Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 24 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

24 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

24 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-20 of 20 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

4/9/2013

Customer review by BamaCountryGirl

5.0 stars 4/9/2013 by BamaCountryGirl
by BamaCountryGirl

I love this Dell laptop. I got the pink, and it is really cool. It's very lightweight. So far ... So good. Learning windows eight is a lot easier then I thought.

Was this review helpful? (64) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BamaCountryGirl
Steens, Ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Laptop!
4/26/2013

Customer review by JLC85

5.0 stars 4/26/2013 by JLC85
by JLC85

I bought this for a family computer to use for everyday things such as, browsing the internet, to use for school things, and music. I am very pleased with this product, it has met every expectation of mine. Besides getting use to Windows 8, everything is running smoothly. I am very happy with this purchase and would highly recommend this laptop.

Was this review helpful? (37) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JLC85
James Creek, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The new i3 chip is VERY quick!
4/19/2013

Customer review by Nokomis1115

4.0 stars 4/19/2013 by Nokomis1115
by Nokomis1115

Switching from Windows 7 to Windows 8 is not real comfortable, but the speed of the new chip makes it possible to back up and try again. Really surprizingly quick!

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nokomis1115
Venice, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product
5/18/2013

Customer review by Gmommy2011

5.0 stars 5/18/2013 by Gmommy2011
by Gmommy2011

I am so happy that I chose this computer. Windows 8 is a little hard to navigate, but I am getting it. I would recommend this product to any student with a huge work-load.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gmommy2011
Saint Stephen, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ease of operation
5/6/2013

Customer review by TripleBWoman

4.0 stars 5/6/2013 by TripleBWoman
by TripleBWoman

I like Dell products. This is my second computer. So far, I am not disappointed with performance, style, and ease of operation. However, the Windows 8 program is a little unsettling. It will take time to learn all of its functions.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TripleBWoman
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/3/2013

Customer review by PurpleQ

4.0 stars 7/3/2013 by PurpleQ
by PurpleQ

Great for students. Fast and connects easily to wireless internet devices. Great size and color.The Windows 8 software is not as hard to figure out as others claim. Windows 8 is not bad it just takes time to get used to. The keyboard has full function. By that I mean that it has all the same keys as a desktop computer unlike smaller computers that do not have function keys and a numeric keypad.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PurpleQ
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
OUTSTANDING COMPUTER!!
5/22/2013

Customer review by mnphibbs

5.0 stars 5/22/2013 by mnphibbs
by mnphibbs

This laptop is AWESOME! It is my first Windows 8 laptop but it's been pretty easy to get around and get used to!! I love it!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mnphibbs
Great Mills, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/8/2013

Customer review by anbsmomma

5.0 stars 7/8/2013 by anbsmomma
by anbsmomma

Great computer love that there is a number pad! BUT not liking windows 8!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
anbsmomma
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good computer for the price
6/15/2013

Customer review by hbrainwater

5.0 stars 6/15/2013 by hbrainwater
by hbrainwater

I am enjoying this laptop so much (as are my children). I love the touchpad and keyboard. The laptop overall is a good size for all of us and functions well for our needs.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hbrainwater
Lagrange, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/23/2013

Customer review by TFrank6925

5.0 stars 8/23/2013 by TFrank6925
by TFrank6925

My Daughter loves this laptop.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TFrank6925
Kingstree, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very disappointed!
6/14/2013

Customer review by Ummof5boys

1.0 stars 6/14/2013 by Ummof5boys
by Ummof5boys

I paid extra to have next day delivery but received it two days later. Then on top of that it doesn't work!!!! Mine won't even turn on all I hear is a clicking sound now I have to return it!

Was this review helpful? (5) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ummof5boys
Henrico,VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
A really usefull tool
3/28/2012

Customer review by airman42

5.0 stars 3/28/2012 by airman42
by airman42

Good computer for non games playing user, Bought to replace a studio and so far not too many problems. no real cons yet.

airman42
United Kingdom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Computer
3/26/2012

Customer review by CT1106

5.0 stars 3/26/2012 by CT1106
by CT1106

This computer has great graphics and sound for such a small computer. I'm an online college student, so I stay very active on the computer. I'm very satisfied so far, and I hope that this Dell lasts as long as my other inspiron 15 did.

CT1106
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Old Wireless Adapter Driver from Microsoft
1/30/2014

Customer review by HowardTheDuck

4.0 stars 1/30/2014 by HowardTheDuck
by HowardTheDuck

Good value, great performance, Windows 7 is solid. As shipped, the driver for the network adapter (Intel Wireless-N 7260) was not the most recent from Intel. It was, however, the latest version available from Microsoft (as shown in the device properties). This is a Microsoft problem, not Dell. It would connect to the wireless access point for about 10 minutes, then get flaky, then die. Three different wireless access points. When troubleshooting was selected, it detected the problem and fixed it. Not a game changer but annoying. For any others experiencing problems with the network adapter: get the updated driver from the Intel site - NOT Microsoft. The driver downloaded on 1/30/2014 from Intel is version 16.6.0.8 dated 10/14/2013.

HowardTheDuck
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Laptop
3/29/2012

Customer review by jeno92

4.0 stars 3/29/2012 by jeno92
by jeno92

Pros Fast engine, big screen, and love the operating system. I like that I was able to choose my own color, specs and accessories. Very reliable laptop, the screen hasn't frozen or anything and had it for nearly a year.. Cons I don't like how the speakers are beneath the lap top, muffles the sounds. My laptop gets very hot if not on a flat surface. Also the digital keypad freezes and I have to restart computer when it does, but that's only occasionally. Overall, I am very happy with my decision to buy a Dell laptop and would recommend it to my friends.

jeno92
New Zealand
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great laptop
3/30/2012

Customer review by NitinN

4.0 stars 3/30/2012 by NitinN
by NitinN

Its a great laptop with great graphics processing. PROS: *i5 grt processor *nVidia Graphics are amazing(you can even download drivers from nVidia website for latest updates) *Direct key to turnoff the display *light weight in comparison to old inpiron series Some CONS: *Small arrow keys. *32 bit display drivers are missing from the driver download page. *Dell stage backup is not available any where to download it again for reinstall purpose. *Still some keys are missing from the keyboard like pause/break, etc. *really enjoyed the direct disc eject key (missing in new inspiron series)

NitinN
Bangalore, India
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Fast Laptop
3/29/2012

Customer review by JayCeeEn

4.0 stars 3/29/2012 by JayCeeEn
by JayCeeEn

I got excited by the LED display. However, upon getting the laptop, I soon found out that each pixel is noticeable, like a SmartBoard. While a very bright display, it is not an HD display, no. As for the processor and memory, this laptop rocks. Luv the speed, if not the display. Might work better on a smaller screen.

JayCeeEn
Germantown, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Poor venting design damaged my cpu
3/31/2013

Customer review by AAARRRGGG

3.0 stars 3/31/2013 by AAARRRGGG
by AAARRRGGG

Everything about this computer is great, except for one fatal engineering flaw. Too Long; Didn't Read at the bottom. I got the Intel Core i7-2670 QM so that I would have a very fast CPU that would keep up with technology requirements for a long time. At the time, it was ranked as the fiftieth fastest CPU, a little over a year ago. There was a game I liked to play that wasn't super graphics intensive, but I wanted to be able to run the graphics at full, which I couldn't do on my previous computer. When I got this laptop, it ran beautifully, I was so happy. For about three months. The problem is that the air intake ports are on the bottom of the computer, and with only a few millimeters of clearance and small fans, there was no way it could cool the powerful CPU sufficiently. When the graphics and performance started going to heck, I couldn't figure out what was wrong for a long time, until I got a laptop cooling pad for it. Problem solved. It's apparent as evidenced by it working fine for three months and then suddenly deteriorating in performance that the CPU or perhaps some other component was damaged to some extent by the overheating, which finally led to its not being able to function at its previous level. It was able to perform at overheated levels for a time, but after some damage, it could no longer do so. I'm sure that has taken some time off of its lifespan. If you're going to give the option for a high powered CPU, make sure the computer is designed to handle that kind of power and can adequately cool itself. Who the heck ever thought it would be a good idea to put intake ports on the bottom of the laptop in the first place? It's a "lap" top, so if it's on your lap, wouldn't that be blocking the ports completely? Why why why? I don't even put it on my lap anymore when it would be convenient to do so for precisely that reason. I can't afford to have it overheat anymore and risk further damage. If you put this kind of processor in a desktop you have a couple large high speed fans cooling it to give it optimal performance and protection against overheating. In a laptop with poor venting like this, it stands no chance. The left side of the keyboard is even very hot to the touch without the cooling pad, and quite uncomfortable. In fact, that's what ultimately tipped me off to the possibility that it was overheating. It simply shouldn't have been that hot. After buying several computers for my family from Dell over the years, we're switching to a different manufacturer next time. TL;DR The air intake ports are placed on the bottom of the computer with poor fan power, which is insufficient to cool the high powered CPU it has. It ended up damaging it to some extent, and now it can't run it in high performance mode without a cooling pad underneath it. Extremely sloppy oversight if any engineer actually looked over this product package when the component options were tossed together.

AAARRRGGG
Would recommend to a friend? No
not the best dell I've had
3/28/2012

Customer review by jamieahrens

3.0 stars 3/28/2012 by jamieahrens
by jamieahrens

Slow, okay for the price I suppose. Returning it.

jamieahrens
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
1600 x 900???
3/23/2012

Customer review by nicaze

2.0 stars 3/23/2012 by nicaze
by nicaze

17.3" HD+ (1600 x 900) LED Display with Truelife™ for 17 inch??? Are you kidding me? Other configuration is just industry standard that you can find on any other computer ... not even 1080? wow. Dell has a great capability to be one of the greatest companies, but they just keep disappointing me. I am trying to buy a computer for the past 6 months now, and cannot find a simple 1900x1200 resolution in any of the Dell's laptop configurations. Dell is just forcing me to switch to Mac and their anticipated retina MacBook Pro. I love Dell. I have many of their laptops ... but Dell, seriously ... wake up ....

nicaze
Would recommend to a friend? No