Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 328 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

328 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

328 reviews | 4 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
160
4 stars
88
3 stars
26
2 stars
15
1 stars
39
1-20 of 283 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 283 total reviews
1-20 of 283 reviews
3/2/2013

Customer review by Anonymous62

5.0 stars 3/2/2013 by Anonymous62
by Anonymous62

I use this phone on the Walmart family mobile plan which uses the T-Mobile network. I have had no problems connecting to the network. I was pleasantly surprised that I can use it on the 4G networks where available. Have used it on my home wi-fi without problems. I have not yet tried to tether it or use it as a mobile hot spot, but don't see why I would have problems with that if needed. Also, I have not yet used the camera, so I cannot comment on the picture quality. This phone does use and come with a micro sim card. Since I have been on the Walmart family mobile plan for some time, my sim card was the older, larger size. I simply used the T-Mobile sim card that came with the phone as a template and cut my original sim card down to size. It works great. However, if you are not comfortable doing this, Walmart does now carry the micro sim cards for the family mobile plan and you can buy a new activation kit for $25 and have the information from your old card transferred to the new micro sim card.

Was this review helpful? (149) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Anonymous62
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Buy!
10/27/2013

Customer review by Charliecacti

5.0 stars 10/27/2013 by Charliecacti
by Charliecacti
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

So I purchased this phone to avoid monthly payments and or contracts on my phone bill. For $178.99 on walmart.com I don't see how you could do any better. The phone works great. Doesn't seem to be prone to freezing with my apps installed like the G2X or the My Touch 4G Slide I had. I think that is mostly related to Ram. G2X had 500 mb Ram and the Slide had 756 mb Ram, this phone has a whole GB. Each one performed better than the one before it with this one doing the best. My wife has the GS4 which is noticeably faster than this one, but I really am not in such a hurry that a millisecond of added loading time for apps bothers me. The screen is great. Not as high res as the GS4, but sometimes at night when one of our phones receives a notification I can't tell if it is the GS4 or the L9 until I pick it up. Again for $178 that really impresses me. Only had it for about a month so if I notice any big changes in my view of the phone I will try to revisit this review.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Charliecacti
Summerfield, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good value for the price! Good birthday present
10/19/2013

Customer review by purveyor1

5.0 stars 10/19/2013 by purveyor1
by purveyor1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The phone has many of the smart phone functions and camera my kid wanted. Camera isn't as clear as I would like but still better than the old phone we had from 2 years ago. This battery life is AMAZING, literally 4 days without charging! You absolutely should buy a case the minute you get the phone as it is large and thin, with good clear screen display. The other plus on this phone is that the SARS rating is lower to the head than other competitors but still high on the body. The phone probably can't be put in your back pocket anyway since it is large and would probably break, so that takes care of that! It is a reasonable price until the next wave of technology has us all buying new phones! My kid is in a somewhat rural area and per the service map you are supposed to get "good" reception there, but they are getting much better reception that the old carrier and we can hear them very well. So the call quality and speech is very good on this phone.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
purveyor1
Denver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LG L9 Great low-cost phone. Better than iPhone 4
3/13/2013

Customer review by yus9

5.0 stars 3/13/2013 by yus9
by yus9

This LG Optimus L9 is certainly not the best phone being offered as of 3/12/2013. Its dual-core, for example, not quad-core. But it is SO good considering its moderate cost at $200 without contract. The L9 won't impress folks cruising Santana Row in San Jose. But its responsiveness and its big display will make almost everybody happy. I purchased an LG L9 from T-Mobile three months ago. My wife likes it better than her iPhone 4. So we just ordered another L9 here at Walmart.com. T-mobile will help you unlock it after 90 days of service, so that you can use it outside the USA by inserting a simm card purchased in most European and Asian countries. Later on, you can change your L9 over to PremiumTel, with or without unlocking it. (seems like pTel has an agreement to use T-Mobile's network) pTel offers reduced unlimited-service rates. Perfect for older folks, like me.

Was this review helpful? (45) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yus9
Pebble Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
For the price, Not Bad
2/11/2013

Customer review by dennrick

5.0 stars 2/11/2013 by dennrick
by dennrick

Has a nice 4.5 screen. Dual core processor. Latest Android 4.1. Camera not too bad with HD video. The included software is a good bonus. I like the camera photo editing app built in. The phone is responsive, surprisingly light (feels good to grasp in one palm, wow), and notable processing speed. Previous to this, I used the EVO 4G LTE (and in my opinion, I think that is the best Android smartphone out along with Samsung Galaxy series), but I wanted a non-contract cellphone and the LG Optimus L9 did not at all feel like a downgrade whatsoever, in features and service. The LG Optimus L9 smartphone is the best for the price and features in the pre-paid/non-contract (for T-Mobile). I would say even better than the others in the same size/feature categories for the price in any of the cellphone services in my area. The other non-contract cellphone services all generally use Sprint towers, and they do not have great signals. I consistently get 4G with this phone in my region from T-Mobile. You can get UNLIMITED plans from $30 to $60. I would highly recommend this phone. I am not at all affiliated with LG, Walmart, or T-Mobile.

