Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 18 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

18 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

18 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

50%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 stars
5
1-18 of 18 total reviews
50%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great bread but recurrant issues with machine
9/8/2014

Customer review by Schnabel

3.0 stars 9/8/2014 by Schnabel
by Schnabel

We absolutely love the bread that comes from this machine, along with the doughs we mix for pizzas and buns, etc. Like others have posted here, I have had the bread pan jump out of position during the initial kneading of the dough. MEGA annoying but I created a fix. I drilled a small hole in the clip and use a broad headed screw whose thread fits through the hole to keep it down. Works great but clearly I should not have to do this. I put the pan in and then place the screw on the pan. Clearly, you have to remove the screw to take the pan out again. A clamp mechanism would be a great thing to add because some of the recipes require mixing of thick doughs that cause the pan to pop out. The other annoying occurrence for us is that the pans only last about 18 months before they start to leak making overnight making of bread impossible. Cuisinart was great about replacing the first pan on warranty but now I am faced with buying one. I see this as a design flaw that should be fixed but I am not sure how they would do that. Because of the quality of the finished product, I would recommend the machine with the added instructions above.

Schnabel
Thunder Bay, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Too technical
12/16/2013

Customer review by Shuckey

3.0 stars 12/16/2013 by Shuckey
by Shuckey
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The inclosed recipe and instructions booklet are not specific enough with regards as to when to take out the mixer paddle and the print is very small. After 4 try's, I have managed to bake 2 loaves that were edible.To be completely fair, I purchased a Bread recipe book and will keep trying before my final review.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shuckey
J,ville Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Another fix to keep bread pan in place
8/2/2014

Customer review by Janedough

2.0 stars 8/2/2014 by Janedough
by Janedough

I previously stated I had used a 'fix' for keeping the bread pan in place by putting a loaf pan on top of bread pan, closing the lid, and then putting a 3lb ankle weight on top of the lid and this enabled the breadmaker to go through all the stages and make a good loaf of bread. eventually this 'fix' would not keep the bread pan in place, the hinges on the lid broke. Now, I put the loaf pan on top of the bread pan, put the lid without hinges on top of this, then I placed my wooden physiotherapy Wobble Board on top of the lid and just for 'good luck' placed my ankle weight on top of that---probably this last step not needed. Indeed, the bread pan stayed in place during all the kneading. I remove the wobbleboard and loaf pan after the kneading has stopped and just place the hingeless lid on top. The breadmaker pan keeps in place even through the very short kneading process further into the cycle and the bread bakes up superb. Hope this might help some others to keep their machine working if they have one of these 'jumping' bread pans. I have also been told that possibly a bungee cord around the machine might work too. I do not leave the house while this breadmaker is operating in this fashion.

Janedough
Summerland, BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Poor design
4/30/2015

Customer review by JodyC43

1.0 stars 4/30/2015 by JodyC43
by JodyC43

I loved this machine when I first got it as a Christmas present 2 years ago. I loved using the delay setting and having fresh bread in the morning for my kids but... That only lasted about a year before the pan would no longer stay in the clips. It jumps all over and comes off causing the bread to not knead. I Macguyvered a solution and used a small skewer to hold the pan in place but this meant I could no longer use the delay setting. :(. Now the rubber at the bottom of the pan has completely come apart causing liquid to leak into the machine. Very disappointing. Not worth the money.

JodyC43
Toronto, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
100% happy
8/10/2014

Customer review by EHSTAR

5.0 stars 8/10/2014 by EHSTAR
by EHSTAR

I love the bread maker! I have worn out two already. It's the greatest. I've used it every day, and ended up with two that I used for my Bed & Breakfast. Every one loved the bread I baked. I have read several reviews on here and the only thing that I can think of why so many people are having trouble is that I know the measurements have to exact. I have made many loaves of bread that ended up too big, by the time they were cooked they were pushing the lid up. But no big deal for me. Also if I cut back just a fraction, I would end up with a smaller loaf, but still very good.If there isn't quit enough water(liquid) it WILL made the dough very stiff and start bumping around on the counter. Once I figured that stuff out, I would be lost with out it.

EHSTAR
Saskatchewan, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Disappointed
4/17/2015

Customer review by Helen

1.0 stars 4/17/2015 by Helen
by Helen

My first bread machine lasted five years consequently, I bought another one. It lasted six months and then I returned it for another. That one lasted three months, so again I returned it for another one. This one has lasted just short of six months. Again I am having a problem with it. It kneads for a couple of minutes and stops for at least a minute, starts up again and hesitates again and I start wondering if it's going to start again. The loaves are about half the size and I am using exactly the same ingredients. I don't think I'll even bother returning it AGAIN! I am going to try another brand.

Helen
Langley, BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Irritating issues
9/22/2014

Customer review by ranchbaker

2.0 stars 9/22/2014 by ranchbaker
by ranchbaker

I bake a loaf of bread per week. The loaf pan lasts 12 months before the seals in the paddle spindle fail and liquid leaks out of pan. Postage costs to ship unit back to Toronto for warranty work was higher than the cost to purchase a replacement pan at locale Cuisinart parts supplier, so useless to file a warranty claim. Loaf pan also jumps out of clips meant to hold it in place during the kneading cycle. My solution: place a brick in a plastic container on top of the loaf pan, remove breadmaker lid, remove dough from breadmaker and bake in oven. I did recommend this unit: the purchaser had exactly the same issues, so stupid design flaws.

ranchbaker
Calgary, AB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Works very well and makes wonderful bread!
6/8/2014

Customer review by Jesuiscoureur

5.0 stars 6/8/2014 by Jesuiscoureur
by Jesuiscoureur

I bought the Cuisinart CBK-200C breadmaker at the beginining of 2014 to replace a first generation Black & Decker machine and in five months I have made 38 loaves. I was impressed enough after the first few loaves that I bought a second one for a brother who can't eat gluten bread (the machine has a gluten-free setting). He uses it regularily, too. Generally I use the timer to make bread overnight. I especially like having the pause feature that my old machine did not have. I bought this breadmaker on the recommendation of a friend who has one. My only reservation is that the machine is a bit loud when mixing. The breadmaker has been problem-free.

Jesuiscoureur
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Pan will not remain in place during kneading
6/2/2014

Customer review by Unhappy

1.0 stars 6/2/2014 by Unhappy
by Unhappy

Do NOT buy this! I am very unhappy with this product. I have many Cuisinart machines and have found them reliable and of good quality. While I have no issue with the quality of the machine per se, it is useless. I have to remain within arms reach in order to stop the machine, re-seat the pan and push start. Over and over and over. With hovering I can get it to produce a loaf of bread. It would be less work to do it all by hand. Basically a huge paper weight! Don't buy this. I now am leary of purchasing other Cuisinart appliances.

Unhappy
Waterloo, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Problem
1/5/2015

Customer review by Bread queen

1.0 stars 1/5/2015 by Bread queen
by Bread queen

I am on my 2nd bread maker. I make about three loaves a week and I like the results BUT I have replced the pan and paddle 5 times!! this is a poor design as the seal breaks down, then the ingredients start to leak I to the pan. The new pan and paddle can be oredered and delivered but this adds to the cost of the overall product and is annoying. What can't Cuisinart fix this issue?

Bread queen
Collingwood, Ontario
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Reliable and dependable
2/3/2015

Customer review by fhmj

5.0 stars 2/3/2015 by fhmj
by fhmj

Used between 5 and 7 days a week and still going strong, this has been a staple in our kitchen for over 2 years. Only trouble is the seal around the paddle shaft wears out after 6-9 mths of this heavy use. However, new pans are only twenty bucks or so and very efficient to order online.

fhmj
vancouver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Useless for GF bread
12/7/2014

Customer review by BTBT

1.0 stars 12/7/2014 by BTBT
by BTBT

I parted with my beloved "contaminated" Panasonic bread maker when I was diagnosed with Celiac disease. I have tried several reputable Gf bread mixes and this machine won't mix or make it into bread. You get a pile of browned flour at the end. A complete waste of money so don't buy it for GF bread. Hugely disappointing and I will never buy another cuisinart product again.

BTBT
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Durable
10/2/2014

Customer review by miyoch

4.0 stars 10/2/2014 by miyoch
by miyoch

I bought this bread maker at least 7 years ago. I bake 3 loafs every 2 weeks (about 80 loafs a year and 560 loafs since) and it still works properly. One thing other reviewers keep saying is the bread pan keep popping up. Mine has the same problem. My solution is to put 2 silicon pot holders (the small v-shape one) between the pan and the wall of the bread maker and it will stop it. It is a design flaw but it it durable.

miyoch
Alberta, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Argh! Popping up pan when kneading!
8/20/2014

Customer review by EmdFors

2.0 stars 8/20/2014 by EmdFors
by EmdFors

Sorry for the others on here, but I am glad I am not alone with this issue! The 'mad scramble' is helping me to look for another brand. The machine I have now is a replacement for one that stopped baking properly, but now is out of warranty - so I am stuck with this 'jumping bean' until I can afford another one(from another company, if possible). The bread is fine, though.

EmdFors
Cornwall, Ontario
Would recommend to a friend? No
My new Cuisinart CONVECTION
5/6/2014

Customer review by maggie

2.0 stars 5/6/2014 by maggie
by maggie

bread maker does not mix all the dough some is left on side of pan. I have to watch it and push dough down into pan as it is mixing. I left it once and as it didn't all mix ,bread had unmixed dough on sides so had to garbage it.

maggie
NS , Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Forth loaf and still loving it.
2/3/2014

Customer review by HappyCamper00

5.0 stars 2/3/2014 by HappyCamper00
by HappyCamper00
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This unit is well designed, easy to use, and makes bread worth eating! Made a simple loaf, with all purpose flour, it was pretty good, then a French loaf, made with bread flour, the difference in crust was noticeable, the crust was flaky and crunchy and the bread flour(having more gluten) made the bread texture chewier. MMMmmm Banana Walnut Bread (nice included recipe) was third loaf. Making the fourth one now. I have used a few different bread makers over a few years this one is a good one!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyCamper00
SD Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great
2/1/2014

Customer review by aga12

5.0 stars 2/1/2014 by aga12
by aga12
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

great machine with 1000 options, made awesome breads from booklet attached to this machine!!! my family love it!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aga12
wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good
2/2/2014

Customer review by Knmbailey91

5.0 stars 2/2/2014 by Knmbailey91
by Knmbailey91
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very good

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Knmbailey91
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.