Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 97 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

97 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

97 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

56%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
31
4 stars
17
3 stars
6
2 stars
14
1 stars
29
1-20 of 74 total reviews
56%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 74 total reviews
1-20 of 74 reviews
not horrible, but not good.
12/19/2012

Customer review by THEAJB25

3.0 stars 12/19/2012 by THEAJB25
by THEAJB25

i bought this because 8 inches would be a good size for what i was needing. not many companies make the 8 inch so figured id give this a shot. the worst thing about this is the screen. it is brutal. grainy. 800x600 looks horrible. spend the extra and get the higher res. no no google play store. laggy, choppy. only thing id recommend this for is to browse the web and read/edit documents. but if thats all youre going to do, go buy an old gingerbread device for a lot cheaper and will get the same functions and probably a better screen.

Was this review helpful? (75) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
THEAJB25
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Just what we wanted...
12/21/2012

Customer review by LuckyMom2Boys

4.0 stars 12/21/2012 by LuckyMom2Boys
by LuckyMom2Boys

My husband and I were looking for tablets for our three boys for Christmas. They are relatively young (8, 9 and 11 years old) and we knew we didn't want to spend several hundred dollars each on a tablet. We found these and purchased three of them. Each of them started right up and is preloaded with basic features (camera, calendar, etc.). Now obviously the camera is not the best quality I've ever seen, but let's be real...it's not a Canon. There is no Google Play app, but I knew that from the item description. The GetJar app store is more than sufficient for our needs. The screen resolution is standard for this size and touchscreen works very well.

Was this review helpful? (46) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LuckyMom2Boys
Wichita, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
awful app store NO access to google play store
12/27/2012

Customer review by Nickatnights

2.0 stars 12/27/2012 by Nickatnights
by Nickatnights

This Tablet is a good value but has no access to goole play store. Also the app store pre loaded on the tablet isnt working per the Coby web site and they want you to download another app store instead and it has none of the android apps you want like Scrabble, and Words with friends. I also had lots of trouble getting the email accounts to work on it. The tablet itself worked good and had a very nice display but it just wouldnt work ,once you try to use the internet, properly.

Was this review helpful? (23) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nickatnights
Lebanon,Mo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I wouldn't recommend it.
12/25/2012

Customer review by EvilFeevil

2.0 stars 12/25/2012 by EvilFeevil
by EvilFeevil

The tablet seemed okay until I realized it didn't have the Google Play app store. And I could barely get the GetJar app store to work. I tried a search for Angry Birds on it and it said the page was temporarily unavailable. It is an unsupported Google device and an unsupported version of Android so you can't even download apps using the Google Play website! Very frustrating. I knew I should've steered clear of a no-name brand. I'm going to pay an extra $20 and get a refurbished Vizio instead that has the Google Play store and is at least a brand I recognize. I'm mad because I thought it had Android so that's all that mattered but nope, on Christmas day I had to tell my 13-year-old stepson we have to return his present and he has to wait a week for a replacement. Not a nice surprise. If you want good apps, don't buy this. You get what you pay for!

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EvilFeevil
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Not good products
1/2/2013

Customer review by JBlackhawk

1.0 stars 1/2/2013 by JBlackhawk
by JBlackhawk

purchased 2 MID 8048-4 s and one went down the 2nd day and the other less than a week. Product support does not answer emails or the 800 number do not answer and only place u on hold. I waited for over 30 minutes and was hung up on. SOMEONE HELP.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JBlackhawk
Winnebago, Ne
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/1/2013

Customer review by SavyShopaholic

1.0 stars 1/1/2013 by SavyShopaholic
by SavyShopaholic

Me and my sister purchased these tablets for our kids and all four stop working within a week. One didn't not turn back on after my son played it the first day and the other one started turning on and off by itself. The same thing happen with the ones my sister bought. Getjar apps are horrible!!!!! I downloaded several and some were not what I downloaded. Ads continued to pop up and it kept going on the Internet. I returned it to the store with no problems because the customer service rep stated that alot of people was returning those tablets because of the same problem i was having. I don't recommend this product to anyone it is a waste of money.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SavyShopaholic
Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value for money
1/1/2013

Customer review by jaybaai

5.0 stars 1/1/2013 by jaybaai
by jaybaai

I bought 3 Coby Kyros MID80848-4 units, one for each kid. They love it. Downloads of apps are easy and tons of free apps available for them to use. Highly recommend it

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jaybaai
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best value for the money
1/21/2013

Customer review by Birdawg

5.0 stars 1/21/2013 by Birdawg
by Birdawg

I bought this for my 22 yo daughter for Christmas. She loves it and takes it with her everywhere! Perfect size because it fits in her purse but the screen is big enough to comfortably watch a movie or a play a game. It's absolutely perfect for her needs, ready to go right out of the box on Christmas morning and, so far, has been absolutely trouble free.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Birdawg
Independence, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/8/2013

Customer review by walmartlvr123

5.0 stars 1/8/2013 by walmartlvr123
by walmartlvr123

This was a Christmas gift for my teenage daughter and a HUGE hit! She loves it!!! I was not so pleased with the shipping, had it shipped to my house and my son found it buried in the snow one night. God only knows when it was delivered. Thankfully, it was not ruined!

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
walmartlvr123
Central IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not the best
1/20/2013

Customer review by CraCraMom

2.0 stars 1/20/2013 by CraCraMom
by CraCraMom

I purchased 3 of these for my boys for Christmas. Get jar is not the best app store, most of the time it said that could not connect. 2 of the 3 have already broke. I would suggest that you spend a little bit more money and get a better one. But if you do get this one make sure to purchase the cracked, broke screen warranty as that was the issue with both broken ones.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CraCraMom
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
average at best
1/5/2013

Customer review by Robiroe

2.0 stars 1/5/2013 by Robiroe
by Robiroe

We bought 2 of these tablets for our 4 and 7 year old for Christmas. Pros 1. I like the 8" screen. nice size 2. I like the amazon apps 3. I like the USB connections Cons 1. You have to constantly uninstall and reinstall the amazon apps store. It will work for a few days and then just stop working. 2. GetJar appstore - it's ok but it's very limited. we downloaded some of the Google Play apps like Subway Surfers but they didn't work on this android tablet. 3. The music player stopped working. We loaded some disney songs on the tablet and they played the 1st day. The next day, the tablet didn't recognize the songs and gave us a USB error. 4. No updates on the Coby USA website. I'm going to contact tech support but they have limited hours. We've got issues that we need to get solved. 5. The battery drains fast! you have to keep the charger in your pocket because you will need it. 6. Try finding a case for an 8" screen. Good luck. 7. my computer does not recognize the tablet when I connect it. why, I don't know. This is a decent tablet. We also bought an iview tablet for $199 for my older son and it works better without all of the problems. If I could afford it, I would have bought all 3 of the kids the iview tablet. We took a chance on the Kyros because they were cheaper. Be sure to get a tablet that has Google Play apps. If not, you are limiting yourself. The next tablet I purchase will have to have Google Play. Amazon appstore is nice but still nothing like Google Play.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Robiroe
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/5/2013

Customer review by Dijadiva

2.0 stars 1/5/2013 by Dijadiva
by Dijadiva

Only has a front camera....truly disappointed....but my moms seems to like it...was her Christmas gift...I'm not satisfied tho...it maybe because I have an iPad and it doesn't compare to it....

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dijadiva
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Received tablet with a problem.
1/8/2013

Customer review by Tramain

2.0 stars 1/8/2013 by Tramain
by Tramain

Tablet will not recharge. Return it back to company for repair or replacement.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tramain
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Terrible.
12/31/2012

Customer review by HelloKitty73

1.0 stars 12/31/2012 by HelloKitty73
by HelloKitty73

My sons and I got 3 of these tablets as Christmas gifts. they worked for 5 minutes and then it started to go downhill. it kept dropping the internet connection,couldn't access getjar, kept failing to download any of the apps we wanted to try. The apps that did manage to download were constantly crashing. we returned them asap.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HelloKitty73
Gulfport,MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Horrible!!!
12/30/2012

Customer review by Xantana

1.0 stars 12/30/2012 by Xantana
by Xantana

I got this has a Christmas gift and had it 12 hours and it worked great then let it charge overnight and went to use again it would not turn back on (like it was completely dead) I tried to get on the website for Coby and it did not work and the call center was never opened despite the hours clearly noted on the pamphlet in the box.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Xantana
king nc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Baaaaahhhhh!!
1/1/2013

Customer review by KitchenTVLover

1.0 stars 1/1/2013 by KitchenTVLover
by KitchenTVLover

Got this tablet and was super excited! Nice screen resolution and the size was perfect. Played around with it for a while, just getting to know what everything was all about then put it on the charger overnight. Next day, everything was fine then the screen went blue and never came back. Couldn't turn off and wouldn't turn on. Maybe I just got a lemon but I wouldn't take the chance on another tablet of this brand.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KitchenTVLover
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not worth it!
1/3/2013

Customer review by KMAFamily

1.0 stars 1/3/2013 by KMAFamily
by KMAFamily

I bought two of these for a Christmas gift for each of my twin daughters... They both do not work at all. One of them has frozen up completely, will not shut down or change screens, it has lines through it and the other will not pull up the "Getjar" that is there for app downloads and the amazon app store I downloaded won't work 80% of the time. There are no parental controls on it whatsoever and no toggle switch for easing of the sliding of fingers for touch, which makes the few games they were able to download harder to play. I am going to attempt to take them back today to Walmart... Not sure what is going to happen since I received them through mail on November 27th. Look elsewhere for your tablets... Think we're going to spend the extra 50+ a piece to get a Kindle. So disappointed, even moreso if I don't get my money back... Will attempt to contact COBY then.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KMAFamily
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Jan 2 2013 and it won't turn on very disapointing
1/3/2013

Customer review by OCnothappy

1.0 stars 1/3/2013 by OCnothappy
by OCnothappy

I bought this as a Christmas Present and it malfunctioned after eight days!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OCnothappy
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not Worth it.
1/3/2013

Customer review by UnHppyChild

1.0 stars 1/3/2013 by UnHppyChild
by UnHppyChild

I purchased this as a Christmas gift for my son (12), he loved it! For his age and what he would use it for it wasnt a bad buy until it started freezing, then two days later it wouldn't even turn on anymore and it wouldn't charge. I immediately returned it back to the store for a refund. After the other reviews with people having same issues I rather not get a replacement rather go with a different brand of tablet even if it is a little more. Not worth the $ if its only going to last a few days.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UnHppyChild
Kennesaw,ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not worth the money I paid for this item
1/2/2013

Customer review by Luvbugms

1.0 stars 1/2/2013 by Luvbugms
by Luvbugms

It went on sale, didnt get adjustment, not that many fuction on it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Luvbugms
Wash dc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 74 total reviews
1-20 of 74 reviews