Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 31 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

31 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

31 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
9
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-20 of 31 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews
its average
8/26/2015

Customer review by turboswag69

4.0 stars 8/26/2015 by turboswag69
by turboswag69

Its an ok phone but it tends to freeze up alot and apps force closes apps frequently even when im not using

turboswag69
Fort Payne, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Not Happy
9/18/2013

Customer review by rCandie

2.0 stars 9/18/2013 by rCandie
by rCandie

Before the updates I loved this phone. There were a few issues but nothing compared to what is going on now. My phone will exit text messages when I am in the middle of writing a text and go to the home screen. Then when I go to open my messages back up the progress I just made will be gone, not even saving it as a draft. It isn't showing me who calls half the time now. I only have the answer and ignore options with no number or name just a black screen. I has been very slow to open the dial pad or open text even when the history is cleared. I have gone though my carrier several times for a replacement phone because this phone has had nothing but problems since it got all the updates. Finally they wanted me to have me talk to Samsung to have my phone shipped to Samsung which wouldn't have been a problem but... 1. I live no where near a UPS store and they want me to ship my phone out by taking it to UPS (most warranties ship you a box for convenience but when I asked they couldn't do that). 2. You have to be without your phone for up to 3 weeks! I know its sad, but most people need their phones. I am running a store and without my phone I might as well quit my job.

rCandie
Would recommend to a friend? No
It's an older phone, but didn't stand up to minimum expectations
12/4/2014

Customer review by hoosierperson

1.0 stars 12/4/2014 by hoosierperson
by hoosierperson

I had a different QWERTY phone before this one, and the move to this phone was definitely rough. I thought I would just need time to adjust to the different feel of the keys, but even after a year and half and with tiny fingers, I can't type on this phone without pressing 2 keys at a time. I tend to use the swype function as often as the keyboard. The operating system has more features than my last phone (which was also running android os), and I was excited to have more flexibility and better design in my features. Not to mention, this phone makes it very easy to set up a wireless hotspot for times when I really need the data. The phone voice quality is not particularly great, but passable. I've found the battery life to be great on this phone - I can forget about it for two days before I need to recharge. The camera has been sufficient for my needs and the focus is good. A year and a half into my contract, the phone is now almost unusable - it's unresponsive and horrifically slow. I can wait 10 seconds or more between a touch on the screen and a response. There is no way this thing will make it until my contract is up. The quality of the phone is just not durable or long-lasting. The screen cracks easily and I would not use this phone without a protective case.

hoosierperson
Indiana, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Expert
Speedy android 4.0.4
2/23/2013

Customer review by ttggvv

4.0 stars 2/23/2013 by ttggvv
by ttggvv

Replaced 2 year old android 3.2 phone with a keyboard. Phone is noticeably faster and download speeds are fast, The smooth plastic on the phone is very slippery witch makes the keyboard very difficult to open. My fingers just slip instead of the keyboard moving. Android 4.0.4 works well but there is a massive amount of bloatware loaded. I hate bubbles in SMS so of course there is no way to turn them off in the stock SMS application. For the first time on an Android device I have been able to set up an encrypted VPN and it actually works. I purchased the Samsung USB to mini adapter cable to transfer data from an external USB thumb drive to the phone. It does not work. Neither did a generic USB-OTG cable. USB mouse and keyboard did not work either.

ttggvv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
The Perfect First SmartPhone for More "Seasoned" Cellphone Users
11/21/2013

Customer review by WRGiant44

5.0 stars 11/21/2013 by WRGiant44
by WRGiant44

This is my first smartphone - it came as part of a two-phone deal with a Galaxy S phone (the wife got that, of course). But even though this phone isn't as flashy, it does EVERYTHING I could have ever asked a phone to do. It has the up-to-date Android 4 system. Just about every app, imaginable from the Google Play store works on this phone. It also has an actual keyboard - maybe among the last of the smartphones that will have one. I still struggle with the "virtual" keyboards. I actually talked my aging parents into trying this phone - it totally changed their minds about smartphones and their usefulness. There may be flashier phones but I can't believe you need more than this.

WRGiant44
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My First Smart Phone
12/11/2012

Customer review by dapi1007

5.0 stars 12/11/2012 by dapi1007
by dapi1007

It has been amazing how easily I have been able to get used to this phone. The layout of the external buttons, the slide out qwerty, and the overall quality that I have come to expect from any Samsung product makes me a enthusiastic owner. I know some enthusiasm comes from my new ability to sync contacts and calendar with my on-line accounts which any smart phone can do. But the fact is, I have come to rely on Samsung's quality in so many of their products I own and they have not disappointed me in any way to date. The Stratosphere II is another I can add to that list.

dapi1007
St Charles, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Maximum one year life span
10/30/2014

Customer review by Mensa1

3.0 stars 10/30/2014 by Mensa1
by Mensa1

This phone worked great for about nine months. After that, it went downhill. The worst problem is the charge port on the phone stopped working at nine months. I have insurance so I was lucky enough to get replacements but in months 12 +. I am currently on my 3-4 th phone all with the same charge port problem. I have had to get it replaced so many times that I have lost count on how many I have actually received. If you buy this phone, GET THE INSURANCE.

Mensa1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Improvement
1/8/2013

Customer review by MjHaider

2.0 stars 1/8/2013 by MjHaider
by MjHaider

Samsung Galaxy Stratosphere II I415 is not so good mobile phone, so of-course still requires changes, which can be applied in next version of "Stratosphere" or any new series plan! I'm a typical Nokia user, but impressed even more from Samsung's instant upgradings and success. Currently I own Nokia-N900, before purchasing it all i saw was a big screen, amazing camera, stylus and sliding qwerty keyboard. I was wondering to switch to Samsung from Nokia, but Samsung should convince me by building-up a smart phone with these features below: 1. "Shaped" as Galaxy S3 i9305 2. "Sliding QWERTY Keyboard" 3. All features of Galaxy Note II N7100, especially: A stylus like Galaxy Note II N7100! Camera (Primary Camera: 8 MP, 3264x2448 pixels, autofocus, LED flash for HD Capturing/ Secondary Camera 1.9 MP for best skype and other video calls), like Galaxy Note II N7100! CPU Quad-core 1.6 GHz Cortex-A9, Memory 16/32/64 GB storage, 2 GB RAM, Chipset Exynos 4412 Quad, like Galaxy Note II N7100! Android OS v4.1.1 (Jelly Bean) upgradeable to 4.1.2 (Jelly Bean) like Galaxy Note II N7100! Li-Ion 3100 mAh battery like Galaxy Note II N7100! 5.5", 5.0" or atleast 4.8" display size with screen protection (Corning Gorilla Glass 2 - TouchWiz UI) and Multitouch. Color options = Titanium Grey, Garnet red, Marble white, Amber brown, Sapphire black and La Fleur. Although, what I'm asking for would be bit expensive then Galaxy Note II N7100, but still worth it!

MjHaider
Karachi, KHI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
Never had a smart phone!!
5/20/2014

Customer review by Jefro7077

4.0 stars 5/20/2014 by Jefro7077
by Jefro7077

I had been getting along for years with my "dumb" phone. Worked fine, only used it for text and talk. Then...I dropped it on concrete..from the second floor. So off for a new phone, dont really have much choice in the "dumb" phone catagory,so, its time for a smart phone, just not too smart for me! The Samsung Stratosphere II has been very good for me, easy to use, easy to understand and now I am one of the cool kids(ha). Thanks Samsung for making it easy for my initiation into the Smart Phone era.

Jefro7077
Alabama, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
design problem
9/20/2014

Customer review by 1unhappyGalaxyStratospher

3.0 stars 9/20/2014 by 1unhappyGalaxyStratospher
by 1unhappyGalaxyStratospher

Had two of these phones over the course of two years. Both have developed the same problem with the usb connector causing a problem and inconvenience with and or inability to charge. Happy I have an extra battery as it would be useless with out it. A real battery drainer too. When you disable the Google apps to extend battery life your constantly annoyed with beeps and pop ups to have them enabled again. Would never get another Galaxy Stratosphere

1unhappyGalaxyStratospher
AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
Great Phone for First Year
5/19/2014

Customer review by AZRich

4.0 stars 5/19/2014 by AZRich
by AZRich

I've had this phone for a little more than a year. It has some impressive features but also some failings. At times the screen and functions freeze and I've had to remove the battery to get it to function correctly again. Lately, the battery has drained for unknow reasons and it doesn't appear to have the signal strength it had originally. I'm not a "phone geek" and don't use it for anything beyond its basic phone capabilities and texting. It's a good phone for my limited uses.

AZRich
Elephant Head, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
GREAT and easy to use! !!!!
5/19/2014

Customer review by bigbaby1973

5.0 stars 5/19/2014 by bigbaby1973
by bigbaby1973

I love my Stratosphere 2 I have never had any issues the battery life is amazing i use my phone constantly and it never goes dead till I'm done with my day and I use it for music when I'm in and out of the car plus the millions of phone calls i take during the day and I can do just about everything I would normally use the computer for but the difference is it is at the touch of my fingers Samsung has my heart no other phone maker is for me nothing but nothing but Samsung

bigbaby1973
RRockford Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
Can't beat the 5Ghz WiFi signal!
5/19/2014

Customer review by Buickboy

4.0 stars 5/19/2014 by Buickboy
by Buickboy

I chose this phone since it has the physical keyboard. I was pleasantly surprised it had 5Ghz receiver along with a 2.4 Ghz for Wi-Fi. My Wi-Fi speeds are very quick and responsive. The rest of the phone is fine. I have not had any freezes or lockups. I have had this phone since March 2013. I hope this phone last forever, I am afraid there will be no physical keyboards manufactured in the near future.

Buickboy
Minnesota, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
If you need a keyboard - look here
12/13/2012

Customer review by DublinLarry

4.0 stars 12/13/2012 by DublinLarry
by DublinLarry

So the keyboard is a must for me. Fat fingers and virtual keyboards just don't get along. I was an owner of another popular keyboard phone and looked hard at the latest version of that one but the specs were so weak. This phone is fast, feels solid, keyboard is good, but don't have enough typing time in yet to say great. Would hope based on processor that it could eventually support Jelly bean but ICS is great for now.

DublinLarry
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
Good if it weren't so glitchy!
4/12/2014

Customer review by Caoimhe

3.0 stars 4/12/2014 by Caoimhe
by Caoimhe

Had this phone for a year and am replacing it. Thank goodness I got the warranty because it had to be replaced 3 times because it kept freezing... then the refurbished replacements kept freezing worse than my original..... and they would miss my calls and sometimes not even alert me when I got a text. Even when it did alert me, the vibrate was so minute that if I didn't have the volume on I wouldn't have noticed. For a basic smartphone, it was nice when it worked. The internet was fast, apps worked fine, etc. but the freezing was just ridiculous. At least once a week if I use it (got to the point where I just let it die in my purse and didn't bother to charge it since I wouldn't get my calls anyway), it would totally lock up and not even the power button worked. I'd have to take off the case, undo the back, and remove the battery before it would turn on again. This happened on two different phones of this model. Battery life was icky (though it is a smartphone, so I'm not quite sure what to compare it to); when I didn't even press a single button on it, it would last two days before dying completely. If it was in use I had to charge it every night. For the price it was okay. If you got one that worked and didn't freeze it would have been awesome. Good size, decent speed, good speaker quality, etc. It just had way too many glitches for me. Upgrading to an s5, hoping I just had bad luck with this samsung. I work at a retail store that sells computers and phones, including these guys, and according to the phone department this was the one bad model made by Samsung. I'm just hoping they're right, haha.

Caoimhe
Springfield, MO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
Having issues
10/11/2014

Customer review by Twin12

4.0 stars 10/11/2014 by Twin12
by Twin12

In the beginning I really liked the phone but as time has gone on, the phone keeps freezing and taking a long time to change screens, etc. I like the size of the phone and the screen size. I will probably buy another Samsung.

Twin12
Surprise, AZ, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My first smartphone.
5/21/2014

Customer review by goldenboy1

5.0 stars 5/21/2014 by goldenboy1
by goldenboy1

I wanted the best and I knew Samsung has great phones, So the hard part was which one. I settled on the stratosphere2. I could not be happier, Great phone and features, good battery life and design. What more can you ask for. The transition to a smartphone was easy, thank you Samsung.

goldenboy1
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Beginner
transitioning
5/20/2014

Customer review by kjlinda

4.0 stars 5/20/2014 by kjlinda
by kjlinda

this was a good phone to transition from my blackberry to a smartphone. i was used to having a keyboard to type on. works fairly well but have had problems with it locking up. the only way that i could resolve this was to remove the battery.

kjlinda
ambler, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Bad design
12/6/2012

Customer review by WantsAPhysicalKeyboard

3.0 stars 12/6/2012 by WantsAPhysicalKeyboard
by WantsAPhysicalKeyboard

The keyboard is difficult to open, and it is difficult to tell which end is up. The screen cracked from a fall that my previous physical keyboard phones would have shrugged off. I had high hopes for a switch to Samsung and am disappointed in the poor physical quality.

WantsAPhysicalKeyboard
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
Excellent for what you pay for.
5/19/2014

Customer review by Q4sf

4.0 stars 5/19/2014 by Q4sf
by Q4sf

Overall this phone has a good design to it and the battery life is descent. The main thing this phone excels at is its slide out qwerty keyboard. That is the only reason why you would buy this phone.

Q4sf
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews