Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 52 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

52 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

52 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
32
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-20 of 49 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 49 total reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews
Great Tires
12/5/2012

Customer review by Miclaud

5.0 stars 12/5/2012 by Miclaud
by Miclaud
Top 500 contributor

Last Year Consumer Reports had an article on the General Grabber HTS. It said that for the money this was an excellent tire. The price was great. I started looking around as it was about 'tire time' for my Trailblazer. I found the Grabber STX at Walmart, and ended up having to contact General tire to find out something about it. Turns out this is a 'made for Walmart' tire that is really the Grabber HTS. I bought 2 and liked them so much I bought 2 more. I'm very pleased so far wet and dry pavement, but have yet to experience any snowy or icy conditions as the Oklahoma weather has been unusually dry. Maybe this year. They ride smoothly and are very quiet. I have told several friends and relatives about them.

Was this review helpful? (60) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Miclaud
Tulsa, Ok.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
I love my new tires!
5/5/2015

Customer review by sewkrazzie

5.0 stars 5/5/2015 by sewkrazzie
by sewkrazzie

I can't believe the difference they have made! Quieter ride, handles so smooth, I can even tell a difference in the way my trail blazer stops when I hit the breaks! I would recommend these tires to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sewkrazzie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great SUV tire
11/26/2013

Customer review by Bobbylz

5.0 stars 11/26/2013 by Bobbylz
by Bobbylz

These tires were recommended when I was looking to replace a worn out set. In 18 months I put over 60,000 miles on them and they are still good for a few thousand more. I will buy a new set as soon as they get closer to the tread wear indicators. Very happy with the value, comfortable ride and solid handling.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bobbylz
Montgomery, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Trusted another reviewer and was pleased
2/13/2014

Customer review by Ryanincc

5.0 stars 2/13/2014 by Ryanincc
by Ryanincc

I needed new tires for my 1997 4Runner as it was time and I wanted a good highway tire for towing a 3500lb Pop Up Camper I recently purchased. I read the other review here stating they were on the Consumer Reports best list in 2011. Michelin has topped the 2013 and 2014 list but are just too expensive for me at this time. Ive had these General Grabbers for about 4000 miles and we've had some crazy weather here lately in South Texas (Dec '13-Feb '14), as Im sure the whole country has, lots of misty wet roads and some ice. Wonderful traction, stopping ability and VERY quiet compared to my previous tires. My previous set was a BFG Rugged Trail, and although I liked the way they looked better (slightly more aggressive tread and the solid white lettering) I am not disappointed in the least. Price was on Rollback so I couldn't turn them down. I also noticed a slight MPG increase, almost 1 MPG in city and almost 2 on the highway. Towing is no problem on or off road. Warranty is a plus but I doubt I will need it. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (167) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ryanincc
Corpus Christi, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Outstanding Tire, Outstanding Value
10/17/2015

Customer review by DIYengineer

5.0 stars 10/17/2015 by DIYengineer
by DIYengineer

I purchased these tires two months ago and they have more than exceeded all my expectations. First impressions are they look great, they are ultra quiet in both city and highway driving, they really stick to the road in both wet and dry conditions. I have driven through lots of standing water during our Florida afternoon thunderstorms and they have performed flawlessly. I have a 2010 Mercury Mountaineer and decided to go with the raised white letter out (very happy I did). The most amazing characteristic of this tire was the price. I paid less than half of what my Michelin LTX M/S tires cost and these tires handle and perform just as well. If I can get 40,000 miles, they will be a great investment. Thank you to all the positive reviewers!

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DIYengineer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quiet , smooth ride and looks good
3/10/2015

Customer review by TomN

5.0 stars 3/10/2015 by TomN
by TomN

So far so good. I've only had them a week. They have a nice quiet, smooth ride on the interstate and they look good. I have only put 400 miles on them so far. Will let you know how they are wearing in 10 or 15 thousand miles.

Was this review helpful? (37) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TomN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
far exceeded my expectations!
1/13/2016

Customer review by JTKinTN

5.0 stars 1/13/2016 by JTKinTN
by JTKinTN

read reviews on many tires, have never purchased General tires in the past, we have a used Honda Pilot, the ride was always a bit noisy, rough. figured it was a small SUV, didn't expect much more. after putting these on, what a difference!!!! like going from an old Volkswagen to a new Cadillac ride!! Highly recommended!!!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JTKinTN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
All four tires defective. Junk. Save your $$$$
2/4/2016

Customer review by Circleof5ths

1.0 stars 2/4/2016 by Circleof5ths
by Circleof5ths

All four tires defective. Junk. Save your $$$$ They wouldn't balance. Car shook at speed. Took to Firestone. They road force balanced and found all four tires to be separating internally. Apparently very common with General tires. Walmart took them back.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 2/5/2016

Thank you for providing feedback regarding the Grabber STX.

Circleof5ths
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best of 2011 still hits the mark...
9/17/2013

Customer review by NorthHallDawg

5.0 stars 9/17/2013 by NorthHallDawg
by NorthHallDawg

I recently purchased a 2006 Nissan Frontier that was in the need of tires. The truck had Yokahoma Geolanders which I had used in the past; however, after reading several reviews on several tires, I chose to go with the General Grabber, which was voted best Light Truck/SUV tire in 2011 by Consumer Reports. I am not disappointed. Ride is very smooth even on stiff truck shocks and struts; almost no road noise and the handling is great. The 60,000 mile warranty is a plus also. I looked at Michelin's but I felt the General had essentially the same features for a lot less money. So here are my ratings based on a 1-5 scale: Handling - 4 Wet Traction - 4 Dry Traction - 5 Road Noise - 4 Stopping Distance - 3 Overall performance - 4 If you have the money and like Michelins buy them. If, however, you're value conscience, buy the Generals; I'm sure you'll be pleased.

Was this review helpful? (176) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NorthHallDawg
Gainesville, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
made a difference
2/12/2016

Customer review by fixurhairup

5.0 stars 2/12/2016 by fixurhairup
by fixurhairup

I didnt realize they would make a difference in the comfort of the ride. but they do.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fixurhairup
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Tires, excellent buy lasted as advertised
9/14/2015

Customer review by GMoney

4.0 stars 9/14/2015 by GMoney
by GMoney

This review should be useful since I bought 4 of these tires in 10/2012 and have gotten exactly 68,225 miles and they are now needing to be replaced. So not guessing how they will ride or last, I know. So they lasted their 60,000 mile warranty and then some. I rotated the tires every 7,000 to 10,000 miles and they lasted well. They were also much quieter than the tires we replaced and has an excellent ride. No complaints at all. Great value too for the price.

Was this review helpful? (36) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GMoney
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Darn Good Tires For The Money
4/26/2013

Customer review by WalmartGoodForMe

5.0 stars 4/26/2013 by WalmartGoodForMe
by WalmartGoodForMe

Put 4 of these on my 2003 Escape. Due to the age of this car, I wasn't looking for tires with a real high mile warranty. I search all over the internet and found these the best value for a BRAND NAME tire that can be warrantied pretty much anywhere should any problems arise (An important point for someone shopping tires. If you are out of town and you have a warrantied problem with some "off brand" tire... well now your are stuck#. If you are going to purchase these, buy them on the internet and have them shipped "Site- To Store". There is no charge for freight and it took mine about 10 days to arrive at my local store. Also the price is a bit less than the "in store" price. Like one of the other reviewers, I was a bit concerned about the higher load rating but any difference is insignificant. I've put about 350 or so miles on these tires thus far. They corner nice, and also do well in rain and snow. The real test will be is to see how they perform after I have 30k+ miles on them. I would recommend these tires for anyone looking for a 60k mile tire. The only drawback is that General started a rebate #$50. on a set of 4# about 10 days after I purchased these. Rebate is non- retroactive..... My Bad!

Was this review helpful? (145) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmartGoodForMe
Midwest U.S.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
EXCELLENT BUY
9/4/2015

Customer review by WOOD

5.0 stars 9/4/2015 by WOOD
by WOOD

BOUGHT A SET AT THE ROLL BACK PRICES AT WALMART AND QUALIFIED FOR A $70 REBATE FROM GENERAL AS WELL. A GREAT DEAL. NOT ONLY THAT THE TIRES RIDE MUCH BETTER AND ARE SIGNIFICANTLY QUIETER THAN MY PREVIOUS TIRES. WILL BE ON A ROAD TRIP IN THE NEXT WEEK OR SO AND WILL ADVISE OF ANY ISSUES. NOT LIKELY BE ANY.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WOOD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent tire
1/3/2016

Customer review by FarmRidge

5.0 stars 1/3/2016 by FarmRidge
by FarmRidge

I replaced my original Michellen's with these because of the price and so far I have 5000 + miles on them and they are performing very well. No change in my fuel mileage so I am very happy about that. They are on my 2011 Honda Ridgeline. I do hope to get 60,000 miles out of them like I did with my OEM tires.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FarmRidge
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
General Grabber STX Tire 265/70R17 115S are great!
2/5/2016

Customer review by FavNana

5.0 stars 2/5/2016 by FavNana
by FavNana

I love the smooth ride, quality and price for these tires. Bought 4 as a replacement for 4 other General Grabbers that lasted 5 years on rough roads. These may out last the SUV.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FavNana
oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Rapid tread wear for a 640 rated tire
9/15/2013

Customer review by Bearrr

3.0 stars 9/15/2013 by Bearrr
by Bearrr

I bought a set of four (4) 245/65R17 General Grabber STX tires on 12/02/11. Since then, I have run them for 35,528 miles and have had Wal-Mart rotate them about every six thousand miles. I had expected to get around three years or approximately fifty thousand miles out of them, but the tread is wearing so rapidly that I am not sure then will make two years or forty-two thousand miles and still have safe tread depth. Although they weren't particularly expensive tires, $123 per tire, they have a tread wear rating of 640, so my expectations were for a longer tread life than I am actually seeing. Much of my driving is on concrete road surfaces that are likely to be more abrasive than asphalt road surfaces. The tires are mounted on a 2005 Mercury Mountaineer AWD, a typical suburban "soccer mom" daily driver.

Was this review helpful? (126) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bearrr
Omaha, NE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A better design than older grabber hts
7/3/2015

Customer review by CEAnders

5.0 stars 7/3/2015 by CEAnders
by CEAnders

Watch out for pricing drops. This is a newer design than the older HTS. The HTS is rated in top 5 on consumer reports, which held up well to the 60k. I got these as a replacement to the HTS, these have more open tread allowing water and snow and more sipping for traction, if these last as long as HTS be good buy. This new design is almost identical to Continental CrossContact LX20 rated as tied best truck /suv tire. BUT watch out on pricing, this tire is as expensive as the Continental which usually has many rebates, making continental tires cheaper

Was this review helpful? (33) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CEAnders
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
NOISYYYYYYY TIRES
2/5/2016

Customer review by Pastor

1.0 stars 2/5/2016 by Pastor
by Pastor

617.00 Later I now own a brand new honda pilot with tires Louder than the radio. I have submitted a claim to general for the sorriness of these tires. Stay away

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 2/9/2016

We received your email regarding your 09 Pilot on 2/4/16, and advised you to return to Walmart. This tire carries a customer satisfaction trial, and the tires can be exchanged at no charge. As for replacements, we recommend trying the Grabber HTS.

Pastor
Would recommend to a friend? No
second set
2/14/2015

Customer review by Rich

4.0 stars 2/14/2015 by Rich
by Rich

This is the second set of these particular tires I have put on my 2001 silverado. I bought the last set at the same store 3 1/2 years ago. I put just under 50k on them. These are smooth riding quiet tires with relativly good traction even in the Wisconsin snow. Definitly would recommend them and would no doubt buy another set when my 01 silverado with 175k is in need of its next set of tires.

Was this review helpful? (61) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rich
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I recommend this tire
9/17/2015

Customer review by Julian

4.0 stars 9/17/2015 by Julian
by Julian

I've have these tires on my 03 Explorer. I like the ride and the value. If I had to say one negative thing about them, it would be the tread wear. I've had them for exactly two years with only 30,000 miles on them. I've rotated them regularly according to my schedule. The small issue is that they don't last the 60,000 miles as advertised. Like I said, I've put 30k miles on them and it's time for some new ones. I tested them with a penny and guess what, Lincoln needs a hat. Although they did wear evenly.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Julian
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 49 total reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews