Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 189 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

189 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

189 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
93
4 stars
58
3 stars
17
2 stars
12
1 stars
9
1-20 of 157 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 157 total reviews
1-20 of 157 reviews
4/11/2013

Customer review by ZombieHunter704

4.0 stars 4/11/2013 by ZombieHunter704
by ZombieHunter704

I wanted to leave an appropriate review for people who are looking for a decent sized backpacking tent at WalMart. Obviously this is not a high end tent, but for the price it does the job and then some. 1. Very easy to set up...I do it by myself and it takes me around 5 minutes from start to finish. The poles are thinner than some of the larger tents, but as long as you show care when assembling them they should last a long time. 2. The tent itself is very lightweight. I use it for backpacking, so I repack my tent into a stuff sack rather than in the case it came with...it can and does pack smaller than its original packaging (which is small enough already). 3. The tent is very roomy. I doubt it would fit 4 people comfortably, but if you had to cram them in there it would work. I am 6'3" so I needed something larger than a 7'x7' footprint, and this tent works great. I lay lengthwise, I can store my pack and accessories in the tent with room to spare, and there is even enough room to sit up comfortablely to change clothes. 4. I always seal my tents, so I am not sure how water resistant this one is on its on, but the first night I used it we had a very hard rain from 3am until about 7am, and there was no water in the tent. I would recommend using a ground cloth because the tub floor seems a little thin, but as long as you are paying attention to the area you are pitching, you will be fine. 5. Overall this tent has been a major success. My son and I enjoy camping and this tent is the perfect size for us.

Was this review helpful? (360) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ZombieHunter704
Badin, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Perfect for the Price!
8/5/2014

Customer review by Bevdude

5.0 stars 8/5/2014 by Bevdude
by Bevdude
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We used it first time on a warmer night in the woods. was great to have the four screened windows. I also liked the little 'entry mat' included. Nice tent not too heavy on my pack.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bevdude
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Inexpensive Light Tent
8/17/2013

Customer review by handydad1

3.0 stars 8/17/2013 by handydad1
by handydad1

I purchased this tent because I needed a small tent to take to scout camp. I like that the tent is very inexpensive and is very light. Here are the aspects of the tent that I believe are the most positive: 1. Very inexpensive 2. Well constructed 3. Very light 4. Easily setup 5. Adequate ventilation with windows open 6. Tent fits easily back in it's bag Here are the negative aspects I observed: 1. Tent won't breathe with the windows closed (inside was soaked when we woke up) 2. Fit 1 adult and 2 kids adequately ( 4 adults would be real tight) 3. Supplied tent stakes are useless 4. The washtub floor is nice, but very thin (used a ground cloth to remedy this) Overall, I would recommend this tent to a friend if they needed a small tent for 1 or 2 people and their gear. I replaced the cheap stakes with some 10 inch stakes I already had from a previous tent. I don't know what to do regarding the condensation inside the tent. The night wasn't particularly humid. It's a great bargain for the price.

Was this review helpful? (30) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
handydad1
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great Value!
6/7/2013

Customer review by Nickelodeon29212

5.0 stars 6/7/2013 by Nickelodeon29212
by Nickelodeon29212

I bought this tent a weekend before taking my family on a camping trip and didn't unpack until we arrived at the campsite. It took me a good 30 minutes to set the tent up the first time(by myself and without reading the instructions). It will probably take me 15-20 minutes the next time around. I have to say I'm surprised how well designed this little tent is. It wouldn't hold 4 adults, but it will accommodate 4 kids, which is what I had in it over an extended weekend. I'd say 2 adults is more likely...unless they are on the smaller side in which case maybe 3. Everything is easy and well thought out. I have no idea if it would withstand a good downpour, but if it doesn't I plan on water proofing the rain fly and that should take care of it for sure. 4 Windows for ventilation, a port for a power cord, internal mesh pocket and shelf and even a small entry door/flap overhang.... It's pretty awesome for $35. I threw a queen size air mattress in it to top it off...with room to spare.

Was this review helpful? (40) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nickelodeon29212
Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Decent for the price
4/10/2014

Customer review by Carimeh

3.0 stars 4/10/2014 by Carimeh
by Carimeh

I got this tent last year. We've only used it a few times. It's held up ok, though the material feels fairly thin compared to my Coleman. No rips or anything but I'd definitely be careful while putting it up/taking it down. Overall, the tent is good for the price. Its a cheap tent, it's not going to be perfect. Positives: Cheap, easy set up, rainfly covers most of the windows, lightweight Negatives: It did leak while it was raining, but it was a very heavy downpour, I hadn't treated it at all nor seam sealed it, and it was primarily at the lower part of the tent, rather than the windows which I've had issues with before. As with most tents, it wouldn't actually fit 4 adults unless you were completely smooshed together. It fits 1 adult and 2-3 kids ok though. Also, the mud mat is somewhat useless, being so small and being separate from the tent, it got annoying. I'd buy this tent again, but I'm going to be sealing it well and seeing if it leaks again. I'll update. :)

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Carimeh
Greenville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
It is what it says it is!!!! Great Value!!
6/20/2014

Customer review by fasteddy106

5.0 stars 6/20/2014 by fasteddy106
by fasteddy106
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easier setup than the instructions would make it appear. Less than ten minutes. I did it by myslf with no problem. The rain fly options are handy and easy. The e port is a nice touch along with the overhead cargo net. Having windows on all four sides and the light colored top reduce interior heat during the daytime. As far as capacity goes calling it a four person tent is a bit optimistic if you are looking for comfort if the occupants are going to be adults. Younger children could fit four. I use a king size intex inflatable mattress and it fits fine. Two single mattresses would fit easily and allow room between for miscellaneous. For occassional use this is a great deal although I have used this brand tent quite often over the years. I camp weekends from June to October and these tents hold up well with minimal care. The key is to be sure the tent inside and out is dry before packing away and you will add years to its life. Best of all??? The tent easily folds and compacts and actually fits in the sturdy carry/storage bag!!

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fasteddy106
meriden ct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I'd recommend it for light and long term use
4/22/2014

Customer review by TSiri

5.0 stars 4/22/2014 by TSiri
by TSiri

This is the second of this size from the same manufacturer, and the innovations are much better, such as the rain flap at the bottom. I live in this tent, and have been through cold, high winds and pea sized hail. Obviously, it wasn't made to keep anyone warm at night; that's what coats and sleeping bags are for. The windows zip closed (I'd highly recommend keeping them open about 8-9 inches each for ventilation and to prevent condensation) easily. This second tent does have issues with allowing moisture to seep through the bottom of the flooring, there are products to stop this from occuring. I would recommend after a couple of months to apply one or two coats of water repellant, so it can continue to be waterproof in a rain. The first tent was replaced because the nylon zipper gave out; this tent seems to have a better zipper, but I have a replacement ready that I can sew in by hand. All in all, this is a great tent for first timers to experienced campers. I put it up myself in less than 20 minutes, and I go at a slow pace.

Was this review helpful? (33) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TSiri
Live Oak, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
awesome tent, great price!
10/1/2015

Customer review by Bman

4.0 stars 10/1/2015 by Bman
by Bman

this is an awesome tent I've had it for almost 2 years now. it is my main tent for camping trips with a lot of friends because it fits 4 people comfortably no problem! it'll fit a queen size air bed perfectly too. I've also taken it with just me and my gf and it fit us and our gear perfectly and tons of overhead room. it is a very well insulated tent keeps heat in very well and is very well ventilated also. the only down side is that i took it on a trip to joshua tree early sept and some fast un expected winds hit late in the night, for the most part it stayed up but did crack one of the bottom poles it is still usable tho. i still have the tent and still use it!

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Spend the extra and get a sturdy tent!
8/19/2014

Customer review by littlepinkpigsaysmoo

2.0 stars 8/19/2014 by littlepinkpigsaysmoo
by littlepinkpigsaysmoo

Purchased this small tent for my husband and I to take on a quick trip north. We had a 4 person Coleman tent that lasted us years, but was literally washed away during a flash flood earlier this year. We also have a large 10 person Coleman tent but just didn't want to set it up for two nights so we wanted something smaller. I wanted a Coleman, but the only ones they had in our Walmart were larger..which we already have. So I decided to take a chance. Set up was no problem with the two of us. BUT, I noticed one of the main poles kept wanting to flop towards the back of the tent. We thought maybe we set it up improperly, so we read the directions again. Nope, everything was where it needed to be. Oh well, we thought, nothing we can do now. Well, in the middle of the night, we got wind...and rain, and the pole just collapsed backwards into the tent. Not happy...it was one VERY uncomfortable night. Will be returning. Guess we'll look else where for a Coleman or wait until next season.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
littlepinkpigsaysmoo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ok, needs improvement
4/4/2015

Customer review by OleTimeCamper

3.0 stars 4/4/2015 by OleTimeCamper
by OleTimeCamper

This tent will not give you any extra room if you try to fit a queen size air mattress, we barely had enough room with a twin air mattress. I like a little room to spread out, this is a two person tent at best if you need room to stow any gear. Actually, it's a two person tent regardless. I also wish that it had stakes to keep the floor from bunching up. The first time we set it up was in our backyard for a little "camp out." The wind was blowing and we had to put things along the inside floor to keep the floor from bunching up. The rain fly is awesome, as we have used the tent in rain and had no leaks. It also has three windows as well as a window in the door, so with these open we had good air flow, even with the rain fly on. If you need the extra room like I do, invest in a larger tent. But this one will be for my girls and they don't mind being cramped. The zipper on the door also tends to snag, which means it takes a few moments longer to zip the door, allowing more time for little insects to come in.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OleTimeCamper
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice for the price
10/4/2013

Customer review by Gilliansage

4.0 stars 10/4/2013 by Gilliansage
by Gilliansage

I haven't been camping in years. Bought this for a 5 night trip with the hubby. Easy to set up cept the poles kept giving, but only when we set up the awning pole for the rain fly. We took it out and it stayed up fine. The hubby sealed with 2 coats as you should with any tent and we staked to the ground. Had some serious winds but it held up fine. Only trouble was getting in and out, and when you have to go in the middle of the night and the bathrooms are .10 or further, time is of the essence. Used a hanging lantern in the middle without problem and the little E-port was very handy. We had 2 twin mattresses and had a good 2 ft or so of space down the middle for our stuff. We also put a tarp underneath to keep it from getting damaged. I would say in all it was a great tent and fit back nicely in the bag and into a small space in our car. Only thing is...I want something taller now.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gilliansage
Dallas, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great Tent for Occasional Use
5/27/2014

Customer review by Debanjan

4.0 stars 5/27/2014 by Debanjan
by Debanjan

We needed a tent for camping in Yellowstone over a weekend and were looking for something inexpensive. The Ozark 4 person tent proved to be exactly what was needed. The tent will be somewhat cramped for 4 sleeping people, we had 3 in ours and was really comfortable in terms of space. Up to 5 can sit up in it. Do get sleeping bags (30 degree ones for Yellowstone) and sleeping pads for a comfortable night. We had thunderstorms and snowy conditions on our second night of use, and the tent held up really well. Another group of campers had to dump their 15 year old tent after that night as water had seeped through - ours remained amazingly dry (apart from condensation on the inner walls of the tent). Note that 8 stakes are provided for the tent corners, but not for the guy lines on the rain fly. Getting 4 additional stakes would be recommended.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Debanjan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Cheap Little Tent That Could
7/14/2013

Customer review by Alexandria77

5.0 stars 7/14/2013 by Alexandria77
by Alexandria77

I can't believe I only paid $30 for this tent. I just got back from a two day camping trip with a bunch of people who are avid outdoors enthusiasts with some expensive name brand stuff from REI, and this tent outperformed theirs. I am not a regular camper, in fact, this is my first tent. I didn't want to spend a lot when I barely go once a year. I set this up almost all alone in the dark; it's very easy to figure out and almost puts itself up. Then there was a torrential downpour that lasted all of one night - one of the people who camps regularly said it was the strongest rain he's ever experienced camping. They all covered their expensive tents with tarps, put extra tarps under neathe, spent time rigging up systems to anchor the tarps to the ground, and still had some leaks. I used no ground tarp, no cover tarp, only the rain fly it came with, and the only leak I noticed was in one of the corner seams and it was so small I was able to take care of it by stuffing a baby wipe in the corner. All my friends were astonished by my inexpensive little Ozark Trail tent, which performed solidly, caused me absolutely no problems, and even better, fit right back inside of its duffel bag afterwards without a fight. I think I will just get some of that stuff to treat the seams and the entrance next time I go, but I don't even think it would be necessary if we weren't camping in typhoon conditions. I love this tent! This baby is staying with me for a long time!

Was this review helpful? (128) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Alexandria77
Alexandria, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Cheap Tent Leaks Like Crazy In Rain
7/3/2013

Customer review by ScubaBobb

1.0 stars 7/3/2013 by ScubaBobb
by ScubaBobb

I bought this tent to replace a similar Coleman 4-person dome tent that I lost when I moved. This was cheaper than the Coleman models, and I guess you get what you pay for. The tent itself was fine in good weather. It was what I expected, with ample room and decent ventilation. Then it started raining. The rain fly was properly secured and it did nothing. The roof leaked a lot, and once the walls of the tent got soaked, which took about 10 minutes, the whole tent was leaking and dripping water very rapidly all over the inside of the tent. I was soaked, my gear was soaked, and my extra clothes and sleeping bag were soaked. Not a good experience, and not a good tent. Fine for kids playing in the back yard, but no good for real camping.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ScubaBobb
Dracut, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Cheaper in store
4/10/2013

Customer review by RKNinja

5.0 stars 4/10/2013 by RKNinja
by RKNinja

Planning a camping trip for summer, checked out Walmart and found this, I was looking for something that was bigger then a 2 person tent for a price that was close. I must say it is easy to set up and take down I also like that the inside dome area has a hook to attach a light and it has an attic gear holder along with the standard wall mount wallet pocket. The only thing I think should be different is the roof vents should also be able to zipper closed but that's not a deal buster. I have not stayed in it yet but for the time I have spent in it you will want to pick up a 9x7 tent pad unless your on lots of grass because the floor seems thin. And remember to take your shoes off!

Was this review helpful? (108) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RKNinja
C-TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
All I expected.
5/1/2013

Customer review by Yollies

4.0 stars 5/1/2013 by Yollies
by Yollies
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The tent was very easy to set up in about 10 minute's time by one person. We fit two twin air mattresses with ease in the tent. The tent was great for fair weather weekend camping with my son.

Was this review helpful? (46) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Yollies
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good little tent!
5/12/2014

Customer review by CostconciousMom

4.0 stars 5/12/2014 by CostconciousMom
by CostconciousMom

I am not a camper! I purchased this tent as my daughter and I decided to go camping one weekend on a whim. Did not want to spend much in case we ended up hating it. We LOVED it!! This tent was fairly simple to assemble. I did it by myself and had only opened the box when we arrived at the campsite. We used it without sealing it and it worked fine. We will be using it much more in the months to come. I will say that if you really plan on putting 4 people in there, it will likely be tight. My daughter and I put two twin air mattresses in there and had a little space for our stuff between us. I prefer my space and would like to purchase a cabin style tent for the future but until then, this little tent is great!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CostconciousMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4/10/2013

Customer review by fsuseminoles

5.0 stars 4/10/2013 by fsuseminoles
by fsuseminoles
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great for the price and easy to set up. Like most tents, "sleeps 4" is an exaggeration. It was comfortable for two.

Was this review helpful? (82) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fsuseminoles
North Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great small tent
6/6/2013

Customer review by Johnsrj

5.0 stars 6/6/2013 by Johnsrj
by Johnsrj
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Ok got it for a weekend camp, set up was easy and quick and i even put a king size air bed in it. Now the great value part, it stormed the weekend i set it up. We left camp and came back 2 days when the storms stopped. The tent was as dry on the inside as when i set it up. So the price is right and great tent.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Johnsrj
Damascus, ar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/7/2013

Customer review by CheapCamper

5.0 stars 5/7/2013 by CheapCamper
by CheapCamper

I got this tent for a backpacking trip with my two sons. the oldest is 6' 175 at 15. We fit into the tent tight but comfortable.We only go hiking 1time a year so cheap and dry was the order of the day. When I opened up tent it was missing a cord and hook for the rain fly the service number answered the phone in less than 1 minute and sent me the whole rainfly as a replacement. I never dreamed such an inexpensive tent would have such good service.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CheapCamper
Brunswick, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
1-20 of 157 total reviews
1-20 of 157 reviews