Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 319 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

319 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

319 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
172
4 stars
95
3 stars
15
2 stars
11
1 stars
26
1-20 of 255 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 255 total reviews
1-20 of 255 reviews
Loooove it, never leave home with out it.
4/3/2013

Customer review by Ezabeau

5.0 stars 4/3/2013 by Ezabeau
by Ezabeau

I cannot believe I didn't buy one sooner. When I drive to a new place at night I don't have to worry about looking for street sign in the dark. I just follow the verbal and visual directions on my GPS no more panic attacks about not being able to see where am I going. I just can not say it enough what a God send. I can look up the nearest gas station, bank, grocery store, restaurant or any thing else I want. Easy to work I even have my home address so I can just press a bottom and I'm on my way home. Had my ex been this reliable he would not have become an ex :)

Was this review helpful? (114) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ezabeau
Antioch, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/3/2013

Customer review by Zigao

5.0 stars 4/3/2013 by Zigao
by Zigao

This product gives you everything you need on roads at this price. The display is bright, the sound is clear. It has speed limit, it tells you which lane to take to make a turn. The only thing I think is not that good is sometimes it tells something too late. I don't want too much functions on GPS, so this one just fits my needs.

Was this review helpful? (70) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zigao
San jose California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
awesome GPS system
4/22/2013

Customer review by Daniel04

5.0 stars 4/22/2013 by Daniel04
by Daniel04

I love the Garmin because it speaks the street names. I had the Tomtom before but it's not as awesome as the Garmin is. And Garmin now has the life time map updates included that they never had before.

Was this review helpful? (45) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Daniel04
Barberton,Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not the same software
7/30/2013

Customer review by ithinkyoushouldknow

1.0 stars 7/30/2013 by ithinkyoushouldknow
by ithinkyoushouldknow

I bought the 30 lm in order to get the lifetime maps. I have the 40 (which does not not lifetime maps and is beginning to fail). I find out that the 30 lm does not have the same software as the 40. The 30lm : 1.does not have the qwerty keyboard but the keys run from a-z and it is hard to find the right key since I am used to qwerty. 2. when giving voice directions does not name the street/freeway that you are on, nor does it name the street on which you are to turn. It simply says make a right in 100 yards, then turn right when approaching the corner. 3. if you get off course it does not say "recalculating" to indicate that you have gone off course but simply gives a new direction. THis can be very confusing when you have the last set of directions in mind and it gives new conflicting directions. 4. There is no indication in the descriptions of the product that they have made those changes, especially not naming the streets. I very much like and am used to the other version of software. The images on the handset appear to be the same but I seldom look at the handset but use the voice directions. The manuals are the same for the 30 40 and 50 models but the software is different and there is no indication of that in the manual.

Was this review helpful? (42) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ithinkyoushouldknow
poway ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
so far, not impressed!
10/29/2013

Customer review by LeshiVegas17

1.0 stars 10/29/2013 by LeshiVegas17
by LeshiVegas17

I got the Garmin nuvi 30LM to replace our old Garmin that we've had for years. So far, it's not as user friendly as the old one, the voice doesn't speak as clearly when driving as the other one (in my opinion) and MOST IMPORTANTLY no joke it wanted me to make 4 lefts and 4 rights to get to a place that was just 3 blocks down and on the right hand side of the road!! And that was not the first time it has done crazy stuff like that. I've looked down and the directions it had will have disappeared and all the sudden we're taking a different road...I find this thing to be very frustrating. I'm very glad I'm using this around town and not out traveling where I have no clue where I'm at. I'd have to pray to the heavens that Siri could save me, because I don't think this could help me find my way out of a wet paper bag!

Was this review helpful? (56) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LeshiVegas17
Las Vegas,NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/4/2013

Customer review by DrivnTheBus

5.0 stars 4/4/2013 by DrivnTheBus
by DrivnTheBus

Very good product. I own 3, this one for daughter they do great job as long as you have satellite signal wont work in big city with tall buildings. Only one big draw back they have no common sense. But are well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (35) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DrivnTheBus
Rock Falls,IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good starter GPS
1/4/2014

Customer review by VRO8

4.0 stars 1/4/2014 by VRO8
by VRO8

I have owned a Garmin before and was very happy with it but I gave it to my sister and needed a replacement. I bought this one on sale on Black Friday and am happy with it so far. The small size can be a little challenging at times. The keyboard is reduced to a chart in alphabetical order since it is not wide enough for a normal keyboard format. It slows me down when typing in addresses, but I'm sure I'll get used to it. It is also hard to read the next direction when it is a longer description, because the font gets so tiny. It is much easier to read if you go to the step by step list of directions, but I imagine it could be tough when trying to follow along quickly and you can't read the exit number. I was glad it came with lifetime maps and a usb cord! Overall, I would say this is a good GPS if you cannot afford the more expensive models, because it will definitely get you where you need to go. If there is not much difference in price or you are willing to upgrade, I prefer the wider screen for a more user friendly experience.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VRO8
Springfield, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just returned to the store.
11/16/2013

Customer review by dmaillady2

1.0 stars 11/16/2013 by dmaillady2
by dmaillady2

I just returned this product to the store for a refund. I would not recommend purchasing this model. It came on but had no maps downloaded and would not accept any changes nor acquire a signal. I tried all the recommendations on the Garmin website for troubleshooting (which stated that this model had problems) but still no luck. I previous owned another model that worked great. The only reason I purchased this one is for the lifetime maps that my other did not have. I probably will purchase another model from Garmin, but it will not be this model. Spend the extra to get a good product!!

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dmaillady2
central, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product for the money
4/25/2013

Customer review by 0148

5.0 stars 4/25/2013 by 0148
by 0148

I was looking for a GPS that was small enough to fit in the space available on the dashboard for a GPS in my 2007 Subaru rather than order one. The Garmin nuvi 30LM 3.5" portable was just the ticket. It is small enough to hold in your hand and fits in the space on the dash to store it. The nuvi tells you step by step ahead of time when to turn and what street you are one before the time to turn. It seems to have accurate streets and highways so far. It is very easy to use, gives you all your attractions, gas stations and points of interest. The price was only $69.99 + tax and free shipping with life time maps. I love how easy it is to use and its compact size. I am very satisfied with this product. Overall it is a great buy for the money.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
0148
Dallas, PA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A simple no-frills GPS that is very portable
1/25/2014

Customer review by ComputerNrd99

5.0 stars 1/25/2014 by ComputerNrd99
by ComputerNrd99

I am very happy with the Garmin 30LM. It is lightweight, small, very portable. Yet, it has all the basic features you would want in a GPS. You can take it right out of the box, set the language to what you want, plug it into your car cigarette lighter to start it charging, and immediately start using it to navigate with. But, you probably want to customize the settings to your personal preferences. It has a lot of options for doing that. And it has free lifetime map updates. So, you probably want to connect it to your computer with the included USB cable and use the free software on the Garmin website to register your GPS, update it's software, and update it's map file. Although it does not have a specific "pedestrian mode", I plan to carry it with me to navigate as I walk to unfamiliar places. It is small and lightweight. The keyboard on it has all the alphabet on one screen, and numbers and symbols on the next screen. I had no trouble with typing on it accurately. It is exactly what I wanted in a simple, no extra frills, GPS.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ComputerNrd99
Merrill, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice little product
4/29/2013

Customer review by Powersup224

4.0 stars 4/29/2013 by Powersup224
by Powersup224

This is small and compact. We do not use it much but for the money is sure works well. Worth having since it has lifetime maps.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Powersup224
Hays, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Garmin is the best.
4/21/2013

Customer review by Parzi

5.0 stars 4/21/2013 by Parzi
by Parzi

I have owned other garmin gps, and they have been very good. This garmin 30lm is excellent. It gets me to the exact address even better than previous models I've owned, which is important in a work situation. Garmin keeps improving and I will say is the best of the gps.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Parzi
Weymouth, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Too small!
4/11/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 4/11/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The Garmin display is too small. The voice is not loud enough, and the display is hard to see on a sunny day. I would not recommend it. I bought it because I have a small car, a 1976 Toyota Celica GT Liftback, and I though this Garmin would just be right for this small car. I think it would have been better for me to have bought a 5" screen instead of a 3" screen.

Was this review helpful? (33) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Shiprock, NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The Screen was too small.
10/22/2013

Customer review by Lew125

1.0 stars 10/22/2013 by Lew125
by Lew125

When I Purchased this GPS I assumed it was the size of a previous Tom Tom. I did try to rationalize the purchase, thinking I could use the Voice activated part, but had trouble getting the correct state in which I live. Thank goodness for Walmart and there return policies. If your over 40 don't buy this as old eyes won't be able to see it.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lew125
29488
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love the size. Hate the battery life
6/10/2013

Customer review by orion55

4.0 stars 6/10/2013 by orion55
by orion55

This is a really nice GPS. Just the right size for my windshield, without blocking the view of the road. It also comes with lifetime map updates, but I haven't tried this feature yet. My only complaint is the short battery life. I had a older Garmin which gave a battery life of up to six hours. Thus I didn't have to string wires all over the place even on long trips. BTW - don't leave home without it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
orion55
nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
For a Basic GPS Its Perfect
3/26/2014

Customer review by Davey34715

4.0 stars 3/26/2014 by Davey34715
by Davey34715

I just got this Garmin, and I must say, I do like it, The only thing I would like to change is after you enter an address, or do anything you have to keep hitting return to get back to the home page. My previous garmin, just had the option to return home. But its a great GPS, so far has been accurate, and the compact size is ideal, I like the smaller size because it doesn't look like my windshield is covered by a GPS system. It mounted very easily, and the charged battery lasts a long time. I had a Magellan before this, and the battery charge only lasted about 20 minutes, with this I was able to travel an hour each way, and still has 75% battery life, and that I love, especially when I take long trips. As soon as I downloaded Garmin Express, it alerted me of map updates that were available, and its very cost effective with Lifetime Map updates, never have to worry about that again, miss the traffic alerts, but that's not a major factor. Several voice and language options, i had to choose a state I was traveling in, so that didn't automatically populate, but maps are pre installed, just need to choose state, All in All I am very satisfied, and would recommend it. Perfect for a newbie, or someone who may be technically challenged.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Davey34715
Clermont. FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
nice little gps
6/10/2013

Customer review by Walmartuser001

4.0 stars 6/10/2013 by Walmartuser001
by Walmartuser001

I owned a Garmin 205w. It died weeks ago. Before that I had good experience with Garmin and purchased the bean-bag mount for it. That is the main reason I made the decision to go with Garmin again. Compared with my old unit this one responses much faster. The lifetime map is a plus. All in all this is a happy buy.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Walmartuser001
Allentown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
best value-cheaper than buying map update.
6/12/2013

Customer review by fildok

4.0 stars 6/12/2013 by fildok
by fildok

I bought & owned a Garmin before but it has no lifetime maps update. The price is even cheaper for the map update so I just bought a new one. I was able to transfer all the address that i got from my other Garmin with its backup & transfer data feature.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fildok
goose creek, sc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Simple and does all I need it to do.
6/4/2013

Customer review by KCfoco

5.0 stars 6/4/2013 by KCfoco
by KCfoco

This does all I need at a great price! And Lifetime Maps Update....a bonus!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KCfoco
Fort Collins
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Go for a different model
5/20/2013

Customer review by AnnoyedF

1.0 stars 5/20/2013 by AnnoyedF
by AnnoyedF

It's easy to set up and operate which was very important since I've never really used GPS before. It does ok in open spaces- if you're doing highway driving only. I took this downtown Chicago and it couldn't get a signal surrounded by all the buildings. It recalculated several times while I was driving and had me going in circles for a bit. I say just spend a bit more and get a different system. I will be returning this product.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AnnoyedF
IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 255 total reviews
1-20 of 255 reviews