Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 76 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

76 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

76 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
29
4 stars
23
3 stars
11
2 stars
7
1 stars
6
1-20 of 67 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews
Well worth the $$$
9/7/2013

Customer review by Banana09

4.0 stars 9/7/2013 by Banana09
by Banana09
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this for my 13 month old son and he loves it! It was well worth the money and just what I expected! I gave this 4 stars only because I think the power button would be better on the side or back since my son is obsessed with buttons and likes to turn it off and on repeatedly :)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Banana09
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Too Cute for Tots!!
7/3/2013

Customer review by AdysensMom

5.0 stars 7/3/2013 by AdysensMom
by AdysensMom

We got this for our nearly 2 year old for her birthday and its too cute! Yes, the load time is just a hair slower than my 6 year olds leap pad 2, but it's not a big deal and I was laughing at the other reviews where PARENTS are complaining about things. We live in a now now now world and little kids don't have this yet so a tiny wait time to play a game isn't a big deal. For the price you get loads of apps already loaded, a gel skin, 2 styluses and 2 free downloads. It also has "extras" my daughters more expensive leap pad did not, like a family calendar, a clock, a calculator and a few others. She's only 2 and mostly likes to push buttons but I downloaded a few games specifically for 1-3yr olds, along with the games already included and she easily caught onto to the bubble popping game, the dance moves and already is singing some of the nursery rhymes! Overall it's adorable for a small toddler!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AdysensMom
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This is great for a child who loves touch screens!
11/26/2012

Customer review by MamaBex

5.0 stars 11/26/2012 by MamaBex
by MamaBex

This toy is excellent for my 1 year old son. He was always trying to play with mom and dads phones. It offers a touch screen, phone-like experience with learning games, e-books, music, videos, ect. in a nice durable package. I highly recommended this to any parent who has a child who has a large interest in their parents phones/tablets. Other than the screen having slightly slow responds, (because I am used to an expensive phones touch screen.) this product is well worth the money! I can't wait to see what kind of apps/ebooks they add on their website.

Was this review helpful? (87) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MamaBex
Logan, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LOVE THIS TABLET
12/13/2012

Customer review by Purpl3Kitty

5.0 stars 12/13/2012 by Purpl3Kitty
by Purpl3Kitty

My 2 year old daughter loves this tablet. She refuses to let anyone hold it and she walks anround saying, "that's my tablet". It has a great range for babies up until age 9. When its time to go to bed she refuses to put it up. Great by. It also has a lock on things such as pictures and games so that she cannot delete any pictures taken nor can she delete any games, books, music downloads etc. I do wish it had a battery pack like a laptop but vtech sells the rechargable batteries and you can also by any rechargable batteries so that you do not have to keep buying batteries. We gave it to her as an early christmas present. Mommy and Daddy are very happy that our little girl loves her tablet.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Purpl3Kitty
Philadelphia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This saved my Christmas!!
12/22/2012

Customer review by KMM1986

5.0 stars 12/22/2012 by KMM1986
by KMM1986

I knew months ago I was going to get the Innotab2 for my daughter who is 2 but I was worried what I was going to get my son who is only a year youger than his sister. Then I seen this! The larger stylus clipped to the back is perfect for him, and the case makes it seems like it will help him keep hold of it while he tries to show me. The infomation said that we would get 2 free downloads upon registering the product but when we registered we got 3!! Not to mention because both Innotabs are on the same parent account they can share downloads! Im so excited I could burst! Anyone with two kids close in age knows they always want what the other has but at least with the downloads I dont have to buy it twice. The set up was easy and I was even able to add pics from my computer. The friends list is great not only does it allow you to add a pic but I stored emergency contact info in there just in case. The styluses (there were 2) that came with this are larger that the regular Innotab2 stylus and will be much easier to grasp however it is not attached so you many want to consider tieing it on with something so it wont get lost.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KMM1986
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Pretty cool.
12/11/2012

Customer review by cococupcakes

4.0 stars 12/11/2012 by cococupcakes
by cococupcakes

I bought this today at Wal-Mart (in store) for my 21 month old. (he has a brother who is 3yrs10mo old who can also play with it) and it's pretty cool. I also have a 5 year old and a 7 year old...and they would have pretty much zero interest in one of these tablets (baby or not). My 5 year old might entertain it briefly - but they've both had experience with Nintendo 3DS's and iPads, so this will be a boring no-go for my older two children. I don't know what the difference in this and the regular InnoTab2 is - I think nothing, except that the icons are different (more baby-ish) and the tablet color is different. Basically, I think they switched up some colors, some icons, and slapped the word "baby" on it and are charging you $20 more for it. With that being said, this Baby version comes with the 'Innotab Baby' cartridge game - and that does not work on the regular Innotab2 (only the Baby). I'm also not sure that the regular Innotab2 comes with a cartridge game, and this one does. Anyway, I simply liked the look of it better, so I bought this one. And it comes with the gel case. Which is nice, but I don't recommend dropping the system from a high height...it's not THAT nice. If your kid likes to take toys and throw them...don't give this to them. It's basically what the first LeapPad was. First LeapPad was super cool, a little slow, a little sluggish, and graphics were good. This is equivalent to that. If you want a super super upgrade, I would recommend the LeapPad2...but that's sort of $100, and I didn't feel like going there. I got on the VTech store thing on my computer, plugged the Innotab2 Baby in and downloaded 2 free games that you get (cool games) and I also bought 2 storybooks for $4.99 each and an episode of Bubble Guppies for $2.99. Not bad prices, and they look pretty good...should keep both my little boys entertained when using them. The games that come on the tablet are great for a little kid...my 21 month old was able to sit and play a shapes game and was totally thrilled about touching the shapes and making them pop and disappear. He grasped the concept of it easily. However, being able to actually NAVIGATE the tablet, any child under the age of 2 is going to have trouble with. I have to open things and get through beginning instructions THEN hand my 21mo old the tablet. So be prepared for lots of helping. It's also easy for them to sneak into menus and get lost, and easy for them to hit the home button or the power button and things like that, and it might be frustrating to them. This thing is a battery sucker, just like all the other VTech and Leapfrog 'tablet' and 'handheld gaming systems' are. Buy the AC adapter, or buy some rechargeable batteries. Any rechargeable AA will work fine (this takes 4 AA batteries). All in all, it's pretty cool. It doesn't blow me out of the water, so I knocked a star off. But it is pretty much what I was expecting, and I'd pay the same for it again. I think it should be the same price as the Innotab2 or at least $10 cheaper - but whatever. I'm a sucker for the beauty of retail packaging and this was in a really fun display over in the baby section when I went to buy diapers, and I couldn't resist it. It's a good buy. Should last up through age 5, I'd say. Neat concept. Teach your kids about technology now - you're short changing them if you don't. The world is changing, and this is a great introduction for little ones to the word of tablets and computers. Happy Holidays!

Was this review helpful? (39) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cococupcakes
Midwest, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
poor design
1/4/2013

Customer review by nanaandpoppopshopers

3.0 stars 1/4/2013 by nanaandpoppopshopers
by nanaandpoppopshopers

Poor design, the on and off, volume light, return and camera buttons are on the front of the unit. so it catches babys eye immediatly and she wants to push them all. there are no parental controls to deactivate any of the function keys, therefore baby is constantly turning the game off,fast forwarding, going back and everything else the unit does instead of listening to a story or a song. the return button is stratigicly placed right where baby needs to hold unit. sooo its more work than fun. its a great idea but i am hoping they correct these design flaws and put out a new model and take back this one

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nanaandpoppopshopers
pasco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
my 13 month loves it.
12/19/2012

Customer review by flipu42986

4.0 stars 12/19/2012 by flipu42986
by flipu42986

I set this up at night using my laptop and had the batteries charges to when my son woke up the next morning he didn't have to wait to play with it. As soon as he saw the bright colors on the tablet he was interested. I handed him a stylus and he knew exactly what to do. He can't navigate on the home page because its too much for him, but once the app is up and running he loves it. He walks around with the music playing and dances. I didn't give it 5 stars only because the price, you still need the charger or batteries, the age range I can tell you now when my son is 9 he won't be playing with this. Maybe up to 5 no way 9. Also it comes with some apps and 2 free downloads. The free downloads are lame and the ones that a cool cost between 3-25$. Not sure what the 25$ is for. But over all this tablet is cool for a kid that doesn't know what the internet is. And has never been exposed to angry birds!

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
flipu42986
illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Meh.
2/5/2013

Customer review by Sweet Pea

3.0 stars 2/5/2013 by Sweet Pea
by Sweet Pea

It sits on the sidelines much like that of any other toy and gets some spurts of use, again, much like that of any other toy. He likes to listen to his favorite songs we've put on there but to find a specific song, sliding your finger to scroll is frustrating for all of us. The list won't scroll and if you press harder, the wrong song is selected. That being said, it's also a little tough to "turn the pages" of the ebooks at times. Many of the games don't hold his attention for long (3yr old) - he prefers the games on the computer or phones. We've bought several cartridges as well as downloaded games from the vtech site. His favorite are the interactive ebooks such as the one that was on the cartridge that came with the device. This one is probably the most interactive ebook we've come across thus far for this device. When pictures in the background are pressed, something happens such as popcorn popping, elevator moving, cars honking, etc. In my opinion, for the retail price of the device and cartridges/downloads, you're probably better off buying an actual tablet and paying for ad-free apps.

Sweet Pea
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Unhappy
1/2/2013

Customer review by russell1212

2.0 stars 1/2/2013 by russell1212
by russell1212

This is the 3rd item we've bought from Vtech, (I'm returning it tomorrow). I bought this for my 1 year old for her birthday, she is always trying to get my computer, ipod, and the other kids ds games or tablets. So I thought we'd get her something. We got this and it doesn't want to turn on half the time, or it comes on but the screen stays black and I have to push the power button on and off on and off to get the screen to show up. 5 years ago, we bought the vtech system that was for the tv and then a handle thing, we had 2 systems (one at my MILs) and 2 handhelds, and none of it every worked. I will NEVER buy another vtech item EVER. When it does work, it works good and she loves it, but it is too much of a hassle to get it to start working. When I buy something that is as costly as this item, I expect it to work every time I push the on button, not ever 3rd or 4th time.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
russell1212
Rutherforton, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Amazing
10/11/2012

Customer review by Squeeks

5.0 stars 10/11/2012 by Squeeks
by Squeeks

I bought this as a present for my daughter who is turning 3. It was an easy set up, we bought an additional memory card so she can watch her favorite movie on it. There is a bunch of games at the stores for the tablet also tons of ebooks, games and apps on the downloaded app site. It comes with a cartridge with it that has an ebook, games and another color game on it which is very nice. Every day I will bring it out and we will play it together because I want her to start beginning to read. She loves it. Her favorite thing to do on it has to be the coloring app already built into it. It has a quick respond time, tons of colors and she could spend hours just sitting there coloring. The only thing with this product is you will eventually have to buy rechargeable batteries. We did that from the get go and haven't had any problems. I love it and so does my little girl.

Squeeks
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/5/2013

Customer review by Youthleader2013

5.0 stars 1/5/2013 by Youthleader2013
by Youthleader2013
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My daughter is 18 months old and received this product as a Christmas gift. She quickly recognized it as something like my iPad. It holds her attention for quite a while and really is easy for a young child to use. She enjoys the note pad app where she can use the included stylus to write out "notes" like mommy! For the price it certainly does a whole lot! I can defiantly see this growing with her for quite some time. I was also impressed to find out that it will hold up to a 32G SD card if you choose to purchase one. The SD card slot is conveniently located inside the casing where the batteries go so that a toddler can not take it out or lose it. The only disadvantage that I was unaware about at purchase is that it takes standard batteries so you don't recharge it, you have to change the batteries. You can however purchase an AC adapter but they do not recommend the use of it until the child is older.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Youthleader2013
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Couldn't Be Happier!
11/11/2012

Customer review by DystoniaMom

5.0 stars 11/11/2012 by DystoniaMom
by DystoniaMom

I bought this for my sons 5th birthday, and I bought the power cord to go with it, as I figured with any toy like this it would go through batteries like water, especially with my son, if it was going to be a toy he gravitated to.(I also bought batteries for when we are on the go) Thankfully, I bought the power cord and it was the last present he opened, This is a great toy, you can bring it out of the packaging, and just hand it over and they can start playing with it, instead of making them wait forever while you set it up. He had no problems figuring out how to work it, or how to get around with it. And the best thing was as soon as he went to bed, I was able to set it up for him and it had all of his information on it and it stored everything, so it wasn't like it erased it, and he had to start from the beginning of where he left off. Another great option is, I can watch his progress and it shows in great detail how he is doing, and if you have more then 1 child it will keep track of each child. The next thing I am going to be getting is the car charger, so I can save on the batteries, since we travel a lot. This has been the best purchase I have made in a very long time, when it has come to childrens electronics!

DystoniaMom
Ponca, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it!
1/2/2013

Customer review by Nova

4.0 stars 1/2/2013 by Nova
by Nova

I got this for my 4yr old for Christmas. Both my 4 adn 7 year old love it. I didn't buy any cartridges, since you can buy the games online, not have to worry about lost games this way. Added a 32gig SD card, and WOW! Just great. Have to get the power supply however, and for on the go in the car, definitely need the car adaptor. Only use batteries for outdoor use, or when you are at a restaurant and the kids are getting bored. Goes through batteries like crazy. Camera is great, have used it myself, even the videos. Do need to be in a well lighted area though. Not do good in dim light at all. My kids like it better than the Leappad. All in all, Glad I bought it for his present. I have just purchased a second one so the fighting over it will stop!

Nova
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Comment
1/20/2013

Customer review by Lori

5.0 stars 1/20/2013 by Lori
by Lori

We absolutely love this! I had done research for a learning tablet and we decided for the money and available options, this was the toy. I was surprised at how heavy it was at first. Along with the heaviness, the cost to buy options was surprising. We bought the headphones,reclyclable batteries and AC plug-in. We hope this is a toy they will outgrow. With all toys, making sure your children are taking care of it is important. We monitor how often/long our children play with this. If they had their choice, they would always pick this toy. What I like most is the fact that my girls can have the same games and do not have to share games if I purchase on-line. This ends up being a big savings and reduced headache. Overall, we love this toy.

Lori
Minneapolis MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Delete Function Is Still Too Easy to Do
1/3/2013

Customer review by Mom2boys

4.0 stars 1/3/2013 by Mom2boys
by Mom2boys

Purchased the original Innotab last year for my twin boys birthday when they turned 4. They loved it, but the biggest problem I had was their ability to delete the programs. Sure, I could go back into the Learning Lodge Navigator and put them back on, but it turned into a game for them. My one son would laugh hysterically with a big grin on his face and say "I'm deleting it". Needless to say I was thrilled to read that the Innotab2 had a function that made it difficult for them to delete downloaded items. Because of that feature alone, I upgraded them for Christmas. Within a matter of a week, my one son has already figured out, once again, how to delete things. He went from having 5 videos to none and I just got finished downloading them again for him. I really wish there was a way for Vtech to allow downloads to only be deleted via the Learning Lodge Navigator and not on the Innotab itself. Or as my husband suggested, having to put in a 2 or 3 digit code that the parent creates to prevent downloads from being deleted. Other than that flaw, I think it's a great product. They bring it everywhere and people are amazed at everything it can do. Within a week of purchasing the original Innotab, I went out and got rechargeable batteries. I have a total of 16 so we are never without batteries.

Mom2boys
Chicago, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Signing for babies?
8/31/2013

Customer review by mommyof3

4.0 stars 8/31/2013 by mommyof3
by mommyof3

I love,love,love that you are making videos available that teach sign language for babies. Thank you, but I have an eight year old that could really use close caption or some type of captions in the videos. Even though she is eight, her learning is a couple of years behind because of her deafness. And been able to pick games,e-books and videos that fit her learning level is awesome. She is very smart and loves her InnoTab2. She got her first one when she was six. She turns nine in October and I am up grading to the WI-FI Inno Tab on her birthday. I hope it runs a little faster than the other Inno Tabs. Thank you once again. :-)

mommyof3
Covina, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Number of children:3
Battery Eater
12/29/2012

Customer review by Daddy dearest

1.0 stars 12/29/2012 by Daddy dearest
by Daddy dearest

Our daughter, who doesn't often play with any toy for a long period of time, keeps herself busy for a while with this one. The only problem is that we are replacing the batteries daily on this. For something that uses this much power, a rechargeable battery and charger included would be a way better idea than having to keep buying batteries for it. Sure, there is an adapter, as well as rechargeable batteries, available, but why should we have to fork out extra for these when the company, I'm sure, knows this thing blows through batteries like nobody's business? And because of this, I'd never buy one of these for anyone.

Daddy dearest
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
My son loves it
12/27/2012

Customer review by Mom of 4.

5.0 stars 12/27/2012 by Mom of 4.
by Mom of 4.

My 3 yr old just loves this. We got it for him for Christmas, as he had been begging for it. We looked at other educational and entertaining items like this, but none seemed to do as much. This has various ways of teaching, entertaining, and interacting with our son. He can't go more then 5-10 minutes without picking it up and playing on it. He has also been very responsible in making sure he turns it off when not playing with it, putting it up, being very careful with it, and has all around surprised us with how well he is doing with it. We couldn't be happier!

Mom of 4.
Nashville, TN.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Addition
2/24/2013

Customer review by Misti

5.0 stars 2/24/2013 by Misti
by Misti

My mother-in-law bought this for our daughter for Christmas and my father bought a couple games for her 4yr birthday a month later. My daughter absolutely loves it and can navigate it very easily. She's so entertained by it that she routinely cycles through the three game cartridges on her own. She has dropped it quite a few times with no problems afterwards. We've had it for 3 months and no problems yet. The battery life isn't as bad I expected via the reviews though rechargeables are still a must. Our batteries last about 4-5 days on average.

Misti
Oceanside, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews