Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 441 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

441 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

441 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
336
4 stars
53
3 stars
16
2 stars
15
1 stars
21
1-20 of 441 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 441 total reviews
1-20 of 441 reviews
don't buy
2/6/2016

Customer review by cosmela

1.0 stars 2/6/2016 by cosmela
by cosmela

This item is poorly made. I was happy when I purchased this product and I even recommended to my in laws after 4 months it broke. No steam/ water coming out. Not worth for your money.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cosmela
Would recommend to a friend? No
Broke after SIX uses
9/15/2015

Customer review by BigAppleShopper

2.0 stars 9/15/2015 by BigAppleShopper
by BigAppleShopper

I purchased this item on 03/22/15. I used it a total of SIX times since receiving it. I attempted to use it today 09/15/15. I filled the tank with distilled water and closed cap. I noticed about 10 minutes after using there was a puddle on the floor surround the mop. I couldn't figure out why it was leaking at first. I removed the water tank and noticed the removable cap (how you fill tank) was cracked around the edge (where the flat rubber ring is). How can a 100.00 mop made by a brand name break after SIX MONTHS?! I checked the Bissell website and they want to charge $5.99 for this plastic cap!? SERIOUSLY?! The plastics cost is about TEN CENTS and the spring is likely a THREE CENTS at most. HOW CAN BISSELL JUSTIFY CHARGING SIX DOLLARS PLUS SHIPPING FOR A PART SO EASILY BROKEN? I called customer service and complained that the mop is SIX MONTHS OLD AND BROKE! Of course, their first response was to ask for my credit card to charge me. After complaining to the non-English speaking representative, she relented and sent for free. Such a BAD experience and the replacement part costs are insane. (I guess Bissell thinks they are selling printer ink). FIRST AND LAST BISSELL.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigAppleShopper
Would recommend to a friend? No
Lots of Steam!
5/26/2015

Customer review by Sagecactus

5.0 stars 5/26/2015 by Sagecactus
by Sagecactus

Finally, after going through 3 other steamers, i found one that really steams. It also holds enough water to get through a lot of ceramic tile flooring before I have to refill. The steamer is the only way to get into the grout and the grooves of the tile where dirty Swiffer water accumulates. I love this steamer, it's a joy to use and my floors actually look clean and un-streaked when I'm done. Hoping that this Bissell outlives the Eureka and 2 Sharks I had before which only lasted about 2 years each.

Was this review helpful? (61) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sagecactus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I have to be shown!
1/28/2016

Customer review by dona7451

5.0 stars 1/28/2016 by dona7451
by dona7451

I have scrubbed with a sponge mop for years and we live hard in the country so track in lots of garden gunk. I always thought lots of soap/cleaner did the trick, but sometimes things looked dull. My kitchen/dining area is quite large so I tried separating the sections and did the kitchen 1st. I was amazed at how it got the dull stuff off. I need a new floor as this vinal is 21 years, but until I do this has restored the clean and shine as best it can. Love it and it is as light as my olf stick mop.

dona7451
Horicon, WI, USA
Gender:Female
Good value
6/5/2015

Customer review by KTDunmovin

5.0 stars 6/5/2015 by KTDunmovin
by KTDunmovin
Walmart associate

I previously owned a Shark cleaner until it stopped working after about a year. The Sharp always left water drops on my hard wood, water tank was too small and the electric cord too short. My Bissell cleaner was a great surprise! It's made much sturdier than the Shark, doesn't leak during cleaning floors, electric cord is a good length to allow cleaning of large rooms without moving to different outlets and it has a removable water tank for easy filling! I was concerned that the water tank was small but found that it did not require as many refills during cleaning as the Shark. And it does a great job cleaning the floors! Great value and very good product. I would certainly buy again.

Was this review helpful? (38) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KTDunmovin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Walmart associate
Great Product
6/5/2015

Customer review by Tmummy

4.0 stars 6/5/2015 by Tmummy
by Tmummy

I am giving it 4 stars only because to me the best way to get your floors clean is scrubbing on your hands and knees! Other than that it works great! Love the scent pod and that it dries so fast. Also love how it disinfects the floors. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tmummy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pads don't stay firmly in place
1/8/2016

Customer review by bbbethhh

5.0 stars 1/8/2016 by bbbethhh
by bbbethhh

I bought this steam mop with high hopes that it would work on the linoleum/vinyl(I'm not sure which it is) floors in the house we recently purchased. I'm pretty sure the floors are original from when the house was built in 1985 and they were looking pretty rough. I'd tried scrubbing on my hands and knees, tried mopping EVERY DAY with a wet pad mop, tried just about everything and the floors still looked dull and aged and dirty. This steam mop has infused them with new life! I AM SO IMPRESSED! I mopped 3 times the first day I brought it home because after the first use I could see the floor starting to try to shine again! It was super easy to use and it is coaxing my floors back to life. I feel like I can live with this linoleum now whereas before I frowned and grumbled every time I walked down the hall and through the kitchen. The pattern is dated but this steam mop has made them shine! Made them happy! Most importantly it's made ME happy! I love that it's just steam, no chemicals or cleaners needed, I love that my old, original linoleum/vinyl is shining and LOOKS CLEAN and FEELS CLEAN. The only problem is the mop pad seems to slide out of the seating and then the mop is a little difficult to push straight on, I just turn it sideways and it moves around the floor quite easily. I can live with that because this thing CLEANS, easy to operate, I'm happy, my floors are happy, it's everything I wanted and needed!

bbbethhh
Waynesville, NC, USA
Gender:Female
This steam mop is awesome!
1/10/2016

Customer review by Debbie

5.0 stars 1/10/2016 by Debbie
by Debbie

This mop did a fantastic job at removing 23 years of dirt that couldn't be removed with regular mopping or even scrubbing on your hands and knees with a brush. The dirt that gets down in the little tiny divots and crevices of linoleum. I read in the instructions that the pump would make a noise the first time out and it did but it soon stopped. I will never mop without steam again!

Debbie
Washington state
Gender:Female
Great Steamer -- brings OLD vinyl floors back to life!
1/20/2016

Customer review by jaw373

5.0 stars 1/20/2016 by jaw373
by jaw373

I received my product a little while ago, just never took the time to leave a review. Reading over a few of the ones listed I thought I'd put in mine so it may help out someone else. I had a Eureka Floor Steamer and it was pretty good -- took off the grime and such, then I got a shark floor steam (free w/a purchase# -- the Shark replaced the Eureka #yes really# it seemed to give off a better steam -- and it was lighter too --- WELL THEN...I saw the PowerFresh 1940 - compared it to the two I already had and was won over. Now the PowerFresh has replaced the Eureka and the Shark. I love this little machine. While the earlier two I had got the job started on my 15+ year old vinyl floor -- the PowerFresh came in and finished the job. Its lightweight and has 3 settings #which neither of my other machines had# The area it covers is wider and the pads #if you put them on correctly (start from the square end and pull to the rounded end -- tuck in the corners# stay put very nicely. I love the 3 steam settings -- on the old floors that highest level is the best for cutting through the buildup that occurs when floors have lost their protective layer #for lack of a better term#. I used the PowerFresh to clean the floor and then mopped with a refinisher product -- then two days later did a light PowerFresh mop over the floor again...when folks come over they ask WHEN DID YOU GET A NEW FLOOR? How about that...after 15+ years the old floor is getting compliments. It was a combination of the two products but the PowerFresh got the buildup and my floor looks great -- The only thing folks have to be careful not to go over the floor too many times when the steamer is on high -- your pad will get very wet and the floor will then be very wet...if the floor is extremely dirty you may need to do this #just be aware of the water -- the machine is not broken). I don't recommend using the steamer on high on NON sealed wood floors because of the possibility of the water...I also would be cautious of using it on even SEALED wood floors on high! If you're mindful of the temperature and only go over a few times it should work out just fine. MY ONLY CON: I wish these mops had ON/OFF switches -- the machine makes noises when the water tank is empty...then you have to pull the plug to have it go off. An on/off switch would be a great idea for ANY of these types of machines. I also recommend the Bissell Spot Clean 5207 - it wouldn't come up in the recommendation list. This little guy does a great job for quick messes. Its small and compact too!

jaw373
Glen Burnie, MD, USA
Gender:Female
Excellent Product
12/30/2015

Customer review by Terry88

5.0 stars 12/30/2015 by Terry88
by Terry88

I have 3 little dogs that I adopted from abusive conditions. They weren't housebroken at the time I took them in. While they are all making great progress, there are still the occasional "accidents". It's important to sanitize the floors and remove any scent so that my dogs will be discouraged from using the areas again. I had been using another appliance which required using chemicals that I didn't realize contained ammonia. Urine contains ammonia. I learned from an animal behavior specialist to NEVER use ammonia products to clean floors in homes where dogs live. My entire house is porcelain tile, the ammonia scent was in all of the grout. You can imagine how confusing that was for my dogs. (wasn't fun for me, either) This steam mop is lightweight, easy to use, and a great value.It stands upright on it's own, heats quickly, & gets hot enough to kill most bacteria, (& smells) & cleans without the use of expensive chemicals. The reusable pads wash easily. It also has a removable tank that holds enough water so it doesn't have to be refilled so often as to being annoying. I think the only con would be a small, easily changed, design flaw. The tank has to be turned upside down to fill and because of it's shape, it doesn't sit flat. I have to prop it in my dish drainer, so I can use both hands to hold a gallon jug of distilled water to fill it. Over all, I'm very pleased & would recommend the Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop Hard Floor Cleaner 1940 to anyone.

Terry88
Wesley Chapel, FL, USA
Gender:Female
Wish I bought years ago!
6/2/2015

Customer review by Laurie

5.0 stars 6/2/2015 by Laurie
by Laurie

Amazing steam mop! I love how it cleans and the scent disks are amazing! Wish I bought this way sooner! I have 2 dogs that shed hourly so I vacuum first and then steam mop with this after. Makes my floors shine like brand new! 100% happy!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Laurie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not impressed for laminate flooring
6/7/2015

Customer review by jccjbailey

3.0 stars 6/7/2015 by jccjbailey
by jccjbailey

After reading the reviews, I thought this product would be great for my floors. It leaves horrible streaks all over my laminate wood flooring throughout the main level of my house. Cleans tile floor, kitchen laminate, and hardwood alright. Still stays wet for awhile after steaming, even on the lowest level. I needed something to sanitize and clean my laminate wood flooring. I am disappointed as the floors look terrible after cleaning. Hoping to find a better product for that purpose. I also don't like that it does not have an ON/OFF button. In order to begin using the product you just plug it in so when you are finished you just unplug it - don't really like pulling the plug out of an outlet with the appliance still on - seen a couple of sparks too. Don't think it would have been hard for them to install a button here.

Was this review helpful? (11) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jccjbailey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great product!
5/26/2015

Customer review by Katididit

5.0 stars 5/26/2015 by Katididit
by Katididit

It is very easy to operate and does a great job on my tile.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Katididit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great little mop
6/12/2015

Customer review by workingmomnh

5.0 stars 6/12/2015 by workingmomnh
by workingmomnh

Lightweight, easy to use and refill with water, gets under counters nicely. Works great too and lifts up dried messes nicely...cleaning the floors is a breeze!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
workingmomnh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Effective Product
2/26/2013

Customer review by Ann

5.0 stars 2/26/2013 by Ann
by Ann

I purchased the Steamfresh steam cleaner about 6 weeks ago and absolutely love it. My previous steamer always left streaks. I would spend so much time going over my floors, going in different directions, nothing worked and I would be tired and disgusted because my laminate floors never looked clean. After my first cleaning with the Bissell Steamfresh all streaks were gone. There is nothing about the product that I'm disappointed in. The water container is easy to fill, it's easy to push, and operates so quietly you can hardly tell it's on. I add a small amount, about 1/3 cup of the scented water to my distilled water and love the fresh clean scent as I'm cleaning. The feature I really love is the different steam settings. It's nice to be able to regulate from light steam for the formal dining area to heavier steam for the kitchen and kitchen dining area. Since I haven't had the steamer for very long I cannot comment on its durability. I can only hope it continues to operate as well in the future as it does now.

Ann
West Lafayette, IN
Gender:Female
Great steam mop
12/18/2015

Customer review by SSgirl

5.0 stars 12/18/2015 by SSgirl
by SSgirl

I purchased this steam mop because I had new laminate and tile installed in a home I recently purchased. Nothing I tried seemed to really clean both surfaces really well. I as so glad I decided to give this mop a try. It works great on both surfaces. Really easy to use. Glad I made this purchase!!

SSgirl
Conway, SC, USA
Gender:Female
Phenomenal product!
12/17/2015

Customer review by NMmom

5.0 stars 12/17/2015 by NMmom
by NMmom

This steam mop has changed the way I clean! In a household with 3 young sons, keeping the bathrooms clean is a full time job. This mop has cut my cleaning time in half and I feel it does a much better job than the traditional mop and bucket. So very pleased with my new mop.

NMmom
New Mexico
Gender:Female
love it.
11/30/2015

Customer review by BeBe

5.0 stars 11/30/2015 by BeBe
by BeBe

after having a hand held, (for only one week) and being very frustrated at the lack of cleaning I bought this one and have been putting off using it, afraid I would be disappointed. I was not. I have a small bath with white tile and white grout. dirty all the time. I started using it and thought this is not working, and about that time, It is white again. Maybe next time it will be easier. I was wondering if I could pretreat my floors with a cleaner, and steam the cleaner? I think it would work faster, but don't want to harm the cleaner. does anyone know?

BeBe
Houston, TX, USA
Gender:Female
Bissell Steam Mop
5/28/2015

Customer review by NatashaBadenov

5.0 stars 5/28/2015 by NatashaBadenov
by NatashaBadenov

It works great. I like the washable pads. Easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NatashaBadenov
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT!
6/13/2015

Customer review by jilly846

1.0 stars 6/13/2015 by jilly846
by jilly846

DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT! They can ruin your floors and the customer service is TERRIBLE! I heard such great things about the Bissell Steam Mop so I had to get one to try it for myself. I received the product on May 7th and I tried it 2 days later. The steam mop seemed to be working fine, but when my floors started drying up, I noticed a white residue on the floor. It was ALL over my living room hard wood floors when dried. I called customer service immediately and was left talking to someone for 30 minutes. He kept asking me the SAME questions over and over again, and it was getting no where. Finally, he told me that this has happened before and to try to get the residue out with vinegar and water. That did not work. He then transferred me to a supervisor that didn't answer the phone! I left a VM and got a call back and spent 30 minutes on the phone again answering the SAME questions! She then told me that she couldn't help me and that I would need to send the product in for an inspection at their corporate office. It took 1 week for the label to arrive, and then I mailed back the product with my explanation and pictures. NO RESPONSE. I called back 2 weeks after I returned the product and the same customer service guy was on the call and I had to reexplain the situation again. He told me that they were still inspecting it. I told him to rush this issue through (My floors are still ruined and I often host events at my home). He transfers me to someone who can help and I was direct to another VM. I left a message and have not heard a response in a week. I am not only disappointed in this product, but I am outraged at the customer service! They have been completely unhelpful, un-attentive. To this day, I still do not have a refund on this product and have not received a call on what they can do to accommodate my ruined hard wood floors. I just moved into a new home 7 months ago, this is ridiculous! Don't purchase any Bissell products in the future! Their products and customer service team are terrible.

Was this review helpful? (30) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jilly846
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 441 total reviews
1-20 of 441 reviews