Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 111 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

111 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

111 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
54
4 stars
23
3 stars
10
2 stars
3
1 stars
21
1-20 of 111 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 111 total reviews
1-20 of 111 reviews
Love the product but need a lighter shade
8/26/2016

Customer review by Redhead7

5.0 stars 8/26/2016 by Redhead7
by Redhead7

I love the light, sheer coverage of this powder foundation, but I have very fair skin and the color is not as fair as my skin-it is a bit orange-but I can get away with it in summer. In winter, there is no way. I truly hope a lighter shade becomes available. In fall I will have to switch back to another brand where their Classic Ivory has less pigment.

Redhead7
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
Excellent product, just needs more shade options.
8/10/2016

Customer review by Kycoffeequeen

4.0 stars 8/10/2016 by Kycoffeequeen
by Kycoffeequeen

I'm in love with the coverage and formula of this product, but I can only use it in the summer when I have a tan. I have extremely fair, sensitive, acne-prone, combination skin with a touch of rosacea and this has been one of the best, affordable foundations that I've found. It addresses all of my needs and helps my face look absolutely flawless!! Unfortunately, unless I have a bit of a tan, the Classic Ivory 10 shade is a too dark. I would love to see this line offer just one shade lighter. If they did, I would happily wear it year-round. I definitely recommend this product to anyone that can match the available shades. That is seriously my ONLY complaint about this product.

Kycoffeequeen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Female
All Time Fave!
8/9/2016

Customer review by Kikai

5.0 stars 8/9/2016 by Kikai
by Kikai

I used to be a Bare Minerals loyalist. Last year, I made the switch to Neutrogena Mineral Sheers. This is an excellent dupe to Bare Minerals in my opinion, with a much much better price! The finish is smooth and flawless. Not cakey at all and it doesn't settle into fine lines. Coverage is medium to full. It covers blemishes. I hope Neutrogena will keep this product for life without changing anything to it! Otherwise I'll cry! Love it! <3

Kikai
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Female
Love it!
8/1/2016

Customer review by Katherine

5.0 stars 8/1/2016 by Katherine
by Katherine

I have been using this product for years and I hope they don't ever change it. I am a 30 something year old and I love the healthy glow it gives me. It does not sink into the creases and fine lines that seem to be appearing overnight like foundation does. It is easy to apply and lasts about 5-7 hours. Neutragena, please don't ever change this formula!

Katherine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Dry
Gender:Female
Best Mineral Makeup for Coverage
5/22/2012

Customer review by Claudia

5.0 stars 5/22/2012 by Claudia
by Claudia

I have used this makeup for several years now and continue to be amazed by how well it covers redness and imperfections. I brush it all over my face and then put a bit extra on any red spots using a tiny cosmetic brush if needed. It blends in so well and stays matte throughout the day which is perfect for my oily t-zone. It is not shiny at all despite having mica in it. It evens out my skin tone and hides imperfections (maybe the mica helps with this). I feel like I'm not wearing any makeup at all. I have tried other mineral makeups and nothing comes close to this product. I've read some of the posts about how hard it is to use and maybe it would help if Neutrogena did a video showing how to do it. Personally I don't think it's hard to use at all. Just remove the inner cup and brush. Reclose it and tap it. Open and swirl the brush in the powder. Tap several times and apply. Sometimes some powder gathers on the rim but that can be gathered up with the regular brush. No big deal. Easy. Love this product!

Claudia
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I like it alot
6/29/2016

Customer review by grandma8

5.0 stars 6/29/2016 by grandma8
by grandma8

I cant find my color in the stores been to a lot of them I hope you put it back out

grandma8
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Female
Found it! Says 'Improved Formula' on container...
9/2/2012

Customer review by 2Maines

5.0 stars 9/2/2012 by 2Maines
by 2Maines

I was starting to get a bit heartsick that this was a discontinued product. I went to so many stores & the shelves were empty of the loose powder formulation. I actually found it at a local Wegmans in my area. I noticed it said 'improved formula.' I haven't tried it yet since I'm squeezing the last of what I have left in the one I currently have. I only noticed there was 1 ingredient added & a few ingredients that only shifted a little on ingredients listing. Whew! I'm glad it was improved & not discontinued. I love this mineral foundation & it has nice buildable coverage that does not dry out my sensitive skin. The coverage is perfect for me & has never irritated my face. The only thing that bothers me is the expiration date! It used to be inscribed on the side of the jar with easy to understand expiration dates & now it has #'s & a letter (???) Can anyone at Neutrogena explain how to decipher?

2Maines
Cambria, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So Easy
4/26/2016

Customer review by 6doghouse

5.0 stars 4/26/2016 by 6doghouse
by 6doghouse

Love this product. It's like wearing nothing but it makes my face look smooth and natural.

6doghouse
Norman, OK
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
Lightweight
3/31/2016

Customer review by Isabow&

5.0 stars 3/31/2016 by Isabow&
by Isabow&

Have used other loose mineral powders in the past, this is by far the one of the best. Would recommend to others.

Isabow&
Orange County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal
(AMAZING PRODUCT!) What's the big deal?
12/19/2011

Customer review by frozencomets

5.0 stars 12/19/2011 by frozencomets
by frozencomets

It's the second time I purchase this product and I totally love it! The product goes on very well and I've received nice compliments when wearing it. It makes my skin glow and makes it look very clean and natural. I honestly like the new container and I like the brush as well. I like the white bristles a lot because they go on very softly when applying the product on my face. I say "white bristles" just because I really prefer this color for the brush (just my personal preference). If people weren't so messy with the container, you would know to shake it lightly and use all the product left in the dispenser area. Their wouldn't be a mess and if their was some left, you can always carefully put it back in the container, it's a matter of laziness. This has got to be one of my favorite loose powder foundations ever! I'm a male by the way ;)

frozencomets
Chicopee, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
easy to blend nice foundation
2/29/2016

Customer review by Chris F

5.0 stars 2/29/2016 by Chris F
by Chris F

This is a great powder foundation. Good 'loose' powder is hard to find and it seems everybody else is selling compact powder foundation. I always find loose powder goes on smoothly and looks so much more natural than the compact ones. This foundation provides decent coverage, enough that I can even skip liquid foundation. Wonderful.

Chris F
Hillsborough NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Dry
Gender:Female
Great powder!
3/6/2016

Customer review by m3clover

5.0 stars 3/6/2016 by m3clover
by m3clover

I really like this powder! Am suprised how soft it makes your face feel. Doesn't give much in the way of coverage, but it just feels SOOO good on your face!

m3clover
Semora, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
not for me
10/7/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 10/7/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This product did not work for me. I bought the lightest color available and it was too dark for my pale skin. After applying the powder, it looked caked on my face even though I didn’t feel like I had used that much. It made my pores appear much larger than normal. It seemed to settle in my fines lines on my face. I love Neutrogena products but this one was disappointing because it simply didn’t work for me but like all products it probably works perfectly well for a lot of other people. I rated the quality high because in general, Neutrogena products are high quality and this one is no different even though it didn’t work for me. I rated the value high because I bought it on sale on the Neutrogena website and thought it was a good value even though it didn’t work for me.

An anonymous customer
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love the powder, hate the container.
9/20/2011

Customer review by ilovesephora

4.0 stars 9/20/2011 by ilovesephora
by ilovesephora

I used to use Bareminerals Matte Powder Foundation, but I wanted something less pricey, but not of horrible quality. Neutrogena is the only drugstore brand I trust, so I decided to look for a powder here. I LOVE this so much. It's sheer, but if you use a concealer brush or your finger and dab it on blemishes, it works as a great cover-up. It adds an amazing glow that lasts all day. The SPF helps, too. The brush that comes with this packaging isn't that great. I would recommend a powder/bronzer brush or a kabuki brush to apply this product. The powder sometimes spills, but if you use the brush tray and close it tightly, you shouldn't have any problems. Overall, I think that this foundation was worth it, and I will definitely be buying this again.

ilovesephora
Lexington, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best sheer foundation
11/12/2011

Customer review by Nor Cal Girl

5.0 stars 11/12/2011 by Nor Cal Girl
by Nor Cal Girl

I LOVE this product. I used to not wear makeup, then tried liquid foundation, but could never find the perfect balance between natural-looking coverage and not feeling mask-like. I didn't want to go to a department store (way overpriced and always smelly) so I tried this product. It gives me a sheer coverage which makes my skin glow without looking like I am wearing anything. I can layer the coverage if I need more for a party, etc. I kind of liked the old package, but didn't think the brush was great quality (sensitive skin, some brushes just feel too rough). I bought my own kabuki brush for application. I highly recommend this product. ps- I've never felt moved to write a product review before, but this product is worth it!

Nor Cal Girl
Santa Rosa, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not very impressed
11/18/2012

Customer review by Hxthomas

3.0 stars 11/18/2012 by Hxthomas
by Hxthomas

I am 21 years old and only started developing acne within the past year or so. I have used many brands of makeup but I wanted to try this product because I've heard good things about the makeup by Neutrogena. First of all, I was disappointed by the packaging. It's a huge mess to use and you end up losing a lot of powder just by applying the product. Also, I have very fair skin and even the lightest shade was too pink for me. I did actually like the way this foundation made my skin look immediately after applying it - I had a nice, even, dewy complexion. HOWEVER, throughout the day the makeup seemed to disappear and settle as oil on my skin, and at that point it seems like layering on more would only be detrimental.

Hxthomas
Little Rock
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Female
Package changed...same great product
1/5/2012

Customer review by MG112

4.0 stars 1/5/2012 by MG112
by MG112

I am shocked by all the 1 star reviews simply because the packaging with the brush has changed! I have tried the old packaging and admit it was more convenient but the problem with the brush in the old packaging is that it could not be removed for cleaning. For me, it is more important to have a loose brush that I can wash to remove all the bacteria and oil that has collected from constant use. ...Now about the actual product itself. I think it works very well for my skin (sensitive, possible rosacea). It gives me good coverage, blends well with my skin tone and doesn't feel cakey. I also think for the price, it is a great value when compared with the more popular brands of mineral make-ups. Great product!

MG112
Orlando, FL
Oily t-zone
3/26/2015

Customer review by Texas

4.0 stars 3/26/2015 by Texas
by Texas

I have been using this product for about 3 years maybe longer. I have very oily tzone skin. When I first apply the powder it looks flawless on my face but within 3 hours my face starts looking shiny. I have to reapply at least twice more before I make it back home after work. Where I live we have very high humidity that may be part of the problem. The colors are great I use 30 and 40 for the most part but since I spend a lot of time outdoors 50 during the summer is my choice. I m Hispanic with medium complexion. I have mild redness on my cheeks and this powder makes it a lot less noticeable not only because of the coverage but because the ingredients are soothing to my skin.

Comment from Neutrogena® - 3/26/2015

Hello and thanks for taking the time to write a review for one of our cosmetic products! We're glad to hear that you're happy with this product. We would like to learn a little bit more about your experience with this product. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048 between the hours of 8am-8pm ET Monday through Friday. We can't wait to hear from you!

Texas
Corpus Christi tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
Bring back the original product/package
4/9/2011

Customer review by j

3.0 stars 4/9/2011 by j
by j

I used to purchase this product in the original container with the attached applicator brush. It was convenient and compact to carry around. This new round package is more cumbersome and messy. I also cannot figure out the exact match for the old color number. I used to purchase #04 and cannot find which of the current colors is its equivalent. None of them seem to be an exact match. Can anyone shed some light on this? Also, the original product made my skin glow. This new product does not. This new version is not as good as the original, but I still use it because I have rosacea and I am limited to mineral products. Any chance you will bring back the original mineral sheer product and packaging?

j
H
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just as good as more expensive brands
3/13/2015

Customer review by swksmom

5.0 stars 3/13/2015 by swksmom
by swksmom

To help with acne, I initially started out using another brands mineral powder. Problem I had is that the minimum auto ship required by "members" was way more than I needed/wanted, and very costly. I switch to another brand that I liked (their acne products), that auto shipped to "members" as well. They were more affordable, but they discontinued the mineral powder. So, upon extensive research I stumbled upon Neutrogena and I couldn't be happier. It works GREAT!!! No acne from the product and is so much more affordable. I use a clear primer before applying the powder and it stays all day! The ONLY think I don't care for is the make up brush included with the powder.

swksmom
SW Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Female
1-20 of 111 total reviews
1-20 of 111 reviews