Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.5out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 | 4678 reviews
5 stars
3283
4 stars
954
3 stars
152
2 stars
90
1 stars
199
Sort by: 
1-20 of 4569 reviews
1-20 of 4569 reviews
saved my home
6/4/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 250 contributer
I have single pane windows in all my home and with winter being pretty cold I would have a ton of condensation, so much that it would pool on my window will and leak down to the floor! Mold everywhere! I did not have the money to replace all my windows, but the more I didn't do anything about it the more it was ruining my windows my walls and the value of my home. I bought this in hopes that it would help and it did. Absolutely zero condensation as long as I keep it going. I had a rough time trying to set it up to empty automatically, but it's pretty easy to empty manually I have to do it maybe once or twice a day but we have very high humidity here. I definitely recommend this product not only is it priced very good, but it works like a charm. I do see an increase in my electric bill but its well worth it.This product literally saved my house.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (78)No (27)
Report
Was this review helpful?
First Time Dehumidifier Buyer
8/18/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After reading many reviews on-line about dehumidifiers, I decided to buy the Frigidaire dehumidifier for my house based on the large amount of positive reviews. I have been using this dehumidifier for just under a month now and it has been working flawlessly. For the first several days of operation I had to empty the tank 2-3 times a day. After that, I only have to empty the tank every few days except on days when the outside air relative humidity is very high. On the high humidity days, the frequency of emptying the tank increases to 1-2 times a day. The noise level of the unit is a little loud, but that is to be expected with a compressor and fan running. Placed my unit in the hallway outside of the bedroom and I can barely hear it running with the bedroom door closed. I have not had any issues so far, but I have a slight concern about the life expectancy of the unit after reading several reviews about the unit only working for one year. For now, I am very happy with the purchase and I am considering ordering another unit for my downstairs. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wonderful!!!Fresh Air in Basement
7/1/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
About 6 months ago, I bought a 1910 house with a 1000 sq ft somewhat finished basement. The washer and dryer are located there and so I make several trips downstairs every week. I dreaded the moldy, musty smell, and stale air down there. Well I started reading reviews about this product and was quickly sold. I placed the order for the 70 pt Frigidaire dehumidifier and in no time it was delivered to my home. I got it set up, plugged it in and let it run on CO (continuous) for 2 days. I was shocked at the amount of water it took out of the air! I later set it on 55% on the low fan speed and let it run. Still pulling out loads of water! But here's the best part... the air is fresh and sweet. It's unbelievable. Now I feel like I just opened up a huge addition to my house which before, I could not bear to enter. Thank you Reviewers for sharing your stories with me.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (174)No (33)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Lasts 3 years and 2 months.
1/2/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Worked well until it stopped working. Purchased 10/2013. Died 12/2016. That's almost $100 per year for using this thing.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Effective but costly to operate
6/12/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Have had this unit for 3 months drying our finished basement in the deep South. First time owner of a dehumidifier, and all makes and models seem to have spotty reliability reputation, so sprung for the extended warranty. My unit fills the tank in about 16-24 hours of running at 55% RH, so hooked up to a floor drain and only need to clean the filter every couple weeks. Unit is about as noisy as a lower grade window A/C, so I like the timer, which allows me to turn it off when I'm using the basement and set to restart after I'm done. It does throw off noticeable heat that collects at the top of the stairs. Power bills show 12-14 Kwh/day increase over last year, suggesting ca. $1.80/day cost to operate. I had hoped for a bit of a decrease, so may go back to relying on the central A/C circulation to control the excess humidity down there as a more economical solution. Would be nice if dehumidifiers in general had EnergyGuide tags to estimate cost of operation before purchase.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
More effective than expected
7/8/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I was advised to get a large capacity dehumidifier and 70 pints is almost big enough. This unit really works great. I have to empty the 2 gallon reservoir about every 8 hours. Removing the holding tank takes a bit of practice and patience. So far, have not spilled any condensate. As recommended in the instruction manual it ran continuously for 4 days then we set it to the target humidity level we wanted. The unit produces a small amount of heat as it dehumidifies. The squirrel cage fan is relatively quite on high speed and did not impede sleeping after we got used to it. Controls are well marked with small type and the LED is large enough to read 10 - 20 feet away. On top of the unit is a disappearing handle I didn't discover until I had removed the unit from the shipping container. The handle would have been a big help to get it out of the box. The wheels are minimal sized but roll OK on hard surfaces and thin carpet. Otherwise, when its empty, lift it and move it around as required.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (67)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My basement doesn't stink any more
7/13/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Since we have living space - including bedrooms - in the basement, I had to finally cave in and spend money on a dehumidifier. I checked out several review sites, and the Frigidaire series came out high on several of them. More checking to see capacity in terms of the area that we were working with, and I knew I could not go lower than a 70-pint size one. Walmart got it shipped to the store in fewer days than expected, and I brought it home to set it up immediately. It was three days before I could take it off continuous run. It's almost two weeks later, and now - as long as I empty the water three or four times between morning and bed time - we can keep the humidity in the ~900 sq ft basement down to 45-55%. A larger unit probably would have been a better buy for the intensity of the humidity and the size of the basement, but this one was the best we could do with our budget. I can't complain. The smell is gone, the air feels much more comfortable, and I think we've got a good deal.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (45)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Does the job
7/14/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Does its job well so needs to be emptied daily. Also, the area smells fresher and the doors to the rooms no longer stick! Nice handle to carry reservoir for emptying but a little tricky to pour accurately when full because of all the cover parts attached to the top. Noise of fan is not objectionable. Bought the extended warranty (2 extra years) as the lifespan of dehumidifiers seems to be limited based on reviews of ALL brands on line and this unit will be used 24/7. This replaces a 30 year old Kenmore unit that finally quit after being used on the east coast and on the west coast. Walmart delivered this item in record time ( I think 5 days) for a shipping cost that was less than the cost of the gasoline to drive to the store. I was impressed since it weighs about 50 pounds with all of its boxes. Requires two people to remove from box as it has to be lifted vertically. The alternate for one person is being very cautious with a case cutter to slice the box corners without cutting too deep.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (139)No (41)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wow. Why didn't I get this 3 years ago?
7/10/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Im not one to write many reviews (ain't nobody go time for that!) But this was really worth the investment for me. Simple to set up, and what could be easier than connecting a garden hose to operate the continuous drain. I love that it's soooooo quiet, second only to how it took just about every drop of dampness out of the basement! And I have a big basement! A basement that is divided into two parts with a wall, and it still does the trick! The basement is concrete cinder block and will sometimes seep water if there is a hard rain or when the ground level becomes over-saturated. For me, it wasn't a matter of "if the mold was going to start", it was a matter of "WHEN"! I truly think this will easy that anxiety, and I only need to use this for a couple of humid months in the summer. Now, all the musty smell is gone, and sometimes, it feels like an air conditioner is running down there because the basement is so cool and no longer damp! I am really happy with this purchase!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (105)No (17)
Report
Was this review helpful?
So far working great!
9/16/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We have major mold in our basement and humidity and I purchased the dehumidifier that could hold the most (for the cost I could afford). It is not noisy (you can hear it running but sounds like a humidifier in the background) and I have to dump the water three times a day. The water basket part just slides out (when you squeeze the sides) and easily snaps back in. I've had no problem carrying the heavy water to the back door, as the handle is quite sturdy. I've had this for almost two weeks, so can't say it if will last but so far so good. Do compare price as prices go up and down on sales on all dehumidifiers. The directions were easy to read and set up. I have it on the cycle it's set at for the beginning---continuous---given our major humidity problem, but it's working and I can tell the humidity is slowly going down. Come winter, I suspect I'll be emptying it once a day. I can't say how much our electric bill will go up yet, but when I get the bill I'll try to update my review.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (33)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not the best
7/10/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I liked the looks of the Frigidaire unit because the design appeared to be much like my old GE unit. The GE was recalled as a fire hazard after at least four years of flawless operation. The Frigidaire works just fine from the standpoint of dehumidification. It's also a reasonably quiet unit. NONE of them are inaudible. The main flaw that I have is with the bucket. It doesn't clip into the machine properly and after a few hours it vibrates forward just enough to turn the unit off. I may have just been unlucky and just gotten the last unit built on Friday. However, the machine makes additional noises my old unit didn't. It emits a clunking sound when it's cycling on or off. And, while it's dehumidifying you also hear every last drip of water drop into the bucket as well...Chinese water torture. I tried to contact the Frigidaire customer service regarding the bucket issue and got one of the telephone merry-go-rounds that eventually ended with no human contact. I will return the unit tomorrow.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (39)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works great
8/14/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We bought this unit to replace an old one that came with our new home. We have a very clean basement that opens onto our garage and has a walkout back with sliding doors. Still, it seemed a bit damp although it didn't have the typical musty odor. Set up was easy, and we were able to transfer the drain tube from the old unit to this one (FYI the attachment point is threaded so you could also use a garden hose). We set the unit to run continuously for the first few days as suggested in the set up instructions. After running the unit for a day, we noticed a marked difference (and improvement) in the air. It no longer felt damp at all! We have now adjusted the setting to 55% and the unit is working great. We are very happy with this purchase! P.S. We also purchased the 36 month protection plan offered by Walmart so we will at least be covered beyond the typical 1 year manufacturer's warranty.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
7/21/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
At this point within the first week it has brought the basement (About 1300 square feet total) humidity down from 67 to 42. (This is the main reason I rated it "4".) I am using a different humidity meter which is on the opposite side of the basement in a different room to keep track of the humidity. I have the dehumidifier set at 55. Just saying that I don't think the meter works well on the dehumidifier. I emptied it about 4 X a day the first 4 days. The last 2 days I only needed to empty it morning and evening. I haven't tried to attach a hose yet so I don't know if I will run into any problems in that area. It is quiet compared to my old model (a different brand). The fan runs continuously which I think is a disadvantage, using electricity when it isn't needed. I am using the low setting and that seems fine. It does warm up the space around it some. I wasn't happy with my old unit leaking freon and am hoping this one will be sealed better. Time will tell. I would rate it lower if the seal doesn't hold.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (37)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great as Advertised!
7/22/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This dehumidifier was picked by my husband & I, primarily for use in our basement of our colonial in Massachusetts. This summer (2013) has proven to be one of the most humid on record, since we have moved in. So far, after approximately 3 weeks of continous 24/7 use, we are extremely pleased. It has been proven to us to be a true "work-horse", constantly removing the moisture quietly & efficiently. We are also pleased with the value for the price we paid. The tank size has proven to be enough to last 8 hours (on setting goal of 50%), until reaching capacity and needing emptying. We've "squeezed" a lot of moisture out of our basement, and love the product. We used Wal-Mart "Site-to-Store" for this dehumidifier and another model that we purchased for the 1st floor. We were happily surprised how easy it was. We ordered our items on a Monday, & promised a pick-up date at our local Wal-Mart for Friday. We were pleasantly surprised by an arrival date of Wednesday!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (54)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Does the job plus
9/12/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is a very good unit. It does the job well, is attractive and the cost is in line with the product, not too expensive. Dehumidifyers are more important than one might think at first. They are an important feature in preventing too much dampness and thus mold. Humidity must be controlled or you will have problems in the works. With this unit you can set it to go on in a certain amount of time, for ex. set it to go on in .5, 1, 1.5, 2, etc hours and continuously run. Or when the unit is on you may set it to turn off in a similar fashion. Also, you may set the desired humidity rating for the room you use it in. The display will show the existing room % of humidity and will work until you meet the % you set it for. For ex. you may select to have the room at 40% humidity and the unit will go on showing that it is currently at 70% humidity, and it will work until your 40% is met, then go on periodically to keep it at that amount. Nice feature. Excellent unit.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (47)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great so far but!
