Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 219 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

219 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

219 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
86
4 stars
53
3 stars
11
2 stars
24
1 stars
45
1-20 of 188 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 188 total reviews
1-20 of 188 reviews
Nice Little Smart Phone For The Price
1/26/2013

Customer review by Cool23Girl

5.0 stars 1/26/2013 by Cool23Girl
by Cool23Girl
Top 1000 contributor

I have a Verizon Galaxy SIII but right now it's suspended because my money didn't come in earley enough to pay the bill so right now it's cut off so I need something until I get my big smart phone on. I went to walmart yesterday looking at all the cellphones thinking witch one I would like I had boost mobile so many times that I was getting tired of it and i've had at&t allot of times their service was just not that good anymore so I can across the Optimus Dynamic Straight Talk Phone and to me it looked cheap like the other slow straight talk touch phones where everytime you slide the screen it would slide really slow not fast. So when my uncle bought me this cellphone I opened it activated it and wow it was just like my Galaxy SIII with the same setting and features and everyhting but in a little verison cellphone the screen is good not that big but it's good it came with a 4G Micro SD Card so that was cool and the cameras nice so is the video I kinda like it for now it's a good phone to get like when your phone is broken or something and great for teens to have fun texting their friends taken pictures all stuff like that. I really like it right now it's a great phone.

Was this review helpful? (138) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cool23Girl
Monticello, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Get this phone if you like slow phones that crash
10/7/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 10/7/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Super slow in stock configuration and gets slower with added apps. Phone memory is full after downloading half a dozen apps. This phone has 3 kinds of memory (phone, internal, external) and once the phone memory fills up I can't save any contacts until I move or delete an app and some apps can't be moved so my phone is officially full but that is a relief because most apps that I install never run they just crash or they can't be installed in the first place because of the outdated OS (Android 2.3) and the ones that do run take FOREVER and sometimes I'm just glad when they crash and I give up and put my phone away. How was that for a frustrated run on sentence? Anyway, the camera is terrible, one of the most distorted I've ever seen, it's actually kind of funny like a fun house camera or a fish eye, the screen is also one of the worst I've ever seen because it has very narrow viewing angle in both vertical and horizontal directions, but the sound and call reception are okay.

Was this review helpful? (42) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great smart phone for the price
10/7/2013

Customer review by autry331

4.0 stars 10/7/2013 by autry331
by autry331

My husband and I had currently been using Verizon for our cell phone service and we were paying $222 a month for two cell phones. It was getting a little ridiculous to pay for and we kept seeing commercials for straight talk, so decided to check it out. We have both been very pleased with the service. Now, to talk about this phone. I really did my homework before buying. I read all of the reviews on this website, plus watched a couple of youtube videos to check it out. I love the phone. The only complaint I have about it is that there is only a 4GB memory card in it, and after downloading 1 app (which was Facebook) I went to download yahoo mail and it said I had no memory left. So, unfortunately I will have to go buy a higher GB card for the phone. Other than that it is very easy to use, a basic smart phone, touch screen, and very light weight. I've owned 3 android phones, now this one and I will have to say I like it just as well as the android phones I paid a price for from Verizon. Oh, and too, this phone works on Verizon network.

Was this review helpful? (73) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
autry331
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good First Phone, Advanced Users Move Up
3/11/2013

Customer review by totjr1969

3.0 stars 3/11/2013 by totjr1969
by totjr1969

I purchased this phone to have a personal "non work" phone, with smart phone capabilities. While it works great with basic stuff, I find that I quickly use the memory up. There is no clear way to get all applications to the internal storage or to the beefed up SD card that I have. The screen is also small (but I'm an older user as well). Connectivity is great, access to the web is great, the tools are adequate. For the $80, and the prepaid capability, its a great value, especially if this is your first smart phone. For experienced consumer, this device is NOT so great, if you've had smart phones before, and lived your life with them for email, phone, voice mail, cameras, and apps, you might want to consider a higher priced more advanced phone. The $45 a month unlimited plan is awesome. I'm considering upgrading the device in a couple of months as soon as I get the return on investment, and perhaps giving the phone to a niece/nephew as their first phone.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
totjr1969
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
First Time Using
10/3/2013

Customer review by rbr112100

4.0 stars 10/3/2013 by rbr112100
by rbr112100

For years I was with Verizon, had a simple phone that provided just talk and text but got fed up with the only way to get a new phone was to either renew my contract or pay full price for a updated phone. Got fed up with that policy and basically paying more and getting less. So after shopping around for over a month decided to go with this straight talk phone from Wal-Mart, it has taken a little getting used to but is going along. It is easy to use and to navigate thru, the only down side is when it comes to using the keypad, as it is touch screen, the letters are kind of small for a person with large fingers, I find myself having to hit the back button a lot in order to type out the correct words, other than that it’s a good phone. Plus to get a phone like this thru a cell phone provider without having to re-new a contract and pay full price it could easily cost 200 or more and Wal-Mart sells them for 80 Bucks.

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rbr112100
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good little phone
2/22/2013

Customer review by VMcD

5.0 stars 2/22/2013 by VMcD
by VMcD

I used to have a Sprint HTC EVO 4g, and this is a good replacement. It does everything that the EVO did. I have better signal with this phone, probably because it runs on the Verizon network. Good call quality. The speaker is a lower quality sound. I haven't tried to see if I could create my own ringtones yet, I just transferred them over. The screen is really sensitive, so be careful with your texting, and it doesn't have auto correct. A little bar does pop up with words if you get the first couple of letters right. Example: if you accidentally type kelli instead of hello, it will not come up with hello. It will keep kelli. No flash for the camera which is a downer. The battery life is great. I am a heavy user and at the end of the day I will be anywhere from 50% to 39%. Be realistic people. You're paying $80 for the phone. I am very happy with this purchase, and it does go above my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (46) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VMcD
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not For Me
4/30/2013

Customer review by NikkiClipperhands

2.0 stars 4/30/2013 by NikkiClipperhands
by NikkiClipperhands

For the price, this isn't a horrible phone. However, I was very disappointed because this was my first Android phone and it did not come close to meeting my expectations. The LG Optimus Dynamic looks awkward and cheap, it crashes easily, and has an extremely small storage capacity. Also, it isn't compatible with many applications. You constantly have to clear cache to keep the phone from crashing due to lack of storage space. The positives: it is very user friendly. If you just need basic phone functions and would like to check your email or get on Facebook, or you aren't exactly techo-savy, then this is the right phone for you. And despite it's cheap appearance, it is by far the most durable smart phone I have ever come across. For the 5 months that I owned this phone, I dropped it at least once a day and only had so much as a scratch or two to show for it. So as long as you aren't a fan of applications and appearance this is the phone for you.

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NikkiClipperhands
Christiansburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't Purchase
5/28/2014

Customer review by formerkenmorevacuumuser

1.0 stars 5/28/2014 by formerkenmorevacuumuser
by formerkenmorevacuumuser

LG dropped the ball on this phone. The phone is very misleading with the 4 GB SD card. I have owned this phone for only four 4 months and constantly shows low disk space due to it poor design. if you don't believe me search the we,b others are experiencing the same problem. I can't even down load apps because of the poor design quality and limited space of the phones system memory. I still have plenty of free space on the 4 GB card but the phone will not let you move any of the apps that's already on the phone to the card. I downloaded an external SD app to try and fix the problem still no luck the apps that come on the phone stay on the system memory which I might add is not even a GB, ridiculous. Wonder why the phone all of sudden became $29.99 theirs your answer. The phone it self would be a great phone if it was designed properly and came with more memory but with this big design flaw the phone is rendered useless. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY OR TIME.

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
formerkenmorevacuumuser
Would recommend to a friend? No
Straight Talk L38G LG Optimus Dynamic
1/30/2013

Customer review by HeavenSent1977

5.0 stars 1/30/2013 by HeavenSent1977
by HeavenSent1977

I love this phone. I use to own a HTC rezound from Verizon. It was too costly, so I sold the phone & figured that I wouldn't be able to find an affordable phone with all the same options as the rezound. I came across this phone & I honestly I was expecting to be a little dissatisfied but I truly love this phone! It has all the apps & features of the exspensive smart phone. It has a smaller screen but I can get on the internet & see evrything just fine. I haven't tried to watch movies from Netflix on there but I know it plays videos real well. I have to say that I get great reception, just as being with Verizon. The internet loads quickly even without WiFi. My apps load and work well. I added a bigger memory card, eventhough it comes with a 4 GB, I added a 16GB that I had from my previous HTC. I also owned a HTC Rhyme & this phone reminds of the Rhyme alot especially in size, without the costly contract & fees. I love the flat fee of $45 a month with unlimited everything. I have the auto draft so that I don't have to go & buy the refill card each month, which is less stressful for me. All in all, I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a great smart phone.

Was this review helpful? (122) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HeavenSent1977
Winston Salem, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Gingerbread Android
3/19/2013

Customer review by riversongandthedoctor

4.0 stars 3/19/2013 by riversongandthedoctor
by riversongandthedoctor

Ok for all you straight talk lovers out there this is a great starter android if its in your coverage range (check at top and put in zip code if not sure). ONE BIG THING!!!! The unlimited plan for data can be shut off if not used correctly. I found this out the hard way using things like netflix or other video streaming sites use alot of data and if you use them to much straight talk in the terms of service has the ability to turn the data off and it will not return til your next service date so this goes for all straight talk android users be careful with your data usage bc you may have to live without your internet on the phone for a few weeks. I just thought I'd share. This phone is amazing just watch your data!

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
riversongandthedoctor
Calhoun, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Decent phone
3/27/2013

Customer review by Nate876

4.0 stars 3/27/2013 by Nate876
by Nate876
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

800MHz processor not 1GHz as advertised (but I suspected that when I purchased it). System memory fills up very quickly and there seems to be nothing that can be done. You can't move apps to the SD card. You can move many (but not all) apps to the internal memory, but this seems to do little to create extra system memory. There is around 160 MB of system memory, 1GB of internal memory, and it comes with a 4GB SD card. Killing apps also seems to do little to create extra system memory, although turning the phone on and off seems to help. I've gotten error messages saying the memory was full when trying to add a contact, and I only had 9 contacts in my phone and had added zero apps to the system memory. Turing the phone off and on was the only solution that worked. Overall, however, I am satisfied with the phone. The internet browser works well and is reasonably fast. The GPS navigation works, and so do the other features that I have used. As soon as I synced the phone with my e-mail account it imported the e-mail addresses of everyone I ever e-mailed into my phone's contacts (which made it useless), so watch out for that. You can adjust the sync settings.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nate876
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Keep looking
6/29/2013

Customer review by ChristianMama4

2.0 stars 6/29/2013 by ChristianMama4
by ChristianMama4

I've had this phone for a few weeks now and am taking it back. After 2 weeks of having it when I went to make a phone call the screen would go black and not come back up. To hang up I had to hold down the off button to restart it. So if I needed to call a business that asked to 'dial 1 for this and 2 for that' I would have to hang up entirely and just use my husbands phone when he got home. Huge pain in the neck. I called customer service and they couldn't fix it either and offered to exchange it, after I thought about it I decided to just get a refund so I wouldn't have to go through all this again. Not only that, I always read the manual and this one had no real clear instructions. I had a memory card and all my stuff wouldn't save to it, I'll admit I'm not very phone savvy which is why I read the manual and this was not in it. Just get a better one, pay a few bucks extra and get a different one, it's not worth the headache, trust me.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChristianMama4
Ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not A Good Phone
2/23/2013

Customer review by BeYourOwn

2.0 stars 2/23/2013 by BeYourOwn
by BeYourOwn

As I type this I am on the phone with Straighttalk Customer Service. I had this phone initially and had issues with memory "Low Space" issues. Text would be denied, pictures could not be taken, apps not download. They sent me the identical phone and first thing upon setting it up I was having the same message!!! I also had issues using the dial touch pad as it would disappear when I would try to enter options. I've had better phones but decided to "dumb down" and switch carriers. I am very proficient with computer programing/devices so I know that there is an issue and it is not me. Needless to say, I am getting a different phone. Customer service was great and they told me they would be escalating the issue with this phone. They also said that there were no "flags" on this phone for any issues, but there will be now. I told them to come here and check the reviews!!

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BeYourOwn
Kennewick, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very good overall
1/25/2013

Customer review by Kingbatz

4.0 stars 1/25/2013 by Kingbatz
by Kingbatz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a fairly good smart phone for the price. I am happy with it. If there was anything bad that I had to say about it is that although it says it has one gig of internal memory, the system memory is much less. SO you fill up disk space quicky. However with a few adjustments, such as storing information on the internal memory, for example, you can easily fix this issue. Origionally I was only able to have maybe 4 or 5 apps on the phone, but after moving the storage, I can fit much more now and have yet to have an issue. This is a really good smart phone for the first time user such as myself.

Was this review helpful? (78) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kingbatz
Scranton, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love it!
10/19/2013

Customer review by CowsRule77

5.0 stars 10/19/2013 by CowsRule77
by CowsRule77

Best little smart phone I've had! Plenty of storage for useful apps, so I don't know where people get that it doesn't have enough storage... Easy to search the web, easy to check Facebook! YouTube works wonderful and Pandora! I just love this phone! Easy to text.. It's just a Great little phone to have and does everything I want it to. I had sprint and wouldn't pick up in my apartment good so I couldn't listen to music or hardly anything, this phone I have about all my bars. Runs on Verizon so that's a Great thing! Just Great service! I just love it and the price! Great job Straight talk! If I could give 20 stars, I totally would!

Was this review helpful? (64) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CowsRule77
Kingsport,TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great Android for the price
4/12/2013

Customer review by jerseyred1

5.0 stars 4/12/2013 by jerseyred1
by jerseyred1

I bought this to replace a non-android that I tried to settle for after my $195 android died. Needless to say I found the replacement cell (lg 511) hard to navigate & replaced that with THIS:LG Optimus Dynamic. THIS CELL IS pretty AWESOME and for the price you cant go wrong. Only complaint I have is 1 game application I used to have in not compadable on this cell (draw something) but I play angry birds, use several social networks, and check emails. It's very easy to navigate & use. Downloaded free ringtone apps & animated wallpapers. Holds a large micro sd card (i use 16gb) Slim and decent size touch screen for texting. Another benifit is the only external buttons are the volume & power button. So no accidental photo taking. & it auto locks the touch screen pretty fast, so no pocket-dials. It is also a CDMA-V phone so it runs on Verison towers (look for the CDMA-V) My home will not get the other companies towers & straight talk is the best "unlimited" deal out there. I hate the contract companies they are too expensive. I recomend the walmart extended warrenty. they cover everything!! Also buy a hard cover on ebay ($5 & up)

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jerseyred1
enterprise AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/9/2013

Customer review by dbench

4.0 stars 1/9/2013 by dbench
by dbench

I purchased this phone because I wanted a data plan phone that didn't cost a fortune. Currently use a Sprint contract phone with calling only. After researching different services I decided to give this Walmart phone a try for a month. To my surprise, it works great. I'm not sure what the other reviewer is talking about not trying youtube. Youtube works great on my phone. Calls are clear and using the web works great. The screen is plenty big even for my stubby fingers. I also get better reception with this phone.

Was this review helpful? (558) (48)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dbench
Pinebluff,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good phone for the price.
1/19/2013

Customer review by DME1959

4.0 stars 1/19/2013 by DME1959
by DME1959

After many years on contract phones I have made the switch to pre paid from Straight Talk. This phone is my first "smart phone" so I didn't want to put a lot of money into it. This phone gets excellent reception and to date I haven't had a dropped call. Texting is easy. Generally the phone is easy to operate after spending just a little time familiarizing yourself with it. Easy to navigate the different functions in the menu screen. It is light and seems fairly durable.

Was this review helpful? (233) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DME1959
OHIO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
List of LG Features/Great Buy
11/19/2013

Customer review by IceDragonfly

5.0 stars 11/19/2013 by IceDragonfly
by IceDragonfly

11/18/2013 I have had this phone for almost a year now. Similar to Verizon's reception. I love how much I have saved from not having been charged extra. I plan on keeping this service for a long time. *A map of reception offered online. Accurate for my location. Reception is very good. *This LG cost was <$90 *Keep your number (keep old phone active until LG phone is set up through Walmart) *Buy Micro SD card with higher gig so cell won't shut off. *Click on the blue die (applications), Settings, Applications, Managed Applications, all programs that can be cleared (Google Play Books, E-mail, etc), and Clear Data to get the 169KB down to 0KB so texts won't be blocked. *Battery overheats in hot seasons so shut off to charge. Ever needed...Batteries Plus offers LG batteries under or same price as the LG. *Battery run low after 5 hours from Gingerbread feature to run all the time so shut LG Cell off. *Polaris Viewer shows Microsoft Word with small screen. *Sync photos but privacy is concern. *LG Programs: camera (zoom, video), contacts, phone, clock, maps, gallery (pics), navigation (yes like GPS awesome), settings, play music, play books, play store and calendar. *Play Store option (Android App) can download ringtones and more. Most downloads have options to uninstall. (E-mail, Facebook, games, etc). **Viruses are possible if roaming online. *Phone book had limited entries for me. Very detailed information. *Connect to WiFi very easily. *Internet browser has 4 home screens (windows to multitask). Bookmark websites. *Voice your texting LG program is very good. *Phone speaker very clear. I WANT THIS PHONE TO STAY IN SERVICE FOR A LONG TIME.

Was this review helpful? (42) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IceDragonfly
MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Smart phone~without the Smart price!
1/20/2013

Customer review by candyland18

5.0 stars 1/20/2013 by candyland18
by candyland18
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My daughter checked out a lot of different phones and decided to order this one. She has not been disappointed. In fact, everyone that sees it says it's a Smart phone, just not a Smart Smart phone. (figure that one out) Her dad and the rest of the family think it is awesome!! No problems going online~and we live way out in the country:-) We were able to find a phone cover on Ebay. Overall the best deal for the money!!

Was this review helpful? (304) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
candyland18
not candyland18~ just country folk in Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 188 total reviews
1-20 of 188 reviews