Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 111 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

111 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

111 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
52
4 stars
41
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
10
1-20 of 75 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 75 total reviews
1-20 of 75 reviews
Great for basic needs.
3/5/2013

Customer review by EasyToSatisfy

4.0 stars 3/5/2013 by EasyToSatisfy
by EasyToSatisfy

Prior to purchasing this particular model, I had a terrible experience with an HP 2000-2b49WM. I only had that laptop for 12 day's and it was a lemon from day one. I have found that in addition to being a lemon, it just didn't have enough RAM..it only had 2GB, which made it run very slowly. I have currently been using this laptop for approximately 12 days and I haven't noticed as many of the problems as I had with the other model. Honestly, I think that any "budget buy" laptop will struggle under the weight of the Windows 8 operating system, but the 4GB of Ram on this model does help a lot. I plan to max it out to its 8GB capacitiy, by just buying and adding additional RAM. It does have a 500GB hard drive, which is probably more storage than you will ever need and perfect if you have an over abundance of music, pictures, documents, etc. The 5400RPM's that run on this model will not be as fast as a model that runs 7200RPM's, but this IS a budget buy. The Windows 8 operating system is set up like an ipad, reader, or tablet and is really intended for a touchscreen laptop, which this model is NOT. Pure LUCK will get the credit if you can get the apps to update, as it is a common problem/complaint with Windows 8 users. There are not many fixes yet for many of the problem's that occur with the Windows 8 operating system, so its overall performance is based on the laptop itself, and its ability run as efficiently as possible under the weight of this system. I cannot get my apps to update either, but mostly all of them can be accessed from my browser anyway, like my Netflix account. Most apps, when notified of an updated version, will allow you to use them anyway...Netflix isn't one of them. Overall, I'm pretty pleased with this buy, although I'm not ecstatic with the Windows 8 operating system. This laptop is currently meeting all of my basic needs.

Was this review helpful? (125) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EasyToSatisfy
Augusta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
HP Black Licorice Laptop
3/20/2013

Customer review by trialsmama

5.0 stars 3/20/2013 by trialsmama
by trialsmama

I purchased this laptop just a few weeks ago. I've played with it long enough to give an accurate review. I love it! I would definitely purchase this model again. It is my first experience with Win 8. I have to say, that took the most getting used to. I don't mind it so much now. It's a bit quirky, but I expect it will grow on me. There are a few glitches, but they are mostly with security updates to Win 8. If you perhaps get the blue screen as I did, just google it. You'll find the quick solution (delete the specific security update that is causing the "exception") All in all, this is a great laptop. At under $350, it is very hard to beat.

Was this review helpful? (74) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
trialsmama
Tulsa, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good for price
3/6/2013

Customer review by CourtF1

4.0 stars 3/6/2013 by CourtF1
by CourtF1

Bought the laptop mainly for school. I was a little worried about never using windows 8 before. But it wasn't that big of a change. Just a little new tricks to learn about it. I would definitely read the windows 8 starter guide that comes along with this. It just gives you a few extra tips and tricks that are new which helped. I've had this about 4 or 5 days and I'm really enjoying it. Very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (63) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CourtF1
Annville, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great priced laptop
3/18/2013

Customer review by KCNAJ

5.0 stars 3/18/2013 by KCNAJ
by KCNAJ

Got this HP laptop in a bundle with a Canon pixma printer, swivel flash drive & Targus laptop sleeve case for $379(plus $13 s/h) online. Bought it to replace my old laptop that crashed. So far after a few weeks, I am happy with it. It is quick and runs quietly. I mainly use it for email, social networking and web surfing. The only thing I've noticed that may be a setting issue, when it's unplugged I notice screen brightness difference(gets brighter) when a webpage loads. Windows 8 is fine for me and can be customized to your preferences with a little patience. Great buy! :)

Was this review helpful? (48) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KCNAJ
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Laptop for Students
3/20/2013

Customer review by MrsMelie

4.0 stars 3/20/2013 by MrsMelie
by MrsMelie

sound system leaves a lot to be desired I ended having to purchase an external speaker in able to hear movies or music on this laptop. When I first got it I was not impressed I found that it took everything a while to load. I felt that it was slow, but after reading a few reviews and talking to a computer person I found the problem was the apps that are live. I went through and disabled all the live apps and did away with the apps I would not use and this sped my system up greatly. I play MMORPG's on this laptop and have no issues other than lag in high populated areas. So to sum up I would say this is a great laptop for a student or for first time laptop owners.

Was this review helpful? (31) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrsMelie
Magnolia Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great computer for internet but slow for games.
10/24/2013

Customer review by Gaga6162

4.0 stars 10/24/2013 by Gaga6162
by Gaga6162

Great computer for internet and home but slow for games. I am very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gaga6162
Gaffney, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is an alright notebook with pros and cons.
6/20/2013

Customer review by Malona

3.0 stars 6/20/2013 by Malona
by Malona

I've decided to write the pros and cons of this notebook, but keep in mind that it has been dropped and hit a couple times. PROS -design -very good size (great for games like Flight Simulator) -display -good for school -battery life -Windows 8 design and apps -always updating Cons -Windows 8 works when it wants to, and always crashes -freezes a lot -Internet Explorer also works when it wants to -sometimes slow

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Malona
Virgin Islands
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Efficient, great value laptop!
3/14/2013

Customer review by HelpfulDaughter

5.0 stars 3/14/2013 by HelpfulDaughter
by HelpfulDaughter

I bought this laptop for my 14 year old granddaughter. To say the least she is thrilled. I am impressed on the speed and ease of access that it produces. Great value for the money! Would have paid a lot more at an office supply store!

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HelpfulDaughter
Middletown, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/13/2013

Customer review by skipjim

4.0 stars 3/13/2013 by skipjim
by skipjim

I have to give this a mixed review, Walmart's part was great, I know HP is a good computer, I have a desk top for years, my problem was with window's eight. To me it is too touchy, you make one little bobble and you are in a new window and have lost what you are doing, there are too may advertisements to buy new window accessory's. Before I give the product a bad review I would have to know if other people were having this problem, or is just me.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skipjim
Llano Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Computer for the value.
3/16/2013

Customer review by auroraca

5.0 stars 3/16/2013 by auroraca
by auroraca

This computer is a great computer for the price. Great for gaming and internet surfing.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
auroraca
Lindenwold
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Laptop!
7/4/2013

Customer review by Nelly4

5.0 stars 7/4/2013 by Nelly4
by Nelly4

This laptop exceeds my expectations! I cannot believe this great of a laptop came at this cheap of a price! In terms of pros, cons, and windows 8... Pros: -Cheaper than most laptops of this size and capacity. -4GB of RAM- functions very quickly. -Lots of storage space on hard drive. -3 USB ports -HDMI Cable port -CD/DVD Drive (that made me VERY happy) -SD Card (Card from camera) slot -Nice cord to charge it with (Yes, it is included) -Ability to adjust brightness, volume, and wifi from the keyboard (the F1, F2, F3, etc keys) -Ability to swipe the touchpad from left to right to switch (very quickly) between programs. -Battery life is about 4-6 hours. Pretty good for this priced laptop! THIS COMPUTER RUNS WINDOWS 8. Just so everyone knows, Windows 8 is not a monster. It doesn't destroy your computer at all- it can even make your computer better if you can get used to it. The big thing with Windows 8 is that it's like a smartphone, with apps. There's an app for documents, for photos, for news, for games, etc. Also, for anyone who ran any other version of windows, Windows 8 just takes your "Start" menu and spreads it out on a nice long screen, where you get to go through all the apps (you even get to pick the color and design of the big long screen). If you're more comfortable on the regular desktop, you just go into the "Desktop" app right away. Some people might not like windows 8, but this is where Microsoft is headed, so please, give it a try. I liked it, and I think most people will too. Cons: -Touchpad is a little touchy, but I've gotten used to it. -No back-lit keyboard. Doesn't really bug me, but it might bug some people. All in all, this was a fantastic purchase. I think anyone that is looking for a mid-sized laptop that has power but isn't giant will be pleased with this product. I have been running it for almost three weeks now and adore it. I think almost anyone else will too.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nelly4
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great price when bundled with other product
11/1/2013

Customer review by NYGiantsCrush

5.0 stars 11/1/2013 by NYGiantsCrush
by NYGiantsCrush

Not happy with Windows 8, but the laptop is fast, has plenty of memory and is functional.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NYGiantsCrush
Simi Valley, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good laptop and Reliable
7/5/2013

Customer review by oldman48grey

5.0 stars 7/5/2013 by oldman48grey
by oldman48grey

I have had my HP20002c29WM now for almost 5 months now . I had no problems with it until a week and a half ago , when it was doing it's HP Update , it downloaded the recommended updates , installed them like it had done in the past and did an auto restart . when this happened it went to a black screen with this on the screen '' NO BOOT DEVICE FOUND , PLEASE INSTALL A OPERATING SYSTEM '' .... CALLED HP and the techs went thru the trouble shooting steps and was told the hard drive had failed ( which i already knew ) they the got my pc's serial and model number and shipping info and said a new hard rive would arrive in 2-3 business days . I made the call at 1AM Tuesday morning and by Thursday evening my new 500 GB HD was delivered by FedEx to my home . HP customer service was very good and quick to get my computer back operational . installed Hard Drive , installed software and is working very well . HP has a great customer service/warranty service and would recommend this computer to anyone . Also they sent me free of charge the Windows 8 Software disks with Drivers and Application Disks . The one thing i have noticed on the Walmart site advertising this notebook is that it says it comes with only a 320 GB Hard drive With 4GB Ram ; when i bought mine 4 1/2 months ago it was 500 GB Hard Drive With 4GB Ram , so the only thing i can figure is that Walmart is charging the same price but with a smaller Hard Drive . With all that said , this is a very good computer for the price and i run my computer almost 24/7 . I do play some games on it and the ones i do play , the graphics card is very good also i play a lot of music videos and streams with outstanding quality and watching DVD movies the same way . The Altec Lansing speakers surprised me with the good loud sound coming from such little speakers , when you get this notebook make sure you go into your Realtek HD Audio Manager and set it up with the equalizer sound effects , speaker configuration and Omnisound and the speakers will sound very well and if you have external speakers with sub-woofer , it will rattle the windows with outstanding quality sound . so all in all this is a very durable notebook , great HP Customer Service and very nice looking notebook . Even though i had a hard drive go bad in 4 1/2 months , no big deal , ANY BRAND COMPUTER , from lowest priced to highest priced , something can tear up ...... but i still rate this notebook at 5 stars and would buy another one and definitely recommend this computer to others !

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oldman48grey
north carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent product for the price.
3/14/2013

Customer review by sj225

5.0 stars 3/14/2013 by sj225
by sj225

For the price this one is hard to beat. Very fast, light in weight and easy to use. I bought this for school purposes only so with downloads kept to a minimum and regular scheduled maintenance I don't see this laptop slowing down or freezing up any time in the near future. Windows 8 makes life easier as well. Good stuff!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sj225
Atlanta,GA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Inexpensive, but slow
5/6/2013

Customer review by YourFriendlyNeighbor

1.0 stars 5/6/2013 by YourFriendlyNeighbor
by YourFriendlyNeighbor

I bought this to replace an old computer I bought at Wal-Mart in 2007. However, without a dual core, it skipped and lagged while listening to music on Pandora and surfing the web when a web page loaded. That for me was unacceptable, my old one never did that. I returned the product, and thanks to a nice return policy, a full refund was granted.

Was this review helpful? (9) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YourFriendlyNeighbor
Decatur, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/26/2013

Customer review by TheTaz

5.0 stars 7/26/2013 by TheTaz
by TheTaz

Great lap top computer and as I get to know the new Microsoft 8 program better I will really enjoy the computer. The price was very good and your service was equally appreciated.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheTaz
Lake Havasu City, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/8/2013

Customer review by nasir5

4.0 stars 5/8/2013 by nasir5
by nasir5

This item was purchased for someone else. In talking with her, she's just loving it. Have to give it couple of months and see what she says then.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nasir5
Castle Hayne, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Windows 8 was an issue.
10/3/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 10/3/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I am sure that I'll eventually take the time to learn this new program but now is not the time. I need to be totally in control of my computer right now (new job) so I am going to have to stick with 7. I have returned the laptop.

Was this review helpful? (7) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Montgomery, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome product for the value.
5/18/2013

Customer review by MrsMocha

5.0 stars 5/18/2013 by MrsMocha
by MrsMocha

This notebook is a very good buy, Especially for beginners. You absolutely cannot find a better price. I know I've tried. I'm very pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrsMocha
Kansas City MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/16/2013

Customer review by Jeepgl

5.0 stars 6/16/2013 by Jeepgl
by Jeepgl

This is my husband's first computer and it's meets all of his expectations. Great for someone who is just starting out. Great buy!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jeepgl
Colrain MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1-20 of 75 reviews