Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 87 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

87 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

87 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
61
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 stars
7
1-20 of 78 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 78 total reviews
1-20 of 78 reviews
Never thought I'd miss Dora
1/31/2008

Customer review by dorawithdrawl

5.0 stars 1/31/2008 by dorawithdrawl
by dorawithdrawl

My daughter received the original leapster for Christmas about 1 year back, along with a Dora game. It has been the best product I have found to keep the attention of a 5 year old child with ADD. By the end of Christmas day she had already figured every activity out and wouldn't stop playing with it. Unfortunatly, it will no longer read cartridges, no matter the amount of cleaning and begging that I do. So we will be upgrading to the L-Max soon. My only problem with the original is the amount it eats through batteries, I believe by now I should own stock in Duracell or which ever one that pink pepto-besmol bunny works for. The five year old has learned tons of stuff from math to vocabulary and her 2 year old sister has learned as well from the looking over big sister's shoulder act. But if your not willing to buy stock in batteries, buy the l-max and the charger dock. The extra money you spend on that will make up for it when u don't have to buy batteries every two days.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dorawithdrawl
Bellevue,WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good System
12/22/2011

Customer review by k8washere

4.0 stars 12/22/2011 by k8washere
by k8washere

My 4 yr old has had this product for a year now and she loves it. I would like to adress some of the issues other users have had. If the screen seems to light please double check the brightness. You may not realize it but your child may have adjusted it without you knowing it. When you are in a vehicle the sunlight is brighter than in your house so you may need to adjust for that. I've also purchased older games and noticed they are sometimes brighter. As for the screen turning black or not turning on, try taking the battery pack out and reattaching it. If you are using rechargable batteries make sure they are firmly in place. If your child drops the leapster it's possible they could have come loose. We bought a rechageable battery pack for ours and the first time we tried it it didnt work. We were going to bring it back but decided to give it one more try. We took the battery out and put it back in, it worked fine. We never had another problem. We are very grateful for it on long car trips.

k8washere
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Prodct
12/10/2007

Customer review by Momoftwogrowingboys

5.0 stars 12/10/2007 by Momoftwogrowingboys
by Momoftwogrowingboys

This is a very excellent product!! And it is also very sturdy. My 15 month old manages to get a hold of it and drops it everywhere but the product still works!! The games are a little expensive but my son learned all the sounds of his letters with one of the games. I think this is an excellent product for 4 year olds and up not really younger ones. If you buy the it I would recommend buying the case also because it has a pocket to hold games. Also, this toy really eats up batteries. But there is supposed to be a charger for it ( I have yet to get the charger myself but I will) I would recommend buying the charger because you can spend alot on batteries for this product. Overall EXCELLENT product.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Momoftwogrowingboys
Orlando,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Disappointing Quality for the Cost
1/2/2011

Customer review by AidenMom

3.0 stars 1/2/2011 by AidenMom
by AidenMom

This is a very good product for young children. It's very useful in assisting children in learning and or reinforcing what they are already learning. The graphics are good and the creative activities are excellent. This product kept our son busy for hours. This was the only toy that kept him engrossed so intensely. This is his favorite toy! We gave this product a average rating because the unit broke after a year of ownership. Two days after Christmas 2010, while playing the Batman game, our son jumped onto the sofa and suddenly, no sound. Our son was so upset. A couple days later after scouring the internet for a simple solutions and finding nothing that worked. We contacted the company, we knew there wasn't a warranty, but perhaps they could offer a explanation and possibly a simple fix. I wish I had researched this product before we introduced it to our son. Unfortunately for us, my son loves his Leapster 2, so we will be forced to buy another one, as he is constantly asking to play with his "video game". We are so disappointed, we thought he would have this for several years.

AidenMom
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very entertaining and educational
11/24/2008

Customer review by daddysmoney2

4.0 stars 11/24/2008 by daddysmoney2
by daddysmoney2

We bought this for our daughter (5) for here birthday in April. She loved it! Also her little brother (2) enjoyed it as well. The games that come on it were more than enough to keep them interested. I think the extra cartridges for it are a little on the pricey side for us so it was a bonus that there are already 3 games on it. The only problem we had was about a month after we got it, the screen was so scratched you could not see it anymore. I spoke with friends who had them and they had never had that probem with theirs so it must have been just a problem with the stylus pen that we had. The perk thought is that I e-mailed Leapster about it and they sent me a prepaid mailing label to send it back to them and sent us a new one, this time with a screen cover for nothing! That was great! The only thing is now 7 months later, I'm having a hard time finding new games for it due to all the new stuff they have out.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
daddysmoney2
Whitney, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
My 6 yr old loves this
12/29/2007

Customer review by MNAnokaMom

5.0 stars 12/29/2007 by MNAnokaMom
by MNAnokaMom
Walmart associate

I bought this for our 6 yr old daughter this Christmas because she is slightly behind in reading skills. Because she has been exposed to computer games and regular handheld games I was not sure how she would react to it. SHE LOVES IT MORE!! I can already tell she is learning and it hasnt been a week yet since she has had it. I played with it as well to actually see for myself how this would benefit our daughter and to be honest with you I am 33 yrs old and I enjoy playing this as well. We bought the Pet Pals game to go along with it since those type of games seem to be the "in thing" these days. I would recommend this to any parent who is thinking of buying this for their child even if they are slightly older.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MNAnokaMom
Anoka, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
My child loves it
12/5/2007

Customer review by 101stArmywife

5.0 stars 12/5/2007 by 101stArmywife
by 101stArmywife

I just bought the leapster today(early Christmas present), my son has yet to put it down. He is very happy w/it and so am I.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
101stArmywife
Ft. Campbell KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Original Leapster was a better product
3/10/2012

Customer review by Ahma

2.0 stars 3/10/2012 by Ahma
by Ahma

The original Leapster has the art tools and 3 games and required only batteries to operate. I dusted off our 8 yr old Leapsters when my now 4 yr old grandson came to live with us last year.We kept one in the car and one at home. He loved his "games". Thinking newer would be better, I purchased a Leapster2. WHOA! Now you need a computer, internet access and more $$ to expand the "game" What a disappointment. It lasted one month and died. When I couldn't get it to work afetr troubleshooting I returned it for a refund not a replacement and will continue to use the original Leapster until it is no more. How sad that most low income children no longer have access to this wonderful product BECAUSE they do not have a computer, internet access or money to purchase downloads or new games.

Ahma
Concord, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Toy for Travel and Learning
1/5/2009

Customer review by Brooklyn

5.0 stars 1/5/2009 by Brooklyn
by Brooklyn

We bought this Leapster for our Twin 3 1/2 year old boys for Christmas. They LOVE them! It is perfect for travel or just to have around the house. Be sure to get the case or some sort of carrier for the games because they are little and expensive. The touch screen is pretty cool and the boys love to be able to have that option as well as the buttons. We love the educational games. You can also plug headphones in so you dont have to hear the noise.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brooklyn
Cleveland TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My 4 year old loves this toy and it works great
11/23/2011

Customer review by Angela

5.0 stars 11/23/2011 by Angela
by Angela

We bought our son the Leapster 2 for his fourth birthday, 5 months ago, and have had no problems with it. He plays it as often as I allow, though we limit screen time to 30 minutes per day. I don't have to worry about him playing with the Leapster because I know that the games are educational and encouraging. He doesn't get frustrated like the older kids do when they play video games. He likes it so much even uses his own money to buy additional games for it, and his Christmas list is 90% Leapster games. It does go through batteries fairly quickly, but I figured it would when we bought it, so I also invested in 8 AA rechargeable batteries and we just keep rotating them. The screen will not respond well when the batteries start to drain, which may make you think the Leapster is broken, but it's not. My oldest child is 9 and she likes to borrow the Leapster. The games available for it go from ages 3-10, so it should last him a long time. Whenever we have to go to somewhere where I know we'll be waiting (long car rides, sports practice for siblings, doctors office, etc.) I make sure I have this with us. It's a good way to keep a fidgety pre-schooler out of trouble. I recommend this toy to my friends often, and I recommend it to you.

Angela
Finger Lakes, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Product...Not a long enough life
1/15/2008

Customer review by dramawithmyfourgirls

4.0 stars 1/15/2008 by dramawithmyfourgirls
by dramawithmyfourgirls

I bought the first leapster for my eldest daughter two years ago and it just finally gave out on us. It wont turn on at all. I bought the second leapster not even a year ago for my second daughter and the middle of the screen doesn't work at all. I cant calibrate the screen or anything....This was on the Leapster L-Max. The toy is a great concept and my girls love to play them all of the time but I wished they would last a bit longer. So now I am on the hunt to buy two new leapsters...My recommendation is not to buy the L-Max it is a waste of $20 extra ....I will buy more of them because they have held up fairly well, not great though, and my girls absolutely love them. Even my two younger girls love them! Just know that you will probably end up replacing them if you plan on keeping them for more than a year.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dramawithmyfourgirls
Moline, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Santa brought me a dud
12/27/2007

Customer review by 2awesomesons

1.0 stars 12/27/2007 by 2awesomesons
by 2awesomesons

My 5 year old son was really excited to finally get the much awaited for Leapster from Santa. After two hours of playing the game the LCD blew. So, we waited to find another until after the hussle of Christmas returns to find that no retailer within a 30 mile radius had one for replacement. Might I add, we had just gone to another store from which he had money to buy additional games and now has now game system for which he can play them on. Ofcourse manufacturers are just as human as the rest, but closer attention to quality and longevity should be payed when it comes to items for children. Certainly we will wait it out until the shelves are restocked, somewhere and hope for a sound replacement. However, I regret the money spent and wish that my son did not think that Santa brought him a dud

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2awesomesons
Upstate, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
son likes it but I don't
2/23/2012

Customer review by ginoandangela

3.0 stars 2/23/2012 by ginoandangela
by ginoandangela

We've had this for about 1 year. We bought the charging pack for it because the batteries barely lasted a week. Now when playing regardless if with the battery pack or batteries it shots off for no reason. I also purchased about 5-6 games and they freeze up all the time. so I have to take the game out and use a q-tip to clean the cartridge and the game and I pretty much have to do it everytime. Thank goodness my son doesn't mind the game freezing up and shutting off..I just have to reset it for him..just very dissapointed at how it is not working well..We recently purchases the leappad which is much nicer..but batteries on that barely last 3 hours before having to be replaced.

ginoandangela
Would recommend to a friend? No
Extremely disappointed in this product!!!!!
11/13/2011

Customer review by Inga

1.0 stars 11/13/2011 by Inga
by Inga

My daughter absolutely loves the leapster. HOWEVER....IT NEVER WORKS!!!!!!! We have had 2 of these. Within the first few months the first one would not work. She would turn it on and it would shut right off. We had a warranty so got a new one. It worked for about a month and then needed to be calibrated. I went to the website, followed the directions exactly and it still would not work. IT IS EXTREMELY FRUSTRATING for her and for us. I plan on contacting the company. I want all of my money back for the product, the battery pack, the case and all of the games we have purchased. It is unfortunate because she really enjoys the games!!!!!!!!

Inga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Leapster
12/20/2010

Customer review by Moose

3.0 stars 12/20/2010 by Moose
by Moose

My children a boy and a girl received the Leapster for Christmas 2 years ago. My daughters is still going strong, but my sons turns on and immediately right back off. They had so much fun and was learning, that I was really impressed with the Leapster brand as they had previously had pre-school items. I was going to upgrade to the leapster explorer this year, but after reading all the reviews I think I'll wait. I just hope that Leapster doesn't become like some companies that I have stopped using their learning toys. It seems too many times when a company hits on a winner then everything after that is sub-standard.

Moose
Topeka, Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great accessory for any kid.
3/5/2008

Customer review by VanillaScentedMama

3.0 stars 3/5/2008 by VanillaScentedMama
by VanillaScentedMama

We got this for our 2 1/2 year old two months ago and he loves it. He has two games which are a little on the expensive side. He loves to take it in the car on long trips and enjoys his color, shapes and matching. The Cons. The new system does not come with the matching game on it only the color coral and a bunny one. Which he doesn't like. They got rid of the chicken matching game. His uncle has the older system which persuaded us to buy him one. I do not know why they decided to take the chicken game off of it. For the life of me I do not understand it. My 2 1/2 year old still asks for the chicken game. You can not buy it separately. Overall it is a amazing system for every kid to have. I will be buying one next year for my youngest.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VanillaScentedMama
Whitmore Lake MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not good for left-handed kids!
1/1/2011

Customer review by 2krazykids

4.0 stars 1/1/2011 by 2krazykids
by 2krazykids

Being lefthanded is always a little harder in a world made for right handed kids but wish the stylus string was a little longer so he could use it in his left hand. Overall, I don't know that I would buy this next time but since we have, we feel compelled to keep investing in it since the kids like it but are outgrowing the games way too quickly. Definitely recommend buying lots of rechargable batteries or the Leapster rechargable battery pack + AC adapter. Why can't Leapster match the Nintendo DS/ Game Boy and make fun, educational games for older kids?

2krazykids
Denver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A wonderful product
11/23/2008

Customer review by TeacherMOTHER

5.0 stars 11/23/2008 by TeacherMOTHER
by TeacherMOTHER

My twin 4 year olds received this gift last Christmas. My husband and I wanted to work on letters to prepare for Kindergarten this year. These Leapster games were wonderful. Within three weeks my sons were recognizing all letters upper and lower case. Having two 4 year old sons, the leapsters had to withstand A LOT of wear and tear. They have met those expectations. My boys have even dropped them in the driveway and they are still working. Other than the batteries running out quickly (we bought rechargeable batteries and saved a lot of money), we have had NO problems. After having such a great experience, I recommended them to my principal for remediation time in school. I highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TeacherMOTHER
Covington, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
My Son Absolutely loves it!!!
12/16/2010

Customer review by MommyOfTwoLittleOnes

4.0 stars 12/16/2010 by MommyOfTwoLittleOnes
by MommyOfTwoLittleOnes

He got this for xmas last year and it has help up really well! he has dropped it a few times and at the beginning he was a little rough with the stylus ( he was only 3 then) but has now learned to be more gentle... we have had a problem where the stylus does not respond, but that is easily fixed by pushing a few buttons. (go online you'll find the fix) I love that everything he is playing is really educational! i don't like video games, but this is really good for him.

MommyOfTwoLittleOnes
COLTON,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Happy Santa Gave Us a Leapster 2
12/26/2010

Customer review by icediva

5.0 stars 12/26/2010 by icediva
by icediva

My son got this for Christmas. He would not put it down for 2 hours not even looking at other gifts. Was concerned that screen graphics are low key and not advanced. He's used to playing games on my Android phone which looks amazing. But my son loved the Cars games and Thomas game. Perfect for his 4 yr old hands. Bought charger with battery that lasted about 3 hrs. Down side is no e-books like the Explorer and outdated graphics. Still a good price and the kid loves i!

icediva
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 78 total reviews
1-20 of 78 reviews