Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 98 reviews | 2 out of 5

2.0 stars

98 reviews | 2 out of 5

2.0 stars

98 reviews | 2 out of 5

27%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
15
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 stars
61
1-20 of 97 total reviews
27%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 97 total reviews
1-20 of 97 reviews
My phone works!`
9/1/2013

Customer review by Byzalot

4.0 stars 9/1/2013 by Byzalot
by Byzalot

I know that others... eight pages of them... have said that the ring on text doesn't work, but mine does!! I have a feeling that they've fixed the problem. My local store just got a new shipment of these so I decided to try it. I figured it the ring on text didn't work I wasn't all that concerned. Much to my surprise it works perfectly! I love all the features of this phone. I was worried that the buttons would be too small on the keypad, and that I'd have trouble getting used to the numbers being mixed in with the letters, but so far it hasn't been an issue. The way the buttons are positioned I've actually had better luck than I did with my last phone. I am so glad I switched to Straight Talk, too. Several friends and family recommended it and I am also a satisfied customer. With Verizon cell tower access, why pay 3 times as much for a plan. I would recommend this phone if you aren't interested in a smart phone, this is the one for you!!

Was this review helpful? (40) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Byzalot
Auburn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great basic phone
7/24/2014

Customer review by Hokie296

4.0 stars 7/24/2014 by Hokie296
by Hokie296

This little phone works great. The text messages do alert but you have to turn the alert on. Everything works as a basic talk and text phone. Don't expect it to work as a smartphone. It is not. Text app takes some getting used to but works fine. Those of you complaining of only 160 char texts....it's a CDMA phone. That's how all CDMA carriers work. The mp3 player works fine. You can set all things to be stored on the SD card. Also if you format the card in the phone I've found a 32gb card will work well. People give this phone a bad review but you have to take time to learn the phone and not expecting miracles from a $10 phone. It's a good phone for talking and texting. That's pretty much it. You want more shell out some money. Straight talk works great for me. Def saves me so much money. Yeah i gave up a galaxy note 3 for this but times are tough. Work is scarce. If you just need the basics this is quite a bargain.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hokie296
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/28/2013

Customer review by rliz2012

3.0 stars 1/28/2013 by rliz2012
by rliz2012

I was looking for a phone that runs off of a Verizon tower so I purchased this phone a few days ago. The service is good. I use the 30 dollar plan. It's a very basic phone- easy to figure out for the most part. However, the buttons are small so it can be difficult to text with, and that's mostly what I use my phone for. Also, I can't figure out how to make the phone beep or make a noise when I get a text! I changed the options, but it just won't work. That was a disappointment because I like to know when I get a text. If you want a phone that looks similar to a blackberry, and is a lot cheaper, I'd recommend this one. Or if you're looking for something that's basic and affordable. For me personally, I'm fine with the phone but I don't think I'd buy another one.

Was this review helpful? (53) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rliz2012
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE
1/30/2013

Customer review by cellphonefreak

1.0 stars 1/30/2013 by cellphonefreak
by cellphonefreak

DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE! I love the phone but it has a defect that is in a bunch of the phones of this model. It won't make the ding sound when you get any kind of message--all it will do is the message indicator appears on the screen but no sound. I know how to do all the settings for the phone. If you aren't looking at the phone you won't know if you get a message. I have tried 2 of these phones and it is the same problem. Straight Talk customer service says they have had other calls about this problem. Samsung is no help--they just refer you back to straight talk So now I have to get some other model cause I have to know when I get a text for my work.

Was this review helpful? (74) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cellphonefreak
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
You do not know when a text message comes in!!!
2/3/2013

Customer review by 1793

1.0 stars 2/3/2013 by 1793
by 1793

This phone is not in anyway as good as the previous phone that it took the place of....Ringer is not as loud....Sound quality is still good....Verizon service is great in my area, BUT as everyone else has said you have no way of hearing when someone sends you a message....I have tried all the settings and it just will not signal me with a sound that indicates I have received a message!!! Taking this phone back to Wal-Mart tomorrow....I wonder sometimes how products like this get released without even being tested first....I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PHONE FOR ANYONE WHO DEPENDS ON HEARING a signal WHEN THEY RECEIVE A TEXT!

Was this review helpful? (101) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1793
Camden, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Same Problems as Everyone Else
2/3/2013

Customer review by WeiserStar

2.0 stars 2/3/2013 by WeiserStar
by WeiserStar

I just returned two of these phones that I purchased @ a week ago. Same problem with one of them - that being no sound file activated when tm's were received. That was the only issue with THAT one... The OTHER one (my phone) had problems from DAY ONE. First it wouldn't register the "Service Days left." Two days and several hours of calling ST Tech Support, THAT finally got fixed. The next day, I tried to make a call, and it told me "You don't have enough money on your account." I had just re-up'd 3 days before...... After TWO MORE days of talking to Tech Support and entering LITERALLY about 50 different 'codes' given by TS, it STILL wouldn't work. Online, it showed my account active and in good standing. Disappointed, because we both really liked the phones compared to our almost identical, (but smaller buttons) 355C's. We've gone back to those until we can find a reasonably priced, NON touch screen, NON 'smartphone.' We just want a good, decent, INEXPENSIVE & REGULAR phone to CALL and occasionally text with...... All the other "bells & whistles" are of no use to us. Samsung needs to recall ALL of this model, get into the guts of it and do some MAJOR fixing!! Summary: Buy this one if A) you're a gambler or B)you like to be FRUSTRATED!! :-)

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WeiserStar
Weiser, ID
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Good Basic Phone
11/1/2013

Customer review by SDW1031

4.0 stars 11/1/2013 by SDW1031
by SDW1031

I needed a basic phone for simply talking and texting as I have a smart phone with another line for email, web, etc. This Samsung S380C from Straight Talk fits the bill quite well. I had read lots of reviews about many different phones everywhere and decided on this one as the notification feature had been corrected and there are notifications which may be set for voice and text (which have several different tones/sounds for each). The only aspect I was concerned about was texting with the keyboard. I am happy to say that I actually do better on this S380C than on my smart phone virtual keyboard (i.e., less mistakes). The sound quality for talking has been excellent and I am solidly at 5 bars almost all of the time. Battery life is strong, lasting several days with fairly constant use. The hands-free speaker works as well as other phones I have owned, sometimes a little “fuzzy,” but I can live with that as I have with the others. There is a keypad lock so you won’t accidently call or message the world unknowingly. It can hold up to 1,000 contacts holding up to 4 numbers each, as well as email addresses and provides nine one-touch quick call keys for your most called numbers. And, it was fairly easy to set up. Porting my old number only took about three hours. Again, keep in mind, I bought this for talk and text only, not for photos or surfing the web, as I have other gear and devices for those activities. If all you need is talk and text phone, this is a solid choice at a good price point.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SDW1031
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Do not purchase this phone!
2/5/2013

Customer review by fancythat123

1.0 stars 2/5/2013 by fancythat123
by fancythat123

You will not receive any type of alert tone when you receive a text message. Also, for some reason the phone "locks" all on its own. I am on my second phone, same problem. It will be returned as soon as the one I ordered comes in (different model.) I made the mistake of exchanging the phone at Walmart and they deactivated the returned phone. When trying to transfer to the exchanged phone, it could not be completed because of the deactivaction. Spent over an hour with two different Straight Talk techs before I could get my phone # reactivated. Same yourself some time and frustration - buy another model.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fancythat123
Canton OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great litte phone
4/16/2014

Customer review by TRELLA09

3.0 stars 4/16/2014 by TRELLA09
by TRELLA09
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

AS YOU KNOW THIS WAS MY 2ND PHONE I HAVE BOUGHT FROM YOU THE PHONE WITH STRAIGHT TALK AS YOU RECOMENDED DOSENT PICK UP HERE THE PHONE IS GREAT BUT I GET NO SERVICE UP HERE .MY FIRST PHONE I PHONE WAS A GOOD PHONE I PAID FOR IT IN OCT. I THINK. GOT NO SERVICE EITHER YOU GUYES RECOMENDED THESE PHONE . I HAVE SENT THE PHONE BACK BY MY FRIEND DONT KNOW IF SHE HAS MADE IT THERE WITH IT YET. SO I STILL HAVE NO PHONE AND LOT TO GET TO USE THEM. THE PHONE I GOT WAS A NICE PHONE BUT IT GETS NO SERVICE WHERE I LIVE . I THINK I AM JUST WASTING MONEY . I AM ON A FIXED INCOME AND THE MONEY I SPEND FOR AIR TIME AND SO FORTH IS A WAST . SO I THINK I WILL HAVE TO TRY AN AT&T LOW PRICED PHONE. NO CONTRACT PHONE SENCE I AM HAVEING SO MUCH TROUBLE , ITS THE TRUTH I THINK YOU SHOULD GIVE ME A BIG DISCOUNT ON ONE THATS PICKS UP REALLY GOOD . REMBER YOUR COMPANY SAID THESE PHONES WOULD GET GOOD SERVICE OUT. SO I STILL NEED SOME HELP BUT THE PHONE WORKS GREAT IT JUST DONT GET SERVICE OUT WHERE I LIVE. HAVE A BLESSED EVENING

Was this review helpful? (2) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TRELLA09
ellijay, ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Phone does not tex well
1/28/2013

Customer review by liltizina

1.0 stars 1/28/2013 by liltizina
by liltizina

I loved this phone as soon as I got it but relized I was getting tex messages and no alerts that I received them. Was on with straight talk tech support and it took 2 hours to relize it doesn't work.. duhh I knew that!!! So I returned it and got another one and guess what?!?! Same thing happened. Returning it and not buying another one!!!

Was this review helpful? (37) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
liltizina
Pottsville
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
No Message Alerts for texts via this phone AT ALL!
3/2/2013

Customer review by 1nsaniac

1.0 stars 3/2/2013 by 1nsaniac
by 1nsaniac

Tried everything with Straight Talk Techs to no avail! Do NOT buy this phone buy the alternate one: Samsung R375C ! STAY AWAY... NO Fix Available!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1nsaniac
Great Falls, MT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
4/17/2013

Customer review by Eskimo4

1.0 stars 4/17/2013 by Eskimo4
by Eskimo4

I purchased this phone and it would not activate or give me a phone number. I spent 2 days on and off with customer service people trying to help me activate this phone. I finally got a phone number from the phone and it still would not activate. One of the days I spent 2 hours on the phone with a customer service person. They had me enter all sorts of codes into the phone, take the battery out and keep replacing it. They tried everything. Finally they said they could not help me any further and to exchange the phone. I said if I exchange it, won't the same phone not work for me. They told me it was just that phone. Now after 2 days I have to go return the phone. Most horrible experience I have ever had with a phone or phone company.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eskimo4
Chepachet RI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Not good
3/18/2013

Customer review by TOOTS151

1.0 stars 3/18/2013 by TOOTS151
by TOOTS151

I bought this phone on Friday and took it back on saturday as I got no alert for texts. I got another one of the same kind so I could keep the same number and not lose my minutes. Well same thing happened.... no alert. I am on my third phone and they all have the same problem...no alerts for text messages. So I am going to either go with another company or buya pay as you go tracfone. This is absurd...why are they still on the market?

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TOOTS151
whitewater WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not a good choice
3/19/2013

Customer review by galivant2

1.0 stars 3/19/2013 by galivant2
by galivant2

Just bought this phone yesterday. After having major problems transferring service ( no one at Straight Talk speaks clear English) it finally works. Browser won't open. I just get a error message. Ringer is not loud enough. Can't send a text, I get a error message. It is going back to Walmart tomorrow. It's been a major frustration dealing with Straight Talk and trying to get a phone that will work.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
galivant2
Statesville,NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
TEXT ALERTS tones don't work
3/29/2013

Customer review by littlepappy

3.0 stars 3/29/2013 by littlepappy
by littlepappy

Straight for Company. Some phone opinions will not work. Even it the phone as that setting it will not work. I am a broke College student, I paid $110 for the phone and the Service $45. I recommend the service plans. If I knew it before buying this brought I would have bought a different phone that would have Text alerts. You just have to keep on checking your phone to see if you get a text.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
littlepappy
Curtice, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
message alerts wont work
2/15/2013

Customer review by YASHUAfreek

1.0 stars 2/15/2013 by YASHUAfreek
by YASHUAfreek

this phone will not alert you when you get a text or voicemail. i was told by tec support that it is not made to. wow that was a new one on me. i then talked him through setting a msg alert tone on the phone and a vol level setting for alerts, he still says the same thing. now they have to ship me a new sim card for my old phone wich will take 3-5 days. you have 15 days to to get a refund from walmart. now that leaves me 1 day to get a refund, and 2-5 days that i will be without a phone untill the new sim card comes in the mail. all this took 2.5 hours on the phone. can we say not happy with the service?!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YASHUAfreek
phenix city, AL.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I like it!
2/21/2013

Customer review by the5thelement

5.0 stars 2/21/2013 by the5thelement
by the5thelement

I spent a lot of time comparing phones before I decided to buy this one. I was worried about the keyboard being small, but it turns out I can fly while texting. I've downloaded text message sounds and ringtones and everything works. If you take a lot of photos this isn't the phone for you, very low rez. I went with the $30 plan which is a great deal for my budget and my needs. I'm not a high tech gal. I don't have a land line, this is my everyday communication with the world. I'm sorry the text message sounds don't work for the other people, guess I lucked out.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
the5thelement
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/1/2013

Customer review by geomind

1.0 stars 3/1/2013 by geomind
by geomind

I am so dissapointed i love this phone but they all have the same problem and walmart knows about it! you get no sound for texts. They should have contacted samsung and had them pulled instead they keep selling them so wrong to consumer, very upset.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
geomind
st clair, pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
4/6/2013

Customer review by Kidminister

1.0 stars 4/6/2013 by Kidminister
by Kidminister

DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE!!! This phone will not notify you by sound when you have a text message or voicemail. You have to actually look at your phone a million times a day to see if you have a text or a voicemail. Dumbest thing I ever saw!!!! Here is what straight talk responded when I emailed them about this problem: Thank you for your interest in Straight Talk Wireless. We are responding to your recent inquiry. We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with this issue. Please be informed that this phone does not have audio notification alerts for voicemail, SMS and MMS. Adjusting the volume settings will not correct this. USELESS PHONE!!!! So frustrated with it. WASTE of your TIME and MONEY!!!! :-(

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kidminister
Beeville, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Disappointed
8/24/2014

Customer review by hugs78

2.0 stars 8/24/2014 by hugs78
by hugs78

I never get any text alert sounds,regardless what tone I choose for my texts. Those who get their texts to work with sound are very lucky. I had went past the return period when I got my first text,so I lost out on getting a refund. The volume on it overall is pretty good. There wasn't a large selection of ringtones.The ringtones that came with it,I didn't care for personally.I didn't want to have to payout for a ringtone,especially when my cell doesn't get text alert sounds. I tried getting on the internet to google but it said not enough memory,so it wouldn't let me do the search I wanted. I don't like how you have to "unlock" it first to get the keypad/qwerty area to light up at all,especially if in a dimmer setting environment. I liked my Samsung R355C better but it started having issues receiving calls after a good few years of service.At least it worked as it was supposed to for a cell phone.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hugs78
Indiana,USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
1-20 of 97 total reviews
1-20 of 97 reviews