Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 287 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

287 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

287 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
154
4 stars
62
3 stars
12
2 stars
5
1 stars
54
1-20 of 247 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 247 total reviews
1-20 of 247 reviews
Good basic mower
3/31/2013

Customer review by SimplicityIsKing

4.0 stars 3/31/2013 by SimplicityIsKing
by SimplicityIsKing

Bought this to maintain rental properties. I am moving out of state next year and didn't want to spend much money; used mowers here run $75-100, so at this price I opted to buy new. I was worried that the small motor, pushing only 4-1/2 lb-ft, would be too little for some of the thick grass in some of the yards. A former mower putting out 6-3/4lb-ft would sometimes get bogged down, after all. But the smaller cut means not as much stress is put on the little Briggs and Stratton one-lunger, and it happily chopped everything I passed under it. It also uses very little fuel. Three back yards and four front yards (albeit small ones) swallowed a little less than half a tank of fuel. It starts easily. There is plenty of height adjustment on all four wheels. The small rear wheels make mowing around the drainage ditch running in some back yards more difficult than it should, but again, I knew this going in as this is a budget model. The small-diameter handle can bruise your hands if you have to work the mower hard over irregular terrain. For the money, this is a hard-working little machine. $50 more gets you some nice features, notably oversize rear wheels which will be of big benefit to those who have tougher landscapes to mow. However, if you're not looking to spend much money, this mower will get the job done, powered by a reliable Briggs powerplant.

Was this review helpful? (382) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SimplicityIsKing
Tyler, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Perfect in every way!
4/18/2013

Customer review by HipchickINNashville

5.0 stars 4/18/2013 by HipchickINNashville
by HipchickINNashville

I have never owned a lawn mower. Well, I had one of those non motorized push mowers, but that doesn't count. I purchased this lawn mower because of the price. Brought it home, pulled it out of the box. Poured the oil in it, that came with the mower. Poured some gas in it and went to town! My neighbor borrows it, and between the two of us, we use this little mower 4x a month? Maybe more. It does exactly what it's supposed to do. Cut the grass, no fuss, no muss.. Perfect for a single gal and her neighbor! Yes, price is awesome, best price in town. Yes it cuts, any level you want.. just adjust the wheels. Pull the string, and get your lawn mowed! Tadaaaaa!

Was this review helpful? (255) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HipchickINNashville
Nashville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great for small areas
2/12/2013

Customer review by bzz2

5.0 stars 2/12/2013 by bzz2
by bzz2

Durable fair priced product

Was this review helpful? (140) (45)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bzz2
Winnfield, La.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
But happy with it so far.
3/25/2013

Customer review by esince96

4.0 stars 3/25/2013 by esince96
by esince96

I've only got to mow with it once since I bought it and it ran great. It went together quite easily. It took a few pulls to start it the first time but that's par for the course since it was brand new. Once it started it ran fine. For the price it's a good machine. Cuts nice. P.S. Bought it and mowed with it in March 2013. Time will tell. But happy with it so far.

Was this review helpful? (78) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
esince96
Flower Mound TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Meets the Misses requirements.
5/8/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/8/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

My wife loves it since she can start it without having to call me from my chair. The mower was a replacement for one I had bought just like it 16 years ago from Walmart for only 95 dollars it only had a 3.5hp motor it still runs but has small problems this one seems to cut better and quieter, NICE!

Was this review helpful? (41) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Rockmart, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent Buy
5/21/2013

Customer review by BobnRic

5.0 stars 5/21/2013 by BobnRic
by BobnRic

This is a solidly engineered product that performs well and should last a long time. It is the mower you want to buy if you want a product that meets expectations and does not have a lot of extraneous bells-and-whistles that only cause trouble in the long run. I use it as a trimmer on a lot larger than one acre and this mower had no problem taking down 24" field grass and dandelion weeds, it is easy to push and pull even on uneven terrain, and cuts just as well pulling and pushing. Best of all, it runs forever on a tank of gas, after about an hour of continuous use, the small gas tank is still half full, and that's after a lot of hard work cutting down tall grass. So far it is easy to start, stop, and maintain, everything is explained clearly in pictures and words in the very well done manual. There is no assembly required, the handle is made to fold and unfold for storage which is done with big easy to use wingnuts. The height of cut is easy to adjust by rotating levers on each wheel to the desired height and the they snap into detents so no adjustment is necessary. They also supply 1 pint + 2 ounces of the SAE 30 engine oil required. The only tools you'll ever need to use and maintain the mower are a screwdriver for the oil port dipstick and a small funnel to put oil in the engine if necessary. In operation the mower is easy on the hands, next to no vibration, as quiet as a gasoline engine can get, and minimal exhaust. I will certainly look to Murray for other lawn care machinery should the occasion arise. And thanks to WalMart for offering another great product at a great price!

Was this review helpful? (68) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BobnRic
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great mower
6/1/2014

Customer review by newsince86

5.0 stars 6/1/2014 by newsince86
by newsince86

This mower is light-weight and easy to push. We have an old Murray 20" mower that we purchased from Walmart several years ago that is still going so that is why we purchased this mower. I like that the handle is longer on the this model; it makes it much easier to push. Also, the wheels adjust on this model; you can adjust how low or high you want your cut to be. We have a large yard that is not level and it does a great job keeping it mowed.

Was this review helpful? (27) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
newsince86
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for small yards
4/23/2014

Customer review by luceg

5.0 stars 4/23/2014 by luceg
by luceg

It was really easy just take out the box and adjust tire hight and handles. Works great for the small yard that we have. The thing we love the most is the easyness to adjust the tire hight for cutting really close. No problem with the start up like some mowers. Have recommend the mower and the store wal-mart to family and friends.

Was this review helpful? (60) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luceg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does the job!
5/21/2014

Customer review by Senior101

5.0 stars 5/21/2014 by Senior101
by Senior101

I was looking for a light weight mower - this is great. It only took a few minutes to assemble, started quickly, and I was able to mow the entire lawn with no problems. I am an elder senior with Arthur issues and found heavy mulching mowers and baggers to be hard to push. This little mower is great for anyone with those problems. It actually took less time to mow even though it is small because of the effort to push.

Was this review helpful? (37) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Senior101
SE Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
very good light weight mower for trimming
5/15/2014

Customer review by happymower2014

5.0 stars 5/15/2014 by happymower2014
by happymower2014

very good light weight mower for small yards,,,, cranks on first pull every time,,,4.5 hp motor has plenty power for tough grass,,,,easy to assemble,,,comes with pint of oil ,,just add gas and go,,,should last lot years for good service,,,,,

Was this review helpful? (24) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
happymower2014
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just what I needed
5/13/2013

Customer review by islebthere

4.0 stars 5/13/2013 by islebthere
by islebthere

Bought this basically to abuse, run over sticks and chop up leaves so I do not destroy an expensive mower. Was fully assembled and started first pull, even had the fancy wheel adjusters. I wanted a engine brand that I have heard of vs. an off brand.

Was this review helpful? (22) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
islebthere
st.paul,mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Awesome lawn mower!
9/21/2014

Customer review by Furmomma

5.0 stars 9/21/2014 by Furmomma
by Furmomma

Came completely assembled, just had to tighten a few bolts on the handle. Came with oil, filled it up, and put gas in it. Primed and stared with the first pull. Let it idle for a few minutes to get the oil flowing through it, then mowed our entire acre, only having to fill up the gas tank once. This thing is AMAZING on gas and cuts through tall glass easily, we know this because both of our mowers, push mower and riding both went out at the same time, leaving the grass to grow really tall waiting for the funds to purchase a new one, but it was a champ going through it. It looks great and the motor on it seems powerful. My only tip would be is to go slower in tall grass, as the discharge slot on the side gets blocked up somewhat easily.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Furmomma
Athens, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Lawn mower
5/15/2014

Customer review by lnjb

5.0 stars 5/15/2014 by lnjb
by lnjb

After putting the oil in that came with it, the mower was easy to start. Still have to adjust the wheels to cut the lawn the way I like it, but I am very satisfied with my purchase. Can't beat the price.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lnjb
Carrollton, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
began falling apart after a month
3/29/2013

Customer review by crhheath

1.0 stars 3/29/2013 by crhheath
by crhheath

We have a riding lawn mower and wanted a small push mower for small area that riding mower doesn not get...I would use the push mower when my husband cutting with rider..after a few weeks the safety flap stretch out and you could not pull the mower backwards without the flap getting under the lawn mower. after a couple more uses the whole mower would vibrate so bad,,,,it got so bad the muffler finally shook lose and shot across the yard. (no lie)...as you can imagine what it sounds like without a muffler....this was the end of last summer and regret not sending the whole thing back to Murray!...

Was this review helpful? (38) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crhheath
Montgomery, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Easy to push
6/13/2013

Customer review by onecut

5.0 stars 6/13/2013 by onecut
by onecut

After reading other reviews and the Murray description I'M convinced that there is more than one version in the stores. I picked the latest box and found that the mower did have 5 easy adjustments for each wheel not like the older version where each wheel had to be removed and change the bolt position to the frame. The mower came virtually assembled. Just remove the packing materials, snap the lower handle into place and tighten the knobs connecting the upper to lower handles. The instructions indicated you could change the height of the handle but the lower handle would only fit the round hole it was already attached to. The other hole was square and couldn't be used. I wasted a lot of unnecessary time trying to make this adjustment when the handle was already at the proper height. I would advise checking and setting each wheel adjustment to the middle (3rd) slot and make any further adjustments from there as you might get the rear wheels higher or lower than the front because of the reversed locations. Prime the gas at least 5 times for the 1st time and 3 after that and the mower will start on the 1st pull. It was easy to maneuver and cut as good as any expensive mower. No need to prime if the mower is stopped and started again. Very happy with the choice I made - it was the right one.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
onecut
Hampstead NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
As advertised
4/14/2014

Customer review by nervousdoc

4.0 stars 4/14/2014 by nervousdoc
by nervousdoc

I bought this lawnmower to trim where a larger, self-propelled rotary "push" mower was hard to use because of its weight. hard to turn. This mower is only forty pound and easier to wrestle into position. It is fairly easy to start and run, though the larger mower is actually easier to start.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nervousdoc
Princeton, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cheap
4/13/2013

Customer review by shanacheche

1.0 stars 4/13/2013 by shanacheche
by shanacheche

I guess you get what you pay for. Murray overal has not been a good product for me. I purchase three of there models within a month and they all failed. This one literally went up in smoke, two strokes deep into the yard. Im very unsatisfied but, happier now that I found a reliable model from the PX.

Was this review helpful? (22) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shanacheche
Hopkinsville,KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing Light Weight Lawn Mower!!
3/23/2015

Customer review by Suki

5.0 stars 3/23/2015 by Suki
by Suki

I bought this lawn mower because my huge, expensive Toro lawn mower would not start (again), and it's far too heavy for me to place in the car alone. I just had neck surgery 2 months ago and I need to be careful not to lift anything heavy. Frustration! I have a little over an acre and it has rained nearly everyday for the last week. Needless to say my grass/weeds were out of control. I cut my soggy yard anyway and this mower was Amazing. It worked like a champ!! I am so Pleased! By-the-way, I'm a woman.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Suki
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great little mower for the price
4/11/2013

Customer review by VAbuyer

5.0 stars 4/11/2013 by VAbuyer
by VAbuyer

I bought this mower because we moved to a house with a yard too small for our John Deere riding mower. It is just what I wanted -- lightweight, easy to put together, and easy to start. I love it!

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VAbuyer
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Broken before I ever used it!
5/18/2013

Customer review by RecreationalLandscaper1

1.0 stars 5/18/2013 by RecreationalLandscaper1
by RecreationalLandscaper1

Just bought a 20" Murray Gas Powered mower at Walmart yesterday. And..I was not the only one. Several folks behind me in line had the same mower as I. Fresh out of the box this AM...and find that the gas cap is BROKEN. I looked inside the gas tank and sure enough there were the two plastic wing type things (suppose to act as the thread mechanism for the cap). I have to say I have never seen a plastic gas cap quite like this on a lawn mower. The box itself did not show any signs of tampering or being "repackaged" and the mower had all appropriate packaging and tags in place, etc. Makes me wonder..Doesn't anyone at Murray quality control their product before it is shipped out the door?? Can't blame Walmart on this one. It's Saturday, so Customer Service at Murray won't be back until Monday morning. I will request that they send me a replacement cap. BTW,,Based on some of the reviews I am reading, I might live to regret this buying decision. In the past always had good luck with Briggs/Stratton engines..and Murray mowers. I will advise as to how Customer Service responds to my situation.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RecreationalLandscaper1
Wilmington, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
1-20 of 247 total reviews
1-20 of 247 reviews