Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 227 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

227 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

227 reviews | 4 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
107
4 stars
72
3 stars
14
2 stars
11
1 stars
23
1-20 of 222 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 222 total reviews
1-20 of 222 reviews
Looks Great - OK for Casual Play
7/1/2013

Customer review by tj10564

3.0 stars 7/1/2013 by tj10564
by tj10564

It was time consuming to assemble but not difficult. Instructions were clear and most things lined up properly. Having extra tools, time to spare and a large space will be a benefit. I find most reviewers concentrate on their assembly experience, I'd rather talk about how it plays and functions. Once put together and in place it looks fantastic, like a much more expensive unit than it is. The poles are quite sturdy. Now for the exceptions. The backboard plastic is very thin and as a result noisy. The clear plastic is only about 1/8 in thick so when the ball hits it makes a loud drum like sound. It's so loud I don't want my kids playing at night or early morning fearing it will offend my neighbors. Play is also affected on this thin material, action off the glass may not be what you expect. If you're a serious player I'd suggest researching a unit with thicker polycarbonate. For my kids ages 10 and 13 it's fine. Height adjustment is difficult, my kids can not do it. I am 5' 7" and the handle and pin are so high I can just reach them while standing on the base. I plan to leave it at max height so not a big deal for me, but if you plan to change the height often you may want to consider a better system with a hydraulic adjuster that's easier to reach. The plastic base is made of very thin material. I need to stand on it to reach the height adjustment and it is very "giggly". It makes me worry that it could break or be punctured easily and won't hold up in the future. Even though I have these complaints, considering how cheap this system is I'd say it is acceptable, but not outstanding.

Was this review helpful? (78) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tj10564
Long Island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Looks Great Plays Big
5/4/2013

Customer review by BlueRumble

5.0 stars 5/4/2013 by BlueRumble
by BlueRumble

I took my time setting it up. It took 4.5 hours by my self. I built the base and pole in my living room while watching TV. Built the rest on my porch. Not tricky at all. Instructions were very clear. Take the time to read them before you begin. Know the the pieces, and get the right tools. The kids and I played for nearly six hours. I only played for about an 1.5 hours. Its big and solid. This was a replacement for the one I had for ten years. Fantastic upgrade. My neighbor is going to buy one now.

Was this review helpful? (92) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlueRumble
Stockton, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic Deal, Sturdy, and Adjustable
5/19/2014

Customer review by Bob321Davis

5.0 stars 5/19/2014 by Bob321Davis
by Bob321Davis

I did a lot of research online and in store. I was dead set on an in-ground hoop because I hated the idea of a hoop shaking (thought it would make you miss a bunch of shots). I've played on this for two days now and had no issues with stability. It's VERY sturdy! It adjustsin seconds! 7ft 6in to 10 ft in 6in increments. 7ft 6in actually measured 7ft 7in, and 10ft was DEAD ON (that extra inch gradually diminished as you approach 10ft). Pretty accurate if you ask me. I did site-to-store and there was no damage and no missing parts. There were a lot of screws and nuts and bolts. It looks beautiful and it can take a dunk, no problem (just don't hang on it unless you weigh under 50 lbs like my son. Then you can hang on it all day). In my opinion, you can: A. Spend a hundred bucks and pray it lasts B. Spend a thousand or more and be the envy of the neighborhood C. or Spend $250 on this and endure the difficult assembly to have one just as good looking and functional as the more expensive ones This is the basketball system you're looking for anywhere between $100 and $1000. Unless you want to dunk all day every day. Then I'd get a Goalrilla. You're going to need: 1. a scrap piece of wood (appx 6in X 6in) to bang the 3 long poles into each other on 2. 1/2" , 9/16" , and 3/4" sockets with a 6"-12" extension 3. 1/2" , 9/16" , and 3/4" hand wrenches 4. Phillips and Flat head screw driver 5. Hammer 6. A sawhorse or 4-5ft table to rest the backboard on to lower the pole onto to attach it to the backboard (I used my city garbage can. It worked fine) 7. 6ft Ladder (Duh, but I didn't think of it, lol) TIP#1 I laid out all of my screws, nuts, and bolts on the bottom of the box and numbered them BEFORE I started construction and it helped tremendously. Hold each piece of hardware up to the guide on pages 8-10 to correctly identify. They are not labeled in the packages when you receive them TIP#2 The main "Mast" is composed of three tubes which need to fit EXACTLY 3.5in into each other. It's nearly impossible to separate these once you've begun connecting them, so double check your 3.5in marks and double check to make sure the order of poles is correct (bottom, middle, and top poles) TIP#3 Make sure you attach the pole mount bracket (part# 15)to the top pole, not the middle or bottom like I did the first time TIP#4 Your large carriage bolts may have trouble sliding in and out of the factory pre-drilled holes because of the black coating on the brackets (I only had trouble with 1 hole). Don't worry, just bore the hole out a little with a drill bit or by wallowing the hole out a bit with a smaller bolt Check out my pictures and ask questions if you want.

Was this review helpful? (135) (45)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bob321Davis
Florence, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great goal for the price
3/12/2014

Customer review by G3704

5.0 stars 3/12/2014 by G3704
by G3704

Have had two of these over the years. They tend to max out around eight years of steady use before rust eats the post near the base. This one is a newer design and has a drain hole under the post. We enjoy it. Only two negatives. Younger players will NOT be able to work the height adjustment and it took over two hours to assemble - requires 2 people. It is easy to move around as needed. I recommend using water to fill the base over sand. Our original was filled with sand and was nearly impossible to relocate when we moved. Water at least can be drained. Picked this one up on sale for $250. I recommend.

Was this review helpful? (24) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
G3704
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product value
4/27/2013

Customer review by Hj1906

5.0 stars 4/27/2013 by Hj1906
by Hj1906

I was thinking about purchasing the 52" basket but the 54" seemed like a good choice. I was not disappointed. The assembly was as described in the instructions. Not complicated. The kids love it. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (37) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hj1906
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Hoop for the price
11/26/2013

Customer review by PGBHCB

5.0 stars 11/26/2013 by PGBHCB
by PGBHCB

After reading some of the reviews on putting this product together I was a little nervous when I purchased it. I will say that it went together very easy and I only needed a second hand when it came to putting the backboard on. The basketball hoop system is very rugged and I would recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (43) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PGBHCB
New London, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Got it on sale--met expectations
2/17/2014

Customer review by sweetness34

4.0 stars 2/17/2014 by sweetness34
by sweetness34

No portable system is going to match an in-ground system. This one is heavy duty and the backboard and rim are decent quality. You do need saw-horses and another person during most of the assembly. The rim was not easy to attach without help. Overall, it seems like it will withstand anything my kids can dish out. The adjustable height works well, but it takes some umph to lock it into the 10' setting.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sweetness34
Wamego, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My 17 year old loves it.
4/29/2014

Customer review by Starflower22

4.0 stars 4/29/2014 by Starflower22
by Starflower22

My son wanted a new basketball hoop for his birthday so the search started. I must say the internet can be helpful but the reviews had me pulling my hair out. So let's get to it 1,did it take a little time to put together? yes 2 1/2 - 3 hours. 2, Did we have any missing nuts and bolts? No we just opened everything put all nuts and bolts in a smaller box we had on hand. 3,Were the nuts and bolts numbered? No but To make sure we used the right ones we followed the directions. 4,Did we have any issues with the directions? No I really feel that most people that had issues with the directions were because they are not following them we took our time read the directions first and put it together. My 17 year old son loves it.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Starflower22
Detroit Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/12/2013

Customer review by onlineshopper2946

4.0 stars 6/12/2013 by onlineshopper2946
by onlineshopper2946

Pros: great size, durable, looks like the court the pros use Cons: very top heavy, difficult to build (all parts unlabeled), and hard to transport back and forth Other than that, it looks just like the picture and I like it. Moving the court is difficult if you're using it the way I am, bringing it to the street and then back to the driveway. It is a very heavy court so if you plan to move it from spot to spot, this would be too heavy.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
onlineshopper2946
Ontario, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A system so nice we bought it TWICE!
5/1/2014

Customer review by MominPA1973

5.0 stars 5/1/2014 by MominPA1973
by MominPA1973

We had bought an older version of this same system about 8 years ago. Our over-sized driveway quickly became the neighborhood hangout, and everyone of every age would play. The angled pole avoided countless injuries since layups and dunks can be done without worrying about hitting it. The adjustable height mechanics are as smooth as butter and my son was able to do it himself since he was about 8 years old. With the exception of the NBA sticker fading, the system stayed in great shape until Hurricane Sandy came through Pennsylvania and blew it forward, sending it crashing into the windshield of my truck, breaking the windshield and the acrylic backboard. Obviously this is not the fault of the system. So a year later we finally decided to replace the old one with this one. It's almost identical, and my 13-year-old son is so happy. The only difference is that this time we used a nylon cargo strap to wrap around the pole and tether to our fence post to assure it wouldn't blow over should another Hurricane come through! One more thing: YOU CANNOT BEAT THE PRICE!

Was this review helpful? (17) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MominPA1973
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Great Product
4/23/2013

Customer review by soccerboy412

5.0 stars 4/23/2013 by soccerboy412
by soccerboy412

When I bought it from Walmart the package was open, so we got a 10% discount. Then when we went to set it up some parts were missing. We called a toll-free number and got our parts shipped to us for free. Quick shipping!!!

Was this review helpful? (18) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
soccerboy412
awesomeness road
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Rough setup. Needs 2 strong adults!
5/26/2013

Customer review by Rivergurl2907

3.0 stars 5/26/2013 by Rivergurl2907
by Rivergurl2907

First, the numerous parts are not clearly marked in their package. It's makes flipping back to the part list tedious. Next the instructions mention that not all part photos are included in each set so yours may look differently then shown. This presents a problem later on during installation. You will also need some tools of your own, that the instructions fail to mention. We used several sized ratchets, wrenches, sawhorse, screwdrivers, pliers and shims. You will also need a large work area as this unit is over 10 feet tall. You will also need two strong ( and patient) adults and at least 3 hours to kill. The hardest of the installation takes place with the assembly of the elevator unit and backboard. The instructions will have you do these steps upside down and backwards- meaning you are literally trying to install the heaviest pieces with the unit facing down. And we had a set whose parts were different then shown, and since they are not marked, we were left to do a tad bit of guessing. Also, don't put the water or sand into the base until you literally have the unit where it will live forever. Spaulding neglected to put a drain unit on the base. So once filled, near impossible to relocate. For the overall price, the instructions leave a lot to be desired.

Was this review helpful? (13) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rivergurl2907
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great deal on a superior system
12/28/2013

Customer review by mdcowboy22

5.0 stars 12/28/2013 by mdcowboy22
by mdcowboy22

This hoop was on sale for $200 and is much higher quality than any other system in this price range. It is probably worth the retail price of $400.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mdcowboy22
Summerville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/16/2013

Customer review by Johnnygi

4.0 stars 10/16/2013 by Johnnygi
by Johnnygi

Once assembled appears to be very good purchase. Assembly a 2 man job and plan on putting a few hours in to do it. The angled system I like however time will tell if too top heavy and may tip. Overall so far so good- sturdy hoop and nice size backboard. Looking at other Elite brands with same size I like this one better.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Johnnygi
Milford, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent purchase!
7/6/2013

Customer review by Thomasa5050

5.0 stars 7/6/2013 by Thomasa5050
by Thomasa5050

I've played all of my life and this portable hoop is great, very solid, especially for the price compared to what other stores sell similar models for. It took me 3 hours to set up but was fairly easy with step by step instructions and I did most of it in the rain. I would recommend two people setting it up.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Thomasa5050
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great buy
11/11/2013

Customer review by kosehkharet

4.0 stars 11/11/2013 by kosehkharet
by kosehkharet

great buy however the pain is in the assembly. definitely going to take 2 ppl to assemble in 3 hours. but once assembled, the kids will love it!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kosehkharet
ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Value, Assembly Pretty Easy
5/1/2014

Customer review by PapaPipp

4.0 stars 5/1/2014 by PapaPipp
by PapaPipp

This backboard system is very good. I'd like to give it a 4.5 star rating, but that's not possible. So I gave it 4 stars. Three minor issues are why I didn't give it 5 stars. 1. Press nuts on the axles are a poor design choice. Firstly, press nuts are notorious for loosening and they can't be tightened. So the wheel falls off. Secondly, without an "anvil" to secure the press nuts for seating, it's too easy to flatten/misshape them. Spalding doesn't provide an anvil. Spalding should provide an anvil, or spring for bolts and nylock nuts, as are used elsewhere. I had to go buy bolts/nuts for the axles. Three dollars. 2. The springs are just a little too long. If you want to set the height to 10' you have to lay the unit down and pull the springs into an arc to allow it to extend to full height. Not hard to do alone, but a design flaw nonetheless. 3. It takes a little doing to get the backboard perfectly parallel to the front of the base. Here's what I did: Once it was fully assembled I loosened all the bolts at the base (6 on the front guard, 4 on the front guard braces, and 2 on the wheels where the braces bolt to the wheels). Then I rotated the backboard (takes a small amount of umph) until it was parallel to the front of the base. Stand it up and tighten the bolts and it's all set. Minor issues aside, don't hesitate to buy this unit, it's a great backboard at a great price.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PapaPipp
Northwestern Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Price Could Not Be beat!!
12/1/2013

Customer review by MomWhoIsAwsomeFL

4.0 stars 12/1/2013 by MomWhoIsAwsomeFL
by MomWhoIsAwsomeFL

Delivery Time was excellent - Location Choices for pick up was very accommodating - Item was challenging to put together - didn't have two needed screws in the box but got what I needed at Home Depot and continued my assembly. Bought it for my son for Hanukah. He Loved IT!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomWhoIsAwsomeFL
West Palm Beach Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Rated 4 shots of Fireball to Assemble
2/17/2015

Customer review by nate

2.0 stars 2/17/2015 by nate
by nate

I am a typical dad. I put together lots of stuff using cryptic directions that probably require advanced degrees in ancient languages to decipher. The assembly instructions for this basketball hoop are an excellent example of all of the absolutely worst practices in the "some assembly required" literature genre. This basketball hoop is the Twilight series of toy instructions. First, the nuts, washers, bolts are all prepackaged in the nice multi-compartment see-through packages that are typical of advanced toy assembly. However, it appears that most of the fasteners were randomly placed in the various packages. So one compartment had 6 nuts (3 of one size, 2 of another size, and 1 lonely nut); 4 washers and 2 bolts. None of the compartments were labeled with what should be in them so I assume this was intentional. Luckily, an experienced dad such as myself was able to catch this fun little tidbit early on so I spent 40 minutes opening all of the packages and organizing all of the parts into their groups to make sure I had everything required to put the thing together. About the time I finished organizing the parts, I stepped away to get a drink (at this point water, I wouldn't hit the hard stuff until later). A few minutes later I heard my 4 year old offering one of the dogs a "pretty silver treat." Luck struck again as apparently, steel is one of only two substances in the known world that the family dog will not eat (the other being any dog food that cost less than $1 per serving). With the parts cataloged and an hour into the assembly, I (again, being the experienced dad that I am) sat down to read through the entire instructions before starting. I started feeling uneasy at the first page when the first instruction was to use a screwdriver to ream out all of the pre-drilled bolt holes. Given the recent advances in technology, and knowing that even the government can put remote control cars on Mars and that private companies can build houses with 3-D printers, I was taken aback that this company was unable to consistently drill holes in metal that were the right diameter for the bolts either before or after the metal was painted. I probably should have stopped there, packed everything back up and driven it down to Walmart. But the box is heavy, the parts had already been unpacked, and I figured I was at about the midpoint of the pain. Better to go forward than back. The next major issue was with the plastic cover that goes over the two support rods that connect the base to the main pole. The bolt holes didn't line up. I took it apart and put it back together 3 times in every imaginable configuration and it wasn't even close. I am going to assume that the plastic cover is cosmetic because right now I plan on using it for a sled next winter. Once you get done with, or give up on the plastic cover, this is an excellent time for the first two shots of Fireball. Things go smoothly for a while until you realize that there are two identical sets of pre-drilled holes in the center section of the pole, both of which fit the height adjustment mechanism. The instructions do not indicate which set of holes to use (or even alert you to the fact that there are two sets of holes) and so Murphy's law states that you will select the wrong set of holes. Thankfully, you had those two shots, so you really don't care that you have to move the height adjustment mechanism once you realize it is in the wrong spot. The backboard connection rods go in fairly easily although you may want to do that thing like with the old 3-d images where you half-cross your eyes and slightly blur your vision in order to make the images in the book reasonably usable. Once you have the backboard connection rods done, this is a good time for the next two shots of Fireball, because getting those rods onto the backboard is going to take significant effort. The metal bracket that attaches the backboard to the connector rods via two 1/2 inch diameter bolts has 7/16th diameter holes drilled in it. No amount of screwdriver reaming is going to fix that problem. A 1/2 inch titanium drill bit does solve that problem. Don't worry, Walmart sells these at a reasonable price if you don't already have one. Once assembled, the hoop is stable, the backboard is large and it plays nice. Assembly took over 4 hours and several extra tools/steps that were not in the directions. Basketball standards are notoriously difficult to put together, but this one goes out of its way to make assembly particularly painful and traumatic.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nate
Would recommend to a friend? No
Same portable backboard system carried by others
7/26/2013

Customer review by MAXIMUSDAXIMUS

5.0 stars 7/26/2013 by MAXIMUSDAXIMUS
by MAXIMUSDAXIMUS

Great system for the money. After researching on-line and making comparisons I decided to purchase this system to replace our previous model. Only complaint if any, would be a more detailed instruction manual and blister packs with the fasteners marked. Will need 2 people to assemble (the second person also comes in handy organizing the fasteners for the next step, while the other tightens fasteners of the current step. Total assembly time 1 1/2 Hours max. Should also point out that WALMART's ship to store option is the way to go. This item arrived at my local WALMART store a week ahead of the estimated delivery date.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MAXIMUSDAXIMUS
CELINA, OHIO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 222 total reviews
1-20 of 222 reviews