Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 16 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

16 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

16 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-15 of 15 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

SHHHHHHH!!!! Don't want this to get out!
4/4/2013

Customer review by GrGoyL

5.0 stars 4/4/2013 by GrGoyL
by GrGoyL

This is an amazing deal. SHHH! don't want everyone to find out about it. You get a Quantum Burner 11 Bearing Dual Cast control Reel with a Flipping switch and a IM8 Micro Guide Rod for a $130. This can't be beat anywhere I went with a 6'8" MH. This real is almost identical to my 2013 Quantum Energy only difference in the feel is the Team KVD has Plastic grips instead of Hi Dens. foam, and it might be a little heavier. I totally agree with the other person who commented on this combo I think I will be looking at buying another one also. Check this thing out, I have had it out 4 times now and it has worked flawlessly. I put it up there right with my other Quantum Reels. I currently own a Smoke 150, 2013 Energy PT, and KVD Tour. but remember Don't tell everyone about this deal its too good!!

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrGoyL
Harrisburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
2/10/2013

Customer review by MyMyThought

5.0 stars 2/10/2013 by MyMyThought
by MyMyThought

Light and sensitive. The reel is very similar to the new Quantum Energy which sells for more than this combo. Reel cast controls are easy to set up and fine tune for different lures. First time using it, I was casting 1/4 oz to 3/4 oz lures. Used this rig the majority of the day to make sure I wanted to keep it. Thinking of buying another one just for the reel. Excellent outfit for the money. Buy it, you wont be sorry.

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MyMyThought
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Review from a baitcast beginner.. I love it!!
8/26/2013

Customer review by AZBlade

5.0 stars 8/26/2013 by AZBlade
by AZBlade

Being new to baitcasters I was really hesitant about what to buy to get started. But after lots of shopping around, I was planning on picking up the medium/heavy Abu Garcia Silver or Black Max baitcast combo. Fortunately for me they were out of either in medium/heavy so decided on the slightly more expensive Quantum KVD. And I couldn't be more pleased! Being a beginner with baitcasters, I was worried since this being sold as "professional" was something more than I could handle, but honestly I had no problems what so ever! All the youtube vids I watched to prep myself all applied lol. Casting was very smooth and easy, and the dual breaking system is great for beginners like me. But you still have the option to drop it down to 0 for the more advanced. The 7.3:1 gear ratio was an unexpected treat, the retrieve is extra fast though I need to slow it down for proper bait presentation.. just something else I need to adjust to. And no complaints about the pole, very solid and well built. The only issue I had was my own fault while adding braided line incorrectly. Didn’t realize that you need to spool it much tighter then mono, or else can risk jamming the line into the spool when pulling on it to set your drag. But since I’ve re-spooled and only smooth casting from here on out!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AZBlade
Northern Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Combo Bought In SW Mo.
7/24/2013

Customer review by KrashEMT

5.0 stars 7/24/2013 by KrashEMT
by KrashEMT

I like the fact this combo not only does the reel stand out from the others because I love to cast out 8 inch plastic worms, Texas rigged. Also I like to FLIP out Hallow Frogs 1/2 ounce under trees and around logs. This reel is Perfect for fast switching between the two. Now the rod, It IS 6'10". Lol I taped it before I bought it. I LOVE the eyes, it has the same sized eyes all the way down the pole. I believe its the best baitcaster I'v bought from Wal-mart. I also bought the open reel, love it too.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KrashEMT
Cassville Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great combo
8/3/2014

Customer review by Archman0572

5.0 stars 8/3/2014 by Archman0572
by Archman0572

Great buy for the money/cast great/great for flipping and pitching had the spinning rod/real combo so buying this was no brainer

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Archman0572
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice rod
5/3/2014

Customer review by Mydolfan

4.0 stars 5/3/2014 by Mydolfan
by Mydolfan

Bought this for my 15 year old son for his birthday and he loves it. Nice rod good action and very smooth.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mydolfan
Jacksonville, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
dual cast control, 11 bearing + flipping switch
6/18/2014

Customer review by veritasmicro

4.0 stars 6/18/2014 by veritasmicro
by veritasmicro

dual cast control, ( magnetic & centrifugal ) Aluminum frame, 11 bearings + flipping switch on an IM8 Micro guide rod for $130. that is a definitely a good deal. I bought this combo primarily because I was looking at buying a reel ( only ) for flipping that cost more than this combo. IMO the best deal that u can get ( reels ) for the money is either a BPS Pro qualifier reel $79-99 depending on the sale, or a lews speed spool ( not laser ) ss1s, ss1h or ss1sh on ebay for around $80 shipped. If the pro qualifier isn't on sale, I would buy the lews. ( rods ) ABU Garcia Veritas micro guide for around $80 shipped on ebay. Thats a TOP NOTCH set up for around $160.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
veritasmicro
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Combo
5/1/2014

Customer review by firewatch

5.0 stars 5/1/2014 by firewatch
by firewatch

The 11 ball bearing real is very smooth casting,the 6'10! Rod is very sensitive.works very well with plastic worms. This has to be the best combo hands down I have purchased.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
firewatch
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
KVD Bait Cast Combo
1/2/2015

Customer review by godblesstheus

5.0 stars 1/2/2015 by godblesstheus
by godblesstheus

Great rod and reel. I have three of them!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
godblesstheus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Killer Deal!!
12/25/2014

Customer review by BadMackrel

5.0 stars 12/25/2014 by BadMackrel
by BadMackrel

I bought 2 of these. As some of the other reviews indicate, I was having lots of problems with backlashes. One review here pointed out that you need to set the internal break (this has dual brakes). once I set the internal break to 3 (of 6), It eliminated 99% of the backlashes, and the other 1% were caused by me being over confident. This is a 11 bearing reel. If you check around, you can't get any 11 bearing quantum reel for anywhere near the price of this combo. The rod has micro guides, which seem to help with the casting as well. I did lots of looking and walmart is the only place i was able to find this combo. I like it so much, that I ended up purchasing a couple more quantum reels with the dual break system. The rod seem pretty good as well, It is a Med Heavy and the reel is a fast retrieve. I use one for spinner baits and it is very accurate, the other I use for carolina rig, and it is working well. becuase I have had a hard time getting used to a baitcaster, i put cheap mono on one and PLine FlouroClear on the other (12 lb test) and I am having a great time fishing! NO MORE BACKLASHES!!!!!! I wish they had more in stock, I would def buy more!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BadMackrel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Baitcast Combo
6/15/2014

Customer review by GPR33

5.0 stars 6/15/2014 by GPR33
by GPR33

Kevin Vandam combo you want the best here it is super fast retrieving.Quantum and kVD make a great team

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GPR33
west virgina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Not the rod I expected.
5/23/2013

Customer review by CmikeB

3.0 stars 5/23/2013 by CmikeB
by CmikeB

Got the combo yesterday and was dissappointed. What I expected was the 6'10" rod. •Model# KVDC100610MH What I got was a 6'6" rod. KVD tour edition. It does have micro guides on it. It's ok but I wanted the longer rod. The reel is very nice though. Smooth!! I'll keep it but beware if you buy this your getting a 6'6" rod not the longer one as advertised. It comes packaged with reel mounted on rod in a long square box with no packaging inside. I was supprised it wasn't broke, but it wasn't.

Was this review helpful? (3) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CmikeB
Louisville, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Could not cast!
3/30/2014

Customer review by jjroge

2.0 stars 3/30/2014 by jjroge
by jjroge

I was excited to get this new combo. Very nice and smooth. To bad I couldn't adjust the breaking to stop it from back lashing. Maybe more me than the reel? Regardless I was very disappointed. I have the silver max combo and love it. Guess I'll just stick with it!

Was this review helpful? (4) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jjroge
Greenwood
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not KVD quality
2/25/2015

Customer review by hFDTAZ69

1.0 stars 2/25/2015 by hFDTAZ69
by hFDTAZ69

Great price for a combo with KVD's name on it, but very low quality. I bought one last summer, second day out, reel started slipping. For a few dollars more, get ya a Bass Pro Extreme combo. Hard to beat for the price and I've had one of mine for over 9 years. Just a heads up!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hFDTAZ69
Would recommend to a friend? No
Broken reel
5/2/2014

Customer review by SketchyShipping

1.0 stars 5/2/2014 by SketchyShipping
by SketchyShipping

I read reviews before buying, saw that someone was surprised that their pole was not destroyed while shipping due to lack of any packing in the box. Well my luck would have it I received a sketchy box with zero packing and the drag wheel on my reel was broken. I would suggest the ship to store and go over it in store to check for damage. Good luck finding this combo on the shelf.

Was this review helpful? (0) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SketchyShipping
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.