Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 17 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

17 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

17 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-16 of 16 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Easy, small and computer-friendly model
4/27/2013

Customer review by abhi383

4.0 stars 4/27/2013 by abhi383
by abhi383

This is a nice, small model and easy to use. It comes with inbuilt rechargeable battery that can be charged with USB wall charger, included in the pack. The compatible test strips are same as that used for Bayer's other meters. After inserting the test trip, the meter starts on and shows symbol to indicate that it's waiting for blood sample. It also asks to select if it's a pre-meal or post-meal reading. It requires only one blood drop, and shows reading in 2 secs. The very first strip might got wasted for calibration, or may be I did not do right. After connecting to camputer via its USB port, it shows electronic log book and trend graph. I found a difference of 20mg/dl between this and Accucheck's One Touch meter. So my advice is, use such glucose meters only for directional accuracy, with up to +-20mg/dl tolerance. Most reliable results are only through lab tests.

Was this review helpful? (49) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
abhi383
Minneapolis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Bayer Contour USB blood glucose meter
3/4/2014

Customer review by jetusa

5.0 stars 3/4/2014 by jetusa
by jetusa

This is a reliable piece of equipment. I have been using mine for more than 2 years. It is a low cost alternative to the other Larger meters, and My Insurance paid for it in full. The Medicare Complete Insurance, from United Health Care, also pays for my test strips. I use it twice a day and occasionally plug it into my HP laptop (once a month) to print charts for my doctor. The laptop charges the Lithium battery. The "Glucofacts Deluxe Software" from Bayer maintains easy to read charts that may be printed in color to give to your medical doctor. NO cord needed. It plugs directly into your USB port. The "Glucofacts Deluxe" for windows, Launching batch files are on the device.

Was this review helpful? (30) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jetusa
Near Olympia Wa. > Northwest USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Contour Next Good Blood Glucose Meter
2/2/2014

Customer review by 1976type1

4.0 stars 2/2/2014 by 1976type1
by 1976type1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

having had type 1 for almost 40 yrs, i know my BG meters. Changing to the Contour Next due to pump change caused me to swap out all my BG Meters. Contour Next offered this low cost option that matched the meter provided with my new pump. At this cost, under $10, i keep a meter in my kitchen, my bedside, work office and purse. Love the quick reading, option to add more blood if necessary, and small size. thanks

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1976type1
indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Print out reports for the doctor!!
3/7/2014

Customer review by justinkeith

5.0 stars 3/7/2014 by justinkeith
by justinkeith
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This works just like any other meter, but has a USB port and will give you graphs and charts tracking your readings! Very helpful not only for yourself to get an unbiased eevaluation, but great to print out to take to medical appointments so your doctor has all the facts! Love it!

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
justinkeith
Salem, Or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Can download data, record insulin, and carbs!
10/16/2014

Customer review by orhankster

5.0 stars 10/16/2014 by orhankster
by orhankster
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The nurse began asking for my meter about two years ago when I would see my doctor for diabetes follow-up. They began giving away free meters. I had been researching the Bayer Contour Next and asked for that. While on the internet, I saw the upgrade unit: Bayer Contour Next USB. I bought it at Walmart. I love using the Next USB meter! With the blood draw, I can indicate whether it's Fasting, Before or After Meal. For insulin, I can indicate how many units I used--whether it's fast-acting or long-acting. I no longer need to keep a written log for all that data. For my next diabetes follow-up appointment, I'll have over the Next USB and the nurse can download the data. If you are considering switching meters, BUY THIS ONE!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
orhankster
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to use
8/11/2014

Customer review by deh609

5.0 stars 8/11/2014 by deh609
by deh609
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great printouts of BG,Carbs,and Insulin amounts for your records or your doctor.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
deh609
Southern New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good meter, still has quirks
2/19/2016

Customer review by SlyIdeas

5.0 stars 2/19/2016 by SlyIdeas
by SlyIdeas

I have tried quite a few glucose meters, to give an idea here is a brief list. OneTouch VerioIQ OneTouch Verio OneTouch UltraSmart Freestyle Freedom Lite Freestyle Lite (CVS store brand and WalMart store brand) Review: This meter comes with a terrible case and in my opinion a bad lancing device. The lancing device works just fine, but it is bulky. The case is just bad, no more can really be said. It has a lot of room and accomplishes very little with that room. If you register this meter, get the new case. The case they ship you after registering is great, I love it. The meter itself is on the slower side for glucose results (~7 seconds I think?). However, this gives you time to add a note to the test result to help yourself track blood sugars. Additionally, you can add insulin intake notes etc. using the meters built in menus. I really like this feature. Accuracy: This meter tests almost identically to the two Freestyle meters I have, I assume that it is every bit as accurate as I can expect. Additionally, the Freestyle meters have given me problems with batch to batch test strip differences that are ~ 15%, no small matter. I have not noticed that yet with the Contour next. Usability: The screen is nice and small and well lit. It does not cause discomfort at night like some of the lit screens and I really appreciate that. The USB charging works really well, but the meter will take up ~ 2 usb slots (it is fat, one extra port on my computer was covered by it while I charged). The software works, it isn't pretty, it looks dated and I don't particularly care for it, but it works. I ran it successfully on MacOSX 10.9.5 (had to find the file and launch it manually, but it worked without installing anything). The form factor is great, it takes a tiny sample of blood, and perhaps most importantly it doesn't expect you to find the side of the test strip, the blood is placed at the tip like all the old meters used to do. I don't particularly care for the side sample blood test strips, I find them more difficult to use. Battery seems like it will last a long time. After ~ 50 tests I cannot see any dent in the on screen battery life display. I assume it will last upwards of 500 tests without any issue. Additionally, it lets you know with the on screen display what the status of your battery is. I like it and I recommend it. Con: You have to really wedge the test strip into the port to turn it on occasionally. I found myself sticking a strip in and wondering why the machine hadn't turned on. Pushing the test strip in another 1/32 of an inch turned it on. That part seems finicky. Additionally, there is no test strip light, I like this feature and this meter does not have it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SlyIdeas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy and reliable
12/6/2014

Customer review by JoethetypeII

4.0 stars 12/6/2014 by JoethetypeII
by JoethetypeII

I have compared this blood glucose tester against my AGA and it only varies by a couple of points. The genius is in the simplicity of use. The only drawback is that it always asks for an OK before coming up with the number, It plugs right into my computer and the Glucofacts comes up and loads the data, for a record. How simple. Just works great. the battery is charged by the computer or by a generic plugin usb charger.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoethetypeII
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great product
7/21/2014

Customer review by scoreboardman

5.0 stars 7/21/2014 by scoreboardman
by scoreboardman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

truly helps one maintain good glucose records. Less convenient than breeze2 or contour discs but probably less prone to jams or breakage.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
scoreboardman
Apex, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bayer Contour Next USB Monitoring System
11/28/2015

Customer review by SCKN

5.0 stars 11/28/2015 by SCKN
by SCKN

Great product!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SCKN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good price, adequate delivery system.
2/15/2014

Customer review by LRST4

5.0 stars 2/15/2014 by LRST4
by LRST4
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good product, good price.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LRST4
Irvine, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Handy
11/24/2014

Customer review by Jenias2k

5.0 stars 11/24/2014 by Jenias2k
by Jenias2k

I've only just started using this meter this past week but so far so good! I love how you can document what's going on at the time you're testing, like before or after meal or fasting and that you felt funny..... and so forth. Also I'm excited that I'll be able to store the information on my computer. I haven't tried that yet though so I can't comment on that as of yet.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jenias2k
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
IT DON'T HURT!?
2/13/2016

Customer review by FoxxBatt

4.0 stars 2/13/2016 by FoxxBatt
by FoxxBatt

I liked the advanced design & features of this model also have the Bayer EZ meter! You have to be careful when buying the meter test strips as Amazon and CVS sold me the wrong strips! The log is a plus and you also get to sort the tests!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FoxxBatt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Meter
11/26/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/26/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The meter was just what I ordered.

Was this review helpful? (4) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Milford,PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bayer contour usb
5/31/2015

Customer review by crazy4tattoos

2.0 stars 5/31/2015 by crazy4tattoos
by crazy4tattoos

I am reading 20 points higher on the USB compare to just the bayer contour so I don't know which machine is actually right

Was this review helpful? (2) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crazy4tattoos
Would recommend to a friend? No
It just Works, Great Product
1/19/2015

Customer review by thethethe

5.0 stars 1/19/2015 by thethethe
by thethethe

It just Works, Great Product

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thethethe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes