Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 58 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

58 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

58 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

45%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
19
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 stars
26
1-20 of 57 total reviews
45%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 57 total reviews
1-20 of 57 reviews
Why all the bad reviews?
5/24/2014

Customer review by Jaxonb

5.0 stars 5/24/2014 by Jaxonb
by Jaxonb

I'm so glad I decided to try these. I've used Britas for years and they are just way overpriced for simple charcoal filters. These work fine. I drink black tea in white porcelain cups, and if the water filter stops filtering, the tea starts staining the cups - its that simple. These last as long as the Britas before this happens, about the specified 40 gallons, even here where we have lots of calcium in our water. There is one problem. These filters have a tendency to airlock when first installed, even when properly prepped. This has caused a lot of bad reviews as the water filters very slowly when this occurs. The simple solution to this is to fill the upper reservoir over the top of the filter, then simply use a spoon to tap on the top of the filter to release the locked air. Bubbles will come shooting out. After that, the filter flows as well as the Brita filter without having to tap again.

Was this review helpful? (63) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jaxonb
Silver City, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
TDS
5/27/2016

Customer review by paul

1.0 stars 5/27/2016 by paul
by paul

if you use a TDS tester to test the water you will find that there is practically no difference between your tap water and water going through these filters, I to like everyone else wants to save money, but if my tap water is 180 TDS and water going these filters is 175 I don't see any benefit to using them whatsoever. I guess if you get a reading of over 250 or 300 from your tap and the reading on these filters is 175 then I guess it would be acceptable. I haven't checked BRITA's filters yet, but I plan on it. I did buy Walmart's great value spring water in the gallon jug and was shocked to also get a higher reading of 187 TDS, what a rip off. and just so you know it's not my tester, I tested Aquafina's water and got a reading of 7, that's nice. I also tested my other bobba's filter and get reading around 137 which is much better that GV's.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
paul
Would recommend to a friend? No
Takes FOREVER for water to filter through
3/29/2013

Customer review by LindaleShopper

1.0 stars 3/29/2013 by LindaleShopper
by LindaleShopper

After using the Brita brand filters for years, I decided to try the Great Value version to save a few bucks. It's true that Brita filter seem to get "stopped up" a bit once in a while and the water flow slows down, but these can be counted on to filter your water VERY VERY SLOOOOOOW!!! They do give the water a cleaner taste, but no more so than the Brita filters do, but they basically don't let the water pass through, and almost immediately after installing a new filter each time!! I did follow the proper preparation instructions for using the filters, and each of the three filters in the three-pack have behaved exactly the same. SLOW WATER FILTRATION! And by slow, I mean that you will want to pull your hair out while you sit and wish you had some fresh filtered water to drink, since you've already finished off what's left in your pitcher or reservoir while you wait for the water to take OVER AN HOUR to filter through. I will never buy these again!! Using the Brita filters is worth the extra $3 to avoid the frustration.

Was this review helpful? (30) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LindaleShopper
Lindale, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great filter! I'm not sure why it has bad reviews.
9/3/2013

Customer review by MichelleB75

5.0 stars 9/3/2013 by MichelleB75
by MichelleB75

This is a great filter! A lot cheaper than the Brita filters too. I'm not sure why people are giving them a bad review. I have bought several of these and never had a problem. One person wrote a review saying it doesn't fit all the way. Well, the only thing I can think of (because I did this in the beginning) is when they placed the filter into the pitcher, they inserted it the wrong way. There is a notch that you have to line up when you put it back into the pitcher. As for it not draining all the way, I've never had that problem. Like I said, I have bought several of them. Maybe there was a defect in theirs. That happens with every product. But if you are worried about trying it, just buy the one pack filter. If you don't like it, you can always take it back. Walmart backs all their products.

Was this review helpful? (49) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MichelleB75
Northwest, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Agree w/ Other Reviews
4/29/2013

Customer review by AllTheGoodNamesAreGone200

1.0 stars 4/29/2013 by AllTheGoodNamesAreGone200
by AllTheGoodNamesAreGone200

I wish I would have read the on-line reviews before I picked up these water filters in my local Wal Mart. I needed replacement filters for my brita pitcher and did not even know a generic alternative existed. I figured the price was right so I'd give them a try. As most of the other reviewers have noted, the water takes an awfully long time to go from the reservoir in the lid down into the pitcher itself. Another issue I had was that the first filter I opened was actually coming apart... the top plastic portion was unsnapped from the bottom, allowing the filter contents to spill out into the package. I was able to snap it back together, but that should have been my first hint that the quality was sub-par. Will not buy these again... cheaper is not always better!

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AllTheGoodNamesAreGone200
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value Pitcher Filters
3/1/2013

Customer review by BrotherDonald

4.0 stars 3/1/2013 by BrotherDonald
by BrotherDonald
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Great Value Pitcher Filters are good enough for me. They make drinking water that tastes as good as the more expensive Brita filters. The only drawback is that the upper reservoir in my pitcher does not empty all the way when the water filters. A tiny little bit of unfiltered water remains in the upper reservoir when filtering is completed. It does not seem to mix with the filtered water when pouring. The other disadvantage is that my local Walmart does not carry these filters and they are not available for purchase online. I had to order them for in store pickup. I ordered them on line and they were delivered to my local Walmart and I picked them up there and did not have to pay any shipping charges.

Was this review helpful? (22) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BrotherDonald
Urbana, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No difference! Great price
3/24/2014

Customer review by bwebbnyc

5.0 stars 3/24/2014 by bwebbnyc
by bwebbnyc
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was not sure if the filter would work after reading the reviews. Walmart has always done a great job at returns I thought I would try it. I saw absolutely no difference in the product compared to Britta.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bwebbnyc
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Please improve or change manufacture
7/3/2015

Customer review by Dan1

1.0 stars 7/3/2015 by Dan1
by Dan1

Walmart - Most 'Great Value' products I have purchased have been nothing but high quality, with the exception of this one. I recommend that you ask the manufacturer to either improve it, or just change manufacturer. Here is what I've experience with this product: - The water taste different, almost like if it is not being filtered, compared to the Brita filters. - It would clog. Sometimes I have had to change the filter earlier than it should have been changed because after a few weeks of use the water would no longer go down. The filter was just not filtering. It supposed to last up to 2 months (according to the box), but it would last about 3 weeks. There is no point for me to buy these cheaper filters, if I have to change them more often the Brita filter. I will be spending less with Brita, if that is the case. I do not recommend these.

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dan1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Has a design flaw
5/12/2013

Customer review by derekmski

1.0 stars 5/12/2013 by derekmski
by derekmski
Top 250 contributor

I was excited to try these out because they were much cheaper than the Brita water filters but after having them I can see why. These have a design flaw in them that causes the water to not drain all the way from the top reservoir. If it was just a little amount it would be no big deal but there is always a good inch of water left on top and it does mix with the filtered water when pouring so this flaw makes them dead in the water from the start. As far as the water taste, it seems to make the water taste better but it's hard to say with the unfiltered water mixing in with the filtered. I wish these worked like the Brita one because it would save money, but they don't and that's why I returned them and got a Brita filter which never disappoints.

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
derekmski
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
Poor flow, takes over an hour to fill pitcher
3/24/2013

Customer review by AZdaughter

1.0 stars 3/24/2013 by AZdaughter
by AZdaughter

The price is right @ $3.33 per filter vs $4.75-$5.00 for the name brand "BRITA". However the Great Value brand is a poor performer. I bought a 3 pack on Friday 3/22/13 and within a few hours I had already given up on the first filter and opened another. The 2nd one does filter the water thru but as stated it takes about an hour. So for $10 I have one filter that is totally defective and one that takes at least an hour to perform a 4-5 minute task. Not worth it, I'm going back to BRITA.

Was this review helpful? (25) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AZdaughter
El Mirage, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
They are fine and worth it
1/27/2015

Customer review by Lakawak

4.0 stars 1/27/2015 by Lakawak
by Lakawak

I really don't get the negative reviews about how long it takes the water to filter through. Common sense should tell you that you DON'T WANT the water to get through fast. It would mean it wasn't being filtered. Granted, this doesn't mean that the longer it takes the better it is filtered but it certainly it not a bad thing. You are supposed to keep the pitcher filled anyway, so I don't see a problem with it taking awhile unless you tend to drink several glasses of water in a row. Pour a glass...refill it..stick it back in the fridge while it filters, and when you go to pour a new glass, it will be ready. As far as the quality of the filtering is concerned, I have never noticed any difference between it and the actual Brita. Now, I live in a city where the water isn't terrible to begin with, so I can't say what it is like for people with bad water. But if your water is coming out yellow, you need to fix it at the source, not put a Brita band aid on it. Personally, I think for most water in cities, the main effect of the filter is psychological. You know it is filtered so you think you can taste the difference. Plus, people put the filtered water in the refrigerator which makes it colder than straight out of the tap. This will also make it seem to taste better. So, with that in mind, why not pay almost 50% less?

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lakawak
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
poor filter
4/1/2014

Customer review by nickisnotmyrealname

1.0 stars 4/1/2014 by nickisnotmyrealname
by nickisnotmyrealname

I live on a farm and have very hard water. I normally use a Brita water filter pitcher to remove the rust from the water, and the brita filters have always worked well for this. I purchased the Great Value filters because they were cheaper than the Brita and I hoped they would work just as well. They don't. They cannot fully remove the rust from the water. After one pass through the filter, the water is still yellow. I must send the water through the filter a second time to fully remove the rust.

Was this review helpful? (16) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nickisnotmyrealname
minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good basic filter
2/13/2013

Customer review by idau85

4.0 stars 2/13/2013 by idau85
by idau85

This filter fits both Pur and Britta. I own the Pur pitcher. It's not a perfect match, it's shorter than the Pur filters, but it works. The filter said it's suppose to last 2 months. The package does not come with stickers, so you will have to track when to change the filter on your own. It's a great deal! just make sure to plan ahead because the stores do not carry this. It's an online product for my area.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
idau85
Bloomington, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Filter
6/23/2013

Customer review by JayInTexas

5.0 stars 6/23/2013 by JayInTexas
by JayInTexas
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works great in my Brita picture and costs a lot less.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JayInTexas
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
they taste like melted plastic do not buy
8/11/2014

Customer review by mellove85

1.0 stars 8/11/2014 by mellove85
by mellove85

Honestly I bought these because they were cheaper than the Brita filters and I've used them before and never had a problem but this time they tasted a little off like melted plastic I thought it was because I'm pregnant and maybe my taste buds are alittle off but after I read the reviews I realize it's not just me they do take bad I suggest spending a little extra money on name brand and buy them. this is my second filter I thought the first one went bad but no they both taste bad

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mellove85
ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great value water filters
1/31/2016

Customer review by riptide

1.0 stars 1/31/2016 by riptide
by riptide

after trying these, I found theses are the worst of the worst. even after soaking them for a half hour they stop filtering. like there clogged up. they are thee worst filters I have have ever used.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
riptide
Would recommend to a friend? No
These are GREAT filters at a GREAT price!
11/19/2015

Customer review by NeeceeMT

5.0 stars 11/19/2015 by NeeceeMT
by NeeceeMT

I'm shocked at the bad reviews. I've been using this replacement filter in my Brita Pitcher for a couple of years now. Why would anyone pay more for the name brand? I think it's all in their head! GREAT buy for a GREAT product! Thanks, Wal-Mart!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NeeceeMT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Filter ...Not !
1/31/2016

Customer review by Lambert5050

1.0 stars 1/31/2016 by Lambert5050
by Lambert5050

What a joke don't buy this junk save your money !

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lambert5050
Would recommend to a friend? No
Poor water flow
2/3/2013

Customer review by buzmac

2.0 stars 2/3/2013 by buzmac
by buzmac
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

These were so economical that I had to give them a try. I am still on my first of 3 filters. They seem to filter out the bad stuff and the water tastes fine. However, the water takes FOREVER to filter through. Perhaps I received a bad one, but it is very annoying. It seems to help to have the water as full as possible to help it trickle through. I can fill it to the brim at night before going to bed and in the morning it has barely gone down. So although these are much cheaper than the "brand" name, I won't purchase again.

Was this review helpful? (11) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
buzmac
Deptford, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quit working in less than a week!
4/15/2013

Customer review by Cheddarcat

1.0 stars 4/15/2013 by Cheddarcat
by Cheddarcat

"40 Gallon Filter Life (Up to 2 Months)" is a joke. Great Value replacement filtered less than 2 gallons before it plugged up and quit. Purchased only because Brita filter was not in stock, but no surprise, they are hard to find at Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (11) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cheddarcat
Forest Park, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 57 total reviews
1-20 of 57 reviews