Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 326 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

326 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

326 reviews | 4 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
160
4 stars
87
3 stars
26
2 stars
14
1 stars
39
1-20 of 281 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 281 total reviews
1-20 of 281 reviews
For the price, Not Bad
2/11/2013

Customer review by dennrick

5.0 stars 2/11/2013 by dennrick
by dennrick

Has a nice 4.5 screen. Dual core processor. Latest Android 4.1. Camera not too bad with HD video. The included software is a good bonus. I like the camera photo editing app built in. The phone is responsive, surprisingly light (feels good to grasp in one palm, wow), and notable processing speed. Previous to this, I used the EVO 4G LTE (and in my opinion, I think that is the best Android smartphone out along with Samsung Galaxy series), but I wanted a non-contract cellphone and the LG Optimus L9 did not at all feel like a downgrade whatsoever, in features and service. The LG Optimus L9 smartphone is the best for the price and features in the pre-paid/non-contract (for T-Mobile). I would say even better than the others in the same size/feature categories for the price in any of the cellphone services in my area. The other non-contract cellphone services all generally use Sprint towers, and they do not have great signals. I consistently get 4G with this phone in my region from T-Mobile. You can get UNLIMITED plans from $30 to $60. I would highly recommend this phone. I am not at all affiliated with LG, Walmart, or T-Mobile.

Was this review helpful? (430) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dennrick
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great phone
2/16/2013

Customer review by robinblueyes7

5.0 stars 2/16/2013 by robinblueyes7
by robinblueyes7

in my opinion this is a great smart phone for 199.99 w/o a contract you cant beat it. vs samsung and iphone at 650.00 w/o a contract. This phone does everything I needed, great apps too! nice and light and easy to hold with a very nice sized screen.Unlike the other reviewer...I have never had a problem using this phone in any building and I love the T-mobile unlmted text talk n data for 50 .00...( I used to pay 3 xs that amount with another carrier) I would not hesitate to recommend this phone to anyone who wants a smart phone that does the job for a reasonable price!

Was this review helpful? (187) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
robinblueyes7
Niagara Falls ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/2/2013

Customer review by Anonymous62

5.0 stars 3/2/2013 by Anonymous62
by Anonymous62

I use this phone on the Walmart family mobile plan which uses the T-Mobile network. I have had no problems connecting to the network. I was pleasantly surprised that I can use it on the 4G networks where available. Have used it on my home wi-fi without problems. I have not yet tried to tether it or use it as a mobile hot spot, but don't see why I would have problems with that if needed. Also, I have not yet used the camera, so I cannot comment on the picture quality. This phone does use and come with a micro sim card. Since I have been on the Walmart family mobile plan for some time, my sim card was the older, larger size. I simply used the T-Mobile sim card that came with the phone as a template and cut my original sim card down to size. It works great. However, if you are not comfortable doing this, Walmart does now carry the micro sim cards for the family mobile plan and you can buy a new activation kit for $25 and have the information from your old card transferred to the new micro sim card.

Was this review helpful? (148) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Anonymous62
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Serious Value + Performance for No-contract Phone
4/29/2013

Customer review by AlgonquinDan

5.0 stars 4/29/2013 by AlgonquinDan
by AlgonquinDan

Excellent upgrade phone if you are currently on an Android 2.x or an iPhone 3 or earlier. The reviews about not allowing apps on an SD card are a knock on Android ICS, not this phone. It's only a negative for people who install scores of apps. If you only user 20-30 apps on a regular basis (in addition to those already on the phone) you will be fine. I bought 2 of these phones (myself and wifey). This phone now allows Android Jelly Bean (the latest version of android), which is a nice upgrade to ICS. Throw a 64GB micro-sd card in this phone and you can store an amazing amount of music, photos and videos. I looked at the amazing Nexus 4 for 349 bones, but it doesn't have an sd expansion option, and only 8GB or 16GB total (newer version is supposed to have 32GB, likely for 399). For now, I'll take the L9 and a 64GB sd card for 249 sheckels all day. Screen size is just right at 4.5". Gorilla Glass 2 is outstanding. The 2 cameras are decent, not elite and not terrible. Fine for videoconferencing. Adequate for casual photos/video. Sound is more than adequate (use earbuds for best sound with music/videos/games). Battery is at least average for a dual-processor unit. Plenty of accessories available for this phone. Some great cases out there. Lots of choices. Extra batteries are inexpensive, under 10 bones. Walmart also offers a replacement/repair plan for any kind of damage for 19-bucks for 2 years of insurance. Unbelievable deal! The T-mobile family plan is only 100/month for 4 lines with unlimited talk, text and 500MB data at 4G. Wow!

Was this review helpful? (93) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlgonquinDan
Chicago Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
OK for users who don't want to download apps.
3/16/2013

Customer review by GrillerMan456

2.0 stars 3/16/2013 by GrillerMan456
by GrillerMan456

The 2 Gig internal memory is almost filled by the apps included with the phone. You cannot solve the problem with an sd card because you cannot load apps on it. You cannot remove any of the included apps to make room for others you may prefer. I consider this a severe restriction since access to lots of apps is the main reason to have an android phone.

Was this review helpful? (287) (73)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrillerMan456
Annapolis, Md.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LG L9 Great low-cost phone. Better than iPhone 4
3/13/2013

Customer review by yus9

5.0 stars 3/13/2013 by yus9
by yus9

This LG Optimus L9 is certainly not the best phone being offered as of 3/12/2013. Its dual-core, for example, not quad-core. But it is SO good considering its moderate cost at $200 without contract. The L9 won't impress folks cruising Santana Row in San Jose. But its responsiveness and its big display will make almost everybody happy. I purchased an LG L9 from T-Mobile three months ago. My wife likes it better than her iPhone 4. So we just ordered another L9 here at Walmart.com. T-mobile will help you unlock it after 90 days of service, so that you can use it outside the USA by inserting a simm card purchased in most European and Asian countries. Later on, you can change your L9 over to PremiumTel, with or without unlocking it. (seems like pTel has an agreement to use T-Mobile's network) pTel offers reduced unlimited-service rates. Perfect for older folks, like me.

Was this review helpful? (45) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yus9
Pebble Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Best Mid-Range Prepaid Phone for the Money
2/21/2013

Customer review by DaCoolness

5.0 stars 2/21/2013 by DaCoolness
by DaCoolness

Very happy with this smart phone! This is a great prepaid phone for the money! I'm actually using it with Family Mobile, and it works great! Some of the freatures though, like wifi calling and tethering, don't work with the Family Mobile. But my sister also got this phone and goes through T-Mobile, and all the features work well from what she told me. For $200 you get a great set of features and hardware specs, which make this a snappy little device. Also, its light, yet feels solid for its size and thinness. This device comes together to make a very attractive and appealing smart phone. Highly recomended.

Was this review helpful? (42) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DaCoolness
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
2/12/2013

Customer review by rivcolon

5.0 stars 2/12/2013 by rivcolon
by rivcolon

my first lg , I love it,fast,etc

Was this review helpful? (56) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rivcolon
ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great all around phone!
3/13/2013

Customer review by JMfilms

4.0 stars 3/13/2013 by JMfilms
by JMfilms

I purchased this phone for my 16yr old daughter. My daughter along with my wife and I are on prepaid phones from Virgin. My daughter wanted to upgrade to a 4g phone but no longer wanted Virgin. So I purchased her this Lg and after 2 weeks of use, she says she loves it! Her old phone was a Motorola Triumph. My daughter has stated that the phone is very fast compared to the Triumph. She claims 4g speeds are awesome! She isn't too interested in taking photos or video but I'm sure the phone does a good job of that too. She has yet to complain about battery life but I'm sure battery life is like all smart phones, must be charged every day. $199 is a good price but I would like to get my wife one if they ever go on sale. My daughter and I agree, this LG phone is a great all around phone and coupled with a $30 unlimited text and web plan, it's even better. We recommend.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JMfilms
Bakersfield, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I LOVE THIS PHONE!!!!
3/25/2013

Customer review by JLew84

5.0 stars 3/25/2013 by JLew84
by JLew84

Ok I'm not a techy person by any means. My last phone for the past 2-3 yrs has been the HTC RHYME. With verizon being CDMA I couldn't use my phone with the pay as you go plans. I bought (AND RETURNED) the samsung GSIII mini and a SGSIII knockoff through amazon. I finally settled on this phone and I'm so glad I did - at my husband's insistance too! :) The 4.5" screen is perfect for my small hands. It's super light - I can't stand heavy phones. The screen is also nice & bright even when on mid-brightness. I can overlook the bloatware that comes with it especially since you can disable it. The camera is awesome even if it is 5mp, it's a camera phone NOT A DIGITAL CAMERA!! The square edges do look super cool and modern. I'm not a fan of over complicated menus and this phone is just right. Nice layout, very user friendly, with enough options to customize but not overwhelm a person. I can still do my ringback tones too. At a screen size of 4.5 it's just right; 4" was too small for my tastes now but 5" is too big for me to operate one-handed since my hands are smaller than average. The only negative I have is the ringer is really low. It's not very loud even at the highest setting and with a hubby deployed, I want to be able to hear my phone ring whenever he calls! Other than that, I LOVE THIS PHONE and I'm very picky about the size, look, options, apps available, customizable settings and overall "feel" of the phone. This one suites my tastes wonderfully and it runs on Android JellyBean!! I've told my parents & my husband they all NEED to get this phone & plan!!

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JLew84
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Please be aware….
4/2/2013

Customer review by GValue

2.0 stars 4/2/2013 by GValue
by GValue

Phone is OK. Very limited apps due to apps will only load in the internal memory (2G), NOT on the mircoSD. :(

Was this review helpful? (44) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GValue
IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
very nice phone - good data speed
2/15/2013

Customer review by lg8302ch

4.0 stars 2/15/2013 by lg8302ch
by lg8302ch

As a US visitor which was looking for a prepaid plan with lots of data and only a few minutes the Walmart plan looked very interesting to me and I even decided to by a T-Mobile phone to get the 1700 band as my factory unlocked iPhone would probably not have been able to get more than 2G speed due to the missing 1700 AWS band. What I was also looking for is a phone with WiFi calling that would allow me to receive text and visual voice mail in Europe. The phone I can recommend to anybody that does not want to touch the 30USD Walmart plan and can keep it going without modifying it. I did have to downgrade for 1 month to a pay as you go plan as the data plan is useless at my home in Europe. Should have taken a new sim card from T-Mobile and activate it as pay as you go service and simply let the Walmart plan stand as it is and not use it at all. But now coming back to the US I wanted to activate/upgrade it again and what a shock! it is gone. Calling T-Mobile also did not get me anywhere..they do not allow you back on to the Walmart plan once you have modified it online. They would give me a 30USD plan with 30MB data and lots of minutes which is completely useless for visitors. So now I have a nice phone which I can use it on WiFi in Europe but cannot get a reasonable prepaid data plan for a smart phone at least not with Walmart or T-Mobile. If Walmart would at least sell the micro sim activation kits with the code to get back on the 30USD plan but also here no success. This was the most expensive prepaid plan in my life! 230USD for 1 month and unable to continue to get 5GB data with 100 minutes at 4G speed next months due to the downgrade for 1 month. Like this I could have kept the sim card alive for ever. Walmart please put this info online before you click on the pay as you go plan! The phone is great but I am disappointed about loosing the Walmart plan that I could use for 2 weeks only and lost it again. Would need it back from middle of March to middle of April but this looks like a mission impossible now. Great phone but will not work anymore for me other than connected to WiFi for incoming text and visual voice on the pay as you go plan or pay 70USD at T-Mobile and pay for not needed unlimited voice and text. Will now have to look at VMNO that could work with this phone which factory locked so I cannot use it other than with T-Mobile. Rating for value is only 1* because less than a month use for 230USD is not a good deal. If you can keep the plan ongoing this is a great phone but do NOT touch the plan otherwise it is gone forever !!!

Was this review helpful? (56) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lg8302ch
Zurich, Switzerland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome
5/30/2013

Customer review by AGLKY

5.0 stars 5/30/2013 by AGLKY
by AGLKY

I've been using a feature phone for a few months since I switched to prepaid. When I decided to return to the smartphone world, I picked the LG Optimus L9. I was surprised at how sleek and well-designed this device is for the price. The screen is bright and beautiful, the Gorilla Glass feels rock solid, and the grippy back feels great in the hand. I popped in a MicroSD card and was up and running in a few minutes. This phone really screams. Games run great and I've seen no stuttering whatsoever. The only downside I've found is the lack of cases and other accessories. I managed to find a case on another online retailer, but the lack of choice for prepaid smartphones is a challenge that should be addressed. All in all, I really love this phone!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AGLKY
Georgetown, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LG Powerful & Budget Friendly Smartphone...
4/1/2013

Customer review by BeachXXXcomber

5.0 stars 4/1/2013 by BeachXXXcomber
by BeachXXXcomber

I’ve had the LG Optimus L9 P769 T-Mobile Prepaid Device a month now, and it’s AWESOME!!! This is my 6th smartphone, and the best; I like using the Internet; while my other smartphones could access it, using my PC was my primary choice. My last smartphone was a BlackBerry Peril Flip which was excellent on T-Mobiles Pay as you Go Plan and I accessed the Internet via WiFi. I used it to access email, but web browsing was more annoying than productive. Now my primary internet access is via LG Optimus L9 P769; the handheld unit is that good… The camera, music, video & apps are excellent! I don’t have a budget that allows me to have the latest/greatest of all technology, so when I was able to upgrade my smartphone to an Android 4.0 Touchscreen, the LG Optimus L9 P769 was an outstanding financial choice!

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BeachXXXcomber
Long Beach, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great phone for a great price
3/18/2013

Customer review by Nook24

5.0 stars 3/18/2013 by Nook24
by Nook24

I love this phone,the internet speed is fast,it comes with great apps,and the screen is big n shows up very clearly. I would recommend this phone to my friends an family.i hope to have this phone for awhile. If u looking for a good phone with a big screen front camera,high speed internet,and look good,and a good price thisis the phone for you.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nook24
montgomery,al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Phone
3/11/2013

Customer review by HappyNerd

5.0 stars 3/11/2013 by HappyNerd
by HappyNerd

Nice size screen especially since the SIII is everywhere. Square design looks better in person than in pictures. Lighter than you would expect. Easy to use for anyone familiar with android...or if not familiar, phone has tutorial. Very happy so far. Beats the pants off of my previous android.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyNerd
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value, sweet phone
3/28/2013

Customer review by Frugalhowie

5.0 stars 3/28/2013 by Frugalhowie
by Frugalhowie

A phone under $200 that does everything...at least for me. I use my smartphone for occasional surfing, like during my commute, or when I'm in the can. I do not download everything under the sun, so 1.8GB of apps storage is sufficient for me. I can read my news, email, whatsapp, listen to Pandora, check soccer scores and update my Facebook, all very comfortably on the 4.5" screen. I have downloaded all the apps I need, and I still have 1gb left. My 16gb microsd card from the old phone stores my media files from the camera and music downloads, so frankly speaking, this phone is PERFECT! Last but not least, kudos to Walmart for the Fedex-kinko site-to-store pickup option. I am never home to sign for packages during business hours and there are FedEx stores all over NYC, open till late.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Frugalhowie
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Buy!
10/27/2013

Customer review by Charliecacti

5.0 stars 10/27/2013 by Charliecacti
by Charliecacti

So I purchased this phone to avoid monthly payments and or contracts on my phone bill. For $178.99 on walmart.com I don't see how you could do any better. The phone works great. Doesn't seem to be prone to freezing with my apps installed like the G2X or the My Touch 4G Slide I had. I think that is mostly related to Ram. G2X had 500 mb Ram and the Slide had 756 mb Ram, this phone has a whole GB. Each one performed better than the one before it with this one doing the best. My wife has the GS4 which is noticeably faster than this one, but I really am not in such a hurry that a millisecond of added loading time for apps bothers me. The screen is great. Not as high res as the GS4, but sometimes at night when one of our phones receives a notification I can't tell if it is the GS4 or the L9 until I pick it up. Again for $178 that really impresses me. Only had it for about a month so if I notice any big changes in my view of the phone I will try to revisit this review.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Charliecacti
Summerfield, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/14/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 3/14/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The phone is very nice and it is advance and modern but this phone gets frozen a lot and it is hard to make a phone call or send text messages. I will return this phone.

Was this review helpful? (23) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Bronx NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice and very smart smartphone.
2/13/2013

Customer review by Inou

5.0 stars 2/13/2013 by Inou
by Inou

This is a very good phone for voice, messages and data. The features are many and the only improvement I could ask for is a 5" screen but the 4 1/2" is very good.

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Inou
Perdido Beach, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 281 total reviews
1-20 of 281 reviews