Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 44 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

44 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

44 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
32
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-20 of 31 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews
Excellent product. Well Built. Good Looking.
2/18/2013

Customer review by wellcraft

5.0 stars 2/18/2013 by wellcraft
by wellcraft

Really happy with the purchase of my Gateway Laptop. It's a good looking laptop and seems to do everything well. I replaced the one I had been using running Windows Vista and this is new one is amazing. A lot faster and just a better operating system all around. The Gateway gives you a lot of bang for the buck.

Was this review helpful? (86) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wellcraft
Dallas Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value laptop
2/28/2013

Customer review by MrBAR

5.0 stars 2/28/2013 by MrBAR
by MrBAR

I've had this computer for a few weeks. So far I love it! It's a huge step up from my last one. The 17" screen is terrific and has great color and sharpness. The processor is more than fast enough for anything I do, although I'm not a PC gamer so I can't comment on its gaming abilities. I bought another 4g of RAM when I bought the computer to give it 8g. For a $25 upgrade, it made a noticeable difference in speed and was a breeze to install. All it takes to install is a phillips screwdriver and about 5 minutes of your time. The battery life is quite good. For now I get about 6 hours of battery life, much of which is comprised of watching movies, online videos, itunes, some cyber-loafing, etc, etc. Windows 8 takes some getting used to though. I can't say I'm a fan of all the incessant pop up "charms" bars (windows-speak for toolbars) that pop up whenever the mouse is near the corners or the edge of the screen. For the most part, I've disabled most of the annoying windows 8 features thanks to google and some smart techie people who've posted tutorials online! The few things I don't really like are the native speakers, which are pretty weak and the touchpad button/bar thing. It's a little hard to locate and press the right spot when using it by feel, like when watching a movie in a dark room. Also it's positioned to the left of center, which is fine if you're a southpaw, but for me and the other 80% of righties, it means you're forever touching the right edge of the touchpad, which instantly puts the mouse pointer on the right edge of the screen and activates one of those ridiculous charms bars if you've yet to disable them! So in summary, I'd gladly recommend this computer to most anyone. If your sole criterion is gaming, I'm sure there's better platforms out there, but for general computing and online entertainment, this computer is really sweet!

Was this review helpful? (46) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrBAR
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It's the best around for the money
3/8/2013

Customer review by ScottJ007

5.0 stars 3/8/2013 by ScottJ007
by ScottJ007

I had a gateway desk top for 7 years and I wanted a laptops and this one was very good for the price the system runs very well no problems.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ScottJ007
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great value....great price!
3/12/2013

Customer review by magyarlany2

5.0 stars 3/12/2013 by magyarlany2
by magyarlany2

Very nice laptop....looks awesome and works very well. I love the white color....but not only does it look great, it's also very fast. Windows 8 isn't too bad, just have to get used to it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
magyarlany2
Maricopa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
don't buy it
3/15/2013

Customer review by therok

1.0 stars 3/15/2013 by therok
by therok

the computer is really nice, but if you try to 'create recovery drive' you can not do it. so for 500usd i got nice looking toy that i'll never be able to revive if i have to. i've googled the issue and a lot of people have this problem not only with this model but with computers from 2008, 2009 as well. i should've bought a toshiba. i think that people who have posted positive reviews don't know how important this issue is. i'm going to walmart tomorrow to return this junk, and get a toshiba ps walmart website made me put one star;))

Was this review helpful? (17) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
therok
ruther glen,va
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
2/25/2013

Customer review by SassyJJ

4.0 stars 2/25/2013 by SassyJJ
by SassyJJ

I love the computer but I hate windows 8.

Was this review helpful? (17) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SassyJJ
Southside, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great computer. Everything and more that I though
3/12/2013

Customer review by 6Nanna

4.0 stars 3/12/2013 by 6Nanna
by 6Nanna

Great computer. Everything and more that I thought it would be. I have had it about 3 weeks and am having a little trouble learning Windows 8 but I am getting used to the set up. It is a lot like a mac. Would recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (14) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
6Nanna
Florence, Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/6/2013

Customer review by Cspr319

5.0 stars 3/6/2013 by Cspr319
by Cspr319

this computer is a great computer. Its fast, nice looking, all around exceptional.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cspr319
Horseheads, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good machine
3/16/2013

Customer review by ericky28

4.0 stars 3/16/2013 by ericky28
by ericky28

This computer met my expectations. It operates quickly and efficiently. the monitor display is beautiful and the keyboard keys are sized well. My only disappointment relates to the sound. the volume sounds low even when turned all the way up. the sound quality is also inferior. even with the sound quality, I still love the computer.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ericky28
kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Overall A Wonderful Laptop
3/29/2013

Customer review by Claytina

5.0 stars 3/29/2013 by Claytina
by Claytina

I Love My New Laptop!! I Bought It For College, I'm Taking Online Courses. I Love How Easy It Is To Access My Apps And Programs, I Just Pin Them To My Start Screen. There Are Some Great Function Keys On The Keyboard. I Love The Big Screen. The Laptop Looks Beautiful, I Ordered It In Red, Which Actually Is More Of A Maroon Color. All Of My Friends And Family Are A Bit Jealous, And Now Want New Ones As Well. It Has Great Quality, Does Not Look Nor Feel Cheap At All. It Has A Great Battery Life As Well. It Is A Little Difficult To Switch Over To Windows 8, Being That I'm Not At All Computer Savvy. Haha My Only Two Complaints Are; The Charger Is A Little Difficult To Plug In And The Speaker Volume Seems To Be Very Low, For Viewing Movies Or Listening To Music. To Solve That Issue, I Purchased A $5 Pair Of External Speakers, Which I Plug In When I'm Going To Watch A Movie. Overall, I Will Definitely Recommend This Product To All My Own Family And Friends!! :-)

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Claytina
San Miguel, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/11/2013

Customer review by Saraie

4.0 stars 3/11/2013 by Saraie
by Saraie

Only had the computer 2 weeks but I love the big screen so able to see all things!!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Saraie
Oak Ridge, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/16/2013

Customer review by Sprtrmp

5.0 stars 3/16/2013 by Sprtrmp
by Sprtrmp

Great laptop...as advertised. Runs all programs without any problems and still have room for more memory. Not a big fan a Windows 8 but getting used to it. All round very good value.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sprtrmp
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
New Gateway Computer
3/15/2013

Customer review by MAFAllygirl

5.0 stars 3/15/2013 by MAFAllygirl
by MAFAllygirl

Love this new laptop. It's not as slim and sleek as others, but that really did not matter to our family. We love this and it was shipped quickly to our neighborhood store. The color on the screen is fantastic and the way it navigates is very easy especially with Windows 8 which we totally love!!! Watched a movie on it and the sound was somewhat too low but we still enjoyed it and the large 17" screen is fantastic!!! Thinking of buying a second one.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MAFAllygirl
Carrollton, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
She's in love with her laptop!!!
4/5/2013

Customer review by Mystique42

5.0 stars 4/5/2013 by Mystique42
by Mystique42

I bought this computer as a gift for a relative. She loves it!! This was the third laptop from Walmart.com we tried and finally got it right. The white color is beautiful. Other than getting familiar with Windows 8 ... She is delighted with all the features. We love the customer service team!! They are the one of the reasons we stayed with Walmart in finding the perfect laptop for her needs.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mystique42
Hephzibah, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
New Computer
3/21/2013

Customer review by LondieDru

5.0 stars 3/21/2013 by LondieDru
by LondieDru

I brought 2 of theses computers one for my daughter and one for myself. I love my computer my daughter likes hers as well. The only problem that i didn't like is that it didn't have any word programs (microsoft word, excel, powerpoint etc..) thank god i have my own copy! The mouse is a little sensitive but other than that it a smooth ride.. The 17.3 screen is GREAT for us other computer userS!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LondieDru
Bloomfield, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/20/2013

Customer review by LVExpress

5.0 stars 3/20/2013 by LVExpress
by LVExpress

Great value. Easy in initially setting up the Laptop. So far no issues. Windows 8 is new to me but is easy to use. This PC replaces my slow old antiquated DELL Laptop

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LVExpress
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/6/2013

Customer review by OldPCGamer

5.0 stars 4/6/2013 by OldPCGamer
by OldPCGamer

I have always like Gateway products. Windows 8 seems to be a good operating system, after you get use to it. The touch pad is pain on any key board, so I'll be using the mouse. I am very happy with this laptop and bought 4 Gateway systems over the years now, with No trouble at all.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OldPCGamer
Taylorville Ill
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
so far so good
5/9/2013

Customer review by punkstammy1

4.0 stars 5/9/2013 by punkstammy1
by punkstammy1

Haven't used too long. But I like this computer. It comes with an instant transfer program that was really slow and unfortunately, copied some files that I did not want and didn't copy some I did want. I would have skipped that feature. One drawback is the speakers are really bad. You can hardly hear anything. If I want to listen to music I will need to hook it up to the TV. So if music on your laptop is a major issue for you, you would not want this one.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
punkstammy1
MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/7/2013

Customer review by Volvo4life

3.0 stars 4/7/2013 by Volvo4life
by Volvo4life

The only reason I'm giving a three star rating is because of the mouse. The onboard touchpad is very finicky. The computer itself meets expectations it's fast it's quiet it does not overheat or get hot to the touch vivid bright screen great battery life, it's light and stylish. If it were not for the touchpad I would give it 5 stars but the position, and the sensitivity even when set to palm check highest settings the mouse jumps around, clicks and deletes typed text.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Volvo4life
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Horrible Computer
5/24/2013

Customer review by BahamaMama001

1.0 stars 5/24/2013 by BahamaMama001
by BahamaMama001

This is the second Gateway laptop that I bought. I loved the look and so I took a chance and bought this laptop. After using it for two days (and not installing anything on it), it start having to re-start on me (kernel error) every couple of minutes. I was just checking e-mail when this happened. I called Gateway, got the computer back to its factory settings, and it keep happening. I took the computer back to Walmart. A week later, after not liking any of the other laptops at Best Buy, etc.., as much, I decided to take my chances with another one. I had hoped that I had just received a defective machine. Either they sent me the same machine or all of the Gateway computers are this bad. I returned it and ended up buying an HP. Obviously, I will never try a Gateway again.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BahamaMama001
Ft. Mill, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews