Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 214 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

214 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

214 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
102
4 stars
43
3 stars
15
2 stars
14
1 stars
40
1-20 of 214 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 214 total reviews
1-20 of 214 reviews
Best Microwave for the $; owned for > 3 years.
7/19/2013

Customer review by NorthShoreHawaii

5.0 stars 7/19/2013 by NorthShoreHawaii
by NorthShoreHawaii

I have owned this particular Emerson 1100 watt microwave for well over 3 years and it is still like new. I use it every day several times a day. It is noticably more powerful than my 1000 watt countertop. I have not owned a more faithful microwave oven ... ever. I just looked at the current price and cannot believe you can buy this much with so little money. I thought that I'd paid more. These are just the facts, not opinions, not my emotions talking.

Was this review helpful? (478) (48)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NorthShoreHawaii
Beaumont, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So far so good!
4/24/2013

Customer review by IDAHOCHUCK

5.0 stars 4/24/2013 by IDAHOCHUCK
by IDAHOCHUCK
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this as a direct replacement for the microwave/browning element that came with my motorhome. It was very hard to find one that fit into the space but this one was perfect! It works quite well. So far I am very satisfied with it.

Was this review helpful? (230) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IDAHOCHUCK
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Much Better.....
12/24/2015

Customer review by MrTom

5.0 stars 12/24/2015 by MrTom
by MrTom

My 5+ year old microwave was acting up, so while Christmas shopping Walmart online I looked over the selection. I chose this Emerson Microwave/Grill Combo for its features, size, power, ratings and price. A known brand name, the addition of the Grilling Element up top and still being the same size as the old one convinced me on this one. Store Pickup during Christmas rush was no problem at all. It is light enough for one person to handle without straining and easy to unpack. I Very Much like that it is Quiet, really really quiet compared to the old Samsung it replaced. I also quite the built-in Grill feature which I've only tried twice, (works fine but isn't a 'toaster oven' ), it has great instructions on usage. There are many Pre-Sets and One Touch Buttons that are setup quite nice for typical usage ... Potatoes, Popcorn, Reheating Drinks and Leftovers. It is big enough for my needs, but there are much larger ones by size and power.

Was this review helpful? (80) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrTom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Owner for 6 years
7/16/2016

Customer review by Jenn

4.0 stars 7/16/2016 by Jenn
by Jenn

I brought this microwave in 2010. I am writing this review because I have to buy a new one as of last night. Like previous owners, I noticed the microwave has been acting weird for about a week or so. Cutting off in 6 seconds and not heating items. When I removed the microwave plate, I notice it had a hole, chipping paint, and rust. I am giving it a 4 because after six years I have enjoyed this microwave and the grilling expect of it as well. I had grilled burgers, hotdogs, chicken etc in this microwave with no problems. I read where owners stated no instructions for grilling, the grilling is pretty simple; put the metal grill in and pressed the grill button for about how many minutes you choose! No you cannot grill without the "metal grill". I will be purchasing another one today!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jenn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Emerson Microwave
2/5/2016

Customer review by StanGee

5.0 stars 2/5/2016 by StanGee
by StanGee

In 2005 I purchased an Emerson Microwave from Walmart of all places, It's 2016, the microwave I purchased back then just begin to give me trouble, it would cut itself off in the middle of working. I figured it was time, past time really to buy another, I looked at several models and different makers, then I came across this Emerson, I am please with it so far, it works really great, and the grill is a plus, I don't see myself using it, but it's there as a backup should I need it. If you are on a budget, and looking for a great buy, I recommend this model, at this price, you can't go wrong, It's an 1100 watt when most more expensive ones are 1000 watts. The size is perfect for my counter top, its the first Microwave I've ever used that when popping popcorn at 3 minutes, almost every kernel pops, and it doesn't burn. It's a really great deal. If you are looking stop it, and buy this one.

Was this review helpful? (48) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StanGee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cooking with 1100 watts.
5/24/2016

Customer review by Marium

5.0 stars 5/24/2016 by Marium
by Marium
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am completely sold on this item, although probably will never use the grill. I am an 85 year old widow who no longer desires to cook big meals. This does the job for me. I highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marium
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love It!
4/28/2016

Customer review by MzzKathee

5.0 stars 4/28/2016 by MzzKathee
by MzzKathee

I chose this microwave because I had owned an Emerson for 12 years that worked wonderfully until it just wore out. This particular model is so attractive and very easy to use. I doubt I will ever use the grill as I do not cook meals in the microwave but, it is a nice feature to have for no extra cost. Great microwave, great value.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MzzKathee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
What about the grill?
11/24/2015

Customer review by MotherHen

3.0 stars 11/24/2015 by MotherHen
by MotherHen

I have just purchased this microwave oven & grill specifically for the grill component because our regular oven really no longer does a broil/grill aspect. However, I am very disappointed with the owner's manual in that there is no specific instructions, other than basic button pushing, for details about this important component. The manual has a "Cooking Guide" section but nothing about the grill feature is included. My questions would be (1) Is the grill feature to be used only if the metal tray is used or can the grilling be done w/o the tray? (2)What are time elements to be considered when grilling? Those are just the basic questions that the manual should have answered but didn't. I am sure the microwave aspect will work just fine but more details about the grill feature is badly needed to get the most out of this item that will be used daily.

Was this review helpful? (75) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MotherHen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
WRITE TO THE COMPANY! This one is a major FAIL!
8/29/2013

Customer review by realllllllllllly

1.0 stars 8/29/2013 by realllllllllllly
by realllllllllllly

Sharing what I sent..Hope to have some resolution for others who are stuck with this thing and warn anyone else who plans to purchase this model! Letter to Emerson: Purchased this item as a replacement for an Emerson that had long out lived expectation. I did not need all the 'bells & whistles', however, my fiance insisted we go a bit higher in price and get "one that will last" I NEVER use the grill feature, rarely use it for more than heating tea or side dishes. Recently it began to arc, I assumed there must be a piece of food spilled...nothing. I cleaned it and the paint is peeling! I use 3 parts water to one part vinegar. Nothing abrasive! Upon checking reviews, I am not the first person to have the same results with this model. It is under a year old. We no longer have our receipt so exchange is not an answer. I, like so many others am disgusted with this durability and performance of this particular Emerson product. What a shame. I wondered if this was a know defect that you have taken measures to correct? Any suggestions on what I should do with this paperweight?

Was this review helpful? (181) (81)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
realllllllllllly
East Coast
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice features
6/19/2016

Customer review by Deerh

5.0 stars 6/19/2016 by Deerh
by Deerh
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Terrible instructions. Has a grilling feature but there are not how to use pages.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Deerh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little microwave
3/10/2016

Customer review by s13k26

5.0 stars 3/10/2016 by s13k26
by s13k26

I currently own and use the previous generation of this unit, which has a unique and very useful browning element built into the unit. I've had mine for about 7 years now, and I didn't want to have to use another make or model. This one, especially for the price is so very useful. I happen to see this unit advertised on the Walmart website and jumped to get it. The new one still sits in a box for the day when my current microwave fails. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
s13k26
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Have owned this Emerson 6 yrs And Still LOVE IT!!
10/10/2014

Customer review by luciemaye

5.0 stars 10/10/2014 by luciemaye
by luciemaye

Have owned this Emerson Microwave/Grill for Six years and still works like new!! LOVE IT!!!! Make sure you keep the inside clean especially the metal grill inside the microwave, as splatter from grilling will build up and cause smoke and or smell. Use liquid dish soap and Clorox to clean inside. Taking into consideration you will have to learn to use this Excellent and very useful Microwave/grill with trial and error recipe's like all cooking utensils to find the right combinations! Have used this everyday for cooking warming tea coffee and using this instead of oven or stove. for Popcorn use the time recommended on the package instead of the microwave button. Keep the key pad, plate and plate holder turn table clean, don't use abrasive cleaners or pads.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
luciemaye
K.C. Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Grill?
7/20/2016

Customer review by sweetermusic57

3.0 stars 7/20/2016 by sweetermusic57
by sweetermusic57
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This item replaced the worn out Emerson previously purchased in 2010. I doubt I'll use the grill but the microwave works wonderfully! Why tamper with what works?

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sweetermusic57
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice!
6/14/2016

Customer review by aturner

5.0 stars 6/14/2016 by aturner
by aturner
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We have stainless and black appliances so this microwave works great and looks sleek! We've been using it and are very satisfied! It cooks fast and evenly. Thanks!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aturner
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
best bang for the buck!
7/1/2016

Customer review by SpaceCoastGrrl

5.0 stars 7/1/2016 by SpaceCoastGrrl
by SpaceCoastGrrl

I love this microwave. I bought the predecessor (an Emerson of the same size and comparable features) and it worked for 12 years. I paid about the same price for this one as I did over a decade ago so given inflation, that's pretty impressive. Good job, Emerson, at keeping prices competitive! I still haven't quite figured out what the grill is all about (my original one didn't have this new feature) but otherwise it's nice to have a shiny new version of my familiar microwave. I would HIGHLY recommend this to a friend--in fact, I did when hers broke and she needed to buy a new one :)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SpaceCoastGrrl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Microwave
5/12/2016

Customer review by CatB

5.0 stars 5/12/2016 by CatB
by CatB

This is a powerful microwave. I researched microwaves for several weeks before deciding on this one. It's easy to use, buttons are simple. The handle makes it so easy to open. I have joint problems & using this is easy!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CatB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product with many great features but noisy
6/4/2016

Customer review by Havacyn

4.0 stars 6/4/2016 by Havacyn
by Havacyn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I left one star out of the rating because this product is so noisy. It has a load humming sound when you use it. It works great, has many great features. I like the fact that it fits well on my countertop because it is not huge to take up so much more space like a bigger size microwave but yet has great power rating to cook or heat my food up fast. I like that it fits all my cooking items inside just like a bigger sized unit especially my large coffee mugs to reheat my coffee. My larger coffee cups don't fit inside other smaller units because the inner space height is short. This unit is about the same size of a smaller unit but has a bigger capacity inside along with a taller height.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Havacyn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Microwave
10/4/2014

Customer review by Knuttyknoters

5.0 stars 10/4/2014 by Knuttyknoters
by Knuttyknoters
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the best Microwave I have ever owned and I have had at least 5 in the past 40 or so years. It cooks everything evenly and it defrosts meat evenly and doesn't cook part of the meat like other microwaves I have owned with a defrost feature. I just used the combo microwave/ grill feature and it cooks my piece of steak just beautifully. I really love this microwave. I would recommend it to anyone that is in the market for a new microwave. The grill browned my steak perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (137) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Knuttyknoters
Ione, CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good if you want to save money and it works fine
7/5/2016

Customer review by Bignbulky

3.0 stars 7/5/2016 by Bignbulky
by Bignbulky
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's a bit big and bulky, works just as well as any microwave. Takes up a bit of counter space and I have not tried the grill feature yet! It was very inexpensive compared to most and has all of the necessary functions the most useful secondary feature is the timer! It is very user friendly and heats up quickly ! So far no problems! It's just big!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bignbulky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT MICROWAVE!
5/29/2015

Customer review by Julie

5.0 stars 5/29/2015 by Julie
by Julie

I've had the exact same microwave before and just bought a new one because I THOUGHT the other one just stopped working (come to find out, there was a bad plug, but I had already thrown out my other one - even the manager's son who realized this told me "Your other microwave is probably working fine." I LOVE this microwave, it has one-touch start, like if you hit the "5" it will start and go for 5 minutes, it's big and spacey inside, it has an alarm time setting, defrost mode, easy to clean, even my cats like to sleep on top of it they like it so much! LOL Truly, I have never, ever had a problem with this microwave. The old one that was actually working but that I threw out I had for many, many years. GREAT MICROWAVE!! YAY!! You can count on it to work for sure!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Julie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 214 total reviews
1-20 of 214 reviews