Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 46 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

46 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

46 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

48%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 stars
18
1-20 of 45 total reviews
48%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews
Great filter! I'm not sure why it has bad reviews.
9/3/2013

Customer review by MichelleB75

5.0 stars 9/3/2013 by MichelleB75
by MichelleB75

This is a great filter! A lot cheaper than the Brita filters too. I'm not sure why people are giving them a bad review. I have bought several of these and never had a problem. One person wrote a review saying it doesn't fit all the way. Well, the only thing I can think of (because I did this in the beginning) is when they placed the filter into the pitcher, they inserted it the wrong way. There is a notch that you have to line up when you put it back into the pitcher. As for it not draining all the way, I've never had that problem. Like I said, I have bought several of them. Maybe there was a defect in theirs. That happens with every product. But if you are worried about trying it, just buy the one pack filter. If you don't like it, you can always take it back. Walmart backs all their products.

Was this review helpful? (34) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MichelleB75
Northwest, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Why all the bad reviews?
5/24/2014

Customer review by Jaxonb

5.0 stars 5/24/2014 by Jaxonb
by Jaxonb

I'm so glad I decided to try these. I've used Britas for years and they are just way overpriced for simple charcoal filters. These work fine. I drink black tea in white porcelain cups, and if the water filter stops filtering, the tea starts staining the cups - its that simple. These last as long as the Britas before this happens, about the specified 40 gallons, even here where we have lots of calcium in our water. There is one problem. These filters have a tendency to airlock when first installed, even when properly prepped. This has caused a lot of bad reviews as the water filters very slowly when this occurs. The simple solution to this is to fill the upper reservoir over the top of the filter, then simply use a spoon to tap on the top of the filter to release the locked air. Bubbles will come shooting out. After that, the filter flows as well as the Brita filter without having to tap again.

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jaxonb
Silver City, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Poor flow, takes over an hour to fill pitcher
3/24/2013

Customer review by AZdaughter

1.0 stars 3/24/2013 by AZdaughter
by AZdaughter

The price is right @ $3.33 per filter vs $4.75-$5.00 for the name brand "BRITA". However the Great Value brand is a poor performer. I bought a 3 pack on Friday 3/22/13 and within a few hours I had already given up on the first filter and opened another. The 2nd one does filter the water thru but as stated it takes about an hour. So for $10 I have one filter that is totally defective and one that takes at least an hour to perform a 4-5 minute task. Not worth it, I'm going back to BRITA.

Was this review helpful? (21) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AZdaughter
El Mirage, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Takes FOREVER for water to filter through
3/29/2013

Customer review by LindaleShopper

1.0 stars 3/29/2013 by LindaleShopper
by LindaleShopper

After using the Brita brand filters for years, I decided to try the Great Value version to save a few bucks. It's true that Brita filter seem to get "stopped up" a bit once in a while and the water flow slows down, but these can be counted on to filter your water VERY VERY SLOOOOOOW!!! They do give the water a cleaner taste, but no more so than the Brita filters do, but they basically don't let the water pass through, and almost immediately after installing a new filter each time!! I did follow the proper preparation instructions for using the filters, and each of the three filters in the three-pack have behaved exactly the same. SLOW WATER FILTRATION! And by slow, I mean that you will want to pull your hair out while you sit and wish you had some fresh filtered water to drink, since you've already finished off what's left in your pitcher or reservoir while you wait for the water to take OVER AN HOUR to filter through. I will never buy these again!! Using the Brita filters is worth the extra $3 to avoid the frustration.

Was this review helpful? (22) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LindaleShopper
Lindale, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value Pitcher Filters
3/1/2013

Customer review by BrotherDonald

4.0 stars 3/1/2013 by BrotherDonald
by BrotherDonald

The Great Value Pitcher Filters are good enough for me. They make drinking water that tastes as good as the more expensive Brita filters. The only drawback is that the upper reservoir in my pitcher does not empty all the way when the water filters. A tiny little bit of unfiltered water remains in the upper reservoir when filtering is completed. It does not seem to mix with the filtered water when pouring. The other disadvantage is that my local Walmart does not carry these filters and they are not available for purchase online. I had to order them for in store pickup. I ordered them on line and they were delivered to my local Walmart and I picked them up there and did not have to pay any shipping charges.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BrotherDonald
Urbana, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
poor filter
4/1/2014

Customer review by nickisnotmyrealname

1.0 stars 4/1/2014 by nickisnotmyrealname
by nickisnotmyrealname

I live on a farm and have very hard water. I normally use a Brita water filter pitcher to remove the rust from the water, and the brita filters have always worked well for this. I purchased the Great Value filters because they were cheaper than the Brita and I hoped they would work just as well. They don't. They cannot fully remove the rust from the water. After one pass through the filter, the water is still yellow. I must send the water through the filter a second time to fully remove the rust.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nickisnotmyrealname
minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does not fit Brita Color Series, 10-cup pitcher.
5/1/2013

Customer review by User9862547

1.0 stars 5/1/2013 by User9862547
by User9862547

Simply stated does not fit Brita Color Series, 10-cup pitcher. Would be a great value if they did!

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
User9862547
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Agree w/ Other Reviews
4/29/2013

Customer review by AllTheGoodNamesAreGone200

1.0 stars 4/29/2013 by AllTheGoodNamesAreGone200
by AllTheGoodNamesAreGone200

I wish I would have read the on-line reviews before I picked up these water filters in my local Wal Mart. I needed replacement filters for my brita pitcher and did not even know a generic alternative existed. I figured the price was right so I'd give them a try. As most of the other reviewers have noted, the water takes an awfully long time to go from the reservoir in the lid down into the pitcher itself. Another issue I had was that the first filter I opened was actually coming apart... the top plastic portion was unsnapped from the bottom, allowing the filter contents to spill out into the package. I was able to snap it back together, but that should have been my first hint that the quality was sub-par. Will not buy these again... cheaper is not always better!

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AllTheGoodNamesAreGone200
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Quit working in less than a week!
4/15/2013

Customer review by Cheddarcat

1.0 stars 4/15/2013 by Cheddarcat
by Cheddarcat

"40 Gallon Filter Life (Up to 2 Months)" is a joke. Great Value replacement filtered less than 2 gallons before it plugged up and quit. Purchased only because Brita filter was not in stock, but no surprise, they are hard to find at Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cheddarcat
Forest Park, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
No difference! Great price
3/24/2014

Customer review by bwebbnyc

5.0 stars 3/24/2014 by bwebbnyc
by bwebbnyc

I was not sure if the filter would work after reading the reviews. Walmart has always done a great job at returns I thought I would try it. I saw absolutely no difference in the product compared to Britta.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bwebbnyc
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Significantly cheaper than Brita, they seem to wor
4/29/2013

Customer review by imsnowbear

5.0 stars 4/29/2013 by imsnowbear
by imsnowbear

Significantly cheaper than Brita, they seem to work just as well.They remove water hardness elements better than Brita. Initially the water does run slow, but this improves as the filter is used.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
imsnowbear
Iron Mt., Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good basic filter
2/13/2013

Customer review by idau85

4.0 stars 2/13/2013 by idau85
by idau85

This filter fits both Pur and Britta. I own the Pur pitcher. It's not a perfect match, it's shorter than the Pur filters, but it works. The filter said it's suppose to last 2 months. The package does not come with stickers, so you will have to track when to change the filter on your own. It's a great deal! just make sure to plan ahead because the stores do not carry this. It's an online product for my area.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
idau85
Bloomington, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Has a design flaw
5/12/2013

Customer review by derekmski

1.0 stars 5/12/2013 by derekmski
by derekmski

I was excited to try these out because they were much cheaper than the Brita water filters but after having them I can see why. These have a design flaw in them that causes the water to not drain all the way from the top reservoir. If it was just a little amount it would be no big deal but there is always a good inch of water left on top and it does mix with the filtered water when pouring so this flaw makes them dead in the water from the start. As far as the water taste, it seems to make the water taste better but it's hard to say with the unfiltered water mixing in with the filtered. I wish these worked like the Brita one because it would save money, but they don't and that's why I returned them and got a Brita filter which never disappoints.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
derekmski
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
4/14/2013

Customer review by mae53

1.0 stars 4/14/2013 by mae53
by mae53

these filters do not let the water go through in a timely manner, then some never goes all the way through. I do not like them and will not purchase again.

Was this review helpful? (9) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mae53
Houston, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor water flow
2/3/2013

Customer review by buzmac

2.0 stars 2/3/2013 by buzmac
by buzmac

These were so economical that I had to give them a try. I am still on my first of 3 filters. They seem to filter out the bad stuff and the water tastes fine. However, the water takes FOREVER to filter through. Perhaps I received a bad one, but it is very annoying. It seems to help to have the water as full as possible to help it trickle through. I can fill it to the brim at night before going to bed and in the morning it has barely gone down. So although these are much cheaper than the "brand" name, I won't purchase again.

Was this review helpful? (7) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
buzmac
Deptford, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not a great value
12/17/2013

Customer review by ThankYew

1.0 stars 12/17/2013 by ThankYew
by ThankYew

Do not buy these filters. I bought the Great Value 6 pitcher filters in the store thinking I was being smart. Guess what? NOT IN THIS CASE!! These filters are smaller than the original Brita filters. Also, I noticed today that after adding water to the pitcher that there was a haze of debri in the water; I've been using it for several weeks now. Ewwwww! Pay the extra bucks and buy the original Brita filters. There is NO VALUE HERE!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ThankYew
Allen, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Filter
6/23/2013

Customer review by JayInTexas

5.0 stars 6/23/2013 by JayInTexas
by JayInTexas

Works great in my Brita picture and costs a lot less.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JayInTexas
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
They are fine and worth it
1/27/2015

Customer review by Lakawak

4.0 stars 1/27/2015 by Lakawak
by Lakawak

I really don't get the negative reviews about how long it takes the water to filter through. Common sense should tell you that you DON'T WANT the water to get through fast. It would mean it wasn't being filtered. Granted, this doesn't mean that the longer it takes the better it is filtered but it certainly it not a bad thing. You are supposed to keep the pitcher filled anyway, so I don't see a problem with it taking awhile unless you tend to drink several glasses of water in a row. Pour a glass...refill it..stick it back in the fridge while it filters, and when you go to pour a new glass, it will be ready. As far as the quality of the filtering is concerned, I have never noticed any difference between it and the actual Brita. Now, I live in a city where the water isn't terrible to begin with, so I can't say what it is like for people with bad water. But if your water is coming out yellow, you need to fix it at the source, not put a Brita band aid on it. Personally, I think for most water in cities, the main effect of the filter is psychological. You know it is filtered so you think you can taste the difference. Plus, people put the filtered water in the refrigerator which makes it colder than straight out of the tap. This will also make it seem to taste better. So, with that in mind, why not pay almost 50% less?

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lakawak
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
doesn't make water taste better
3/25/2013

Customer review by vikrantislav

2.0 stars 3/25/2013 by vikrantislav
by vikrantislav

No significant difference in the taste of water when using these. The first couple times using, the water does filter very slow as another review noted. After that though, it seems to go thru faster than Brita brand filters. But the taste of water is not improved by using these when compared to Brita brand filters. I cannot recommend these.

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vikrantislav
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Terrible!!!
3/3/2014

Customer review by AbiGirl14

1.0 stars 3/3/2014 by AbiGirl14
by AbiGirl14

I wish I could give this zero stars I would!!! I had to throw away 2 because they wouldnt drain water through at all. The rest of them drain so slow like up to an hour and once its through the water tastes weird. DO NOT BUY THESE!!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AbiGirl14
Roseville,Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews