Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 301 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

301 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

301 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
190
4 stars
71
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 stars
18
1-20 of 286 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 286 total reviews
1-20 of 286 reviews
Great Tent For Family Camping
5/4/2016

Customer review by EcOnomicalMom1

5.0 stars 5/4/2016 by EcOnomicalMom1
by EcOnomicalMom1

"I am posting this review as part of my entry in Walmart's Ozark Trail Ratings and Reviews Contest." With that said, it has nothing to with the rating of my review. We had this tent for 3 years and it never let me down. It was simple to put up. I had set it up multiple times by myself. ( I am a small, 5'2" female) The only part that was time consuming for me was putting on the rain fly and that was due to my height. I did prepare my tent by adding a waterproof spray coating and seam sealer. The tent itself never leaked. The only time water got in the tent was during a very heavy rainstorm and that was due to puddles that accumulated in depressions in the ground underneath. Even then, the amount of water in the tent was minimal. It was very spacious; We easily fit our 3 cots, 5 dogs, 2 suitcases/bags, a small foldable end table, three chairs, and we still had room to move around. We would still have it, but it turns out it will not withstand 3 big dogs plowing into it full speed after a squirrel. The room dividers were a great addition for temporary privacy for getting dressed. The only part my husband didn't like was that he wasn't able to stand straight up anywhere except in the middle section. That is why we are now looking at straight sided tents, but it will still be an Ozark tent. It was a great tent for our family while it lasted.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EcOnomicalMom1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for the value
12/22/2013

Customer review by giftfromme

5.0 stars 12/22/2013 by giftfromme
by giftfromme

I recently went camping with my family in St Andrews Park. It was the first family trip in years, and we have never been camping. I didn't know what to expect most people had big campers, but we where happy with our tent. The first night it was unbearably cold even with a medium sized space heater. The winds were howling and the temperature dropped to about 40 degrees.The next day my husband got a tarp (24 x 12 ft) to over the top of the tent... thanks Walmart for being every where!!! I also pinned some emergency blankets to the top of the tent to keep the draft out. With the emergency blankets, extra tarp, and space heater the next night we slept well. The tent held my 6'4" husband comfortably, me, 3 yr old toddler, two teenagers, and all of our stuff. This is a great tent!!! I think we have started a family tradition. My sisters are planning to go with us next year and I encourage them to buy this tent. It is everything they say it is.

Was this review helpful? (120) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
giftfromme
Elkridge, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Love this tent!
6/2/2013

Customer review by MissKelli0

4.0 stars 6/2/2013 by MissKelli0
by MissKelli0

I bought this tent for camping at the lake. Took my dad and I about 25 minutes to set it up (Would have been faster, however we put the top part on wrong and had to re-do it). We set it up at home to check it out and Me, my neice & my dog ended up camping out in the backyard.. It ended up being very windy and rainy that night and the tent stayed secure and dry all night. I absolutely love how huge this tent is. Only bad thing I have to say about it, is the "room dividers" are no good. They are totally see-thru and do not even reach the roof. Definitely not good if you need privacy. But overall this is a good buy, and you cant beat the price. (Trust me, I know! I searched for months and compared prices from many different stores before chosing this tent)

Was this review helpful? (210) (45)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MissKelli0
Lincoln Park, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good buy
5/28/2013

Customer review by ManChicken

5.0 stars 5/28/2013 by ManChicken
by ManChicken

Sometimes when you buy something you hit a home run. With this product it was hit out the ballpark. Huge! Not hard for one person to put up. I am disabliled and it took me less than an hour. Rain? It has rain very very hard 4" in 3 hours and did not leak a drop. Wind? It has withheld 25-30mph with out a problem. I do worry about how long this will last though, mine will get a lot of use I did get the 2 year replacement plan. I just hope they have the very same tent if I have to replace this one within the 2 years. What a deal for the price this thing is HUGE! I got this tent to supplament my 13'x8' 2 wheel camper and this tent dwarfs the camper.

Was this review helpful? (216) (57)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ManChicken
earth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great buy for such a huge tent
10/9/2013

Customer review by ScoutMom5

5.0 stars 10/9/2013 by ScoutMom5
by ScoutMom5

We've used the tent twice now, in two very different weather conditions. First, let's talk about setup. It'd been about 15 years since I'd set up a tent, and my only helper on this tent was going to be my 10 year-old son. We did a test run in the backyard, and I also applied seam sealer. The first setup probably took about an hour, which was cut down to 1/2 hour on subsequent setups. This was with very minimal help from my son and would be much easier for two adults. I believe the instructions tell you to stake the corners first, but you'll have a much straighter floor if you stake the middle "square" of the tent first, then work your way out. Don't stake the mud mat until after setup. Also, I replaced all the stakes with heavier Coleman ones. I used a 20 x 10 tarp underneath, and had to fold a little under since the tent is not rectangular. Now, for size. This tent is a monster. You could fit three queen mattresses and still have room for your gear. Our first time out we had a queen mattress on either side of the tent, and the middle section contained two chairs, a table, two big storage containers, backpacks and various other items. The side doors are plenty large enough to bring in fully-inflated queen mattresses. If going to a campground, make sure you have a campsite large enough for this tent. Our first time we were at a state park with only a few other campers due to cold weather, so we got our pick of sites. There were probably only three campsites in the whole park that could accommodate this tent. And everyone's favorite question: weather. The first outing was in early spring, but conditions were still quite cold and it was 30-40 degrees at night. I was under no delusion that this tent would be toasty, and this is why we had a propane camping heater. However, there is way too much ventilation to keep any heat in. The entire top of the tent is mesh and air continuously flows through under the rainfly. This air flow, combined with the windows and doors should be great ventilation in warm weather. I did manage to improvise and dramatically cut down the air flow by removing the rainfly and draping two lightweight blankets over the tent, then replacing the rainfly. Still, do not take this tent out for cold-weather camping if you want to be comfy. Choose a smaller dome tent that has much less roof ventilation. The second outing was in late spring, very pleasant temps, so we still haven't tested the ventilation on those wonderful hot summer days. We did, however, experience a storm with a tremendous amount of rain. Many other tents around us were flooded and/or collapsed, but we were bone dry. One thing I had done was stake down the flaps on the two side doors, since we weren't going to need them open for ventilation. Staking the flaps down pulls them out slightly from the mesh doors, making the rain run off instead of collecting and soaking through the doors. Also, I made sure to get the rainfly as taut as possible. This seemed to be the issue with the other odd-shaped tents that got flooded at the campsite. Their rainflies were loose and lying on the top of the tents, collecting water. If the "3-Room" feature is what's guiding your decision, you will be disappointed. There are two room dividers that tie to the walls, but they are thin grey nylon that you can still see through. Also, they don't go to the top of the tent, so you can see right over the divider when you are standing up. So, if it's complete privacy you want, forget it. The dividers might be good if you have young kids that love the idea of having their own room in the tent. Other than that, they're kind of useless. All in all, a great tent, especially for the money.

Was this review helpful? (265) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ScoutMom5
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
GREAT BUY, GREAT TENT
6/20/2014

Customer review by lmg01

5.0 stars 6/20/2014 by lmg01
by lmg01

Bought and used this tent last weekend for Father's Day and LOVED IT!!!! We are new to camping as a family (I camped as a kid) and this tent was really easy to set up, durable in windy conditions and easy to take down!! We are a family of 4, had a queen air mattress on each end and plenty of room in the center for all our stuff. Highly recommend this tent!!!!

Was this review helpful? (52) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lmg01
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this tent!
12/25/2013

Customer review by SussK

5.0 stars 12/25/2013 by SussK
by SussK
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this for a Relay for Life event and loved it so much we bought one for each of our families! Set up is fast and easy, it was great in high winds, and the added benefit of having the "bedrooms" is perfect

Was this review helpful? (24) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SussK
Tucson, Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Potablle House. Great Buy.
4/27/2014

Customer review by Bobbylovett

5.0 stars 4/27/2014 by Bobbylovett
by Bobbylovett
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great Product for the Price. Getting a few years on me and spoiled to the RV thing so it was roughing it. LOL. In all was Very Nice used 1 partition for the Children's side "so they had their own Entrance , Exit." Very Nice. Middle made a Nice Family Area with Chairs and Fan/Light also purchased less than 20 bucks for this tent. Add a Couple of Tall Queen Size Air Beds and it was Back to Nature. Amazing how much we miss in a RV. But still check the Weather Report. We've had Good Luck in Florida so Far.

Was this review helpful? (9) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bobbylovett
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Camp lover
8/28/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/28/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Loved the tent very spacious felt like we were in a mansion out in the woods. Haha

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The product was unusable it was torn to many piece
4/26/2014

Customer review by 1BuyerBeware

1.0 stars 4/26/2014 by 1BuyerBeware
by 1BuyerBeware
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The product look like it might of been purchase before but not used they were part missing and the tent was torn to many pieces.

Was this review helpful? (8) (53)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1BuyerBeware
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Will be returning to store
6/11/2014

Customer review by Countrygirl4536

2.0 stars 6/11/2014 by Countrygirl4536
by Countrygirl4536
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this a couple weeks ago. When I got it we set it up in the yard to make sure we had all the pieces and that it was all in one piece. I was happy with the looks of it and it's size. (it was going to be plenty big enough for the vacation we were taking). We left a couple days later and when we set the tent up and actually used the stakes it ripped a small hole along the seam in the tent. It was still able to be used though. The next campground we went to (we were traveling to a couple during our vacation) we set it up and it ripped a little more but was still okay. There was a storm that night and the tent kept collapsing on us even after using extra guy ropes (that did NOT come with the tent). It rained and we kept getting puddles of water inside the tent. Totally not acceptable! We had to pull the tent down and find a hotel to stay in for the rest of the vacation. I was completely happy with the looks and size of the tent but it should not have ripped upon first use and been that unstable.

Was this review helpful? (21) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Countrygirl4536
Lakeview, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Big Tent!
8/24/2013

Customer review by jofofo

4.0 stars 8/24/2013 by jofofo
by jofofo

I finally had a chance to set up the tent in my backyard to make sure nothing was missing, to learn how to set it up and to seal the seams, the rain fly and to waterproof the tent itself. This tent is big! the description is this tent fits ten people;however, you should fit 6 comfortably plus their equipment. The poles are a little flimsy,so I would buy some spares. Also, get some long,strong stakes. The ones that came with this tent are short and thin and I don't believe they would hold the tent down in moderate windy conditions. It took me approximately 30 minutes to set up the tent with the help of my 15 yr. old and my 7 yr. old. Take your time sealing the rain fly seams and waterproof it with two coats. I left the tent up for 4 days and it rained on 3 of those days. The tent was completely dry inside!!. The e-port is on the upper left hand corner of the "D" main entrance door. There is an access door on each end of the tent, not one like the picture shows.

Was this review helpful? (23) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jofofo
Miramar, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Weathered a Storms
7/5/2015

Customer review by SteveNCindy

4.0 stars 7/5/2015 by SteveNCindy
by SteveNCindy

Bought this tent for the 4th of July camp out at Ute Lake N.M. July 2nd Out of the box tent was simple to set up in about 30 minutes and was tight for a large tent. After a couple of hours the wind pick up and a storm rolled in. Wind gusts at about 50-60 mph. Stakes and cord held, seams held. Both fiberglass poles snapped at 90 deg. inserts just above the front door. Fiber glass pierced the rain cover. The fiberglass pole at one end broke as well. We had folding chairs on the inside and apparently the back window when it collapsed punctured the window before we closed the flap. After the storm the tent was still standing we were dry and our supplies safe. Next day we made repairs with trusty duct tape and made and secured the metal poles with Para cord and stakes. Next night another storm with same wind gusts. Had parked car to block some of the wind. Tent still held up and we made it through another night. The 4th was clear and great fire works. This is our second Ozark Trail tent and we will stay with them.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SteveNCindy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
worked well
6/18/2015

Customer review by KHaney

4.0 stars 6/18/2015 by KHaney
by KHaney

This tent is good-sized. There were just two of us in the tent with a large queen-size air mattress. We had a table with our keurig and a fan and lights along with our suitcases and gear. We had plenty of room to organize. The tent was easy to set up and take down. I set it up alone in less than 30 minutes. Many reviews complain about the tent leaking. We had a rain storm come through and dump almost an inch of rain in less than an hour. The tent held up very well. No leaks. I suspect that many who have problems with leaks don't set the tent up well. We started with the center pegs on each side and pulled them TIGHT. No slack or sagging. Then we stretched the rest of the tent as tight as we could. I bought stronger and better pegs than come with the tent. Stretch the rain fly tight and peg it down. Easy to do and we had no problems with wind or rain. Plenty of windows allows for good ventilation. Peel back the rain fly (on dry nights) to sleep under the stars.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KHaney
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Huge tent. Great Price
6/12/2014

Customer review by MarylandGirl21502

5.0 stars 6/12/2014 by MarylandGirl21502
by MarylandGirl21502

Rainfly was waterproof out of the box but the tent IS NOT. Recommend to buy tent sealer also sold at Walmart and spray sides and seams well. The tent has been through several storms now with high winds/heavy downpours and has held up extremely well. The tent has been bone dry since sealing even through the heavy rains. Directions for setup is very confusing... use the short skinny poles for the top center and the longer poles for the sides.. short, fat poles go at the door and rear of tent with the hooks at the top... make sure to pull rainfly tight with the extra stitching for the small pole at the door. The small skinny pole goes in the rain fly at the front door connecting to main tent with metal holes....... setup the second time took less than 15 mins with two people. Definitely a tent for warmer weather, although, people have wrote that in cooler temps they put blankets over the mesh top under the rainfly. I have not tried this, but will if temps dip during camping trips. There is a nice feature with the eport so that you can run an extension cord through the tent without leaving zippers open

