Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 4364 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

4364 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

4364 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
3058
4 stars
898
3 stars
139
2 stars
87
1 stars
182
1-20 of 4258 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 4258 total reviews
1-20 of 4258 reviews
So far working great!
9/16/2014

Customer review by Kaylan7

5.0 stars 9/16/2014 by Kaylan7
by Kaylan7
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We have major mold in our basement and humidity and I purchased the dehumidifier that could hold the most (for the cost I could afford). It is not noisy (you can hear it running but sounds like a humidifier in the background) and I have to dump the water three times a day. The water basket part just slides out (when you squeeze the sides) and easily snaps back in. I've had no problem carrying the heavy water to the back door, as the handle is quite sturdy. I've had this for almost two weeks, so can't say it if will last but so far so good. Do compare price as prices go up and down on sales on all dehumidifiers. The directions were easy to read and set up. I have it on the cycle it's set at for the beginning---continuous---given our major humidity problem, but it's working and I can tell the humidity is slowly going down. Come winter, I suspect I'll be emptying it once a day. I can't say how much our electric bill will go up yet, but when I get the bill I'll try to update my review.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kaylan7
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD
6/19/2015

Customer review by osnider

5.0 stars 6/19/2015 by osnider
by osnider

Out of the box, this unit was easy to set up and was very efficient at removing large amounts of moisture from our unfinished basement. This is about my 10th replacement dehumidifier over the years, and they all work good out of the box. Too soon to tell about durability, which is my biggest concern. We've had to replace dehumidifier units every 2-3 years, from all manufacturers, so there is an apparent lack of concern for durability in this industry. We bought the extended, 3-year warranty this time, which should help us over the next break-down. You know it's at end-of-life when the unit ices up (meaning all the freon has leaked out), and these units cannot be recharged economically. One feature I especially like about this unit is the external fitting for a drain hose! Makes it so easy to bypass the catch bucket, and simply drain the condensation directly into the sump pump for the house A/C unit! Frigidaire is the head of the class with this feature!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
osnider
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good product
6/12/2015

Customer review by BobB

4.0 stars 6/12/2015 by BobB
by BobB

Be patient when you first start it. It seems like it takes the compressor several minutes to begin working, but then it works very well. I hooked it to a hose for continuous drain and it made a steady drip and lowered the humidity to the level I selected. It did seem to restart fairly quickly after it shut off when it reached the selected level and I had read other reviewers with the same comments. My solution was to place a small fan in front of it, turn it to low, and blow dry air on the grill to keep the water that collects on the condenser from causing the sensor to detect moisture in the air and turn the unit back on. This could cause frequent cycling and shorten its life. With the small fan running continuously, the unit cycles as it should. Although the internal fan does make some fairly loud air noise, the compressor is much quieter than my old Kenmore. I just hope this Frigidaire lasts as long as my old Kenmore, which ran for more than 20 years.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BobB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quit working in less than a year
8/26/2016

Customer review by Grace

1.0 stars 8/26/2016 by Grace
by Grace

This was my first time making a large purchase from Walmart. It was a good dehumidifier and worked well for the first 11 months and two weeks. Then suddenly is stopped taking moisture out of the air (the bucket hardly filled up with water), and ice appeared on the coils. This has happened before with several other dehumidifiers from other companies I've owned (Soleus and GE). As this unit is still under the manufacturer's first year of warranty, it meant dealing with Frigidaire and their automated phone system. After an hour, I finally got thru to a real person and filed a claim. They contacted me the following day to tell me that they had "approved" my claim (gee, thanks guys) and I am now waiting to get a form via US Mail to complete and return to them BEFORE they will send me a debit card which is my refund. The amount they are refunding to me will NOT include the sales tax I paid, or the money I spent buying additional years of warranty from Walmart, where I bought this unit. I will never buy this model from Frigidaire again! In addition, I doubt I will buy my replacement dehumidifier from Walmart.com as they don't have an arrangement with Frigidaire that would have allowed the manufacturer to refund the total amount I spent buying their poorly made dehumidifier.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grace
Would recommend to a friend? No
Pleasantly surprised at the results
7/6/2015

Customer review by Extech

5.0 stars 7/6/2015 by Extech
by Extech

Having been an a a/c&r tech for nearly 20 years and completely unimpressed with anything made by Frigidaire, I was skeptical about the quality and durability of this small air conditioning appliance. However, in the late 90's and early 2000's, as China ramped up their manufacturing capability, they began producing small window a/c's and dehu's. At first, their quality was garbage, but soon it got better and nearly all American a/c makers stopped making their own units and began having them made in China. Since this unit was so highly rated by so many people and because I knew it was NOT made by FRG, I took a chance and I am so glad that I did! The appliance is well made, mostly quiet and dried out my very damp basement in three days. It now cycles on and off (not running constantly) and maintains a nice, low relative humidity, good for my home, good for my stuff. I highly recommend this unit if you need a dehu.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Extech
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Replacement
11/22/2016

Customer review by JPK3

5.0 stars 11/22/2016 by JPK3
by JPK3
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this unit due to it's high rating. It's much quieter than our old one. So far, it seems to be working great before it's winter hibernation.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JPK3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
saved my home
6/4/2015

Customer review by Tatt2edtears06

5.0 stars 6/4/2015 by Tatt2edtears06
by Tatt2edtears06
Top 250 contributor

I have single pane windows in all my home and with winter being pretty cold I would have a ton of condensation, so much that it would pool on my window will and leak down to the floor! Mold everywhere! I did not have the money to replace all my windows, but the more I didn't do anything about it the more it was ruining my windows my walls and the value of my home. I bought this in hopes that it would help and it did. Absolutely zero condensation as long as I keep it going. I had a rough time trying to set it up to empty automatically, but it's pretty easy to empty manually I have to do it maybe once or twice a day but we have very high humidity here. I definitely recommend this product not only is it priced very good, but it works like a charm. I do see an increase in my electric bill but its well worth it.This product literally saved my house.

Was this review helpful? (65) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tatt2edtears06
Fields Landing, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Top 250 contributor
Works perfectly
8/1/2015

Customer review by czarmom

5.0 stars 8/1/2015 by czarmom
by czarmom

I have had this for almost a month now and it has worked tremendously well. I have not noticed a huge difference in the electric bill either. To give you some info on where it is being used: unfinished basement with 1/2 fieldstone 1/2 concrete walls and concrete floor. This is an old house so there is a fair amount of moisture in the basement. After 2 days of working in continuous mode (and about 5 dumps later) this thing continues to pull the moisture and smell out of the basement. VERY pleased with it. Hoping it will last longer than what I have seen others reporting for similar models. Construction is solid and wheels roll efficiently. Yes the water does come up close to the top when full but I have yet to spill it when emptying. I don't use the handle though, I grab it on both sides and take it out to dump. Display is easy to read and instructions are thorough.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
czarmom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good unit
5/30/2014

Customer review by GNGoat

5.0 stars 5/30/2014 by GNGoat
by GNGoat

The dehuidifier is working fine so far. It is quieter than some of the others I have owned! Although I cannot find the sepc right now, one reason I bought it was that it has a few minute delay, to turn on the compressor should there be a power problem, like during a storm. This to me will help save/protect the unit. Also liked the low temp operation for extracting moisture. Also liked the fact that the unit turns itself off when the desired humidity level is reached, one of mine does not, and I missed that feature. Also was very happy with the price, and so far as I know, there have not been many problems with this unit, or Company.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GNGoat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quality Product Delivered Fast
1/2/2014

Customer review by PeepsII

5.0 stars 1/2/2014 by PeepsII
by PeepsII
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my second Frigidaire dehumidifier. The first worked great but was part of a recall. This dehumidifier works great also and was delivered super fast. It keeps the air in my basement dry. I connected a hose to the unit for continuous draining. The humidity selection control is nice.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PeepsII
Kansas City, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Dehumidifier until It Stops Working
6/20/2013

Customer review by JoesephEngineer

3.0 stars 6/20/2013 by JoesephEngineer
by JoesephEngineer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Just purchased this dehumidifier as a warranty replacement for the almost identical Frigidaire FAD704DUD. The previous unit developed a non-repairable refrigerant leak during the third year of use. Luckily I had purchased a Walmart warranty and received a full refund for the original unit. This humidifier is top rated by consumer reports and does an excellent job of keeping my basement humidity at low level during the humid summer months. Based on web reviews it appears all brands of dehumidifiers have a high failure rate after a few years of use. Although I am hoping the this new replacement dehumidifier will last a lot longer than original, I purchased a new warranty just in case.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoesephEngineer
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wonderful!!!Fresh Air in Basement
7/1/2014

Customer review by aledoni

5.0 stars 7/1/2014 by aledoni
by aledoni

About 6 months ago, I bought a 1910 house with a 1000 sq ft somewhat finished basement. The washer and dryer are located there and so I make several trips downstairs every week. I dreaded the moldy, musty smell, and stale air down there. Well I started reading reviews about this product and was quickly sold. I placed the order for the 70 pt Frigidaire dehumidifier and in no time it was delivered to my home. I got it set up, plugged it in and let it run on CO (continuous) for 2 days. I was shocked at the amount of water it took out of the air! I later set it on 55% on the low fan speed and let it run. Still pulling out loads of water! But here's the best part... the air is fresh and sweet. It's unbelievable. Now I feel like I just opened up a huge addition to my house which before, I could not bear to enter. Thank you Reviewers for sharing your stories with me.

Was this review helpful? (165) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aledoni
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
Work well as a dehumidifier, Does not cycle
9/20/2014

Customer review by trril

1.0 stars 9/20/2014 by trril
by trril
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When it is on, i.e. the compressor working and fan, it works wonderfully. When the room reaches the set humidity and it shuts off I think there is a problem when it tries to restart. The fan comes on for about 3 seconds then shuts off. The compressor does not come on at this time. This cycle repeats itself for about 4 cycles then on the 5th try, the fan stays on and the compressor comes on and runs until the room reaches the set humidity. I am calling the local repair person to see what he thinks. It will be a pain to drive it 40 miles, leave it and then pick it up. Don't know how to rate it as I don't think it cycles correctly.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
trril
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just bought it but so far so good
7/27/2014

Customer review by 747classic

5.0 stars 7/27/2014 by 747classic
by 747classic
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

At first we were having difficulties with the FAD704DWD. My husband was at his wits end because it is the third dehumidifier we have purchased in the last couple months. We saw on line that this was rated #1 so we gave it a try. The first few days the humidistat was reading incorrectly, but after we shut it off and back on a few times it has been working like a champ. It must have had to reset itself like a computer. Maybe the first few times my husband didn't wait long enough before restarting it. Right now it is working just great and our basement is dry and reading the humidity just perfect.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
747classic
Pinckney, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far, so good. Have to wait for a few months.
6/10/2014

Customer review by klipmo

4.0 stars 6/10/2014 by klipmo
by klipmo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When I picked it up, the box looked like it had been dragged on the highway to Walmart from the factory. Beside the staples on the box there were other staple holes, indicating that it had been opened and resealed. Should have noticed that before signing for it. But it appears to be new and has worked well so far. It is a little hard to put the water tank in correctly. It takes two or three tries. It pulls out 70 pints of water in 12 hours. Basement is much drier now. I returned two de Longhis and one Danby for various problems. Keeping my fingers crossed on this one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
klipmo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lasts 3 years and 2 months.
1/2/2017

Customer review by jamest08

1.0 stars 1/2/2017 by jamest08
by jamest08

Worked well until it stopped working. Purchased 10/2013. Died 12/2016. That's almost $100 per year for using this thing.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jamest08
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best choice
4/27/2016

Customer review by zoomeroonie

5.0 stars 4/27/2016 by zoomeroonie
by zoomeroonie

I looked at many reviews and for the money this was the best choice. It began working as soon as it was plugged in and within 24 hours the basement smelled fresh. It seems quiet to me so noise isn't an issue with this unit. I hope it lasts a long time but there wasn't much available information on the life expectancy of this unit.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zoomeroonie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Frigidaire 70- Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD
8/26/2015

Customer review by 10MorePints

4.0 stars 8/26/2015 by 10MorePints
by 10MorePints

After almost five years, we replaced our GE 60-Pint Dehumidifier with the Frigidaire 70- Pint Dehumidifier. The Frigidaire was rated very high. That is why we chose it. It does a good job of removing moisture quickly. My only complaint is that the container that holds the water does not seem to be as strong as the 60-Pint GE Dehumidifier. The weight of the extra 10 pints is much heavier, perhaps that is why. The plastic (bucket) holder doesn't feel as solid when I carry it 20 feet to empty it. When I try to replace the bucket, it does not slide in easily like the GE bucket did. We thought that the larger capacity would mean that we would not need to empty it as often. That is true, but I'm not sure if this Frigidaire will last as long as the GE, given the fact that the plastic bucket doesn't seem as sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
10MorePints
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier
12/1/2016

Customer review by debbil51

5.0 stars 12/1/2016 by debbil51
by debbil51
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great Fast Shipping - Excellent Choice

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
debbil51
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great after a rough start
7/2/2012

Customer review by RhodeIslandResident

4.0 stars 7/2/2012 by RhodeIslandResident
by RhodeIslandResident

Ordered this model after reading so many rave reviews, including Consumer Reports. It is now operating very well after a rough start on Day 1. Plugged it in and the LCD panel lit up, then went off and nothing. Ended up spending an hour+ on the phone with the manufacturer and also with Walmart.com trying to figure out the problem. Then, inexplicably, the unit started operating on its own, going into the "factory setting" per the instructions. Still can't figure out why, but now a moot point. No problems since then. However, I would agree with other reviews that it is more difficult to empty the water bucket than any other dehumidifier we've ever owned. The opening is small and not well-located and it's very easy to spill water, esp. since the float allows the water level to come very close to the top.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RhodeIslandResident
Newport, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
1-20 of 4258 total reviews
1-20 of 4258 reviews