Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 111 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

111 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

111 reviews | 3 out of 5

53%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
37
4 stars
15
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 stars
42
1-20 of 106 total reviews
53%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 106 total reviews
1-20 of 106 reviews
Great Product!
3/12/2013

Customer review by sstar00868

5.0 stars 3/12/2013 by sstar00868
by sstar00868

My natural hair color was a dirty blonde, but the ends of my hair were lighter from a previous dye job about a year ago and I wanted to go straight blonde and wanted to give this product a try. So I bought 3 boxes of the "Lightest Cool Blonde" because the length of my hair is just above the middle of my back to be safe, but I only ended up needing 2 boxes. I didnt have any issues with the mixing process or the shape of the bottle or even the gloves, in spite of others comments. I started with the roots and sl-ow-ly worked my way to the ends since my roots were darker. After I applied all of the contents, I placed a plastic grocery bag over my hair and tied the handles in the back to hold in the heat to help the with the developing process. I didnt start my 30 minutes until I had the bag on my hair. After rinsing and conditioning and rinsing again, I applied a heat protected leave in conditioner and blew dry my hair. My hair was soft, shiny, and very natural looking all the way to the roots. The shade was almost spot on, plus it left some really nice low lights in the back of my hair which breaks up the solid blonde shade nicely. All said and done, my hair didnt look or feel like I had just dyed it, it felt nicely conditioned and smelled great.

Was this review helpful? (33) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sstar00868
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
devastated
7/2/2016

Customer review by Twister

1.0 stars 7/2/2016 by Twister
by Twister

I have been coloring my hair since I was a teenager. I'm 57 now. when I saw Olia I thought it would be great. I used for years Garnier and it had a little tube of fruit oil in it that I think helped keep my hair nourished. I had pretty , curly hair that I loved. I bought the Olia. First of all the bottle is absurd. I thought it was cute until I tried to use it. Its impossible to hold onto with the black, too small gloves. It kept popping out of my hands. I dropped it 4 times and got hair color all over. And as for my hair, well, it has never been curly since. It was so dry and damaged after I rinsed it out that I have been cutting it off little by little over the months. It is dead straight and still damaged , even after a year and a half. It literally destroyed my hair. Unbelievable that a hair color could do something like this to my hair. Every day I look at my hair and curse Olia.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Twister
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very disappointed!
5/13/2013

Customer review by strawberryale

1.0 stars 5/13/2013 by strawberryale
by strawberryale

I have been using Garnier Fructis color #66 - True Red for YEARS, so I was excited to see that Garnier had a new product. Well, now that I have colored and blow dried my awful looking hair, I have pulled it back into a ponytail and will be headed out to purchase my tried and true Fructis to fix this mess tomorrow. This product colors inconsistently - some of my hair is the correct color, and some of my hair is, well, not. It did not cover my gray hair (today is my 41st birthday, so my idea of having fresh hair for my birthday dinner tonight is out the window). It did not color my roots. The ends of my hair are a different color than the crown. It does not feel any more luxurious using an oil based color. As I said, I have been coloring my own hair for years, so I know how to do it so this is not operator error. I have never had my hair turn out this badly in the past. If you have a favorite hair color, please stick to it and DO NOT even attempt to try this product. You will regret it...

Was this review helpful? (23) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
strawberryale
Hampton, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Hate, Hate, Hate It!
2/16/2013

Customer review by DCE1

1.0 stars 2/16/2013 by DCE1
by DCE1

I have used Garnier Herbashine for over 10 years and have LOVED every time that I have colored my hair. I was totally devastated to find they are no longer going to be carrying it and we tried the new Olia product. I thought that packaging looked kinda cool and trendy and I thought okay, I'm going to be open-minded. Well...it started off bad and ended bad. I found the new packaging hard to read. The new formula has more steps. The new bottle is hard to hold, I dropped it twice. Once hitting my shirt getting dye on it and the other on a carpet. I don't like the new smell and it's too runny. I used this on my daughter's hair and she HAD lovely hair. When we were done her hair was dry and felt awful. This has NEVER EVER happened with the Herbashine. We had to do some really intense conditioning to try and have it feel even close to before we started. Will NEVER use this product ever again! I can't believe they pulled Herbashine and put this in it's place...a very bad move in my opinion!

Was this review helpful? (32) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DCE1
USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
AMAZING smell, Great coverage, GORG color!(:
1/28/2013

Customer review by SugarKW03

5.0 stars 1/28/2013 by SugarKW03
by SugarKW03

I got this because it's ammonia free and it said it would make the over-all look of my hair great. Soo switching from my usual brand I figured I would try this. I LOVE IT. Not only is the packaging cute and stylish but the gloves ACTUALLY hold up so my fingers didn't turn blue-black! I got the blackest black I could find on shelf and I love the color of it, it has like a pretty blue hue to it. It smelled reeally good going in and super easy to wash out. I only left mine in for 15 min and it looked sooo good. Also, the amount that comes in the package was PERFECT. Usually I have to buy 2 boxes to dye my hair because it's thick and comes right underneath my breasts but only 1 box of this was plenty enough and ran through my hair nicely. After using the conditioner it came with my hair felt and looked 10X better then before I started. I'm so excited to take pictures on this trip to Chicago next week, it's the best feeling to get a product that literally makes you feel waay better about how I look. Definitely buying again.

Was this review helpful? (48) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SugarKW03
Marinette, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Great product, difficult application.
1/20/2013

Customer review by 1stLakelady

2.0 stars 1/20/2013 by 1stLakelady
by 1stLakelady

Cons: It took too long to empty the tube of developer. I finally cut off the end of the tube and scooped it out. The supplied gloves (manufactured in China) were very tight and difficult to put on and remove. The applicator bottle, while beautiful in a very creative teardrop design, was a bit too wide making it almost impossible to hold onto with product on the gloves. Pros: The mixed lotion stayed exactly where it was applied with no burning (my very sensitive scalp), dripping, or running whatsoever. It has a lovely aroma and consistency. The final result was completely satisfactory with complete natural appearing gray coverage, lots of color dimension and highlights, leaving my hair silky soft. My husband even commented on the completely natural look. I respectfully suggest that the applicator bottle be made narrower, the gloves larger. and the developer be already in the applicator bottle, instead of in a separate tube. This was my first time using this product; I will definitely use it again.

Was this review helpful? (59) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1stLakelady
Lake Peekskill, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Awesome dye!
2/27/2013

Customer review by RainbowMistress

5.0 stars 2/27/2013 by RainbowMistress
by RainbowMistress

I normally use the Garnier Nutrisse light intense auburn dye for naturally dark hair,then I saw this recently and had to try it. I used the light intense auburn 6.60 shade,which is the same as the shade I was normally using. It smells lovely and doesn't leave that chemical smell in your hair for days.I personally had no issues holding the bottle,as other people have brought up. Just use a firm grip around the middle of it and you should be fine.I had no issues with the mixing or anything like that and I thought it was kind of neat that the gloves are black,rather than the normal clear you get with other dyes;the only con I would say is that the gloves are a tad small,but they still fit. The color came out just as nicely as the other dye by Garnier that I was using and went on nicely with no dripping. It left my hair super soft,shiny,and smelling great! I would definitely recommend this dye and I would say that if you are wary about it-just go for it! It's just hair dye and you can always fix it if you don't like it.It's worth a try.

Was this review helpful? (24) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RainbowMistress
Niceville,Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Improved my hair... seriously!
1/27/2013

Customer review by MissymeinTX

5.0 stars 1/27/2013 by MissymeinTX
by MissymeinTX

I was excited to see that Garnier had come out with an oil based/ammonia free product - - but I had seen a few bad reviews and was a little worried. I shouldn't have been!! This is a great product with virtually no smell that TOTALLY improved the condition of my hair. I color regularly and had highlights on top of that and was planning to go a little darker. I wanted a natural darker beige blond and the color 8.13 did just that. But the real added bonus was how wonderful it made my hair feel. It was soft, silky and full of shine both immediately and now 10 days later. Some of the other nice things about this product: - Gray coverage was excellent; looks very natural - The dye develops on your hair and seems to stay there; when rinsing, there was no nasty brown dye in the sink - Doesn't seem to fade or change color; the color I got right after use is the same now. The bad? Well, yeah, the gloves are a little tight, and I had to keep tapping the bottle to get all the color out and mixed with the developer, but these were really minor compared with the results. In summary, don't hesitate the try the product! I LOVED it!!

Was this review helpful? (63) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MissymeinTX
Santa Teresa, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
This turned my golden blonde hair GREEN
7/3/2016

Customer review by caniscreamnow

1.0 stars 7/3/2016 by caniscreamnow
by caniscreamnow

I was so disappointed and had to rush back to the drugstore to get my L'oreal 9GB or 9 1/2 BB. I mean, honestly now Garnier, GREEN? Since that disaster I've had to condition my hair every time I shampoo and I now leave some of the conditioner in the ends just so they don't frizz. I have never had a frizz problem. I've always had thick straight blonde hair but it's a mess now. Thanks but NO THANKS GARNIER! I will never buy your brand again. I gave you a chance and you blew it, badly.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
caniscreamnow
Would recommend to a friend? No
Does not do 100% gray coverage as noted
3/7/2013

Customer review by RareReviewer4all

3.0 stars 3/7/2013 by RareReviewer4all
by RareReviewer4all

I have less than 10% white strands. I color my hair professionally in the range of nr 7 color. Easy-hair to conform. This new box looked so good i decided to try. This is what i experienced. The shape of applicators looks good, but is not practical, so i made e preparation in a bowl. The developer should not be in that type of container/tube. I had to cut it in order to get the contents out. Other than this the experience is very good. I purchased the number seven. Application and the way it applies is very good. The color fill is very good, it matched and complemented my previous color impressively. The hair length became uniform in color. The bad: i have very few white hair, some of them are barely covered, and some of them are not at all covered after color stay of 31 minutes. I would forgive the applicator and such, that is something the company can improve, but the fact that it does not fully cover the white is a negative, despite the good job this does to unify color. Perhaps for those with no white at all?!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RareReviewer4all
CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Good and Bad.
9/24/2013

Customer review by Ashnicole93

3.0 stars 9/24/2013 by Ashnicole93
by Ashnicole93

I recently purchased this at Shoppers for 9 $ on sale. I was excited to try it because of its claims that it had no ammonia, and was 60 % flower oils. I am impressed with the fact that after dying my hair it was indeed softer and shinier. It hadn't been damaged at all, and possible felt better than it ever had. My number one issue with the product is the colour. I used the 9.0 light blonde, on already blonde hair with highlights, and my roots are a dirty blonde. My hair came out seemingly a bit darker. I didn't find it to be a light blonde at all, I would say it was more a honey blonde. Lastly I do not believe there is enough in here to cover a whole head of decent length hair. I never have issues dying my long, thick hair with one bottle but this didn't come with much product although it seemed to look like it would. For the regular price of 10-14 dollars depending on location, I would say there should be some improvements with this line.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ashnicole93
Kingsville, On
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Beware when making dramatic changes!
1/28/2013

Customer review by HoneyBadger77

4.0 stars 1/28/2013 by HoneyBadger77
by HoneyBadger77

My natural hair color is a dark brown that lightens as it gets exposure to the sun. I had been coloring my hair a light blonde. However, I was wanting to go back to something dramatic and dark, and my husband selected 4.60 - Dark Intense Auburn for me to go with. I had about one to two inches of roots showing when product was applied. When we went to mix the color, we were a bit taken aback at the developer being in a tube rather than in the bottle itself. It made things a bit awkward to mix as a result. On to the actual coloring! We all loved that there was no awful ammonia smell. My husband didn't get his usual headache and we were very happy with that portion of it. However when I went to rinse out the color, I glanced down at my hair for a preview of the color and my hair was PINK! Wow. I got out of the shower, and immediately dried my hair. The roots where my dark hair had been showing was a glorious vibrant auburn color, but as it went to the ends where it had been dyed blonde, the color washed out to a light pink. Had I been in the mood to be a punk rockstar type, it would have been awesome. But I'm in my 40s, so . . . I sent in a comment on the Garnier website, and when I was contacted by their team, they guided me through dying my hair in a couple of steps to achieve the color that I want, as well as refunding me my money for the purchase of the initial box of Olia. So I am gradually working my way to make it so that I can have the Olia color that I want, because the roots did look so stunning. And my hair was a whole lot nicer than normal after coloring, so I agree the product is all it's cracked up to be. Just don't try jumping from a blonde to a dark red - you'll end up with pink hair!

Was this review helpful? (53) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HoneyBadger77
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great Color, Difficult Applicator
2/14/2013

Customer review by MamaOfTwoTweens

4.0 stars 2/14/2013 by MamaOfTwoTweens
by MamaOfTwoTweens

This color is really pretty, and very nice to your hair. There are no strong smells, and the oil definitely protected my hair. It was easy to rinse out, and left my hair feeling smooth and nice, which is not true for most other colors. The only quarrel I have with this is the shape of the applicator bottle - it is cute looking, but REALLY tough to hold on to, at least if you have small hands like I do. I found it much more difficult to get the color out than I normally do. That said, I'm buying again, because of how it did with my hair.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MamaOfTwoTweens
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
6.60 ROCKS!!!!
2/26/2013

Customer review by poocky1977

5.0 stars 2/26/2013 by poocky1977
by poocky1977

I love love loooove the light intense auburn, it was easy to apply, only 30 mins. and in return you get a BEAUTIFUL color and the shine and softness will impress you!!! If you're not sure about what product to get, give it a shot, for the price, the quality and above all NO AMMONIA!!!!!! Which means NO PROBLEMS!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
poocky1977
liberty,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
So disappointed!
2/18/2013

Customer review by momof2angels

1.0 stars 2/18/2013 by momof2angels
by momof2angels

I really loved the idea of a dye being oil based but Garnier got it wrong. First, the packaging is horrible. All the bottles and containers are difficult to use. I wasted a lot of product due to the packaging flaws. Second, I was disappointed with my color results. I chose a color close to my natural hair color: dark blonde to medium golden blonde. My hair looks more orange than blonde, far from "golden". Also, the oil did not help my hair at all. A small chunk of hair actually fell out in the shower when I rinsed the dye out. This has never happened with a dye before. My hair was and still is (days later) coarse and dry from the dye. My hair is normally fine and soft so this is a drastic change. The idea behind this product is great but Garnier needs to make some major improvements. Overall, I would not recommend this product to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (11) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momof2angels
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Horrible
5/13/2013

Customer review by renessmee

1.0 stars 5/13/2013 by renessmee
by renessmee

This is the worst hair color I have ever used. I was excited when I first saw this new hair color so i bought it for my daughter and I. First i did my daughters hair, she has medium length hair so I bought 2 boxes. I barely had enough color to finish. When we rinsed her hair out we coudnt even get a brush through it. Then when we dried her hair I was horrified to see blotches all over. A week later her hair still feels like straw. Needless to say my hair turned out the same and nothing like the color it was supposed to be. I've been coloring my hair for over 15 years and have never experienced this before.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
renessmee
St. Louis, Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
undecided
2/25/2013

Customer review by Julzi74

2.0 stars 2/25/2013 by Julzi74
by Julzi74

i got the red hair color 660 - i agree with other users bottle is hard to hold and easily slips out of hand especially when your hand is wet - gloves are tight which makes them hard to get off when they are wet with the dye - i rinsed and rinsed and rinsed my hair out and 1 week later my hair is still dripping color dye when i am done showering - i have to wear a grubby tshirt until my hair is dry otherwise it gets on my shirts ( i managed to get the color out with some vinegar and an oxyclean soak ) - i do like the feel of my hair - red dye is the hardest on hair and my hair doesn't look as dry and fried as other dyes have made it BUT i am not happy with the constant dripping of color 1 week later - i am undecided on whether i hate or love this product - right now i am a maybe as to whether i will use it again

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Julzi74
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Worst hair color ever
2/12/2013

Customer review by greenbird97

1.0 stars 2/12/2013 by greenbird97
by greenbird97

I have been using hair color for over 15 years. And thought I'd try this when I found it at Walmart. I have short hair, just above my shoulders. There was barely enough color to cover my hair. After waiting the 30 minutes for it to set in, I rinsed, and applied the conditioner. Once dry, my hair had blotches of the color. Almost passable, because it was a slightly redder shade of my own color and because it's winter and the sun isn't out much. By day three the greys I was trying to cover were all visable again, as if I had never colored my hair. Now I'm wondering if I have to wait to color again, or has this PERMENANT color washed out enough???? Don't waste your money, go for the Clairol 3.00 color instead. That is a much better value!

Was this review helpful? (13) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
greenbird97
Reno, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
New & Different product
4/24/2013

Customer review by OKIDOKEY

4.0 stars 4/24/2013 by OKIDOKEY
by OKIDOKEY
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I really liked the fact that this hair color wasn't harsh on my hair. The smell is nothing compared to the other permanent hair color products I have used. The scent is very light and nice. I was a little skeptical because of the oil in this product. I was concerned it may leave hair color on my towels each time in the future washings. Like the temporary rinse color treatments. Happy to say it does not leave color on them. I was a little surprised that the color was a little darker than the other hair colors I have used. I suggest that one should apply the product as stated. I have my own way of coloring and towards the end of applying the color I was worried I didn't have enough product. I was able to get the full application done. My hair was pretty dried out. I have a short to medium length and medium thickness. I will use this product now because it did leave my hair feeling a lot better than before.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OKIDOKEY
LAKE ELMO, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product
2/26/2013

Customer review by Sarh72

4.0 stars 2/26/2013 by Sarh72
by Sarh72

I have curly hair which gets dry. I can't go to the salon because no matter how much they say "it won't dry out your hair," the chemicals they use always leave my hair crispy. I've always loved Garnier because their conditioners for after you color are all caps AWESOME. Olia is a lot different than other coloring products. To get all the developer out, put the cap back on and shake and then squeeze. You'll need to do this a couple times. Don't leave it on long. The developer reacts to air. The gloves are tight and cheap. I have small hands and they were tight on me. That's something Garnier may want to consider. However, the end results are worth purchasing an extra set of latex gloves. Mixing the product requires to hands and vigorous shaking. Very vigorous. Between the gloves and mixing, I had to ding this product on star on ease of use and quality. This is on the high end of box treatments so the gloves shouldn't feel so cheap. They're not unlike Wal-mart shopping bags. The color goes on a bit differently. I usually get color everywhere. I found the applicator gave me great control on where I wanted the color to go. It parted my hair very well too. However, it's not immediately apparent what areas you have treated. After it builds up, you begin to see it. If you have long hair, have a tie on hand because your hair will not stay piled with this product. What else can I say. My hair felt great after using this product. It really does improve hair. It also smells yummy. I didn't have that dull burning sensation that I get with most hair coloring products either. It's a great product -- a game changer with hair color-- but it might take a little time to get used to it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sarh72
Nashville TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 106 total reviews
1-20 of 106 reviews