Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 309 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

309 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

309 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
174
4 stars
93
3 stars
16
2 stars
12
1 stars
14
1-20 of 292 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 292 total reviews
1-20 of 292 reviews
workout cruiser
6/23/2015

Customer review by pinoybiker

5.0 stars 6/23/2015 by pinoybiker
by pinoybiker

got the bike online and assembly was simple, no gears and handbrakes to tweak. its a simple cruiser with coaster brakes and AWESOME tires. be careful though not to overinflate the tires, its perfect around 18psi. this bike definitely got people's attention while riding it. rode it on limestones and asphalt paved bike trails, and its perfect, but you definitely gotta have the strength to go uphill. it'll give you a good workout. definitely not for real off-roading and commuting coz bike is around 50 lbs. Just enjoy the cruise and excercise.

Was this review helpful? (136) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pinoybiker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 500 contributor
Not your Expensive Fat Bike
4/3/2013

Customer review by Thumpy69

4.0 stars 4/3/2013 by Thumpy69
by Thumpy69

If your looking for a Fat(Mountain)Bike this is not the bike for you. This bike is simply a one gear laid back FatBike cruiser. It will do All Terrain in most environments as long as your on flat terrain. Sand no problem, Packed Snow, Ok, 2-3 inches loose snow no problem, Climbs, deep loose snow, deep sand forget it, aint gonna happen, it doesn't have the proper frame angle or gearing to meet those requests. I bought it knowing exactly what it is, a Fat beach cruiser/bar hopper. So if you want a fun fatbike experience for cruising this is the bike for you. If you want mountain bike capabilities with fat tires be prepared to spend another grand or wait, I hear Mongoose will be releasing a geared fatty soon. :)

Was this review helpful? (105) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Thumpy69
Yorktown, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
FUN FOR $199!
4/3/2013

Customer review by lonestar71

4.0 stars 4/3/2013 by lonestar71
by lonestar71

This is a fun bike for $199. It should not be compared to the high end bike store quality bikes that sell for $700 up. Don't expect to do a lot of heavy off road riding on these. They are basically cruisers with big wheels and fat tires. The headsets on these come overtightened from the factory and it would be wise to pack all of the bearings with grease. I've had mine for a couple of weeks now and it's a blast to ride. It does take a bit of pedal power to get rolling, but it's not too bad. Just consider changing the rear sprocket from the stock 18T to a 22T. Wheel and tire set alone is worth the asking price.

Was this review helpful? (80) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lonestar71
DFW, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Fat & Fun
9/26/2013

Customer review by FatBikeNoob

5.0 stars 9/26/2013 by FatBikeNoob
by FatBikeNoob

This bike rocks for the money!! So much fun and many upgrade possibilities to make it even better. Check out my handlebar mods at: http://undergroundvelo.proboards.com/post/42443/thread Check out this Beast upgrade video of what owners are creating: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BcgId96hmjs

Was this review helpful? (93) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FatBikeNoob
Pittsburgh, PA U.S.A.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Different experience at a bargain price.
10/13/2013

Customer review by Doctormemory

5.0 stars 10/13/2013 by Doctormemory
by Doctormemory

My new Red Beast Cruiser is all that I expected. It's maneuverable and quick for it's 49 pounds. Don't inflate the tires to more than about 20 psi. Mine popped off the wheel at about 28 psi. These tires are obviously not high end and the lip of the wheel is small, but some compromises are necessary to keep the overall weight and expense down. I've only got about 20 miles on my bike right now but it is a fun ride and I'm looking forward to implementing some simple improvements that will make it even more of a pleasure. And by the way, as many people have said before, expect comments wherever you go. Within the first hour of riding a lakeside trail in the Catskills, four people either stopped me or cruised by with a curious comment about those big wheels.

Was this review helpful? (52) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Doctormemory
Upstate New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
hey, look at that bike!
5/15/2014

Customer review by BazzieBoy

5.0 stars 5/15/2014 by BazzieBoy
by BazzieBoy

you'll be hearing a lot of that when you own the beast. i got 2 comments before it was even fully assembled. The fat tires, single speed, and foot brakes are the features i needed. - simple and functional. i have conquered a variety of terrain effortlessly. The bike has performed flawlessly. Shipping was fast. Assembly was easy. Riding is FUN.

Was this review helpful? (33) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BazzieBoy
Royersford, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent "Fat Bike" for the price
4/9/2013

Customer review by eeyoreluvr

4.0 stars 4/9/2013 by eeyoreluvr
by eeyoreluvr

Although heavy, it puts you on a bike with oversize tires for an exceptionally good price. Lots of fun to ride and it get a lot of attention.

Was this review helpful? (31) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
eeyoreluvr
Topeka, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great affordable fat bike!
1/12/2014

Customer review by bronyguy

5.0 stars 1/12/2014 by bronyguy
by bronyguy

My first impressions is that the tires on this bike are much huge than what i thought it would be. Assembling the bike was pretty easy and fast. Riding this bike is very fun and provides much better traction in snow, sand and mud than a regular bike, but its pretty heavy and gives you a heck of a workout, but overall the mongoose beast is a great bike!

Was this review helpful? (29) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bronyguy
Anchorage, AK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Lots of fun, for not a lot of money!
4/18/2013

Customer review by BikeDoctor

4.0 stars 4/18/2013 by BikeDoctor
by BikeDoctor

Nice packaging and fast home delivery. Good shape on arrival. Putting together was easy, but there was very little grease on the hub bearings, crank bearings, and headset bearings, and all were over-tightened. Easily fixed during assembly. Ready to ride! Wow, these tires are monstrous! The bike is fairly heavy, but with the tires at 30 psi, and the nice solid center strip on the tires, the bike rides great on pavement! Well balanced and sure-footed! My neighborhood is hilly, so it is a workout, but what a blast to ride! Problem is, everyone wants to stop you and take a look. Rides in grass great! Now for a little trail ride... Rolling smooth on dirt trail at 30 psi tires, but ran over a few small sticks and one took a stab through the back tire and tube. Game over. Brought it home for a patch job. Yes, tire is heavy but the rubber is thin. Hopefully this was just a fluke. I'm looking forward to riding it tomorrow. Overall, great fun for the money, but I hope the tires can handle a little more challenging terrain and obstacles. Makes you feel like a kid again!!!

Was this review helpful? (28) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BikeDoctor
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
wife got me the "beast" for Christmas
1/9/2014

Customer review by CoastBeachRider

5.0 stars 1/9/2014 by CoastBeachRider
by CoastBeachRider

I am a senior and was concerned about just one speed, both wife and i were surprised how easy and nice this big bike is to peddle and ride. I am looking forward on next trip to coast to take the fat tire beast our on the beaches along damp wet sand sections. The wife got me a huge special order springed seat like the old days look, and i really like this bike, i have bad knees and wanted a no impact way to work my legs. Where we live it is the only one around and is fun because it gets the double takes from people. You want a well made fat tire bike at a fantastic price, order yours from Wal Mart

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CoastBeachRider
Lebanon Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
$200 worth of cool
4/18/2013

Customer review by Acustomizer

5.0 stars 4/18/2013 by Acustomizer
by Acustomizer

I can't ride this bike for further than a block without a thumbs up and smiles. Don't expect to climb Mount Everest, just take it easy and enjoy the fun of a 4.5 inch tire. Ape hangers add to the fun!

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Acustomizer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Funnest bike you can buy!
3/1/2014

Customer review by RealCamperfosho

5.0 stars 3/1/2014 by RealCamperfosho
by RealCamperfosho

With a few minor modifications this bike is a super fun one to ride. The rear gear is an 18 tooth and I had trouble pedaling it especially up hill. I bought a 22 tooth gear off of ebay and had a bike shop put it on along with a new chain and grease everything up. I just turned 30 but feel like I am 12 again when I ride this thing. I'm sure my neighbors think I'm a weirdo because I am always on it. Apparently there is a new fat bike coming out called the Mongoose Dolomite that has gears which will be a huge plus. It would be awesome if the frame was aluminum as well. Get one people!

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RealCamperfosho
Duncan, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I just love my Lil' Beast!
5/22/2013

Customer review by Heartwarrior

5.0 stars 5/22/2013 by Heartwarrior
by Heartwarrior

I bought the bike with full knowledge of all the shortcomings listed here in some other reviews, as well as on the web, but I am so glad that I took what I needed and left the rest. I have been riding bikes for over 45 years and the best part about any bike, regardless of how much it cost, is tweaking, customizing and personalizing it to be a reflection of yourself. This bike may be limited in many ways, but when it comes to fun factor there are no limits! I am so grateful that I bought this bike as a gift for my self! Ride smart, ride safe, and for goodness sake have some fun!

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Heartwarrior
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Careful! the beast is contagious
5/24/2013

Customer review by chuckem2

5.0 stars 5/24/2013 by chuckem2
by chuckem2

This is my second review. I orderd a green beast. My friend ordered red. My Grandson orderd a red one with his birthday money. My neighbors son wants one for his birthday. All from a short ride on mine! Order yours now and then search Mongoose beast on the web. You will find no end to swapping parts and ways to modify your Beast to your satisfaction! You will catch The Beast Bug!

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chuckem2
Springville, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fun bike
6/19/2014

Customer review by adniL12

5.0 stars 6/19/2014 by adniL12
by adniL12

We live out in the country, on gravel roads, this bike makes it so nice to ride on. We have even managed to do some cross countrying and it worked great. We will be buying another one soon, great bike!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
adniL12
Ritzville, WA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/28/2013

Customer review by beastly1

5.0 stars 4/28/2013 by beastly1
by beastly1

http://www.bikemag.com/news/news-fat-and-furious/ 'nough said!

Was this review helpful? (20) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
beastly1
Philly town
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fat bike for 200!! Best Burning Man bike ever
5/19/2013

Customer review by Glassbreaker1

5.0 stars 5/19/2013 by Glassbreaker1
by Glassbreaker1

Got it in blue. Arrived in 4 days. Took a few hours to put on lighter tubes (2.5-3" mtn bike), re greased and adjusted the hubs and crank. The original tubes weighed probably 2lbs each. saves tons of roatational mass by swapping em out. Added wider bars for my old cruiser and cup holder for my beer. Riding this thing around town is super smooth and everyone smiles and points as I pass by. You will get lots of attention on this bad boy! Can't wait to take this out to the Playa this year. No more fearing torn up dust sand traps. This will float over anything. My old cruiser had fairly big tires but would still get bogged down on bumpy busy streets and patches mid playa. Not this thing! Overall, I would compare it to riding a giant bmx bike that is easy and nimble to wheelie and jump too. The big tires feel almost like suspension but also don't stop rolling on bumps. So much fun to ride! Buy this

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Glassbreaker1
San Francisco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gets more attention then it probably deserves.
6/9/2013

Customer review by Bobbyjr1

4.0 stars 6/9/2013 by Bobbyjr1
by Bobbyjr1

The bike and the concept met my expectations, in as much as it is a single speed cruiser. Its the manufacture quality that came up short. The frame had dents under the paint that led me to think that they probably took a beating before painting. The all terrain part came up a little short in soft sand even with the tires at 7psi. The wheels and tires,are awesome. It's probably more bmx considering the stem takes a 7/8 center handlebar. The seat is a royal pain. But, if you like talking to people this thing is a real conversation starter. It's very easy to pedal, unless your in sand. You would think just the opposite once you see the tires. All things considered the bike is fun and that's the bottom line.

Was this review helpful? (16) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bobbyjr1
Bay City MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent All Terrain Bike, Ride Very Good.
12/5/2013

Customer review by Authorized

5.0 stars 12/5/2013 by Authorized
by Authorized

My Son Love This All Terrain Bike. Make Sure You Have The Tools To Put This Bike Together, Allen Wrench Metric, Socket Wrench or Box & Open end Wrench Metric.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Authorized
Eastern North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fun way to try a fat bike for not a lot of money.
11/2/2013

Customer review by Paulfrommn

4.0 stars 11/2/2013 by Paulfrommn
by Paulfrommn

I rated this bike based on the fact that it is a $200 cruiser. That being said, I'm glad I bought it and its fun to ride. I read previous reviews and blog sites about this bike....people love it or hate it. Many bike snobs will dismiss this bike, but its a $200 bike, not a $2,500 bike. If your expectations are of an inexpensive, fun way to try a fat bike, this is a great bike. It is easy put together, if you know how to do simple work on bicycles. If you're a complete novice, the instructions are generic for all Mongoose bikes, but you can probably figure it out just fine. The bike is heavy, as expected but very durable. It is slow, but you should expect that...its still very fun to ride, it goes over bumps and debris like its not even there. Like many previous owners, I switched out the 18T rear cog for a 22T, it makes the bike much more pleasurable to ride....its easy to do and the cog cost me $6 at my local bike shop. I also put on a different saddle and grips. I would think with so many people recommending a 22T cog, Mongoose should consider manufacturing it that way. Its an easy switch, but a novice cyclist it may seem difficult. I've never seen a Wal Mart bike with the kind of following this one has....its mostly why I bought one...I already have too many bikes, but I needed his one. Go to you tube or google images to see how owners are modifying this bike. Bottom line: This is an inexpensive Fat Bike. You cant go wrong. Its fun, people stare and ask you about the bike. Its fun to ride,isn't that more important than how much you spent or what kind of components you have? I'm looking forward to riding in the snow.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Paulfrommn
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 292 total reviews
1-20 of 292 reviews