Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 929 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

929 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

929 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

51%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
352
4 stars
109
3 stars
74
2 stars
74
1 stars
320
1-20 of 928 total reviews
51%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 928 total reviews
1-20 of 928 reviews
Oh how I wish I read the reviews first!!
8/2/2014

Customer review by OBXElaine

1.0 stars 8/2/2014 by OBXElaine
by OBXElaine

My nearly waist length hair is now PURPLE and black! It was a nice medium blonde color. I haven't dyed my hair in months as I was letting it heal, and I was so excited to go back to my bright red color. WHY is my hair now PURPLE??? Please don't use this hair dye, unless you're going for purple hair.

Was this review helpful? (0) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OBXElaine
Outer Banks, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
1/17/2016

Customer review by M Meier

2.0 stars 1/17/2016 by M Meier
by M Meier

I've dyed my own hair for a long time. I recently tried this hair dye for the first time, eager to see what it would look like. I have dark black hair, and I knew it wouldn't show up very brightly as on the box. I'm no rookie there. BUT sadly I was extremely disappointed in it barely sticking to my roots which are a much much lighter shade then the rest of my (very old dyed hair) I followed the rinsing instructions, which I believe was my mistake. It is natural to rinse the hair in the shower after the dye. But to then shampoo TWICE as per your instructions virtually strips all the color right out of the hair. So I in essence spent 25-30 minutes dying my hair to basically wash it all out. I understand it's an Intense dye, (I'm no stranger to bright bold colors) but this seems absolutely pointless. Sadly I'm very disappointed. If I do choose this color again, I will NOT follow the washing instructions, and may be that will leave the color in the hair. Regrettably, since most of it has washed out, I will be going back to black.

Comment from - 1/20/2016

Sorry to hear this and we would like to assist! Please give us a call @ 1800.631.7358 M-F 9AM-7PM EST. Give ref # 787469 We look forward to speaking with you!

M Meier
Would recommend to a friend? No
9/12/2015

Customer review by crackheadclown

1.0 stars 9/12/2015 by crackheadclown
by crackheadclown

maybe it's the lighting in the store and in my house, but the color on the box looked bold, but possibly a natural red, like debra messing or julianne moore--however R68 does not come out looking anything like on the box. i've been coloring my own hair for over 20 years. it had been around 15 years since i tried feria. the last 3 times i colored (with other brands) i felt the color came out too subtle. i remembered feria tended to be a little bolder so i went for it. NEVER AGAIN!! my hair looks like ronald macdonald did some crack and went crazy with some kool aid. This is nothing close to what the box shows. i've read a few reviews complaining that the color washed out--well i hope it does. i hate to color again too soon, and risk damaging my hair. but at the same time, i don't want anyone to see me like this. i guess i'll just have to be a hermit, or wear a scarf on my head for the next 2 weeks, after which, i will go to Sally's and get this fixed.

crackheadclown
Would recommend to a friend? No
1/31/2014

Customer review by Lovehilift

5.0 stars 1/31/2014 by Lovehilift
by Lovehilift

Wanted to lighten my hair from Med Brown to Light Brown without having to go to the salon. Everything I read on the subject stated I would have to use Peroxide, etc which I just did not want to do. Using a lighter color was not an option either since you cannot use a color to lighten another. So I saw this little baby at the store and thought I would give it a try. Left it on a bit longer than I should have so I do have some breakage BUT.....the color turned out exactly as it is on the box which is exactly what I wanted! I am going to go ahead and assume that the developer contained peroxide since it did in fact lift the previous color off and I am okay with that as it was already in the developer and ready to go. I touch up my roots every couple weeks and my hair looks amazing. So if you want to lighten your hair and lift out old color, then this is the quickest and safest option without going to a salon. Watch your timing though. The thinner your hair the less time you leave it on.

Lovehilift
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/24/2016

Customer review by Esmy Duarte

1.0 stars 1/24/2016 by Esmy Duarte
by Esmy Duarte

Always used Garnier intense auburn, my hair was already red but it was starting to fade so I decided to try this brand...big mistake! It made my hair black...BLACK! I previously bleached my hair and now I have to bleach it again. Never again am I buying this brand.

Comment from - 1/27/2016

Let us make it right for you! Give us a call @ 1.800.631.7358 M-F 9AM-7PM EST. Please give ref # 804899

Esmy Duarte
Would recommend to a friend? No
1/10/2014

Customer review by SierraElise

1.0 stars 1/10/2014 by SierraElise
by SierraElise

I was absolutely thrilled to find this color in a box dye, especially one that doesn't require any bleaching. My hair is naturally a medium to dark brown, and after looking at the side of the box to see what the shade would be from my natural color, I was very excited to go home and try it out! I put it on my hair, very impressed by the richness of the red as it went on. Left it on the recommended amount of time, washed it out according to the directions...and.... Was shocked by my BLACK hair. Black. Not red. Not red velvet. BLACK. It was so incredibly dark that you couldn't tell there was supposed to be any red in it at all. It never even faded to anything even remotely close to what the box depicted. This was false advertising. It is NOT the color it says it is. Do NOT use this color unless you are ok with your hair being completely black. I was very upset by this. Not ok. I was stuck with a color that I was NOT happy with and couldn't fix it without seriously damaging my hair.

SierraElise
Would recommend to a friend? No
1/24/2016

Customer review by SarahBeth

1.0 stars 1/24/2016 by SarahBeth
by SarahBeth

My hair is color treated to a light golden blonde and this dye did not take to my hair whatsoever.

Comment from - 1/27/2016

We are sorry to hear this and would like to assist! Please give us a call @ 1.800.631.7358 M-F 9AM-7PM EST. Give ref # 804903

SarahBeth
Would recommend to a friend? No
3/25/2015

Customer review by Gypsy

2.0 stars 3/25/2015 by Gypsy
by Gypsy

I bought R57 Cherry Crush & I am disappointed. The roots are red however the center of the strands are a light shade of brown & the ends resemble the shade R37 instead. Also the center of the strands which are a shade of brown are a bit blotchy. After finishing up & seeing the problem I thought perhaps it was the clip I used so I went about drying my hair & starting over (without clipping hair) however I had the same result. When I bought the product I referenced the chart on the side of the box that provides a color result for hair that is darkest brown however my result does not look much like that color cube at all. Perhaps a month from now I will chose a brighter shade than R57 in order to compensate for the dark & blotchy result. I have used Feria in yrs past without this problem. Also your site's choice for hair color "soft black" seems like darkest brown on the chart of the box. I would appreciate offered advice for my situation & perhaps a coupon for the next box.

Gypsy
Would recommend to a friend? No
1/7/2016

Customer review by Ulfruna

1.0 stars 1/7/2016 by Ulfruna
by Ulfruna

I bought this color because I'd had the underside of my hair bleached a very pale color for some months now, and figured this would turn out really nice. I was wrong. I didn't end up with the color on the side of the box, despite my hair being bleached out to the lightest color shown there. I ended up with more of an orange-strawberry blond color, even though I thoroughly saturated my hair with the color (two bottles for my thick hair, and it wasn't even for my whole head!) I am thoroughly disappointed. It didn't cover well either, as I can still see a lot of blond!!

Comment from - 1/14/2016

We are sorry to hear this and want to help! Please give us a call @ 1.800.631.7358 M-F 9AM-7PM EST. Please give ref # 781639. We look forward to assisting you!

Ulfruna
Would recommend to a friend? No
1/22/2016

Customer review by Feria Power Red

5.0 stars 1/22/2016 by Feria Power Red
by Feria Power Red

Just love it, I use R37 Deep Burgundy, beautiful !!! simple !!

Feria Power Red
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My Hair BLACK!
4/21/2013

Customer review by AmyLouS

1.0 stars 4/21/2013 by AmyLouS
by AmyLouS

I am an avid user of Feria 68, however, it is becoming harder to find. So I was super excited to find this amazing fun color. Feria 48, Red Velvet, an Intense Deep Auburn, the name even sounds fun! By no means is this my first time coloring my hair. (I usually color my hair every 3 weeks since reds fade sooooo fast.) BUT... to my horror... my hair is now BLACK!!! My husband called it "black-black cherry." While I will use Feria products still, there is NO WAY I will ever use this specific color AGAIN!!!

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AmyLouS
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
6/16/2014

Customer review by nikkif

1.0 stars 6/16/2014 by nikkif
by nikkif

Horrible color!!!! I have natural medium brown hair, I had dyed my hair about 10 months ago black, (I was prego, so I did not dye my hair the entire time) previous to that, I was a regular with feria boxed dyes every couple of months. The black always faded to a dark brown after about 2 months even with a good color retaining shampoo, I wanted something a little different and chose this violet black. Well, I expected it to be a little lighter on top, and the first couple of days it looked like I got it done at the salon, it had a light ombre look being that it was darker on the bottom. It was kind of a dark plum, close to the color on the box (except the top which was about 2 shades lighter) After 2 shampoos it was RED (I also waited 3 days for the first shampoo) .... all of my hair was red.... ugly burgundy red. It has now been 2 weeks.... not violet or black.... hideous red ..... I now have to die my hair back to black to cover this horrible color.... DO NOT USE UNLESS YOU HAVE VERY DARK HAIR .....

Comment from - 6/18/2014

Sorry to hear you are having such a tough time with the violet soft black shade you used. We'd like to help you correct it! Give us a call at 800.631.7358 Monday-Friday 9-7 EST. Give representative reference #7469926.

Comment from - 6/18/2014

Sorry to hear you are having such a tough time with the violet soft black shade you used. We'd like to help you correct it! Give us a call at 800.631.7358 Monday-Friday 9-7 EST. Give representative reference #7469926.

nikkif
Would recommend to a friend? No
11/6/2013

Customer review by nwest

2.0 stars 11/6/2013 by nwest
by nwest

I'm really really bummed out about this color. When I first dyed it, it turned out almost exactly like the model on the front of the box. It was so pretty, and finally a color that turned out "auburn" and not brown that looked kind of red in the sun. I got so many compliments that it looked beautifully highlighted and that it was so shiny. I'm really pale and it didn't look harsh or Ronald McDonald-y. Now, as to why I gave it 3 stars. I dyed my hair 11 days ago today, and the color has washed out A LOT. Like as much as I would expect in 4 or 5 weeks. I know how to take care of red hair, I don't even use shampoo, just cleansing conditioner. But still, last night when I took a shower, the water at the bottom of the tub had a slight pink tinge to it. Are you kidding me? 11 days later, without using shampoo, color is still washing out? I'm disappointed. Mostly because it turned out so perfectly right away. Also, the conditioner that comes with Feria is really bad.

nwest
Would recommend to a friend? No
Fantabulous Red! Love it!
2/7/2013

Customer review by MamiCutee

5.0 stars 2/7/2013 by MamiCutee
by MamiCutee

This is a super great shade- it is my new favorite! I had dyed my hair black about 6 months ago, and even though I have a shorter style and get it regularly cut(think Rhianna) I still had some black left on the tips. I had done a brown auburn shade about 6 weeks ago and it was just drab and the black ends was making it look darker than I wanted, so I lightened my hair(google soap cap)until it was a lovely orange shade all over and the black hair dye was gone and applied this color afterwards. All I can say is Va VA Voom! It is bright and vibrant without making me look like Ronald Mcdonald. Kind of like a darker red with cooler tones. I think you would definitely get a better result starting from a lighter shade (dark blonde to light brown) If you use it on hair that is darker you will likely get a more subtle result.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MamiCutee
Pemberton NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
12/17/2015

Customer review by Deweezay

3.0 stars 12/17/2015 by Deweezay
by Deweezay

I have short, thick hair, but normally one bottle will do me. But not with this! I ran out of dye 3/4 of the way through. I struggled to cut the bottle and put what I could in my hair. So now while one since is now fully blonde, one side needs to get done again, which wouldnt have been so bad if it wasnt a bleach for hair. So if you have thick hair, no matter the length buy 2!

Deweezay
Would recommend to a friend? No
12/22/2015

Customer review by sammie75

5.0 stars 12/22/2015 by sammie75
by sammie75

I have over processed hair and dry hair and hoping this product would take and it did. I now have red, auburn hair and it's bright and shiny. I will buy this product again.

sammie75
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/23/2015

Customer review by Sybalaya

5.0 stars 12/23/2015 by Sybalaya
by Sybalaya

Love the color and I always receive compliments :)

Sybalaya
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/12/2015

Customer review by cochetah

2.0 stars 12/12/2015 by cochetah
by cochetah

Actually...still trying to maintain shine and black so tried this and it apparently turned my roots blue and blue highlights...I do not want blue...I just want black ...could see blue with fluorescent lights not iridescent sooo not sure what to do to get that out...may need to go back to another company from Germany

cochetah
Would recommend to a friend? No
11/9/2013

Customer review by HKat33

3.0 stars 11/9/2013 by HKat33
by HKat33

Color was very copper and extremely close to color on box. It went on evenly and I had plenty of color in the bottle to color my just-above-shoulder length hair. The only downfall was that it radically washed out over the first 2 weeks with only 1 shampoo (sulfate-free) a week and 2 conditioner rinses outside of that. This did slightly lighten my hair, as it was more blonde than before I colored it after the color faded out. ***NOTE: If you dye your hair, a "lifting" product won't lighten it, only the new growth at roots will lighten. Lightening products only lighten HAIR not the DYE you put on the hair. If you dye brown and want to use their high-lift product, you will only see results at the roots where there is no dye! Since this color seems to lighten, be careful using any lighter color (general rule, a bigger number, in this case anything over a "70" number) over it, as the color above the previous dye line may be different than the color below!

HKat33
Would recommend to a friend? No
12/12/2014

Customer review by AGreene

1.0 stars 12/12/2014 by AGreene
by AGreene

I have used loreal preference for a couple of years now and decided to try feria. I have naturally light brown hair and tend to pull gold when I color it blonde; which is why I decided to try feria absolute platinum. The color is very thick when applying, so just be aware of that. It will require extra care to ensure you do not miss a spot. The worst part of about my experience however was the fact that my hair fried....I had this color on for a total of 12 minutes after applying it to my roots (which took about 10 minutes and then I did all over color) and something did not seem right, so I washed it out. I have not used heat on my hair in two weeks or shampoo because the breakage is so bad. I am hoping my vitamins and extra care will help me gain some length on my one inch hair stubs before my wedding in six months :( I'm just really sad that this hair color did this to my hair. The color is decent though...but not worth my fried head of hair

Comment from - 12/15/2014

Sorry you had a problem with Feria Absolute Platinum Advanced Lightening System. This product is not a hair-coloring product. It is a lightening/bleaching product. That is why the consistency was much thicker and it worked much faster. Please call us so we can help you. 800.631.7358 M-F 9-7pm est. Give ref# 7652636 Hope to speak with you soon...

AGreene
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 928 total reviews
1-20 of 928 reviews