Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 41 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

41 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

41 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-20 of 38 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews
Best of 2011 still hits the mark...
9/17/2013

Customer review by NorthHallDawg

5.0 stars 9/17/2013 by NorthHallDawg
by NorthHallDawg

I recently purchased a 2006 Nissan Frontier that was in the need of tires. The truck had Yokahoma Geolanders which I had used in the past; however, after reading several reviews on several tires, I chose to go with the General Grabber, which was voted best Light Truck/SUV tire in 2011 by Consumer Reports. I am not disappointed. Ride is very smooth even on stiff truck shocks and struts; almost no road noise and the handling is great. The 60,000 mile warranty is a plus also. I looked at Michelin's but I felt the General had essentially the same features for a lot less money. So here are my ratings based on a 1-5 scale: Handling - 4 Wet Traction - 4 Dry Traction - 5 Road Noise - 4 Stopping Distance - 3 Overall performance - 4 If you have the money and like Michelins buy them. If, however, you're value conscience, buy the Generals; I'm sure you'll be pleased.

Was this review helpful? (141) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NorthHallDawg
Gainesville, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Trusted another reviewer and was pleased
2/13/2014

Customer review by Ryanincc

5.0 stars 2/13/2014 by Ryanincc
by Ryanincc

I needed new tires for my 1997 4Runner as it was time and I wanted a good highway tire for towing a 3500lb Pop Up Camper I recently purchased. I read the other review here stating they were on the Consumer Reports best list in 2011. Michelin has topped the 2013 and 2014 list but are just too expensive for me at this time. Ive had these General Grabbers for about 4000 miles and we've had some crazy weather here lately in South Texas (Dec '13-Feb '14), as Im sure the whole country has, lots of misty wet roads and some ice. Wonderful traction, stopping ability and VERY quiet compared to my previous tires. My previous set was a BFG Rugged Trail, and although I liked the way they looked better (slightly more aggressive tread and the solid white lettering) I am not disappointed in the least. Price was on Rollback so I couldn't turn them down. I also noticed a slight MPG increase, almost 1 MPG in city and almost 2 on the highway. Towing is no problem on or off road. Warranty is a plus but I doubt I will need it. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (116) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ryanincc
Corpus Christi, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Darn Good Tires For The Money
4/26/2013

Customer review by WalmartGoodForMe

5.0 stars 4/26/2013 by WalmartGoodForMe
by WalmartGoodForMe

Put 4 of these on my 2003 Escape. Due to the age of this car, I wasn't looking for tires with a real high mile warranty. I search all over the internet and found these the best value for a BRAND NAME tire that can be warrantied pretty much anywhere should any problems arise (An important point for someone shopping tires. If you are out of town and you have a warrantied problem with some "off brand" tire... well now your are stuck#. If you are going to purchase these, buy them on the internet and have them shipped "Site- To Store". There is no charge for freight and it took mine about 10 days to arrive at my local store. Also the price is a bit less than the "in store" price. Like one of the other reviewers, I was a bit concerned about the higher load rating but any difference is insignificant. I've put about 350 or so miles on these tires thus far. They corner nice, and also do well in rain and snow. The real test will be is to see how they perform after I have 30k+ miles on them. I would recommend these tires for anyone looking for a 60k mile tire. The only drawback is that General started a rebate #$50. on a set of 4# about 10 days after I purchased these. Rebate is non- retroactive..... My Bad!

Was this review helpful? (116) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WalmartGoodForMe
Midwest U.S.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great tire for the Price
2/2/2013

Customer review by FordEscape2001

5.0 stars 2/2/2013 by FordEscape2001
by FordEscape2001

I put this tire on my Ford Escape. It is much better than the Good Year Fortera's they replaced. It has better traction, better ride and quieter than the Good Year tires. Snow traction is also excellent so far. I was alittle concerned about the higher load rating of these tires would make a stiffer ride, but not at all.. The tires also have the rib guard to protect against curb damage which I also like, the slight nagative is that the raised white letting is a little small...

Was this review helpful? (133) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FordEscape2001
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good affordable tire
3/25/2013

Customer review by FrankP341

4.0 stars 3/25/2013 by FrankP341
by FrankP341

Just had these tires installed two days ago, today we have one of those spring snowstorms......very impressed with how my truck handled on slick, slushy roads this morning. On dry roads yesterday smooth ride. Good value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (84) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FrankP341
Martinsburg WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Initial Review is that this tire is great
3/18/2013

Customer review by Vinsanity66

5.0 stars 3/18/2013 by Vinsanity66
by Vinsanity66

When I purchased my used Honda Pilot in 2009 it needed new tires immediately. I decided to get a mid-price tire from a familiar brand. I did not have any time to research my purchase so I just made a decision based on the guy selling tires and bought the Bridgestone RVT tires. They were designed to drive off-road and on the road. Since the majority of my driving was on a road they were not designed for me. Those tires lasted about 70,000 miles so I have no complaints there, but they did wear unevenly (even though I rotated and balanced with every oil change). They also were very loud, but quieter than the worn tires they replaced. I ran over a nail on Friday and took the tire in to have it repaired and they told me that I needed to replace my tire. I decided to take advantage of the General tire rebate and replace all 4 tires at once. I have been doing my homework and the General Grabber tires seemed to be very good. I was also told that this is quite similar to the top rated General Grabber HTS. I have put about 100 miles on these tires so far through city and highway driving. Including driving in the rain today. These tires make my Honda Pilot as quiet as my Corolla with minimal road noise. With the Bridgestone Dueler RVTs I had to have the radio very loud just to drown out the road noise. These tires also seem to perform very well when driving around turns. As long as they hold up these tires are a great value. After the rebate these 4 tires will be $170 less (pre tax) than my previous Dueler RVTs and to me the pricing could be reversed.

Was this review helpful? (66) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vinsanity66
Bardstown, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good lower price tire option
1/8/2013

Customer review by Path333

4.0 stars 1/8/2013 by Path333
by Path333

These tires are a good option to the bigger names light truck tires. Road noise is quiet and has good stopping distance on wet or dry pavement on my Ford F150. I especially like the warranty. Only problem so far was that they had to be ordered site to store but the savings has been worth it.

Was this review helpful? (62) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Path333
Collins, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Rapid tread wear for a 640 rated tire
9/15/2013

Customer review by Bearrr

3.0 stars 9/15/2013 by Bearrr
by Bearrr

I bought a set of four (4) 245/65R17 General Grabber STX tires on 12/02/11. Since then, I have run them for 35,528 miles and have had Wal-Mart rotate them about every six thousand miles. I had expected to get around three years or approximately fifty thousand miles out of them, but the tread is wearing so rapidly that I am not sure then will make two years or forty-two thousand miles and still have safe tread depth. Although they weren't particularly expensive tires, $123 per tire, they have a tread wear rating of 640, so my expectations were for a longer tread life than I am actually seeing. Much of my driving is on concrete road surfaces that are likely to be more abrasive than asphalt road surfaces. The tires are mounted on a 2005 Mercury Mountaineer AWD, a typical suburban "soccer mom" daily driver.

Was this review helpful? (111) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bearrr
Omaha, NE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Ride
12/4/2013

Customer review by Bigbaddy

5.0 stars 12/4/2013 by Bigbaddy
by Bigbaddy

I put these on my 2010 Chevy Silverado and they look good and ride smooth. Low road noise compared to the last set of tires that were on the truck. White letters did have some fading other than that they look good on the truck and drive great in the rain. No regrets!

Was this review helpful? (54) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bigbaddy
Huntsville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Tires
12/5/2012

Customer review by Miclaud

5.0 stars 12/5/2012 by Miclaud
by Miclaud

Last Year Consumer Reports had an article on the General Grabber HTS. It said that for the money this was an excellent tire. The price was great. I started looking around as it was about 'tire time' for my Trailblazer. I found the Grabber STX at Walmart, and ended up having to contact General tire to find out something about it. Turns out this is a 'made for Walmart' tire that is really the Grabber HTS. I bought 2 and liked them so much I bought 2 more. I'm very pleased so far wet and dry pavement, but have yet to experience any snowy or icy conditions as the Oklahoma weather has been unusually dry. Maybe this year. They ride smoothly and are very quiet. I have told several friends and relatives about them.

Was this review helpful? (52) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Miclaud
Tulsa, Ok.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Smooth, quiet ride!
6/9/2013

Customer review by Yooper79

5.0 stars 6/9/2013 by Yooper79
by Yooper79

Just put four of these on my 2005 Ford Escape and all I can say so far is wow! I've never had such a smooth, quiet ride before. It may sound cheesy, but my first impression was it felt like I was driving on air. Driving down a decent paved road, I could barely hear or feel the tires underneath me and it feels like the car is floating on air while I'm driving. I'm used to some noise or feeling/hearing the tires grip the road. I've never had it feel this way, though... it's incredible. Typically I'm weary of the "cheap tires," but after reading the previous reviews I gave it a shot and I'm glad I did, and you should, too! You won't be disappointed with these!

Was this review helpful? (53) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Yooper79
Marquette, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
second set
2/14/2015

Customer review by Rich

4.0 stars 2/14/2015 by Rich
by Rich

This is the second set of these particular tires I have put on my 2001 silverado. I bought the last set at the same store 3 1/2 years ago. I put just under 50k on them. These are smooth riding quiet tires with relativly good traction even in the Wisconsin snow. Definitly would recommend them and would no doubt buy another set when my 01 silverado with 175k is in need of its next set of tires.

Was this review helpful? (40) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rich
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I bought the General grabbers because walmart.com
3/25/2013

Customer review by cantthinkofonenotussed

5.0 stars 3/25/2013 by cantthinkofonenotussed
by cantthinkofonenotussed

I bought the General Grabber STX 245/75R16 111S because I needed new tires for my truck and wal-mart.com and the store in my area had different tires, the sales associate in the tire center was VERY helpful when I went into the store, even stayed after hours to finish my truck because they didnt get to it before they closed.The next day after I got my tires iowa got a ice/snow storm and the tires did great. I would have to say that these are the tire to go with.

Was this review helpful? (50) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cantthinkofonenotussed
Marshalltown Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Did not meet 60k mile wear rating.
12/12/2014

Customer review by 1WNY

2.0 stars 12/12/2014 by 1WNY
by 1WNY

Four tires purchased for a mid sized SUV. 25 months and 28,000 miles and these tires are worn to the wear bars. Vehicle had four wheel alignment, pressure checked monthly and tires rotated every 5,000 miles. Other then falling way short on the mileage life the tires performed nicely and the wear was even across the entire set. Because of the rate at which these tires wore I view them as being of poor value. A different brand of tire was purchsed to replace these.

Was this review helpful? (50) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1WNY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Tires
1/6/2014

Customer review by TampaShooters

5.0 stars 1/6/2014 by TampaShooters
by TampaShooters

I got these for my 2008 Ford Escape after having horrible Goodyear tires. These are a very nice tire, nice design, and much quieter than the Goodyear. So far, so good, I am glad I got these. I live in Sunny Florida, so I don't need 4x4 tires, or Snow Tires, and these are perfect for my daily interstate commute.

Was this review helpful? (32) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TampaShooters
Riverview, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great tires!!
2/21/2014

Customer review by pppdjdjdjdjdidei

4.0 stars 2/21/2014 by pppdjdjdjdjdidei
by pppdjdjdjdjdidei

very quiet ride and have been great in wisconsin winter on my 08 ford escape fwd. Like driving in the summer. Definitely would buy them again

Was this review helpful? (33) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pppdjdjdjdjdidei
wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best tires I have owned.
6/6/2013

Customer review by PowerXSlave

5.0 stars 6/6/2013 by PowerXSlave
by PowerXSlave

Decided to try out these General Grabber STX tires. The price was great and I have them on 3 trucks at the moment. I have no complaints at all. Wet traction is Very Good, quite and I am very happy with these. I have had many tires on these trucks, Goodyear, Micheline, Firestone, etc... These are better than all the rest. Best wet traction tire I have used and very good in the snow. I recommend these to anyone, you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PowerXSlave
Kansas City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great tires for the price
12/31/2012

Customer review by tahoe4life

4.0 stars 12/31/2012 by tahoe4life
by tahoe4life

These are same as the Grabber HTS model for the most part. They ride very nice are great in the snow and on wet pavement. They are decent on ice and treadlife has been good so far. I was happy with how smooth they rode and and they are so quiet even in my 20" wheels I cant hear them. A friend of mine had some expensive tires one his truck and when the first snow came we went and tested them out and I seemed to get around just as well as he did. I approve this tire.

Was this review helpful? (36) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tahoe4life
Omaha, Ne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
60,000 Mile treadwear warranty - hardly
9/30/2014

Customer review by Patriot74

3.0 stars 9/30/2014 by Patriot74
by Patriot74

I selected the General Grabber based on a superior tread wear expectation and a hope that they would be a quiet ride. They are quieter than my last tires and smooth riding. I had a nail in the right front tire today and was due for my 3rd rotation. The flat was not repairable so the road hazard warranty came into play. At around 25K miles, there is on 5/32 of the original 11/32 tread left. Since the last 2/32 are not usable, it means the tread is already 2/3 used up. So that means they will be worn out by 40K miles. So, I'm pretty disappointed in the way they are wearing. I drive a lot, 90%+ on paved highways. These aren't the tires to buy for long tread life.

Was this review helpful? (35) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Patriot74
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Tire
9/7/2014

Customer review by rick486

5.0 stars 9/7/2014 by rick486
by rick486

I bought 4 of these tires as I was tired (no pun) of paying 80% more for Michelins. I'd had General tires before, factory installed on a 76 Cutlass and they were great tires. I've now had these tires about a month, taken a 250 mile trip on the interstate and driven in the rain with them. I can truly say I like them better than the Michelins. They seem quieter and the handling at 80 mph is rock solid. I would definitely buy these tires again.

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rick486
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews