Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 140 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

140 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

140 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

72%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
59
4 stars
35
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 stars
30
1-20 of 138 total reviews
72%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 138 total reviews
1-20 of 138 reviews
Good Saw for the Money
7/27/2013

Customer review by DogDeals

5.0 stars 7/27/2013 by DogDeals
by DogDeals

We had some large trees in the yard that were dying and needed to be cut down. I have a Polan 16" saw that is 12 years old but it was too small for this job. I purchased this 18" saw sight unseen but was hopeful that it would be good based on a few other reviews and my 16" Polan saw has been so good. There are many things that impressed me about this saw so let me begin. First it comes with a nice plastic carrying case that looks like it will last for a long time. It comes with a nice chain/bar all in one adjusting tool. Very handy! It also came with a quart of bar oil and a small container of 2-cycle oil to mix up one gallon of gasoline. Polan has improved this saw from my 16 inch model of over a decade ago. It has an rubber isolator that absorbs the vibration of the saw engine from the handle/body of the saw. The lack of after sawing arm buzzing is fantastic! There is also detailed instructions about starting the engine cold, hot, or in between. This is a big help when the engine is hot and you need to stop it to refuel. Follow the instructions as they actually work! No problems starting it cold or hot. I do have one negative item and that is the chain. The chain is not as heavy duty as my 16 inch model. It will not forgive you if you let the chain become loose in the slightest bit. I let it get just a little bit loose and the gear cogs on the inside of the chain stripped ruining my first chain with just a little over one hour of use. Bought a 2-pack chain set at Lowes (my Walmart store didn't have any spare 18 inch chains) installed a new chain in a matter of minutes and was back in business. Checked my chain every 10-15 minutes of use and had no more problems. With any small engine driven device it is possible to get a lemon but as it stands right now I am a very satisfied Polan brand repeat buyer. I attached a picture of this saws first job (if it attaches)

Was this review helpful? (36) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DogDeals
Jacksonvill AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great Chainsaw
2/22/2013

Customer review by kiffy56

5.0 stars 2/22/2013 by kiffy56
by kiffy56

This is the 2nd Poulan Chain Saw owned. The first was purchased about 6 years ago and still works great, but needed an 18", the old one being only 14". Purchased this from Wal-Mart online, picked up in store. My husband was using this within 20 minutes of my arriving home with it and has been using it every week at least twice, generally three times a week since last spring. We also heat our house with wood, so my husband cuts a lot of wood. Plus, in his spare time he does tree trimming and removal so this chain saw has had almost a year of extensive wood cutting and it is still performing excellently.

Was this review helpful? (52) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kiffy56
Waco, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great saw
5/14/2013

Customer review by CUTEMUP

5.0 stars 5/14/2013 by CUTEMUP
by CUTEMUP

The saw performed perfectly right out of the box. Assembly of the bar/chain was simple. After following the starting instructions (IMPORTANT! as with all 2 cycle engines) it fired right up and cut several trees into firewood.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CUTEMUP
Camden, Ar.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not what I expected
10/21/2013

Customer review by vboss

2.0 stars 10/21/2013 by vboss
by vboss

The saw motor itself runs great, however the first bar and chain didn't last long at all, at 40 bucks each for new bar and chain that can get expensive. I dunno if they put cheapo blades on them new, but after about two weeks of light cutting the chain and blade are shot, I used the bar and chain oil as specified, I can't see this being a viable option if the chains and bars wear out so fast. If you wanna do a fair amount of cutting go with Stihl or Echo.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vboss
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Don't purchase
7/21/2013

Customer review by Avoidthis1

1.0 stars 7/21/2013 by Avoidthis1
by Avoidthis1

Horrid product, warning you, this is not a long term use chain saw. I have owned two of them and both ended the same way. The assembly clutch drum on the saw is cheap metal, the chain will eat away at the drum causing a groove which damages the chain, once these grooves start then its over. It will damage every chain and will not fit in the bar properly. Not sure how others can rate this as a good product.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Avoidthis1
KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great Chain Saw for a beginner.
12/8/2013

Customer review by nanswam

5.0 stars 12/8/2013 by nanswam
by nanswam

We had a wind storm and several huge branches broke off of one of our trees. It fell on the neighbor's fence and was so heavy it couldn't be budged. We used the chain saw to take off the branches and it made it manageable so that we could remove it from the fence. We also used it to cut all the branches into smaller pieces. It worked great, started up easily and easy for a female to use. I would recommend it for this type of use.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nanswam
Bonne Terre, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Major disappointment from Poulan
2/2/2013

Customer review by HiredGuns

1.0 stars 2/2/2013 by HiredGuns
by HiredGuns

I have been an exclusive Poulan user most of my life. When my last Poulan finally gave up the ghost 3 weeks ago I decided I would just go ahead and buy a new one. I chose the PP4218A as it was the closest to the saw that I already had that had served me so well for so many years. So I bought my new saw on Friday night. Saturday morning assembled it and headed out to cut firewood to heat my home. 30 minutes into cutting the saw let out a clank and died. Never to start again. I returned it and exchanged for another one just like it. Thinking the first was just a fluke. Next morning I grab my new saw ( still in the box) to assemble it. Open everything up and there is no bar or chain. Now I have another 20 mile drive to go and return this one and yet another day of no wood cutting. I highly doubt I'll be buying another Poulan from Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (11) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HiredGuns
NW Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great!!!
5/14/2014

Customer review by JeepFreak06

5.0 stars 5/14/2014 by JeepFreak06
by JeepFreak06

This saw works excellent. Fires right up every time.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JeepFreak06
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Joke
1/17/2015

Customer review by ARealpersona

2.0 stars 1/17/2015 by ARealpersona
by ARealpersona

Made it through one tree with a number of issues before the chain tension screw snapped. As soon as it you get it, you will realize why so many places sell this one cheap. Save your money. This thing was a waste of time from start to finish, which wasn't very long. Ran poorly, inconsistent starts. I never had a good session with it. Small parts are poorly made and will break and hopefully not injure you. If this is your first chain saw, do not even think about it as it will give you a host of issues. Buy a real chain saw and leave this one on the shelf. Garbage

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ARealpersona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Junk. Expensive junk. Beware. Total junk.
6/23/2014

Customer review by scottb9220

1.0 stars 6/23/2014 by scottb9220
by scottb9220

Bought this model on a Saturday morning to remove a tree that had fallen onto the drive way. Ran well first hour. Then began shutting off due to no idle. Let it cool down. Cleaned and refilled bar/chain oil and gas mixture. Would not start. Followed instructions in troubleshooting section of manual. Still would not start. Called Customer Service number provided. No answer. Only work weekdays. Returned unit to store. Exchanged for same model/new machine. Assembled. Added fluids. New gas/oil mixture. Started immediately. Ran for about two hours. Same problems repeated. Cut off due to no idle. Would not start. Called it a day. Cleaned machine again. Next day would not start.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scottb9220
Would recommend to a friend? No
Dbobby0218
7/24/2014

Customer review by Dbobby0218

5.0 stars 7/24/2014 by Dbobby0218
by Dbobby0218

Cut 16plus inch red oak! Never stalled bogged down etc Cut it all up! Started right back up no problem! Keep it it clean take care of it good saw!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dbobby0218
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Saw for the money
5/28/2015

Customer review by PUPPY

5.0 stars 5/28/2015 by PUPPY
by PUPPY

This saw works as advertise. 18in bar and strong engine. It bogged down when I first got it. I went out and bought the screw driver that fits the jets screws and fixed it in no time at all. It cuts wood like a hot knife in butter. If someone tells you, you bought a cheap saw just smile, say yes I did and out cut him all day long !!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PUPPY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Powerful But Lower Quality and Leaks Bar Oil
5/29/2014

Customer review by daman4469

3.0 stars 5/29/2014 by daman4469
by daman4469

Got this saw out the door for 160 bucks. I usually buy top notch tools but due to only using a chainsaw twice or 3 times a year, I went the money-saving route. Saw did not come assembled. Attaching the bar is a pain. Gassed it up, added some bar oil, and off I went. The saw runs great; good power, idles well, but leaks bar oil like a siv. Not only when running, but after turned off too (after removing cap and re tightening to release the vacuum)...I had bar oil all over me, all over the saw, and all through the case after about 1 hour of use. Its a shame, as the saw runs like a champ. Chain, even after an hour of use, still kept loosening.....chain tightening is a pain via the soft-headed screw butted up against the bar (hard to get to). Unfortunately, the 'oil leak' is deemed normal by Poulan. It also causes sawdust to cling and cake all through the saw. Not uncommon for saws to leak a little bar oil, but this saw leaked like thats what it was made for. Heading to the Stihl dealer tomorrow to get a good saw. This one has power and runs great, but it will be sitting in the back of my garage from now on while I use my Stihl.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
daman4469
Would recommend to a friend? No
Poulan Pro 18# chainsaw
3/9/2015

Customer review by bary1331

2.0 stars 3/9/2015 by bary1331
by bary1331

A very temperamental piece of equipment. When I needed it the most, it would not start, and or die in the middle of the work. Took it to the mechanic, said he won't touch any chainsaw and recommended that I rent one when I need one! Especially, Poulan and the like according to him are disposable. I've tested different tricks. Seems like if I turn the red key on for about 3 to 4 minutes, then put the choke on for 20-30 seconds, and try to pull the starting cord back toward me (angled, and slowly, not sudden or fast), not straight up, it starts and runs fine!!! I tested various methods randomly, this has worked every time!!! You need to have high quality oil to mix with gas, cheap ones don't work with this finicky machine! Read a lot of comments on this and all sounded like my own experience. Good luck!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bary1331
Would recommend to a friend? No
The problem is, you can't use it!
5/11/2015

Customer review by Corky060666

1.0 stars 5/11/2015 by Corky060666
by Corky060666

I don't know if it is a good chainsaw because, in two years, mine has been used only twice. No one here is mentioning the fuel cap. To prevent cross-threading, Poulan uses an incredibly large thread. I guess it works, you can't cross-thread it because it won't screw to a secure close. Even after replacing the fuel cap, I can't close it, none of my relatives can close it, and none of my neighbors can close it. Don't take my word for it, just check it before you buy it: take the fuel cap off and then screw it back on three or four times. Odds are, you will buy something else. BTW: The only way you can contact Poulan is by the "Contact Us" phone number, but they don't answer. You are directed to hit zero to talk to an operator, but it is just a loop for the phone menu.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Corky060666
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't waste your money on junk.
5/19/2014

Customer review by roadrunnernyc

1.0 stars 5/19/2014 by roadrunnernyc
by roadrunnernyc

Have owned a Poulan Pro 4218 a little over 7 weeks. Using it to cut dead branches from some trees and take down some bushes on a 1/5 acre property. Right out of the box saw was hard to start and did not want to to stay running, finally got it started but does not idle, as soon as trigger is released it stalls. Have used this saw less than two hours total (intermittent cutting time), constantly stalls, will not idle, hard to start even when warmed up, have spent more time trying to start it than actually using it. Saw will not start at all now (used my battery operated reciprocal saw to finish up), I'll take it in for service but from other reviews I'm reading doubtful things will change.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
roadrunnernyc
Would recommend to a friend? No
good
6/19/2014

Customer review by chukkybasha

5.0 stars 6/19/2014 by chukkybasha
by chukkybasha

good

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chukkybasha
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/19/2013

Customer review by needaman

4.0 stars 3/19/2013 by needaman
by needaman

I hope it works good, no man to run it for me yet. Thats all..

Was this review helpful? (3) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
needaman
ashdown, ar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works just as advertised
6/12/2014

Customer review by Boudrou

5.0 stars 6/12/2014 by Boudrou
by Boudrou

A good, stout piece of equipment. I expect it to last beyond the warranty period.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Boudrou
Montrose, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
North Idaho camping saw
9/29/2013

Customer review by RGalgiani

5.0 stars 9/29/2013 by RGalgiani
by RGalgiani

I bought this saw a few years ago and we use it to cut wood when camping in the north idaho forest. It takes down trees and stands up to prolonged use while we are gathering wood for the duration of the trip. It was stolen out of my garage and I decided to buy another just like it.

RGalgiani
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 138 total reviews
1-20 of 138 reviews