Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 68 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

68 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

68 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
44
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-20 of 65 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 65 total reviews
1-20 of 65 reviews
Great Tires
12/5/2012

Customer review by Miclaud

5.0 stars 12/5/2012 by Miclaud
by Miclaud
Top 1000 contributor

Last Year Consumer Reports had an article on the General Grabber HTS. It said that for the money this was an excellent tire. The price was great. I started looking around as it was about 'tire time' for my Trailblazer. I found the Grabber STX at Walmart, and ended up having to contact General tire to find out something about it. Turns out this is a 'made for Walmart' tire that is really the Grabber HTS. I bought 2 and liked them so much I bought 2 more. I'm very pleased so far wet and dry pavement, but have yet to experience any snowy or icy conditions as the Oklahoma weather has been unusually dry. Maybe this year. They ride smoothly and are very quiet. I have told several friends and relatives about them.

Was this review helpful? (62) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Miclaud
Tulsa, Ok.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
I love my new tires!
5/5/2015

Customer review by sewkrazzie

5.0 stars 5/5/2015 by sewkrazzie
by sewkrazzie

I can't believe the difference they have made! Quieter ride, handles so smooth, I can even tell a difference in the way my trail blazer stops when I hit the breaks! I would recommend these tires to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sewkrazzie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great SUV tire
11/26/2013

Customer review by Bobbylz

5.0 stars 11/26/2013 by Bobbylz
by Bobbylz

These tires were recommended when I was looking to replace a worn out set. In 18 months I put over 60,000 miles on them and they are still good for a few thousand more. I will buy a new set as soon as they get closer to the tread wear indicators. Very happy with the value, comfortable ride and solid handling.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bobbylz
Montgomery, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Trusted another reviewer and was pleased
2/13/2014

Customer review by Ryanincc

5.0 stars 2/13/2014 by Ryanincc
by Ryanincc

I needed new tires for my 1997 4Runner as it was time and I wanted a good highway tire for towing a 3500lb Pop Up Camper I recently purchased. I read the other review here stating they were on the Consumer Reports best list in 2011. Michelin has topped the 2013 and 2014 list but are just too expensive for me at this time. Ive had these General Grabbers for about 4000 miles and we've had some crazy weather here lately in South Texas (Dec '13-Feb '14), as Im sure the whole country has, lots of misty wet roads and some ice. Wonderful traction, stopping ability and VERY quiet compared to my previous tires. My previous set was a BFG Rugged Trail, and although I liked the way they looked better (slightly more aggressive tread and the solid white lettering) I am not disappointed in the least. Price was on Rollback so I couldn't turn them down. I also noticed a slight MPG increase, almost 1 MPG in city and almost 2 on the highway. Towing is no problem on or off road. Warranty is a plus but I doubt I will need it. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (222) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ryanincc
Corpus Christi, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
265/70/r17
2/25/2016

Customer review by drifterawh

4.0 stars 2/25/2016 by drifterawh
by drifterawh

It,s been one winter an 7000 mi. north cen. PA. wet weather no problems at all. In a down pour I tried to get loose .Braking ,cornering rain had no effect.Oh ya 09 GMC 1/2 ton crew p/u.Snow not a problem. Just drive within yourself.An i,ve got 200 lbs by tailgate.On ice an snow mix.Scary on a 40mph twisty back road I could only go 23-30 mph.An Im a pro. Truck driver with over 200000 mi safely.in 23 years.Dirt no diff than pavement.Mud ok but nothing more than a fire road or driveway. General recommened I go with AT2 for my driving.I got what I could afford.Got all 4 within 2 weeks.An cost $600.00 in about an hour.Hornell NY Very pleased.Im 58 yrs an GMC is 4x4 also.My crazy driving days are over.I get about 25/40 mph an loosly hold wheel an slam on the brakes see how trk will behave.All good.Great tire.will buy again.Oh ya never had to add a pound of air.Tires show no wear at all !!

Was this review helpful? (34) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
drifterawh
northwestern,Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Outstanding Tire, Outstanding Value
10/17/2015

Customer review by DIYengineer

5.0 stars 10/17/2015 by DIYengineer
by DIYengineer

I purchased these tires two months ago and they have more than exceeded all my expectations. First impressions are they look great, they are ultra quiet in both city and highway driving, they really stick to the road in both wet and dry conditions. I have driven through lots of standing water during our Florida afternoon thunderstorms and they have performed flawlessly. I have a 2010 Mercury Mountaineer and decided to go with the raised white letter out (very happy I did). The most amazing characteristic of this tire was the price. I paid less than half of what my Michelin LTX M/S tires cost and these tires handle and perform just as well. If I can get 40,000 miles, they will be a great investment. Thank you to all the positive reviewers!

Was this review helpful? (63) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DIYengineer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quiet , smooth ride and looks good
3/10/2015

Customer review by TomN

5.0 stars 3/10/2015 by TomN
by TomN

So far so good. I've only had them a week. They have a nice quiet, smooth ride on the interstate and they look good. I have only put 400 miles on them so far. Will let you know how they are wearing in 10 or 15 thousand miles.

Was this review helpful? (52) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TomN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Premature wear
5/19/2016

Customer review by jbrett14

1.0 stars 5/19/2016 by jbrett14
by jbrett14

Vehicle: Kia Sedona These tires wore quicker than any tire I have ever owned. After one year (approx. 15k miles) the back tires were bald. I took it back for warranty replacement. They told me the cause was improper alignment, but they did replace them at a reduced cost. After replacement we had a back end alignment done and I rotated the tires. One year later, the back tires (the original 2 front ones) are already bald. Upon close inspection, it appears these have a very soft cheap rubber. I don't know for sure what the problem is but I know that every other brand I have used have lasted longer than these. I have never seen tires go completely bald in one year (approx. 15k miles). And the fact that it did it again, AFTER an alignment, tells me it's the tires, not poor alignment. Our vehicle drives very smooth and straight. The problem seems to be the tires, not alignment.

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 7/12/2016

Thank you for providing a review of our tires. We recommend regular tire rotation every 6,000 miles. Based on your review; however, it appears the tires were rotated at exchange only, or every 15,000 miles. Although the treadwear warranty requires even wear down to 2/32", and tires to be rotated on schedule, it is good to see that the tires were still exchanged at a reduced rate.

jbrett14
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best of 2011 still hits the mark...
9/17/2013

Customer review by NorthHallDawg

5.0 stars 9/17/2013 by NorthHallDawg
by NorthHallDawg

I recently purchased a 2006 Nissan Frontier that was in the need of tires. The truck had Yokahoma Geolanders which I had used in the past; however, after reading several reviews on several tires, I chose to go with the General Grabber, which was voted best Light Truck/SUV tire in 2011 by Consumer Reports. I am not disappointed. Ride is very smooth even on stiff truck shocks and struts; almost no road noise and the handling is great. The 60,000 mile warranty is a plus also. I looked at Michelin's but I felt the General had essentially the same features for a lot less money. So here are my ratings based on a 1-5 scale: Handling - 4 Wet Traction - 4 Dry Traction - 5 Road Noise - 4 Stopping Distance - 3 Overall performance - 4 If you have the money and like Michelins buy them. If, however, you're value conscience, buy the Generals; I'm sure you'll be pleased.

Was this review helpful? (192) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NorthHallDawg
Gainesville, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Tires
7/21/2016

Customer review by TheyCantGetItRighr

5.0 stars 7/21/2016 by TheyCantGetItRighr
by TheyCantGetItRighr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was hesitant about purchasing these tires because I'd never heard of this brand before. I'm not disappointed. I purchased them just before going on a long road trip. I didn't hydroplane on wet roads like I was with previous brand of tires. Rides smooth & quiet.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 7/21/2016

We're glad you are enjoying your Grabber STX tires. Thank you for the positive feedback. We appreciate your business.

Comment from - 7/21/2016

We're glad you are enjoying your Grabber STX tires. Thank you for the positive feedback. We appreciate your business.

TheyCantGetItRighr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Tire
7/14/2016

Customer review by Evev

5.0 stars 7/14/2016 by Evev
by Evev
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have to say these tires are well made and look really good on my f-150 lariat. Almost zero road noise. Lots of tread depth.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 7/15/2016

Evev, We appreciate your positive review and hope you enjoy your Grabber STX tires. Thanks!

Comment from - 7/15/2016

Evev, We appreciate your positive review and hope you enjoy your Grabber STX tires. Thanks!

Evev
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
far exceeded my expectations!
1/13/2016

Customer review by JTKinTN

5.0 stars 1/13/2016 by JTKinTN
by JTKinTN

read reviews on many tires, have never purchased General tires in the past, we have a used Honda Pilot, the ride was always a bit noisy, rough. figured it was a small SUV, didn't expect much more. after putting these on, what a difference!!!! like going from an old Volkswagen to a new Cadillac ride!! Highly recommended!!!

