Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.4out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 | 42 reviews
5 stars
25
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
Sort by: 
1-20 of 41 reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
wow!
11/23/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a serious pellet gun. Do not underestimate a few things, how heavy it is, how loud it is, or how well it shoots. I shot this a few times, and ran inside my house, afraid my neighbors might call the cops thinking I was firing a riffle. I wanted to talk to them first and let them know it is just a noisy air gun. I have read that the noise is caused by the pellet breaking the sound barrier, in other words, there is nothing you or the manufacturer can do to make it quieter. Not absolutely sure that is a fact but that is what I have read. To put it in perspective, this gun is just as loud as a real .22 riffle, not kidding, and yes I have shot many real .22s. It kicks in line with what a real .22 does too. I have read that a pellet from this gun will make a clean hole through a 2x4. I will find out if that is true today, when I site it in. I will also let you know how the scope is…I’ll be back Special thanks to walmart, I could not find this gun anywhere else, that is, the .22 version of this gun. Also, walmart is finally improving their online shopping experience to make it more in-line with other online vendors, in my opinion, way overdo.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (146)No (25)
Report
Was this review helpful?
From buying over 100 Air Guns
12/29/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Yes it says Ruger; but if you don't know Air Guns and are just a Powder Burner (firearms) person then you must first realize Ruger does not make this. They just put their name on it because there is a growing interest in the sport of quality Air guns. It's imported by Umarex and a copy of a Xisco B28 which is made in China and a competitor in power for a lower price of an RWS Diana 350 Magnum. I owned one of these years ago when they only came in .177 and it needed a Crosman 10.5 grain pellet to be accurate. 7.9 grain pellets just crack as loud as a .22LR because they are going over 1100FPS. NO, in .22 this rifle will not crack or go over 1100FPS unless you fall for the gimmick of faster is better and buy those useless alloy pellets that Gamo makes. Saying all that, use 13.4 grain pellets like Crosman Premiere Domed head pellets 500 count for $9.00 Domed head pellets are most accurate at longer ranges, 13.4 Crosman Hollow Points would do OK also and they're around $6.50 at Walmart for 500. You can also try excellent pellets like JSB 15.89 or 18.1 grains and will get unbelieveable accuracy. Also H&N makes FTT (field Target Trophy's in 5.50 to 5.55 head size. An air Guns pellet has to fit the barrel right. power.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (28)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
More than what I expected
4/19/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I unboxed my Ruger Air Magnum .22 and put the included scope on it. I took the Rife into my basement, set a 1x 5 pine board up in the corner, stepped back 30ft and fired ( off hand) three Crosman Premier Hollow point pellets at a spot I drew with a marker that was about the same size as the hole a 22 pellet would leave. After adjusting the scope, I shot 3 more pellets, all three touched each other! I inspected the back side of the board I shot and sure enough..all pellets passed through! I took the rifle back upstairs and after sliding open the patio door (it's raining in Alden NY)..I took 4 shots at a 2 liter Pepsi bottle that I had floating in my pond as a target for a Benjamin trail xp .22 which was the biggest disappointment I've ever experienced (I took it back to Walmart and ordered the Ruger online) Anyway...I hit the pepsi bottle 3 of 4 shots...at 100 yds plus!.. off a rest ( Chair from kitchen table) The scope is....not so great...but it works, I'll be upgrading the scope, I would not buy the combo package..buy just the rifle and pick out a better scope if you are a serious shooter. Use the artillery hold and don't give it to a child....this thing has some power.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (152)No (27)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Enjoyable Air Rifle
8/28/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have had this air rifle for about a month. It comes with a 4x32 Scope. It has a very light trigger, so I may have to learn how to adjust it. Shoots straight and has good penetration. Cocking effort is a little high, but I've gotten used to it. I've noticed that this air rifle, maybe all air rifles, is sensitive to the quality of the pellets you load in it. I kept getting pellets that would be all over the place or always drop. Upon closer inspection of my pellets, I learned that some pellets have bent/out-of-round skirts. Also, that some pellets looking head on are not symmetrical. When I got a good well made symmetrical pellet with consistent weight this air gun became a nail driver. Using the diopter I am able to use the scope without my reading glasses. Overall a very good product if you keep in mind the points above.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (70)No (19)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very useful
11/12/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Extremely accurate !
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Ruger Air Magnum .22 cal pellet Rifle
12/13/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This rifle is very powerful pine board 5/8" at 100 feet went in and out 8 shots. Open sights are great and the scope gave me a 1" pattern with 100 feet on a can went right thru it. It is a bit heavy and the cocking takes a good amount of force to set. But it is a great product and should last a life time. I live in the mountains and this is handy for unwanted pest. 22 bullets are hard to come by and expensive.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Exceeded my expectations
11/1/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This airgun is long, solid and powerful. It's like a full fledged firearm, only it's a pellet gun. It's not a youth plinker, it's an adult rifle with a heavy spring to compress. This can be a target shooter or one could do some small game hunting. It has a higher power than typical .22 pellet shooters. I'm impressed with how accurate I could shoot with just barrel sights, I can't wait to get the scope zeroed in. The first few shots were loud, but it calmed down a bit after a while.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (38)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Ruger Air Magnum .22 Pellet air rifle
6/30/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
After research and reading as many review as I could, I decided on this make and model. Walmart had the best price and delivery. Received it in a few days and it was everything as advertised. Very happy with it, even though only shot it about 10 times so far. Excellent quality.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Powerful, accurate and loud.
6/16/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The open sights are dead nuts on. Everybody seems to gripe about the scope that comes with the package but I found it easy to sight in and it stayed accurate after a few hundred shots. If there is some deviation in the shot it is most likely the fault of the pellet. It's not, after all, a rim fire gun that is markedly more accurate. Oh, and it heavy as heck. Better be well supported or have Popeyes arms to hold it steady or you'll get sea sick and puke looking through the scope at your target.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (53)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
9/24/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It is heavy for a pellet gun. Without bracing the gun for a long distance shot, it is very difficult to hit your target. However, if you do brace the gun, it is a very accurate rifle. I use Umarex ( the gun manufacturer ) .22, 5.5mm, 14.2 gr. ammo and have had no problems with it. The scope is fine with me - sure it could be better, but it does the job for me.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (49)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
with alittle patient this gun is an excellent gun
8/1/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
at first, this gun was so hard to pump and shoot. I almost give up, but I thought this is my first springer so I should be more patient and ride it out. after break-in about 100 shots and several scope calibrations it is perfect. the scope is decent not great nor bad, first calibration i use a laser bore sighter and then with paper target outside 2-3 times on different days. to tame the hop-up recoil tug the stock tight to your shoulder and slowly squeeze the trigger while keep your eye on target without blinking. once it tunes in, I can hit a quarter everytime 35 yrds out.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (27)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Ruger Air Magnum .22 Pellet Air Rifle
9/4/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This the best, most powerful, and most accurate high power rifle around for the money. Can group pellet on pellet at 50 yards without a problem. Rather heavy but well built to last a lifetime. Get a good scope and you are set for some fun shooting at low cost. I bought a high profile one piece scope mount so I can use either my fixed sights or scope. Get it and you will be very pleased.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice air rifle
8/7/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This rifle. It is kind of a little big and a little heavy but feels and shots good. The rifle is also pretty hard cocking, even for a 270 pound strong man, but all of that action equals an opposite and equal reaction. This is a nice air rifle with a very nice price. A real bargain with plenty of power.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great value!!
12/4/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This gun more than met our expectations! My husband bought it as a gift to himself and he hasnt put it down since! Only complaint is the scope but you still cant beat the great gun!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (45)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Well made rifle
6/18/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The rifle is very well made, but it is heavy... Make sure when you buy this rifle it is for an adult because it is way to heavy for a child. The rifle has great power, and shoots with good accuracy. The scope adds to the accuracy. Will definitely kill small game within range.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
.22 pellet
3/13/2016
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Need better scope but overall awesome
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Little heavy but very powerful
4/7/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
When you shoot has little kick. Certainly recommend to install a bipod, because the weight. It measures around 9 lb. Scope is nice up to 100 Ft. Perfect for target practice.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very enjoyable pellet rifle
9/26/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I got the Ruger air mag .22 today and shot 50 rounds are so. I am very pleased with it. I was some what concerned with most reviews saying how hard it is to charge spring but even though I don't consider myself very strong at 62 yrs old, I found it very easy to charge spring (maybe I got one with a weak spring though it easily went through a 1x4 and with 3 shots in one spot went through 2x4 though didn't come close to going through with one shot). As for the weight, it is a little heavy for an air rifle but I didn't find it much harder to hold steady standing without support that I would have with a lighter air rifle. I haven't put scope on yet but will probably tomorrow.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Ruger Air Magnum .22 Pellett Air Rifle
12/13/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I like it. It's powerful and will fork great for small game. It is loud for a air rifle but not as loud as a .22 long rifle. Scope is just ok, but functional until I replace. The first few rounds were not too accurate until I cleaned the rifle. 2" at 40 yards and after about 50 rounds got it down to 1" at that range. The cheeper pellets do not do well in this rifle, I used several types before settling on heavier pellets. The break barrel is tough to caulk, this is not for young youth or weaker individuals. Overall, I like the rifle and the power it has. If your looking for a better performer you have to spend a bundle. I think it's a good deal.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
ruger air magnum
7/23/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After 300 break in shots very consistent scope dialed in nice shoots hole for hole with matched ammo
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643922, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-