Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 143 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

143 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

143 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
94
4 stars
22
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 stars
16
1-20 of 125 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 125 total reviews
1-20 of 125 reviews
Works great with one exception
7/15/2014

Customer review by ILIKEQUALITYPRODUCTS

4.0 stars 7/15/2014 by ILIKEQUALITYPRODUCTS
by ILIKEQUALITYPRODUCTS
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The battery doesn't last long. I have to charge 2 sometimes 3 X per day. I don't use for texting or calls much. But it won't last all day! I used the suggestions offered such as turning off wifi when not in use, lessen brightness etc but to no avail. Any more suggestions would be welcomed. Pictures are great.

Was this review helpful? (20) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ILIKEQUALITYPRODUCTS
Concord,VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/18/2013

Customer review by thecannondalekid

5.0 stars 3/18/2013 by thecannondalekid
by thecannondalekid
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was a gift for my wife, our first smartphone and our first experience porting an old phone number to a new phone. I had the phone shipped to a nearby store and picked it up and had the store sales personnel do the initial set up. Leaving the store, I was told that the phone should be ready to use in anywhere from 2 to 24 hrs. After 24 hrs nothing happened. A quick call to the store and left a voice message that the phone didn't activate within this 24 hr. period. In the meatime I called an 800 number I found in the Straight Talk literature and after a few minutes, they had the phone up and running. I am also happy to say the salesperson I had worked with the previous day setting up the phone and for whom I had left the voice message with did also call me back shortly thereafter responding to my message on the department's voice mail. Really very happy with the phone and Straight Talk. Very good signal strenght and data transfer speeds have been excellent. We couldn't be happier.

Was this review helpful? (56) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thecannondalekid
Delanco, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not truly unlimited
4/3/2013

Customer review by offna32

1.0 stars 4/3/2013 by offna32
by offna32

Please do not use this service. I have for over a year and they have the worst customer service I have ever seen. They will straight out lie to you . I have a smart phone and use wifi every chance I get and somehow they say I violated their data use policy and when I call them they send me to a pre recorded message that I have over used my data when they state its unlimited and I have used less than 1mb . I have heard they slow you down after using 1.5 but I have never reached that and I am slowed down to 220kb a second on my 4g smart phone. Funny thing is my wife was slowed down on the same day and she used even less than me. Something funny is going on and they wont even talk to you about it. They have a new line that they transfer you too where you cant talk to anybody, I even talked to a so called manager , sounded like the same guy, after being on hold for about 15 minutes and he was going to transfer me to that same department. What a joke. Wife just switched to H20 so far its better , not 4g but alot faster than straight talk has slowed us down to.

Was this review helpful? (84) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
offna32
arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Phone is wonderful; Straight Talk not as much
3/9/2013

Customer review by FinallyEntropy

5.0 stars 3/9/2013 by FinallyEntropy
by FinallyEntropy

I have had IPhones for a couple of years, and recently got an IPhone 5 thru Walmart, and connected to Straight Talk. I am on the Verizon Network, 3G. I seldom use the data capability, but didn't like that it was not automatically installed when I activated the phone. Today, after an hour or more on hold with the provider, I looked at the Straight Talk Wireless Forums, and found a simple procedure to get the data capability. Following instructions, I connected to ITunes on my computer, did a complete backup, then erased the IPhone. Then I restored the backup files to the IPhone from ITunes. The phone shut itself off then on, absorbed the files being restored, and now it is fully functional. My gripe with Straight Talk is there was the need to do this at all, and I had to get the information from a discussion site, not the Straight Talk website.

Was this review helpful? (66) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FinallyEntropy
Norco, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not able to get data working and bad CS
3/19/2013

Customer review by Bummedoutreviewer

1.0 stars 3/19/2013 by Bummedoutreviewer
by Bummedoutreviewer

Excited for this phone. Can call, text and use wifi but cannot connect to mobile network. My main reason was to get faster mobile Internet without a contract. 4 hours of trying to get the Internet to connect and no luck. Spent an hour on with Straight Talk trying to make it work. Was told return for another phone. I am just returning. There and tons of iphone 5 complaints with the same issue on the straight talk forum. No one seems to get it fixed. Straight talk has long wait times to get through. You also get messages saying they are very busy try again later and then it just disconnects after you waited a half hour. You are sent from one rep to another and no one can help! So, I'm just returning the phone and that is all. I am displeased with straight talks customer service. I will keep my old phone. Not worth the $$$ or time on hold.

Was this review helpful? (33) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bummedoutreviewer
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Exactly as Expected!
10/23/2013

Customer review by D0UBLENJENN

5.0 stars 10/23/2013 by D0UBLENJENN
by D0UBLENJENN

I bought this phone through Straight Talk's website but you can't leave a review there. I was a little hesitant to get this phone because of the negative reviews regarding setup and mms/data issues. However, I decided to go for it anyways and I don't regret it for a minute! I upgraded the phone to 7.0.2 through itunes before I activated the phone and haven't had any problems with mms/data whatsoever. In fact I haven't had any problems with the phone in any aspect. It is pricey but you get what you pay for. I had the Galaxy Centura and was having problems with force closes and freezing and I'm glad I upgraded. Don't let the negative reviews steer you away, this is a great phone!

Was this review helpful? (32) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
D0UBLENJENN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
awesome phone and service!!
2/21/2014

Customer review by catlover2014

5.0 stars 2/21/2014 by catlover2014
by catlover2014

I had straight talk when it first came out to the world and wasnt that pleased with the service or customer service! It was awful.. So i decided to switch to U.S cellular which was awful and the cellphone bills were unreal. After awhile i heard that the iphone had come out for straight talk and heard excellent reviews about this product, and also negative reviews too.. I decided to give it a try, it was cheaper and the phone seemed to be great quality! I am very glad i made the switch, cut my phone bill in half and excellent cellphone service where I am located! Also this phone is most definitely the BEST phone out of any cellphone Ive ever owned!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
catlover2014
Lincoln,ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Throttled Data
3/25/2013

Customer review by DBH1

1.0 stars 3/25/2013 by DBH1
by DBH1

Be advised!!!! I have had Straighttalk for several months now. I had the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim but that phone is a entry level android to say the least. However, I bought the Iphone 5 and it worked great for almost a month. Now they have throttled my data which slowed my data speeds down so slow that using the internet is now not even feasible. The unlimited data is not truly unlimited because they will slow your speed down so slow that you can't use the internet. I never had this problem with the Proclaim. And another thing, the customer service reps are not American and literally know nothing about fixing any problem you have. DO NOT purchase if you use the internet much.

Was this review helpful? (108) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DBH1
Greenfield, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best iPhone Ever
1/25/2013

Customer review by Misnezy

5.0 stars 1/25/2013 by Misnezy
by Misnezy

I Just Bought this Yesterday. Awesome Product, it is very Fast on my WiFi at home. Had the iPhone 3G and iPhone 4 on AT&T Network. Also had the iPhone 4 on Straight Talk for the Last 4 Months. This iPhone 5 is on Straight Talk CDMA using Verizon Network 3G, it is really Fast and reliable. Haven't had an issue with the Cellular Network at all. The Camera Features are Cool and the Panorama Feature works Smooth. Tried out the Video and the Clairity is Great! I Like the Fact the iPhone 5 is Bigger and Sharper. I would Recommend this Product to Everyone.

Was this review helpful? (270) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Misnezy
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
NOT UNLIMITED DATA 1.5GB ONLY READ FINE PRINT
8/5/2013

Customer review by jilybeandreams

1.0 stars 8/5/2013 by jilybeandreams
by jilybeandreams

The phone is fine the service advertised is misleading and Walmart is aware of its limitations. I bought 2 iPhone 5s and in the first month my son's internet was disabled after he hit 1.5GB, so this is not "Unlimited Data." Also, once you have had your data shut down you will never get the same internet download speed back. Read the terms and agreements paragraph 6&7 on the Straight Talk website and you will see this service is limited and they won't give you any answers from Tech support. The store associates don't tell you this but most know about it. You are better off paying for a data plan with a carrier, unfortunately I am stuck with 2 iphones and very limited data!