Was this review helpful? (431) (48)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dennrick
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great all around phone!
3/13/2013

Customer review by JMfilms

4.0 stars 3/13/2013 by JMfilms
by JMfilms

I purchased this phone for my 16yr old daughter. My daughter along with my wife and I are on prepaid phones from Virgin. My daughter wanted to upgrade to a 4g phone but no longer wanted Virgin. So I purchased her this Lg and after 2 weeks of use, she says she loves it! Her old phone was a Motorola Triumph. My daughter has stated that the phone is very fast compared to the Triumph. She claims 4g speeds are awesome! She isn't too interested in taking photos or video but I'm sure the phone does a good job of that too. She has yet to complain about battery life but I'm sure battery life is like all smart phones, must be charged every day. $199 is a good price but I would like to get my wife one if they ever go on sale. My daughter and I agree, this LG phone is a great all around phone and coupled with a $30 unlimited text and web plan, it's even better. We recommend.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JMfilms
Bakersfield, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LG Powerful & Budget Friendly Smartphone...
4/1/2013

Customer review by BeachXXXcomber

5.0 stars 4/1/2013 by BeachXXXcomber
by BeachXXXcomber

I’ve had the LG Optimus L9 P769 T-Mobile Prepaid Device a month now, and it’s AWESOME!!! This is my 6th smartphone, and the best; I like using the Internet; while my other smartphones could access it, using my PC was my primary choice. My last smartphone was a BlackBerry Peril Flip which was excellent on T-Mobiles Pay as you Go Plan and I accessed the Internet via WiFi. I used it to access email, but web browsing was more annoying than productive. Now my primary internet access is via LG Optimus L9 P769; the handheld unit is that good… The camera, music, video & apps are excellent! I don’t have a budget that allows me to have the latest/greatest of all technology, so when I was able to upgrade my smartphone to an Android 4.0 Touchscreen, the LG Optimus L9 P769 was an outstanding financial choice!

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BeachXXXcomber
Long Beach, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome
5/30/2013

Customer review by AGLKY

5.0 stars 5/30/2013 by AGLKY
by AGLKY

I've been using a feature phone for a few months since I switched to prepaid. When I decided to return to the smartphone world, I picked the LG Optimus L9. I was surprised at how sleek and well-designed this device is for the price. The screen is bright and beautiful, the Gorilla Glass feels rock solid, and the grippy back feels great in the hand. I popped in a MicroSD card and was up and running in a few minutes. This phone really screams. Games run great and I've seen no stuttering whatsoever. The only downside I've found is the lack of cases and other accessories. I managed to find a case on another online retailer, but the lack of choice for prepaid smartphones is a challenge that should be addressed. All in all, I really love this phone!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AGLKY
Georgetown, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great phone
2/16/2013

Customer review by robinblueyes7

5.0 stars 2/16/2013 by robinblueyes7
by robinblueyes7

in my opinion this is a great smart phone for 199.99 w/o a contract you cant beat it. vs samsung and iphone at 650.00 w/o a contract. This phone does everything I needed, great apps too! nice and light and easy to hold with a very nice sized screen.Unlike the other reviewer...I have never had a problem using this phone in any building and I love the T-mobile unlmted text talk n data for 50 .00...( I used to pay 3 xs that amount with another carrier) I would not hesitate to recommend this phone to anyone who wants a smart phone that does the job for a reasonable price!

Was this review helpful? (187) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
robinblueyes7
Niagara Falls ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value, sweet phone
3/28/2013

Customer review by Frugalhowie

5.0 stars 3/28/2013 by Frugalhowie
by Frugalhowie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

A phone under $200 that does everything...at least for me. I use my smartphone for occasional surfing, like during my commute, or when I'm in the can. I do not download everything under the sun, so 1.8GB of apps storage is sufficient for me. I can read my news, email, whatsapp, listen to Pandora, check soccer scores and update my Facebook, all very comfortably on the 4.5" screen. I have downloaded all the apps I need, and I still have 1gb left. My 16gb microsd card from the old phone stores my media files from the camera and music downloads, so frankly speaking, this phone is PERFECT! Last but not least, kudos to Walmart for the Fedex-kinko site-to-store pickup option. I am never home to sign for packages during business hours and there are FedEx stores all over NYC, open till late.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Frugalhowie
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Mid-Range Prepaid Phone for the Money
2/21/2013

