Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 577 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

577 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

577 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
323
4 stars
84
3 stars
38
2 stars
28
1 stars
104
1-20 of 568 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 568 total reviews
1-20 of 568 reviews
No good repairman in this area
1/25/2017

Customer review by Old Granny

1.0 stars 1/25/2017 by Old Granny
by Old Granny

I bought this Hover Vacuum because it is self propelled the one before was also a hover. I am 72 years old and have back pain. We have taken this vacuum in to get it fixed at least.6 times because when I clean on low setting the belt slips off. I like to clean deep. The repair man told us we could buy a new one cheaper than have the other one fixed,. So I drug out the old one and am using it. Then my Carpet Cleaner which is also a hover started leaking water. I discovered it had a broken hose. He said Hover don't make parts for it anymore. I had to buy a new one but didn't by it from him. He has no competation and he just wants to sell new Hover Products. So I wouldn't recommend this product and certainly not here in the Ft. Smith, AR. area.

Comment from Karissa - 1/26/2017

Hi Old Granny! Your WindTunnel 3 High Performance should last longer than this. We want to help. Sometimes if the height adjustment is set too low this can cause the belt to slip, stretch, or break prematurely. We suggest changing the height adjustment to one or two levels higher than the current setting to help prevent this from happening. Even with the height raised higher, you will still receive a deep clean with the brushes and three channels of suction from the WindTunnel Technology. As for your Carpet Washer, we will be reaching out to you separately to further assist in this matter. We look forward to hearing from you!

Old Granny
Ft. Smith, AR.
Would recommend to a friend? No
The gray bottom cap that holds the dirt in already broke off after having less then 3 weeks
2/3/2017

Customer review by Autumnscarlett

3.0 stars 2/3/2017 by Autumnscarlett
by Autumnscarlett

The gray bottom that is to release when you press the bottom to let the dirt out completely came off. I inspected it and one tiny piece broke off that holds it in. This was only the third time I used it. I just purchased it 1/18/21017. I hope they replace it for me at no cost.

Comment from Kenya - 2/6/2017

Hi Autumnscarlett! Your WindTunnel 3 should be holding up better than that. We want to help. We need a bit more information so we're sending you an email. Thanks!

Autumnscarlett
Texas
Easy to assemble, easy to understand how to use features that work very well.
1/29/2017

Customer review by missmymom

5.0 stars 1/29/2017 by missmymom
by missmymom

My husband and I studied consumer reports about a few vacuums before we decided. Then we went to two different stores and actually looked at the models and checked prices. We decided we wanted to purchase our Hoover Windtunnel and are glad we did. It works very well and does deep cleaning.

missmymom
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great features
2/1/2017

Customer review by grannypans

5.0 stars 2/1/2017 by grannypans
by grannypans

i love it, i was buying bissel vacs , but they didn't have the sucction like the hoover

grannypans
Grand Bay, AL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Incredible machine !
7/13/2013

Customer review by JR0835

5.0 stars 7/13/2013 by JR0835
by JR0835

We have a vacuum cleaner, Hoover TurboPower 5000 that is maybe 12 years old.  Only one room with carpet that we use it on, 18' x 27', the master bedroom.  Most of the floor is covered with a queen size bed, three dressers, my executive desk, a work table 24" x 12'. a couple of filing cabinets 4 book cases, etc.  Not much carpet is really exposed to traffic, probably less than half.   I cleaned house yesterday and vacuumed this room using Carpet Fresh with vacuum booster and OxiClean dirt fighter.  I shampoo this carpet about once a year, or when the spirit moves me.     This morning we bought a new vacuum. I unpacked it, set it up and read the manual. It is a Hoover WindTunnel 3 HIgh performance Bagless upright.     To try it out, I ran it over the carpet in our bedroom even though I had just vacuumed it yesterday.  I emptied the canister into a plastic pail and weighed it on the medical scales we have.  I took out over five pounds of dirt from a carpet that had just been cleaned.  Five Pounds!

JR0835
Edinburg, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Loooooooooove it!!!!
1/16/2017

Customer review by Nadja

5.0 stars 1/16/2017 by Nadja
by Nadja

I bought this almost a month ago. I had to replace my dyson Dc33 because it didn't do his job right. Now this one is the best vaccum cleaner I ever owned! I unpack it and put it together under 5min! I vacuumed livingroom (mid high carpey) and kitchen (tile) and I was absolutely impressed with his suction power!

Nadja
Ward, AR, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lots of suction
12/12/2016

Customer review by Karina

5.0 stars 12/12/2016 by Karina
by Karina

Have only had this for 4 days but I am impressed!! Had to return a previous model because the automatic height adjustment was not working for me with my carpeting. This model has 7 heights available and the ability to turn off the rotating beater bar. I have high loft carpet, low loft carpet and laminate flooring and this vacuum did all with ease once I figured out which setting works best. But the best feature is the turbo hand tool for my carpeted stairs! Once again, after I figured out how it should be done, it was a breeze. A manual was missing from the box, which was totally messed up, but I was able to use the website to read and make a copy of the manual for myself. All in all, I'm a happy customer!! Thanks Hoover.

Karina
Talkeetna, AK, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quit working in under 2 weeks
1/13/2017

Customer review by BOlson

1.0 stars 1/13/2017 by BOlson
by BOlson

Bought on 12/16, by !2/23 it stopped running completely

Comment from Karissa - 1/14/2017

Hi BOlson! Your WIndTunnel 3 High Performance should last longer than this. We want to help. It sounds like the thermal protector may have activated. Each unit is equipped with a thermal protector that will turn the unit off when it overheats and is usually caused from a blockage of airflow to the motor. The unit will reset once unplugged from the wall for 60 minutes, but will continue to overheat until the blockage has been cleared. We have a few troubleshooting steps to help get your unit back to working order: 1. Rinse the primary filter located under the dirt cup lid and allow it to completely air dry before use. 2. Locate the HEPA filter underneath the dirt cup. Pull this filter out like a drawer, then tap it out over the trashcan to remove excess debris. Do not rinse. 3. Disconnect the hose from both ends of the unit and gently run a broom handle through to clear out any debris. If the hose is not completely cleared out any clogs would continue to build. 4. Check inlets behind the dirt cup and bottom nozzle for any obstructions and remove. The brushroll can be removed for easier access to the bottom nozzle. You can clear the lower hose from both ends, but do not use anything that could puncture the hose. Once completed the unit will resume normal operation. If further assistance is needed feel free to reach out to us via Facebook or Tweet us @HooverUSA. We’re here for you!

BOlson
Owatonna, MN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Cheap plastic parts. Breaks easily.
1/6/2017

Customer review by gary62

2.0 stars 1/6/2017 by gary62
by gary62

We have had this vacuum for about 8 months. We have been well pleased with its performance, however it, like so many other products it is made of cheap plastic. The bottom lid broke off of the dirt canister simply by depressing the release to empty the dirt from it. A replacement canister costs almost as much as we paid for the vacuum itself. Not a good value.

Comment from Kenya - 1/9/2017

Hi gary62! The dirt cup on your WindTunnel 3 High Performance should be holding up better than that. We want to help. We're sending you a private email to better assist!

gary62
Sharpsville, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Awesome machine
1/5/2017

Customer review by Redhead Buckeye

5.0 stars 1/5/2017 by Redhead Buckeye
by Redhead Buckeye

Has great suction, it is easy to empty collected dirt/dust and easy to clean. Love the long 40 foot cord. Comparable to more expensive Dyson

Redhead Buckeye
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very good product.
12/27/2016

Customer review by Benjammin

3.0 stars 12/27/2016 by Benjammin
by Benjammin

The belt stretched out pretty quick but cheap to replace.

Comment from Karissa - 12/29/2016

Hi Benjammin! Sometimes if the height adjustment is set too low this can cause the belt to slip, stretch, or break prematurely. We suggest changing the height adjustment to one or two levels higher than the current setting to help prevent this from happening. For optimum performance we recommend replacing the belts every 6-12 months. If further assistance is needed feel free to reach out to us via Facebook or Tweet us @HooverUSA. We’re here for you!

Benjammin
Covington, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wanted to get a good one
12/20/2016

Customer review by Rule45895

1.0 stars 12/20/2016 by Rule45895
by Rule45895

Used this vacuum only twice before it started growling like a helicopter. I believe a bearing is out. Now here I am on this site trying to get a warranty claim. I wonder if this company even has a quality department? If I had it to do all over again I wouldn't purchase this thing!! (Junk)

Comment from Karissa - 12/23/2016

Hi Rule45895! Your WindTunnel 3 High Performance Bagless Upright should last longer than this. We want to help. We will be reaching out to you privately for further assistance in this matter. We look forward to hearing from you!

Rule45895
Botkins, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
High quality!!
2/17/2016

Customer review by AlexF0610

5.0 stars 2/17/2016 by AlexF0610
by AlexF0610

Right out of the box the quality of this product is amazing. It was easy to assemble, easy to figure out, but works so well! The air smells clean in every room after i vacuum now and my carpets have never felts so soft and clean. The awesome one press button to switch between hard wood floor and carpets is a sweet feature that makes it that much easier and also more effective. The intelligent, stop when i stop rollers is a nice touch too. The pet tools are so worth it to buy the wind tunnel 3 version over 2 as well. the 40 foot cord makes doing multiple rooms with one plug in that much better and if you don't need all 40 feet the cord easily stays on when only undoing a few loops to do a single room. The easy release dust bowl is awesome and i love the one touch release to empty it as well. Everything about this vacuum screams well thought out and real engineering to produce an awesome product. so happy i went with hoover instead of bissel and look forward to upgrading my other house hold products to this company. couldn't be happier!

AlexF0610
Las Vegas, NV, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Already quit working
12/20/2016

Customer review by 123456

1.0 stars 12/20/2016 by 123456
by 123456

The roller brush works intermittently even with a new belt.

Comment from Kenya - 12/21/2016

Hi 123456! You shouldn’t be having any issues with the brushes spinning. We want to help. To activate the brushes, power the unit on, recline the handle and press the brushroll on/off pedal here: http://bit.ly/2gzdtQx. Also, be sure you are replacing the belt with the correct style belt. This model takes a genuine Hoover style 65 belt. They are available here: http://bit.ly/1nwpoGF. Hope this helps!

123456
Would recommend to a friend? No
Amazing suction! I would buy again! You will not be disappointed!
12/11/2016

Customer review by AZVacuum16

5.0 stars 12/11/2016 by AZVacuum16
by AZVacuum16

This vacuum really sucks up the dirt. I would highly recommend this vacuum!

AZVacuum16
Mesa, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
High suction
12/6/2016

Customer review by Alyssazehnder

5.0 stars 12/6/2016 by Alyssazehnder
by Alyssazehnder

I went back and forth trying to figure out what vacuum to buy. I chose this one and I'm glad I did. I have a German Shepherd who sheds alot and a crawling baby. This vacuum get all the hair!

Alyssazehnder
Minot, ND, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great at first, downhill ever since
12/1/2016

Customer review by helmet

2.0 stars 12/1/2016 by helmet
by helmet

Great suction, until it clogs which happens frequently, consistently hard on belts (yes I do adjust height setting ) was easy to empty until bottom of dust cup fell in trash when emptying which explains abundance of consistently out of stock parts. Had less than a year and will be last hoover product.

Comment from Kenya - 12/7/2016

Hi helmet! With normal maintenance your WindTunnel 3 High Performance shouldn’t clog that often. We have some tips that should help. Take a look here: bit.ly/1LmyaCA. Complete these steps to get your Hoover running like new. Be sure you’re replacing the belt with the correct Hoover belt that fits your model. This model takes a style 65 belt. We recommend using only genuine Hoover replacement parts. A new belt is available here: http://bit.ly/1nwpoGF. We hope this helps!

helmet
Nebraska, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Poor design
11/8/2016

Customer review by Ruthie

1.0 stars 11/8/2016 by Ruthie
by Ruthie

This is the worst vacuum. Such poor design. Recommended for plush carpet, I guess if you wanted different vacuums for different surfaces it might be okay. Need the highest level for carpet, then need to clean bare floors have to adjust the height, so back and forth, then to use the hose you have to turn a knob don't forget about the foot pedal to go from carpet to bare floors, then the hose stretches out the first time you use it, no dusting just some hard plastic on an attachment if you don't have leather furniture I guess. Just a very poor product that I am now stuck with.

Comment from Kenya - 11/9/2016

Hi Ruthie! We’re disappointed to read that you’re unhappy with the WindTunnel 3 High Performance. This model has many features such as multiple height adjustments, brushroll on/off option, floor-to-hose option, etc. It sounds like you’re in need of something a bit simpler. We recommend the WindTunnel 2 here: http://bit.ly/1iKALjp. We hope this is helpful!

Ruthie
Atlanta, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Tremendous suction.
4/23/2015

Customer review by Harry Clay

5.0 stars 4/23/2015 by Harry Clay
by Harry Clay

PLUSES: Tremendous suction. Wide 15" suction head. Fairly quiet for a vacuum with high suction. 40' cord. Ease of emptying the dirt collector. Filters all easy to service, and washable; saves money. Long auxiliary suction hose. Does not have the retractable cord that seems to cause most of the problems. Bought at WalMart on sale for $149.00--seems like a good buy so far. Owned less than two months. NEGATIVES: No headlight. Cord could be a little heavier gauge wiring as it tends to barely get warm indicating light gauge wire. Edge suction not as strong as my old U8148-900 Hoover I have had for eleven plus years. Only three attachments--lacks brush attachment. Push on/off switch may be difficult for weak or older users to turn on/off. Flip switch would be better and easier to use. Can't use on throw rugs since it sucks the rugs up and the rubber belt starts slipping. So will keep my old Hoover for throw rugs, which is OK.

Harry Clay
Hill Country, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Has lots of great things my other didn't have
11/24/2016

Customer review by Joysie

5.0 stars 11/24/2016 by Joysie
by Joysie

I'm glad I purchased this type because I was looking for one that cleaned to the edges on both sides, without turning the vacuum around!

Joysie
Anaconda, MT, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 568 total reviews
1-20 of 568 reviews