Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 492 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

492 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

492 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
265
4 stars
92
3 stars
27
2 stars
32
1 stars
76
1-20 of 485 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 485 total reviews
1-20 of 485 reviews
second purchase
7/13/2016

Customer review by Cleaning woman

4.0 stars 7/13/2016 by Cleaning woman
by Cleaning woman

I really liked my Hoover vacuum that I bought a year ago. It was a slightly different model, but I loved the design. Unfortunately, it suddenly stopped working, and I never registered the product. Therefore, I purchased a second one feeling a bit apprehensive. I like this product very much and made sure to register it because it has a 5 year warranty. Some of the features I appreciate is how easy it is to switch from the brush rotating to turning it off so that I don't scratch the hard wood floors. I also like the design of the cleaning tool. With a simple click of a button, you're ready to go. I have dogs, so I vacuum a lot. It is fairly lightweight, so it is easy to carry up the stairs. It has a strong suction and thoroughly picks up that dog hair. I would recommend it. I just hope it last longer. Also, I wish it was manufactured in the U.S.. It is made in China.

Comment from Karissa - 7/14/2016

Hi Cleaning woman! Your Air Steerable Bagless upright carries a five year manufacturer's warranty from the purchase date on the receipt or the MFG code on the data sticker. The product registration is for recall purposes only. All of our products are enginered and designed in Glenwillow, Ohio. Assembly is the only aspect used in China. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-944-9200 M-F from 8am-6pm EST. We're here for you!

Cleaning woman
Redwood Estates, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful
7/9/2016

Customer review by Chie

4.0 stars 7/9/2016 by Chie
by Chie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a very good bagless upright vacuum. I am very pleased to see how good it works in suctioning embeded dirt in between the fibers of the carpet. Since it has a transparent canister that catches the dirt, you would know very well that your carpet is really cleaned-up. And the best part is, it's manageable to carry and steerable so it makes it easy to operate and you could shift it from carpet to hard floor with just one push on a button. What l like most about is, l could right away empty the dirt out of the canister and it has a HEPA filter, a kind of filter that traps large amount of small particles. Hoover is the name of brand that you could trust and l highly recommend this

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointed
4/12/2013

Customer review by Carlisle44

1.0 stars 4/12/2013 by Carlisle44
by Carlisle44

Light, able to reach the top of stairs, I thought this would perfect for me. Out of the box the handle release was a struggle. Would not release willingly and then did so with a frightening clunk. When it came time to change electric outlet, would try and avoid locking the handle so I did not have to wrestle with the foot release again. While there was an impressive amount of fluff in the container, this vacuum did raise pile nor leave "tracks." May or may not be an indicator of cleanliness but something I like. Also not good at cleaning edges and I tried both directions. Did not quite get to the top of my stairs, no on board storage for "tools" (you only get two) and a nuisance - never there when you want them, location of on/off button was awkward if you vacuum with your right hand, no furniture bumper. I returned as the on/off switch stopped working. I wanted to love but this was a fail. Exchanged for a different brand, heavy but on/off button foot operated, handle release smooth and quiet and $$ cheaper.

Was this review helpful? (25) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Carlisle44
New Market, Md.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works very well so far!
6/28/2016

Customer review by Dodiemac

5.0 stars 6/28/2016 by Dodiemac
by Dodiemac
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I put it together (79 year old woman.) Vacuumed all 4 of my rugs and was amazed at the cat hair that came up. It filled the dirt cup too much and I had to do some work to clean it out. I emptied it after each rug. Next time it should be a lot better. My old vacuum just wasn't doing the job. Now if it doesn't have any mechanical or plastic-breaking problems, it will be a great buy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dodiemac
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Vacuum that handles like a "Go Kart"
12/14/2015

Customer review by Mr C

5.0 stars 12/14/2015 by Mr C
by Mr C

This was a Black Friday purchase from Home Depot and I must say this was an excellent buy! I was a bit apprehensive, but after first use I have to say that I’m totally impressed with the build, quality, performance and the “Go Kart” type handling of this vacuum. I was also pleased with sound level, not loud nor a major disturbance of noise throughout the home when in use, in addition the disposal of capture dirt is very easy and a good design. I gave this vacuum a 5 Star rating however there is one area I feel could and should be improved upon. A 6th star could be had with an integrated LED Head Lamp, for vacuuming in dimly lit areas of your home. I started using this vacuum last night, and I kept saying to myself how nice it would have been to have a built in LED lamp for areas that are not well lit. I’m sure that engineers at Hoover can incorporate in upcoming versions, which would make this unit close to perfect, until I come up with another suggestion from continued use.

Mr C
Rancho Cucamonga, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I'm impressed
4/11/2013

Customer review by pittersmom

5.0 stars 4/11/2013 by pittersmom
by pittersmom

I had a Bissell and it worked well, but it was so heavy I had trouble pushing it across the carpet. I gave it to a friend of mine. I have a Hoover Linx and it's great, but doesn't have the sucking power I need for the carpet in the bed room. My loving dog is a sand magnet, need I say more. This vacuum is so powerful. It's lightweight which is great for a more mature person as myself. I couldn't believe how much sand I picked up with this vacuum. Then I went over the carpet again after emptying the container and picked up more sand. My carpet is soft to walk on again. I love the long cord. I don't have to keep unpluging and pluging the cord in when I go from room to room. It has a washable filter, another option I like. All in all, I am most happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (86) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pittersmom
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best Vacuum I have ever owned!!
7/16/2016

Customer review by Hooverfanatic9

5.0 stars 7/16/2016 by Hooverfanatic9
by Hooverfanatic9

I used this Hoover a few days after using my old trusty Kenmore Elite and was astonished by how much dirt was picked up that my old cleaner didn't manage to pick up! Very powerful and lightweight design. I am so happy that i purchased this unit. Unfortunately,my wife refused to accept the Hoover as an anniversary gift........

Hooverfanatic9
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great buy!
7/18/2016

Customer review by hooverhappy

5.0 stars 7/18/2016 by hooverhappy
by hooverhappy

Works great! Just vacuumed with my old machine and then with the new one-WO! I was amazed at how much more dirt there was still in my carpet! Love how this gets the fine dirt and dog hair too!

hooverhappy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Smell burn!!!
7/18/2016

Customer review by Phat

1.0 stars 7/18/2016 by Phat
by Phat

I bought this on November 2015 and used it about 4 times a month. Now I cannot even use it because the motor smells burn. this product has been used not even a year yet.

Comment from Karissa - 7/22/2016

Hi Phat! Oh no, your Air Steerable Bagless Upright should last longer than this. We want to help. Please inspect the belt to ensure its intact and not stretched. Also remove the brushroll and clear any debris that may be wrapped around the endcaps. The primary filter and HEPA filter can both be removed and cleaned as well. If you still notice the smell we recommend having one of our service technicians inspect the unit. Your model carries a five year warranty that covers for any manufacturing defects at no cost to you. To locate a service center in your area please visit: http://hoover.com/locator/. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-944-9200 M- F from 8am-6pm EST. We’re here for you!

Phat
San Jose, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not all that happy
7/4/2016

Customer review by Rde1977

2.0 stars 7/4/2016 by Rde1977
by Rde1977

At first this thing worked great I was very pleased. After about 6 months it's making a lot of noise doesn't seem to clean the floors like it used to when looking on this site for some parts they're out of stock and seem to be high priced. At almost $200 it's not a super high priced vacuum but I don't feel like I should be replacing things so soon. My last vacuum was a Hoover lasted me 10 years and was still working pretty good when I replaced it. At this point I need to decide if I want to spend 50-60 bucks to get it up and running good or just toss it and buy a new one.

Comment from Michael - 7/6/2016

Hi Rde1977! Oh no, that doesn't sound right. We want to help. Your Air Steerable comes with a limited 5 year warranty that protects it against manufacturer defects at no cost to you. We recommend bringing it in for inspection. To find a repair center, you can here: http://hoover.com/locator/. If further assistance is needed, please call us at 1-800-944-9200 between 8am-6pm EST M-F. We’re here for you!

Rde1977
Baltimore, MD, United States
less then 2 years in repair twice
7/17/2016

Customer review by Mark 11

1.0 stars 7/17/2016 by Mark 11
by Mark 11

purchased in Oct 2014 . In March 2015 broke out for repair again on June 17,2016 for the same broken switch.

Comment from Karissa - 7/22/2016

Hi Mark 11! We’d like to thank you for following the warranty procedure and taking your cleaner in for inspection and repair. We’re sorry to hear the switch is not working again. We want to help. Your model carries a five year warranty that covers for any manufacturing defects. Since the unit was seen by the service center for the same issue they will be able to take another look to see why the switch is not working again. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-944-9200 M-F from 8am-6pm EST. We’re here for you!

Mark 11
Piscataway,NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Same Hoover quality vacuum pick up!
7/7/2016

Customer review by Sally44

2.0 stars 7/7/2016 by Sally44
by Sally44

My old Hoover broke yesterday so ran right out and purchased another Hoover. I love how easy the Air steerable (model 2400) moves and picks up dirt, however it does not hug the carpet at the baseboards like my old one with the brushes on the side. This required me to use the attachment at the edge of the carpet. The attachments are really not very easy to use either. I was not able to reach the tops of my drapes and had to hold on to the unit because it kept falling over when using the hose.

Comment from Karissa - 7/8/2016

Hi Sally44! We strive to provide the best products to meet each individuals cleaning needs. For optimum tool usage we recommend attaching the tools to the end of the wand by twisting onto place snugly. It sounds like a pivoting dusting brush may better suite the cleaning needs for your drapes. You can find this tool here: http://bit.ly/29Ald0x. Tugging on the hose too hard or pulling it along by the hose may cause the unit to fall over during use. We suggest moving the unit with the handle atop the dirt canister to avoid the unit from tipping over and avoiding overextending the hose. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-944-9200 M-F from 8am-6pm EST. We’re here for you!

Sally44
Elgin, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Quality problem
5/2/2016

Customer review by Ron C

2.0 stars 5/2/2016 by Ron C
by Ron C

Bought this vacuum for it's features. Easy to use, light weight, turn feature makes vacuuming easy. Was enjoying this machine until the power brush stoped working. It has an on and off button for the power brush and and an overload feature also for the power brush. No matter what I tried, pushing the on off button or waiting for the overlod feature to kick in, the brush would not work. Took off the baseplate to check the belt and found the belt OK. Could not turn the motor shaft by hand, seems to be frozen in place? Took the machine to a Hoover repair center and I am now without a vacuum for 3 to 4 weeks. Gentleman at the repair facility said maybe less time but count on 3 to 4. Had a previous Hoover machine for 14 years and had no problems. Gave in to my grand daughter and it is till working. We will see about this new machine when I get it back. Very disappointed.

Comment from Kenya - 5/4/2016

Hi Ron C! We understand it can be disappointing to be without your Air Steerable for this long. The good news is that manufacturing defects are covered at no charge to you during the warranty period of 5 years. We’re forwarding your case over to the warranty department to work diligently on your claim. Thanks for your patience!

Ron C
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
light weight
7/10/2016

Customer review by Blessed

5.0 stars 7/10/2016 by Blessed
by Blessed

I brought this product one day ago and already love the suction power. Great product!

Blessed
Glassboro, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Was nice until a part broke!
6/30/2016

Customer review by TuesdayG

2.0 stars 6/30/2016 by TuesdayG
by TuesdayG

I bought this vacuum 7 months ago from bed bath and beyond. It was working great until a few months ago it started making noise. We took it apart and noticed the brush roller end was broken. I've been waiting over a month for a new brush roller to become in stock but no luck. Now I have a new vacuum that I cannot use. I only have two rooms to vacuum. Its not like it had a hard 6 month life. Do I buy a new vacuum? Or keep waiting for Hoover to get this roller brush part in?

Comment from Karissa - 7/1/2016

Hi TuesdayG! Oh no, the brushroll on your Air Steerable should last longer than this. We want to help. We will be reaching out to you privately for further assistance in this matter. We look forward to hearing from you!

TuesdayG
California, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Swivel Feature is great!
7/5/2016

Customer review by KathyB76

4.0 stars 7/5/2016 by KathyB76
by KathyB76

This vacuum is certainly picking up dust and debris compared to my old vacuum cleaner. It is much easier to clean and dump the dirt. I love the swivel feature as it makes it easier to get around furniture. Lightweight - easy to carry upstairs.

KathyB76
Phoenix, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good product but could be better
2/7/2014

Customer review by Rajinder

3.0 stars 2/7/2014 by Rajinder
by Rajinder
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this vacuum cleaner from Wal-Mart online because Wal-Mart had a 90 day return policy, it was selling at a roll back price of $159 which was the same from Amazon. The 90 day return policy to a local store was important to me because some of the reviews had indicated On/Off switch failure and no suction. At least for the first few days, the unit has performed flawlessly on carpets, throw rugs and hard floors. It has good suction and it has performed better than my previous vacuum cleaners. The positives, good suction, light weight, easy to move. The negatives, plastic material construction is not sturdy. Stairs are very difficult to clean. Had to clean stairs using attachment hose which is short and difficult to use. Electric cord is of good length to use over wide area. The cord is not automatically retractable. This is good and bad. Good because the plug does not accidently gets unplugged from the socket and bad because the cord is spread across floor and has to be rewound manually. Overall, the unit is good for the price and should last for a few years with proper use, handling and care.

Was this review helpful? (25) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rajinder
Rocky Hill, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good vacuum
7/7/2016

Customer review by Nathan

4.0 stars 7/7/2016 by Nathan
by Nathan

Works great. Clogs sometimes though when using wand

Nathan
Duluth, MN 55810, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointment!
7/2/2016

Customer review by Sue Johnston

1.0 stars 7/2/2016 by Sue Johnston
by Sue Johnston

At first it did a great job. Good suction. Then the 2nd battery went totally dead. The motor head just died and that is key to the suction. For light weight jobs and needs to be cleaned often. Not worth the money.

Comment from Michael - 7/5/2016

Hi Sue! Oh no, that doesn't sound right. We want to help. We will be reaching out to you privately for further assistance. We hope to hear from you soon!

Sue Johnston
York, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
great product
7/1/2016

Customer review by linmlly

4.0 stars 7/1/2016 by linmlly
by linmlly

I purchased a month ago and so far am happy with it although is heavier than i had expected

linmlly
Ohio, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 485 total reviews
1-20 of 485 reviews