Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 262 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

262 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

262 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
210
4 stars
33
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 stars
11
1-20 of 243 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 243 total reviews
1-20 of 243 reviews
You just think your carpet is clean!
11/16/2013

Customer review by NV501

5.0 stars 11/16/2013 by NV501
by NV501

From NV501. If you will tolerate me while I digress to make a point, you will understand what I have to say. For years, I have prided myself on having a clean house and thought it was. It is not that I am a clean freak but we’ve worked very hard to have what we have and I wanted to keep the carpet and tile at its best. Then, my husband began coughing to the point he had to have a heart stress test. Everything was negative but the coughing continued. There is no cigarette smoke in our house. So, every other day, to alleviate his incessant coughing, I would dust and vacuum with my upright, well known brand (begins with a K) containing a bag that took two mules and a horse to attach it tightly. Even after I vacuumed, I would have to dust the furniture again and wonder how on earth the dust returned so quickly. Sometimes the bag would stay on the vacuum and other times; all the dust would go inside the bag container. To get rid of the accumulated dust, I would haul the heavy thing outside and blow everything from its nooks and crannies. After several repairs to a wheel that flew down the hallway and cutting my fingers on the bag area, I banned the vacuum cleaner to my garage. That is when I bought my Shark Rotator Lift Away Bagless Upright Vacuum, model NV501. It arrived earlier than its intended arrival time from a Wal-Mart Distributor. A week before it arrived, I had moved all the furniture in my house, cleaned all the curtains and drapery and vacuumed with my old vacuum cleaner. The house looked clean. Anxious to try the Shark to see if it lived up to its hype, I went to the bedroom and began vacuuming … this is one room! When I saw the miniscule particles of dust (so tiny it looked like someone poured a whole container of baby powder on my carpet) and sloughed off body skin (we all do that) I was mortified. What else was in my carpet? Dust mites … probably so but not for long! The next day, once again I moved the furniture and did a deep clean on the floors and upholstery. I was aghast. The amount of dirt and dust collected by the Shark NV501 made me sick to my stomach. I couldn’t believe all these years my carpeted bedrooms and living room floors contained this much filthy dirt. Believe this or not but I continue to get atomic sized particles from my carpet. However, each time I’ve vacuumed since I purchased the Shark, the amount is getting smaller and smaller. I am winning the battle and there is no more coughing. If you are wondering about the Shark NV501, I can attest it does what it is supposed to do. The head swivels, doesn’t lose suction, is easy to maneuver, lightweight, will vacuum deep pile carpet and vinyl, hardwood or tile with a push of a button and the attachments are easy to change. The only thing that I might not like is how you push a tiny area with your foot to engage the handle downward but it is a moot subject. Very little dust is on my furniture and the house smells clean. Am I pushing this Shark NV501 … yes, I am and I am not affiliated with any one in the company, have stock in the company or asked to do this review. I am just a very pleased, “color me a happy camper doing the Snoopy Dance” consumer with this product.

Was this review helpful? (641) (43)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NV501
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome!!!
6/3/2013

Customer review by artist07

5.0 stars 6/3/2013 by artist07
by artist07

This is the best vacuum I have ever used. It's not very heavy and it has great suction, it does not tip over when you use the attachments. I love how it's an up-right, a canister, and how it lifts away for doing a stair case. I also love how you can push a button to stop the brush from turning so you can use it on hardwood & tile floors. It's also more quiet than most vacs. I love the 5 year warranty and if you have any problems with your vac, shark will send you a prepaid shipping label so they can fix your problem with the vacuum. Now that says a lot about a company to stand behind their product and to also cover shipping and handling both ways. Don't hesitate to buy it, you will not be sorry. I am ordering a second one because I live in a two story home and I prefer having one vacuum upstairs and one for down stairs so this should tell you how much I love this vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (151) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
artist07
South Beach, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Shark Professional Vacuum
5/4/2013

Customer review by Siouxmax

5.0 stars 5/4/2013 by Siouxmax
by Siouxmax

This is the BEST vacuum I have ever had. Light and easy to move around. After I had cleaned the carpet with the old vacuum, thinking it was clean, this one filled the tank with dirt and dog hair! I am so impressed. I tell everyone!

Was this review helpful? (231) (43)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Siouxmax
Southern Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works as advertised and excellent performance!
2/1/2014

Customer review by sp999

5.0 stars 2/1/2014 by sp999
by sp999

After significant research and analysis I decided to get this Shark Rotator NV501 over Dyson. Looks like I made the right choice based on usage so far. Assembly was simple and clear based on very good documentation. Ample amount of accessories came with the package. The suction power is wonderful and the dust bin is large enough to hold dirt from 3-4 rooms. The dumping of dirt is quick and easy. The canister option is nice as it is easy to do the steps with the lighter base. The duster accessory is great for dusting upholstery and desks. Overall a great vacuum. Since it comes with 5-yr warranty I hope it lasts that long. Will update this review after few months of usage. ONE BIG WARNING IS to check with Shark which stores you can buy it from to honor the warranty. If you buy from Amazon the warranty is only valid for 90 days as per Shark. As per Shark - "Our products are sold at these popular retail outlets: Best Buy, Bed Bath & Beyond, Costco, Canadian Tire, Home Depot, K Mart, Khols, Macy's, Sam's Club, Sears, Target, Walmart, and Zellers." -sp

Was this review helpful? (113) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sp999
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far a great purchase
3/12/2013

Customer review by momto3crazyboys

5.0 stars 3/12/2013 by momto3crazyboys
by momto3crazyboys

I really like this vacuum, I always keep a vacuum for both levels of my house, the first being a dyson and the second being this one. I have found that my dyson does not quite like my big area rugs, leaving dog hair and crumbs behind, but that is no problem for the shark as it picks up everything that the dyson left behind. It is average on the length of the hose and the cleaning wand, which sometimes hampers getting the high spots, but having the lift away canister I can usually pick it up and reach what I was missing. It is definitely a good vacuum for the money, many attachments and so much versatility.

Was this review helpful? (155) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momto3crazyboys
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Vacuum for a Anyone!
12/15/2013

Customer review by Chiccadea

5.0 stars 12/15/2013 by Chiccadea
by Chiccadea

I love the suction of the Shark Rotating Lift Away Professional Upright Vacuum and how easy it is to maneuver. It does a great job cleaning. I vacuumed after my husband used his Kirby and it still filled the dirt cup of the Shark twice. I am still learning more about using this vacuum, but I can tell in the little time I have used it, that it is a lot better than using my husband's Kirby vacuum that is so heavy and has so many directions to follow. It's easy to read and follow the instructions showing step by step what to do. The price is reasonable; a lot more reasonable than the Kirby (which is all metal) and the Dyson (which is all plastic), and highly over priced. The only thing I did find a hassle was the cord getting in the way since it is so long, but the long cord does make it easier to manipulate and cover larger areas without plugging and unplugging so much. I would recommend this vacuum to a friend; definitely.

Was this review helpful? (58) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chiccadea
Lancaster, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best decision I've made
2/20/2014

Customer review by ACoastiesWife

5.0 stars 2/20/2014 by ACoastiesWife
by ACoastiesWife

I LOVE this vacuum. After months of research and watching the info commercial a handful of times I decided to buy it. I originally wanted a dyson, but decided to give the shark a try. I couldn't be happier. My in laws have a dyson ball and wished they would have spent half the money on this Shark. The suction is so powerful, unlike any other vacuum I've had. All the attachments make cleaning my stairs, couch, and blinds easy. It does my tile floors, carpet, and rug so easy I don't have to pull my broom out 6 times a day now (I have a very messy 4 year old). It's easy to push around, easy to move, and it's like 3 vacuums in one. The only downfall is the un-retractable cord. All my cheap vacuums had one, but I guess that's a small price to pay for a great vacuum. This one makes me excited to clean again! My carpets are only a year old and already have high traffic areas matted down, this vacuum makes my carpets look like they were just installed. I cannot say enough good things about it!

Was this review helpful? (146) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ACoastiesWife
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it, except......
3/11/2013

Customer review by Poodimbear

4.0 stars 3/11/2013 by Poodimbear
by Poodimbear

Love this vac except I wish it had extension tubes included or a longer hose attached to the wand. Anytime I go for the ceiling fan blades or cob webs on the ceiling, it tips over, unless I have it on its dolly, which I don't most if the time, its more convenient to just pull the wand out while going along, and when in the area the fan is or cob webs, dust, etc, pull it out, use the wand or attachment, then put it away and keep going. Gets to be a pain with it tipping all the time. Need to just start cleaning up high first, then go back and vacuum I suppose.

Was this review helpful? (86) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Poodimbear
Townsend, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/13/2013

Customer review by xnjcop

4.0 stars 3/13/2013 by xnjcop
by xnjcop

In general it is a very good vaccum cleaner, the only thing that was a bit of a surprise is that its ability to stand up straight. A slight bump while it is standing will knock it over backwards. I think the problem is the weight distribution while standing.

Was this review helpful? (79) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xnjcop
Absecon, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A cleaning machine!!
6/5/2014

Customer review by dogsnme

5.0 stars 6/5/2014 by dogsnme
by dogsnme

OK. I rarely review products, however, in the case of the Shark Rotator vacuum, I gladly make the exception. Gentleman, have you ever bought yourself the "end all, be all" tool that does exactly what you wished for, saved you time and gave you that sense of satisfaction for a job well done? Ladies (and gents) to not hesitate to purchase this valuable tool. With two shedding Labs. one Jack Russell, and four cats the fur abounds and the dirt gets tracked in. Also, there is a substantial amount of dust from living in a semirural area. When I got going with the Shark, there was no stopping me. Wood floors, throw rugs, carpeting, drapes, window sills, upholstery and under those nasty leather sofa cushions. Not to mention, bookcases, under the beds and into places I would have never thought of cleaning until Shark mania took over. Yes, I like a clean home but as has been said in honesty by another reviewer, you only "think" your home is clean. Definitely, I am pleased with my end all, be all Shark vac!

Was this review helpful? (47) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dogsnme
Payson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than a Dyson!!
5/27/2013

Customer review by anetsof

5.0 stars 5/27/2013 by anetsof
by anetsof

I have used my daughter's Dyson. I prefer the Shark Rotator. I don't think the Dyson cleans any better than the Shark, but I could buy 2 Sharks for the price of 1 Dyson (& still hae money left over). I live in the country & have quite a bit of sand in my yard & driveway. The Shark picks it up very easily & if you have tried to vacuum up sand off a hardwood floor, you know it is no easy task. I have only had the Shark a few weeks, but I love it. BUY IT-DO NOT BUY ONE OF THE CHEAP VACUUMS-THEY WILL NOT LAST & YOU WILL STILL HAVE TO REPLACE IT VERY SOON. & THEY DO NOT CLEAN VERY GOOD. This has been one of my best purchases. Should have bought it sooner.

Was this review helpful? (44) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
anetsof
Blue River, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Search no longer...
6/10/2013

Customer review by mountnmama

5.0 stars 6/10/2013 by mountnmama
by mountnmama

I just bought this vacuum after weeks of thinking about it and seeing the info mercial. I am so glad I did. This sounds strange but I actually look forward to vacuuming now. My 5 yr old excitedly asked me if we were going to vacuum the other day. The vacuum is surprisingly quiet and seriously amazing. I no longer have to switch vacuums to pick up the pet hair. Everything is right at my fingertips. It is really as easy as the commercial makes it look. The first time I used it about 2 weeks ago, I had vacuumed probably 4 days prior. We have 2 cats and I vacuum weekly. But this vacuum picked up so much dirt and hair I had to stop to dump it before finishing. The volume of dirt was amazing and scary! To think all that was on the floor and being blown out into the air by my old vacuum! I was so surprised I used a measuring cup to see just how much it was. I got about 7-8 cups (using my glass measuring cup) out of the cannister. I was so impressed I took a picture. Emptying this va cuum is so easy my 5-yr old does it. She actually wants to help and vacuum herself. This is an amazing vacuum and definitely all Shark says it is. I am thrilled with my new vacuum and cant wait to toss the other 3 I have been using!

Was this review helpful? (41) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mountnmama
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Do not hesitate, excellent vacuum!
2/5/2014

Customer review by thosewitches

5.0 stars 2/5/2014 by thosewitches
by thosewitches

This is worth every penny. I was skeptical at first to even consider a vacuum from an infomercial. After a marathon afternoon of researching and comparing countless mediocre vacuums, I ran into this. The 'Shark' brand of vacuums continued to appear in top ratings next to all the big names, including Dyson. If you still can't believe it, google it and read what so many other consumers have to say. Then go out and buy one! I am shocked at what was removed from my carpets. Still can't believe I have been stomping around in this, and subsequently breathing in all those little particles. This vacuum exceeded my expectations and we'll be breathing much easier. Also, the attachments work flawlessly and the way it separates itself is hassle free and effortless. Same with emptying the large bag less container into the trash.

Was this review helpful? (34) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thosewitches
Salem, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
2nd Shark
4/19/2013

Customer review by knighthawk126

5.0 stars 4/19/2013 by knighthawk126
by knighthawk126

I purchased the first Shark that hit the market way back when and it was a good machine. The only problem was we have 5 house cats and live in the south west where winds are a major problem with flying dust which gets in the house no matter what you do. This one after just one run over the living room carpet was amazing, so much so I had to make a second run. When I had seen the results after the second pass I told my wife I was going for a third just to get down to the last of it. all I can say is WOW this SHARK is awesome and great if you have pets that shed. Haven't tried all the attachments as of yet but when the celling fans need cleaning i'm sure this will do the job in place of paper towels and endust. Just to add, the wife hates to use the vacuum so your's truly gets the job along with dusting the higher places in the home.

Was this review helpful? (50) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
knighthawk126
los lunas,NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Value
5/17/2013

Customer review by CBROSTJ

5.0 stars 5/17/2013 by CBROSTJ
by CBROSTJ

I have been an Oreck snob for years....I highly recommend this vac. WORK GREAT!!!! Amazing suction after ORECK sweep, tons more in canister with the SHARK. BUY IT, no disappointments here!

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CBROSTJ
Snohomish, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Shark vs. Dyson
10/20/2013

Customer review by PeP2216

5.0 stars 10/20/2013 by PeP2216
by PeP2216

As an 8 year user of a Dyson, I am thoroughly impressed with the Shark. The price is a BONUS! I have 4 large dogs, and the attachments removed the pet hair from microfiber furniture with no issues. The bare floor cleaning is as impressive as the carpet cleaning. All the different attachments makes any cleaning job a breeze. I have noticed a reduction in dust with the Shark vs. Dyson. I totally recommend using the caddy when cleaning with the wand for stability. To put the unit together out of the box was 4 simple clicks. Then plug in and go! The onboard lights are a (I typically clean later in the evening, so I dont need bright lights to see what I am doing). Overall, this was a great purchase, and I am throughly impressed. I dont see myself purchasing a Dyson in the future. I purchased the 3 year warranty. If I dont need it, i wont be upset about it!

Was this review helpful? (41) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PeP2216
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worth every penny!!!
4/19/2013

Customer review by DocJesus

5.0 stars 4/19/2013 by DocJesus
by DocJesus

This vacuum is more then I expected. I'm used to using shop vacs and they pretty much have car engines lol. This thing is definately comparable to a shop vac without the noise, a hepa filter and awesome accessories. The hose is a little tough to extend worth the effort. Not having to buy bags is just another great feature. The pet hair attachment works great. I have 4 cats and I cleaned my couches and wow!!! You can use this like a portable or remove it from the stand and connect a piece to make it an upright. Personally I've never been happier with a vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (29) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DocJesus
New york
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Vacuum
5/6/2013

Customer review by Bonehead01

4.0 stars 5/6/2013 by Bonehead01
by Bonehead01

This is a great vacuum. Very powerful suction. I ran it over carpet I had already cleaned and was amazed at how much more dirt and hair it pulled up. Great for pet owners like me. The swivel mechanism makes it very mobile. The lift away feature is very easy to use and makes cleaning stairs and furniture a breeze. Nice assortment of attachments. The only reason I gave it 4 stars was the small size of the cleaning head. Takes a bit more time to clean larger rooms with such a small head.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bonehead01
Knoxville, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
best vacuum i have ever had
2/9/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/9/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

very good product very durable would definately recommend it to everybody

Was this review helpful? (44) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Vacuum I have ever used-bar none
5/19/2013

Customer review by BoMoore

5.0 stars 5/19/2013 by BoMoore
by BoMoore

I am 68 years old and have bought many vacuum cleaners over the years-even sold Kirby for awhile. Got this new Shark and used it over several rugs and carpet that I had just used my other high dollar vacuum cleaner on-the results were nothing short of amazing. I cannot believe how much miscellaneous dirt and pet hair the Shark picked up after my other vacuum missed it. I would recommend this vacuum to anyone and it comes with a 5 year full warranty and lots of attachments-I stand in awe of the Shark Rotator

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BoMoore
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 243 total reviews
1-20 of 243 reviews