Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 104 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

104 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

104 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

56%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
37
4 stars
15
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 stars
35
1-20 of 99 total reviews
56%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 99 total reviews
1-20 of 99 reviews
Beware when making dramatic changes!
1/28/2013

Customer review by HoneyBadger77

4.0 stars 1/28/2013 by HoneyBadger77
by HoneyBadger77

My natural hair color is a dark brown that lightens as it gets exposure to the sun. I had been coloring my hair a light blonde. However, I was wanting to go back to something dramatic and dark, and my husband selected 4.60 - Dark Intense Auburn for me to go with. I had about one to two inches of roots showing when product was applied. When we went to mix the color, we were a bit taken aback at the developer being in a tube rather than in the bottle itself. It made things a bit awkward to mix as a result. On to the actual coloring! We all loved that there was no awful ammonia smell. My husband didn't get his usual headache and we were very happy with that portion of it. However when I went to rinse out the color, I glanced down at my hair for a preview of the color and my hair was PINK! Wow. I got out of the shower, and immediately dried my hair. The roots where my dark hair had been showing was a glorious vibrant auburn color, but as it went to the ends where it had been dyed blonde, the color washed out to a light pink. Had I been in the mood to be a punk rockstar type, it would have been awesome. But I'm in my 40s, so . . . I sent in a comment on the Garnier website, and when I was contacted by their team, they guided me through dying my hair in a couple of steps to achieve the color that I want, as well as refunding me my money for the purchase of the initial box of Olia. So I am gradually working my way to make it so that I can have the Olia color that I want, because the roots did look so stunning. And my hair was a whole lot nicer than normal after coloring, so I agree the product is all it's cracked up to be. Just don't try jumping from a blonde to a dark red - you'll end up with pink hair!

Was this review helpful? (48) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HoneyBadger77
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Improved my hair... seriously!
1/27/2013

Customer review by MissymeinTX

5.0 stars 1/27/2013 by MissymeinTX
by MissymeinTX

I was excited to see that Garnier had come out with an oil based/ammonia free product - - but I had seen a few bad reviews and was a little worried. I shouldn't have been!! This is a great product with virtually no smell that TOTALLY improved the condition of my hair. I color regularly and had highlights on top of that and was planning to go a little darker. I wanted a natural darker beige blond and the color 8.13 did just that. But the real added bonus was how wonderful it made my hair feel. It was soft, silky and full of shine both immediately and now 10 days later. Some of the other nice things about this product: - Gray coverage was excellent; looks very natural - The dye develops on your hair and seems to stay there; when rinsing, there was no nasty brown dye in the sink - Doesn't seem to fade or change color; the color I got right after use is the same now. The bad? Well, yeah, the gloves are a little tight, and I had to keep tapping the bottle to get all the color out and mixed with the developer, but these were really minor compared with the results. In summary, don't hesitate the try the product! I LOVED it!!

Was this review helpful? (55) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MissymeinTX
Santa Teresa, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
AMAZING smell, Great coverage, GORG color!(:
1/28/2013

Customer review by SugarKW03

5.0 stars 1/28/2013 by SugarKW03
by SugarKW03

I got this because it's ammonia free and it said it would make the over-all look of my hair great. Soo switching from my usual brand I figured I would try this. I LOVE IT. Not only is the packaging cute and stylish but the gloves ACTUALLY hold up so my fingers didn't turn blue-black! I got the blackest black I could find on shelf and I love the color of it, it has like a pretty blue hue to it. It smelled reeally good going in and super easy to wash out. I only left mine in for 15 min and it looked sooo good. Also, the amount that comes in the package was PERFECT. Usually I have to buy 2 boxes to dye my hair because it's thick and comes right underneath my breasts but only 1 box of this was plenty enough and ran through my hair nicely. After using the conditioner it came with my hair felt and looked 10X better then before I started. I'm so excited to take pictures on this trip to Chicago next week, it's the best feeling to get a product that literally makes you feel waay better about how I look. Definitely buying again.

Was this review helpful? (38) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SugarKW03
Marinette, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Great product, difficult application.
1/20/2013

Customer review by 1stLakelady

2.0 stars 1/20/2013 by 1stLakelady
by 1stLakelady

Cons: It took too long to empty the tube of developer. I finally cut off the end of the tube and scooped it out. The supplied gloves (manufactured in China) were very tight and difficult to put on and remove. The applicator bottle, while beautiful in a very creative teardrop design, was a bit too wide making it almost impossible to hold onto with product on the gloves. Pros: The mixed lotion stayed exactly where it was applied with no burning (my very sensitive scalp), dripping, or running whatsoever. It has a lovely aroma and consistency. The final result was completely satisfactory with complete natural appearing gray coverage, lots of color dimension and highlights, leaving my hair silky soft. My husband even commented on the completely natural look. I respectfully suggest that the applicator bottle be made narrower, the gloves larger. and the developer be already in the applicator bottle, instead of in a separate tube. This was my first time using this product; I will definitely use it again.

Was this review helpful? (46) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1stLakelady
Lake Peekskill, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Awful It turned my hair grey
2/1/2013

Customer review by Candixxxooo

1.0 stars 2/1/2013 by Candixxxooo
by Candixxxooo

I always get light blond for my roots as they are darker than my light ends I have been coloring my hair for years and know to stay away from ash tone color so when I used Olia 9.0 ( light blonde) I was in shock when it turned my hair steel gray on the whole length of my hair !

Was this review helpful? (25) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Candixxxooo
Greensboro,NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome dye!
2/27/2013

Customer review by RainbowMistress

5.0 stars 2/27/2013 by RainbowMistress
by RainbowMistress

I normally use the Garnier Nutrisse light intense auburn dye for naturally dark hair,then I saw this recently and had to try it. I used the light intense auburn 6.60 shade,which is the same as the shade I was normally using. It smells lovely and doesn't leave that chemical smell in your hair for days.I personally had no issues holding the bottle,as other people have brought up. Just use a firm grip around the middle of it and you should be fine.I had no issues with the mixing or anything like that and I thought it was kind of neat that the gloves are black,rather than the normal clear you get with other dyes;the only con I would say is that the gloves are a tad small,but they still fit. The color came out just as nicely as the other dye by Garnier that I was using and went on nicely with no dripping. It left my hair super soft,shiny,and smelling great! I would definitely recommend this dye and I would say that if you are wary about it-just go for it! It's just hair dye and you can always fix it if you don't like it.It's worth a try.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RainbowMistress
Niceville,Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Great Product!
3/12/2013

Customer review by sstar00868

5.0 stars 3/12/2013 by sstar00868
by sstar00868

My natural hair color was a dirty blonde, but the ends of my hair were lighter from a previous dye job about a year ago and I wanted to go straight blonde and wanted to give this product a try. So I bought 3 boxes of the "Lightest Cool Blonde" because the length of my hair is just above the middle of my back to be safe, but I only ended up needing 2 boxes. I didnt have any issues with the mixing process or the shape of the bottle or even the gloves, in spite of others comments. I started with the roots and sl-ow-ly worked my way to the ends since my roots were darker. After I applied all of the contents, I placed a plastic grocery bag over my hair and tied the handles in the back to hold in the heat to help the with the developing process. I didnt start my 30 minutes until I had the bag on my hair. After rinsing and conditioning and rinsing again, I applied a heat protected leave in conditioner and blew dry my hair. My hair was soft, shiny, and very natural looking all the way to the roots. The shade was almost spot on, plus it left some really nice low lights in the back of my hair which breaks up the solid blonde shade nicely. All said and done, my hair didnt look or feel like I had just dyed it, it felt nicely conditioned and smelled great.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sstar00868
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
If you do it right, I swear it's fantastic
5/10/2013

Customer review by Kararnmi

5.0 stars 5/10/2013 by Kararnmi
by Kararnmi

First of all, gather all the necessary supplies: if your hair is past your shoulders use TWO boxes of Olia, shower caps (2), at least two towels you don't mind ruining, a product called 'protein filler' (you can get this at any beauty supply store, get TWO bottles in a tint closest to the color of your Olia dye (two bottles of filler if your hair is long.) Protein filler only comes in a few choices, neutral, gold, red, and a blue or purple to put more "ash" tone on brassy or red hair. A large application squeeze bottle (larger than the one that comes with the Olia) You'll also need a wide tooth comb. Bring your laptop, book, magazine, phone ect in the bathroom because you'll be camped out for a couple hours doing this right, but hey, you'll save a $100 over going to the salon and hoping THEY get it right. Now, disregard the part in the hair dye instructions that says "apply on unwashed hair," that's a lie. It's an oil based product. So say you have conditioner, silicone smoothing products, ect in your hair, well the dye won't absorb properly in these areas of your hair. WASH your hair--DO NOT condition. Towel dry it. Then to even out the tone and porosity of your hair generously apply the protein filler, comb it through. Clip up your hair and shower cap it. Place a towel around your shoulders because this stuff will drip and run all over. Now entertain yourself in the bathroom for a solid half hour. Rinse your hair in cool tap water and blow dry it. DO NOT wash the filler out. Now mix both bottles of dye and activator in the larger squeeze bottle and shake vigorously. Saturate your hair and repeat the process of combing, clipping it up, and putting on the shower cap. This part doesn't drip and run as much. Leave it on for 50 minutes. Rinse out, blow dry, and soak up the compliments! Now, this product won't lighten your hair, if you have black hair it won't lift to blonde. Red shades are notorious for rinsing out quickly, even if you get it done professionally, you'll have to re-tint soon after. Olia is a better product for your hair and scalp, less damaging and drying. It's worth the time and effort. I went from platinum to light auburn and everyone says how "natural" it looks. What?? They didn't believe I was a natural blonde??

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kararnmi
michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Worst hair color ever
2/12/2013

Customer review by greenbird97

1.0 stars 2/12/2013 by greenbird97
by greenbird97

I have been using hair color for over 15 years. And thought I'd try this when I found it at Walmart. I have short hair, just above my shoulders. There was barely enough color to cover my hair. After waiting the 30 minutes for it to set in, I rinsed, and applied the conditioner. Once dry, my hair had blotches of the color. Almost passable, because it was a slightly redder shade of my own color and because it's winter and the sun isn't out much. By day three the greys I was trying to cover were all visable again, as if I had never colored my hair. Now I'm wondering if I have to wait to color again, or has this PERMENANT color washed out enough???? Don't waste your money, go for the Clairol 3.00 color instead. That is a much better value!

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
greenbird97
Reno, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Hate, Hate, Hate It!
2/16/2013

Customer review by DCE1

1.0 stars 2/16/2013 by DCE1
by DCE1

I have used Garnier Herbashine for over 10 years and have LOVED every time that I have colored my hair. I was totally devastated to find they are no longer going to be carrying it and we tried the new Olia product. I thought that packaging looked kinda cool and trendy and I thought okay, I'm going to be open-minded. Well...it started off bad and ended bad. I found the new packaging hard to read. The new formula has more steps. The new bottle is hard to hold, I dropped it twice. Once hitting my shirt getting dye on it and the other on a carpet. I don't like the new smell and it's too runny. I used this on my daughter's hair and she HAD lovely hair. When we were done her hair was dry and felt awful. This has NEVER EVER happened with the Herbashine. We had to do some really intense conditioning to try and have it feel even close to before we started. Will NEVER use this product ever again! I can't believe they pulled Herbashine and put this in it's place...a very bad move in my opinion!