Customer review by DaCoolness

5.0 stars 2/21/2013 by DaCoolness
by DaCoolness
Walmart associate

Very happy with this smart phone! This is a great prepaid phone for the money! I'm actually using it with Family Mobile, and it works great! Some of the freatures though, like wifi calling and tethering, don't work with the Family Mobile. But my sister also got this phone and goes through T-Mobile, and all the features work well from what she told me. For $200 you get a great set of features and hardware specs, which make this a snappy little device. Also, its light, yet feels solid for its size and thinness. This device comes together to make a very attractive and appealing smart phone. Highly recomended.

Was this review helpful? (42) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DaCoolness
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Serious Value + Performance for No-contract Phone
4/29/2013

Customer review by AlgonquinDan

5.0 stars 4/29/2013 by AlgonquinDan
by AlgonquinDan

Excellent upgrade phone if you are currently on an Android 2.x or an iPhone 3 or earlier. The reviews about not allowing apps on an SD card are a knock on Android ICS, not this phone. It's only a negative for people who install scores of apps. If you only user 20-30 apps on a regular basis (in addition to those already on the phone) you will be fine. I bought 2 of these phones (myself and wifey). This phone now allows Android Jelly Bean (the latest version of android), which is a nice upgrade to ICS. Throw a 64GB micro-sd card in this phone and you can store an amazing amount of music, photos and videos. I looked at the amazing Nexus 4 for 349 bones, but it doesn't have an sd expansion option, and only 8GB or 16GB total (newer version is supposed to have 32GB, likely for 399). For now, I'll take the L9 and a 64GB sd card for 249 sheckels all day. Screen size is just right at 4.5". Gorilla Glass 2 is outstanding. The 2 cameras are decent, not elite and not terrible. Fine for videoconferencing. Adequate for casual photos/video. Sound is more than adequate (use earbuds for best sound with music/videos/games). Battery is at least average for a dual-processor unit. Plenty of accessories available for this phone. Some great cases out there. Lots of choices. Extra batteries are inexpensive, under 10 bones. Walmart also offers a replacement/repair plan for any kind of damage for 19-bucks for 2 years of insurance. Unbelievable deal! The T-mobile family plan is only 100/month for 4 lines with unlimited talk, text and 500MB data at 4G. Wow!

Was this review helpful? (93) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AlgonquinDan
Chicago Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Calls and watching videos, thats about it.
2/3/2015

Customer review by imyourhuckleberry

1.0 stars 2/3/2015 by imyourhuckleberry
by imyourhuckleberry

I've has this phone for nearly 3 years and it's one of the worst phones I've had. A big part of that is the bloatware attached to it and unless rooted, cannot be deleted in any such way! Which drives me angry because when you have to upgrade the bloatware apps to have the phone function properly, it takes away so much of the internal memory on board which leaves you little room for apps you really want. Try to switch the apps over to your sd card? Forget about it! Like I said, it needs to be rooted for you to have that function. As the title says, this phone is for calls and watching videos. These are the only two functions that still work and I've had no problems with them. But if you add too much apps to this phone, start seeing a lot of slowing downs, unresponsive taps, it can drive a person crazy. I've hard reset this phone a dozen times already. 3 personal apps is probably the most you can download before it starts to slow down and come unresponsive. Bloatware killed this phone!

imyourhuckleberry
Orange County, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't buy it! You have to pay for repair shipping!
10/3/2013

Customer review by zh8458

1.0 stars 10/3/2013 by zh8458
by zh8458

I got this phone at Bestbuy in March, 2013. In July, it cannot be connected to wifi. I called LG, the representative kept saying that it's my router's problem. But it could not be connect to wifi anywhere. After a lot of phone calls, they finally understood it's the problem of the phone. Guess what? You have to pay and ship the phone yourself. This is a cheap phone, so I could live with that. So I sent the phone to them. After about 2 weeks, got it back. And it is not fixed at all!!!! I called LG again. They agreed to pay for the second time shipping fee. After another 2 weeks, I got it back. It was fixed. This is already August, 2013. But it did not last, In September, it could not be charged. I googled online. I thought that it must be the battery. I bought a new battery. It was shipped from China. So it took a long time. Got the new battery, put it in. Same thing, cannot be charges. Called LG again, they said I still have to pay for the shipping fee. Will never purchase any LG products again. Worst customer services, worst product quality.

Was this review helpful? (16) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zh8458
new york
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Phone is perfect for my needs
4/20/2013

Customer review by IDNAID

5.0 stars 4/20/2013 by IDNAID
by IDNAID
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my 4th android phone had 2.2,2.3 now 4.0 with this one ....fast dual core processor ..connects to wifi easily at home ,nd blazes anywhere I connect ..only fault no app to SD with 4.0 and too much bloatware from T-Mobile but I have the apps I need if I want to play a game INSTALL then UNINSTALL... I can do anything the fruit phone can do (who needs to ask your phone everything?????) that's for kids and as for the high dollar android phones well I bought 3 of these for the price of one high dollar phone. Your phone service and coverage would be issues with any phone don't blame the phone speakers and functions are fine every phone I have had has buttons in different places get used to it (learning curve) Big screen ,Bright screen.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IDNAID
Ifudontlikeitbuysomethingelse
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great phone for a great price
3/18/2013

Customer review by Nook24

5.0 stars 3/18/2013 by Nook24
by Nook24
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this phone,the internet speed is fast,it comes with great apps,and the screen is big n shows up very clearly. I would recommend this phone to my friends an family.i hope to have this phone for awhile. If u looking for a good phone with a big screen front camera,high speed internet,and look good,and a good price thisis the phone for you.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nook24
montgomery,al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Overall pretty sweet
4/11/2013

Customer review by kdalsji

4.0 stars 4/11/2013 by kdalsji
by kdalsji
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

the only downfall I have noticed on this phone is there is no indicator light to let you know you have missed a call or message. You have to turn your screen on and look. A little less convenience than my past phones that had the light. It's been stable, nice screen, pretty quick. It has all the goodies that my G1 had and more. By the way, the protection plan is a must! Walmart turned around and gave me a full refund when my phone got run over in my purse! It only took 3 days and I had a new phone. WOW

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kdalsji
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Phone
3/11/2013

Customer review by HappyNerd

5.0 stars 3/11/2013 by HappyNerd
by HappyNerd

Nice size screen especially since the SIII is everywhere. Square design looks better in person than in pictures. Lighter than you would expect. Easy to use for anyone familiar with android...or if not familiar, phone has tutorial. Very happy so far. Beats the pants off of my previous android.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyNerd
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good phone for the price
9/5/2013

Customer review by Sampal

5.0 stars 9/5/2013 by Sampal
by Sampal
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Upgraded from Samsung Galaxy Exhibit II which was 1 1/2 year old for the same price for this phone(that too from Walmart).I planned to buy Sony Xperia Z but settled for 1/3 price which also sports Jelly Bean and for the give price suffice to say I didn't have high expecations Pros: Slim & Light weight Big screen Affordable price for Jelly Bean phone Cons (Expected) * Camera is not great ... Auto focus lags and performs bad in poor light(My Samsung Exhibit II camera performs better than this phone) * App2Sd is not enabled what it means if you're run out of space you can't move apps to SD card.(right now I have 1.14 GB available) but you can save camera picture shots , cam corder/camera videos and voice recording onto SD card. p.s:-As other posters posted that you can move apps to SD card that's not true unless you root the phone there is no other way to move apps to SD card.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sampal
Charlotte,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I LOVE THIS PHONE!!!!
3/25/2013

Customer review by JLew84

5.0 stars 3/25/2013 by JLew84
by JLew84

Ok I'm not a techy person by any means. My last phone for the past 2-3 yrs has been the HTC RHYME. With verizon being CDMA I couldn't use my phone with the pay as you go plans. I bought (AND RETURNED) the samsung GSIII mini and a SGSIII knockoff through amazon. I finally settled on this phone and I'm so glad I did - at my husband's insistance too! :) The 4.5" screen is perfect for my small hands. It's super light - I can't stand heavy phones. The screen is also nice & bright even when on mid-brightness. I can overlook the bloatware that comes with it especially since you can disable it. The camera is awesome even if it is 5mp, it's a camera phone NOT A DIGITAL CAMERA!! The square edges do look super cool and modern. I'm not a fan of over complicated menus and this phone is just right. Nice layout, very user friendly, with enough options to customize but not overwhelm a person. I can still do my ringback tones too. At a screen size of 4.5 it's just right; 4" was too small for my tastes now but 5" is too big for me to operate one-handed since my hands are smaller than average. The only negative I have is the ringer is really low. It's not very loud even at the highest setting and with a hubby deployed, I want to be able to hear my phone ring whenever he calls! Other than that, I LOVE THIS PHONE and I'm very picky about the size, look, options, apps available, customizable settings and overall "feel" of the phone. This one suites my tastes wonderfully and it runs on Android JellyBean!! I've told my parents & my husband they all NEED to get this phone & plan!!

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JLew84
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 283 total reviews
1-20 of 283 reviews