Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 501 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

501 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

501 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
1-20 of 501 total reviews
Would recommend to a friend



1-20 of 501 total reviews
1-20 of 501 reviews
Love this machine

Customer review by WasatchFront

5.0 stars 10/20/2016 by WasatchFront
by WasatchFront
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This steam cleaner is fabulous for tile floors! This is my second purchase and I wanted the same kind again. The first lasted a little over 2 years but that was my fault because I didn't use distilled water. THIS IS A MUST! The hard water deposits will clog it up eventually and then the steam stops coming out. Other than that it is easy to use and my floors look great and really clean. I especially like that you don't have to buy any cleaners or extra stuff to use this (except distilled water...which is very cheap). The pads that came with my first cleaner are still in good shape so now I have 4 pads to switch off week to week. Hopefully this one will last longer now that I have mended my ways to not using tap water!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop 1940

Customer review by Kaye

3.0 stars 10/15/2016 by Kaye
by Kaye
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The best of three I have tried. Needs an on/off switch rather than having to pull the plug.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bisell 's 1806 Powerfresh Steam Mop w/detachable scrubber head

Customer review by Mary

5.0 stars 7/25/2016 by Mary
by Mary

Bravo Bissell! Best investment ever! I have cleaned miles of grout on my hands & knees for years, and using ONLY the orange scrubber and distilled water on the grout--with damp sponges to wipe up the gunk immediately--my filthy grout turned from black to its genuine color: silver! Hint: do not use the terry mop pads until you've steamed out all the grout with the mini scrubber! Time-consuming? Yes. But satisfyingly fantastic! Once the grout is clean, then attach the mop pad for overall cleaning. Hint: immediately rinse the messy mop head under warm running water: 90% of the mop's dirt will wash off without further laundering. Hand wring excess water; use a clip hanger to air dry. Like a terry towel, I expect to use the same 2 mop heads for years. This is a superb product if consumers follow instructions. Hope my hints improve every customer's satisfaction quotient! Wish there was an option to give 6 stars! :-) Mary in Newburyport, MA

Newburyport, MA
Thank you, Bissell!

Customer review by Beachy Nana

5.0 stars 7/30/2016 by Beachy Nana
by Beachy Nana

I bought the 1940 steam mop for my beachfront condo, and it worked perfectly for a year. Even with my seven grandchildren tracking salt and sand onto the tile floors, the tile and grout look as clean as the day they were new. On the high traffic areas I pretreat with ammonia and water in a spray bottle. It takes six to eight pads to clean 1100 sq feet, and the floors are magnificent. The secret is to go slowly so the steam gets into the grout, and change the pads frequently! Then throw them into the washing machine and you're ready for the next time. The mop stopped working after one year, the electrical connection failed, but I called Bissell customer service and in 10 days had a brand new unit. Thank you, Bissell! I have had a few Shark mops before this, and they don't begin to compare...the grout doesn't get clean, and it strips the finish off wood floors. Bissell is the way to go! I'm a happy Nana!

Beachy Nana
This product has my seal of approval!

Customer review by axhejaz

5.0 stars 9/16/2016 by axhejaz
by axhejaz

I just literally picked this unit up 2 hours ago on September 15, 2016 around 6:30 PM. I recently moved into an apartment with light colored hardwood floor and it looked great on day one until that is after about 2 months later the light colored wood now had a shade of dark brown (bacteria) disgusting. Long story short, this Bissell 1940w really cleaned my wood just after one pass, YES i said one pass. After reading all the reviews I finally chose the Bissell over the shark; and I made the right choice! I'm very picky in the performance of products I choose, and I can with confidence recommend this product to anyone. Matter of fact I advise you to buy it and try it, you won't be disappointed. Oh and good build quality as well, the plastic is pretty sturdy.

Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Bissell power fresh steam cleaner

Customer review by Donut

5.0 stars 10/12/2016 by Donut
by Donut

I absolutely love my Bissell steam cleaner. It is light, very easy to use, and my wood floor does not get so wet, as with other cleaners. I tried another brand of steam cleaner that lasted only 3 months. I have had my Bissell power fresh cleaner over a year. Very reasonably priced. Over all it is a great machine!

Blair, NE 68008, USA
Lots of Steam!

Customer review by Sagecactus

5.0 stars 5/26/2015 by Sagecactus
by Sagecactus

Finally, after going through 3 other steamers, i found one that really steams. It also holds enough water to get through a lot of ceramic tile flooring before I have to refill. The steamer is the only way to get into the grout and the grooves of the tile where dirty Swiffer water accumulates. I love this steamer, it's a joy to use and my floors actually look clean and un-streaked when I'm done. Hoping that this Bissell outlives the Eureka and 2 Sharks I had before which only lasted about 2 years each.

Was this review helpful? (71) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Product

Customer review by Patty31

5.0 stars 10/7/2016 by Patty31
by Patty31

This steam mop is by far the best I've ever owned! It actually cut the time in half steaming my floor. We have tile nearly throughout our entire home. This steam mop does a wonderful job! This was my first Bissell & it definitely would be my last!

Naples, FL
Broke after SIX uses

Customer review by BigAppleShopper

2.0 stars 9/15/2015 by BigAppleShopper
by BigAppleShopper

I purchased this item on 03/22/15. I used it a total of SIX times since receiving it. I attempted to use it today 09/15/15. I filled the tank with distilled water and closed cap. I noticed about 10 minutes after using there was a puddle on the floor surround the mop. I couldn't figure out why it was leaking at first. I removed the water tank and noticed the removable cap (how you fill tank) was cracked around the edge (where the flat rubber ring is). How can a 100.00 mop made by a brand name break after SIX MONTHS?! I checked the Bissell website and they want to charge $5.99 for this plastic cap!? SERIOUSLY?! The plastics cost is about TEN CENTS and the spring is likely a THREE CENTS at most. HOW CAN BISSELL JUSTIFY CHARGING SIX DOLLARS PLUS SHIPPING FOR A PART SO EASILY BROKEN? I called customer service and complained that the mop is SIX MONTHS OLD AND BROKE! Of course, their first response was to ask for my credit card to charge me. After complaining to the non-English speaking representative, she relented and sent for free. Such a BAD experience and the replacement part costs are insane. (I guess Bissell thinks they are selling printer ink). FIRST AND LAST BISSELL.

Was this review helpful? (22) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent steam mop

Customer review by Sarra Baptist

5.0 stars 8/23/2016 by Sarra Baptist
by Sarra Baptist

This steam mop is great I have owned two and this one is by far the best I've owned. I use this steam mop on my hardwood floors and tile in my kitchen. I wish my whole house was hardwood or tile it would be so much easier to clean with having this amazing steam mop. This product only takes about 10 seconds to heat up which is a great feature. It's not heavy so it's so easy to push around. The water canister actually holds a lot of water I only have to refill it once. I love that I can add cleaning solution Bissell brand of course but when I use it I get that fresh clean smell throughout my house. The pads that attach to the mop when cleaning are washable and can be reused. I don't dry them after washing just incase they would shrink. I highly recommend this product it's wonderful and a great price

Sarra Baptist
Auburn IL
Great floor steamer

Customer review by Glad

5.0 stars 9/29/2016 by Glad
by Glad

I have an older linoleum floor in my kitchen and I have used this steamer twice, and I can tell you it got so much old dirt up from the floor, I was amazed how great of a job it did. My previous steamer which I won't mention the brand did not come close to getting my floor clean as this one. Thanks Bissell.

Vinalhaven, ME.
Already in Love!

Customer review by VacFan

5.0 stars 9/16/2016 by VacFan
by VacFan

Having been disappointed by other brands of steam mops (Shark), I was a little wary of this purchase. I was quickly, pleasantly surprised to realize that Bissell's PowerFresh Pet Steam Mop is as fantastic as Bissell's other products, such as my all-time favorite 3-in-1 VAC and the easy to use Pro-Heat Carpet Cleaner. Yay, Bissell! I finally have a simple, yet thorough, tool for quick and regular floor cleaning! My only issue - a very minor one - is with the grips on the water cup. They could be either a little grippier or a little deeper for easier cup removal.

North Carolina, USA
Excellent little steamer for a good price too

Customer review by Bridget - Great Lakes Gal

5.0 stars 10/6/2016 by Bridget - Great Lakes Gal
by Bridget - Great Lakes Gal

I have had my Bissell Powerfresh Steam Mop for about 3 weeks now. Have used it three times so far. What I see, I like. The cord is a decent length compared to some other models. I still have to attach an extension cord to do the entire area I need to (a combined living, dining, kitchen, hallway, bathroom and stairs going up), but that's fine. The entire product is heavy/durable plastic - would like to see more aluminum/metal/etc. for long term use, but guess that's modern manufacturing for you. The plastic probably helps with the unit to be light/portable, so that's the trade off. The unit is appealing in terms of white and blue color tones. The minute I plugged my unit in it is off to the races - this thing heated up in 15 seconds- honest. Be ready to do your work once you plug this thing in - no in between time. My old unit would take 15 minutes to get the high heat temp setting. I like how the refillable water cup is easily removed and re-inserted right in to the unit - no need for funnels, no cups to bring water to the unit and splash all over the place, etc. Very convenient. I like the three settings in temps of low, medium and high heats for different areas of cleaning/disinfection. Powers up and down very easily with setting area on the front of the lower unit - two presses and it's on or off. The unit cools very easily too. I like that it comes with two soft pads - one for heavy scrubbing and other for basic cleaning. You need two minimum as one will be in the wash and other on the machine. I bought two extra sets to be safe. I probably will get 2 more as I like my pads to clean up well and once they start looking heavily stained after many uses/washes, I toss them. I have bought the Eucalyptus scented distilled water product from Bissell earlier and will use this in the machine so, no build up happens later and causes unit issues. I agree with another reviewer that having a pad/station to rest the unit on would be nice. It heats up so fast and does need a little cooling down period that this would be nice to not cause any standing damage to the flooring. For now, I use my old docking station to the previous unit I had. The head of this mop pivots back and forth in many directions and this is a plus for betting into nooks and crannies. The low profile works great for getting under furniture pieces too. So, far I really like this piece. I am hopeful the power unit and cord does not short over time like the last two Eureka steam mops I had. I am confident Bissell will honor any issues in their warranty period. Price is good and they deliver fast too. Super easy to assemble - 2-3 steps and you are done. Fill out their warranty/registration card and should be fine. I just did mine. I give the Bissell PowerFresh Steam mop five stars!

Bridget - Great Lakes Gal
Grand Rapids, MI
Good value

Customer review by KTDunmovin

5.0 stars 6/5/2015 by KTDunmovin
by KTDunmovin
Walmart associate

I previously owned a Shark cleaner until it stopped working after about a year. The Sharp always left water drops on my hard wood, water tank was too small and the electric cord too short. My Bissell cleaner was a great surprise! It's made much sturdier than the Shark, doesn't leak during cleaning floors, electric cord is a good length to allow cleaning of large rooms without moving to different outlets and it has a removable water tank for easy filling! I was concerned that the water tank was small but found that it did not require as many refills during cleaning as the Shark. And it does a great job cleaning the floors! Great value and very good product. I would certainly buy again.

Was this review helpful? (43) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Walmart associate

Customer review by leah

5.0 stars 9/9/2016 by leah
by leah

So my Bissell Steam mop recently died a quiet death. Rather than replace it with the same one, I upgraded to PowerFresh Steam Mop. Am I glad I did! I have several cats and dogs and tile floors. Both are bound to have accidents and this mop really cleans it up. I love the attachments. They work just about anywhere in the house and are super easy to use. Super happy with my purchase!

Very Effective Product

Customer review by Ann

5.0 stars 2/26/2013 by Ann
by Ann

I purchased the Steamfresh steam cleaner about 6 weeks ago and absolutely love it. My previous steamer always left streaks. I would spend so much time going over my floors, going in different directions, nothing worked and I would be tired and disgusted because my laminate floors never looked clean. After my first cleaning with the Bissell Steamfresh all streaks were gone. There is nothing about the product that I'm disappointed in. The water container is easy to fill, it's easy to push, and operates so quietly you can hardly tell it's on. I add a small amount, about 1/3 cup of the scented water to my distilled water and love the fresh clean scent as I'm cleaning. The feature I really love is the different steam settings. It's nice to be able to regulate from light steam for the formal dining area to heavier steam for the kitchen and kitchen dining area. Since I haven't had the steamer for very long I cannot comment on its durability. I can only hope it continues to operate as well in the future as it does now.

West Lafayette, IN
Not impressed for laminate flooring

Customer review by jccjbailey

3.0 stars 6/7/2015 by jccjbailey
by jccjbailey

After reading the reviews, I thought this product would be great for my floors. It leaves horrible streaks all over my laminate wood flooring throughout the main level of my house. Cleans tile floor, kitchen laminate, and hardwood alright. Still stays wet for awhile after steaming, even on the lowest level. I needed something to sanitize and clean my laminate wood flooring. I am disappointed as the floors look terrible after cleaning. Hoping to find a better product for that purpose. I also don't like that it does not have an ON/OFF button. In order to begin using the product you just plug it in so when you are finished you just unplug it - don't really like pulling the plug out of an outlet with the appliance still on - seen a couple of sparks too. Don't think it would have been hard for them to install a button here.

Was this review helpful? (14) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wish I bought years ago!

Customer review by Laurie

5.0 stars 6/2/2015 by Laurie
by Laurie

Amazing steam mop! I love how it cleans and the scent disks are amazing! Wish I bought this way sooner! I have 2 dogs that shed hourly so I vacuum first and then steam mop with this after. Makes my floors shine like brand new! 100% happy!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Leaks like crazy!

Customer review by Jess

1.0 stars 6/3/2015 by Jess
by Jess

I researched a lot of steam mops before making my purchase. I previously had a eureka steam mop for years that finally gave out so I thought I'd try something new. The first time work great, I loved the design. The second time I used it it started leaking out of a small hole in the back (pressure relief valve) and would leave the floors a little wet. I tried using it a couple more times and every time it leaked more and more until it was practically pouring out the back. I called bissell and they said I could send it in for a replacement but I decided to return it since I was in the return period. I only found a handful of other reviews of people saying it leaked so maybe I just got a bad one. Not sure if it's worth trying to purchase another one though.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great mop

Customer review by Happy

4.0 stars 6/9/2016 by Happy
by Happy

I have had this mop about 9 months and have been very happy with it. Have a large home and lots of tile, it has been very easy to use and dries quickly.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 501 total reviews
1-20 of 501 reviews