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MarylandGirl21502
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Big tent for a great price!
7/8/2013

Customer review by YoungFamilyPA

5.0 stars 7/8/2013 by YoungFamilyPA
by YoungFamilyPA

This tent has a lot to offer for the price after researching several multi-room tents. It easily holds 3 queen mattresses with walking/storage room between each and at the ends. To sleep 10 as advertised, I think you would need to eliminate a mattress (or two) to be able to hold more individual sleepers. The side rooms may have lower head room, but still larger than other tents of this design. Most importantly, it DID NOT LEAK A DROP two nights we had rain. I read a few other reviews who complained about the zippers closing at the bottom center of the side screen doors. If you're that worried about an insect sneaking in that small gap, use a piece of duct tape and all is well. It was easy to set up and take down with help from my 12 and 8 year old girls. And, it fit back in the bag but agree the handle on the bag does not seem strong enough to last. Overall, I recommend it especially for the price.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YoungFamilyPA
Wyoming, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Large enough for family of 5
10/29/2014

Customer review by OhioStateParktentcamper

4.0 stars 10/29/2014 by OhioStateParktentcamper
by OhioStateParktentcamper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this tent at Walmart for $139 and camped with 2 queen airbeds, and 1 Toddler bed and still plenty of room. I am 6 foot tall and could stand in the center section. It does take a little longer to set up compared to a 4 to 6 person tent since it has 3 sets of the of those poles to set up and you will need a 2nd person to stand up the center section. Approx set up time was 30 minutes but that was in the dark, I can probably do it in 15 minutes next time now that I am used to it. It has a small dog size door which was cool but I don't have a dog. It also has 3 doors, 1 in front and 2 sides which is nice to let tent air out. It has a nice small attached tarp at front door. Another feature is the spot to run an electric cord though they put it up high which seems odd as I would have placed it about 8 inches off the ground but its up at the top of door. It was very windy the first night and the tent didn't budge or sway. Very aerodynamic.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OhioStateParktentcamper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great tent
4/29/2016

Customer review by Michibou

5.0 stars 4/29/2016 by Michibou
by Michibou

This tent was a really great buy. It has plenty space and not too difficult to put up. We have used it three times on camping weekends and on a few occasions it has rained really hard and we remained dry. We live in the Caribbean so the weather changes from sunshine to thunderstorms in a matter of hours. Our only issue was this year April we had a bit of a storm and the fibre glass rods on the end of the tent snapped with the wind. this basically collapsed one side of the tent but the rest stayed up. We would love to have these replaced if anyone can tell us how/where? Other than that its a great tent.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Michibou
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice Tent
4/21/2013

Customer review by lwcampers

4.0 stars 4/21/2013 by lwcampers
by lwcampers
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Pros: Easy to set up ( my 8 year old son and I set this tent up in about 20 min), Very spacious inside (only the center has the clearance of 6+ feet closer to the screen doors are more like 4-5 feet), Held up good in moderate windy conditions, and for its size it is very lightweight. Loved all the windows great for cross ventilation. Cons: Could use one or two more windows on the back side of tent, Needs a zipper for the bottom part of screen doors, and it would hold up better in rainy conditions with the tub floor. The zipper to close screen doors also has this little gap where all the zippers meet and we all know that is just big enough to let in the bugs and flies, so it is important to pay close attention zipping it as good as possible. Overall I like the direction OT is heading and My family and I are excited to put this tent to the test.

Was this review helpful? (162) (53)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lwcampers
Lilburn, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice BIG tent-had to modify just a little
6/21/2013

Customer review by VampDXP

4.0 stars 6/21/2013 by VampDXP
by VampDXP

(Please read full review)-VERY BIG tent, so you are going to need some room to set it up. I live in a area with very little wind break, so when the wind picked up around 22mph a problem showed its self. The main arch supports for the canopy would try to fold in and the tent would try to collapse. Simple fix, take the cords off the rain fly and tie them to the loop on the brackets where the steel poles meet the fiberglass, use the yellow tent stakes to tie the other end down...problem fixed!! Great tent for the price, with tons of room. I am 6' 1" and have plenty of head room in the center of the tent. It says you need 2 people to set it up, but once you figure it out you could do it solo if need be.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VampDXP
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 286 total reviews
1-20 of 286 reviews