Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 307 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

307 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

307 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
245
4 stars
36
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 stars
15
1-20 of 288 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 288 total reviews
1-20 of 288 reviews
You just think your carpet is clean!
11/16/2013

Customer review by NV501

5.0 stars 11/16/2013 by NV501
by NV501
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

From NV501. If you will tolerate me while I digress to make a point, you will understand what I have to say. For years, I have prided myself on having a clean house and thought it was. It is not that I am a clean freak but we’ve worked very hard to have what we have and I wanted to keep the carpet and tile at its best. Then, my husband began coughing to the point he had to have a heart stress test. Everything was negative but the coughing continued. There is no cigarette smoke in our house. So, every other day, to alleviate his incessant coughing, I would dust and vacuum with my upright, well known brand (begins with a K) containing a bag that took two mules and a horse to attach it tightly. Even after I vacuumed, I would have to dust the furniture again and wonder how on earth the dust returned so quickly. Sometimes the bag would stay on the vacuum and other times; all the dust would go inside the bag container. To get rid of the accumulated dust, I would haul the heavy thing outside and blow everything from its nooks and crannies. After several repairs to a wheel that flew down the hallway and cutting my fingers on the bag area, I banned the vacuum cleaner to my garage. That is when I bought my Shark Rotator Lift Away Bagless Upright Vacuum, model NV501. It arrived earlier than its intended arrival time from a Wal-Mart Distributor. A week before it arrived, I had moved all the furniture in my house, cleaned all the curtains and drapery and vacuumed with my old vacuum cleaner. The house looked clean. Anxious to try the Shark to see if it lived up to its hype, I went to the bedroom and began vacuuming … this is one room! When I saw the miniscule particles of dust (so tiny it looked like someone poured a whole container of baby powder on my carpet) and sloughed off body skin (we all do that) I was mortified. What else was in my carpet? Dust mites … probably so but not for long! The next day, once again I moved the furniture and did a deep clean on the floors and upholstery. I was aghast. The amount of dirt and dust collected by the Shark NV501 made me sick to my stomach. I couldn’t believe all these years my carpeted bedrooms and living room floors contained this much filthy dirt. Believe this or not but I continue to get atomic sized particles from my carpet. However, each time I’ve vacuumed since I purchased the Shark, the amount is getting smaller and smaller. I am winning the battle and there is no more coughing. If you are wondering about the Shark NV501, I can attest it does what it is supposed to do. The head swivels, doesn’t lose suction, is easy to maneuver, lightweight, will vacuum deep pile carpet and vinyl, hardwood or tile with a push of a button and the attachments are easy to change. The only thing that I might not like is how you push a tiny area with your foot to engage the handle downward but it is a moot subject. Very little dust is on my furniture and the house smells clean. Am I pushing this Shark NV501 … yes, I am and I am not affiliated with any one in the company, have stock in the company or asked to do this review. I am just a very pleased, “color me a happy camper doing the Snoopy Dance” consumer with this product.

Was this review helpful? (829) (73)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NV501
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Shark Professional Vacuum
5/4/2013

Customer review by Siouxmax

5.0 stars 5/4/2013 by Siouxmax
by Siouxmax
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the BEST vacuum I have ever had. Light and easy to move around. After I had cleaned the carpet with the old vacuum, thinking it was clean, this one filled the tank with dirt and dog hair! I am so impressed. I tell everyone!

Was this review helpful? (286) (49)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Siouxmax
Southern Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love the design of this system, I bought 2
2/1/2016

Customer review by DNash

5.0 stars 2/1/2016 by DNash
by DNash

The first time I used one of these vacuums, was when I got it as a "Freebie" with my rewards points on one of my accounts. Love it so much, I bought a second one for our office location. After using the expensive Rainbow vacuum for many years, this one does just as well, if not better than my rainbow. The convenience of this design makes it a breeze to do whole house vacuuming, with no headaches or backaches. Exceptional system and even more exceptional design. Just push a button and you have a floor, pull behind vacuum with the wand. Just push the button to change from the rotary beater head in only seconds. Clean up is even easier. This really gets the dirt out. Sometimes even pulls the dirt from under the carpet and gets it too. Very powerful and so easy to use, vacuuming actually becomes a pleasure, which as a housewife of 32 going on 33 years, I never dreamed I would hear myself say that. That is how good this unit is.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DNash
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best decision I've made
2/20/2014

Customer review by ACoastiesWife

5.0 stars 2/20/2014 by ACoastiesWife
by ACoastiesWife
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I LOVE this vacuum. After months of research and watching the info commercial a handful of times I decided to buy it. I originally wanted a dyson, but decided to give the shark a try. I couldn't be happier. My in laws have a dyson ball and wished they would have spent half the money on this Shark. The suction is so powerful, unlike any other vacuum I've had. All the attachments make cleaning my stairs, couch, and blinds easy. It does my tile floors, carpet, and rug so easy I don't have to pull my broom out 6 times a day now (I have a very messy 4 year old). It's easy to push around, easy to move, and it's like 3 vacuums in one. The only downfall is the un-retractable cord. All my cheap vacuums had one, but I guess that's a small price to pay for a great vacuum. This one makes me excited to clean again! My carpets are only a year old and already have high traffic areas matted down, this vacuum makes my carpets look like they were just installed. I cannot say enough good things about it!

Was this review helpful? (182) (52)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ACoastiesWife
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A cleaning machine!!
6/5/2014

Customer review by dogsnme

5.0 stars 6/5/2014 by dogsnme
by dogsnme
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

OK. I rarely review products, however, in the case of the Shark Rotator vacuum, I gladly make the exception. Gentleman, have you ever bought yourself the "end all, be all" tool that does exactly what you wished for, saved you time and gave you that sense of satisfaction for a job well done? Ladies (and gents) to not hesitate to purchase this valuable tool. With two shedding Labs. one Jack Russell, and four cats the fur abounds and the dirt gets tracked in. Also, there is a substantial amount of dust from living in a semirural area. When I got going with the Shark, there was no stopping me. Wood floors, throw rugs, carpeting, drapes, window sills, upholstery and under those nasty leather sofa cushions. Not to mention, bookcases, under the beds and into places I would have never thought of cleaning until Shark mania took over. Yes, I like a clean home but as has been said in honesty by another reviewer, you only "think" your home is clean. Definitely, I am pleased with my end all, be all Shark vac!

Was this review helpful? (65) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dogsnme
Payson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I have had this for 1 year.
12/26/2015

Customer review by Andrea

1.0 stars 12/26/2015 by Andrea
by Andrea

I made sure I used this Vaccume alot before I wrote a review because I normally do not write reviews on anything, although I do always read them to make my final decisions. This Vaccume had great reviews and I was so excited to get it. My first time using it , it only worked for about 10 minutes before getting clogged. We have 2 huge dogs and had went a month with out vaccuming because our Vaccume had broke before I could buy this one. So I forgave the Vaccume there was alot of dog hair. However, it seemed to clog every single day ! Some days it wouldn't but for the most part it did. And today I was vaccuming and the thing for no apparent reason just stopped working all together For the money I would hope it lasts more than a year. It claims it never loses suction but that's not true there have been times it wouldn't even pick up dog hair off the floor or couch. I absolutely hate having dog hair anywhere in the house so I expect my Vaccume to be able to pick it up. I'm sure this Vaccume is great if you do not have pets. But if you do I would not recommend this.

Was this review helpful? (10) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Andrea
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works as advertised and excellent performance!
2/1/2014

Customer review by sp999

5.0 stars 2/1/2014 by sp999
by sp999
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After significant research and analysis I decided to get this Shark Rotator NV501 over Dyson. Looks like I made the right choice based on usage so far. Assembly was simple and clear based on very good documentation. Ample amount of accessories came with the package. The suction power is wonderful and the dust bin is large enough to hold dirt from 3-4 rooms. The dumping of dirt is quick and easy. The canister option is nice as it is easy to do the steps with the lighter base. The duster accessory is great for dusting upholstery and desks. Overall a great vacuum. Since it comes with 5-yr warranty I hope it lasts that long. Will update this review after few months of usage. ONE BIG WARNING IS to check with Shark which stores you can buy it from to honor the warranty. If you buy from Amazon the warranty is only valid for 90 days as per Shark. As per Shark - "Our products are sold at these popular retail outlets: Best Buy, Bed Bath & Beyond, Costco, Canadian Tire, Home Depot, K Mart, Khols, Macy's, Sam's Club, Sears, Target, Walmart, and Zellers." -sp

Was this review helpful? (170) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sp999
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great machine!
1/13/2016

Customer review by Baba

4.0 stars 1/13/2016 by Baba
by Baba

....and I thought my carpet was clean...WRONG! Using my new "SHARK" sucked every little dirt and dust particles out I never thought possible had remained (using my OLD Sears vacuum). And it's much quieter! Does not make my cats scurry off in fear of "the machine". Hope it lasts as long as my OLD Sears (which is still working, though). Oh, and it so very lightly moves forward, almost on it's own, without my having to push hard. Great for my back.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Baba
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome!!!
6/3/2013

Customer review by artist07

5.0 stars 6/3/2013 by artist07
by artist07
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the best vacuum I have ever used. It's not very heavy and it has great suction, it does not tip over when you use the attachments. I love how it's an up-right, a canister, and how it lifts away for doing a stair case. I also love how you can push a button to stop the brush from turning so you can use it on hardwood & tile floors. It's also more quiet than most vacs. I love the 5 year warranty and if you have any problems with your vac, shark will send you a prepaid shipping label so they can fix your problem with the vacuum. Now that says a lot about a company to stand behind their product and to also cover shipping and handling both ways. Don't hesitate to buy it, you will not be sorry. I am ordering a second one because I live in a two story home and I prefer having one vacuum upstairs and one for down stairs so this should tell you how much I love this vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (221) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
artist07
South Beach, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Vacuum for a Anyone!
12/15/2013

Customer review by Chiccadea

5.0 stars 12/15/2013 by Chiccadea
by Chiccadea
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love the suction of the Shark Rotating Lift Away Professional Upright Vacuum and how easy it is to maneuver. It does a great job cleaning. I vacuumed after my husband used his Kirby and it still filled the dirt cup of the Shark twice. I am still learning more about using this vacuum, but I can tell in the little time I have used it, that it is a lot better than using my husband's Kirby vacuum that is so heavy and has so many directions to follow. It's easy to read and follow the instructions showing step by step what to do. The price is reasonable; a lot more reasonable than the Kirby (which is all metal) and the Dyson (which is all plastic), and highly over priced. The only thing I did find a hassle was the cord getting in the way since it is so long, but the long cord does make it easier to manipulate and cover larger areas without plugging and unplugging so much. I would recommend this vacuum to a friend; definitely.

Was this review helpful? (84) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chiccadea
Lancaster, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Vacuum !!
1/29/2016

Customer review by ccrider

5.0 stars 1/29/2016 by ccrider
by ccrider

Works Great!!!! I did alot of reading on other vacuums before I bought this model. It seemed like everyone was very happy with The NV 501model and now I can see why.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ccrider
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Vacuum I have ever had!
1/27/2016

Customer review by Croce

5.0 stars 1/27/2016 by Croce
by Croce

It does everything but vacuum by itself! I have a dog who does shed a lot and it totally takes care of that problem. Really does a spectacular job.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Croce
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Do not hesitate, excellent vacuum!
2/5/2014

Customer review by thosewitches

5.0 stars 2/5/2014 by thosewitches
by thosewitches

This is worth every penny. I was skeptical at first to even consider a vacuum from an infomercial. After a marathon afternoon of researching and comparing countless mediocre vacuums, I ran into this. The 'Shark' brand of vacuums continued to appear in top ratings next to all the big names, including Dyson. If you still can't believe it, google it and read what so many other consumers have to say. Then go out and buy one! I am shocked at what was removed from my carpets. Still can't believe I have been stomping around in this, and subsequently breathing in all those little particles. This vacuum exceeded my expectations and we'll be breathing much easier. Also, the attachments work flawlessly and the way it separates itself is hassle free and effortless. Same with emptying the large bag less container into the trash.

Was this review helpful? (37) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thosewitches
Salem, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love it.
1/22/2016

Customer review by Mom2two

5.0 stars 1/22/2016 by Mom2two
by Mom2two

This vacuum cleans better than any I have ever owned.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mom2two
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Shark vs. Dyson
10/20/2013

Customer review by PeP2216

5.0 stars 10/20/2013 by PeP2216
by PeP2216
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

As an 8 year user of a Dyson, I am thoroughly impressed with the Shark. The price is a BONUS! I have 4 large dogs, and the attachments removed the pet hair from microfiber furniture with no issues. The bare floor cleaning is as impressive as the carpet cleaning. All the different attachments makes any cleaning job a breeze. I have noticed a reduction in dust with the Shark vs. Dyson. I totally recommend using the caddy when cleaning with the wand for stability. To put the unit together out of the box was 4 simple clicks. Then plug in and go! The onboard lights are a (I typically clean later in the evening, so I dont need bright lights to see what I am doing). Overall, this was a great purchase, and I am throughly impressed. I dont see myself purchasing a Dyson in the future. I purchased the 3 year warranty. If I dont need it, i wont be upset about it!

Was this review helpful? (47) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PeP2216
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice vacuum but
8/24/2014

Customer review by ArizonaJarhead

3.0 stars 8/24/2014 by ArizonaJarhead
by ArizonaJarhead

This is my second Shark. I gave my Daughter my Shark Lift Way Pro, NV355. as her vacuum broke. I see several improvements on this NV501, like head lights, caddy, many more attachments. The dust bin is also a little easier to take off and put on. But, the Shark Rotator Lift Away is much heaver to push and carry when using it as a Lift Away. You almost need the caddy. I was surprised at how much harder it was to push using it normally. Also the dust bin is ridiculously small compared to my older Lift Away Pro. That bin must be at least 4 times larger. So while you get more than what I got in my first Shark, . Both are real powerful and will sure get the job done, but I think the NV355 is easier to use. Both have a ridiculously short and stiff hose. Shark needs to come out with one where it will bend easier and where you can add an extension on it for higher up things.

Was this review helpful? (31) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ArizonaJarhead
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Search no longer...
6/10/2013

Customer review by mountnmama

5.0 stars 6/10/2013 by mountnmama
by mountnmama

I just bought this vacuum after weeks of thinking about it and seeing the info mercial. I am so glad I did. This sounds strange but I actually look forward to vacuuming now. My 5 yr old excitedly asked me if we were going to vacuum the other day. The vacuum is surprisingly quiet and seriously amazing. I no longer have to switch vacuums to pick up the pet hair. Everything is right at my fingertips. It is really as easy as the commercial makes it look. The first time I used it about 2 weeks ago, I had vacuumed probably 4 days prior. We have 2 cats and I vacuum weekly. But this vacuum picked up so much dirt and hair I had to stop to dump it before finishing. The volume of dirt was amazing and scary! To think all that was on the floor and being blown out into the air by my old vacuum! I was so surprised I used a measuring cup to see just how much it was. I got about 7-8 cups (using my glass measuring cup) out of the cannister. I was so impressed I took a picture. Emptying this va cuum is so easy my 5-yr old does it. She actually wants to help and vacuum herself. This is an amazing vacuum and definitely all Shark says it is. I am thrilled with my new vacuum and cant wait to toss the other 3 I have been using!

Was this review helpful? (44) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mountnmama
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
BEWARE NOT MADE TO LAST!
11/24/2015

Customer review by jillmomofmany

1.0 stars 11/24/2015 by jillmomofmany
by jillmomofmany

If you expect this item to last longer than 1 year... DO NOT buy it. I bought my first shark rotator and within a year and had to have a new one sent to me. That part was stellar. BUT then the replacement broke within 6 months! Customer service was no longer stellar. They wanted me to pay to ship it back (estimated $75) to have it fixed or a new one sent to me (depending on repair inspection) OR pay for a new one at a discounted price of just under $100. 2 vacuums, both BRAND new not lasting longer than 1 year. The second one only warrantied for 90 days?! Clearly they know their product is flawed and that's why they don't warranty it longer! I really wanted this vacuum to work out. It definitely has some nice perks to it but when it can't even make it 1 year not once but TWICE... it's not worth the investment!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jillmomofmany
Would recommend to a friend? No
Beats Dyson and Kirby
12/30/2015

Customer review by LongRX7

5.0 stars 12/30/2015 by LongRX7
by LongRX7

Wow, I've never been impressed with a vacuum from the get go. Even my Dyson and Kirby didn't impress me like this did brand new. It sucked a ton of dust, dirt and women hair. Suction and brush is so strong, it's almost like a self propelled like the Kirby was when you turn on the power.. Just used it for the first time and I was so impressed! It made the carpet totally look new and lifted up the carpet fibers. I hope it lasts awhile. I've had multiple $400+ Dysons and one $800 + Kirby. I would choose this Rotator Professional Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum NV501 over both of those now. It basically renews your worn carpet. I haven't fully used the attachments yet. This is where I give the ease of attachment and hose usage to the Dyson. If durability is as good as the Dyson, then it's a homerun for almost half the cost.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LongRX7
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2nd Shark
4/19/2013

Customer review by knighthawk126

5.0 stars 4/19/2013 by knighthawk126
by knighthawk126
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased the first Shark that hit the market way back when and it was a good machine. The only problem was we have 5 house cats and live in the south west where winds are a major problem with flying dust which gets in the house no matter what you do. This one after just one run over the living room carpet was amazing, so much so I had to make a second run. When I had seen the results after the second pass I told my wife I was going for a third just to get down to the last of it. all I can say is WOW this SHARK is awesome and great if you have pets that shed. Haven't tried all the attachments as of yet but when the celling fans need cleaning i'm sure this will do the job in place of paper towels and endust. Just to add, the wife hates to use the vacuum so your's truly gets the job along with dusting the higher places in the home.

Was this review helpful? (51) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
knighthawk126
los lunas,NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 288 total reviews
1-20 of 288 reviews