Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 336 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

336 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

336 reviews | 4 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
165
4 stars
94
3 stars
22
2 stars
21
1 stars
34
1-20 of 235 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 235 total reviews
1-20 of 235 reviews
Don't let the poor reviews fool you!
4/28/2013

Customer review by Lahrue

5.0 stars 4/28/2013 by Lahrue
by Lahrue

I was in the market for an inexpensive laptop and I stumbled across this one. When I saw the review scores I was about to look elsewhere but for some reason I took the time to read through what others thought. I quickly realized that most of the mid scores were because of Windows 8 and not the laptop itself. The laptop had everything I was looking for and for the price and the no questions asked return policy I would give it a try. I have been blown away with what a gem this laptop is! Set your expectations to a realistic level. I have seen faster laptops, I have seen laptops play music louder and I have seen laptops with bigger screens. But all of those were hundreds of dollars more expensive. I use this one (I am typing this review on this laptop) for Facebook Reddit, youtube, hulu, netflixs and Facebook games. It works perfect. The HDMI cable allows me to plug it right into my flat screen TV and bingo, instant Movie! Microsoft Word and Excel work like a champ and email is just as easy. To be sure Windows 8 is frustrating having just come off of Windows 7 but I'm learning the new operating system. I have recommended this laptop to a number of friends!

Was this review helpful? (289) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lahrue
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Outstanding Product-Great for any age!
4/4/2013

Customer review by Punkin0976

5.0 stars 4/4/2013 by Punkin0976
by Punkin0976

I will start with the short & sweet version first. Right out of the box this was a very easy computer to set up. Extremely user-friendly walk through step by step! I got my mom & Dad one each. My dad is pretty good with computers, and mom used to be, but she had a small stroke (TIA), and hasn't had a computer of her own in about 3 years. Her short term memory was affected, and we wanted to get her back online so that she could play pogo and FB games like she used to. Dr. said it would be good for her to "exercise" her brain. She has to go slow, and repetition is key. This computer is perfect! Now a word of wisdom on Windows 8. Yes the Start page with the live tiles is intimidating, but here is a secret that no one has shared in any review: ON START PAGE, BOTTOM LEFT HAND TILE SAYS "DESKTOP"! It is just that, it takes you to an earlier version style that you can use that makes the transition to Windows 8 easier. Once you feel comfortable enough, you can view the tutorial for using the Windows 8 Live Tiles and take it for a spin! But, for my mom, she probably will not ever use the tiles, and that is the KEY THING TO REMEMBER, YOU DON"T HAVE TO EVER USE THE LIVE TILES, turn your computer on and just click the DESKTOP tile in the bottom left corner! I read a lot of reviews, and I think that people were overwhelmed and confused by the tiles that they wrote a reviews prematurely. I decided to wait a bit, so that I could play around with it and check it out fully. REMEMBER you DO have 15 days to check it out & if you really don't like it return WITH receipt, NO QUESTIONS ASKED!

Was this review helpful? (424) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Punkin0976
Olney, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very impressive laptop
4/2/2013

Customer review by juliehatesyouXD

5.0 stars 4/2/2013 by juliehatesyouXD
by juliehatesyouXD

I got the laptop for my birthday, and originally had a cheaper laptop in mind, but it was not in stock, so I decided that I need the laptop before I went on my vacation with my family. I honesty was not expecting much, all I wanted was internet, and for it to be fast. This laptop is not only fast, but it is extremely easy and fun to work with. I love it, and it is totally worth the money I paid for it. :)

Was this review helpful? (150) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
juliehatesyouXD
buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
So far, good
3/14/2013

Customer review by Yai74

4.0 stars 3/14/2013 by Yai74
by Yai74

Got this laptop a little over a month ago, so far I like it, still getting used to Windows 8, for the price I paid I cant complain, it does what I need, my only complaint would be the Norton antivirus already expired before the 60 days...Conclusion: so far...good.

Was this review helpful? (141) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Yai74
MOUNTAIN HOME, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
$300 - yeah baby!!
4/18/2013

Customer review by HappySwede

5.0 stars 4/18/2013 by HappySwede
by HappySwede

Well, when I ordered this lpt for my 12 year old son, I felt good about the lpt itself (since I’m on my second one and I love it). I use mine for work and pleasure and it has been good to me, and so was the previous one. However, I was concerned about Windows 8 since all the press is bad and people I know say they don’t like it. Now let me tell you, I opened up the box, plugged in the lpt and started it up. Once I did, I was a bit lost. I was lost for about 10 to 12 min before I had wrapped my head around it. The W8 operating system is intuitive and very usable. Everything is right there. The problem seems to be that most users (including myself) are used to go looking for a function or a program by digging through menus and they therefore get lost having it right in front of them. Anyway, I configured and secured the lpt for my son prior to handing it over to him. Once I did, I was mesmerized watching him grasping how to move around within minutes. He got it right away. What is even more impressive is the speed he now moves around. Amazing! Also, my other son and my daughter both use MacBooks and they say “the W8 lpt is really neat” and they seem to want one. Who knew? Especially after reading all the negative press. To be fair, the Mac’s are superior when it comes to video editing for sure. They also cost 2-3 times more. I have W7 and I want W8 (then again, I do not do video editing). Hopefully this review helps. Just be aware that you have to shift your thinking from menu digging to having it right in front of you. Oh, I forgot, the hardware is good. Not cutting edge but more than most need, including myself. Office is fast, browsing is fast, and watching movies using a headset is awesome (screen is crystal clear). Not to mention, the speed of the lpt in general and the ports it comes with. Has plenty of memory and storage as well. My son loves it and I am happy for him. I want one.

Was this review helpful? (96) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappySwede
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I like it!
3/31/2013

Customer review by HPlover42

5.0 stars 3/31/2013 by HPlover42
by HPlover42

I don't understand why this laptop is getting such bad reviews. I like it, haven't had a problem yet. Windows 8 takes some getting use too but other than that I have no complaints! For the money I think it is a great buy! :)

Was this review helpful? (67) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HPlover42
Somerset, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
HP 2000 windows 8
8/25/2013

Customer review by Spw1970

5.0 stars 8/25/2013 by Spw1970
by Spw1970

This computer was a real steal that I got for $278 online and picked up at my local walmart. This computer has just about everything you need. Now on the down size is that it has windows 8 bout if your not familiar with this new operating system., its very easy to figure out. Since this operating system came out, I've heard bad reviews from everybody that's bought this windows 8. But right out of the box with some quick easy instructions that are included, its very easy to understand how to use this computer. Its loaded with tons of free apps and many other things you can use with this HP computer. Also comes with mini web cam that's really decent. Since now with windows 8 there is no start bar or start window and the start page now has LIVE tiles you can move around and make the page your own home. Its the fastest computer I've owned so far. as fast as you turn it on its there for you to use after you put in your password and you on the internet as a breeze. I would recommend this HP 2000 to everyone who needs a faster computer.

Was this review helpful? (47) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Spw1970
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice Computer
3/29/2013

Customer review by John359

4.0 stars 3/29/2013 by John359
by John359

This is a nice computer from HP. I like that HP puts the ventilation on the side. There is also one on the bottom in the middle. This should help to keep it cool. The computer comes with a camera and some nice software already installed that have many features like putting a hat on you or changing the backround. I wasn't impressed on the screen. I think its like 720p the picture isn't sharp enough for me. Outside the screen its a nice computer. When buying this computer the first thing you need to do is create a system restore. Since no System Disk comes with it, you can find yourself in trouble in no time. Outside this the computer is good. Now to the problem. Its Windows 8. Its horrific, Microsoft really screw up on this. First of all it isn't like any other system So it will take you probably 4 hours to learn how to work it. Second there is no Shut Down. So you will have to log off and everything to shutdown. Next thing is you can have apps but they have to be windows 8 apps from the windows store. So kindle users or Ipad don't think your apps like temple run will work. And once an App is running when you exit it stays running. So in no time you can have 8 different program running at the same time slowing your computer down. I have to use task manager to close out of the apps. And its a pain. But on the other hand the apps are nice and there are many to choose from for free but a lot cost 5.00 or more. The next thing it didn't come with games really. I think just Mahjong, all others it came with takes you to the store to download the trail verson. Some games like chess are free but have download them at the store. All games run as an app, and takes full screen. Windows 8, I hate it but like the apps. I mean what to say, Microsoft has made it clear that they are going to force everyone into windows 8 Sooner or later because they want in on the app market. If your computer savvy and want to take sometime setting it up then go for it. Its just a pain to deal with at times. On the other hand if you want to use it lightly and run a few apps from the app screen then go for it. The one thing that is great from windows 8 is it boots up in half the time windows vista does. I have restarted and shut it down several times it works quick and good everytime. I did have a problem with windows update but on restart it fix itself. So I think microsoft has fix stuck updates and other problems. As far as this computer goes its nice HP did a good job just wish the screen was better. Before buying do some research on windows 8.

Was this review helpful? (67) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
John359
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent For the Price
4/15/2013

Customer review by K2245

4.0 stars 4/15/2013 by K2245
by K2245

I bought this laptop at Walmart for $280 for homework and basic needs. It is an excellent laptop for the price and I love the Windows 8. I have heard quite a few bad reviews because of Windows 8, but I recommend you google a Windows 8 tutorial, or go to the tutorial that comes with the laptop. There was a gentleman complaining about not being able to shut down the laptop or close apps, but you can actually close the app by going to the top of the screen with your mouse, clicking with the left button, and then dragging it to the bottom (much like you do when deleting apps on your phone) and the shut down is available in the Charms section. You place your mouse in the upper right corner, a small menu will appear, click Settings, and then select Shut Down. Also, there was a woman complaining the computer froze up on her right out of the box. I spoke to the Walmart Associates about that, and they said I could bring the laptop back within 15 days if I had any problems, and that it came with a 1 year warranty, so I would highly recommend this laptop and to just simply return it if you are unsatisfied.

Was this review helpful? (49) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
K2245
Adrian, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best computer for the price!
8/7/2013

Customer review by Ashrust96

5.0 stars 8/7/2013 by Ashrust96
by Ashrust96

I was in the need for a new laptop since mine of 4 years was beginning not to work as fast as it used to. For about two weeks I searched around for a HP laptop at a low cost but that works well and stumbled upon this one. This is perfect! I got it when it was on sale $278 and couldn't have been more thrilled. It's perfect for light photo editing, Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Google Docs, Tumblr, and other tasks. It also has a very clean and professional look to it. Don't let the negative reviews fool you! They are mainly center around the Windows 8 design. Personally, I like it. Yes it does get some time to get used to if you've come from Windows 7, Vista, or XP, but if you play with it a little, you'll get used to it in no time! If you're still having troubles with W8 check out some tutorials on YouTube, very helpful!

Was this review helpful? (30) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ashrust96
Portland, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
So sorry I purchased this laptop....
3/12/2013

Customer review by MandysMommy

1.0 stars 3/12/2013 by MandysMommy
by MandysMommy

First, let me say, I think HP makes a quality product. This is our THIRD HP laptop. We purchased this one for my teenage daughter to use at home for schoolwork. It has been nothing but trouble since I first opened the box. It froze up the first time I turned it on. The 60 days of Norton's antivirus has expired after about a week of use, and I can't turn on the Windows defender; believe me, I've tried. Firefox, which works perfectly on every other computer I've ever used, freezes up on this one. It takes multiple attempts to update an app. It does boot incredibly fast. The screen quality is incredible. Overall, however, I am very disappointed. May I return it?

Was this review helpful? (276) (128)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MandysMommy
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Pretty darn good
10/8/2013

Customer review by hollywowgamer

4.0 stars 10/8/2013 by hollywowgamer
by hollywowgamer

I had to return the first one because it didn't work after the set up. Test it out before you put all your personal info in it. Walmart exchanged it no problem at all. I play World of Warcraft and it works/plays pretty darn good. The sound is appropriate for my gaming. I use Hulu and it's a beautiful picture but the sound is too low so I use my old speakers from my old computer. That part is a pain. Maybe the sound is something I still have to work on. I also have old copy of Office 2007 and it works fine so far as I can tell. It's not the best computer but I am really enjoying having it for the price. I could not afford to pay more. I also purchased the extended warranty which I highly recommend for a mobile device such as this. Save the packaging if you buy it. Also it's not hot, doesn't heat up like other computers at all.

Was this review helpful? (29) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hollywowgamer
Yulee, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fussy and glitchy
3/17/2013

Customer review by tzetter

1.0 stars 3/17/2013 by tzetter
by tzetter

Likely fine if you just turn it on and use it but if you attempt to properly configure it, replace av software, run updates etc. expect inconsistent and glitchy behavior. It hangs, lags, requires multiple attempts etc. likely better options out there. This one is going back. IT pro with 20 years experience.

Was this review helpful? (69) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tzetter
Statesboro
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worst Laptop I Have Ever Owned
3/15/2013

Customer review by Missbks

1.0 stars 3/15/2013 by Missbks
by Missbks

This is by far the worst laptop I have ever purchased. It it so slow and randomly closes pages. I tried this laptop for one night and will be returning it tomorrow morning. My three year old laptop is faster than this one. This laptop is a waste of money and I would never recommend anyone to purchase it. Expect disappointment if you do!

Was this review helpful? (68) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Missbks
Winchester, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Didn't really get to use!
8/16/2013

Customer review by MsRed1031

1.0 stars 8/16/2013 by MsRed1031
by MsRed1031

I had this computer for three days. The first day is took forever to set up the system, this laptop ran so slow. I tried putting some pictures & music on it, which took forever. I wasn't putting a lot of pictures of music on it either. I finally got everything on the first day that I wanted to. The second day I turned it on and it kept telling me that "pc has encountered an error, system restarting". It did this 4 times in a row. After the four time it finally starting work okay, but told me I needed to update, so I did. It took one update 10 hours to load. The third day after it loaded the pc had another error & restarted, plus when it was done restarting it told be that it had a failure updating, so that 10 hours was for nothing. The laptop by this point to me was just a piece of junk. I tried shutting it down, but it would always have another pc error & restart. It took me 3 times to finally get the laptop to shut off. I returned this computer later that day. I just got a refund. I went somewhere else for a laptop. :(

Was this review helpful? (25) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MsRed1031
Nixa Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
not bad for a budget laptop
8/20/2013

Customer review by rainmanva

4.0 stars 8/20/2013 by rainmanva
by rainmanva

I had been in the market for a laptop for several years now, but every single laptop I looked at was WAY overpriced. I did my research and decided on this model. Below are the pros and cons. Pros beautiful display Good sound nice exterior blue finish nice HD webcam comfortable keyboard hdmi output adequate usb port access cons -somewhat mediocre performance, (however this was drastically changed by adding a 4gb memory module. Costs about 34.00 online) -windows 8, windows 8 by far is the biggest con of the entire system. Clunky and different from all the other window verisons. All in all, not a bad budget laptop, don't expect a fast gaming laptop, but if you do normal web browsing emailing, and facebook, etc you should be fine. I would suggest you upgrade the ram where it only comes with 4gb from the factory. And invest in a cooling pad. They are about 14.00 at walmart. That way your new laptop can breathe easier and won't overheat.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rainmanva
Chincoteague, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great laptop
4/6/2013

Customer review by 123DL123

5.0 stars 4/6/2013 by 123DL123
by 123DL123

i bought this laptop for my mother. she loves it. it takes 12-15 seconds to start the computer. very fast. has hdmi output, vibrant color. good for basic usage like surf the internet, youtube, emails, skype, ms word. the only downside is windows 8, not user friendly, complicated. it's not going to be an issue if its for me but i gave it to my mom who's not so good into computer but anyhow, i'm here to help her in any way. so its a win win still.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
123DL123
Quartz Hill, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A good back up resource away from the office
4/9/2013

Customer review by SkierBob

5.0 stars 4/9/2013 by SkierBob
by SkierBob

After having 2 failures from my main computer in my office within 3 months, I bought this lap-top which was a great buy. I now have the identical information on each computer. If one fails, I've got the other one to rely on and I don't have to worry about any business interruption. Besides, I can bring the laptop in the field which is now a great asset especially if I have to look up some important information that might be needed.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SkierBob
Manchester, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far so good.....
3/17/2013

Customer review by GrandTheftModer

4.0 stars 3/17/2013 by GrandTheftModer
by GrandTheftModer

For the price I paid this computer is good if something happens I still have 15 days warranty no questions asked and I get my money back.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrandTheftModer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I love this laptop
3/26/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/26/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I just bought this today and I love it it does everything I need it to do its fast the camara is good I'm going to keep this

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Los lunas nm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 235 total reviews
1-20 of 235 reviews