Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 307 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

307 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

307 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
166
4 stars
65
3 stars
12
2 stars
5
1 stars
59
1-20 of 267 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 267 total reviews
1-20 of 267 reviews
Good basic mower
3/31/2013

Customer review by SimplicityIsKing

4.0 stars 3/31/2013 by SimplicityIsKing
by SimplicityIsKing

Bought this to maintain rental properties. I am moving out of state next year and didn't want to spend much money; used mowers here run $75-100, so at this price I opted to buy new. I was worried that the small motor, pushing only 4-1/2 lb-ft, would be too little for some of the thick grass in some of the yards. A former mower putting out 6-3/4lb-ft would sometimes get bogged down, after all. But the smaller cut means not as much stress is put on the little Briggs and Stratton one-lunger, and it happily chopped everything I passed under it. It also uses very little fuel. Three back yards and four front yards (albeit small ones) swallowed a little less than half a tank of fuel. It starts easily. There is plenty of height adjustment on all four wheels. The small rear wheels make mowing around the drainage ditch running in some back yards more difficult than it should, but again, I knew this going in as this is a budget model. The small-diameter handle can bruise your hands if you have to work the mower hard over irregular terrain. For the money, this is a hard-working little machine. $50 more gets you some nice features, notably oversize rear wheels which will be of big benefit to those who have tougher landscapes to mow. However, if you're not looking to spend much money, this mower will get the job done, powered by a reliable Briggs powerplant.

Was this review helpful? (395) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SimplicityIsKing
Tyler, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Perfect in every way!
4/18/2013

Customer review by HipchickINNashville

5.0 stars 4/18/2013 by HipchickINNashville
by HipchickINNashville

I have never owned a lawn mower. Well, I had one of those non motorized push mowers, but that doesn't count. I purchased this lawn mower because of the price. Brought it home, pulled it out of the box. Poured the oil in it, that came with the mower. Poured some gas in it and went to town! My neighbor borrows it, and between the two of us, we use this little mower 4x a month? Maybe more. It does exactly what it's supposed to do. Cut the grass, no fuss, no muss.. Perfect for a single gal and her neighbor! Yes, price is awesome, best price in town. Yes it cuts, any level you want.. just adjust the wheels. Pull the string, and get your lawn mowed! Tadaaaaa!

Was this review helpful? (272) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HipchickINNashville
Nashville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Broken before I ever used it!
5/18/2013

Customer review by RecreationalLandscaper1

1.0 stars 5/18/2013 by RecreationalLandscaper1
by RecreationalLandscaper1

Just bought a 20" Murray Gas Powered mower at Walmart yesterday. And..I was not the only one. Several folks behind me in line had the same mower as I. Fresh out of the box this AM...and find that the gas cap is BROKEN. I looked inside the gas tank and sure enough there were the two plastic wing type things (suppose to act as the thread mechanism for the cap). I have to say I have never seen a plastic gas cap quite like this on a lawn mower. The box itself did not show any signs of tampering or being "repackaged" and the mower had all appropriate packaging and tags in place, etc. Makes me wonder..Doesn't anyone at Murray quality control their product before it is shipped out the door?? Can't blame Walmart on this one. It's Saturday, so Customer Service at Murray won't be back until Monday morning. I will request that they send me a replacement cap. BTW,,Based on some of the reviews I am reading, I might live to regret this buying decision. In the past always had good luck with Briggs/Stratton engines..and Murray mowers. I will advise as to how Customer Service responds to my situation.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RecreationalLandscaper1
Wilmington, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Awful Mower Do NOT buy
4/22/2013

Customer review by jimbobbeng

1.0 stars 4/22/2013 by jimbobbeng
by jimbobbeng

I bought this mower in August last year after my 15 year old mower finally gave up. I wanted something light and cheap so I bought this. The last time I used it in the fall I struggled to start it (only used it maybe 10 times) but I assumed it was because it was getting cold and it was almost empty of gas. I mowed the lawn and let it run until it ran out of fuel. I got it out to use for the first time this spring and it doesn't start at all. I called their support and they told me to take it to a repair shop. They said it was under warranty. I called the repair shop who told me it would not be under warranty because I probably left gas in it all winter. They then told me that I would have to provide the original Walmart receipt to use the warranty. REALLY BAD mower. 10 uses before it completely broke. Repair shop says it needs a full rebuild as all the seals are damaged. Avoid at all costs.

Was this review helpful? (19) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jimbobbeng
Syracuse NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Just what i needed
6/30/2013

Customer review by pbesong

5.0 stars 6/30/2013 by pbesong
by pbesong

I bought this for a small lawn and it does the job perfectly. It comes fully assembled. The only thing you have to do is straighten out the handle, which is folded in the box and tighten it, then add the container of oil you get and put gas in it. Simple as that. I had the previous version of this mower that was labeled by WeedEater and it's been a very reliable mower for years, starting usually on the first pull. It's a Briggs and Stratton engine, the same as my WeedEater version, just rebranded. I used it for the first time today and it worked very well. Ran it for 50 minutes with no problems, cutting my whole lawn. If you just need a cheap mower that cuts your grass, look no further.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pbesong
Central PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Easy to push
6/13/2013

Customer review by onecut

5.0 stars 6/13/2013 by onecut
by onecut

After reading other reviews and the Murray description I'M convinced that there is more than one version in the stores. I picked the latest box and found that the mower did have 5 easy adjustments for each wheel not like the older version where each wheel had to be removed and change the bolt position to the frame. The mower came virtually assembled. Just remove the packing materials, snap the lower handle into place and tighten the knobs connecting the upper to lower handles. The instructions indicated you could change the height of the handle but the lower handle would only fit the round hole it was already attached to. The other hole was square and couldn't be used. I wasted a lot of unnecessary time trying to make this adjustment when the handle was already at the proper height. I would advise checking and setting each wheel adjustment to the middle (3rd) slot and make any further adjustments from there as you might get the rear wheels higher or lower than the front because of the reversed locations. Prime the gas at least 5 times for the 1st time and 3 after that and the mower will start on the 1st pull. It was easy to maneuver and cut as good as any expensive mower. No need to prime if the mower is stopped and started again. Very happy with the choice I made - it was the right one.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
onecut
Hampstead NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
But happy with it so far.
3/25/2013

Customer review by esince96

4.0 stars 3/25/2013 by esince96
by esince96
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've only got to mow with it once since I bought it and it ran great. It went together quite easily. It took a few pulls to start it the first time but that's par for the course since it was brand new. Once it started it ran fine. For the price it's a good machine. Cuts nice. P.S. Bought it and mowed with it in March 2013. Time will tell. But happy with it so far.

Was this review helpful? (81) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
esince96
Flower Mound TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Check it over immediately
5/6/2014

Customer review by ItsVic

1.0 stars 5/6/2014 by ItsVic
by ItsVic

I bought this mower back in March when I had some extra money (tax refund) but living in Iowa I didn't need it until a couple weeks ago. When I finally took it out of the the box (fully assembled) it was missing the "Control Bar". I called what was listed as Walmart customer asst and got small engine repair shop; they sent me the missing part. I put it on, put in the oil that came with the mower (not enough to fill the crankcase so added more) I pulled the start rope out to get it where it hooks to the handle and it wouldn't recoil. I couldn't take the mower back because anything that holds gas must be returned in 30 days (I left it in the box longer than that). I found a local shop that does warranty work on Briggs&Straton engines. They couldn't warranty it because the shroud had been bent during packing. I'll pay the $40.00 shop bill and hope this (almost) 200 dollar mower lasts a good long time....VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ItsVic
Would recommend to a friend? No
Meets the Misses requirements.
5/8/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/8/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

My wife loves it since she can start it without having to call me from my chair. The mower was a replacement for one I had bought just like it 16 years ago from Walmart for only 95 dollars it only had a 3.5hp motor it still runs but has small problems this one seems to cut better and quieter, NICE!

Was this review helpful? (44) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Rockmart, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great for small areas
2/12/2013

Customer review by bzz2

5.0 stars 2/12/2013 by bzz2
by bzz2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Durable fair priced product

Was this review helpful? (142) (45)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bzz2
Winnfield, La.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Buy
5/21/2013

Customer review by BobnRic

5.0 stars 5/21/2013 by BobnRic
by BobnRic

This is a solidly engineered product that performs well and should last a long time. It is the mower you want to buy if you want a product that meets expectations and does not have a lot of extraneous bells-and-whistles that only cause trouble in the long run. I use it as a trimmer on a lot larger than one acre and this mower had no problem taking down 24" field grass and dandelion weeds, it is easy to push and pull even on uneven terrain, and cuts just as well pulling and pushing. Best of all, it runs forever on a tank of gas, after about an hour of continuous use, the small gas tank is still half full, and that's after a lot of hard work cutting down tall grass. So far it is easy to start, stop, and maintain, everything is explained clearly in pictures and words in the very well done manual. There is no assembly required, the handle is made to fold and unfold for storage which is done with big easy to use wingnuts. The height of cut is easy to adjust by rotating levers on each wheel to the desired height and the they snap into detents so no adjustment is necessary. They also supply 1 pint + 2 ounces of the SAE 30 engine oil required. The only tools you'll ever need to use and maintain the mower are a screwdriver for the oil port dipstick and a small funnel to put oil in the engine if necessary. In operation the mower is easy on the hands, next to no vibration, as quiet as a gasoline engine can get, and minimal exhaust. I will certainly look to Murray for other lawn care machinery should the occasion arise. And thanks to WalMart for offering another great product at a great price!

Was this review helpful? (78) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BobnRic
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great lawn mower for female
6/24/2013

Customer review by charlottegirl36

4.0 stars 6/24/2013 by charlottegirl36
by charlottegirl36
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have a medium size yard and when my old lawn mover stopped working I needed a cheap reliable mower. Well this mower it. I cut my grass with no problems. My only compliant is that I ordered online and it took almost 2 weeks to ship.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
charlottegirl36
charlotte, nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great mower for the price.
6/11/2013

Customer review by Sweetie04

5.0 stars 6/11/2013 by Sweetie04
by Sweetie04
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have to say my husband & I have been nothing but thrilled with or purchase of this lawn mower! We both agree 100% that this is a truly great grass cutting mower. Both of use are very pleased at what a terrific cut this mower has provided us. We both HIGHLY RECOMMEND this mower to everyone! You can't beat the price nor the great looking lawn this mower will provide! Also hardly any assembly needed!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sweetie04
Raeford NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
began falling apart after a month
3/29/2013

Customer review by crhheath

1.0 stars 3/29/2013 by crhheath
by crhheath

We have a riding lawn mower and wanted a small push mower for small area that riding mower doesn not get...I would use the push mower when my husband cutting with rider..after a few weeks the safety flap stretch out and you could not pull the mower backwards without the flap getting under the lawn mower. after a couple more uses the whole mower would vibrate so bad,,,,it got so bad the muffler finally shook lose and shot across the yard. (no lie)...as you can imagine what it sounds like without a muffler....this was the end of last summer and regret not sending the whole thing back to Murray!...

Was this review helpful? (40) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crhheath
Montgomery, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Just what I needed
5/13/2013

Customer review by islebthere

4.0 stars 5/13/2013 by islebthere
by islebthere

Bought this basically to abuse, run over sticks and chop up leaves so I do not destroy an expensive mower. Was fully assembled and started first pull, even had the fancy wheel adjusters. I wanted a engine brand that I have heard of vs. an off brand.

Was this review helpful? (22) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
islebthere
st.paul,mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Stay Away!
3/6/2013

Customer review by phantomwriter

1.0 stars 3/6/2013 by phantomwriter
by phantomwriter

Bought this mower because it was a decent price and description states "Fully assembled". Wrong! should have stated "Assembling required" Then the description claims to have a 4-point, 5-position height adjustment handle located on each wheel. Wrong, the only way to raise and lower cutting height on this model is to move the wheel/axle bolts manually. The instruction manual was poorly written, had info for a number of different models , you had to figured out which you needed. It took 2 1/2 hours to attach 2 piece handle, 4 wheels, rope bracket, etc. and find the right tools because there wasn't a list of needed tools. Long story short, I filled gas tank and added oil as manual stated, I started it, the thing spit oil and large cloud of black smoke. Will be returning it ASAP.

Was this review helpful? (48) (55)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
phantomwriter
El Cajon, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great for the price
5/12/2013

Customer review by easyout99

5.0 stars 5/12/2013 by easyout99
by easyout99

Bought this mower a few weeks ago, ready to use right out of the box after putting in oil & gas. Prim two-three times and starts within two pulls. Cuts great, easy to handle. As discribed.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
easyout99
Kittanning, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Terrible Product - Will not last very long
10/23/2013

Customer review by Donderbuss

1.0 stars 10/23/2013 by Donderbuss
by Donderbuss

I purchased a Murray Deluxe Push Rotary Lawn Mower from Walmart in May 2013. Model Number: M20300 Manufacturer’s ID Number: 96114002800 The lawn mower was outfitted with a Briggs & Stratton engine. Model Number: 9l602-1611-F1 I am sorely disappointed in the product. The lawn mower could not even last over three months. I may have gotten 12 mows out of this lawn mower before then engine complete gave out. The lawn mower stopped working altogether around the last week in August 2013. I own a 16 foot row home. My front yard is roughly 16x18 feet squared. My back yard is approximately 16x20 feet squared. It appears as if this small parcel of land was too much to handle for this machine. On or about the 12th time mowing the lawn, grey smoke began pouring out of the side of the lawn mower filling up the neighborhood air. It smelled as if the motor was burning. I checked the oil and the gas levels despite the fact that I fill the oil and gas to the appropriate levels prior to each time I mow my lawn. I considered that there may have been an oil leak and the lawn mower over heated due to that. However, upon checking the oil level, I discovered that the oil level was perfect. The gas level was also acceptable because the lawn mower continued to operate although the motor didn’t function correctly. The lawn mower will still start, however as soon as the motor is started, the grey smoke again pours out of the side of the engine and the burning smell returns. I can only conclude that the motor is somehow burned out. Now I will need to replace this lawn mower completely. I just wanted to make sure you were aware that your product was either in some way defective or of such poor quality that it was unable to last more than three months before the engine burned out completely.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Donderbuss
Upper Darby, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
good basic mower
6/24/2013

Customer review by oldfool5

5.0 stars 6/24/2013 by oldfool5
by oldfool5
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

just tighten the handle, put gas, oil in. prime and pull you are mowing. good basic mower!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oldfool5
mercersburg. pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little mower for the price
4/11/2013

Customer review by VAbuyer

5.0 stars 4/11/2013 by VAbuyer
by VAbuyer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this mower because we moved to a house with a yard too small for our John Deere riding mower. It is just what I wanted -- lightweight, easy to put together, and easy to start. I love it!

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VAbuyer
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 267 total reviews
1-20 of 267 reviews