Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 563 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

563 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

563 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
288
4 stars
109
3 stars
35
2 stars
37
1 stars
94
1-20 of 556 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 556 total reviews
1-20 of 556 reviews
Great Vacuum, but cheap tools!
2/10/2017

Customer review by Diane405

4.0 stars 2/10/2017 by Diane405
by Diane405

Very Light weight and easy to use. The upholstery tool feel apart the first day.

Diane405
Orlando, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
HORRIBLE
1/31/2017

Customer review by ochoalejandra

1.0 stars 1/31/2017 by ochoalejandra
by ochoalejandra

I bought two of these, one for upstairs and one for downstairs. After only 3 months the one upstairs stopped working (roller). I was sent a replacement only to have that one break as well. The one downstairs is now broken. I refuse to get this vacuum again, I am working with customer service for a full refund!!

Comment from Kenya - 2/6/2017

Hi ochoalejandra! Oh no, that sure doesn’t sound like Hoover quality. Your Air Steerable should be holding up better than that with normal use. The good news is this model carries a 2 yr warranty against manufacturing defects. We recommend bringing it in for service. To locate an authorized repair center near you please visit: https://hoover.com/locator/. Please let us know if you still need us!

ochoalejandra
Las Cruces, NM, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Awful
1/28/2017

Customer review by Kel0167

1.0 stars 1/28/2017 by Kel0167
by Kel0167

Looked at reviews before purchasing and vacuum had all the features I wanted. Shortly after purchasing the dirt canister does not fully empty when you push release button, you have to reach in and pull dirt out. Vacuum started making a popping sound like a car back firing and will not pick up. I've had more problems with this vacuum in the year that I've had it than any other vacuum I've ever had.

Comment from Karissa - 1/31/2017

Hi Kel0167! Your Air Steerable should not make this sound during use. We want to help. We will be reaching out to you privately for further assistance in this matter. We look forward to hearing from you!

Kel0167
Levittown, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not a good vacuum!
1/31/2017

Customer review by Donewithyou2222222

1.0 stars 1/31/2017 by Donewithyou2222222
by Donewithyou2222222

Not well engineered, it constantly falls over, hose and power cord are way to short, I have stopped using the brush head all together because it gets tangled up with my wife's hair and must be disassembled to clean. Suction is good, but the overall package really sucks.

Comment from Kenya - 2/6/2017

Hi Donewithyou2222222! We appreciate your honest feedback. We are always open to new ideas to improve the user experience. We'll pass your comments along. Thanks for your time!

Donewithyou2222222
Colorado, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Perfect for me
12/30/2016

Customer review by Happyvacmom

5.0 stars 12/30/2016 by Happyvacmom
by Happyvacmom

I just purchase this last night and it is the ideal combination of things I love in a vacuum. It is so maneuverable and lightweight and I can carry it upstairs without things falling off or the brush roll base releasing from lock position. Has great suction, it's not loud and totally easy peasy to clean! I really appreciate the parts that you can dismantle to get to the dirt cup and filter...you can get to all of it to clean!!! It's also an ideal size for tucking away in the closet. It has a super long cord that doesn't twist up and the suction hose stays put when not in use. I also love that it doesn't mark up the floor boards like my old vacuum. It's powerful and perfect! The price was right on and I couldn't be happier! So glad I shopped around.

Happyvacmom
Illinois, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Destroyed our texture pile carpet
1/15/2017

Customer review by wishingididntbuyuh72400

1.0 stars 1/15/2017 by wishingididntbuyuh72400
by wishingididntbuyuh72400

This vacuum pulls dirt out of the carpet like no other. Unfortunately, it sucks up THE CARPET along with the dirt. At first I thought the SUPER suction was finding dirt our dyson had been missing since we bought the carpet ONLY 4 years ago. But over the four months since we bought the vacuum we noticed the carpet being pulled up in some areas and in other areas it appeared as if someone was shredding the fibers with a fine comb. The reality is the powerful suction and the lack of a carpet height adjustment mechanism, the UH72400 has destroyed our carpet.

Comment from Kenya - 1/16/2017

Hi! Oh no, that doesn’t sound too good. The Air Steerable should work fine on carpets. If you have a special type of carpet or rugs, we suggest inquiring with the manufacturer to be sure you can use this unit on them. Please let us know if you still need us!

wishingididntbuyuh72400
Pittsburgh, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love it
1/28/2017

Customer review by Alliecat

4.0 stars 1/28/2017 by Alliecat
by Alliecat

I love this vacuum! Great suction and pick up. Just wish I didn't have to cut hair off the bristles every week, but it's worth it to have such a great product!

Alliecat
NW Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Vacuum that handles like a "Go Kart"
12/14/2015

Customer review by Mr C

5.0 stars 12/14/2015 by Mr C
by Mr C

This was a Black Friday purchase from Home Depot and I must say this was an excellent buy! I was a bit apprehensive, but after first use I have to say that I’m totally impressed with the build, quality, performance and the “Go Kart” type handling of this vacuum. I was also pleased with sound level, not loud nor a major disturbance of noise throughout the home when in use, in addition the disposal of capture dirt is very easy and a good design. I gave this vacuum a 5 Star rating however there is one area I feel could and should be improved upon. A 6th star could be had with an integrated LED Head Lamp, for vacuuming in dimly lit areas of your home. I started using this vacuum last night, and I kept saying to myself how nice it would have been to have a built in LED lamp for areas that are not well lit. I’m sure that engineers at Hoover can incorporate in upcoming versions, which would make this unit close to perfect, until I come up with another suggestion from continued use.

Mr C
Rancho Cucamonga, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best vacuum I've EVER had!
1/21/2017

Customer review by Hoots1221

5.0 stars 1/21/2017 by Hoots1221
by Hoots1221

I bought this vacuum because my old college vacuum died. I have to say I've tried other vacuums and I think this one is just as good as the super expensive Dyson vacuums. I've actually been able to use the expensive Dyson on my carpets. The Hoover vacuum got up just as much out of the carpet as the Dyson. So happy with my purchase!!

Hoots1221
Asheville, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Terrible household vacuum
1/5/2017

Customer review by Frank d

1.0 stars 1/5/2017 by Frank d
by Frank d

It has great suction which is an issue without height adjustment. You cannot use this vacuum on area rugs, runners, or a carpet that is not glued to the floor. It pulls the carpet up and jams the spinning brush. The hose is also a terrible design. It is not flexible and does not extend easily cause the vacuum to topple over. It is a nice idea but terribly designed and obviously not tested. This is the ultimate failure in vacuums. I am very disappointed in Hoover because of this unit and that they have not contacted me despite my numerous attempts to contact them.

Comment from Kenya - 1/9/2017

Hi Frank d! We appreciate your honest review. The Air Steerable does not have a way to manually adjust the height. It sounds like a vacuum with a height adjustment option will better fit your home needs. We recommend the WindTunnel MAX. See it here: http://bit.ly/1vxexRy. We hope this helps!

Frank d
Brooklyn, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Features!
1/21/2017

Customer review by PorterJohn68

5.0 stars 1/21/2017 by PorterJohn68
by PorterJohn68

Why spend you $$$ on a Dyson! Just doesn't make sense!!!

PorterJohn68
Fort Myers, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
NOT WORKING
1/14/2017

Customer review by stuck with a bad product

1.0 stars 1/14/2017 by stuck with a bad product
by stuck with a bad product

I bought this 2-weeks ago,vacuum shutting off and I can smell something burning. I think I made a mistake!!

Comment from Kenya - 1/16/2017

Hi there! Your Air Steerable has a thermal protector that shuts the vacuum down if it gets overheated. Overheating is caused by a clog. Take a look at this quick video for locating and clearing clogs: http://bit.ly/1nDQ4fE. Complete these steps and your Hoover should run like new. We hope this helps!

stuck with a bad product
Hammond, IN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Let Down
1/10/2017

Customer review by devindett

1.0 stars 1/10/2017 by devindett
by devindett

I was so excited about this vacuum... But was let down. It makes a loud obnoxious noise when I pull it back and forward. Also, the brush on the handheld part does not stay in place when using it (See photo)

Comment from Karissa - 1/14/2017

Hi devindett! Your Air Steerable should hold up better than this. We want to help. Please remove the bottom plate and brushroll. Ensure the brushroll is completely clear of all hair/debris including the end caps. Also check that the belt is intact as well. As for the 2-in-1 tool, please pull the brush all the way up until you feel it lock into place. If further assistance is needed feel free to reach out to us via Facebook or Tweet us @HooverUSA. We’re here for you!

devindett
La Crosse, WI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Fantastic machine
1/12/2017

Customer review by Hermac

5.0 stars 1/12/2017 by Hermac
by Hermac

Just bought this lightweight vacuum and my wife loves it already. It cleans better than our former Hoover Windtunnel Upright.

Hermac
Excellent cleaner
1/8/2017

Customer review by Phyllia

4.0 stars 1/8/2017 by Phyllia
by Phyllia

Just bought this vacuum and it does clean the dirt up! It moves easily with the flexible handle. Sometimes fights me when I pull it backwards. My only complaint is it is noisy, especially in the carpet mode.

Phyllia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Burning up
1/1/2017

Customer review by TaylorchattTN

1.0 stars 1/1/2017 by TaylorchattTN
by TaylorchattTN

I bought the hoover air less than a year ago, it started burning up and smelling like burnt rubber. The motor slows and I've only used it a few times.. I've cleaned out the whole vacuum and it still does this. What is this about? If I didn't have these problems I would have recommended this vacuum to others. I have NOT received a replacement therefore I'm not a satisfied customer.

Comment from Kenya - 1/4/2017

Hi TaylorchattTN! That shouldn’t be happening. We want to help. This sounds like something we need to get our hands on. The good news is the Air Steerable carries a 5 year warranty against manufacturing defects. To locate authorized Hoover dealers please visit: http://hoover.com/locator/. Let us know if you still need us!

TaylorchattTN
Chattanooga, TN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great !!
1/8/2017

Customer review by Clne

5.0 stars 1/8/2017 by Clne
by Clne

Never new things were so dirty until I used this sweeper!!

Clne
WV, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pros and Cons of the Hoover Air Steerable
12/24/2016

Customer review by Chris58

3.0 stars 12/24/2016 by Chris58
by Chris58

I wanted a small yet powerful vacuum to use for our second floor without spending a small fortune. I wanted to stay within a price range of one hundred dollars, give or take with certain features I desired. After use of this vacuum, I'm listing a few pros and a few cons. The pros first, the cleaner has a HEPA filter which was a plus not wanting small dust particles circulating back into the air. This vacuum also has a swivel head which is a fantastic feature and it lays low for vacuuming under beds or coffee tables. The vacuum is no slouch when it comes to suction, as Elf would say, It's very sucky. This feature can however be both a pro and a con. The cons, the suction is so powerful that it is difficult to roll over thicker carpet, scatter rugs and linoleum flooring and offers no height adjustment. Just beware, It takes some muscle power to roll back and forth on these types of flooring. The attachments are nothing to write home about, it comes with a crevice tool and a tiny brush that is fit for a child's play vacuum. It also doesn't have a stair attachment so you must hold the vacuum in your arms so that it lays flat for you to work the stairs. In conclusion, this small vacuum packs a powerful suction with nice swivel action but requires a little bit of a workout making it a little more of a chore than expected. This vacuum has some design flaws given its powerful suction. It either needs larger rear wheels a height adjuster or both and it would be a great value.

Comment from Kenya - 12/27/2016

Hi Chris58! We appreciate your honest feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve the user experience. We will pass your comments along. Thanks for your time!

Chris58
Yorktown, Virginia, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
SIMPLY the BEST!!!
6/22/2013

Customer review by MrMom

5.0 stars 6/22/2013 by MrMom
by MrMom

My wife and I were in the market for a new vacuum, due to our old one (Hoover of course) was ten years old. I was interested in the Hoover-air after seeing it on T.V.  I then checked it out on the internet and read all the pro's and con's people said about it and went out and bought one yesterday.  I vacuumed the whole house which consist of hardwood floors, carpet and tile and all I can say is WOW!  I never thought I would be this excited about a vacuum.  The light weight, powerful suction and the way it maneuvers around furniture, this vacuum is AMAZING!  I actually enjoyed vacuuming the house and our carpet looks brand new.  The price of the vacuum was great also.  I normally don't write reviews, but after using this vacuum for the first time I had to write and tell everyone how great this vacuum is.  If your in the market for a new vacuum and can't decide which one to buy, the wait is over.  Buy the Hoover-Air Steerable and you wont be disappointed.     

MrMom
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Lightweight but powerful
4/13/2013

Customer review by prairiemom

4.0 stars 4/13/2013 by prairiemom
by prairiemom

I bought this today and tried it out as soon as I assembled it. Assembly was simple, and vacuuming was so much easier. I love the lighter weight and maneuverability. My back doesn't hurt!  I got an amazing amount of dirt up. I thought my old vacuum was doing a decent job but this thing is powerful.  I had to empty the canister twice in doing just four rooms, it does have a much smaller canister than my old Fantom. However, it is easy to empty, just hold it over the garage trash and press the button. The lid swings away and the dirt drops out. Snap it back onto the vac and away you go. I thought I was just imagining that the living room carpet seemed cleaner, expecting great things out of a new vac and all, but my husband walked in and immediately noticed the carpet looks cleaner.  I used the crevice tool just to try it out, seems to be fine. My only wish is that it would be a bit taller. We are tall folks, and we're always on the lookout for products comfortable for us.  Now just hoping it lasts a long, long time!

prairiemom
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 556 total reviews
1-20 of 556 reviews