Was this review helpful? (39) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JTKinTN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Simple way to make a purchase
5/18/2016

Customer review by Greg

5.0 stars 5/18/2016 by Greg
by Greg

Simple way to make a purchase that is not in stock. Arrived much sooner the expected.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Greg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Darn Good Tires For The Money
4/26/2013

Customer review by WalmartGoodForMe

5.0 stars 4/26/2013 by WalmartGoodForMe
by WalmartGoodForMe

Put 4 of these on my 2003 Escape. Due to the age of this car, I wasn't looking for tires with a real high mile warranty. I search all over the internet and found these the best value for a BRAND NAME tire that can be warrantied pretty much anywhere should any problems arise (An important point for someone shopping tires. If you are out of town and you have a warrantied problem with some "off brand" tire... well now your are stuck#. If you are going to purchase these, buy them on the internet and have them shipped "Site- To Store". There is no charge for freight and it took mine about 10 days to arrive at my local store. Also the price is a bit less than the "in store" price. Like one of the other reviewers, I was a bit concerned about the higher load rating but any difference is insignificant. I've put about 350 or so miles on these tires thus far. They corner nice, and also do well in rain and snow. The real test will be is to see how they perform after I have 30k+ miles on them. I would recommend these tires for anyone looking for a 60k mile tire. The only drawback is that General started a rebate #$50. on a set of 4# about 10 days after I purchased these. Rebate is non- retroactive..... My Bad!

Was this review helpful? (155) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmartGoodForMe
Midwest U.S.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
made a difference
2/12/2016

Customer review by fixurhairup

5.0 stars 2/12/2016 by fixurhairup
by fixurhairup

I didnt realize they would make a difference in the comfort of the ride. but they do.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 2/15/2016

Thanks for the feedback.

Comment from - 2/15/2016

Thanks for the feedback.

fixurhairup
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very good tire, quiet and smooth.
3/7/2016

Customer review by hunter

5.0 stars 3/7/2016 by hunter
by hunter

Purchase these tires for my 2010 Jeep Liberty just before winter. very smooth, quiet. Very good grip this winter. Tires seem to roll better then the Good Years that were on the unit before. Purchase them after reading different reviews and agree with most posted reviews.

Was this review helpful? (39) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 3/8/2016

Thanks for the review. It is good to see we are out performing the competition.

hunter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GOOD PRODUCT
7/3/2016

Customer review by RABBI123

5.0 stars 7/3/2016 by RABBI123
by RABBI123
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

GREAT TRACTION

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RABBI123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Rapid tread wear for a 640 rated tire
9/15/2013

Customer review by Bearrr

3.0 stars 9/15/2013 by Bearrr
by Bearrr

I bought a set of four (4) 245/65R17 General Grabber STX tires on 12/02/11. Since then, I have run them for 35,528 miles and have had Wal-Mart rotate them about every six thousand miles. I had expected to get around three years or approximately fifty thousand miles out of them, but the tread is wearing so rapidly that I am not sure then will make two years or forty-two thousand miles and still have safe tread depth. Although they weren't particularly expensive tires, $123 per tire, they have a tread wear rating of 640, so my expectations were for a longer tread life than I am actually seeing. Much of my driving is on concrete road surfaces that are likely to be more abrasive than asphalt road surfaces. The tires are mounted on a 2005 Mercury Mountaineer AWD, a typical suburban "soccer mom" daily driver.

Was this review helpful? (135) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bearrr
Omaha, NE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Tires were as described. Smooth and quiet.
5/25/2016

Customer review by Rick

5.0 stars 5/25/2016 by Rick
by Rick
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 6/3/2016

We hope you continue to enjoy the General Grabber STX!

Rick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
second set
2/14/2015

Customer review by Rich

4.0 stars 2/14/2015 by Rich
by Rich

This is the second set of these particular tires I have put on my 2001 silverado. I bought the last set at the same store 3 1/2 years ago. I put just under 50k on them. These are smooth riding quiet tires with relativly good traction even in the Wisconsin snow. Definitly would recommend them and would no doubt buy another set when my 01 silverado with 175k is in need of its next set of tires.

Was this review helpful? (65) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rich
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 65 total reviews
1-20 of 65 reviews