Was this review helpful? (20) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DCE1
USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Very disappointed!
5/13/2013

Customer review by strawberryale

1.0 stars 5/13/2013 by strawberryale
by strawberryale

I have been using Garnier Fructis color #66 - True Red for YEARS, so I was excited to see that Garnier had a new product. Well, now that I have colored and blow dried my awful looking hair, I have pulled it back into a ponytail and will be headed out to purchase my tried and true Fructis to fix this mess tomorrow. This product colors inconsistently - some of my hair is the correct color, and some of my hair is, well, not. It did not cover my gray hair (today is my 41st birthday, so my idea of having fresh hair for my birthday dinner tonight is out the window). It did not color my roots. The ends of my hair are a different color than the crown. It does not feel any more luxurious using an oil based color. As I said, I have been coloring my own hair for years, so I know how to do it so this is not operator error. I have never had my hair turn out this badly in the past. If you have a favorite hair color, please stick to it and DO NOT even attempt to try this product. You will regret it...

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
strawberryale
Hampton, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great Color, Difficult Applicator
2/14/2013

Customer review by MamaOfTwoTweens

4.0 stars 2/14/2013 by MamaOfTwoTweens
by MamaOfTwoTweens

This color is really pretty, and very nice to your hair. There are no strong smells, and the oil definitely protected my hair. It was easy to rinse out, and left my hair feeling smooth and nice, which is not true for most other colors. The only quarrel I have with this is the shape of the applicator bottle - it is cute looking, but REALLY tough to hold on to, at least if you have small hands like I do. I found it much more difficult to get the color out than I normally do. That said, I'm buying again, because of how it did with my hair.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MamaOfTwoTweens
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great Product
2/26/2013

Customer review by Sarh72

4.0 stars 2/26/2013 by Sarh72
by Sarh72

I have curly hair which gets dry. I can't go to the salon because no matter how much they say "it won't dry out your hair," the chemicals they use always leave my hair crispy. I've always loved Garnier because their conditioners for after you color are all caps AWESOME. Olia is a lot different than other coloring products. To get all the developer out, put the cap back on and shake and then squeeze. You'll need to do this a couple times. Don't leave it on long. The developer reacts to air. The gloves are tight and cheap. I have small hands and they were tight on me. That's something Garnier may want to consider. However, the end results are worth purchasing an extra set of latex gloves. Mixing the product requires to hands and vigorous shaking. Very vigorous. Between the gloves and mixing, I had to ding this product on star on ease of use and quality. This is on the high end of box treatments so the gloves shouldn't feel so cheap. They're not unlike Wal-mart shopping bags. The color goes on a bit differently. I usually get color everywhere. I found the applicator gave me great control on where I wanted the color to go. It parted my hair very well too. However, it's not immediately apparent what areas you have treated. After it builds up, you begin to see it. If you have long hair, have a tie on hand because your hair will not stay piled with this product. What else can I say. My hair felt great after using this product. It really does improve hair. It also smells yummy. I didn't have that dull burning sensation that I get with most hair coloring products either. It's a great product -- a game changer with hair color-- but it might take a little time to get used to it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sarh72
Nashville TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Worthless
2/19/2013

Customer review by monkey1001

1.0 stars 2/19/2013 by monkey1001
by monkey1001

6.43 light natural auburn deposited almost no color on my naturally blonde hair. Left my hair rough and brittle. Not enough dye fir my shoulder length hair. Garnier's customer service suggestion? Dye my hair brown. I don't think so!

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
monkey1001
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
6.60 ROCKS!!!!
2/26/2013

Customer review by poocky1977

5.0 stars 2/26/2013 by poocky1977
by poocky1977

I love love loooove the light intense auburn, it was easy to apply, only 30 mins. and in return you get a BEAUTIFUL color and the shine and softness will impress you!!! If you're not sure about what product to get, give it a shot, for the price, the quality and above all NO AMMONIA!!!!!! Which means NO PROBLEMS!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
poocky1977
liberty,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
I love this!
1/28/2013

Customer review by pwnylover

5.0 stars 1/28/2013 by pwnylover
by pwnylover

I just dyed my hair without today, and let me tell you I loved it! It never burned ONCE! I will have to say though that the bottle is kind of hard to hold onto though. I bought the 4.60 Dark Intense Auburn color and it looks beautiful! I would suggest this to anyone. It smells amazing as well!

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pwnylover
LaPorte, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
So disappointed!
2/18/2013

Customer review by momof2angels

1.0 stars 2/18/2013 by momof2angels
by momof2angels

I really loved the idea of a dye being oil based but Garnier got it wrong. First, the packaging is horrible. All the bottles and containers are difficult to use. I wasted a lot of product due to the packaging flaws. Second, I was disappointed with my color results. I chose a color close to my natural hair color: dark blonde to medium golden blonde. My hair looks more orange than blonde, far from "golden". Also, the oil did not help my hair at all. A small chunk of hair actually fell out in the shower when I rinsed the dye out. This has never happened with a dye before. My hair was and still is (days later) coarse and dry from the dye. My hair is normally fine and soft so this is a drastic change. The idea behind this product is great but Garnier needs to make some major improvements. Overall, I would not recommend this product to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (9) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momof2angels
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
awesome!
2/16/2013

Customer review by svdandblsd1106

5.0 stars 2/16/2013 by svdandblsd1106
by svdandblsd1106

I love it! im not sure why people think its hard to use...its not at all. ive been coloring my hair for about 3 years...all the rest of the products smell awful and leave my hair dry..this one is just the opposite! my hair is usually dry and frizzy after use, but, with this, it left is soft and silky..will definitely buy this product again.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
svdandblsd1106
arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
undecided
2/25/2013

Customer review by Julzi74

2.0 stars 2/25/2013 by Julzi74
by Julzi74

i got the red hair color 660 - i agree with other users bottle is hard to hold and easily slips out of hand especially when your hand is wet - gloves are tight which makes them hard to get off when they are wet with the dye - i rinsed and rinsed and rinsed my hair out and 1 week later my hair is still dripping color dye when i am done showering - i have to wear a grubby tshirt until my hair is dry otherwise it gets on my shirts ( i managed to get the color out with some vinegar and an oxyclean soak ) - i do like the feel of my hair - red dye is the hardest on hair and my hair doesn't look as dry and fried as other dyes have made it BUT i am not happy with the constant dripping of color 1 week later - i am undecided on whether i hate or love this product - right now i am a maybe as to whether i will use it again

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Julzi74
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
DO NOT BUY THIS GARBAGE - Doesnt deserve 1 star...
12/22/2013

Customer review by Michler55

1.0 stars 12/22/2013 by Michler55
by Michler55

Went to Wal Mart today looking for hair color. I have been home coloring for almost 15 years now... The stuff I normally get did not have the color I wanted, so I thought I would give the Olia a try.... MISTAKE!! First, whoever designed the application bottle has NEVER colored their hair before. It is impossible to hold with a slick gloved hand. I couldn't even mix the color with one hand - had to use both hands to keep it from flying across the room. Second, I have short hair (my hair falls between my ear and my chin, right about mid cheek. It took every single drop of the bottle to adequately cover my hair. (And after rinsing and drying, i discovered it DIDN'T cover everything.) Anyone with shoulder length hair would have to buy 2 boxes for adequate coverage. Third, rinsing the stuff is like getting motor oil out of your hair! Its sticky and gummy, and you have to rinse forever to get it all out. Fourth, after I let the conditioner sit on my hair for at least 5 minutes (Directions say 2 minutes) and rinsed it out, my hair felt like straw... rough and dry. Finally, I get out of shower, and blow dry my hair. And that's when I realize that the 3.0 Dark Brown i put on.... is BLACK. I have jet black hair, with a few splotches throughout that didn't get covered... it's glorious, let me tell ya!! Please do not waste your money on this product. It is a complete disappointment.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Michler55
Fuquay Varina, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 99 total reviews
1-20 of 99 reviews