Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 145 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

145 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

145 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
90
4 stars
20
3 stars
15
2 stars
5
1 stars
15
1-20 of 125 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 125 total reviews
1-20 of 125 reviews
Great if you want an iPhone off contract.
1/17/2013

Customer review by Keith305

4.0 stars 1/17/2013 by Keith305
by Keith305

Okay I own this phone and received it 1/14. I could not be any happier with Verizon's CDMA network that this phone runs off of. The 3G is full speed and not throttled like some prepaid services. When you make a phone call to someone with this device and if they have caller ID it will ring Verizon wireless. When unboxing the phone you will find it is boxed in the OEM apple box with a straight talk sticker on the box regarding activation. The phone itself is completely not branded in any physical way with straight talk logos etc. Also there is no straight talk bloat ware installed in the phone either. So physically and software wise this is identical to any other iPhone 5 that would be black and 16gb on Verizon or AT&T. Once again this a CDMA model that uses Verizon's 3G network. It has an lte radio but there is no lte service for this phone. Now regarding straight talks TOS they prohibit streaming music and videos. I've found that streaming music hardly uses any data and used in moderation with pandora etc you should be fine. They leave you alone if you stay under 100MB a day and also 2GB a month. Streaming videos is a bandwidth hog and you should do it under a wifi connection. With this said tethering this device is a poor choice and will easily flag you in their system as using far to much data so I would steer away from considering that. Now the reason I gave the phone 4 stars and not 5 was simply because I don't like the fact they say unlimited for 45 a month when it really is 2gb a month. For value I paid for the phone without financing because financing a cellphone is really a silly thing to do. And owning a 650$ is crazy without insurance so I signed up for apples 100$ a year apple care. Now for expectations I did a lot of research before buying the phone and got exactly what I expected and then some. I honestly did not think the 3G would have been this fast.

Was this review helpful? (824) (54)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Keith305
Jackson, WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Exceeds my expectations!
1/28/2013

Customer review by Dan23

5.0 stars 1/28/2013 by Dan23
by Dan23

I purchased this phone about 2 weeks ago at my local Wal-Mart. It comes in the original iPhone box just as you would get from the Apple store with no Straight Talk branding on the phone or box whatsoever. There is activation information attached to the outside of the box. Essentially this is the unlocked Verizon iPhone 5. It doesn't have a sim card in it so it runs off of Verizon's 3G network, which for me, was surprisingly fast. I get a great signal everywhere I go and the call quality is crystal clear. The iPhone 5 is a really great phone. Using it with Straight Talk is the same as any other carrier as long as you follow Straight Talks Terms of Service. I give the iPhone 5 along with Straight Talks service 5 stars as I am extremely pleased with it and only pay $45/month! The upfront cost ($650) for the phone is a little pricey but with the no interest finance plan Wal-Mart currently offers this is a great deal!

Was this review helpful? (303) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dan23
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It's on Verizon Towers
2/14/2013

Customer review by Larry30814

5.0 stars 2/14/2013 by Larry30814
by Larry30814

If you have never used an iPhone on Straight Talk, go ahead and download iTunes on your home computer and get the full benefit of itunes with your new iPhone. You can activate the phone over the pc or over wifi. Do not update to iOs 6.1 until you fully activate the phone, your data is working and you can send/receive mms. After you are sure everything works as it should, go ahead and do a backup, then install the upgrade to iOs 6.1 If you are already on Straight Talk with an iPhone, do not restore from your old backup. You will mess up the APN and will lose data and mms capability. Activate the phone as a NEW PHONE over wifi. Do not use iCloud during setup. After the phone is fully activated and you can use your browser to access the internet (with wifi turned off), your mms works, and everything works as it should, turn on iCloud and do a backup. THEN you can install iOs 6.1 Everything should still work when it is complete. Install your apps from the Appstore. Once you have all stuff as it should be, do another backup to icloud. If you want to use your iTunes on the pc, you will have to overwrite the old backup before you do anything else. Load all your music and stuff and you will be good to go. This is a great phone. It uses Verizon network. You will only get 3G on it. NO LTE. But Verizon 3G is everywhere. Beats AT&T, especially in buildings. Verizon works where other services will not. Your 3G speeds will be from 1 to 2.5Mbps, which is plenty fast enough. Webpages load fast. Siri works great, but I prefer Google. Download Google maps. The Applemaps are messed up. The first few days of use, let the battery get down below 50percent before you recharge. I can get two days without charging easily. I highly recommend this phone if you are in a good Verizon footprint.

Was this review helpful? (258) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Larry30814
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
Straight Talk iPhone 5
2/13/2013

Customer review by JCarhart84

5.0 stars 2/13/2013 by JCarhart84
by JCarhart84

First I love the iPhone 5. It is a major upgrade from my AT&T iPhone 4. At first I had issues with the data working. I called straight talk and they helped me thru it. I can tell anyone who buys this if your Internet isn't working go into settings, general, and reset network settings and that will fix your problem. It was expensive but it will pay for itself in less than a year since straight talk is so cheap per month.

Was this review helpful? (84) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JCarhart84
Bensalem Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/6/2013

Customer review by Xxcowensxx

1.0 stars 2/6/2013 by Xxcowensxx
by Xxcowensxx

Great phone. Bad service. They shut the Internet off after 100mb a day

Was this review helpful? (263) (49)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Xxcowensxx
Adrian
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Buyer beware... this is NOT an unlocked phone!
2/26/2013

Customer review by ZoesmomnAL

3.0 stars 2/26/2013 by ZoesmomnAL
by ZoesmomnAL

I purchased this phone online from Walmart and received it on 2/5/13. After an exhausting 2+ hours on the phone with Straight Talk to get the phone activated, I thought we were "all set." The service is good, even in rural areas; however, after finding out that Straight Talk considers free text messages such as credit card alerts, etc., to be premium messages, I elected to take my "unlocked' phone to another service. Imagine my surprise when I found out this phone cannot be used by any other service -- only Straight Talk! I am returning the phone to Walmart for a refund. I will say that the online representative from Walmart could not have been more helpful. Straight Talk's customer service is horrible!

Was this review helpful? (86) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ZoesmomnAL
Tuscaloosa, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
you get what you pay for, but good value
2/3/2013

Customer review by niconycx

3.0 stars 2/3/2013 by niconycx
by niconycx

got the phone on thursday 1/31 faster than expected. ported my number instantly (was also faster than expected). no problems at all. the iphone 5 is exactly what you expect, faster, lighter, and nicer screen than the iphone 4. so far the service has been good, we've placed and received calls and texts and everything is working as expected. we aren't heavy users so we'll be on the lighter side but I was frustrated paying much more for minutes and data we'll never use and to have unlimited everything for much less money is nice. that said, paying for the phone will make the full price for the first two years pretty close to the price i was paying on contract (excluding the "upfront fee") so it won't pay off for about two years - so we'll have to keep the same phone and same plan price well beyond the two years for this to make money sense. that said, straight talk customer service has been a big disappointment. my phone had a problem with the data connection after i applied apple's os 6.1 update - it just killed the data connection completely. i spent about 2 hours figuring it out (you need to wipe all data and settings from the iphone -- make sure you do a complete backup on itunes first! -- then restart the phone and restore the backup and everything SHOULD work after that. no promises but it worked for me. i tried calling and emailing straight talk customer service but they said they were too busy to answer the phone so they hung up, and they still haven't answered my email. http://www.straighttalkwirelessforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=6792&t=77873&start=10 so three stars - four for the phone itself combined with three for the value and three for the plan working mostly as expected plus two for a poor customer service experience at straight talk.

Was this review helpful? (84) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
niconycx
BROOKLYN, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very unclear terms of service
1/22/2013

Customer review by DavePT

3.0 stars 1/22/2013 by DavePT
by DavePT

Purchased two iPhone 5's from Walmart and signed up for Straight Talk Unlimited plan. After reading the terms of service it is evident that they are very unclear and confusing. There is no mention of how much data is "acceptable". The phone is great and so far the service has been too but we need clarification on these terms as they seem too one-sided as they state that Straight Talk can turn you off at their whim.

Was this review helpful? (193) (46)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DavePT
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
BE AWARE!!!!
2/10/2013

Customer review by sarah21308

1.0 stars 2/10/2013 by sarah21308
by sarah21308

OK i bought two of these the other day and payed cash in full and when i got them home to activate them the calling and texting works but the cellular data doesnt work at all when i talk to customer service they try everything to get it to work and still nothing the account is active and they say everything should work fine but once im away from my home wifi i cannot connect to the internet at all just a warning to everyone thinking about buying this i spent about 1500 dollars on basically an ipod that can make calls :/ highly dissapointed im going to try and resolve the issue ill post back here if it gets solved.

Was this review helpful? (118) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sarah21308
phila,pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
No Internet Through 3G Warning! Please Read
3/2/2013

Customer review by JStee

1.0 stars 3/2/2013 by JStee
by JStee

The Iphone 5 is a nice phone, but as soon as I activated it, it had no internet through 3G, you can use it through a wifi like a Ipod touch. I can call and text with it only, but I got this to use with Itunes and surf the web, if I just wanted to text, and call only I would have saved my 650.00 and got a cheap tracfone. I cannot find a fix anywhere on the internet, I called customer service for hours and hours, their English is very poor and hard to understand, so I have to keep asking them to repeat and they are rude, one asked me to take out the battery, you can't on this phone, and what they do tell you to do does not work, I tried it all over and over and over again. I'm am not the only one with this problem, if you search on google this is a big issue not being addressed by Straight Talk. If you really want an Iphone go to a big carrier, and it will cost you but at least you 'll have 3G/ 4G LTE guaranteed data!, I'm paying 45 dollars just to call and text with no data, and I don't know if I will get this solved or not, I'm gonna keep trying but it looks like a hopeless cause,

Was this review helpful? (82) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JStee
Salem, Il
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good for $45 but...
2/14/2013

Customer review by jonnyohio

4.0 stars 2/14/2013 by jonnyohio
by jonnyohio

Well the iPhone 5 is just a great phone. It is one of the best, but not the best phone out there. I like the phone a lot though, and it feels great in the hand and works very well. The 3G, according to the speed tests I did, is full speed on Straight Talk. However, it appears there is some blocking going on with certain services. I cannot access Facebook or Twitter on the 3G connection. I can access YouTube but can not stream a video even at low quality. I couldn't post any status updates on Facebook while I was out, or update my feed. Not that it's a big deal to me, but if you like doing that stuff, you might run into the same problem and be upset about it especially since no where did I read anything about certain services being blocked. I haven't found anyone saying they have the same issue, so maybe it is just me. It's just odd that only 3 things won't load but my internet browser loads google, my searches, and other websites very fast while I'm on 3G...siri even works fine. So who knows.

Was this review helpful? (67) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jonnyohio
Defiance, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not with straight talk
2/9/2013

Customer review by neonlex2002

2.0 stars 2/9/2013 by neonlex2002
by neonlex2002

The phone is great I just wouldnt getit through straight talk. They tell you that you can get att service but u end up with verizon. Which is still cool but the internet doesnt work at all. I been trying to get through to customer support for at least 4-5 hours and have yet to connect. I got through once and the told me to call them back from a different phone other than my cell ok. So not the wait game begins again. I get through again only because i said something other than what the problem was and they bounce you around cause none of them no how to work the iphone service. So I get a guy he tells me to cut the phone off and turn it back on. Then to connect to the internet. I tell him it didnt connect and he says ok now your connected. No i'm not connected ok sir he says and i'm going to connect you to a different department. We all know all these people siting in one room amongst each other cause you can hear the other agents in the background. Besides for the internet issue i like the phone but to pay 742 for the phone and monthly mintues is it really worth it.

Was this review helpful? (68) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
neonlex2002
Neptune, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great to have for straight talk but ...
2/6/2013

Customer review by FlowerGirl38

4.0 stars 2/6/2013 by FlowerGirl38
by FlowerGirl38

Overall, satisfied. Make sure it is activated correctly for the Internet it should be 13.1 not 14. I did not have Internet when I left the house. It is kind of slow 3G but Siri works and so far I am getting what I need once I had the phone reactivated. First time IPhone owner so I am excited. It is thru Verizon towers, no SIM card. If you want AT&T you need to buy unlocked phone from apple and buy SIM card online at Walmart and call straight talk to activate.

Was this review helpful? (36) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FlowerGirl38
Woodland hills, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointed
1/27/2013

Customer review by Mary227

2.0 stars 1/27/2013 by Mary227
by Mary227

Internet service has not worked since I purchased the phone. I have been on the phone for hours three times, emailed and still no data service. I was told to give them 72 hours to resolve the problem. Will be returning.

Was this review helpful? (56) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mary227
Bartlett, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Phone beware of upgrading iOS
3/5/2013

Customer review by Lacricy

4.0 stars 3/5/2013 by Lacricy
by Lacricy

Purchased this phone with Walmart's special financing deal ($25.00 / month no interest# and bought a $45 service card. The phone was working great: good call quality, good web/data speeds, mms, and texting were great. Then I updated the phone to iOS 6.1.2, that is when I had problems. I was no longer able to send or recieve MMS texts, and I had no web capabilities. So after many attempts to reset, reboot, clear all data and settings, erase all data and setting, fresh installs and *22890's nothing worked EXCEPT stayin on the line with customer service I talked to the first operator who then elevated me to technical support. After a few minutes he had me tell him the version of the phone and PRL of the phone #go to settings>general>about>then you will see the line that says Carrier. well you have to physically tap on the word Carrier to show your PRL, as soon as you take your finger and press the word Carrier it will turn to PRL). After about five minutes they had me restart the phone The version changed and the phone was working again. It took a while but there is a solution. Other than the problem of 6.1.2 the phone and the service have been great.

Was this review helpful? (38) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lacricy
Tracy, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The Straight Talk Data Service
4/16/2013

Customer review by ChicagoConsumer1234

1.0 stars 4/16/2013 by ChicagoConsumer1234
by ChicagoConsumer1234

is what I'm rating. The phone was terrific and coverage seemed pretty good at least in regards to voice/text. It did not work right out of the box but eventually after hours on the phone with Straight Talk they were able to activate the data portion of the service. However the speeds of the data service were very slow. I wasn't expecting 4g speeds but hoped for something closer to 3G. Actual speeds were argue-ably less than 2G. With the Speedtest app, I averaged 0.25 Mbps for both upload and download in densely populated parts of Chicago. I called Straight Talk to see if I could expect better and they said no. I've returned the phone and canceled the rest of my service. If data speeds are not important then Straight Talk is a good bargain. However with the Iphone 5, it felt like driving a Ferrari on a dirt road.

Was this review helpful? (32) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChicagoConsumer1234
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome phone! Love it!
10/10/2013

Customer review by coffeegirlct

5.0 stars 10/10/2013 by coffeegirlct
by coffeegirlct

I was on a Verizon contract paying $90 a month for minimal minutes, minimal texts, but grandfathered into unlimited data. Then Straight Talk came out with the iPhone, my choices were 4 or 5 and I really wanted Siri. I blew most of my tax return on it and haven't looked back since. I've had it since Feb 2013 and the first month the data was sketchy at best but they worked their bugs out and now it works great! The phone operates on Verizon cell towers, but it's locked down to 3G speeds which is all I've ever used so I guess I don't know what I'm missing. but even with 3G speeds, it's still pretty fast. I use my phone all the time and would be lost without it! I got mine at $649.00, buying an iPhone from verizon would have been $700 (only way to keep my data as unlimited would be to buy it at full price) but I would still be paying $90 a month. I've already saved so much money with straight talk... It takes stunning pictures and videos 16 GB of space is not a whole lot but it's enough for me to put about 500 songs, a full movie, about 30 apps, and I have about 200 pictures on there right now. I only gave it 4 out of 5 for Value because it is a VERY expensive phone I only gave it 4 out of 5 for Meets Expectations because it is a 4G phone locked to 3G speeds.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coffeegirlct
Norwich, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great phone some issues with Straight Talk however
2/14/2013

Customer review by actor90

4.0 stars 2/14/2013 by actor90
by actor90

The Apple iPhone 5 is an excellent phone with a great screen and solid build. The only issues I have, which are minor, are the fact that Straight Talk through Tracfone has their iPhone 5's on the Verizon network which limits all third party carriers to 3G speeds. This is like having a Ferrari that is limited to going 25 mph. Yeah it gets you there, but not as fast as 4G LTE. The other issue is that Straight Talk disables the ability to make three way calls or conference calls on this phone. It has call waiting, but wont allow you to talk to two people at the same time. I thought it was a bug and after an hour on the phone with Straight Talk tech support they finally informed me that three way calling/conference calling is against Straight Talk TOS and is disabled. In this day in age that's just odd for an unlimited talk/data plan. Other then those issues, the phone works flawlessly and is fast to load apps. The phone call quality on the Verizon network is excellent and I haven't found a dead spot yet. The unlimited data is limited to 2GB, which isn't unlimited except in the eyes of any cellular carrier. Which is fine as I have not come even close to the limit. I would recommend this phone to anyone who wants inexpensive reliable phone service with the best phone out there.

Was this review helpful? (27) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
actor90
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good phone but very bad customer service!
3/18/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 3/18/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Got the phone and got it hooked up and everything worked great. The next day I could not get the Internet to work so I had to call support. Three days later and after them telling me to just reset the phone and turn it on and off for hours on end I gave up. The customer service tech even hung the phone up on me after being on the phone for over 2 hours trying to resolve the problem! Went back to me old carrier and returned the phone. Goes to show you get what you pay for. It's not worth the hassle dealing with these people.

Was this review helpful? (27) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Richmond, Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Think of it this way
2/21/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 2/21/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Your buying a Cadillac (IPhone 5) and placing a Model T engine (StraightTalk) in it. you will not be able to use all of the features the phone offers because of the service providers limits. If you are going to spend that much money (over 705.00USD) then you may want to look at a 4g LTE provider. OR buy another phone that is not so expensive. Apple has slowed I5 production line to a crawl and as of October 2012 the I5s production has started. the I5s will be out in May to compete with the galaxy 3 mini. The korean company is kicking apples core to the core. if you know what I mean. You will also see apple reduce the costs of some of their products very soon. not the phones. i suggest you do a side by side comparison, not only phones but with cellular providers and then look at the 5. hope this helps. steve

Was this review helpful? (33) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Cupertino, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 125 total reviews
1-20 of 125 reviews