Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 121 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

121 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

121 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

63%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
53
4 stars
22
3 stars
6
2 stars
9
1 stars
31
1-20 of 121 total reviews
63%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 121 total reviews
1-20 of 121 reviews
Best Microwave for the $; owned for > 3 years.
7/19/2013

Customer review by NorthShoreHawaii

5.0 stars 7/19/2013 by NorthShoreHawaii
by NorthShoreHawaii

I have owned this particular Emerson 1100 watt microwave for well over 3 years and it is still like new. I use it every day several times a day. It is noticably more powerful than my 1000 watt countertop. I have not owned a more faithful microwave oven ... ever. I just looked at the current price and cannot believe you can buy this much with so little money. I thought that I'd paid more. These are just the facts, not opinions, not my emotions talking.

Was this review helpful? (235) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NorthShoreHawaii
Beaumont, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So far so good!
4/24/2013

Customer review by IDAHOCHUCK

5.0 stars 4/24/2013 by IDAHOCHUCK
by IDAHOCHUCK

I bought this as a direct replacement for the microwave/browning element that came with my motorhome. It was very hard to find one that fit into the space but this one was perfect! It works quite well. So far I am very satisfied with it.

Was this review helpful? (123) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IDAHOCHUCK
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Microwave
10/4/2014

Customer review by Knuttyknoters

5.0 stars 10/4/2014 by Knuttyknoters
by Knuttyknoters

This is the best Microwave I have ever owned and I have had at least 5 in the past 40 or so years. It cooks everything evenly and it defrosts meat evenly and doesn't cook part of the meat like other microwaves I have owned with a defrost feature. I just used the combo microwave/ grill feature and it cooks my piece of steak just beautifully. I really love this microwave. I would recommend it to anyone that is in the market for a new microwave. The grill browned my steak perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (56) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Knuttyknoters
Ione, CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
WRITE TO THE COMPANY! This one is a major FAIL!
8/29/2013

Customer review by realllllllllllly

1.0 stars 8/29/2013 by realllllllllllly
by realllllllllllly

Sharing what I sent..Hope to have some resolution for others who are stuck with this thing and warn anyone else who plans to purchase this model! Letter to Emerson: Purchased this item as a replacement for an Emerson that had long out lived expectation. I did not need all the 'bells & whistles', however, my fiance insisted we go a bit higher in price and get "one that will last" I NEVER use the grill feature, rarely use it for more than heating tea or side dishes. Recently it began to arc, I assumed there must be a piece of food spilled...nothing. I cleaned it and the paint is peeling! I use 3 parts water to one part vinegar. Nothing abrasive! Upon checking reviews, I am not the first person to have the same results with this model. It is under a year old. We no longer have our receipt so exchange is not an answer. I, like so many others am disgusted with this durability and performance of this particular Emerson product. What a shame. I wondered if this was a know defect that you have taken measures to correct? Any suggestions on what I should do with this paperweight?

Was this review helpful? (114) (44)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
realllllllllllly
East Coast
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Idea for a Microwave, model MWG9115SB
5/19/2014

Customer review by SusieQue333

5.0 stars 5/19/2014 by SusieQue333
by SusieQue333

Picked this up at WalMart because it was time to get a new microwave--we'd put it off long enough. I must say, I find some of these negative reviews extremely strange, if not highly suspect, to be honest--especially the ones about paint peeling and arcing and so on. I feel quite certain that WalMart has sold far more of these than the 32 reviews featured here (including mine at this date), and I can only think that maybe some folks got a lemon--but that happens with every product mass produced, unfortunately. If any of that happens to us with this product then so be it, but in thirty-five years of owning a wide variety of microwaves--and thirty-five years ago they were much more crude than they are today--I have never encountered anything similar, nor have I heard about it. Bluntly, I'll believe it when I see it...;) At any rate, what attracted me to this model was the built in grill--it's not a "browner" by any description, it is a full blown grill--a mini-grill, no doubt, but still a grill. Calling it a "browner" is highly misleading. The grill has but three modes of operation: 100% grill (your grilling food revolves nicely on the carousel beneath the burner in all modes)--the microwave is off--and two "combo" modes of ~64% Microwave, ~36% grill; 64% grill & 36% microwave. Could be that in the combo mode of 64% mw, 36% grill, it might well "brown," but that is not its primary function. We're basically interested only in the 100% grill mode, but I'm sure that at some point we'll give the "combo" modes a shot. But for now, it's either operating as a 100% grill or else a 100% microwave. We had intended just to pick up a larger-than-our-present 700W, 7/10 cubic-foot Emerson carousel microwave (the smallest we had ever owned, but one which functioned flawlessly for three years and is still serving its new owner well, I hear) and then buy a second, separate grill--but this product gave us both in one package, and has produced some delicious hamburgers and other grilled foods so far! We feel it is an excellent product. We plan to continue making good use of the grill. The only other thing I can say is that of all the microwaves on display at or near or above the $89.00 price we paid, I didn't see a single one with a similar grill arrangement. If we do have any problems, however, I'll be sure to update this review--but I don't expect to have to. So far, an excellent product, great value.

Was this review helpful? (147) (69)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SusieQue333
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
avid user
7/24/2014

Customer review by truckingwife

5.0 stars 7/24/2014 by truckingwife
by truckingwife

Not so sure about some of these negative reviews, I purchased this microwave as my other had quit. I love it, especially the different settings for the popcorn and the fact that most of my stuff i put inthere now cooks in half the time it did in my other microwave. I love the fact it has the grilling feature as we like to grill but a little hard to in the winter and on rainy days as my deck does not have cover. I have recommended this microwave to others as i have had no issues with the paint peeling.

Was this review helpful? (91) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
truckingwife
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good but could be better
2/12/2013

Customer review by Armywifey1206

3.0 stars 2/12/2013 by Armywifey1206
by Armywifey1206

We have had this microwave since spring/summer 2009 it works good made 2 moves with it and last move got damaged still works good but only downsides to it is the grill part doesn't work that well and the turntable wheels rubbed the bottom of the microwave so bad the paint is completely gone but other than that it works great sadly it's time to get a new one that is bigger

Was this review helpful? (29) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Armywifey1206
Wahiawa, Hawaii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/6/2013

Customer review by solari

5.0 stars 3/6/2013 by solari
by solari

Unlike other reviewers I have not had any problems with my unit..I suspect damage was caused by carelessness of handling by owners..also comments this unit does not work properly I also believe is the fault of the owners..my food comes out perfect everytime..no paint chipping, handle is ideal...the last unit I owned did not have a handle which annoyed me completely..I love this microwave..

Was this review helpful? (97) (46)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
solari
Apopka, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
HORRIBLE.... DO NOT BUY
2/26/2013

Customer review by SalinaKnows

1.0 stars 2/26/2013 by SalinaKnows
by SalinaKnows

I bought this because it looked good and matched everything else. However in less then 3 months the paint inside started chipping, the top burned up, and it smells funny inside. I keep it cleaned and I have tried everything. It is the worst microwave I have ever owned in my entire life.

Was this review helpful? (54) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SalinaKnows
New Albany, indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
given as a gift to my elderly mother!
4/20/2014

Customer review by happypatinca

4.0 stars 4/20/2014 by happypatinca
by happypatinca

I bought this for a birthday gift for my 80 yr old mother. She is really enjoying it. She esp likes the fact that this micro is able to GRILL in it, like a bbq! What a concept and really easy to use! She loves it. If mamas happy, so am I!

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
happypatinca
Patterson, CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/22/2013

Customer review by tinyone49

3.0 stars 1/22/2013 by tinyone49
by tinyone49

Nice looking microwave that works well but is built cheaply. The handle on ours snapped at the bottom after little use. We of course tried to be resourceful snd applied super glue for a temporary fix, and then it snapped at the top of the handle. Cheap plastic that is easily broken. The rest of the microwave seems to be fine.

Was this review helpful? (39) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tinyone49
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice looking, lemon!
5/28/2014

Customer review by judanski

1.0 stars 5/28/2014 by judanski
by judanski

We purchased this oven in Aug. 2009. At first it was pretty decent. After about 6 month's, the inside white paint started peeling off, revealing an ugly rust stain. Kept using it for awhile, then the rusted area's started arching. I sanded all the rust off, and repainted. Worked OK, for maybe a year. Then the grill, started arching, for no apparent reason. Afraid to touch the cabinet, when this is happening. The newest problem, when in the cooking mode, it sound like the turntable is dragging a tow chain around, as it rotates. Not a joke. Going on 5 years, still works, but this would definately NOT pass any quality control tests.

Was this review helpful? (24) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
judanski
Upstate, N.Y.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Disappointed
5/5/2014

Customer review by friend93308

1.0 stars 5/5/2014 by friend93308
by friend93308

I bought this microwave about 6 months ago. I use it for just about everything and it has worked very well until about a month ago. Then in order to get it to register and cook we had to push the buttons hard in order to get them to work properly and now the only way to cook anything is by pressing one of the pre-programed buttons like the Popcorn one for 5 min or the Beverage one for 55 sec., etc. Being that it is over the store warranty period, I now have to go out and buy another microwave. I don't think I will buy another Emerson. I had a Sharp and it lasted me almost 15 years before it started going bad. The first microwave I had before that one was a Sharp too and it lasted me almost 20 years. The only reason I bought this one instead of another Sharp was that a friend recommended this one to me. Hers is still working good but is starting to have problems too. I don't use the grill part as often as I thought I would. I am thinking since so many people have problem with this particular microwave that maybe it is because of the grill feature that this microwave seems to have so many problems. I don't know, all I know is that for me it was a waste of good money and I won't buy another microwave with a grill in it. Even though it is a nice feature.

Was this review helpful? (18) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
friend93308
Bakersfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for the tech generation
10/10/2014

Customer review by gramscifi

5.0 stars 10/10/2014 by gramscifi
by gramscifi

I am an elderly grandmother who uses the microwave not to cook with, but to warm up food. It does what it was made for and more. It actually does grill a hot dog. I'm not sure what all the bad reviews are about but if I use the instruction book I don't have any problems and if I need more I look it up on my pc. I love my Emerson and it was well within my budget and today that is a major factor.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gramscifi
Vero Beach, Fla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
take your money, walk into the bathroom and flush
7/18/2013

Customer review by miketrd454

1.0 stars 7/18/2013 by miketrd454
by miketrd454

throughout the 7 months of owning this microwave it slowly started taking longer and longer to heat food until one day it just took 2.5 mins to heat 8oz of water. cant say that me or the wife were happy about this. it took over a month for emerson to warranty the item and on top of that you have to pay for all the shipping costs. try going a month with no microwave when you have a baby........ anyways if you want a massive nightlight for your kitchen this thing is perfect for that. if you feel the need to flush a 100 dollars on this please mail me that money because i sure could use it.

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
miketrd454
fort hood, tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sizzle and burn
3/13/2013

Customer review by ThoughtfulAmerican

1.0 stars 3/13/2013 by ThoughtfulAmerican
by ThoughtfulAmerican

I bought this model two years ago. Thought it was great at the beginning. For the last year it has been very, very loud. This week it sparked, sizzled, flashed and left the burning smell throughout my home. I was standing near so I immediately unplugged it. Double checked again today. Same experience within 3 seconds. Always kept it sparkling clean. It still looks like "new" except for the new burn mark on the inside roof. I read and followed manufacturer's instructions. Always kept food covered. Nothing ever was able to splatter on the grill unit. Will never buy another Emerson. My last microwave lasted 10 years before it died and that wasn't a painful or startling experience. Back to Kenmore for me.

Was this review helpful? (18) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ThoughtfulAmerican
Oldsmar, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
don't do it not worth it
2/27/2014

Customer review by auntienikii

1.0 stars 2/27/2014 by auntienikii
by auntienikii

From day one always made noise. It never cooked anything right, popcorn even cooked uneven. I will never buy one like this again. Lasted less then a year babied.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
auntienikii
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Keypad Goes Bad
8/8/2014

Customer review by BD99

1.0 stars 8/8/2014 by BD99
by BD99

I bought an Emerson microwave about 8 months ago. After 5 months, the key pad started going bad. Enough of the keys still work most of the time that the unit is usable, but still poor quality key pad electronics.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BD99
Washington State
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
We have 2 of them!!!
10/4/2014

Customer review by ASHOPGAL

5.0 stars 10/4/2014 by ASHOPGAL
by ASHOPGAL

This is the best microwave we have ever owned. The power is great. Almost 2 years later and it still works like new. We love it so much we bought one for each kitchen. We have nothing negative to report and we were extremely shocked when we saw some of these reviews. We are actually going to buy one today for a housewarming party we are attending today. All we can say is we are loving it...!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ASHOPGAL
bergen county nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not worth the money
11/5/2013

Customer review by Steve63

1.0 stars 11/5/2013 by Steve63
by Steve63

I had this microwave for about 6-7 months. First the clock stopped working and then I went to heat something up and it tripped the breaker. The next day I tried to heat something else and it tripped the breaker again. After the second time of tripping the breaker I unplugged it and got it out of my house.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Steve63
Havelock NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 121 total reviews
1-20 of 121 reviews