Was this review helpful? (40) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jilybeandreams
New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love my new iphone5
2/6/2013

Customer review by Meekc

5.0 stars 2/6/2013 by Meekc
by Meekc
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I so excited to finally have a I-phone , I have always wanted one but was not willing to go back to a contract. Thank you apple, Straight talk and Walmart for making it possible. I received it a day earlier than expected, I have used straight talk services before and have never been disappointed. Yes you pass full price for the phone, but with a contract you end up paying for the phone plus some over time. If you want an iPhone this is an awesome deal.

Was this review helpful? (118) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Meekc
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
awesome phone but ok service
2/12/2013

Customer review by Iphone4eva

3.0 stars 2/12/2013 by Iphone4eva
by Iphone4eva

I went to my local walmart and got the straight talk iphone 5. Expecting all the amazing features of the great iphone 5. Not realizing that straight talk does not offer 4g witch i can handle that but the annoying thing is that I had bought my IPAD 2 the same day expecting to be able to use hotspot but straight talk doesnt allow hotspot. I also bought it on Feb 3rd 2012 and here is is feb 11th and it has taken me this long to get my internet/data to work. That is just over a week and many, many hours on hold and talking to tech support. To finally get it figured it out. What ended up getting my data working was restoring it and re-activating it via wifi instead of hooking it up to my computer and activating it through itunes. I also was told that this is an unlocked phone and can be used with any service provider and if that is true, that is a major plus!!! Straight talk has terriable customer service but other then that it is an amazing phone and you really cant beat $45.00 unlimited talk, text, and web/well you have about 2 gb of web before they cut you off!! Just know that if you buy this phone it can be a real pain in the butt getting your data working but once you get it all setup and working right you will love it. I give it a 3 star rating because of how long it took to get my data working and straight talks terriable customer service.

Was this review helpful? (50) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Iphone4eva
Jonesborough, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent phone
2/5/2013

Customer review by FirstOneAM

4.0 stars 2/5/2013 by FirstOneAM
by FirstOneAM
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Everything you would expect from an iphone is here. If there is such a thing as being too thin, iPhone is it. It felt awkward compared to earlier models as the edge digs into your hands, but you'll get used to it quickly. The Straight Talk iPhone her in New York City runs on 3G, which is plenty fast for a place with tons of towers. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? (73) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FirstOneAM
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
it is unlocked for international usage !
7/22/2014

Customer review by tranquility8orients

5.0 stars 7/22/2014 by tranquility8orients
by tranquility8orients

Confirmed it it unlocked . I've used it in China-- China Telecom & Malaysia -- Celcome. But there was a little story when I actived the phone. The ex-factory OS is ISO 6.1.x. I actived it via Wifi without a SIM card plugin when I just received it, but it was locked on Straight Talk. But it changed to unlocked after upgrading it to ISO 7.1.1, so strange! I don't know why till now.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tranquility8orients
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ST iPhone 5
5/1/2013

Customer review by Tampa786

3.0 stars 5/1/2013 by Tampa786
by Tampa786

Tried all contract (T mobile / ATT and Verizon) as well as non contract (MetroPCS and boost) so finally gave it shot to ST as well. Got iPhone 5 16 GB full priced at walmart; walmart associate ported my number with the ST customer service. Phone can't be activated unless wifi or PC available. So had to do it at home. Within 30 minutes my metroPCSservice was off (number ported from Metro PCS to ST#. Activtion process was smooth and easy It is a Verizon CDMA phone, for international travelers - it requires a SIM #does that mean if I travel abroad, I can simply use a sim and use it - that's my guess as that's what Verizon iPhone 5 does - unlocked for international travelers - I verified it with Verizon associate# Signals are great in my area; some spots where my ATT and T mobile didn't get service, ST did likely due to Verizon towers. Seldom drop calls in my condo; didn't have any issue when I am travelling around in Tampa Bay area. Great coverage. The issue is with data - Not getting 3G speed at all. Speed test 90% of the time shows download is less then 0.9 mbps all the time while upload is 0 - 0.3 mbps. Called ST customer service - reasonably helpful; went through her usual procedural steps - spent almost one hour with trouble shooting; and net result was - unable to get a good speed. I tried you tube while driving - at some places it didn't work due to data speed. Facetime though was working good. Phone calls / and calls via viber were good, didn't get any problem. So at this time, I am almost certain, I will exchange this iphone with another one and see if that data works. If it does - I will keep the phone and the service; otherwise I may just down grade to Galaxy Proclaim #149 $ vs 649# or may just proceed with Verizon prepay for smart phone #70$ with 2GB data / unlimited talk and text)

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tampa786
Clearwater, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
no data :(
2/8/2013

Customer review by mom4boys78

3.0 stars 2/8/2013 by mom4boys78
by mom4boys78

This is a nice phone but data does not work so i called straight talk last night was on the phone for 2 hours and they still could not find out why the data is not working.. Everything else about the phone works great, love the phone just wish they would fix the data problem, i would hate to send it back for this one problem....Is anybody else having the same problem if so did u get it fixed?

Was this review helpful? (55) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mom4boys78
corryton,tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Watered down iOS CAN NOT SEND PHOTO MESSAGES!
2/17/2013

Customer review by rmon1017

1.0 stars 2/17/2013 by rmon1017
by rmon1017

If you purchase this beware!! You CAN NOT send photo messages to other phones!! Straight talk has limited the abilities of this iPhone!! My wife and I both got them, DATA never worked! You MUST be on wifi for any internet to work, to download maps, or to use iMessage. You can send photos to other iPhones via iMessage if you are on your home or work wifi! We returned them. Terrible service!! It uses Tracfone Wireless service which shows TFW as the provider, but it bounces off of Verizon Towers... Very disappointed!!

Was this review helpful? (51) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rmon1017
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
It's an iPhone...
2/12/2013

Customer review by Xeries

5.0 stars 2/12/2013 by Xeries
by Xeries
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this phone with the finance deal on a Walmart credit card. I didn't have one, so it took about a week for the card to come. By that time they didn't have any white phones at the store so I had to make a "site to store" purchase. I didn't realize at the time that the coupon for the special financing was an "in store" promotion. Luckily the two female store associates that I dealt with took care of me and converted my purchase from "site to store" to "in store" so I could take advantage of the financing. I really appreciated that since the special financing was a major factor in my decision to buy this phone from Walmart. Now, to the phone. I purchased an iPad last year so I was already familiar with how everything operates. The packaging is top notch. A rarity these days. As usual I had problems setting up my phone but Straight Talk took care of me in about 1/2 an hour. The phone itself is narrower and feels more delicate than I would like, but that is easily remedied by purchasing a case for it. I've only made a few calls, but so far it's fine. Mostly I wanted it so I could get setup on my work e-mail server to retrieve my calendar when I am out and about. It also gives me my work and personal e-mails which can come in handy. It wasn't too difficult to set up which was always troublesome with my previous phone. I'm not too impressed with the speed as it is 3G so it takes a while to load some of the data, especially images. Still, it's a huge improvement over my Nokia. Overall it is as expected. It's the phone that everyone else wants to be. It is an original. It's an iPhone...what more can I say?

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Xeries
Carneys Point, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love iphone 5 dislike the limited service area
5/12/2013

Customer review by BHealthy

2.0 stars 5/12/2013 by BHealthy
by BHealthy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The iphone 5 is wonderful but I am greatly disappointed in the lack of coverage area. I have no service at home and very scattered service on my route to work. Previous to the purchase I put in my zipcode and a few surrounding towns and all of them were able to receive service. I don't know all the features and opportunities of the iphone 5 since I am limited on service area.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BHealthy
Limestone, ME
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Value
10/3/2013

Customer review by Frugalbuckeyegirl

5.0 stars 10/3/2013 by Frugalbuckeyegirl
by Frugalbuckeyegirl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am pretty careful with my money and have never wanted to spend a lot for a cell phone or a service plan. I am also not very technical when it comes to setting up equipment. This is my first smart phone. It is an excellent value and easy to use. It is even better than I expected and exceeds my expectations in every respect.

Was this review helpful? (27) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Frugalbuckeyegirl
Cincinnati
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 125 total reviews
1-20 of 125 reviews