Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 191 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

191 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

191 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
103
4 stars
32
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 stars
39
1-20 of 189 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 189 total reviews
1-20 of 189 reviews
Not as good as older versions
6/8/2016

Customer review by ReefRaff

3.0 stars 6/8/2016 by ReefRaff
by ReefRaff

For the people looking for parts, Walmart sells the Blender Blade set here: http://www.walmart.com/ip/Farberware-Blender-Blade-Set/33577309 Second, I've purchased three of these blenders over the last several years. The first one worked extremely well, crushing up blended drinks with no issues. The last one I bought 1 1/2 years ago, and though the motor says 800 watts, it wasn't working nearly as well but was acceptable. I purchased another one this week because the glass pitcher fell and broke. It doesn't work as well as the most recent purchase. I have to stop the blender, shake the pitcher to settle the contents and pop the air bubble that develops every time I use the blender, and re-start the blending several times in the course of making a protein drink with approximately a cup of milk, ice, protein powder, and banana - not a lot of ice, either. I'm disappointed with the decline in quality of this blender. I won't purchase it again and can't recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ReefRaff
Would recommend to a friend? No
DON'T BUY!!! Won't last.
1/30/2016

Customer review by MJinOH

1.0 stars 1/30/2016 by MJinOH
by MJinOH

Let me start by saying that I NEVER write reviews, but my experience with this blender was so ridiculous, I was compelled to post one. I did a lot of research on this blender before purchasing it. Although there were reviews saying there were rust problems, I didn't think it would be an issue, since I take care of my things. However, after a couple months of not using the blender, I tried to use it and the blades wouldn't turn. It was obvious, based on the lack of movement and rust coloring, that the blade piece was rusted inside. I called customer service, who said my warranty had expired a couple months earlier (obviously). I asked what I could do, and she told me I could buy a new one. I inquired about just replacing the blade piece, and was informed they don't do that. So, I now have a $40.00 paperweight... just because one small piece failed (the rest still works). Very unfortunate... since it was great when it was working. However, I will definitely not be purchasing a Farberware again.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MJinOH
Would recommend to a friend? No
A Huge Disappontment
7/13/2016

Customer review by BreastfeedingMommy

1.0 stars 7/13/2016 by BreastfeedingMommy
by BreastfeedingMommy

This blender worked so well for about 5 months and I was extremely pleased. It would quickly blend tough items - frozen fruit, kale, etc. and I really liked the feature where it would automatically stop to allow the heavy unblended items to settle to the bottom before blending again. I never had to open it up to push items down or shake it. I did experience rusting as other reviewers noted, but I didn't mind that, as it never rusted in the interior part of the blade where food touched, only the bottom part that attached to the base. I used this nearly every day and one day the blender just seized up on me. That was it, it was over. It never worked again and when I tried to contact Good Housekeeping regarding the warranty, I just got the run around. Tempted to buy it again since it worked so well before, but I know I should just do more research and try another blender. SO sad. I also see that the price has gone up about $5 since I purchased this last year. Whuh?

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BreastfeedingMommy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works Unbelievably Well !!!
7/5/2013

Customer review by Dude511

5.0 stars 7/5/2013 by Dude511
by Dude511

Since I make protein shakes and include apple & banana, I wanted a strong blender to get the job done. My old blender broke, and it never did a good job anyhow. I was going to spend $150 on a Ninja, but I noted those are not UL Listed for safety, so I passed on it. But for far less $ i saw this Farberware blender, which is UL Listed, and also noted it is rated 850-watts, so I knew the motor was strong enough. I also noted the cutter blades hwich are higher than other blenders I've seen and they are wider too, so I thought this one could do the job. I bought it, and it was only $39, and was VERY pleased when I used it. Although I normally would put in a 1/2 apple for the protein shake, and then my old blender would not get the job done anyhow, I tested the Farberware with a whole apple, banana, protein, etc., and it had no problem at all. It is almost never than I am impressed with stuff I buy, but I am inpressed with this blender. It's possible you coulds spend $100 more and not get something better.

