Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 15 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

15 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

15 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

53%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-15 of 15 total reviews
53%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Tivo is still the best DVR on the market
7/7/2013

Customer review by cleroks

5.0 stars 7/7/2013 by cleroks
by cleroks
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My wife and I were looking for ways to save money and our $90/month DirecTV bill was on the list. After realizing three fourths of our recorded programs were from over-the-air channels we decided to dump DirecTV and get a Tivo. We knew about the $15/month charge for the Tivo service so that did not surprise us. Mounted an antenna on our DirecTV mast and switched the cables from the dish to the antenna and we're now very happily Tivo'ing our regular programs and paying $15/month instead of $90/month. And the HD over-the-air broadcasts are actually better quality than the same channels received via DirecTV. For more programming you can also subscribe to Netflix ($8/month) and/or Hulu Plus ($8/month) and/or Amazon Prime ($6/month) and Tivo will find your programs from those sources. Even if you subscribed to all 3 your monthly TV bill is much less than DirecTV, Dish Network or cable. Overall, a very happy customer.

Was this review helpful? (58) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cleroks
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great option for Over the Air Channels!
4/8/2013

Customer review by mVb1975

5.0 stars 4/8/2013 by mVb1975
by mVb1975

Ignore the posts from people who don't realize you need an internet connection and a monthly subscriber fee to utilize this service ($15 per month for one; $13 per month each additional box). If you pay for cable, just rent their DVRs. However, if you solely use over the air channels, Netflix, Hulu, or Amazon for content, this box is awesome. All the online services are integrated in the Tivo menus. Each box can record two shows at once or 4 shows at once with two boxes. You can also stream recorded shows from one box to the other if you're connected on a network. You cannot notice any degradation from the HD recordings to the live broadcast, so IMO this is a great alternative to paying all those cable and satellite fees.

Was this review helpful? (55) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mVb1975
Jackson, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/20/2013

Customer review by BillyinGeorgia

5.0 stars 7/20/2013 by BillyinGeorgia
by BillyinGeorgia

I actually own an older Tivo which can burn recorded content to DVD. My older Tivo does not handle HD so I am strongly considering purchasing this unit. I won't be able to burn DVD's but the storage is large enough to store a lot of HD content. I just wanted to comment in response to someone who suggested renting the cable company DVR. That's well and good if you never record anything you want to keep. I say that because if you move, the cable company DVR fails or is upgraded, etc. your recorded shows go away and you start over. I like owning my DVR because I am a college football fan and want to keep some games I've recorded forever. Granted my Tivo could fail some day but my older unit is well over five years old and has never given any trouble at all. The DVR's from my cable company thus far have rarely lasted a year without having to be replaced.

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BillyinGeorgia
Leesburg, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
2/25/2013

Customer review by Rsuppe1

5.0 stars 2/25/2013 by Rsuppe1
by Rsuppe1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Canceled satellite tv. Went toOTA (over the air) antenna and this tivo gives me the same or more options than the DVR fro Satellite tv.

Was this review helpful? (73) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rsuppe1
thornton, co
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not cost effective. Requires TiVo service $15/mo
3/6/2013

Customer review by profess17

3.0 stars 3/6/2013 by profess17
by profess17
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First, this DVR is unlikely to save you money. While you may save the cost of renting a box from your Cable company, you pay $15 a month to TiVo, else you can't record any series, only individual episodes. Further, installation is a major headache. You must get a CableCARD *and* SDV Tuning Adapter (required since Cable companies now use switched digital video) from your Cable Company. These aren't free, they'll rent them to you. The SDV Tuning Adapter is about half the size of the DVR, so a full size set top box. So, I picked up a self-install kit. Now, it isn't rocket science, it just plugs in. However, trying to provision (activate) the Tuning Adapter and CableCARD was a nightmare. For some reason Charter couldn't seem to get it provisioned right. I had to pay $30 to have a technician come out, who did nothing more than I did: get on the phone with somebody who can provision it. After he went through the process, it worked this time. I had tried to get them to go through the provisioning process again on the phone, but they insisted on an install. I suspect they like to make it as difficult as possible. I probably wasted 6 hours in total trying to get it to work. Since it finally got set up, it has worked fairly well so far. It does require an Internet connection to download programming information, so have one ready. I am worried by numerous reports of additional problems with Tuning Adapters, but so far so good. The TiVo interface is a bit dated now. Most other DVRs seem much simpler to use, but that's just me. The picture decoding is great. The features are great. The HD size is 500GB, which is great. It has eSATA ports for expansion. All in all, it was a major mistake for me. Ending up spending more money in the short and long term, and got a DVR that is nicer than my old SA 8300HDC, but not that much better for the price.

Was this review helpful? (61) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
profess17
Morristown, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
TiVo Premier
12/29/2013

Customer review by CoffeeKip

4.0 stars 12/29/2013 by CoffeeKip
by CoffeeKip
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The setup took forever first because nothing on the outside of the box said anything about needed a Wireless G USB adapter. I couldn't find one locally so I had to order one online - for another $25 with shipping. I have an outdoor antenna but TiVo wouldn't work with it. I found out the antenna had to be a digital antenna so I had to go buy one. I followed the TiVo setup instructions exactly but could not get it to work. In TiVo's defense their chatline was excellent. I was able to talk with someone quickly and the person I talked to was knowledgeable and polite and walked me thru the process. Now it is working perfectly. I love the TiVo TV guide and it is well worth the $17 per month. The recordings are easy to set up and so far I love it!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CoffeeKip
Greenville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The best DVR you will ever own
9/28/2013

Customer review by Bubbabear64

5.0 stars 9/28/2013 by Bubbabear64
by Bubbabear64

I've been a Tivo customer for seven years and just retire my Series 2 DVR. I upgraded to two Premier boxes. Each box contains the Comcast multi stream card and a wireless N adapter. I had to update the router in our house with a wireless N. If you want to stream HDTV, you need wireless N because of the bandwidth required for HD. Since the wireless router didn't include two channels or the 5 ghz signal we were having some connection problems with one of the Tivos and a Kindle Fire tablet. To solve the problem, Tivo sent me (at no charge) another wireless N adapter to plug into the router to serve as a bridge. Once the other Tivo wireless N adapters were paired to the bridge, all the wireless networking problems went away. Both Tivos will communicate with each other and can stream between the two of them as well as the other services without a problem (as long as you use the wireless 5 ghz signal). Tivo to Go on the PC only takes less than 15 minutes to download a 60 minute show from the Tivo (that is a huge improvement). If you use Comcast, Xfinity is operational from the Tivo remotes as well. If you want to manage all your shows you watch on a app or on the internet, this is the device that will do it. The subscription fee is required for each one but if you return you Comcast DVR boxes and use two M cards, you will only be paying for one. If you do it right, you will end up saving money on your cable bill.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bubbabear64
Lebanon, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Tivo, A great DVR!
9/28/2013

Customer review by Gariance

5.0 stars 9/28/2013 by Gariance
by Gariance
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this new Tivo because it had more recording time than my old one. It has an updated interface that took me a couple of days to get used to. I like being able to record more shows in HD. It also has a few extra features that my old Tivo didn't have. So far, it is a great addition to my home theater set up.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gariance
Hudsonville, Mi.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Do not work without the "Service Plan"
2/20/2013

Customer review by FRANK20

1.0 stars 2/20/2013 by FRANK20
by FRANK20
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

You can not record or see the channel information without paying the 15.00 dollars for the service, also, they make recordings and tamper with the channel list that has been programmed from the cable company.

Was this review helpful? (54) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FRANK20
Punta Gorda, FL.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Tivo what?
3/25/2013

Customer review by charris524

1.0 stars 3/25/2013 by charris524
by charris524
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I recently got rid of my Cable and thought that I could use a dvr to record shows. But when I found out that the Tivo Service was 15.00 a month, I returned this item. I could get cable or the dish if I wanted to pay somebody every month. They should tell you that there is a service that makes this really work.

Was this review helpful? (17) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
charris524
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/12/2013

Customer review by no4name00

1.0 stars 3/12/2013 by no4name00
by no4name00
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Basic tivo use to be free , not worth paying for it so sent it back for refund ..

Was this review helpful? (17) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
no4name00
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Local cable company would not work with TIVO
7/12/2013

Customer review by Tebow2012

2.0 stars 7/12/2013 by Tebow2012
by Tebow2012
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Wanted TiVo b/c we switched from dish to local cable and the TiVo would not play the HD channels from the local cable provider. I called TiVo and they basically said it is what it is, they can't help unless the local cable provider would give me a card. I returned the product with no problems within a week of having it. I will probably end up changing back to dish.

Was this review helpful? (3) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tebow2012
Waycross, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/22/2013

Customer review by Bookworm117

1.0 stars 8/22/2013 by Bookworm117
by Bookworm117
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

You have to have a card from my cable company for it to work. My cable company doesn't have one.

Was this review helpful? (4) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bookworm117
Paintsville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Tivo didn't work
1/14/2014

Customer review by arkansaskid

1.0 stars 1/14/2014 by arkansaskid
by arkansaskid
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It wouldn't set up and connect to the internet. so i returned it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
arkansaskid
Hope, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
TiVo rocks
5/19/2013

Customer review by Tecnowlogy

5.0 stars 5/19/2013 by Tecnowlogy
by Tecnowlogy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Awesome dvr and great apps for mobile devices.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tecnowlogy
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.