6/12/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Dehumidifiers have made me feel uneasy for a long time. I bought one in 1969 made by West Bend that I finally sold at a garage sale after 37 years even though it was still going strong. I thought I should get something more environmentally friendly. (I was so wrong.) Since then I bought a Sears Kenmore that barely lasted past warranty, then a Danby that was even worse, and finally a Soleus that I thought performed exceedingly well until I returned it after two years due to the fire hazard recall. The Danby seemed to have by far the worse design. I had it repaired once under warranty and then once right after warranty expired for the identical problem which involved the float mechanism. So, thus far this frigadaire appears to be an excellent product but I need to see how it's reliability holds up. I rarely buy extended warranties but on a humidifier based on past experience, I will not go without one. Persons who have never owned a dehumidifier should be aware of the usuall high cost of disposing of a bad one which in my area ranges from $25.00 and up.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (82)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
better than the rest
10/27/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I just returned another dehumidifier that was horribly noisy (even on LOW) and NEVER got to the set humidity level (55) and NEVER shut off the very noisy fan. It was made by Gree who had just been involved in those massive recalls. This Frigidaire does the job fine. It took a few days to reach 55, which is expected. It is relatively quiet. I keep it on low. It does eventually shut off the fan and cycle as needed. My basement is new construction so I think it takes awhile to settle down and dryout. Oh and when I was shopping around and kept seeing the identical inferior dehumds at different places with different labels on them just like the one I had first gotten, a saleswoman suggested I check with a regular appliance dealer. I did and he told me he recommends the Frigidaire, but he was out of them -- wrong season. I had researched and found good reviews on the Frigidaire too. Happy to find it at Wally world with free shipping to boot.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (89)No (18)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Working very nice
8/7/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
First one ordered was defective. It worked, but only on low speed. Returned it to Walmart and another was ordered and it works absolutely fine. Removes lots of moisture quickly and very quietly. One beautiful feature that this unit does that most others don't is that it shuts completely down when the set dryness is achieved. Most brands have the fan run continuously even if dehumidifying is not needed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good unit except Auto Shut-off is a problem
7/1/2011
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This unit is quiet, has a slim profile, and works extremely well (that is the good news). I live in a humid environment so the unit extracts a full bucket of water each day. This unit would rate five stars if the auto-shut off was designed correctly. If you wait until the light comes on indicating the bucket is full, it is impossible to remove without spilling a significant amount of water on the floor. Since I have to remove it daily, this is a problem. My carpet and hardwood is taking a beating even though I wipe the spill up promptly. When I called the manufacturer, I was told that this is the way the product is designed. I have resorted to finding a fix on my own and have added Styrofoam to the bottom of the water indicator lever. This causes the indicator to rise faster than before, tripping the cut-off switch early enough to prevent the overfilling problem. You shouldn't have to re-engineer a brand new product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (251)No (48)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Stopped Working After 1 Year and 1 Month
9/16/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This was my 3rd Frigidaire Dehumidifier. The first two lasted one season (1 year). Guess what? This one stopped working 1 year and 1 month after I purchased it. Frigidaire dehumidifiers are not built to last. I had high hopes for this model since it appeared to be a new design. Unfortunately not. It stopped removing water and actually froze ice on the inside which indicates low coolant. Luckily, I went into this purchase with my eyes wide open. I purchased a 3 year extended warranty for $29. I'm getting a new one for free. I'm really hoping that the warranty folks give me a different brand this time. I highly recommend any of you that just purchased this item to purchase an extended warranty if you can get it. Based on my experience with Frigidaire products, there is no way this will last anyone over 2 years. I am not sure any of the other brands will work any better. I usually would never buy an extended warranty on anything, but my experience with dehumidifiers tells me they will simply never last over a year or 2 at best.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641771, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-