Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 502 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

502 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

502 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
268
4 stars
94
3 stars
29
2 stars
33
1 stars
78
1-20 of 495 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 495 total reviews
1-20 of 495 reviews
Disappointed
4/12/2013

Customer review by Carlisle44

1.0 stars 4/12/2013 by Carlisle44
by Carlisle44

Light, able to reach the top of stairs, I thought this would perfect for me. Out of the box the handle release was a struggle. Would not release willingly and then did so with a frightening clunk. When it came time to change electric outlet, would try and avoid locking the handle so I did not have to wrestle with the foot release again. While there was an impressive amount of fluff in the container, this vacuum did raise pile nor leave "tracks." May or may not be an indicator of cleanliness but something I like. Also not good at cleaning edges and I tried both directions. Did not quite get to the top of my stairs, no on board storage for "tools" (you only get two) and a nuisance - never there when you want them, location of on/off button was awkward if you vacuum with your right hand, no furniture bumper. I returned as the on/off switch stopped working. I wanted to love but this was a fail. Exchanged for a different brand, heavy but on/off button foot operated, handle release smooth and quiet and $$ cheaper.

Was this review helpful? (26) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Carlisle44
New Market, Md.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Disappointed
8/19/2016

Customer review by Laurielu

3.0 stars 8/19/2016 by Laurielu
by Laurielu

Pros: -Lightweight -Swivel bottom makes turning corners around furniture a breeze -Attachments on unit -Hose attachment doesn't let particles out -Easy to maintain/clean different parts -Washable filter (not the HEPA filter) -Style Cons: -Price for quality/poor suction for floors (Better suction than my Eureaka for attachments because the seal for the hose seems airtight) -No upholstery attachment (has only one attachment a crevice tool with a bush that can be used or slide out the way) -No automatic cord storage I bought this model more than a month ago. I had been looking at the Air models over 3 years now. I was a newlywed and couldn't afford it so I got a Eureaka instead. The SUCTION was great! It literally would suck up our 3x2 area rug deep into the unit and lift it off the floor. So when I was finally able to afford the Hoover Air I thought the suction would be insane and loved the idea of having a model with a HEPA filter. The suction isn't great, actually it's mediocre. It didn't even match the Eureka and was more than double the price! Unfortunately I prematurely gave away my Eureka so I'm stuck with this since I can't return it to the store because I lost my receipt. I'm so bummed. From the moment I used it I knew I made a mistake. A very expensive one.

Comment from Karissa - 8/19/2016

Hi Laurielu! Your Air Steerable should have powerful suction. We want to help. If you’ve noticed the suction is weak this can be due to a blockage in the hose or the filters need to be cleaned. Please give the following steps a try: 1. Empty the dirt cup and remove cyclonic filter to tap out over the trashcan. Clean off the HEPA filter by tapping out over the trashcan as well. 2. Rinse filter located under the dirt cup lid and allow to completely air dry before using. 3. Check inlets behind dirt cup and lower hose for any obstructions to remove. 4. Ensure brushes are engaged when unit is turned on and handle is reclined back. 5. Check main hose for any blockages and remove. Once completed the unit should have restored suction power and pick up as it should. For optimum performance we recommend replacing the filters every 6-12 months. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-944-9200 M-F from 8am-6pm EST. We’re here for you!

Laurielu
Danbury, CT, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
second purchase
7/13/2016

Customer review by Cleaning woman

4.0 stars 7/13/2016 by Cleaning woman
by Cleaning woman

I really liked my Hoover vacuum that I bought a year ago. It was a slightly different model, but I loved the design. Unfortunately, it suddenly stopped working, and I never registered the product. Therefore, I purchased a second one feeling a bit apprehensive. I like this product very much and made sure to register it because it has a 5 year warranty. Some of the features I appreciate is how easy it is to switch from the brush rotating to turning it off so that I don't scratch the hard wood floors. I also like the design of the cleaning tool. With a simple click of a button, you're ready to go. I have dogs, so I vacuum a lot. It is fairly lightweight, so it is easy to carry up the stairs. It has a strong suction and thoroughly picks up that dog hair. I would recommend it. I just hope it last longer. Also, I wish it was manufactured in the U.S.. It is made in China.

Comment from Karissa - 7/14/2016

Hi Cleaning woman! Your Air Steerable Bagless upright carries a five year manufacturer's warranty from the purchase date on the receipt or the MFG code on the data sticker. The product registration is for recall purposes only. All of our products are enginered and designed in Glenwillow, Ohio. Assembly is the only aspect used in China. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-944-9200 M-F from 8am-6pm EST. We're here for you!

Cleaning woman
Redwood Estates, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I'm impressed
4/11/2013

Customer review by pittersmom

5.0 stars 4/11/2013 by pittersmom
by pittersmom

I had a Bissell and it worked well, but it was so heavy I had trouble pushing it across the carpet. I gave it to a friend of mine. I have a Hoover Linx and it's great, but doesn't have the sucking power I need for the carpet in the bed room. My loving dog is a sand magnet, need I say more. This vacuum is so powerful. It's lightweight which is great for a more mature person as myself. I couldn't believe how much sand I picked up with this vacuum. Then I went over the carpet again after emptying the container and picked up more sand. My carpet is soft to walk on again. I love the long cord. I don't have to keep unpluging and pluging the cord in when I go from room to room. It has a washable filter, another option I like. All in all, I am most happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (87) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pittersmom
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful
7/9/2016

Customer review by Chie

4.0 stars 7/9/2016 by Chie
by Chie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a very good bagless upright vacuum. I am very pleased to see how good it works in suctioning embeded dirt in between the fibers of the carpet. Since it has a transparent canister that catches the dirt, you would know very well that your carpet is really cleaned-up. And the best part is, it's manageable to carry and steerable so it makes it easy to operate and you could shift it from carpet to hard floor with just one push on a button. What l like most about is, l could right away empty the dirt out of the canister and it has a HEPA filter, a kind of filter that traps large amount of small particles. Hoover is the name of brand that you could trust and l highly recommend this

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Vacuum that handles like a "Go Kart"
12/14/2015

Customer review by Mr C

5.0 stars 12/14/2015 by Mr C
by Mr C

This was a Black Friday purchase from Home Depot and I must say this was an excellent buy! I was a bit apprehensive, but after first use I have to say that I’m totally impressed with the build, quality, performance and the “Go Kart” type handling of this vacuum. I was also pleased with sound level, not loud nor a major disturbance of noise throughout the home when in use, in addition the disposal of capture dirt is very easy and a good design. I gave this vacuum a 5 Star rating however there is one area I feel could and should be improved upon. A 6th star could be had with an integrated LED Head Lamp, for vacuuming in dimly lit areas of your home. I started using this vacuum last night, and I kept saying to myself how nice it would have been to have a built in LED lamp for areas that are not well lit. I’m sure that engineers at Hoover can incorporate in upcoming versions, which would make this unit close to perfect, until I come up with another suggestion from continued use.

Mr C
Rancho Cucamonga, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Loss of suction, Burning smell
8/2/2016

Customer review by KimberlyW

1.0 stars 8/2/2016 by KimberlyW
by KimberlyW

Lost suction, burning smell I have had this vacuum for less than a year, and have keep up on regular maintenance... i.e. emptying the canister, cleaning the rinsable filter, clearing any debris out of the spin brush, etc. About a month ago we lost suction on the entire vacuum, and have wasted time and money replacing the belt and both the hepa filter and the rinsable one. Still little to no suction and now it has a burning smell. Very disappointed that we spent all this time and money on a vacuum we were confident would last us at the very least a couple years just to have it break within the first 12 months. Won't be making this mistake again :(

Comment from Michael - 8/5/2016

Hi KimberlyW! Oh no, that doesn't sound too good. We want to help. It sounds like you are doing great at maintaining the machine. Please try this: As the filters are new, please check to ensure that there is no clogs in the hose, and that the wand's hose is not connected to the hose port. If the hose is clear and the wand hose is not connected, we recommend taking the unit in for inspection. Your WindTunnel Air Steerable comes with a 5 year warranty that protects it against manufacturer defects at no cost to you. To find a local service center, please go here: http://hoover.com/locator/. Hope this helps!

KimberlyW
Fort Collins, CO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works very well so far!
6/28/2016

Customer review by Dodiemac

5.0 stars 6/28/2016 by Dodiemac
by Dodiemac
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I put it together (79 year old woman.) Vacuumed all 4 of my rugs and was amazed at the cat hair that came up. It filled the dirt cup too much and I had to do some work to clean it out. I emptied it after each rug. Next time it should be a lot better. My old vacuum just wasn't doing the job. Now if it doesn't have any mechanical or plastic-breaking problems, it will be a great buy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dodiemac
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hose attachment trouble
8/16/2016

Customer review by Dolores and Joe

2.0 stars 8/16/2016 by Dolores and Joe
by Dolores and Joe

Trying to use the hose and attachments. Very loud "relief valve" sound comes from the top cap and it loses suction. Everything is hooked up right so we are not sure what is wrong with ours.

Comment from Karissa - 8/18/2016

Hi Dolores and Joe! When the hose is attached to your Air™ Steerable Bagless Upright air shouldn’t escape from the valve. We want to help. If this is happening this usually indicates a blockage in the hose or the filter is ready to be cleaned/replaced. Please rinse the filter located under the dirt cup lid and allow it to completely air dry before use. Also ensure there are no blockages in the main or lower hoses. If air continues to escape from this valve then a new filter may be needed. A replacement filter can be found here: http://bit.ly/1mOB5Pe. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-944-9200 M-F from 8am-6pm EST. We’re here for you!

Dolores and Joe
Holland, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Feel the power!!
7/31/2016

Customer review by AnglWngs16

5.0 stars 7/31/2016 by AnglWngs16
by AnglWngs16

My (other brand) vacuum started shorting out all of a sudden which gave me the perfect reason to replace it. After much time researching & comparing I decided this one suited my needs & preferences best. Great choice! I tend to be a bit OCD when it comes to a clean house, and this vacuum satisfies my OCD tendencies. :) Nice smooth transition from bare floors to carpet, and back again. My only recommendations to those designing this model are: A headlight would be nice AND, a light on the button used to engage the brush to indicate whether its on or off. Other than that, no complaints!

AnglWngs16
Port Charlotte, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worked great
8/11/2016

Customer review by juanrod13

5.0 stars 8/11/2016 by juanrod13
by juanrod13
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Just barely got it yesterday in the mail and I tried it out with great success. My unit was a refurbished one but it worked flawlessly. My my only complain was that the handle hose arrived damaged but it still worked for now.

Comment from Karissa - 8/12/2016

Hi juanrod13! The hose for your Air™ Steerable Bagless Upright should not have arrived damaged. We want to help. We will be reaching out to you privately for further assistance in this matter. We look forward to hearing from you!

juanrod13
Perris, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Price point competitive
8/23/2016

Customer review by Charles

3.0 stars 8/23/2016 by Charles
by Charles
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Decent for the money

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Charles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent product. Seriously flawed Owner's Guide.
7/30/2016

Customer review by adr8

4.0 stars 7/30/2016 by adr8
by adr8

I have never seen such a fundamental mistake in a user's guide. The assembly instructions show four parts: 1. Handle, 2. Wand, 3. Vacuum Base, and 4. Tool. The assembly instructions are quite clear, but wrong. According to the guide, step one is to insert handle into the base. No. It seems to almost fit -- but rotates and does not lock. The correct procedure is to insert the wand into the base first and to then attach the wand to the handle. I was ready to return the product until I finally figured out the correct sequence.

adr8
Ann Arbor, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor Performance
7/28/2016

Customer review by Deanne

1.0 stars 7/28/2016 by Deanne
by Deanne

I bought this vacuum about four months ago. I have owned several Hoover Vacuums over the years. I do have pets and keep my home clean. I spend more time cleaning and unclogging this vacuum cleaner! The suction is not impressing me. I have to go over areas three and four times. Even small debris still sits on the carpet after I'm done. Usually, I love Hoover Vacuums, but not this time. My vacuum cleaning job now takes three times the amount of time. Buyer beware.

Comment from Karissa - 7/29/2016

Hi Deanne! Your Air Steerable should have strong suction power for pick up. We want to help. Oftentimes when the filters are needing to be cleaned or replaced they can cause the hose to clog. Please give the following steps a try: 1. Rinse the filter from under the dirt cup and allow it to completely air dry for 24 hours. 2.) Tap off the HEPA filter over the trashcan to remove excess debris. 3) Check the lower hose along with the inlets behind the dirt cup and bottom nozzle for any obstructions and remove. 4.) Ensure the brushroll is activated when the unit is powered on. We recommend replacing the filters every 6-12 months for optimum performance. Emptying the dirt cup and cleaning the filter after each use will also help to prevent clogs from forming in the hose as well. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-944-9200 M-F from 8am-6pm EST. We’re here for you!

Deanne
Lacey, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good product but could be better
2/7/2014

Customer review by Rajinder

3.0 stars 2/7/2014 by Rajinder
by Rajinder
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this vacuum cleaner from Wal-Mart online because Wal-Mart had a 90 day return policy, it was selling at a roll back price of $159 which was the same from Amazon. The 90 day return policy to a local store was important to me because some of the reviews had indicated On/Off switch failure and no suction. At least for the first few days, the unit has performed flawlessly on carpets, throw rugs and hard floors. It has good suction and it has performed better than my previous vacuum cleaners. The positives, good suction, light weight, easy to move. The negatives, plastic material construction is not sturdy. Stairs are very difficult to clean. Had to clean stairs using attachment hose which is short and difficult to use. Electric cord is of good length to use over wide area. The cord is not automatically retractable. This is good and bad. Good because the plug does not accidently gets unplugged from the socket and bad because the cord is spread across floor and has to be rewound manually. Overall, the unit is good for the price and should last for a few years with proper use, handling and care.

Was this review helpful? (25) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rajinder
Rocky Hill, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Super Suction but Runs Hot!
7/29/2016

Customer review by Phil Z

4.0 stars 7/29/2016 by Phil Z
by Phil Z

Bought this unit Nov 2015. great suction, learning curve with power brush switch (thought it was broke but accidentally turned it off). Overall satisfied but I notice there's a lot of heat coming from the motor which seems excessive. Will replace HEPA to see if it helps.

Phil Z
West Deptford, NJ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent vacuum
7/27/2016

Customer review by Essie

5.0 stars 7/27/2016 by Essie
by Essie

it really showed my old vacuum was not doing the job when I vacuumed the carpet and had to empty the container only half way cleaning the first room.

Essie
Sugar Land, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quality problem
5/2/2016

Customer review by Ron C

2.0 stars 5/2/2016 by Ron C
by Ron C

Bought this vacuum for it's features. Easy to use, light weight, turn feature makes vacuuming easy. Was enjoying this machine until the power brush stoped working. It has an on and off button for the power brush and and an overload feature also for the power brush. No matter what I tried, pushing the on off button or waiting for the overlod feature to kick in, the brush would not work. Took off the baseplate to check the belt and found the belt OK. Could not turn the motor shaft by hand, seems to be frozen in place? Took the machine to a Hoover repair center and I am now without a vacuum for 3 to 4 weeks. Gentleman at the repair facility said maybe less time but count on 3 to 4. Had a previous Hoover machine for 14 years and had no problems. Gave in to my grand daughter and it is till working. We will see about this new machine when I get it back. Very disappointed.

Comment from Kenya - 5/4/2016

Hi Ron C! We understand it can be disappointing to be without your Air Steerable for this long. The good news is that manufacturing defects are covered at no charge to you during the warranty period of 5 years. We’re forwarding your case over to the warranty department to work diligently on your claim. Thanks for your patience!

Ron C
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So wanted to like it but it broke day 2
11/28/2015

Customer review by user11

1.0 stars 11/28/2015 by user11
by user11

I bought this vacuum to replace a very lightweight model from another manufacturer that had worked well for 4 years but gave out. I used this vacuum inside just to touch up before Thanksgiving guests arrived. Used it again to clean up post dinner and snap, the piece that holds the bottom to the top just broke such that only the coil cord connects them. I am not a big person and did not ask anything difficult of the vacuum, although I did push forward and pull back and non-aggressively reached around as a steerable is meant to do. The tiny, internal, plastic connector that holds the device together snapped. After significant sliding of now-moving parts, I was able to push the pieces back together so the device can again stand up but it will only hold while the machine is still. Perhaps this was just a defective individual product, but this shouldn't have happened as I asked nothing more than that the device vacuum a flat, medium nap carpeted surface.

Comment from Joscelyn - 11/28/2015

Hi user11! This definitely does not sound like Hoover quality and we'd have a few more questions for you so we can better assist! We'll be sending a private email shortly. Thank you!

user11
Buffalo, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best Vacuum I have ever owned!!
7/16/2016

Customer review by Hooverfanatic9

5.0 stars 7/16/2016 by Hooverfanatic9
by Hooverfanatic9

I used this Hoover a few days after using my old trusty Kenmore Elite and was astonished by how much dirt was picked up that my old cleaner didn't manage to pick up! Very powerful and lightweight design. I am so happy that i purchased this unit. Unfortunately,my wife refused to accept the Hoover as an anniversary gift........

Hooverfanatic9
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 495 total reviews
1-20 of 495 reviews