Was this review helpful? (101) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dude511
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
doesnt last
2/23/2016

Customer review by kdmt

2.0 stars 2/23/2016 by kdmt
by kdmt

Ive bought 2 of these blenders from walmart, and both have died after about 6 months of continued use. At first, the blender seems great. It blends well, features are decent, crushes ice well enough for me. Unfortunately, the base rusts and starts to leak. The rust is no joke, its disgusting to think that I drank things I made with it after watching the thick rust come off of it when washing. It leaked all over my counter several times after it started rusting. The reason I bought this one twice is because I thought the rust issue with the first one might have been due to soaking the jar after use. The second time I bought it, I took care to not let it sit with water in it. It didnt matter, the second one rusted worse than the first. Overall, the blender works well for awhile, and the price is really good. The rust is really, really gross, and seems pretty hazardous. I wont be buying this blender again.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kdmt
Would recommend to a friend? No
Infuriating
3/19/2016

Customer review by Melissa

1.0 stars 3/19/2016 by Melissa
by Melissa

I purchased this blender to make smoothies and after the first attempt marched it back to the store. The lid does not snap, slide or otherwise fit into the glass pitcher. I tried for about 4 minutes to insert it into the container with no luck. I finally was able to push all sides of the stiff plastic in while pressing down and get the lid on. It blended the test fruits inside well but of course, I had to pry the lid off. As I tried to pour the drink out liquid spilled from the bottom. I had not touched the blade base at this point. I decided to pour out the drink, rinse and try to use the blender cup instead but I could separate the blade base to attach it to the cup at all. Great blades and strength but very poorly made components (stiff plastic lid instead of rubber, base is hard to remove). I would NOT recommend. I was simply looking for a stronger motor (which this has). I started with a cheaper blender that never had issues of fit like this. I am purchasing another brand today (with a rubber or more flexible, yet secure, lid.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Melissa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Amazing for the price!!!
12/5/2013

Customer review by mommyinmay

5.0 stars 12/5/2013 by mommyinmay
by mommyinmay

I just purchased this blender and have only used it once, so I can't say if it will last long and be durable. But the one time I did use it I'm VERY impressed. Before purchasing this blender I was pretty skeptical because of its low price. The fact that the blender jar is the same size all the way down is a huge plus, if it tapers at the bottom it's harder for food to be blended, but this one isn't like that, which is awesome. I noticed when I unpacked I noticed the blades are large and not short like most blenders, which is another plus. I also like the fact that the blade housing is metal and not plastic, my last blender had plastic and granted it did last me a couple years it wore down quick. I know this doesn't compare to a vitamix by any means, but for simple smoothies and what not I think this will serve me very well. When I can afford a Vitamix, I'm going for one of those, but for $500+ that'll have to wait. Overall I'm very happy with my purchase. I hope it is durable and lasts awhile!

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mommyinmay
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great buy for the money!
1/2/2014

Customer review by EvansPartyof6

4.0 stars 1/2/2014 by EvansPartyof6
by EvansPartyof6

In 11 years my wife and I have never had a true blender. We have only had a small 1 serving smoothing maker by Hamilton Beach, which is a great product still after 6 years. Our family is now a family of 6 and making 1 smoothie and a time for 6 people is a timely process. I researched blenders the past few days now and what you will find online is the Vitamix, Ninja and other blenders, in a class ($$$) that goes far beyond what I need in a blender. For $40.00 you can't beat this Farberware blender. I loaded this thing up with a full tray of ice, fruit, a little juice, and hit the MED button. In about a minute I had a picture of smooth, creamy, and delicious drink for the whole family! The 800 watts delivers in this machine. I give it 4 stars because you can not blend anything frozen in the travel tumbler. This confuses me as to why they would make a blender attachment for it. Maybe we will just use it for chopping. Other than that I would have given it 5 stars. Time will tell for durability, its looks well made.

Was this review helpful? (23) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EvansPartyof6
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best Blender on the Market
6/29/2014

Customer review by Okomfo

5.0 stars 6/29/2014 by Okomfo
by Okomfo

What can I say? I used to have the Walmart GE Digital Blender but the plastic gears broke and I couldn't get any parts because the brand has been discontinued. This was the best blender for the value and power it delivered. I have been looking for a new blender since then until I found the Farberware 4-speed Digital Blender, again carried by Walmart. This blender seems to be even well-designed than the GE Digital Blender. It has a metallic gear which seems indestructible, the power of the motor is awesome and the controls are simple. It is great for anything as simple as blending tomatoes up to making smoothies. The motor is relatively quiet for all that power and it feels very solid when running. Above all, the price is relatively low. Please, stop buying all the expensive and the so called high end blenders and get this one. You will thank me for it. I am thinking of getting another one to keep as a back-up because, very soon, Walmart may discontinue the brand again.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Okomfo
Tallahassee, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
So good and cheap for the price
6/10/2016

Customer review by Temilade

5.0 stars 6/10/2016 by Temilade
by Temilade

I bought this blender February 2015 when I moved to Gainesville. Because of the moving I could not take my ninja blender with me which I bought $150. I was so afraid to buy anyhow blender because I need a blender for blending my pepper, beans and all stuff. I mean good one that will blend the seeds and turn it into puree. On getting to Walmart this day I prayed that holy spirit should help me to pick the right blender. I picked this fabware blender and I was doubting if it will work perfectly because it was so cheap as compared to my ninja blender. I have been using this fabware blender for over a year now. It blends well and turn my pepper or beans to puree. This blender work better than my $150 ninja. I recommend it to everyone out there looking for good blender for smoothies, pepper and beans blending. Thank you so much Walmart. Cecelia.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Temilade
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cheap isn't always a good thing!
2/4/2016

Customer review by mauriceswife

1.0 stars 2/4/2016 by mauriceswife
by mauriceswife

Let's start with I gave this blender a second chance. The first one I bought lasted about 4 months. It grinded ice and kale well for my smoothies. One day it just stopped working. I noticed the metal on the bottom of the pitcher was rusted because it left a brown dust on my counter. I cleaned it and noticed the plastic around the rusted metal was also cracked which began to leak before it stopped. Since you can not buy the part I bought a new one thinking it must have been my mistake for using the dishwasher. The new one made a grinding noise and stopped after 2 uses and would not start again even after unplugging and waiting a day as it says in the manual. My mistake now it is too late to return. Find another brand, it may cost more but will save you in the long run. Also, buy the warranty.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mauriceswife
Would recommend to a friend? No
Poor design!
5/2/2016

Customer review by Shay

2.0 stars 5/2/2016 by Shay
by Shay

I received this as a gift in December. I've only used it a handful of times because it is just a pain to deal with! You have to "work" the blades into a part, then he travel cup, the screw on another part, to put it on the blender. Too much work, and difficult to get all of the pieces screwed on quickly & properly. Also, the metal is already rusted! I don't know how this dumb thing ever got through quality control! Do not buy.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shay
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good blender
12/5/2013

Customer review by Walregular

4.0 stars 12/5/2013 by Walregular
by Walregular

I make a big thick smoothie everyday and found that all metal drive and powerful motor are really necessary. I don't understand why some people would pay $400 for a blender when this one is all I need. I would like to give it 5 stars except for the fact that 1. I don't want to pay for the travel mug that I'll never use 2. The 2 year warranty is good except it doesn't cover the glass jar and the blade. So in reality it doesn't cover anything. The glass jar of my last B&D blender cracked after 1 year when washed with a dishwasher. And the blade got loose and started leaking. 3. At the bottom end of the blade is a washer which start to rust after only one week. This is a serious design fault and Faberware or Walmart should replace it with a stainless steel washer. I should return the blender just for this fact alone However, exchange another one will probably get the same result so why bother.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Walregular
Princeton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Durable, Quiet, Easy To Clean, Powerful
9/11/2013

Customer review by sumpm1

5.0 stars 9/11/2013 by sumpm1
by sumpm1

I have had this blender for two weeks. I bought it for $40 at Walmart. I am extremely impressed by the product. The metal contact gear on the bottom of the blender seems extremely durable; this is the component that broke on my last blender. The blender is very quiet. It has an automatic "pulsing" feature; so the blender starts out fast, then smoothly slows down, then up again, and stops blending on its own when it senses the blend is done; it is really nice. At 800 watts, it has a ton of power for the price. My previous blender would sometimes "wind out;" an air pocket would form around the blade, it would run at full speed like the blender was empty, until that bubble "popped" and then it would start again; sometimes I would have to shake the blender to make this happen. This blender has never done that to me, and that "pulsing feature" ensures that even if it did happen, it would pulse itself and I wouldn't have to touch the blender. At $40, I don't think you can find a better value. I wouldn't buy a blender cheaper than this one. Why would you?

Was this review helpful? (36) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sumpm1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it!
7/28/2013

Customer review by Otterbot

5.0 stars 7/28/2013 by Otterbot
by Otterbot

I confess I thought all blenders were the same until recently. I don't have the money to drop on a VitaMix, but I DID want something that was powerful enough to blend up smoothies. The reviews here all seemed to be pretty good, so I figured what the heck, for $40 you really can't go wrong. I love this little blender. I've never used the travel mug, as I make my smoothies way larger than that, so I can't comment on how that aspect works. However, for everything else I've tried with it--ice, frozen fruits, greens--it's been great. I've had it for about a month now, using it nearly every day, and have had no problems with it. If you're going to compare it to a blender with a higher speed motor (and really, this was the best I could find for such a good price), I will say that this doesn't make smoothies COMPLETELY smooth. For instance, when I put greens in mine, there are still tiny bits, which can be a little off-putting. A tip for that, however: if you put the greens and your liquid of choice (water/juice/etc.) first, then blend for a minute or so, that really helps to break it all up. However, if you're not as picky as all that, I really don't think you'll have a problem with it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Otterbot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Problems coming apart
7/22/2016

Customer review by RoseMary

2.0 stars 7/22/2016 by RoseMary
by RoseMary
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I can't seem to get the base apart to clean it or be able to switch between the pitcher and the cup.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RoseMary
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Powerful
7/21/2016

Customer review by Lilypad60

5.0 stars 7/21/2016 by Lilypad60
by Lilypad60

I make my smoothies, crushed ice, salsa, almost anything you can possibly think of blending or chopping.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lilypad60
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Powerfully Priced
6/9/2013

Customer review by GeoSnob

5.0 stars 6/9/2013 by GeoSnob
by GeoSnob

After our Hamilton Beach 450w blender died, we went shopping. We could not see spending $600 for the name blender, not even $100 seemed affordable. But for $40 bucks why not especially 800w of pure power. Another high rated blender for $29 - $40 was consider but the patented blade design does not allow ingredient to blend centrifugally. Four frozen puree cubes, spinach, two bananas on top and then added a little milk. My old blender I had to open up several times to push everything down and still found out I had to use way more milk than I liked, that was so frustrating. This blender, I pulsed about 6 times, then turned to medium. WOW, I can feel the power. I didn't once have to open up and assist the fruits and vegetables get to the bottom. The speeds low - hight are programmed to slow down then speed up several times through the cycle until all ingredients ares blended together then it auto shuts off. I love the thick glass jar and the all metal shaft. The leading blender and the previous info commercial blender has a plastic jar. The smoothie I made with the Farberware was so smooth and tasted better due to the blend process. Boy I hope this lasts at least 3 years.

Was this review helpful? (36) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GeoSnob
Cleveland, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very Pleased with Purchase
4/23/2013

Customer review by NBLady

5.0 stars 4/23/2013 by NBLady
by NBLady

This machine does exactly as the video shows...I am very impressed. I made smoothies, milkshakes, veggies perfectly. Oh and yes, the ice went to snow. It is a 48 ounce glass picture and the added on the go cup is a bonus. This was easy to disassemble/assemble for washing. I loved the fact it stops during process ensuring anything on top is brought down and then it starts back blending. I was surprised when I realized that because some of the expensive machines does that also..The motor is 800 watts and well, for the price this is the machine to purchase. Yes, it is loud but after reading many reviews for different blenders, I have yet to have someone say everything is perfect so....Trying to cover what I think people may want to know. When blending, it did not move, stayed stationary. Watch the video and this is what you get on the performance demonstrated. This is not a peice of junk and has metal on metal gears NOT plastic on plastic . This does not take up much counter space. For the gentleman who said he purchased it and it did not work when he plugged it in maybe you got a defective one which happens but this is a WONDERFUL blender for the price point and I like Farberware products so why not try this....glad I did. Instructions and receipes is included. Well, hope you try it.

Was this review helpful? (93) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NBLady
New Bedford, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Rusty
7/19/2016

Customer review by IrvineVY

1.0 stars 7/19/2016 by IrvineVY
by IrvineVY

Won't last. The blade base become rusty. Motor is very loud. Stop working in 6 months.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IrvineVY
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 189 total reviews
1-20 of 189 reviews