Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 37 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

37 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

37 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
21
4 stars
8
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-20 of 37 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews
Creature Comforts
11/10/2012

Customer review by JBF4

4.0 stars 11/10/2012 by JBF4
by JBF4

I have only had the laptop for a day so I thought I would write about my initial reactions. I bought it because I do a lot of photography and graphics. The files are huge, so this should have no problem. There were two things initially. It is not a touch screen, I overlooked that but it isn't important to me anyway, just would have been fun. Also the keys are not back lit. That's a pet peeve of mine because I am a night owl and work in low light a lot. I missed that also, but not a big deal. It literally took all day to load Adobe Creative Suites CS6, about seven hours; huge software. My photos look amazing on the screen. The colors are spot on and sharp. While other people are going smaller I am going bigger. I also plan to tether my camera to it so the screen will be great for that. It is wide but it doesn't feel heavy to me. It's lightning fast which I am thrilled about. I am very happy, just wished it had a few more"creature comforts". Oh, love the Beats speakers, they just sound great!

JBF4
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
FIne product at reasonable price
11/27/2012

Customer review by BJeff

4.0 stars 11/27/2012 by BJeff
by BJeff

The HP Envy dv7-7240us is a fine product. It has solid construction, great features, and great performance. At this time it is working fine. I will say that there were some bugs for me to get it to run, mostly due to application software that came bundled with the unit: The pre-installed Norton Internet Security would block Homegroup networking and some other file sharing between PCs from working. After I uninstalled Norton, and reverted to Windows Firewall and Windows Defender, networking is working. The pre-installed CyberLink PowerDVD prevented Windows Media Player from writing to DVD. The system would complain that the blank DVD's were not writable. After I uninstalled PowerDVD, Windows Media Player can write DVDs. This solution was provided by the HP support desk. HP Backup and Recovery would not create the recovery disks. The 24 hour HP support desk helped me resolve these issues, and the unit is running fine now. We are happy with it.

BJeff
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
excellent laptop yet frustrating at times
11/18/2012

Customer review by sanjay007

3.0 stars 11/18/2012 by sanjay007
by sanjay007

The laptop specs are awesome, yet i don't feel there's a major difference in speed compared to my 4yr old cheap laptop which has only 2gb ram and 2.0 ghz processor. this laptop has a lot of mindblowing features and windows 8 is quite complicated to understand at first as other reviewers are talking about it. my problem with this laptop is that it is not on the go when i want to connect it with my home theater, it makes a loud humming sound. i returned first one and got it replaced fairly quickly (good customer care) but have the same problem again! its making a humming sound too. although when i connect my toshiba laptop with my home theater it runs smoothly. the built in speakers are pretty loud so i watch movies with my laptop's speakers and use my tv for screen. bottom line this is a good laptop and on average anyone can use it for various purposes (school, business, gaming, movies - not if you want to watch over tv screen)

sanjay007
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Another Great HP Product.
11/10/2012

Customer review by gstone1

5.0 stars 11/10/2012 by gstone1
by gstone1

Hp did a wonderful job with this laptop. The build quality is top-notch while wrapped in a nice contemporary package. The laptop is very quick and responsive, and will handle anything you throw at it, as a student that is a nice feature to have. One thing i'm not fond of is the touchpad, it"s kinda jumpy and annoying, other than that this laptop is an absolute joy. My Specs: 3rd generation Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3610QM Processor (2.3 GHz, 6MB L3 Cache) • NVIDIA(R) GeForce(R) GT 650M Graphics with 2GB GDDR5 memory [HDMI, VGA] • 8GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm) • 750GB 7200 rpm Hybrid Hard Drive with HP ProtectSmart Hard Drive Protection • NO mSSD Hard Drive Acceleration Cache • Microsoft(R) Office Starter: reduced-functionality Word/Excel(R) only, No PowerPoint(R)/Outlook(R) • No additional security software • 50% off 6 cell + 9 cell Lithium Ion Battery • 17.3-inch diagonal Full HD Anti-glare LED-backlit Display (1920 x 1080) • Blu-ray player & SuperMulti DVD burner • HP TrueVision HD Webcam • Intel 802.11b/g/n WLAN and Bluetooth(R) • Backlit Keyboard with numeric keypad

gstone1
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Is the laptop any good? Cant get past the OS...
11/21/2012

Customer review by sparkyspark

3.0 stars 11/21/2012 by sparkyspark
by sparkyspark

Okay, i admit it. I haven't been able to shake out the capabilities of the hardware because of the software. Preloaded with Windows 8, I am trying to "get the hang of the interface". I am unsure how much of my dissatisfaction is the HP, and how much is on Microsoft. The operating system is very non-intuitive. Getting past Windows 8 features to streamline the interface is hard. I am glad I can plop it next to the desktop, run google searches on the desktop, and slowly peel back the layers of awkward coding to see if the laptop is any good. Building the system recovery disks took several hours spaced out over two days. It is a very time consuming process, and failed a half dozen times (fortunately the system remembers the previous work and only starts again at disk "n" of 6. Since you can only build one set, I sincerely hope I never ever have to use it and/or the process worked right. At this point, unless you want to spend time monkeying with the system straight out of the box, look for a system preloaded with Windows 7 and avoid this model. I'd give HP $20 to downgrade to Win7. What they sold me is a project, not an out-of-the-box state of the art system.

sparkyspark
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Hardware, bad OS
12/9/2012

Customer review by CHAPELHILL2012

4.0 stars 12/9/2012 by CHAPELHILL2012
by CHAPELHILL2012

I purchase a customized version of the HP ENVY dv7t-7200. The hardware is great, the antiglare screen, extra memory, better hard drive, and backlit keyboard are worth having. However, all these great features are ruined by the operating system, Microsoft Windows 8. If possible get a different OS. By chance my spouse's computer went bad and we ran out to the store 2 weeks after receiving my HP and bought another HP ENVY laptop, almost identical to mine, but with Windows 7 (last computer in the store with this) - much happier with this OS. I lowered my overall raiting of my ENVY because of the OS (Windows 8) would have been 5 stars with Windows 7.

CHAPELHILL2012
Chapel Hill
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
great computer
11/28/2012

Customer review by yellowpages20

5.0 stars 11/28/2012 by yellowpages20
by yellowpages20

this is a replacement computer.. this computer has some awsome features from the simple pass where i have 8 web sites and to get into them is slide my finger and it goes to the web sites and types in the user name and password---this feature is awsome. i like the backlit keyboard in dark rooms. the computer has a super fast i7 processor. this computer was great out of the box and i would rate the computer 10 stars out of 5. it is a awsome computer and i am a died in the wool hp man. thanks hp for a great product. this is my 4th hp product and i am died in the wool hp customer and would not own anything but hp products.hp backs up what the sell.

yellowpages20
pearl, miss
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Sleek and Smooth
11/30/2012

Customer review by LaptopKelly

4.0 stars 11/30/2012 by LaptopKelly
by LaptopKelly

Let me preface this review by saying I am not a tech guy. I like gadgets, phones, tvs, video games, and all of that but I'm not an expert on specs or how to upgrade and improve and all that jazz. I was in the market for a new laptop for a few reasons, My old Satellite was getting outdated, my wife needed a machine that could support her new photography business, and an unfortunate mountain dew accident. I was looking for a machine with a HD screen, lots storage space, and a machine that was fast. This machine delivers everything I was looking for. The screen is beautiful. Watching Netflix is stunning and I ran Company of Heros (game) at ultra settings without the thought of a hiccup. The keyboard is a delight to type on and give just the right ratio of resistance and smoothness. Trackpad works good and does a pretty good job of recognizing the Windows 8 gestures. Windows 8 is definitely different but I love it. In an age where people demand information the live tiles and apps are a godsend. Everything is just so fast and fluid with both the machine and the operating system. My only complaint is that I don't think it has a backlit keyboard, if it does I haven't figured out how to turn it on. I love this computer and would recommend it to anyone. This beats all of the new touch models for the simple fact that its just more powerful and usable.

LaptopKelly
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Nice system. Lots of features
11/26/2012

Customer review by IdeaGuy

5.0 stars 11/26/2012 by IdeaGuy
by IdeaGuy

This computer has a great feel. The keyboard is very responsive and I highly recommend getting the back lit keyboard which is very cool and helps you work easier in low light. The system boots up very quickly and Windows 8 has an easy to use interface and gives you the option of working with a traditional desktop layout. Since I edit video and multimedia, I rely on the Intel i7 chip, the 8mb of ram as well as the Nvidia chip a great deal. So far the system is very responsive. I just had to update the Nvidia Driver to work with Windows 8 for my editing software. The computer is also very solid and has a beautiful HD screen.

IdeaGuy
Frederick, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
great all around computer
12/4/2012

Customer review by nutsorry

5.0 stars 12/4/2012 by nutsorry
by nutsorry

simply put this is a great computer. Unless you are heavy into graphics, 3D games, downloading tons of stuff, or seriously running more than a dozen programs simultaneously I don't see why you'd need any other computer. Yea, the I7 processor is bigger, badder better but most folks won't, don't need it. This computer did have some bugs I had to work out and learning about it. Not to mention that I never used windows 8 before this. It did not take me long however to appreciate what a work of art this is. When I first got this I wondered if it would perform to my hopes and expectations but instead it has far exceeded them.

nutsorry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Laptop is pretty good
11/21/2012

Customer review by Elise45

4.0 stars 11/21/2012 by Elise45
by Elise45

The laptop works fine. The keyboard, however, does not sit flush in the laptop body. It sticks up along the top edge and bounces slightly when I type. I tried gently pushing it down, but it pops back up. Weird. I don't like the track pad--I tend to have dry skin on my hands and it doesn't always detect my fingers. However, when I am typing, if I let the heel of my hand drop down onto the track pad, the insertion bar will jump to wherever my hand hit and my typing will continue there. Annoying. The display is beautiful. Can't really comment on anything else at this point, but don't love it as much as I had hoped.

Elise45
Rhode Island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Now I just need it to make my espresso...
11/15/2012

Customer review by JohnnySH

5.0 stars 11/15/2012 by JohnnySH
by JohnnySH

I bought the Envy dv7 with Win. 8 in November 2012 as my primary work computer. The hardware specs are fantastic. The biggest downside is that it is going to take awhile to understand Win. 8 well enough to know what software is bloatware and what is actually insightful and helpful for operations. There is a lot of software and I suspect quite a bit is boatware but I love everything this computer can do. Win 8 is the first OS that automatically installs peripherals (all my printers at home and at work are set up without my having to do anything. Now if it could only make my espresso in the morings...

JohnnySH
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Product is OK
12/7/2012

Customer review by JoeyD

4.0 stars 12/7/2012 by JoeyD
by JoeyD

This product does not seem to be the same standard as my previous HP that stopped working after two years. I noticed that the Windows 8 program seems to lock-up with the blue screen of death along with a much slower internet connection speed than my other HP. My 11 year old daughter even complains about the speed which makes my even madder. Lastly the number 2 key seems to be stuck and does not sit in the same position as all of the other keys. I see the keyboard will probably fail in the near future. Not extremely as happy as with my previous HP.

JoeyD
Wilmington, DE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Great for Gaming!!!
11/13/2012

Customer review by RadDad

5.0 stars 11/13/2012 by RadDad
by RadDad

I bought this model because, with the options I selected, it was highly recommended for gaming . . . and that has proven to be the case . . . the speed is awesome, the graphics are excellent, the Beats audio is just as good as Bose, if not better . . . so if you're into gaming, or just want a system that will give you excellect sound . . . at a VERY affordable price, then this system is for you!!! I received it with Windows 8 and, while I prefer my old XP desktop system, the Windows 8 program isn't that hard to figure out . . . so go for it!!!

RadDad
Southern Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Decent Box, But...
12/5/2012

Customer review by bsnguy

3.0 stars 12/5/2012 by bsnguy
by bsnguy

First, this is a nice box. It looks nice and performs as one would expect for an i7 17" "laptop" beast. But... I still cannot believe that HP can't get a 5 GHz radio inside for wireless. I mean, this is not new and many inferior machines (in other ways) have this. I rely on it in my home and HP has let me down, again (I have had many HP machines over the years). Yes, it's clear on the website this is the case so it's not like I'm "mad and want my money back." I just wish HP would get into the 21st century and add this.

bsnguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
just the rifgt balance
12/1/2012

Customer review by wolf1948

5.0 stars 12/1/2012 by wolf1948
by wolf1948

all the laptop the average user will ever need. With Microsoft home office it can't be beat its fast loads of memory plus a 550 NVidia graphics card for a clean an crisp display. I only wish they would have offered the NVidia GVN660 2GD as a up grade. I heard so much about windows 8 being a pain. I am not a computer GEEK . I think it is great, better than 7.There is a lot to learn but people in general do not like change, one step at a time. Learn what you are going to use forget about the rest.

wolf1948
pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good features but slow processor
12/10/2012

Customer review by JMiller12

3.0 stars 12/10/2012 by JMiller12
by JMiller12

This is a nice laptop that has some great new features but I could feel it was a lot slower then my older laptop. I feel this is due to this laptop having an AMD processor instead of an Intel processor. Why would you install anything but an Intel?? I didn't realize it when I order the laptop that it did not have an Intel processor. Now it's too late and I'll have to suffer for my mistake until it's time for a new laptop.

JMiller12
Bethlehem, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Price - quality - HP costumer service the best
12/2/2012

Customer review by hugosarandi

5.0 stars 12/2/2012 by hugosarandi
by hugosarandi

Three week ago I have received this computer , runs quite fantastic , very fast and powerful the right amount of RAM memory for the Price it is worth it , I will keep this one after a few try with other HP computers , connects to HD 3D TV - and Audio -Video Receiver , Windows 8 not big deal , do still getting use to windows 8 was not main reason to buy this computer but features and price with all upgrades good choice .

hugosarandi
Margate , Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
The i-7 is fast but hard to get used to W-8
12/1/2012

Customer review by HRPro

4.0 stars 12/1/2012 by HRPro
by HRPro

The display is great, the backlit keyboard is very nice and the i-7 is quick. I special ordered it becasue I wanted a specific configuration I could not find anyplace else. However, Windows 8 is very hard to get use and it will take some time to get used to it and it will be awhile till all the apps are understood and can be used. I went from Vista to 8 so it is a very large leap but I enjoy the product.

HRPro
Sterling, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
dv7t-7200 quad has external power supply problems
12/11/2012

Customer review by Mercator

3.0 stars 12/11/2012 by Mercator
by Mercator

HP admits to having a factory bios? problem and claims that the supplied power supply is correct. Howver, the computer does NOT function as well on the external supply as it does on battery. The screen "dims" when the external supply is plugged in. Other wise computer is very good. Wait until the factory solves its power problem before purchase.

Mercator
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews