Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 99 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

99 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

99 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
51
4 stars
31
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 stars
6
1-20 of 98 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 98 total reviews
1-20 of 98 reviews
Value higher than expected
5/13/2013

Customer review by matocaster

5.0 stars 5/13/2013 by matocaster
by matocaster

Bought this bike 3 weeks ago and have since put 114 miles on it. First off let me address the issues pigeonpigeon brought up in his bad review. There are NO nuts and/or washers for the front axle of this bike as it’s a quick release front wheel. He said the front fork was backwards, this is for packaging, the fork is turned inward to take up less space in the box, simple fix, turn it outward before installing the handlebars like the instructions point out. As for the front axle being too short, rotate the quick release arm counter clockwise (simply loosen it) and it goes right on. All of this was covered in the instructions. Moving on. I was looking for a decent entry level road bike, after years of mountain biking I had a clear understanding of what to look for in a quality bike. Not knowing if I wanted to go all out with road cycling I set aside a small budget and I knew doing this put me into a lower level of quality and I was okay with that as I know my way around bikes to work with what I got. Yet what I got with this bike was more than I expected. Very well built, rides very smooth, and the comfort was much more than I expected. For those of you that are new to the idea of getting a road bike be sure to budget for a good set of cycling shorts with the padding built in, as road bike saddles (seat) are built for a totally different purpose than any other bike seat. There is a great pair on amazon for $30 and it makes road biking MUCH more rewarding and enjoyable. Yet I will say this saddle is very well built, and more comfortable than some of my friends’ $100 saddles. Also I don’t mean to sound like your mom here, but a comfortable helmet should be a must as well. Had a few close calls with drivers finding it more important to respond to a text than to look out for people on bikes. Cheap insurance for a worst case scenario. I am 5’ 9” with a 30" inseam and this bike fits me perfect with the saddle set 2" above bottoming out, yet anyone under a 28" inseam may struggle with this bike as it might be a bit big for them. A friend of mine is 6’ 3” and after some seat adjusting he was very comfortable on it as well. The bike is very light and that makes for enjoyable long rides. The handle bars are also very comfortable and I was quite impressed with them. This bike could use a setup at a local bike shop to really dial it in. Out of the box it performs well but a little rough around the edges, something your local bike shop can smooth out for you for about $30 Now to the cons. The breaks, they are super cheap, but heck they stop the bike so I can’t complain too much. And after some fine tuning they work well, not great, but well. Keep in mind you could always change them out with better ones. Also, the tires, they have quite a bit more tread on them for a road bike tire. They work, but less tread will make you faster and less resistance to work with on long rides. Yet like I said I have 114 miles on mine and have not found it too much of a downfall to change out, and if you are going for fitness then the small resistance will work in your favor. Shifting on this bike is quiet and smooth once the derailer is all dialed in. All in all this is a fantastic value for the money, looking forward to hundreds of more miles on this bike. For $200 I’m honestly blown away with what I got.

Was this review helpful? (166) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
matocaster
Des Moines, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great value bike
5/27/2015

Customer review by pinoybiker

5.0 stars 5/27/2015 by pinoybiker
by pinoybiker

got mine last april. assembly was pretty simple. and just like any new bike, you need to do a few tweaks and adjustments specially on the gears. rides very light and fast, and no issues so far. done about 25 miles already. i've seen some expensive bikes on the trail, but this ride gives you the same excitement and satisfaction as any other would.

Was this review helpful? (63) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pinoybiker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 1000 contributor
Great bike for the money!!!
8/6/2013

Customer review by GmanMN

5.0 stars 8/6/2013 by GmanMN
by GmanMN

I have to give this bike a 5 star rating, as for the price it is more than you can expect, even though it has a few weak points. The aluminum frame is well built and the tig welds look solid and clean. The overall appearance is very nice and people believe you paid way more than you actually did. The shimano gear set shifts smooth, although I would have preferred a different location for the shift levers as I sometime accidentally hit them with my knee while coming out of the saddle, especially when climbing a steep hill, causing the bike to shift gears when not intended. The set screws on the upper brake levers would work their way loose during riding, but a drop of blue loctite solved that issue. The threads on those screws seem a bit sloppy. This bike is a great value and a perfect platform to upgrade into a fantastic road machine by upgrading the lesser quality items like brakes and tires and still spend half what a bike shop would charge for a similar set up.

Was this review helpful? (78) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GmanMN
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Sweetest Road Bike Ever
7/11/2013

Customer review by Roz47

5.0 stars 7/11/2013 by Roz47
by Roz47

I own and have owned many, many bicycles over lots of years. Bought this bike because of its price and because it had dual brake levers. In other words you can actuate the brakes from two positions: Upright, gripping the straight top of the handlebar; or, in the traditional road bike crouch using the curved part of the bar. I own two other more expensive road bikes - one has a carbon-fiber frame and forks and is many times more expensive than this bike. Let me tell you, though, for every day riding this bike is the sweetest I have ever owned. Yes the tires are slightly larger for a 700C bike but it is no problem - softer ride and very hard to notice any increased pedal effort. It is stable and comfy at all speeds. And this thing shifts gears so well - effortless and precise - love it. The gear set is perfect for anyone short of a hard core competitor. Three chain rings make it easier to select a comfortable gear. I would agree with the experienced reviewer that the brakes are a little weak, but they do the job well enough. The only change I would recommend is a better seat. I just rode this bike across town and back and it was pure joy - effortless and fast. Snick up and down through the gears - swoosh and zoom! A fantastic value and more fun to ride than any bike I ever had. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (62) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Roz47
Roswell, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great bike but needs some tuning
3/14/2014

Customer review by ckatz1253

5.0 stars 3/14/2014 by ckatz1253
by ckatz1253

I just recently got this bike and it runs great after getting it tuned at a bike shop. I did however get it assembled for "free" at Walmart before I went to the bike shop for the tuning. It sounded like a great deal not having to pay for the assembly, but whoever put the bike together at Walmart does not know how to properly adjust the derailleurs on the bike. I should have payed attention to all of the other comments about getting it fine tuned at a bike shop after purchase. This may not be the case at every Walmart with the assembly but at the one I purchased it at they don't know what they are doing. I really do recommend this bike for its look and how it rides tho. Just be smart and get it properly adjusted and tuned by a professional at a bike shop after you have purchased the bike. It only cost me 18 dollars to get that done! Hope this review helps some others who are looking to buy this bike.

Was this review helpful? (29) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ckatz1253
Springfield, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Absolutely perfect entry-level road bike
6/2/2013

Customer review by YinzerBiker

4.0 stars 6/2/2013 by YinzerBiker
by YinzerBiker

I bought this bike around a month ago and have put 149 miles on it so far. I will primarily be using it for commuting to class in the fall/exercise. So far I am very satisfied with everything about the bike. I chose to assemble and tune the bike myself, and when it is all tuned up it runs extremely well. The bike came in a large box, mostly assembled, and the remaining assembly took around 25 mins, and then another 15 for tuning. I really like the additional interrupter brake levers located on the crossbar, it makes it much easier to maneuver the bike when traveling slowly. It shifts almost silently, and the gearing allows me to cruise at over 20 mph with the tires pumped up to 75 psi. The only drawback I have noticed on this bike so far are that the lever-style shifters are not the most conveniently located on the stem, but this bike is UNDER $200 so I realize there is give and take. I have added an under-saddle bag, bike computer, and pedal toe clips; which all installed without any issues. I really like this purchase so far, and would absolutely recommend it for anyone over 5'9"

Was this review helpful? (30) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YinzerBiker
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Beginner Bike
4/16/2014

Customer review by Tenerife

5.0 stars 4/16/2014 by Tenerife
by Tenerife

I have been in this sport for a very long time. I saw the Genesis Road bike on the website at first; However, I could not believe it is such a good deal for the quality. So I went to an actual Walmart Store and I found it there. When I saw it I was definitely surprised. It looks even better than the photo they have on the website. The bike is built extremely well for the price. I was deciding whether to buy this one or the GMC Denalli which is $15 cheaper. I saw bought of the bikes and the Genesis is way better quality and about 3 pounds lighter. I made a full review video on youtube if you search for " Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike vs GMC Denali 700c Men's Road Bike Review" you will be able to find it and see it if you are in doubt.

Was this review helpful? (56) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tenerife
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 500 contributor
CANADIAN BIKE REVIEW!
6/16/2014

Customer review by AIS74

5.0 stars 6/16/2014 by AIS74
by AIS74

Yes! I am a Canadian. I liked this bike cuz of the good reviews, the colors, style and specially the extra set of handlebar brakes and price was great too. It was not available in Canadian Walmart so I had to fly one in from Michigan to Toronto. For the price of $200, its just a fantastic bike. If you want to upgrade, move up to a Carbon Fiber bike, otherwise this is just good. I am not a professional rider or do not ride for thousands of miles, so this is just a wonderful bike for me. Now about the bike: I will try to explain all the things that I was looking for in all the reviews I read, to make my decision and I must say it was difficult to decide specially because of the size and because I couldn't try it cuz I am in Canada.. My other choice was GMC Denalli 20" or 22.5". I went with Genesis cuz I didn't like the mountain bike type gear shifter on GMC and also very mixed good/bad reviews and also problems people had with GMC bikes on different forums and YouTube. Also the GMC did not have handlebar extra set of brakes. Also the gear parts on Genesis are little better in quality and you can tell by the price difference. Anyhow... - I am almost 5'8" with Inseam of 32" with almost 32" of arm stretch for your handlebar reach.. This bike fit wonderful with the seat adjusted all the way down. No back or Knee discomfort at all. My back does not stretch - I mean its not a back breaking stretch- its a comfortable stretch, when I hold the drop bar brake grips, its even more comfortable now that I raised the handlebar few millimetres up. If you have 30" or less inseam or you are below 5'7", I would go with a smaller frame. Check Online how to measure you BIKE inseam-google it. - Please also go through as much as you can "How to assemble road bike" videos on YouTube cuz the paper work that comes with the bike is not very comprehensive if you are not a technical minded person. The owners manual has settings for all the genesis bikes so it was kind'a difficult to understand what is applicable to which bike, but I had enough "how to assemble bike" videos under my belt so I didn't pay much attention to the manual....but again it wasn't a rocket science. Took me around 20-30 mins to get this done. - Brake and Gear adjustment: If you can not afford to take this bike to a Local bike shop than again...refer back to YouTube videos to learn how to adjust brakes and derailleur. I was lucky that the rear derailleur was pretty much tuned out of the box and the front took little work. Brakes are kind'a cheap or more Polite Canadian term - very basic caliper brakes and needed adjustment---do not get frustrated and remember that you only spent $200 on this bike. This feeling will keep you motivated to tuned this bike to your liking. - My front tire is not really true but I am learning it on YouTube and ordered the tool from ebay for couple of dollars, so that I can do it myself too. Its very easy to do. - Most of the reviews stated that the bike Seat is very hard and not comfortable, so I ordered in advance, the Schwin Memory foam seat - but I started riding the bike with the original seat that came with it and I must say it is not bad at all. May be if you ride for hours, it may be uncomfortable but I did not feel my man-hood or my bottom going numb at all....and I am not fat bottom guy either....so don't buy new seat till you try you style of riding. -The extra set of brakes on the handle bar are very convenient specially if you want to give your back a little rest by riding up but still need brakes for stopping. Overall it is great bike, everybody liked it. Goes really fast, and if you get thinner tires, you can go even faster...but why? I think its $200 well spent. Remember to wear Helmet-its the law, at least for us Canadians. Remember that Balls and Brain are very important for a man- so make sure you protect them! Good seat and Good helmet. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AIS74
TORONTO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great inner-city bicycle.
5/16/2014

Customer review by phillyroguebiker

5.0 stars 5/16/2014 by phillyroguebiker
by phillyroguebiker

Despite having tender tires (easy to go flat) this is a remarkable product. Lightweight, and…FAST!!! For the past six years I've been lugging myself around on heavy, durable mountain bikes, and they got me where I was going. However, I was always frustrated when others would pass me up with THEIR road bikes. BUT NOW… I am flying by all of them because of my years of mountain biking the city! Currently only using my mountain bike for rainy days as my beater bicycle, but on nice days… ZOOM! Even automobiles can't keep up with me in the city. And transit systems? Forget it!

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
phillyroguebiker
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/16/2013

Customer review by Bigal1234g

4.0 stars 4/16/2013 by Bigal1234g
by Bigal1234g

I think the only bad thing that I can say about this bike is that Brake system and Tires Are real cheap. But I love the look.. And the size of the bike is like a 56..im 5/11 and Fits me good. But for the price can't be it.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bigal1234g
La,ac
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great bike for a beginner
6/11/2013

Customer review by Raydar6969

5.0 stars 6/11/2013 by Raydar6969
by Raydar6969

I bought the bike about a month ago. I've only gotten to ride it 5 days out of the month. And in that 5 days I've put over 200 miles on it. I rode it to work yesterday for the first time and I live 10 miles from my work. It took my 55 minutes to get to work and 40 minutes going home, rain at my back door helped me with a fast run home.(didn't want to get wet) The only problem I have with it is the seat. On the long runs it seems very uncomfortable. Which I do plan on buying the padded shorts. Bike shifts very nicely. Bike is nice and light and fast. Other than the seat is a very comfortable ride. I love the choices on where I can place my hands. Looking to invest in some Aerobars to place on it to make it even more comfortable ride. For the price that I paid for it is very well worth it. Very well built as well.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Raydar6969
Allenstown Nh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Amazing bike for the price!
8/19/2013

Customer review by wacoo

5.0 stars 8/19/2013 by wacoo
by wacoo

This is my first review for the bike. I previously purchased a Genesis G-700 bike (lower end) bike from Walmart, but then the pedal broke and since I became passionate about bikes I decided to upgrade to this bike. Wow, what a difference. Look, feel and quality of this bike is a league ahead of 22.5-Genesis-GS-700-Men-s-Flat-Bar-Road-Bike. The quality is so much higher on all the components especially the Shimano derailleur and Shimano Revo shifts. Out of the box with no adjustments the shifting was spot on. Brakes needed a lot of adjustment I still haven't tuned it right. Ride Quality is superb. The riding positions is great. Because of the design of the handle bars you essentially have 3 different holding positions on the handle bars with two sets of breaks. This allows you to change your hand positions and offers more relaxed grip. Bottom line love this bike. Got me compliments the moment I loaded it on my car. People think it s a 2000$ bike if only they knew how close they actually are to that number ;) Cant wait to take it out for a long ride! Recommend it 100%. Also get it professionally tuned if possible will bring out a whole new level of performance out of it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wacoo
Sunrise, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Bike
7/29/2013

Customer review by JDJones89

5.0 stars 7/29/2013 by JDJones89
by JDJones89

I was very hesitant buying a bike from walmart after reading a lot of reviews on multiple sites about how bad they were. I read a couple of the good reviews on this one and decided that I was going to chance it. The bike is great. I am just over 6' and about 200lbs and I fit on it just fine. The seat isn't the most comfortable, but that is an easy fix. As most others stated the brakes are pretty cheap. I tinkered with them quite a bit and got them to work better, but lets just hope a car doesn't cut me off. The negative reviews on this bike are incorrect as all the needed pieces are there. It took me awhile to put this bike together just because I over analyzed everything and tried to do more work than needed, that they had already done. Over all it is a very smooth riding bike and I hope to put many miles on it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JDJones89
Fort Wayne, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good bike for the price
8/12/2013

Customer review by shortblade

4.0 stars 8/12/2013 by shortblade
by shortblade

I'm a 47 year old who had late 70s Peugeot ten speed that I kept for 25 years until it met an untimely demise in a hurricane. About the same time, I stopped riding entirely due to back problems. But I missed it and my schedule wasn't good for getting to the gym, so I went looking at local bike shops to see what it would take to get something comparable with drop bars like I was used to. There was, quite frankly, nothing new was available without spending more than twice what this bike cost. Its not high quality, and it doesn't weigh 15lbs. But stem mount shifters and caliper brakes don't scare me, and I'm a whole lot more comfortable with flywheels as opposed to cassettes. I put it together myself, lubed things and re-tightened after riding it. I know, its gonna need a lot more maintenance than the new style bikes, but I'm used to that. The wheels are pretty round, so I haven't messed with truing yet, and I'm on the fence about whether to take it in for a pro tuneup or just keep messing with it myself. Basically, I'm happy because if I stop riding and this thing sits in my garage, I wont have wasted a fortune on it. And if it wears out or I want something better, I'll do it. I'll probably swap out the 32mm tires for something smaller and lighter, but this bike is fine to ride for an hour or so a day and I'm enjoying it. By the way, I bought this model as opposed to the Denali because I was worried about my back and thought the extra brake levers might help. They're fine, and I like the bike. But I'm still thinking if I do ever replace this bike, I might go ahead and get flat bars.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shortblade
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice bike for the beginner...Great value
8/4/2014

Customer review by YachtN

5.0 stars 8/4/2014 by YachtN
by YachtN

I ordered this particular road bike online through Walmart after reading the reviews ans watching a couple YouTube videos on this model. When the bike arrived I took it to a bike shop for assembly and tune-up. So far I am pleased with the bike. I am so out of shape and 61 years of age, so this is a great way to get back in shape a start living a healthy life style.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YachtN
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/7/2013

Customer review by XcapedmyeX

4.0 stars 6/7/2013 by XcapedmyeX
by XcapedmyeX

Bought this bike last week and put 30 miles on it the first day. Very impressed with the smoothness of the derailers and gears. Was skeptical of the price at first then after tuning it in and riding soon found this bike to be very sturdy and a pleasure to ride. Would have given it a 5 rating if not for the cheaper tires that give a slight bounce even after trying to reseat them evenly on the rims. Overall very pleased with the purchase and eager to rack up more pedal time.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
XcapedmyeX
lancaster, oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Touring Bike
8/18/2014

Customer review by NickName599

4.0 stars 8/18/2014 by NickName599
by NickName599

Bought this bike a month ago in a Walmart store, assembled & tuned. Have put nearly 200 miles on it so far and have had no problems. I like the looks of the bike (red-black) and its extra brake handles. Would consider changing the seat for more comfort after the first hour of biking.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NickName599
Brownwood, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Liked it!
7/13/2013

Customer review by DEBIKEGUY

5.0 stars 7/13/2013 by DEBIKEGUY
by DEBIKEGUY

Excellent transition from mountain bike to road bike. So far so good! The brakes are not superb but OK. Super fast shipping from Walmart. I just agreed with the other good reviews and I am happy I make the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DEBIKEGUY
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Absolutely love this bike!
9/15/2013

Customer review by SinCityPrince

5.0 stars 9/15/2013 by SinCityPrince
by SinCityPrince

I've always enjoyed an occasional bike ride from time to time and riding an entry level mountain bike through my neighborhood was good enough. I've recently discovered paved biking trails throughout my city, free and clear of car traffic and now I'm a biking addict! With that being said, I wanted to move up from a mountain bike to a road bike, especially after snapping the chain on my mountain bike a couple of weeks back. Looked at many from Walmart, from a Fixie, a hybrid and the GMC Denali bike. Settled on the Fixie and found this one for the first time at one of my local Walmart stores and snatched it up quickly. The only thing that was stopping me from buying the Denali bike was that it didn't offer two sets of brakes. This one does with the same look and feel of the Denali. Happy camper. Took it out for my first ride today after buying last week (it rained last weekend and I was upset I couldn't ride it then!). Let's just say I was in love! My first road bike after owning three mountain bikes and I could immediately feel the difference. Lighter, faster and smoother. I was zipping through my typical 20 mile ride with ease! At the 5 mile point, I stopped for water and noticed my back wheel was getting low. Didn't pay it much mind and headed on. About 3 miles later, my back tire was completely flat. Thought I ran over something or maybe it was new bike issues and just needed to re-inflate. Got to my car to re-inflate and head out for another 10 and noticed the back tire had a Presta valve on it. Didn't notice when I purchased and I couldn't re-inflate because my pump was a standard, 12 volt emergency Schrader pump for my car. Went to Walmart and accidentally bought a new tube with a Schrader valve and went home to change. That's when I noticed that my front tire had a Schrader valve. Why would this company make a bike with a Schrader rim on the front and a Presta rim on the back? Well, come to find out, the back rim was a Schrader as well, because my new inner tube fit without fail. This lead me to believe that perhaps the bike shipped to Walmart with either a missing, wrong, or a punctured inner tube and an employee either didn't know any different or grabbed a Presta tube off the shelf in the store and installed it. I've read in a few places that putting a Presta tube in a Schrader rim will almost always end in a premature flat if not done properly. Wasting that extra $5 on a either a Walmart assemblers or manufacturers oversight was rather disappointing. Outside of that, I absolutely love this bike as it has made my transition from a mountain bike to a road bike an extremely pleasant one. I can't wait to take it out again in the morning!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SinCityPrince
Henderson, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Fantastic bike for the price
9/14/2014

Customer review by DWild

5.0 stars 9/14/2014 by DWild
by DWild

I only use it to ride to work and back but it's faster than my car with stop lights. Love the dual brake set up, it allows you to ride upright and have easy access to brake handles. The brakes themselves are okay, the back is ready out of the box but the front takes tuning and likes to ride on the wheel if it's too close. Assembly was very fast. Comfortably pedaling, the bike will ride around 23mph on flat ground. For about $50 dollars, you can get a new rim which allows you to change the smallest gear from 15 teeth to 7, increasing top speed. I did this because about 18 of the gears are completely useless unless you're planning to ride up the vertical face of a mountain. You could push it faster than you can ride on the easiest gear ratio. The bike itself weighs around 25-30lbs (I can lift with one finger) and Great for riders 5'8" and up. I'm 6'1" Also, a side note. All of the logos and graphics are stickers and can be removed, allowing you to customize with your own graphics or leave it plain.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DWild
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 98 total reviews
1-20 of 98 reviews