Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 20 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

20 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

worth the price
8/31/2013

Customer review by bobh20

5.0 stars by bobh20

Easy to use and runs great.Well worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bobh20
Sarasota,Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Huge improvement over electric
11/27/2013

Customer review by trimmer2

5.0 stars by trimmer2

Up to now, I had used only electric hedge trimmers, which work fine on small jobs but take significantly longer on big jobs. The difference in productivity is amazing. An ivy covered wall that used to take about 2 hours to trim with an electric hedge trimmer takes only 20 minutes with the Poulan Pro. It cuts as fast as it swipes and even thicker branches hardly slow it down, compared to the electric trimmers which would regularly bog down on the thicker stuff. The only disadvantage is the Poulan Pro is much heavier. However, I would say that at the end of the job, my arms are equally as tired; while the electric trimmer is much lighter, the job takes much longer. I'm very pleased with this purchase - a job that used to take all day is now finished well before lunch time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
trimmer2
Friendswood, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A great unit for the price.
12/4/2013

Customer review by Dairyboy2

5.0 stars by Dairyboy2

This is not a top of the line product, but for the price for someone who just needs a unit to trim their hedge and help out the neighbors, it is really nice. Especially like the swivel handle as it makes it easy to cut vertically or horizontally with ease.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Dairyboy2
Oroville, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/4/2013

Customer review by Charlie742

5.0 stars by Charlie742

Love it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Charlie742
Winthrop Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does a good job
9/9/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars by An anonymous customer

Having woods on three sides of my property I needed something portable and with a decent size blade. I use it mostly for vines, honeysuckle, thorn bushes and other overgrowth. works like a charm. The only drawback is the weight of the engine but that can't be helped.

An anonymous customer
Andover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Excellent Trimmer
12/9/2012

Customer review by kurtk

5.0 stars by kurtk

So far this trimmer has exceeded my expectations. Would recommend for anyone who wants to trim bushes and anything else. Makes the job very easy and fast.

kurtk
Coram
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Better than I had hoped
6/13/2012

Customer review by Chris

5.0 stars by Chris

This thing has been used non stop for 17 days straight, never hesitated, never failed to start, it just runs. I've cut everything from hedges to those nasty pricker bushes, 3/8" saplings. You name it, it cuts. Even snipped a few parts of my chain link fence and a strand of barbed wire (not recommended). Other than the poor placement of the exhaust, I don't have a bad thing to say about this trimmer. I am notoriously hard on tools, and this one has taken all I had to give it and is ready for more.

Chris
Medina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Durability - starter cord
9/15/2013

Customer review by Swede16

5.0 stars by Swede16

Hedge Trimmer performs well with one exception. After two days of use on my own home and about 10 start-ups, the starter cord has frayed to the point that it will no longer retract fully and is no longer capable of starting the unit. Don't know what is causing the cord to fray until I service the unit.

Swede16
Richmond
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Just what I needed
6/16/2014

Customer review by rileyt2

5.0 stars by rileyt2

My hedges were 2 years overgrown and this trimmer make quick work of them.

rileyt2
Foley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Over grown hedges
8/22/2014

Customer review by Oldman

5.0 stars by Oldman

I previously tried an electric trimmer but it was too weak to trim boxwood and was not too efficient on some other species. I had hip problems and did not trim for two years and hedges got out of control. After hip replacement I got this product and quickly got my hedges under control. That included trimming some red cedar trees. I wish I had purchased this when the hedges were small so I could have always kept them under control.

Oldman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good trimmer, hard to get right replacement parts
5/30/2012

Customer review by whodart

4.0 stars by whodart

The trimmer works great, easy to handle. It will break a tooth out of a blade if you hit a rock or something harder than the blade. If you try to order replacement blade be careful. The upper and lower blades have the same part number, and the parts diagram shows them to be one unit, both blades. But if you order just one of that part number, you only get the lower blade. Calling Poulan on the phone for information is a nightmare too. Vendors (unmentioned) are as bad as that, or at least the one I had misfortune to deal with.

whodart
9Little Rock
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
good bang for your buck
6/7/2012

Customer review by welch460

4.0 stars by welch460

The pp2822 is an awesome trimmer for the money. I use mine several times a week and have had no major issues. Other than adjusting the blades no problems.

welch460
Holly Hill
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Hard to beat
7/4/2013

Customer review by RT100

4.0 stars by RT100

If you find that you have shrubs, trees, etc. that need trimmed about every other week or so & are in need of a durable, well engineered affordable set of hedge trimmers...these are what the doctor ordered. Easy to start, run strong and easy to use. They cut clean & quick. Maintain them properly & you shouldn't need another set for...well...maybe never.

RT100
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
why pay more
9/15/2012

Customer review by captchas

4.0 stars by captchas

i compaired this poulan pro with a Husqvarna, Jonsered and Redmax. all are companies husqvarna owns. Then i checked the parts and found i could use a husq part if needed and get it from my local dealer. this one has the moveable handle of the higher priced brand, a little bigger motor and 22 inch bar. So why spend so much more money for the upper end brand when this one is really the same one with a different plastic trim and tank plus a bigger motor and only difference is needs the owner to use 40 to 1 mix over the 50 to 1 of the others, SO WHAT! Then i've been fixing lawn machines for 45 years and know all to well when using a machine hard that little extra amount of oil fails to hurt. So i use poulan syntec 40 to 1 in all my 2 stroke tools .even those made by another company. All those years i have never had a motor fail either,never even fouled a plug.

captchas
new jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
works fine, but...
8/29/2014

Customer review by howvood

4.0 stars by howvood

This is my second gas-powered hedgetrimmer, the first was smaller and worked fine but struggled when it came across a larger branch. This one chews through them all. It starts well, runs well and re-starts well. But, like other reviewers mentioned, when using it right-handed, the exhaust is directed directly into the face. I think some sort of deflector is called for. For reasonably priced, homeowner products, Poulan has the competition whipped.

howvood
lake wylie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
PP2822 Trimmer
6/8/2013

Customer review by Scott38

3.0 stars by Scott38

Things I like about it. Starts easy, adjustable handle is a nice feature. Cuts ok. Things I don't like. If you use the trimmer right handed the exhaust blows back into you. The exhaust is on the left rear of the unit. I'm right handed so I get around it by using the trimmer left handed. If you are not prepared to do that I would suggest you buy another trimmer that has the exhause on the right hand side. The blade has some flex in it when cutting thick branches. I think they need a stiffer rib for the blade. The first time I used it the blades locked up after about 15 minutes. The nuts on the blade where way overtightened so I loosened the nuts substantially and had to use a procedure not in the user manual to finally get the blades moving again. I haven't had any problems since then but I am running it with the blades nuts pretty loose. If you do buy one of these I suggest you check/loosen the blade nuts some before use. Overall I wish I had spent the extra money and bought a Stihl. Unfortunately the Poulan Pro engines tend to last a long time if you maintain them. At least the two chainsaws I own have, so I may be stuck with this for a while.

Scott38
Stephenson
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
PP2822
9/30/2012

Customer review by Mark55

3.0 stars by Mark55

Seems to work well, but have to adjust cutting blade because it came loose after about 30 minutes of use and needed a new spark plug to run.

Mark55
Creswell
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
unit not durable
5/10/2014

Customer review by Aaron

3.0 stars by Aaron

Only used unit one time from August 2013 to 2014. All diameter shrubs were half inch or smaller Stopped cutting and found broken teeth on cutter blades. Very disappointed in vie of price paid..

Aaron
Indianapolis , In
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
will not cut
7/31/2012

Customer review by lewisroy

2.0 stars by lewisroy

keep locking up I have to keep file down the blade that feep bending

lewisroy
norfolk
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Worst product ever purchased
11/2/2012

Customer review by blueii

1.0 stars by blueii

Purchased in May 2011. Mixed up some fuel started it to make sure it ran for a few minutes until the fuel exhausted. Started it up spring 2012 to trim a flower bed all of two minutes. Started it up today Nov 2 2012 would start, run a minute ans die. Tried it again a few hours later same thing. I was warned about poulon pro and now I see why. Apparently a carburetor problem with about 20 minutes on it. The junk sold in the US is getting terrible.

blueii
Atwater,CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male