Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 58 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

58 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

58 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
34
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-20 of 56 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 56 total reviews
1-20 of 56 reviews
Very Good but keep in mind the size.
7/23/2013

Customer review by cameranam2222222

5.0 stars 7/23/2013 by cameranam2222222
by cameranam2222222

Big Backyard Bayberry Ready-to-Assemble Wooden Playhouse For the money, this playhouse can’t be beat. With that being said it is small like others and the pictures suggests. I went ahead and made a video review of this so you can better see what it looks like. The dimensions read as 7'8"L x 4'2"W x 5'6"H but, the 7’8” L INCLUDES THE WHITE PICKET FENCE. It is roughly 4” wide x 4” long x 5’6” high. Yes it is small but its intent is for small children and because of that it is perfect. It would cost more to do it yourself than to buy one of these (We got ours on a website for $249 as compared to the manufacturer’s price of $559.98. The screws as mentioned in another review were said to be weird… They are square head screws so you might want a drill and a square head attachment. They actually look similar to Philips head screws so I can see why another reviewer said they were weird (also make sure you have a drill this would take forever to put together without one). Anyway check out the link I have provided for my video review, the only one on the internet as of now. Enjoy…

Was this review helpful? (315) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cameranam2222222
Butte, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Bought as Chicken Coop. Cute, yes. Easy, no.
8/4/2013

Customer review by SweetPeainIllinois

4.0 stars 8/4/2013 by SweetPeainIllinois
by SweetPeainIllinois
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this actually as a starter chicken coop for our flock. It was the best value for the size than 'traditional' coops. Came earlier than expected to our local Walmart. Assembly was not easy. It was not horrific but you have to drill all the holes and many of the screws provided do not hold the wood together. We ended up using a hammer and nails for the majority of it. My hubby is well-versed in carpentry and these are his remarks. I am more of a 'can't we just duct tape it and be done?' kind of gal. Took us a good 6 hours to assemble and we still don't have the fence or top weather vane thingy up. Since it's just for the chickens we may not. That all said, I would buy it again as I mentioned it's a great space for a coop. Would I buy it for kids? Nah... My kids build their own stuff in trees and such.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SweetPeainIllinois
Richmond, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Our daughter's heart
12/30/2013

Customer review by Cbouvier

5.0 stars 12/30/2013 by Cbouvier
by Cbouvier
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Bayberry house absolutely made our four years old daughter's Christmas.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cbouvier
Damascus, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little house!
1/15/2014

Customer review by 2007Reviewer

5.0 stars 1/15/2014 by 2007Reviewer
by 2007Reviewer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am very thankful that I read all the reviews before buying otherwise I think I would have been disappointed. It is a 4 by 4 house that I can stand in in the middle (I am 5 ft 2 in) It is made of cedar and is really good quality especially for the price. We were putting one side of the house against a wall so we changed the configuration a bit and made one side all wall and the other has two windows. It does take a long time to put together and things are not labeled or organized in any way. It probably took my hubby an hour to sort it all out, which I recommend doing before you start building, it will make life easier later, It took him around 5-6 hours to build it and he is very handy. He recommends using clamps to hold the panels together as you attach them, he said it saved a lot of time and he was able to do it himself then. I am super happy with the quality and the look of this and have no regrets at all! My daughter ran around the yard in circles screaming Yippee when it was finished :)

Was this review helpful? (38) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2007Reviewer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very cute house.
5/27/2013

Customer review by Maritzp

3.0 stars 5/27/2013 by Maritzp
by Maritzp
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This items comes in a million pieces that by the way are not labeled or numbered as suggested in the instructions. The dimensions of the house Are 4ft x 4ft., smaller than advertised. It took two people 4 hours to assemble. It was very easy to put together, however we used our own screws and nails in order to use the drill. A lot of their screws need to be screwed by hand and that would take a lot of time. Also the angle in which the screws need to be placed is very uncomfortable. Some pieces of wood needed to be trimmed since they were about an inch longer and wouldn't fit the space. Not a big deal if you know what you are doing and have the extra tool to cut. Overall the playhouse is a great value for the money. I now need to purchase a small storage shed to place my daughters play items since they don't fit in the house. Also, the house does not have a floor, the windows do not have plastic or glass they are completely open. When it rains it will get wet. That is not a big deal since it is an outdoor house, but the child would not be able to leave her dolls or toys exposed. With all this said, I don't regret my purchase and my daughter is delighted.

Was this review helpful? (51) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Maritzp
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great playhouse for young grandkids
7/25/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/25/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This little house is perfect for Gramma's and papa's back yard, Oh and the grandkids like it too! A two year old, twin 5 year olds, and even the "soon to be 7 year old" likes it..First thing papa did, was look over the building plans..its pictures with some explanations..then we separated all the pieces to make sure it was all there. It was packaged very nice and even had some of the hardware taped to certain pieces..it doesnt come with a floor so the first thing we did was build a foundation..It does take 2 people to build this if you want to keep your sanity, and really, 4 eyes and maybe a second opinion helps..when they tell you to pre-drill for screws, do it..otherwise you'll split the wood..Went together nicely, looks cute as can be..I'm going to use a sealer to protect it from the weather..

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Livermore, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good value for the price
12/29/2013

Customer review by Jestier

4.0 stars 12/29/2013 by Jestier
by Jestier
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good buy based on the price. I ordered this through Walmarts website for $199. Almost ordered it 2 days before I actually did, glad I waited because it dropped from $299 to $199 for whatever reason, glad though. As for the product. As other reviewers pointed out, the wood panels on the walls and roof are thin, but so are those of the wood swingsets. I think if the kid(s) using are within the age specified there shouldn't be any problems. I would have given this product a 5 had it not been for the instructions being vague in some areas. Maybe it's just me but I am mechanically inclined and had to stop and forward think on some of the areas because I was concerned that I wasn't placing the wall panels correctly based on how the instructions read. Overall though enjoyed putting it together with my 13 year old and my 4 year old daughter( her gift of course). No decided not to put rhos together prior to Christmas Day because we couldn't hide it. Thought or would be nice to use this as a bonding event, and that it was. I would recommend this product, something I don't do often. Great value for the money. We have a rather large family room and this will be inside. My daughters Kidctaft wood kitchen fit inside as well, just barley. She is loving it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jestier
Pensacola, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/14/2016

Customer review by gisele maciel

5.0 stars 7/14/2016 by gisele maciel
by gisele maciel

gisele maciel
Toronto, ON, Canadá
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
GREAT FOR THE MONEY??????
7/23/2013

Customer review by Melikeetoo

5.0 stars 7/23/2013 by Melikeetoo
by Melikeetoo

I keep reading this product is a good value for the money, that goes without saying really, especially for those of us who have searched high and low for an affordable, cute, WOOD playhouse, with site to store you can't ask for a more affordable option. My daughter is 4 and I'd been waiting for years to get a good deal on a playhouse and this playhouse really does fit the bill. First off I'd like to say that I wanted this playhouse for our balcony, so I wanted something compact that would fit the dimensions of our balcony, so the reviewer who said 4 by 4 ft, thank you very much! This playhouse came very well packaged, yes in several pieces but my husband looked at the instructions and separated all the pieces accordingly and he honestly made the whole process look easy, he asked me to hand him things a few times and truth be told some pieces did crack, but we fixed that quick with some glue, no problem. It was a little tricky because he had to build it on our balcony so there was no room for error and some adjustments were needed to get the house to fit perfectly in that space. Overall, if you are not easily overwhelmed by a multitude of pieces in a box, this is a good fit for you. The house is everything I ever wanted as a child and I can see how happy it has made my daughter (that alone accounts for the 5 stars), we are now decorating the inside of it with a pink shaggy carpet and I'm hoping to install a small wood swing in it soon as well.

Was this review helpful? (20) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Melikeetoo
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Playhouse for 2 and 6 yr old
12/26/2013

Customer review by Alinamolivaschmitz

5.0 stars 12/26/2013 by Alinamolivaschmitz
by Alinamolivaschmitz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We love it!! It fits both our 6 and 2 yr old. Meets all expectations!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Alinamolivaschmitz
Miami, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect size, quality playhouse
5/26/2016

Customer review by AMP1

5.0 stars 5/26/2016 by AMP1
by AMP1

The Bayberry Playhouse is the perfect size for my kids! I ordered it when my kids were 2 and 5 years old. We've had it for a year now, and we are still thrilled with it. The size is perfect, not too big, but not too small. 4 kids can easily play inside at one time. We live in Chicago, and the high quality of this cedar playhouse stood up to our harsh winter exceptionally. I did a lot of research into which playhouse I wanted, and my research paid off. I'm looking forward to many more years of play in this solid little house! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

AMP1
Chicago, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Greatest Little House
5/25/2016

Customer review by Waybark

5.0 stars 5/25/2016 by Waybark
by Waybark

Bought this house for my granddaughter and could not be happier with it. It has brought her hours of joy serving 'tea' to all her guests and playing make believe. The kit was easy to assemble with the best instructions I have ever used to walk me through the process. The way everything is labelled made it virtually impossible to make an error. The warnings to do certain procedures before others meant I didnt waste time undoing something before proceding with the next step. I would definitely seek out your products again. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Waybark
Toronto, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
You get what you pay for
6/24/2013

Customer review by cnh101477

4.0 stars 6/24/2013 by cnh101477
by cnh101477
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

CONS 1rst- the instructions are HORRIBLE... 2nd- the wood is super soft an splits easily... 3rd- the shutter brackets came off the wood within minutes after putting the shutters in the brackets... they are now drilled to the playhouse as the brackets that are supposed to hold them are useless... 4th- you will honestly need a complete day to put this together an alot of patience... PROS 1rst- it is really cute once together an my daughter loves it 2nd- for the size its a good deal but again you get what you pay for.... meaning be easy the wood will split easily. 3rd- its roomy 2-3 lil kids can play easily in it...

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cnh101477
washington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My kids love it, endless options for modification
8/30/2013

Customer review by foodsmart

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by foodsmart
by foodsmart
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My husband and I were looking for a playhouse for my 2 year old's birthday; we also have a 3 year old. We found this playhouse on a google search and thought it was perfect since I make weekly trips to Walmart. We live on a dairy farm and were looking for something that we could modify to look like the other houses on the property as well as the barn and animal sheds. This house fits right in, I was going to paint it white but the cedar matches the kids play areas swing set. I put this together by myself with the little help of my kids; I am comfortable with building materials and tools. It took me one morning to assemble and one afternoon to add finishing touches. I did drill all the holes to reduce the risk of splitting wood, but my tip is also to not use full power with electric tools, this also reduces splitting. I modified it somewhat, adding my own weather vane that used to be on our milkhouse. I made a foundation for the house out of paving stones and sand. I bought brass hardware also available at Walmart for the shutters and the door. I bought bamboo blinds for the back open window and for the door, Menards cuts them to whatever size you want. For next spring I will be modifying screen windows for all 5 openings since flies are bad on a farm. I am cutting plexi glass for all 5 openings for this fall. We are an outdoor family and this house will be used year round. My intent is to put in a hardwood floor likely from decking lumber, somewhat raised off the foundation to reduce rotting. I already tried fitting one from old pallets, but they are about 2 inches short. My husband suggested after the fact to build the house over 2 pallets cut to size and to finish the floor inside after it is built. With a little sanding and a coat of clear poly, the pallet floor would last likely longer than the play house itself. I recommend using the stake and the fence for securing the house to the ground, we had a thunderstorm with 35 mile an hour winds during my construction day which moved the house. I also recommend using different black screws for the door, my son ripped the door right off the playhouse with the small screws. I will also in the future put a steel roof on the playhouse. I will use 1/4 inch treated cedar to finish the walls inside next spring. We utilized every aspect of the house including the planter which holds a nice little flowering plant. In a few years, I will likely convert it into a chicken coop when the children are done with it. The farm cats also love the playhouse as well as the dog.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
foodsmart
Monroe, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good playhouse for the price
10/13/2013

Customer review by rdsteve

5.0 stars 10/13/2013 by rdsteve
by rdsteve
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Comes at about 4ft x 4ft instead of the 7-8ft it advertises, due to the white picket fence. The playhouse is solid construction and very nice. I got it for my 4 year old and 6 year old, who fit in it fine for now. Its a little small for them, but they are able to stand up all the way and get a couple chairs in there, as well as a small side table. My package came missing one roof piece, so I built it minus the piece. After I called the manufacturer, I had to wait 7 days to get the piece in the mail. Other than that, the house is great. Also, it is wide open in the back which my kids didn't like because they wanted more privacy, but you can easily board it up or install an outdoor curtain or something.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rdsteve
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It is CHEAP for a reason!!!
7/7/2016

Customer review by CheapIsReallyExpensive

2.0 stars 7/7/2016 by CheapIsReallyExpensive
by CheapIsReallyExpensive
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

1. Arrived about a week late!!! 2. Very cheap flimsy easily damaged roofing material. 3. Screw bags mislabeled, this was very annoying. 4. Too much drilling required. 5. Dimensions off on certain pieces, I had to cut some. Anything positive? My kids love it, bless their little hearts. 6. Final comment...I will continue to buy books, electronics and such online BUT never something like this. Better to pay more money to a gifted carpenter for something more solid.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 7/11/2016

Hello, we are sorry to hear that you have not had a positive experience with your Bayberry Big Backyard Playset. Please contact our Customer Experience Team and we would like to help you out with your situation. You can call 877-966-3738 or send a message to support@solowavedesign.com -The Big Backyard Customer Experience Team

CheapIsReallyExpensive
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Occupied for Hours
5/25/2016

Customer review by Karon

5.0 stars 5/25/2016 by Karon
by Karon

I bought this a year ago for my granddaughter....she absolutely loves it. She is an only child so she, no siblings to play with. She is occupied for hours playing with her dolls and pretending. I have to literally pull her out of the playhouse to come indoors. If it were possible to have it indoors, she would. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Karon
Plainfield, NJ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Lots of fun!
5/31/2016

Customer review by SophieBaillargeon

5.0 stars 5/31/2016 by SophieBaillargeon
by SophieBaillargeon

We bought this playhouse last year and it is solid and beautiful. It survived Quebec winter and my two girls love it. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

SophieBaillargeon
Québec City, QC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
5/30/2016

Customer review by Triplets

4.0 stars 5/30/2016 by Triplets
by Triplets

We bought one 3 years ago and our kids love it still play with almost every day love it [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Triplets
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Ok
7/27/2013

Customer review by 3littledivas

3.0 stars 7/27/2013 by 3littledivas
by 3littledivas
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Kids love it. I put the fence in the back and put flower pots in the front. Look cute. There is nothing inside so I put a small play kitchen in there and 2 little hooks to hang aprons and play broom. The wood is not strong and its porous so I treat it with Thomas to water proof it from Home Depot. And the door came stapled together so needless to say after playing with it everyday for one week the wood piece at the bottom popped off so had to repair that with adhesive and clamps. Not sure how long it's going to last outside but kids are happy and matches our swing set. It took me 6.5 hours to put it together with a power gun. Had to make pilot holes so I wouldn't crack the wood. Not per drilled. This took extra time but it was easy to understand how to assemble. I am a mom who has experience in putting things together. I like to buy it cheaper save some money by assembling it myself. This could have gone quicker with per drilled holes and better quality of wood. Also there is no floor so I would recommend preparing something on the ground for it like gravel, or pavers, or even making a frame and put a wood floor like you foo for a shed so it lasts longer. I didn't know that. I put it on the ground and put pavers inside so at least the girls feel like its a real floor. It will probably rot around the bottom eventually. It's too heavy for me to pick it up now and it's build to be on that spot.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
3littledivas
Port st lucie, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 56 total reviews
1-20 of 56 reviews