Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 63 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

63 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

63 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
29
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
10
1 stars
15
1-20 of 55 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 55 total reviews
1-20 of 55 reviews
The BEST Value and a GREAT Product!!
11/13/2007

Customer review by TwoSidedImaginations

5.0 stars 11/13/2007 by TwoSidedImaginations
by TwoSidedImaginations

Before I bought a serger I went on a review hunt as you should do with any big purchase. But most reviews only tell you if the person that purchased the product had a problem with it. This is not such a review! I received it in record time, great packaging, and a clean design. It took me about 15 minutes to learn how to thread it with the manual, which by the way is so easy to read and understand. Step by step instructions through the whole line of features the machine has at your fingertips, setting suggestions for fabrics and so much more. And for the price the features are great, especially the rolled hem! Now for the machine its self. This is my first experience with a serger. I was expecting something heavier which it was a good thing that it was not. I am not sure what justifies as a business grade serger, but I have a small business which is why I bought this and it has been wonderful to me. I needed something portable if it had to be and durable which it has been. And the price! I have researched dozens of sergers and nothing compares to this. Another store had the same one for $300, but I chose to save a few bucks and have it delivered. And its my advice that you should to.

Was this review helpful? (176) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TwoSidedImaginations
Villa Rica, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Worth every penny!
9/29/2007

Customer review by Texkiwi

5.0 stars 9/29/2007 by Texkiwi
by Texkiwi

Never used a overlock/serger before and have been very surprised at how easy it was to begin sewing with and to learn. OK I cheated a long time ago and bought a couple of books hoping one day I'd own a serger! So far, have sewn many clothes for myself, made long shorts out of old jeans etc, tied up raggedy edged towels etc, made halloween, Christmas and decorating items etc. PLEASE remember that this is a home overlocker NOT a commercial model so it may well jam on thick pieces such as several folds of heavier material. You will quickly learn about this. It is NOT a machine problem. Recommend you download and print the threading instructions from Singer's site which I thought are better than in the instruction book.

Was this review helpful? (107) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Texkiwi
South Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very Dissapointed
7/13/2007

Customer review by Bethysews

1.0 stars 7/13/2007 by Bethysews
by Bethysews

Although this is a budget model, I expected a basic but reliable Singer product. This is not the case. The machine is lightweight and "tinny" it jams easily when going over seams. Jams frequently when starting off. The machine's tension is constantly shifting making it impossible to complete a project without rethreading or adjusting the tensions. I have changed needles, oiled, bought the best thread and used every tension scenario but as soon as I correct one tension another goes out of sync. I even brought the Singer "Sewing with Serger" manual to try to fine tune the unit with no success. Please don't waste your money, wait and save up for a better quality serger.

Was this review helpful? (100) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bethysews
Arlington
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Please consider the Brother 1034D!!!!
12/16/2007

Customer review by PrismaticEcho

1.0 stars 12/16/2007 by PrismaticEcho
by PrismaticEcho

I bought this serger from a store inside Joann's. When I got it home, it would not serge properly. I tried every tension setting possible, with no luck. After about 30 minutes of this, the LED light went out. These lights are clearly not meant to go out, as they are not changeable without taking them into a repair place!!! After deciding that it MUST be defective, I returned it to Joann's for an exchange. . . The second one serged PERFECTLY, right out of the box! That is, until about 30 minutes into serging when the LED light went out on that machine as well!!! I was fed up! So I looked for reviews online and saw horrible things written on Amazon, Walmart, etc. These machines are NOT reliable! So, I returned the second machine for a refund and I plan on buying the Brother 1034D. I've found nothing but good things said about it and it's only $30-40 more expensive.

Was this review helpful? (41) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PrismaticEcho
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
It's worth every single cent !!
3/14/2011

Customer review by gittiwawa

5.0 stars 3/14/2011 by gittiwawa
by gittiwawa

I just bought this singer serger and i am pleased!! The machine does a great job, is easy to handle and the price is right! To the people who have problems with it: This is a household machine and you can't expect it to be like an industrial. And for God's sake DO NOT pull the fabric while sewing, let it slide through that way you don't break any needles! The machine comes already threaded, so if you need to change colours, just cut off the spools, put on the colour of your choice and knot the thread, then you just pull the thread through and voila!! When you have 4 layers of fabric slow down a little that way it won't jam. Enjoy !

Was this review helpful? (32) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gittiwawa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Simply Awsome!
3/22/2011

Customer review by istickem74

5.0 stars 3/22/2011 by istickem74
by istickem74

I read a lot of the reviews on here and I bought the machine anyway! It is just a dream! It is so worth the money! I had no problem what so ever threading the machine did it with out reading the directions, everything is color coded. Oh and I am basically a beginner! So two thumbs up!!!

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
istickem74
Marysville, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful
7/5/2007

Customer review by MissNina

5.0 stars 7/5/2007 by MissNina
by MissNina

I love my serger not only does it work great it's small and easy to store.

Was this review helpful? (43) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MissNina
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Junk
1/24/2008

Customer review by Liberrian

1.0 stars 1/24/2008 by Liberrian
by Liberrian

This machine is poorly engineered and next to impossible to thread. The instructions are awful to follow, interspersed with too many other languages. I bought it for my mother as she is downsizing and needed to get rid of her factory serger. She loved the portability of it, but it broke the right needle thread so many times, we finally left it unthreaded. Its now a three thread. I own a Singer 14U64A serger, which I've had for 23 years. I also own 16 other various sewing machines from treadles to a factory hemmer. I'm sorry to say, this machine is a huge disappointment.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Liberrian
Amherst, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great product
8/25/2007

Customer review by NeedleNut

5.0 stars 8/25/2007 by NeedleNut
by NeedleNut

I bought this serger a few months ago and have been using it nonstop. I have not had any problems with it. It is a great product, very easy to use. My sugestion is study very carefully how to thread this machine. Once its threaded right, it stitches great. I would recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NeedleNut
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't waste your money!
10/25/2010

Customer review by SewingGoddess

2.0 stars 10/25/2010 by SewingGoddess
by SewingGoddess

I was excited to find a serger at such a reasonable price and since it was Singer brand I thought it would be decent quality. I knew at this price I wasn't getting a top model serger, but I thought it would be a good beginning one. Wrong! The tension on this machine was inconsistent from the day I brought it home. I tried working with it for a couple of weeks, thinking that maybe it was just my lack of serger knowledge. Finally I took it back and exchanged it for a new one. After dealing with that one for a couple of weeks, I had a co-worker (who used to be a seamstress) look at it. She couldn't figure it out either. I decided to give up on this machine all together. Unfortunately I couldn't find the receipt at that point. So now I'm stuck with it. Personally I wouldn't waste my time going the "big box" route again for something like this. I found a local sewing machine dealer and got a great tuned-up/refurbished model at a great price(about $200). They also gave me a 1-year warranty. It works like a charm. I use it all the time and haven't had any problems since I bought it 5 months ago.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SewingGoddess
Would recommend to a friend? No
Get What You Pay For
1/19/2011

Customer review by giftdist

1.0 stars 1/19/2011 by giftdist
by giftdist

This serger is the worse I have ever owned It sewed 2 pieces of material before it started messing up. I owned another brand for years and gave it away when I received this one for Christmas. There is no tech support available. Singer is only opened from 8-4 and there arre not any local techs to repair this machine in Arkansas. I would not suggest you purchase this serger. Singer did not step up and provide the type of product I am use to. Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
giftdist
Cabot, Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
A nightmare of a machine
3/16/2011

Customer review by KEHCsews

1.0 stars 3/16/2011 by KEHCsews
by KEHCsews

I have had nothing but problems with this serger. It shreds, tangles, jams, skips stitches, and just will not do what it promises. I had it serviced (cost me $120 to fix the darn thing) and within a month it is back to shredding and tangling. Please don't buy this machine. You will be sorry if you do.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KEHCsews
Would recommend to a friend? No
Poor quality
5/23/2012

Customer review by cleanqueen

1.0 stars 5/23/2012 by cleanqueen
by cleanqueen

I've been sewing for years and had a Singer serger back in the mid 80's when Singer's quality was still good. It finally bit the dust so I thought since I had such good luck with my old Singer that I would buy another one. Big mistake! I am very knowledgeable with working with sergers and coverstitch machines and I could never get this thing to serge. I got rid of it and bought a Juki and I have no problems whatsoever. Stay away from a Singer serger! Spend a little more money and get a good one especially if you sew alot like I do.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cleanqueen
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
SINGER AIN'T WHAT SHE USED TO BE!
8/21/2012

Customer review by VivienneK

1.0 stars 8/21/2012 by VivienneK
by VivienneK

I purchased this model of serger because I've always trusted SINGER. My current sewing machine is a Singer and has held up over the years. The 1st Singer I used was a "Feather Weight", it had been passed down from my Grandmother, Mother, Me and on to my 40 year old daughter. If I had the "Feather Weight" back I would not have needed this serger. I just wanted a small, light, portable machine to use while confined to a wheel chair for a few months. I'm returning my Singer Model 14SH654 TODAY. Threading this machine was fairly easy, what isn't easy is setting the tension. I exhausted all resources on tension setting today with no success. I used the manual that was provided, watched the silent DVD, asked for help from a neighbor, followed customer support process, and finally called a local sewing machine repair service who agreed to adjust the tension for me at their hourly rate. READ READ READ any and all reviews, especially social media sites. I'm going to a local sewing machine retailer and test my next purchase AFTER I read the reviews.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VivienneK
Elizabethton, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Suitable for the Home Sewer
3/23/2012

Customer review by LarVern

4.0 stars 3/23/2012 by LarVern
by LarVern

I have used a small serger for some years but it does not trim and is very slow. Wished that I had purchased this one a while ago. It is quite suitable for the home sewer and is fairly easy to use - simply follow the coded threading diagram and you will have no problems; it is not too slow and can accommodate fairly heavy materials. The Serger is not too heavy so if you do not have a permanent spot for it then it can be placed in storage after use. Also, you do not necessarily have to buy the more expensive cone thread as the small spools can fit just as well. You should just be careful that the threads do not get tangled in the poles when moving them for storage etc.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LarVern
Dominica, West Indies
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
11/4/2011

Customer review by 8lovesewing

5.0 stars 11/4/2011 by 8lovesewing
by 8lovesewing

Very easy to use. Easy to thread, very good DVD included. Love it!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
8lovesewing
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Cant figure it out
3/12/2008

Customer review by sewingmominfl

1.0 stars 3/12/2008 by sewingmominfl
by sewingmominfl

I was sooo excited when my husband came home with this for me... I have now had it a year and STILL have yet to get the tension right and the thread always breaks or get tangled into the machine.... I havent used it in over 8 months!! Im very disappointed... I wanted a serger soo badly!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sewingmominfl
winter haven fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
12/26/2011

Customer review by sugar4u49

5.0 stars 12/26/2011 by sugar4u49
by sugar4u49

I love the product but would have been happier if accessories would have come with it. If you could check into that it would be nice..

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sugar4u49
Waldron, Arkanses
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great serger for the price
9/20/2011

Customer review by zazzu

5.0 stars 9/20/2011 by zazzu
by zazzu

I love this machine. I have a small home based business and this was much more affordable than a professional machine. It worked right out of the box. I re-threaded it several times (just to learn how to do it) changed thread colors, used it as 3 or 4 thread and I've used all the decorative hem features. After reading through the written instructions several times it became clear just how easy it is to thread and use this machine.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zazzu
Sunny Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Amazing Serger
8/1/2011

Customer review by lilpippy

5.0 stars 8/1/2011 by lilpippy
by lilpippy

I was skeptical when I bought this but is more than exceeded my expectations! The machine worked great right out of the box and has been great through all my sewing projects!! Highly recommended!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lilpippy
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 55 total reviews
1-20 of 55 reviews