Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 72 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

72 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

72 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

63%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
36
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
11
1 stars
16
1-20 of 64 total reviews
63%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 64 total reviews
1-20 of 64 reviews
Love it
10/27/2011

Customer review by acesan8s

4.0 stars 10/27/2011 by acesan8s
by acesan8s

This is my first serger. I admit, I was VERY intimidated by all the complicated looking "thingys" when I first opened the box. I am still learning the basics, but so far I am doing pretty well considering my sewing skills are also fairly new. It has opened up an entirely new world of possibilities in my sewing. It is a little noisy. I think I can handle that. The instruction manual should have been written in another language for as much as it helped me, the dvd was my saving grace. Getting the tension right is still a struggle but I just replay the dvd. (yes, I am a newbie at sewing) Over all I absolutely love it and would recommend it to anyone, even newbies like me.

acesan8s
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
finishing touch serger
10/23/2011

Customer review by terriblescapn

4.0 stars 10/23/2011 by terriblescapn
by terriblescapn

For my daughter who is taking a garment construction class, this was a necessity. Threading it is a real bear but once you get it going it serves its purpose. Out of the month we have had it she has had to re-thread it twice and has used it on over 30 pieces so we are pleased with the purchased overall. Also, dvd was not complete with as many details as the manual on how to use and set up. We could not have used the machine without using the manual-the dvd got us lost.

terriblescapn
lv,nv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great machine
6/29/2011

Customer review by Alex

5.0 stars 6/29/2011 by Alex
by Alex

I first had problems but the handbook isn't very clear. The machine is great and once I went to a class to learn my serger, it's a snap. I will recommend this to friends and also they need to take classes with the serger. It's a great price, great quality, and my stitches come out beautifully. I knew there was a reason I always buy Singer machines:)

Alex
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Choice
8/27/2011

Customer review by Izzie

5.0 stars 8/27/2011 by Izzie
by Izzie

Recently bought this one as my first serger, now I don't know how I have gotten by with out it. I have used an industrial serger, so it wasn't unfamiliar to me. The CD is a great tool to keep handy for reference. I followed the instructions to adjust the tension of each thread and I am very happy with my purcahse....Thanks again Singer..

Izzie
Alberta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice update to my old machine
9/18/2011

Customer review by cynthia

4.0 stars 9/18/2011 by cynthia
by cynthia

I have only had my machine a couple of weeks but I'm enjoying it. The only dissappointment is the DVD. There is no audio and the folder marked audio on the DVD is empty. Other then the DVD I have always had great results with the Singer brand.

cynthia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Features, High Quality!
11/2/2010

Customer review by AngelBlonde

5.0 stars 11/2/2010 by AngelBlonde
by AngelBlonde

This Maching works GREAT! And, its easy to use. I've had it for a year now! It does what its suppose to do! Threading is easy! Love it!

AngelBlonde
Granger, IN.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Unhappy
4/4/2011

Customer review by Elaine

2.0 stars 4/4/2011 by Elaine
by Elaine

Singer Surgers directions are not easy to follow. I followed the book and CD and still cant get it to serge right.

Elaine
Arlington, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good Machine
4/20/2011

Customer review by Jim8019

4.0 stars 4/20/2011 by Jim8019
by Jim8019

Works great, If I had to, I would purchase this Machine again, Loved the DVD!, very informative.

Jim8019
Bellflower, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Finishing Touch
9/27/2011

Customer review by Boss

3.0 stars 9/27/2011 by Boss
by Boss

Sews great, but very noisy. Is this normal or can something be done to correct it.

Boss
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? No
I love this machine!
10/19/2016

Customer review by iflip4sflip

5.0 stars 10/19/2016 by iflip4sflip
by iflip4sflip

I really enjoy this machine! It works wonderful on knits and stretchy fabrics. Great for gathering as well as straight sewing. At first the tensions were a little tricky to figure out but once I got them figured out it has been smooth sailing! Easy to thread and change threads. I enjoy being able to sew clothes, pillows, curtains, and so much for with this machine. It is very versatile and helps me get my projects done so much faster than a single needle machine. No more seam pressing or gauging!! Make sure to oil the inside mechanism after every use. Blow out lint and fuzz too, it builds up quickly with the cutter.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iflip4sflip
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
SINGER AIN'T WHAT SHE USED TO BE!
8/21/2012

Customer review by VivienneK

1.0 stars 8/21/2012 by VivienneK
by VivienneK

I purchased this model of serger because I've always trusted SINGER. My current sewing machine is a Singer and has held up over the years. The 1st Singer I used was a "Feather Weight", it had been passed down from my Grandmother, Mother, Me and on to my 40 year old daughter. If I had the "Feather Weight" back I would not have needed this serger. I just wanted a small, light, portable machine to use while confined to a wheel chair for a few months. I'm returning my Singer Model 14SH654 TODAY. Threading this machine was fairly easy, what isn't easy is setting the tension. I exhausted all resources on tension setting today with no success. I used the manual that was provided, watched the silent DVD, asked for help from a neighbor, followed customer support process, and finally called a local sewing machine repair service who agreed to adjust the tension for me at their hourly rate. READ READ READ any and all reviews, especially social media sites. I'm going to a local sewing machine retailer and test my next purchase AFTER I read the reviews.

Was this review helpful? (20) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VivienneK
Elizabethton, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great Addition to My Craft Room
2/22/2017

Customer review by CFarmer63

5.0 stars 2/22/2017 by CFarmer63
by CFarmer63
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The machine came threaded and I was able to use right out of the box. When it came time to change the thread, I had some minor issues quickly resolved by finding a video on the internet. The handbook that came with the serger doesn't have color photos and was pretty much useless for learning how to thread the machine. However, after I got the hang of it, it is pretty easy. I wish it had come with more presser feet but for the price, this little gem can't be beat. I have been using Singer sewing machines for 45 years and this is only the third one I've bought. I am hopeful this will be as durable as my other machines. I'm glad I bought this.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CFarmer63
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Please consider the Brother 1034D!!!!
12/16/2007

Customer review by PrismaticEcho

1.0 stars 12/16/2007 by PrismaticEcho
by PrismaticEcho

I bought this serger from a store inside Joann's. When I got it home, it would not serge properly. I tried every tension setting possible, with no luck. After about 30 minutes of this, the LED light went out. These lights are clearly not meant to go out, as they are not changeable without taking them into a repair place!!! After deciding that it MUST be defective, I returned it to Joann's for an exchange. . . The second one serged PERFECTLY, right out of the box! That is, until about 30 minutes into serging when the LED light went out on that machine as well!!! I was fed up! So I looked for reviews online and saw horrible things written on Amazon, Walmart, etc. These machines are NOT reliable! So, I returned the second machine for a refund and I plan on buying the Brother 1034D. I've found nothing but good things said about it and it's only $30-40 more expensive.

Was this review helpful? (57) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PrismaticEcho
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
The BEST Value and a GREAT Product!!
11/13/2007

Customer review by TwoSidedImaginations

5.0 stars 11/13/2007 by TwoSidedImaginations
by TwoSidedImaginations

Before I bought a serger I went on a review hunt as you should do with any big purchase. But most reviews only tell you if the person that purchased the product had a problem with it. This is not such a review! I received it in record time, great packaging, and a clean design. It took me about 15 minutes to learn how to thread it with the manual, which by the way is so easy to read and understand. Step by step instructions through the whole line of features the machine has at your fingertips, setting suggestions for fabrics and so much more. And for the price the features are great, especially the rolled hem! Now for the machine its self. This is my first experience with a serger. I was expecting something heavier which it was a good thing that it was not. I am not sure what justifies as a business grade serger, but I have a small business which is why I bought this and it has been wonderful to me. I needed something portable if it had to be and durable which it has been. And the price! I have researched dozens of sergers and nothing compares to this. Another store had the same one for $300, but I chose to save a few bucks and have it delivered. And its my advice that you should to.

Was this review helpful? (214) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TwoSidedImaginations
Villa Rica, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Don't waste your money!
10/25/2010

Customer review by SewingGoddess

2.0 stars 10/25/2010 by SewingGoddess
by SewingGoddess

I was excited to find a serger at such a reasonable price and since it was Singer brand I thought it would be decent quality. I knew at this price I wasn't getting a top model serger, but I thought it would be a good beginning one. Wrong! The tension on this machine was inconsistent from the day I brought it home. I tried working with it for a couple of weeks, thinking that maybe it was just my lack of serger knowledge. Finally I took it back and exchanged it for a new one. After dealing with that one for a couple of weeks, I had a co-worker (who used to be a seamstress) look at it. She couldn't figure it out either. I decided to give up on this machine all together. Unfortunately I couldn't find the receipt at that point. So now I'm stuck with it. Personally I wouldn't waste my time going the "big box" route again for something like this. I found a local sewing machine dealer and got a great tuned-up/refurbished model at a great price(about $200). They also gave me a 1-year warranty. It works like a charm. I use it all the time and haven't had any problems since I bought it 5 months ago.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SewingGoddess
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worth every penny!
9/29/2007

Customer review by Texkiwi

5.0 stars 9/29/2007 by Texkiwi
by Texkiwi

Never used a overlock/serger before and have been very surprised at how easy it was to begin sewing with and to learn. OK I cheated a long time ago and bought a couple of books hoping one day I'd own a serger! So far, have sewn many clothes for myself, made long shorts out of old jeans etc, tied up raggedy edged towels etc, made halloween, Christmas and decorating items etc. PLEASE remember that this is a home overlocker NOT a commercial model so it may well jam on thick pieces such as several folds of heavier material. You will quickly learn about this. It is NOT a machine problem. Recommend you download and print the threading instructions from Singer's site which I thought are better than in the instruction book.

Was this review helpful? (119) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Texkiwi
South Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
It's worth every single cent !!
3/14/2011

Customer review by gittiwawa

5.0 stars 3/14/2011 by gittiwawa
by gittiwawa

I just bought this singer serger and i am pleased!! The machine does a great job, is easy to handle and the price is right! To the people who have problems with it: This is a household machine and you can't expect it to be like an industrial. And for God's sake DO NOT pull the fabric while sewing, let it slide through that way you don't break any needles! The machine comes already threaded, so if you need to change colours, just cut off the spools, put on the colour of your choice and knot the thread, then you just pull the thread through and voila!! When you have 4 layers of fabric slow down a little that way it won't jam. Enjoy !

Was this review helpful? (42) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gittiwawa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Dissapointed
7/13/2007

Customer review by Bethysews

1.0 stars 7/13/2007 by Bethysews
by Bethysews

Although this is a budget model, I expected a basic but reliable Singer product. This is not the case. The machine is lightweight and "tinny" it jams easily when going over seams. Jams frequently when starting off. The machine's tension is constantly shifting making it impossible to complete a project without rethreading or adjusting the tensions. I have changed needles, oiled, bought the best thread and used every tension scenario but as soon as I correct one tension another goes out of sync. I even brought the Singer "Sewing with Serger" manual to try to fine tune the unit with no success. Please don't waste your money, wait and save up for a better quality serger.

Was this review helpful? (110) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bethysews
Arlington
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Singer Serger
2/5/2017

Customer review by Sandy

5.0 stars 2/5/2017 by Sandy
by Sandy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I would recommend this machine to anyone. Walmart is the best place to order from. I had my machine in three days , delivered to my home. What a life saver . Thank you Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sandy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Junk
1/24/2008

Customer review by Liberrian

1.0 stars 1/24/2008 by Liberrian
by Liberrian

This machine is poorly engineered and next to impossible to thread. The instructions are awful to follow, interspersed with too many other languages. I bought it for my mother as she is downsizing and needed to get rid of her factory serger. She loved the portability of it, but it broke the right needle thread so many times, we finally left it unthreaded. Its now a three thread. I own a Singer 14U64A serger, which I've had for 23 years. I also own 16 other various sewing machines from treadles to a factory hemmer. I'm sorry to say, this machine is a huge disappointment.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Liberrian
Amherst, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 64 total reviews
1-20 of 64 reviews