to be the only one that has emotions like John boy in the Waltons. this movie is a great take off for the origanal Waltons. I don't think my collection would be complete without it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nerakyak
Sedalia, Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Similar to the Waltons
12/7/2012

Customer review by tunesareus

5.0 stars 12/7/2012 by tunesareus
by tunesareus

If you like the 70s TV show "The Waltons," you'll like this. It predates that show and has a similar country family with similar themes.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tunesareus
tunesareus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Good movie
2/23/2011

Customer review by Ladyregine

4.0 stars 2/23/2011 by Ladyregine
by Ladyregine

I love Walton's Mountain, and this is the movie that Walton's Mountain originated from and I thoroughly enjoyed it. It will have you laughing and crying and watching over and over.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ladyregine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Spencer's Mountain
6/6/2008

Customer review by huggy

5.0 stars 6/6/2008 by huggy
by huggy

This was a wonderful Family movie with my favorite actress, Maureen O'hara.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
huggy
Middletown, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
3/26/2011

Customer review by TraceyCity

5.0 stars 3/26/2011 by TraceyCity
by TraceyCity

Very good movie. $5.oo cost was really good.A movie you can watch over and over.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TraceyCity
Hendersonville,TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Excellent
2/20/2009

Customer review by PatsyMae

5.0 stars 2/20/2009 by PatsyMae
by PatsyMae

A very good family film.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PatsyMae
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great movie for the family
10/27/2009

Customer review by msufan

5.0 stars 10/27/2009 by msufan
by msufan

I believe this movie was the basis of the TV series The Waltons. The cast is great and the plot is wonderful. I recommend this movie for the entire family to watch together.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
msufan
Booneville, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
A very good family movie
4/28/2010

Customer review by MovieLover21

5.0 stars 4/28/2010 by MovieLover21
by MovieLover21

I have loved this movie ever since it came out. One of the best family movies EVER.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MovieLover21
Rocky River, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Movie
12/1/2009

Customer review by shopanyomous

5.0 stars 12/1/2009 by shopanyomous
by shopanyomous

Love this movie...great service and it was a great price

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shopanyomous
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
This is a very wonderful movie. I bought three.
1/28/2014

Customer review by Radarmydog

5.0 stars 1/28/2014 by Radarmydog
by Radarmydog

I bought three of these movies. gave one to my sister, one to a friend and one to myself. I highly recommend this great family movie. One of the best of the best.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Radarmydog
Lexington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/9/2009

Customer review by Haylee8

5.0 stars 9/9/2009 by Haylee8
by Haylee8

A.nother great family movie

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Haylee8
Fernandina Beach, FLa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Walmart associate
Good Classic Movie
4/7/2011

Customer review by paperladytoo

5.0 stars 4/7/2011 by paperladytoo
by paperladytoo

This movie was the idea for the "Waltons". It is a great movie about a family struggling to make it in the depression. If you like Henry Fonda, then this is a movie to see and own. It is a great classic.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
paperladytoo
Des Moines, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews