Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 74 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

74 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

74 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
43
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 stars
6
1-20 of 74 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 74 total reviews
1-20 of 74 reviews
Cannot be beat for the price
2/7/2014

Customer review by Hairballz

5.0 stars 2/7/2014 by Hairballz
by Hairballz

I was looking for a rowing machine to see if I would find rowing more enjoyable than a treadmill or exercise bike - I had used one years ago and really liked it. I looked at some VERY nice rowers that were nearly $1K - a lot more than I wanted to spend on an experiment! So I was very happy when I ran across this, sub $100 rower. Other rowers I'd looked at in this price range had the individual articulating arms, which I'd used before and knew were problematic, difficult to get into any real rhythm with and a pain when one of the pistons wore at a different rate - it gave you an uneven rowing experience. I was also attracted to the sheer simplicity of design on this one... a seat that moves up and down, a place to strap in your feet, a single arm with wide handles attached to an adjustable piston. From a maintenance standpoint it couldn't get much simpler. As other reviewers have noted, it took me about 10 minutes to assemble this - literally it only involves attaching the piston, attaching the monitor and threading in the foot straps. Easy! Using it has turned out to be pure joy! The unit is very compact and very light, so picking it up and moving it is a breeze. I moved it into my den to put it right in front of me and right in front of the TV, making it super convenient to use. The counter will monitor your time spent, your strokes, the total cumulative strokes, and calories burned. It's not sophisticated, there's no way to input your current weight or age so the estimation of calories burned is only that - an estimation. But I ignore everything but the strokes anyway, aiming for upping my stroke count as I go. Some reviewers noted the seat is a little wobbly, and that's true, but I have found that if you take a moment to center yourself on the seat before you start that wobble goes away completely. I find the seat is quite comfortable for a brief workout, but is a little hard if you're rowing for longer than 15 minutes or so, which I resolved easily enough by adding a cushion to it. The rowing motion is very smooth - how could it NOT be with such a simple back and forth design? I really like that the piston is adjustable, so as I build endurance and strength over time I'll be able to increase the resistance. My original thinking was I'd spend less than $100 to see if I enjoyed rowing as a cardiovascular exercise, and if I didn't I wasn't out that much money, and if I did I could always upgrade to something better down the road. But I have to say I am quite happy with this unit as is - I don't see me changing to a higher end unit anytime soon. It gives me quite a workout - by the end your heart is pounding and your legs feel like rubber! - but I also really like that it is a true all-body workout - every major muscle group gets involved. Overall, for the price and quality, I don't see how this can be beat - I'm VERY happy with this purchase and would highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (85) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hairballz
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
For the Sunny Rowing Machine
12/24/2012

Customer review by Sumochen

3.0 stars 12/24/2012 by Sumochen
by Sumochen

This is a quite light, but sturdy, easy to move and to store rowing machine. Nice soft grips for your hands. Easy to keep your feet on the foot pads. Even if you're a bit heavy it is not inclined to tip over and would be good exercise for someone who has limited movement and just wants something that will not hurt knees, or other joints and is an easy machine to use. You can increase the difficulty of the machine easily. Great exercise if the doctor tells you to keep moving. (I'm thinking of an older person or one who is recovering) You can set it up in front of the TV to keep you company when you use it. It is not a full motion rower and does not work all the back and chest muscles. The seat did not fit my seat comfortably.

Was this review helpful? (54) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sumochen
Ruidoso, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
You won't regret it!
12/26/2013

Customer review by pamplamouse

4.0 stars 12/26/2013 by pamplamouse
by pamplamouse

I'm so pleased with my Sunny rowing machine! It more than meets my expectations. I didn't want to spend a small fortune on a piece of exercise equipt., so purchased this very reasonably priced one thinking it probably wouldn't be great, but perhaps it would do....and yae! It's super light weight, easy to move around and store, smooth rowing action with a slider seat, and a great work out from home. Now I have no more excuses!

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pamplamouse
Olympic Peninsula
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
All Around Impressive
4/30/2014

Customer review by HomeGymJ1

5.0 stars 4/30/2014 by HomeGymJ1
by HomeGymJ1

As a longtime fan of the standard Concept 2, it's kind of surprising I ended up going with this model. There are a ton of reviews out there on low-cost rowers, and pretty much everything written about this one is accurate. My dimensions are 6'2", 220+ lb., 34" inseam, and I reach the end of the machine's slide on the end of the drive stroke. The stroke itself ends about 3-4" sooner than on a Concept 2, and it arcs down slightly towards the upper thighs vs. heading on towards the midsection. The resistance throughout the stroke is consistent, fluid, and smooth. With resistance set on "12", I went from cold to perspiring after 2 minutes of constant rowing - feeling the quads, traps, and lats a bit. Operation is almost completely silent. The piston does heat up, so it's probably good to run a fan. Only complaint is that my toes extend a little beyond the edges of the footrests. This is a welcome addition to a home office gym which includes a power tower, an inversion table, a couple kettlebells, and some resistance bands. If you're looking for a compact rower with solid construction and ample resistance - buy, buy, buy!

Was this review helpful? (42) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HomeGymJ1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for a strong back!
8/30/2013

Customer review by Technut80

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by Technut80
by Technut80

Rowers are designed to build back strength and that is exactly what this does. Perfect for building wide lats. Can also be used to build shoulders and biceps.

Was this review helpful? (31) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Technut80
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Even great for my 87 year old father
8/10/2014

Customer review by Nana425

5.0 stars 8/10/2014 by Nana425
by Nana425

I bought this for my dad, who was having difficulty connecting and disconnecting his Bowflex because of his decreased flexibility. He has figured out how to get up and down on this rowing machine, and it works great. I used it and liked it just as well as the one I use at the gym. It is lightweight enough that it can be moved easily from room to room to use in front of the TV and then moved out of the way. Doesn't really take up much space.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nana425
Fremont, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just what I needed
7/26/2014

Customer review by Lexismom2004

4.0 stars 7/26/2014 by Lexismom2004
by Lexismom2004

I hate going to the gym but I know I should be exercising several times a week. Recent health changes make this an important issue for me. I knew I needed to find something I would enjoy doing. The Sunny portable rower does the job. I was able to set it up by myself (there are only 3 bolts that need attaching) and it is light enough to move around when not in use. I set it up in front of the TV while I catch up on a show. It makes the time pass quickly and if you increase the tension you get a decent work out especially on your arms and legs. The seat is wobbly and not very comfortable but I plan on adding a bike seat pad like another reviewer suggested. The piston also gets very hot during use, so keep kids or pets away from it when in use and immediately afterwards. The foot rests are kind of cheap and made of plastic but I don't use them, I just put my feet up against them and it is fine. Overall for the price, size and ease of use it's a good deal.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lexismom2004
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to set up
2/12/2014

Customer review by StrayCat212

4.0 stars 2/12/2014 by StrayCat212
by StrayCat212

Took less than 10 minutes to set up. A good value for the price, but not if you exercise on a regular basis. I had to put the resistance more than half way up from the get go, so I can see myself in need of something else in the near future. Would recommend as a starter rower without hesitation.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StrayCat212
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Makes fitness easy.
8/1/2014

Customer review by pastherprime

4.0 stars 8/1/2014 by pastherprime
by pastherprime

This little machine is just what I wanted. I needed to get started using my muscles again. Sine I am retired now, I am not as active physically. I wanted just a little something to use my arms and legs daily. This little champ just does that. It doesn't take up much room and it is easy to move quickly if friends stop by. I am glad I bought this one.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pastherprime
Newman, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sunny Rowing Machine
8/6/2014

Customer review by RobertTG

5.0 stars 8/6/2014 by RobertTG
by RobertTG

This was easy to uncrate and assemble, with only a few parts requiring simple nut-and-bolt connections. There's only one pneumatic tube on this model, but it works just as well as a former two tube model I had and has a better roller seat, too.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RobertTG
National City, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Rowing Machine
1/19/2014

Customer review by Shaggy6

5.0 stars 1/19/2014 by Shaggy6
by Shaggy6

My machine is great!! It's smaller than I thought, as I'm right up there with the weight limit, but it's okay. I love the computer that keeps track of everything as I'm rowing. I also love the size. It fits perfectly in my little work out room. AND!! The price was wonderful especially with the free shipping. Thank you Walmart. Respecfully yours,

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shaggy6
Shady Cove, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
works well
4/15/2014

Customer review by nrfitchett4

4.0 stars 4/15/2014 by nrfitchett4
by nrfitchett4

Works great for the price. Used it half a dozen times. Concerned about the piston wearing out. It gets very warm during the workout and instructions only recommend 10-15 minutes at a time.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nrfitchett4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
ok for the money
2/24/2014

Customer review by kaymd1234

3.0 stars 2/24/2014 by kaymd1234
by kaymd1234

This is okay for someone who doesn't need or want a high calorie burn. The setup was super easy and the price was right. The rest of the machine seems fairly sturdy except the seat. It seems very wobbly but not something to be concerned about. The size is perfect for someone with limited space.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kaymd1234
peshtigo, wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than I expected
7/20/2014

Customer review by marcyparcy

5.0 stars 7/20/2014 by marcyparcy
by marcyparcy

I am very impressed with the quality this unit is for the price. I honestly thought I was going to be feeling silly that I didn't spend more money on a "better" unit. I was pleasantly surprised how nice this piece of equipment is. It is exactly what I wanted. And, it was very easy to put together, so that was another nice bonus =)

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
marcyparcy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fun, healthy and affordable exercise
6/4/2014

Customer review by McShopper2

5.0 stars 6/4/2014 by McShopper2
by McShopper2

I have a knee injury and wanted low impact whole body workout. This fits the bill perfectly. Arrived quickly (a week before delivery date). Easy to assemble and use. Because of my knee I raised the back leg onto blocks to get on and off easier. Definitely a winner.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
McShopper2
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantadtic Rower!
2/26/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/26/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Im very pleased with this rower, it was super easy to assemble, its very lightweight, and it gives a great total body workout! I fully recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Taylor Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I Love It :-)
7/15/2014

Customer review by TeamInShape

5.0 stars 7/15/2014 by TeamInShape
by TeamInShape

What an energy booster! This little machine is sturdy,and powerful. I feel a nice burn even two days after my first workout. The handle bars are not elastic bands but attached to the metal rod. But even still, I got a great cardio and toning workout. Love it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TeamInShape
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very good value
7/7/2014

Customer review by fishgout

5.0 stars 7/7/2014 by fishgout
by fishgout

for older people who cant rise that easily-you can use a piece of wood to hold seat in highest position-also place next to a coffetable or similar height object to help you up--my gut is dissapearing

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fishgout
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Complete Rowing machine that's inexpensive !
3/22/2015

Customer review by MyFirstReview

5.0 stars 3/22/2015 by MyFirstReview
by MyFirstReview

This is my first time writing a review for any product I purchased . I think a rowing machine and specifically this one is one of the best ways to exercise . This one has many settings so you can decide on what setting is best for you and you can increase a setting so you're able to continuously challenge yourself . It is very well built and you are able to assemble it in 30 minutes or less . The auto. counter for each rep. is helpful . You can keep a record each time you use it and never get bored using this machine because you can work for a higher goal . It doesn't occupy much space and it's easy for most anyone to move . You can use it while watching tv . I'm very impressed with rower . God bless everyone !

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MyFirstReview
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome
2/18/2014

Customer review by JWilly0590

5.0 stars 2/18/2014 by JWilly0590
by JWilly0590

I don't like working out, but this was something I could do for 20 mins a day and actually feel like I did something productive

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JWilly0590
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 74 total reviews
1-20 of 74 reviews