Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1346 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

1346 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

1346 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
793
4 stars
398
3 stars
72
2 stars
28
1 stars
55
1-20 of 1154 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1154 total reviews
1-20 of 1154 reviews
WOW! Great specs for the money!
12/25/2010

Customer review by ScottGreene

5.0 stars 12/25/2010 by ScottGreene
by ScottGreene

I had been searching all over for the perfect laptop for my use (somewhat heavy multitasking, gaming, etc.) and just couldn't find the right one. Then I saw the Inspiron 15R and I knew it would be perfect. The processor is insanely fast (which means quick boot times), the hard drive is plentiful, and the Intel HD Graphics actually beat my desktop's ATI Radeon HD 4200 in the WEI (4.5 vs. 4.2). I think the function keys are great because I rarely have to use F1, F2, F3, etc. but always want to change the volume or turn off WiFi (when I'm on the road). The computer has very nice build quality but the one complaint I have is that the palm rests/lid catch fingerprints really easily. Besides that, this laptop is probably the best deal for the specs it comes with. I would highly suggest this to normal-to-heavy users!

ScottGreene
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
its nice to use
8/20/2011

Customer review by Anil

2.0 stars 8/20/2011 by Anil
by Anil

its nice to use

Anil
anyware
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Laptop!
4/26/2013

Customer review by JLC85

5.0 stars 4/26/2013 by JLC85
by JLC85
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for a family computer to use for everyday things such as, browsing the internet, to use for school things, and music. I am very pleased with this product, it has met every expectation of mine. Besides getting use to Windows 8, everything is running smoothly. I am very happy with this purchase and would highly recommend this laptop.

Was this review helpful? (37) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JLC85
James Creek, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Funtionally Fine, Physically lacking
8/30/2011

Customer review by EverydayUser123

3.0 stars 8/30/2011 by EverydayUser123
by EverydayUser123

It's hard for me to write this review because I have been a loyal Dell customer for years. However, this laptop's design has left me with buyer's remorse. Pros: Fast processor, nice graphics, functionally sound Cons: 10-key makes the keyboard feel off-balance. I understand why some would need a 10-key, but my guess is the average user does not handle a huge amount of data entry. I wish this were an optional feature with this model. The touch pad is extremely sensitive, in spite of applying strongest settings. It's common while online to switch pages in my browser due to accidental touching of the touch pad (which has some to do with the keyboard feeling off-balance as well). The speakers are on the bottom of the machine, which muffles the sound. And finally, the left side of the machine tends to run hot. If I could go back, I would buy a different model that did not have the 10-key, which is my biggest complaint. I hate to think that this feature is becoming standard on laptops.

EverydayUser123
Would recommend to a friend? No
Dell Rocks !!!
9/8/2010

Customer review by Mohnish

5.0 stars 9/8/2010 by Mohnish
by Mohnish

I purchased N5010 with the following configuration: i5-450, 4GB RAM, 320 GB HD, 1 GB Dedicated Graphics Card. The windows rating it showed was 5.8(Thats low just because of my HD capacity i.e.320 GB and partly because of the rpm which is 5400. Anyways DELL doesnt allow to choose 7200 rpm for its Inspiron Model) Pros: 1. I got my system 2 days prior to the estimated delivery date. I got my system within 8 week days of placing the order 2. The design is just superb...I have fallen in love with system Cons: 1. Dell doesnt ship the OS DVD with the Model. Though the system allows to create recovery disk but what if i want to change the Hard disk partition by reinstalling Windows(i.e. formatting the hard disk). I dont want to keep just one partition. So Since the customers are purchasing the OS, i personally think DELL should start Shipping the OS DVD with the system or atleast keep the ISO image on the HD. Even that would do. Anyways as promised by DELL got a nice, powerful machine. Thanks DELL.

Mohnish
Mumbai
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The new i3 chip is VERY quick!
4/19/2013

Customer review by Nokomis1115

4.0 stars 4/19/2013 by Nokomis1115
by Nokomis1115
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Switching from Windows 7 to Windows 8 is not real comfortable, but the speed of the new chip makes it possible to back up and try again. Really surprizingly quick!

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nokomis1115
Venice, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A good large screen well performing system
11/7/2011

Customer review by happyWith17inch

4.0 stars 11/7/2011 by happyWith17inch
by happyWith17inch

I purchased this system a couple of weeks ago. I needed a system with greater emphasis on large screen and regular keyboard than mobility. My screen is displaying nicely at 1600x900. It has a good feel, right now I'm sitting in the family room, listening to itunes and typing this review. Performance seems very good, although I have not done benchmarks. Battery life seems not-so-great, but with a 17" monitor I did not really expect to have fantastic battery life. It is large. Easy to miss is that it has 1 USB3.0 port. Fast fast fast for devices which use it, and an external SATA port. I'm not using either, but it's nice to know if in a couple of years I need it, it is there. I guess the thing I dislike the most is there is no accomodation for lighting the keyboard, either backlit or using the "thinkpad" approach of a micro light on the top of the screen pointing at the keys. Video has a cute feature where you can nicely customize your image. I would buy this again.

happyWith17inch
NC, usa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product
5/18/2013

Customer review by Gmommy2011

5.0 stars 5/18/2013 by Gmommy2011
by Gmommy2011
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am so happy that I chose this computer. Windows 8 is a little hard to navigate, but I am getting it. I would recommend this product to any student with a huge work-load.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gmommy2011
Saint Stephen, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/9/2013

Customer review by BamaCountryGirl

5.0 stars 4/9/2013 by BamaCountryGirl
by BamaCountryGirl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this Dell laptop. I got the pink, and it is really cool. It's very lightweight. So far ... So good. Learning windows eight is a lot easier then I thought.

Was this review helpful? (64) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BamaCountryGirl
Steens, Ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ease of operation
5/6/2013

Customer review by TripleBWoman

4.0 stars 5/6/2013 by TripleBWoman
by TripleBWoman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I like Dell products. This is my second computer. So far, I am not disappointed with performance, style, and ease of operation. However, the Windows 8 program is a little unsettling. It will take time to learn all of its functions.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TripleBWoman
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/3/2013

Customer review by PurpleQ

4.0 stars 7/3/2013 by PurpleQ
by PurpleQ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great for students. Fast and connects easily to wireless internet devices. Great size and color.The Windows 8 software is not as hard to figure out as others claim. Windows 8 is not bad it just takes time to get used to. The keyboard has full function. By that I mean that it has all the same keys as a desktop computer unlike smaller computers that do not have function keys and a numeric keypad.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PurpleQ
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is our second Inspiron 15R
7/13/2011

Customer review by jcdist

5.0 stars 7/13/2011 by jcdist
by jcdist

Pros - I already had an Inspiron 15R and was thrilled to see they were still available when my partner needed a new laptop. Her old Dell was dying, and she was concerned she would go into withdrawal if we didn't get a replacement soon. I ordered this system and it arrived two days later, so she was saved! Cons - I have had occasional "hangs" where the system will freeze up for a couple of minutes, but then everything returns to normal. This system is heavier than the 10" Dell Netbooks we used to travel with, but worth the extra power and screen size. I have purchased nothing but Dell computers for the last 10 years, both for home and business use. I wouldn't use anything else! We use them for hours each day and both love them. We use them for internet browsing, video streaming, Facebook, email, video and photo editing, publishing, webpage maintenance, Skype, word processing, spreadsheets and many other uses. We are currently visiting the Czech Republic and wouldn't have thought of leaving them behind.

jcdist
Tennessee - USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I really do like my new machine
5/21/2012

Customer review by Cybercut

4.0 stars 5/21/2012 by Cybercut
by Cybercut

Pretty snappy machine and reacts well to gaming and movies. It has plenty of drive space, ample memory and a really nice fullsized keyboard and number pad. The cover hinges feel real solid. The mouse touch pad can be turned off and on easily to avoid mistakes brushing it while typing and when using a wireless mouse. The function keys work well and are smart. My favorite is the instant “no video” button. It’s a real bargain actually. I would have liked a backlit keyboard, even faster-bigger hard drive and more memory but I would not have paid for all those options anyway as there were several other machines with all those features for almost double the price. It’s a good, smart and fast enough machine. Yes it’s a little heavy but for a desktop replacement it is a very good size and feel. Two observations: the face place around the keyboard tends to rattle distracting from its otherwise solid build and the eject button for the DVD drive isn’t obvious by touch at all.

Cybercut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bad Motherboards
6/3/2012

Customer review by FacePalm

1.0 stars 6/3/2012 by FacePalm
by FacePalm

If you read the title, and thought I made a grammatical error by making motherboards plural, I didn't. I've owned this computer for less than three weeks now, and the motherboard has failed for a second time now. The first time it failed, support had a tech come to my house within 4 days which impressed me, until the new motherboard failed the next day. I'm normally an understanding person and a motherboard failure right out the box happens. With any mass produced item, occasionally you will get a defective part, either from a slight error during the production or instalation of the board. Knowing this, I was going to rate this laptop a 3 or 4 out of five just because of the great customer service experience I had. But with the second failure in three weeks and other reviews I've read on this website and other technical support forums, I am beginning to believe there is something wrong with the way Dell is manafacturing the boards for this model of computer.

FacePalm
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good laptop!
9/9/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 9/9/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

It looks very classy and works well.. but the main problems would be: -As said by people, the keyboards a little flimsy but it works fabulously and looks great. It makes a little noise like the inside is rattling and the keyboard feels cheap which is annoying though could just be my laptop. -the lights showing the battery charger in and power on etc is sort of under the laptop so i have to lift it to see the lights -any programs dont fit the full screen, they are not minimised and i have spent ages looking through the settings. however this doesnt happen to my friends laptop so this ones up to me to sort! good things that have improved from the previous 15R -the caps lock has a light -despite the cheap keyboard, the keys are nicer and easier to use -the processor works faster -the colour has darkened so the finger smudges are shown less which makes the laptop body look cleaner I like this laptop and am glad i bought it but am hoping it was worth the money i spent.. being a student, money doesnt come that easily!

An anonymous customer
northern ireland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Turned into my game PC
3/7/2012

Customer review by pizzamanva

5.0 stars 3/7/2012 by pizzamanva
by pizzamanva

PROs : Fast, Cheap, Nice Looking... Cons : Keyboard - 101 keys on a laptop, make more errors. Batter life Got this after playing with my wife's Dell. I bought her a new dell laptop after her other one had power suppy issues, this was given to her on her trim to San Digeo, we were able to skype with her and she was uploading photo and all, better the he old Dell. I got to play with it when she came home and loved the speed and screen so when my broke the end of October I got one also along with the Blu-Ray and the WIDI box for my TV and just loved it. I work remotly working on fixing computer for customers as well as gaming, haven't had any issues, still super fast with an i3 processor and 4 gigs of ram. I'm now running, BF3, Skyrim and ME-3 with no issues at all, and I haven't had to turn down the graphics at all. Bearly use my Desktop custom built with an i5, 8 gigs of ram and HD display. This has been a great computer, and all of the computers I have gotten from Dell have been great, this is the 7th from them.

pizzamanva
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Inspiron R Cheaply Made But Reliable?
5/8/2012

Customer review by saboken

2.0 stars 5/8/2012 by saboken
by saboken

I love the laptop because of the price and how reliable it is, if you treat it like a newborn child!! if you drop it or mishandle it in any way even accidently it's toast!!! I used to buy only Precsion laptops at a much higher cost for there durability but they all seem to have hardware issues I have been through 3 precisions all have had video card failures this is not a issue during the 3 year warranty after that for the same cost of this 17R I get a new card? I wish they made a laptop like this 17R that had durability and quality hardware!! the only reason I purchaced this 17R is because all the repair money I spent on the precsion could have paid for 20 of these 17R's it seems buying a few of these are more cost efective for when one gets droped, than paying 6x the cost for one that will become a paperweight that will cost more than a new "lower end" one! I am happy with it, it is fast and disposable it won't hit my wallet as hard when it breaks.

saboken
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome value for money
12/10/2010

Customer review by AG

4.0 stars 12/10/2010 by AG
by AG

I bought my Dell Inspiron 15R( i3 350m, 512 Mb Ati Mobility Radeon HD 5470, 4 Gb Ram, 320 Gb HDD, Windows 7 Home Premium) this August and Id say Its a pretty good machine. Ive recommended this to a few friends of mine and they all seemed to have agreed with me. This particular configuration can handle most games with reasonable ease. Call of Duty: Modern Warfare worked without a hitch with everything topped off, and Black Ops with everything topped off except anti-aliasing which was turned off. Mafia II worked in full and DiRT 2 in Medium settings. The laptop easily crunches Photoshop CS4 and almost everything thrown at it without struggling too much. However while gaming, it does heat up a fair amount, with the graphics card running at about 70 - 80 Degrees. The placement of all the ports are just perfect and the battery life as pretty good at about 3 hours as well. Overall a VERY GOOD BUY and highly recommended to anyone who wants fairly good performance at a budget. Kudos to Dell for coming up with something so great. :)

AG
India
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Simply Choice
12/16/2011

Customer review by Familyof5

5.0 stars 12/16/2011 by Familyof5
by Familyof5

Though there are cheaper laptops out there, I am glad that I purchased a Dell. I can really tell the difference when I type and I know that Dell stands behind their products. I've had the laptop know for 2 weeks and though it is a Christmas present for the entire family, I could not resist from pulling it out and setting it up after the family has gone to bed. I've noticed how much faster this computer is than my Inspiron 530 desktop. I like the sound and the display. I did not upgrade to the blu-ray player, but then again I purchased this computer to be used for emails, work, school projects, surfing the net, downloading music, etc. I've already downloaded a few TV shows and I was very happy with the sound and graphics. This computer will more than meet the needs of my family which ranges in ages from 6 to 45. I would also like to note that I called customer support concerning an item that had not yet shipped. They were not only very helpful, but they called me back when it shipped and later to make sure that I received it. Thanks Dell!

Familyof5
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Out of the box problems
2/3/2011

Customer review by FragileBuild

2.0 stars 2/3/2011 by FragileBuild
by FragileBuild

I had a Dell desktop computer run perfectly for over 8 years until the HD crashed last week. I decided to purchase a dell lap top and unfortunately have had a few problems in the week that I have owned it. The back left USB port is so poorly attached that the slightest movement of the lap top causes the external HD to loose connectivity which is not helpful when you are trying to backup your data. I then ran the hardware diagnostic that came with it and found that it has a HD error although the diagnostic was not entirely clear and simply stated I was supposed to contact Dell if the problem occured after a 2nd diagnostic run. The error was persistent. If you decide to purchase this lap top, go over it thoroughly b/c it might take a few tries until you find one that is made properly. During the streesful time of looking for a job, being bothered with problems after paying good money for a working computer is not what I expected.

FragileBuild
Virginia, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 1154 total reviews
1-20 of 1154 reviews