Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 160 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

160 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

160 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

72%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
68
4 stars
40
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 stars
35
1-20 of 158 total reviews
72%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 158 total reviews
1-20 of 158 reviews
Good Saw for the Money
7/27/2013

Customer review by DogDeals

5.0 stars 7/27/2013 by DogDeals
by DogDeals

We had some large trees in the yard that were dying and needed to be cut down. I have a Polan 16" saw that is 12 years old but it was too small for this job. I purchased this 18" saw sight unseen but was hopeful that it would be good based on a few other reviews and my 16" Polan saw has been so good. There are many things that impressed me about this saw so let me begin. First it comes with a nice plastic carrying case that looks like it will last for a long time. It comes with a nice chain/bar all in one adjusting tool. Very handy! It also came with a quart of bar oil and a small container of 2-cycle oil to mix up one gallon of gasoline. Polan has improved this saw from my 16 inch model of over a decade ago. It has an rubber isolator that absorbs the vibration of the saw engine from the handle/body of the saw. The lack of after sawing arm buzzing is fantastic! There is also detailed instructions about starting the engine cold, hot, or in between. This is a big help when the engine is hot and you need to stop it to refuel. Follow the instructions as they actually work! No problems starting it cold or hot. I do have one negative item and that is the chain. The chain is not as heavy duty as my 16 inch model. It will not forgive you if you let the chain become loose in the slightest bit. I let it get just a little bit loose and the gear cogs on the inside of the chain stripped ruining my first chain with just a little over one hour of use. Bought a 2-pack chain set at Lowes (my Walmart store didn't have any spare 18 inch chains) installed a new chain in a matter of minutes and was back in business. Checked my chain every 10-15 minutes of use and had no more problems. With any small engine driven device it is possible to get a lemon but as it stands right now I am a very satisfied Polan brand repeat buyer. I attached a picture of this saws first job (if it attaches)

Was this review helpful? (52) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DogDeals
Jacksonvill AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
It won't cooperate
7/3/2014

Customer review by SpynCycle

5.0 stars 7/3/2014 by SpynCycle
by SpynCycle

I bought a 260 model, the old name for this line of saws, back in 2000 to learn on. I cut 3 to 4 face cords every year. My intention was to replace it with a "Real Saw" in a couple of years after it died. I have misused and abused this saw in every way imaginable. I have on numerous occasions run the chain into the dirt and against rocks. I do a poor job of mixing oils & gas. I leave fuel in it and the next season crank it up and run it on the fuel that has been sitting in it for months. I have had to replace the bar 3 times, once for a bad sprocket, but twice because I bent the bar trying to get it unstuck after binding in a tree. I did replace the air filter and spark plug last year, after 13 years, because it just seemed that they should be replaced after that much time, and this year I had to replace one fuel line that cracked. I keep waiting for it to die so that I can get a "Real Saw". Who knows, perhaps this is the "Real Saw". If it ever does die, I'll probably get the larger 50cc model.

SpynCycle
Huntsville, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great chainsaw so far
11/5/2015

Customer review by shannon910

5.0 stars 11/5/2015 by shannon910
by shannon910

So I was skeptical as this is an economy chainsaw according to consumer reports. There have been numerous reviews of people who have difficulty using it. It is an air cooled engine, so use a tank of gas and let it rest until it is no longer hot. The worst thing to do is use continually without letting it cool. Keep an eye on the bar and chain oil as well. I have cut 20+ BIG cypress trees and it still starts on the third pull when cold. Slices right through trees. Still on my first chain (have sharpened a few times). It does tend to want to choke out when it gets hot or lower on gas (not sure if it is a heat issue or maybe holding the saw so it doesn't deliver gas) but starts right up in 2-3 pulls of the cord. I bought the extended warranty for 2 yrs. for $15. I have another 20+ trees to go, but most are much smaller.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shannon910
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Chainsaw
2/22/2013

Customer review by kiffy56

5.0 stars 2/22/2013 by kiffy56
by kiffy56

This is the 2nd Poulan Chain Saw owned. The first was purchased about 6 years ago and still works great, but needed an 18", the old one being only 14". Purchased this from Wal-Mart online, picked up in store. My husband was using this within 20 minutes of my arriving home with it and has been using it every week at least twice, generally three times a week since last spring. We also heat our house with wood, so my husband cuts a lot of wood. Plus, in his spare time he does tree trimming and removal so this chain saw has had almost a year of extensive wood cutting and it is still performing excellently.

Was this review helpful? (75) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kiffy56
Waco, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Poulan Pro 18# chainsaw
3/9/2015

Customer review by bary1331

2.0 stars 3/9/2015 by bary1331
by bary1331

A very temperamental piece of equipment. When I needed it the most, it would not start, and or die in the middle of the work. Took it to the mechanic, said he won't touch any chainsaw and recommended that I rent one when I need one! Especially, Poulan and the like according to him are disposable. I've tested different tricks. Seems like if I turn the red key on for about 3 to 4 minutes, then put the choke on for 20-30 seconds, and try to pull the starting cord back toward me (angled, and slowly, not sudden or fast), not straight up, it starts and runs fine!!! I tested various methods randomly, this has worked every time!!! You need to have high quality oil to mix with gas, cheap ones don't work with this finicky machine! Read a lot of comments on this and all sounded like my own experience. Good luck!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bary1331
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great saw
5/14/2013

Customer review by CUTEMUP

5.0 stars 5/14/2013 by CUTEMUP
by CUTEMUP
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The saw performed perfectly right out of the box. Assembly of the bar/chain was simple. After following the starting instructions (IMPORTANT! as with all 2 cycle engines) it fired right up and cut several trees into firewood.

Was this review helpful? (33) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CUTEMUP
Camden, Ar.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice Saw, but shop around
4/14/2016

Customer review by Jesse

4.0 stars 4/14/2016 by Jesse
by Jesse

Poulan makes a nice chain saw - many features for the $. It replaced an older smaller model. Poulan's now owned by Husqvarna. My only regret is I didn't shop around enough - a day after I purchased this saw it was available at Tractor supply at $50 less.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jesse
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Don't purchase
7/21/2013

Customer review by Avoidthis1

1.0 stars 7/21/2013 by Avoidthis1
by Avoidthis1

Horrid product, warning you, this is not a long term use chain saw. I have owned two of them and both ended the same way. The assembly clutch drum on the saw is cheap metal, the chain will eat away at the drum causing a groove which damages the chain, once these grooves start then its over. It will damage every chain and will not fit in the bar properly. Not sure how others can rate this as a good product.

Was this review helpful? (23) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Avoidthis1
KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Powerful But Lower Quality and Leaks Bar Oil
5/29/2014

Customer review by daman4469

3.0 stars 5/29/2014 by daman4469
by daman4469

Got this saw out the door for 160 bucks. I usually buy top notch tools but due to only using a chainsaw twice or 3 times a year, I went the money-saving route. Saw did not come assembled. Attaching the bar is a pain. Gassed it up, added some bar oil, and off I went. The saw runs great; good power, idles well, but leaks bar oil like a siv. Not only when running, but after turned off too (after removing cap and re tightening to release the vacuum)...I had bar oil all over me, all over the saw, and all through the case after about 1 hour of use. Its a shame, as the saw runs like a champ. Chain, even after an hour of use, still kept loosening.....chain tightening is a pain via the soft-headed screw butted up against the bar (hard to get to). Unfortunately, the 'oil leak' is deemed normal by Poulan. It also causes sawdust to cling and cake all through the saw. Not uncommon for saws to leak a little bar oil, but this saw leaked like thats what it was made for. Heading to the Stihl dealer tomorrow to get a good saw. This one has power and runs great, but it will be sitting in the back of my garage from now on while I use my Stihl.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
daman4469
Would recommend to a friend? No
Poulan Pro 18" Model# PP4218A "EXCELLENT CHAIN SAW"
6/21/2014

Customer review by Jeff1967

5.0 stars 6/21/2014 by Jeff1967
by Jeff1967

To: Anyone Needing a Great Product, I have owned several chain saws over the years. And I just have to share, that "this" Poulan Pro 18" Chain Saw, Model# PP4218A is the absolute "BEST CHAIN SAW" I have EVER owned or used. It is a work horse !! It is very easy to start, and starts on the very "first pull". And it cuts like a dream. My daughter can even use this saw with ease, and start it too. Its a very safe saw as well. I really like all of the safety features incorporated into this chain saw also. I recommended the saw purchase to my neighbor, after he saw the ease in me using the saw. And after he tried my new chain saw out for just a few minutes. He ran right out and bought himself on too. I would recommend this saw to "anybody" that is in the market for a very well engineered and built chain saw. Because I am sure that "they" will be just as pleased as I am. Thank You Husqvarna Corporation for Building & Offering such an "Excellent" Brand Name & Product of Poulan Pro Products. Respectfully Signed: "Your Happiest Customers" ~Jeff & Lori (Oklahoma)

Jeff1967
Moore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Major disappointment from Poulan
2/2/2013

Customer review by HiredGuns

1.0 stars 2/2/2013 by HiredGuns
by HiredGuns

I have been an exclusive Poulan user most of my life. When my last Poulan finally gave up the ghost 3 weeks ago I decided I would just go ahead and buy a new one. I chose the PP4218A as it was the closest to the saw that I already had that had served me so well for so many years. So I bought my new saw on Friday night. Saturday morning assembled it and headed out to cut firewood to heat my home. 30 minutes into cutting the saw let out a clank and died. Never to start again. I returned it and exchanged for another one just like it. Thinking the first was just a fluke. Next morning I grab my new saw ( still in the box) to assemble it. Open everything up and there is no bar or chain. Now I have another 20 mile drive to go and return this one and yet another day of no wood cutting. I highly doubt I'll be buying another Poulan from Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (18) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HiredGuns
NW Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
The seems to preform as I expected.
10/22/2015

Customer review by tashbyh

4.0 stars 10/22/2015 by tashbyh
by tashbyh

I bought this saw to replace one that I had that was the same model. I got the saw at a very good price (under &150 including tax) I wasn't sure exactly what I was getting as the description was vague. However to my surprise it came with a case, chain oil & gas mixing oil. I've only used it twice. It cranks up fine when cold using the instructions & cranks fine when hot. It cuts as I expected . The the difference in the new saw & my old saw is the chain tension adjuster. The new saw you have to loosen 2 bolts & use a screw driver to adjust the tension. I would not recommend this saw for large logs, but for 18" diameter & smaller it would be fine. I can't say it cuts through the logs like butter but it does ok. If one is a moderate user & can get this saw for this price I say go for it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tashbyh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The problem is, you can't use it!
5/11/2015

Customer review by Corky060666

1.0 stars 5/11/2015 by Corky060666
by Corky060666

I don't know if it is a good chainsaw because, in two years, mine has been used only twice. No one here is mentioning the fuel cap. To prevent cross-threading, Poulan uses an incredibly large thread. I guess it works, you can't cross-thread it because it won't screw to a secure close. Even after replacing the fuel cap, I can't close it, none of my relatives can close it, and none of my neighbors can close it. Don't take my word for it, just check it before you buy it: take the fuel cap off and then screw it back on three or four times. Odds are, you will buy something else. BTW: The only way you can contact Poulan is by the "Contact Us" phone number, but they don't answer. You are directed to hit zero to talk to an operator, but it is just a loop for the phone menu.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Corky060666
Would recommend to a friend? No
great for around the house
11/19/2015

Customer review by josh

5.0 stars 11/19/2015 by josh
by josh

First off i have only had this chainsaw for a week so far. I rate it five stars because for the time ive used it has cut great once i got it running right. Out of the box mine would bog down on first cut but once i turned up the carb alittle to give it more gas it started cutting great. I have fell some pretty large trees so far. If your looking for a high end saw this one isnt for you because its not commercial grade. I have another 16" echo chainsaw and this brand has cut just as good. I dont expect it to last forever but we will see in time. In the time ive had the saw its down the job right. Cut little over a acre so far and i feel with any saw if gou maintain and read the manuel it will last.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
josh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Servicable with execptions
8/6/2012

Customer review by Odis1200

1.0 stars 8/6/2012 by Odis1200
by Odis1200

Purchased the PP4218 less than a year ago. Saw starts easy, brake worked good, cuts good, but it throws the chain, the sprocket puts burs on the drive link, it appears that the disk used to retain the chain on the drive sproket is not large enough in diamater to retain the chain. If any slack is in the chain it will come off. The chain has to be tightned after two cuts. The fuel cap takes two men and a boy to loosen and it is hard to replace, keeps crossthreading. Oil cap only needs a man and a boy to loosen but easly replaced. When changing cuting angle from verticle to horizontal the chain saw stops , but once started again it will run fine. I am in the process of finding a repair shop to see if the problems can be corrected. I bought this saw to replace the Poulan 16" I bought in 1991, which has not given me any problems just getting old, thinking I would get the same quality saw.

Odis1200
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Great Saw for the money
5/28/2015

Customer review by PUPPY

5.0 stars 5/28/2015 by PUPPY
by PUPPY

This saw works as advertise. 18in bar and strong engine. It bogged down when I first got it. I went out and bought the screw driver that fits the jets screws and fixed it in no time at all. It cuts wood like a hot knife in butter. If someone tells you, you bought a cheap saw just smile, say yes I did and out cut him all day long !!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PUPPY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
poulan pro chain saw
4/7/2016

Customer review by ajy1

5.0 stars 4/7/2016 by ajy1
by ajy1

Good chain saw for the price

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ajy1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
You get what you pay for!
2/27/2016

Customer review by Tori

1.0 stars 2/27/2016 by Tori
by Tori

I decided to go the cheap route hoping this chainsaw would last me a year, but it only lasted one week (used twice). If you are looking for a chainsaw to cut down flowers, bridle branches and vines.... this chainsaw is the chainsaw for you.

Was this review helpful? (4) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tori
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Chain Saw for a beginner.
12/8/2013

Customer review by nanswam

5.0 stars 12/8/2013 by nanswam
by nanswam
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We had a wind storm and several huge branches broke off of one of our trees. It fell on the neighbor's fence and was so heavy it couldn't be budged. We used the chain saw to take off the branches and it made it manageable so that we could remove it from the fence. We also used it to cut all the branches into smaller pieces. It worked great, started up easily and easy for a female to use. I would recommend it for this type of use.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nanswam
Bonne Terre, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good saw
12/12/2015

Customer review by Jeremy

5.0 stars 12/12/2015 by Jeremy
by Jeremy

Started right up following instructions, readily restarts when hot, with a good Oregon chain it's going through seasoned red oak like butter! Very happy with purchase

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jeremy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 158 total reviews
1-20 of 158 reviews