Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 386 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

386 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

386 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
212
4 stars
73
3 stars
25
2 stars
16
1 stars
60
1-20 of 379 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 379 total reviews
1-20 of 379 reviews
A Vacuum that handles like a "Go Kart"
12/14/2015

Customer review by Mr C

5.0 stars 12/14/2015 by Mr C
by Mr C

This was a Black Friday purchase from Home Depot and I must say this was an excellent buy! I was a bit apprehensive, but after first use I have to say that I’m totally impressed with the build, quality, performance and the “Go Kart” type handling of this vacuum. I was also pleased with sound level, not loud nor a major disturbance of noise throughout the home when in use, in addition the disposal of capture dirt is very easy and a good design. I gave this vacuum a 5 Star rating however there is one area I feel could and should be improved upon. A 6th star could be had with an integrated LED Head Lamp, for vacuuming in dimly lit areas of your home. I started using this vacuum last night, and I kept saying to myself how nice it would have been to have a built in LED lamp for areas that are not well lit. I’m sure that engineers at Hoover can incorporate in upcoming versions, which would make this unit close to perfect, until I come up with another suggestion from continued use.

Mr C
Rancho Cucamonga, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So wanted to like it but it broke day 2
11/28/2015

Customer review by user11

1.0 stars 11/28/2015 by user11
by user11

I bought this vacuum to replace a very lightweight model from another manufacturer that had worked well for 4 years but gave out. I used this vacuum inside just to touch up before Thanksgiving guests arrived. Used it again to clean up post dinner and snap, the piece that holds the bottom to the top just broke such that only the coil cord connects them. I am not a big person and did not ask anything difficult of the vacuum, although I did push forward and pull back and non-aggressively reached around as a steerable is meant to do. The tiny, internal, plastic connector that holds the device together snapped. After significant sliding of now-moving parts, I was able to push the pieces back together so the device can again stand up but it will only hold while the machine is still. Perhaps this was just a defective individual product, but this shouldn't have happened as I asked nothing more than that the device vacuum a flat, medium nap carpeted surface.

Comment from Joscelyn - 11/28/2015

Hi user11! This definitely does not sound like Hoover quality and we'd have a few more questions for you so we can better assist! We'll be sending a private email shortly. Thank you!

user11
Buffalo, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great for hardwood and tile
1/10/2016

Customer review by DSN1

4.0 stars 1/10/2016 by DSN1
by DSN1

I needed a replacement for my self propelled Hoover. It was a great vacuum but extremely heavy. I'm in my 60's now so needed something lighter to lift. I no longer have carpet so didn't need a self propelled model again. This one fits the bill. There's plenty of suction. It's very lightweight. The extension handle and extra hose lets me easily reach my 9' ceilings without getting up on a ladder. I don't have to buy bags. It's just about perfect. The only flaw is there's no height adjustment. I have a very thick area rug. I can barely pull the vacuum across it. However the suction is what makes it such a great vacuum for hardwood and tile. If they would just put an adjustment or one of those sliding vent options to allow you to vacuum thick rugs it would be perfect. Also I wish the brush attachment was thicker. It's pretty cheap but that's minor. This is a great vacuum that I highly recommend.

DSN1
Pleasant View TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointed
4/12/2013

Customer review by Carlisle44

1.0 stars 4/12/2013 by Carlisle44
by Carlisle44

Light, able to reach the top of stairs, I thought this would perfect for me. Out of the box the handle release was a struggle. Would not release willingly and then did so with a frightening clunk. When it came time to change electric outlet, would try and avoid locking the handle so I did not have to wrestle with the foot release again. While there was an impressive amount of fluff in the container, this vacuum did raise pile nor leave "tracks." May or may not be an indicator of cleanliness but something I like. Also not good at cleaning edges and I tried both directions. Did not quite get to the top of my stairs, no on board storage for "tools" (you only get two) and a nuisance - never there when you want them, location of on/off button was awkward if you vacuum with your right hand, no furniture bumper. I returned as the on/off switch stopped working. I wanted to love but this was a fail. Exchanged for a different brand, heavy but on/off button foot operated, handle release smooth and quiet and $$ cheaper.

Was this review helpful? (22) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Carlisle44
New Market, Md.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fantastic Machine! Gets job done amazingly!
11/13/2015

Customer review by utherp01

5.0 stars 11/13/2015 by utherp01
by utherp01

I purchased this machine about a year ago to replace a 6 year old dirt devil bag vacuum that stunk, literally! The smell it was admitting was highly offensive every time it was used (although it was still cleaning, or so I thought). Bringing the new machine home was the best thing I did, easy assembly, convenient extension house, long cord, bagless with rinsable filter and dirt cup, also this machine's hepa filter is a plus with those who have family members who have asthma. After using this machine for the first time, the chief of vacuuming has been a fight....a good one! Everyone wants to see just hoe good thus machine cleans, it's ease of cleaning around and under tight areas...it's like magic! Having 6 animals ( which includes longer haired cats), 2 kids who have frequent visits with friends and of course my husband and I, we all make messes and this machine handles it ALL perfectly. I would definitely recommend this machine for others to see just how bad it will make your old machine look, and make this chore a whole lot easier to complete.

utherp01
Sullivan County, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love this machine!
2/2/2016

Customer review by Army girl

5.0 stars 2/2/2016 by Army girl
by Army girl

I got my machine at the AAFES for military personnel. It is lightweight, easy to change, and has great suction which is needed due to all the dog hair in my home. I love the feature that allows me to turn off the brushes so I can easily switch from rug to hard wood floor. So very worth that money!

Army girl
Alexandria, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I'm impressed
4/11/2013

Customer review by pittersmom

5.0 stars 4/11/2013 by pittersmom
by pittersmom

I had a Bissell and it worked well, but it was so heavy I had trouble pushing it across the carpet. I gave it to a friend of mine. I have a Hoover Linx and it's great, but doesn't have the sucking power I need for the carpet in the bed room. My loving dog is a sand magnet, need I say more. This vacuum is so powerful. It's lightweight which is great for a more mature person as myself. I couldn't believe how much sand I picked up with this vacuum. Then I went over the carpet again after emptying the container and picked up more sand. My carpet is soft to walk on again. I love the long cord. I don't have to keep unpluging and pluging the cord in when I go from room to room. It has a washable filter, another option I like. All in all, I am most happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (83) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pittersmom
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
So close!
1/31/2016

Customer review by marchie

4.0 stars 1/31/2016 by marchie
by marchie

Powerful suction, great maneuverability, light weight, but with two dogs the agitator get bogged down and has to be cleaned every use. Wouldn't mind that if it was easy on and off but it requires removing four screws and wrestling the end with the belt into it's locked position. Otherwise happy with the design.

marchie
western Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it
2/4/2016

Customer review by Lubella

4.0 stars 2/4/2016 by Lubella
by Lubella

Great vac will give as gift for wedding any occasion as needed

Lubella
Philadelphia, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful Vacuum
1/18/2016

Customer review by JPro

5.0 stars 1/18/2016 by JPro
by JPro

I just purchased this vacuum today. I was excited and couldn't wait to get it out of the box ASAP! We just put new carpet throughout our entire house and this vacuum is going to keep our carpet looking new for a long time to come. I love the extended reach the hose allows for. I'm able to reach those pesky cobwebs up high in the cathedral ceiling (with the help of a ladder, of course) with ease. Light weight and easy to use on the stairs. Great vacuum, good quality, budget friendly pricing. My home is a pet friendly, child loving  home and this vacuum is going to help keep the traction of debris out.

JPro
WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
works great, but its already broken,from routine cleaning
2/1/2016

Customer review by Tina A

3.0 stars 2/1/2016 by Tina A
by Tina A

love how great it works, but, I already have to order replacement part.

Comment from Kenya - 2/1/2016

Hi Tina A! Your Air Steerable should hold up to scrutiny. If you’re having issues we are always here for you. Feel free to reach out to us via Facebook, Tweet us @HooverUSA or simply give us a call at 1-800-944-9200. We look forward to hearing from you!

Tina A
Michigan, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor quality very dissapointed
2/9/2016

Customer review by halfanhour

1.0 stars 2/9/2016 by halfanhour
by halfanhour

My old hoover canister lasted for 20 years until they stopped making parts. This upright one is so cheap the accessory brush broke after 2 weeks and now the handle has cracked after 5 months. I never would have bought it if knew how poor the quality was.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 2/10/2016

Hi halfanhour! The brush can break on your Air Steerable if it becomes jammed with hair or debris. We recommend occasionally removing the brush and clearing the end caps. You want to be sure the brushes are able to spin freely as well. You shouldn't be having any issues with the handle. The handle and the brush are available from Hoover using part numbers 440004054 and 440004079. If further assistance is needed feel free to contact us via Facebook, tweet us @HooverUSA or call at 1-800-944-9200 .Thanks! ~Kenya, Hoover Customer Care

halfanhour
Would recommend to a friend? No
goo getter
1/30/2016

Customer review by booger

5.0 stars 1/30/2016 by booger
by booger

So far well pleased with the way it handles very light and efficent

booger
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love the features!
1/27/2016

Customer review by Bobo

4.0 stars 1/27/2016 by Bobo
by Bobo

I purchased this at Kroger on January 14, 2016 & today ( January 27th, 2016) is the first time I have used it. I usually wait & review after several uses. It worked fine today.

Bobo
Lawrenceburg, KY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Didn't Last 3 months
1/23/2016

Customer review by jgrizzz

1.0 stars 1/23/2016 by jgrizzz
by jgrizzz

I bought this Vacuum from Home Depot in August of 2015 and the rotator head burnt up three months later. I only have 1 area rug and carpet in the living room, so this vacuum was only used about 8 times for 15 minutes. This is a low cost vacuum and you get what you pay for.

Comment from Joscelyn - 1/23/2016

Hi jgrizzz! Surely, your brushes should be lasting more than 5 months and quality is our # 1 priority. We want to help! Based off your location, we see that you're not in the USA. If this unit was taken over seas, the warranty is no longer valid. The unit must be purchased in the USA/Canada and/or Military exchanges. We need just a bit more information, so we'll be reaching out to you privately. Thanks!

jgrizzz
Métairies-Saint-Quirin, France
Would recommend to a friend? No
Overheating
1/21/2016

Customer review by atrzz

1.0 stars 1/21/2016 by atrzz
by atrzz

This is probably the worst vacuum cleaner out there. I cant even clean one room before this thing starts to over heat. Its a pain to clean all the filters (which clog up hence making the motor heat up even quicker). I like to vacuum every other day and this just doesnt have the capacity to keep up. Very disappointed with hoover. Probably would never buy a hoover again.

Comment from Kenya - 1/22/2016

Hi atrzz! Your Air Steerable should stand up to everyday use. We want to help. It’s recommended to rinse the foam filter every 4-6 uses. We think we may know why the vacuum is overheating. Take a look at this quick video here: http://bit.ly/1nDQ4fE. Complete these steps and your Air Steerable should be running like new. Let us know if you still need us!

atrzz
Would recommend to a friend? No
Amazing vacuum!
1/17/2016

Customer review by Kristina2

5.0 stars 1/17/2016 by Kristina2
by Kristina2

Bought this vacuum today on sale, it was 50% off. Tried it out on my area rug and my upstairs... It's seriously impressive how much hair, dust etc this thing picks up! My old vacuum just pushed the dirt around compared to this thing! I absolutely love it. It's also lightweight so bringing it up stairs isn't a problem, and it manoeuvres so easily.

Kristina2
Manitoba, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great suction
2/4/2016

Customer review by Molly

5.0 stars 2/4/2016 by Molly
by Molly

Excellent for allergy sufferers!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Molly
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Broke in half after 3 weeks
12/29/2015

Customer review by Jerry67

1.0 stars 12/29/2015 by Jerry67
by Jerry67

I bought this for my wife a month ago because she was going in for open heart surgery and she wanted something lite and maneuverable to use after she recovered that would be easy on her chest. She loved using the vacuum for the two weeks before her surgery but after her surgery her mother came to stay to help out and she to loved the sweeper until it broke in half right at the swivel joint. She was so surprised it broke so quick because she said it was just as good as her Dyson she has at home but apparently not as good of quality. So looks like this will be going into the trash and I will be buying my wife a nice expensive Dyson vacuum...thanks Hoover!

Comment from Kenya - 12/30/2015

Hi Jerry67! Wow, that doesn’t sound like Hoover quality. Your Air Steerable should be holding up better than that. We want help. The cleaner comes with a 5 year warranty against manufacturing defects. This sounds like something we’ll need to get our hands on. To get back cleaning as soon as possible we recommend bringing your unit in for service. To locate the nearest authorized repair center please visit: http://hoover.com/locator/. Hope this helps!

Jerry67
Frackville, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice vacuum
2/1/2016

Customer review by Penny

4.0 stars 2/1/2016 by Penny
by Penny

Lightweight, good suction, gets hard to reach angles at base of kitchen cabinets, etc.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Penny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 379 total reviews
1-20 of 379 reviews