Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 212 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

212 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

212 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

63%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
81
4 stars
40
3 stars
19
2 stars
5
1 stars
67
1-20 of 148 total reviews
63%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 148 total reviews
1-20 of 148 reviews
3 strikes and yer out
5/22/2013

Customer review by Phonetied

1.0 stars 5/22/2013 by Phonetied
by Phonetied
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the second time I have attempted to purchase this product... and I have been without a phone for well over a month now because of it. The first time I ordered it, I followed the steps and the phone didn't recognize the sim. I called customer service, they told me I either had the wrong sim or the phone wasn't unlocked. I wound up calling 4 different help lines to figure out the problem (none of whom were able to help me), before I gave up and re-ordered the sim... which I eagerly awaited. It arrived a day after the last possible delivery date and... although the receipt listed the correct item... IT WAS THE WRONG SIM... so I returned the sim card and received a refund... I now have to re-order the sim for the third time, and pay for shipping for the 3rd time.. If I do not receive the correct sim this time I am going to call and ask for a complete refund of the money I spent on sims and purchasing minutes and find a new company...

Was this review helpful? (42) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Phonetied
arlington WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
i bought this for my samsung infuse
2/21/2013

Customer review by chaikgeorge

5.0 stars 2/21/2013 by chaikgeorge
by chaikgeorge

i was skeptical, cause i read bad reviews on straight talk service but i have had no problems with their service while living in new york area.. it works great once you put in their apn settings which is not that hard you can go to utube an ask how to set up straght talk apn settings an watch how they do it much easier than being told or reading about it..they give you a step by step way to set it all up. for 45 bucks a month with high speed internet an mms an phone calls...what a deal you have to buy their refills at walmart but thats easy enough online. it sure beats the 109 dollars a month i had with att i tried att pay as you go for my girlfren but it has very slow internet you have to buy mins an msg an than phone use i tried tmobile which was faster but you eat up internet very fast i tried h2o but it had limited connections this straight service is by far the best choice for unlimited talk an text an mms an internet im sure you run out of some of that but i a havent yet...an i use a lot text time an internet time hope this helps those looking now if it works in alaska , thats all i need since i spend my summers there.

Was this review helpful? (128) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chaikgeorge
newark, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Should be NO Stars! (but I'm forced to give one
5/7/2013

Customer review by upstaterev

1.0 stars 5/7/2013 by upstaterev
by upstaterev
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I spend six very frustrating days on the phone with and waiting for Straight Talk to activate the card they told me would work in my phone. Even after I returned it to Walmart and Straight Talk sent me another than the Tech assured me would work, it did not. They would always transfer me at least three times. I had to repeat what I was trying to do so many times I felt like a recording. And I spent much time on hold. I can't recall how many times I was told to turn off the phone, wait 2 to 24 hours and try again. After six days of this, I gave up. I don't blame Walmart. They delivered the card I was told to order, and did so in good time. And when it didn't work, they refunded my money. So, I have no beef with Walmart. But beware: dont waste your precious time or money with Straight Talk (if you have an iPhone---others may work; I don't know and I don't plan to find out).

Was this review helpful? (38) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
upstaterev
Roebuck, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does What it says it will do....!!!!!
3/2/2013

Customer review by March54

5.0 stars 3/2/2013 by March54
by March54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Upgraded to a Samsung Galaxy a friend gave me and I needed a SIM card for it and this card is performing as intended. STRAIGHT TALK is also a very valued transition from VZN.

Was this review helpful? (84) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
March54
Fort Myers,Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
T-Mobile just has poor coverage
4/12/2013

Customer review by SWilson3828

3.0 stars 4/12/2013 by SWilson3828
by SWilson3828

First of all you most definitely CAN cut the T-Mobile Standard SIM into a Micro SIM to fit your T-Mobile phone IF if requires a Micro SIM. The gold plating isnt the same but the connections on the phone touch the same areas on both SIMS so it doesn't really matter. You just have to make sure you don't CUT the gold plating. I know, I did it myself. As far as the T-Mobile compatability the logic here is that if the phone requires a T-Mobile compatable SIM card then it would operate on T-Mobile towers. I called Straight Talk and they said "Yes" it did operate off of T-Mobile towers, but I called T-Mobile and they said it DIDN'T operate off of T-Mobile towers, so who the hek knows. All In know is that, according to T-Mobile coverage mapI'm supposed to be getting a good 4G signal at my home and I get no 4G at all, only 2G. I also find that signal is sporadic at best away from highways and cities.....but within cities and on highways coverage is good. Customer service.........Straight Talk has the absolute most horrible customer service of any business entity on earth. First of all it takes forever to get through to someone and then when you do they ask you a series of generic questions only to eventually tell you they have to transfer you and then you have to wait forever again and then have the same generic questions asked to you again. Straigh Talk version of technical support is nothing more than a book the CSR reads from. If you don't believe it call them two seperate times with the same question and see if you don't get a nearly verbatim answer. Overall if T-Mobile 4 G had better coverage OR if the phones dropped to 3G if 4G wasn't available then I'd say this is a good purchase, but since it will only drop to 2G if 4G isn't available that makes this product a little less enjoyable. If you spend most of your time is a city area then this will probably be fine, but if you're out in the country prob not the best option.

Was this review helpful? (38) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SWilson3828
Graham, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just like a new phone!!!
12/28/2013

Customer review by Lost2found

5.0 stars 12/28/2013 by Lost2found
by Lost2found
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had lost my relatively new Samsung Nexus 7 phone mid-December that we had purchased from straight talk for $300 and I was devastated...my sister offered to give me her Samsung Galaxy 2 that she had with T-Mobile since she upgraded to a Galaxy 4... After calling Straight talk they instructed me to order this Sims card from Wal-mart that would enable me to use the Galaxy 2 phone...We got the Sims card the 24th of December and after installing and resetting the phone per instructions included, it was a wonderful gift that was just like a new phone up and operating!!! God is good!!!

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lost2found
Chesapeake, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Need more info
3/17/2014

Customer review by Raye151

3.0 stars 3/17/2014 by Raye151
by Raye151
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The phone still only runs off of T-Mobile towers when it's a T-Mobile phone. Part of our problem was that we don't have T-Mobile towers in the area and needed to switch to Verizon but had just purchased new phones. It would have been nice if in the description and instructions there would have been a note about this. Apparently there is no 'unlock' to fix this issue. We can spend another $20 or so and have it unlocked to AT&T Towers. However, their service can be spotty where we just moved. You also have to purchase a $45 Straight talk plan to even activate the SIM Card. It was disappointing that this process wasn't as easy as the description makes it seem.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Raye151
Montevideo, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sim card works great with no problems
2/27/2013

Customer review by GEOPETE

5.0 stars 2/27/2013 by GEOPETE
by GEOPETE
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Does just what sim card should do and had no problem with set up or calls. Was ready to use and was a snap out and into my phone and service was there thanks

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GEOPETE
BIRMINGHAM,AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor connection
6/8/2013

Customer review by Hotiniraq111

1.0 stars 6/8/2013 by Hotiniraq111
by Hotiniraq111

I purchased the T Mobile Straight Talk sim for my Google Nexus 4 and the connection was terrible in east central Florida. Zip 32908. Rarely did I get anything better than extended network. Occasionally I would see a 3G but just for a minute and when I would try to use the phone it would immediately drop back to extended or no service at all. I drove from Florida to North Carolina and the service was terrible the entire way. Even passing huge cell towers right next to I95 I still did not get decent service. Customer service tried but could not help me. I switched to NET10 AT&T and have AWESOME service!!! I originally wanted AT&T with ST but they don't sell AT&T sims anymore. Oh well, I have excellent connection through AT&T and NET10 now.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hotiniraq111
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
TMobile GSM SIM card shouldn't be the only option
7/24/2013

Customer review by JoeBlowNoGo

3.0 stars 7/24/2013 by JoeBlowNoGo
by JoeBlowNoGo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bad coverage in Danbury CT, no alternative, but cheap, so no big deal. Straight talk has been excellent with the exception of the TMobile trap, but it might be time to switch to an alternative prepaid with a wider range of GSM carriers. Tried to register the phone in other areas (northern NJ, New York City), but these only offer the same TMobile SIM coverage. Verizon or Sprint works great here, always has in the past (CDMA phones only). But no go TMobile and AT&T SIM coverage also stinks, unless you are near an urban or suburban area with lots of towers.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoeBlowNoGo
Danbury CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
sim purchase online
5/7/2013

Customer review by stvldr

5.0 stars 5/7/2013 by stvldr
by stvldr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had to cut the full size sim card down to a micro sim with a sim cutter ($7. on ebay works like a paper punch, you slide the full size sim into cutter following the instructions press down on the handle and it cuts a full size sim down to a micro sim card) to fit my phone. Sim cards are not yet sold in oklahoma walmarts,I bought sim in one of the eight states that are currently selling them online at a dallas texas walmart and had it shipped to my tulsa wmt for a total price of about $16.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stvldr
tulsa ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worked Well for me
7/27/2013

Customer review by HappySIMUser

5.0 stars 7/27/2013 by HappySIMUser
by HappySIMUser

Had AT&T ($157 for 2 iphones with Unlimited Data and Texting ) NOW I have the same iPhones and only pay $90 for the same services (Saved $67 per month) I Called Straight Talk and they told me that they won't work unless they are unlocked. So I got them Unlocked online ($5) than inserted the SIMs and away I went. Getting them Unlocked is the Key. The data is working quite well too. Have fun out there

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappySIMUser
Boston area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/13/2013

Customer review by polaz

5.0 stars 3/13/2013 by polaz
by polaz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Product is great, customer service not so much, it took me a few days in order to activate my service because the person I talked to first did not know what he was doing. Long waiting times for customer service but finally I spoke to a lady who was very professional and did the activation very fast. I love the service. Thanks

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
polaz
Glendale, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/1/2013

Customer review by mgodwin1216

1.0 stars 4/1/2013 by mgodwin1216
by mgodwin1216
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the only card you will get even when you order the MICRO SIM card. This is not what I paid for but what I received. NOT VERY HAPPY!!

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mgodwin1216
Fort Payne, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/24/2013

Customer review by 89broncofrk

4.0 stars 8/24/2013 by 89broncofrk
by 89broncofrk
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Was able to use my straight account with a T-mobile phone.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
89broncofrk
Martinsburg,WV.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/9/2013

Customer review by crooket

1.0 stars 4/9/2013 by crooket
by crooket
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

this is not a unlocked sim card its for tmobile only it wont work with att phones at all

Was this review helpful? (103) (76)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crooket
southaven ms
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great phone for twice the price
11/9/2014

Customer review by Tommath

5.0 stars 11/9/2014 by Tommath
by Tommath

This is one of the best and easiest phone that I have ever had regardless of the price. The plans that Straight Talk offers are some of the best and most affordable plans around. I am able to use this phone in places that my T-Mobile and my old Sprint phones could never get good coverage

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tommath
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Useless
1/10/2013

Customer review by nine8102

1.0 stars 1/10/2013 by nine8102
by nine8102
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this item, called Straight Talk to activate. I have an unlocked Nexus 4, formerly used on T-Mobile. This is a T-Mobile compatible sim card. Nope. No amount of arguing made them see sense. Bonus: now that's opened, it's not-returnable! $15 down the drain.

Was this review helpful? (61) (53)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nine8102
Folsom, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love straight talk
2/25/2014

Customer review by 19Crazyrican85

5.0 stars 2/25/2014 by 19Crazyrican85
by 19Crazyrican85
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We've had several phone companies but straight talk has been the best. Within minutes we were able to turn out AT&T and tmobile phones into straight talk!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
19Crazyrican85
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The code may not be delivered properly. Be careful
5/23/2013

Customer review by UniqEyes

1.0 stars 5/23/2013 by UniqEyes
by UniqEyes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

At first, an empty PIN code is delivered to me. When I followed the web site link sent by Walmart.com, there is no PIN code there. Resend button there made the exact procedure of circulation. Visited a Walmart store, called customer service of Walmart.com for several times and e-mailed 30 times back and forth, I was so disappointed about the service. Even they told me to contact the Straight Talk Customer Service, of course, they told me to contact Walmart.com. After sending more than 15 times of empty PIN code, Walmart.com corrected the webpage to have a real PIN code. It took 5 days.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UniqEyes
Irvine, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 148 total reviews
1-20 of 148 reviews