Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 64 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

64 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

64 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
45
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
1-20 of 64 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 64 total reviews
1-20 of 64 reviews
Very satisfied.
4/5/2014

Customer review by Chuck1330

5.0 stars 4/5/2014 by Chuck1330
by Chuck1330
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

So far I have only used the smoker 1 time. Plan on smoking some pork again this weekend. Worked great. Received after 3 days. Great shipping time. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (25) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chuck1330
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wonderful product ! Hassle free smoking.
3/22/2013

Customer review by 1bigfamilydad

5.0 stars 3/22/2013 by 1bigfamilydad
by 1bigfamilydad
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Hard to find Masterbuilt 40 inch smokers, let alone at the price Wal-mart.com had it for. I paid $60 below Cabela's sale price and the site to store free shipping was outstanding. It was delivered 1 day ahead of schedule. It is easy to see why this smoker is hard to find. Set the temp and time and add the chips and away you go. A cup of soaked chips will last 2 hours. I've been smoking food for 25 years now, with many different smokers. I used to enjoy hovering over my smoker, but now there are just too many other things to have to squeeze in a weekend. I have had it for 7 days now, and smoked with it twice. The results are fantastic. I have noticed that it is very humid, so the water pan doesn't need nearly as much water as I used to put in. Clean-up is very easy, just wipe it down. Definitely would recommend for beginner or busy experts. Side note to Wal-Mart.com : PLEASE start carrying other Masterbuilt accessories such as cold smoker attachment and add-on shelves. Thank you for a great shopping experience.

Was this review helpful? (95) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1bigfamilydad
Blair, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bring Smoked Food Into Your Home...
5/24/2014

Customer review by JPKirkpatrick

5.0 stars 5/24/2014 by JPKirkpatrick
by JPKirkpatrick
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When received, this unit requires very little in the way of assembly, and after a couple of hours to "season" the unit, you are ready to bring in unbelievably good food into your home. On my first attempt with the smoker, I did two racks of Pork Ribs, 6 Pork Steaks and two Chicken halves. I set it for 215 Deg. and 4½ Hrs. and came back every hour to put in fresh soaked Mesquite & Apple Wood chips in the smoker. At the end of the time, the food was perfect. the pork rib bones with a twist came out of the meat cleanly and the chicken was completely cooked to the bone and moist. This is the easiest way to smoke cook your meat! Note: The smoker was set up to be perfectly level and the built in drain system did not work well. The pan that is used to add moisture to the smoker actually caught 99% of the oils and water vapor, which was ok, as it increased the flavor of the meat by being basted by it's own juices.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JPKirkpatrick
Ellsinore, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very nice but some areas lacking
7/7/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 7/7/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First the good... Very easy to assemble and the wheels are a great feature. The unit heats up fast and really makes smoking foods easy for anyone. The temp probe is a fantastic feature ! I made chicken tonight it was juicy and tasty. Earlier I made venison jerky and that turned out great. The electronic temp gauge is the best feature of this unit. So nice to know the temp is regulated, unlike my previous propane smoker. NO more throwing away over cooked or burnt jerky !! It would be nice if the unit could go higher than 275, especially when doing chicken. Also the smoker tray seems to be a somewhat flimsy cut of sheet metal. I had to bend mine from the start just to get it to fit. Filling the smoker tray from the side is a great idea, but again the parts just seem a bit flimsy as they don't fit together all that well. Not sure how they could let such an important part of the system be so flimsy. All in all I would still buy this unit again.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Rockford IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great item, this is my second one
2/2/2016

Customer review by Steve

5.0 stars 2/2/2016 by Steve
by Steve

This is a great smoker for the price. The only problems I have had , was it came banged up from shipment. Looked like they just throwed it around at every stop on its way to my house, but master built was willing to repair or replace from damage. Would recommend this smoker to anyone interested in one

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Steve
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy Set-Up and First Try was Good
9/12/2015

Customer review by SmokerNovice

4.0 stars 9/12/2015 by SmokerNovice
by SmokerNovice

The set-up of the smoker went smoothly. I'm not the handiest of people so it took me a little bit longer than the 20 minutes others have indicated. But it wasn't bad. Perhaps 35 minutes? The only hitch I had was when putting on the controller unit on the top you have to slide the set screw into a slot. The slot was full with insulation and so I had to kind of dig out a little to get the screw to fit into the slot. That seemed strange to me and I'm not 100% sure if there was another way to do it or not. But it seems to work fine so hopefully I won't run into issues later. My first effort was smoking ribs. I didn't use the water pan but followed the 3-2-1 method that you can find all over the internet. The ribs were good but a little on the dry side. Perhaps using water or apple juice in the water pan will make them a little more tender. I'll certainly try that the next time. My reason for giving it only 4 stars (as opposed to 5) is the lack of information on how to actually use the smoker. The manual tells you how to set it up, and if I recall there's one "recipe" for smoking a turkey. But that was a about it. Fortunately, there are numerous recipes and advice throughout the internet which you'll need to get you on your way. Nice smoker and I'm happy with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SmokerNovice
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Load it and leave it smoker......A+!
5/4/2013

Customer review by exgrndpounder

5.0 stars 5/4/2013 by exgrndpounder
by exgrndpounder
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Smoker arrived to the store sooner than expected. Only minor assembly was required to get some small parts attached and should take less than an hour. The unit seems to be well built and the stainless body should last for years in our humid climate. Seasoned the smoker as per the instructions and then popped some ribs in the very next day. With the remote it is a breeze to monitor your smoker temp and also with the meat probe the internal temp of what you are smoking. Results of the smoking was perfect and my wife and kids left no left-overs! Cleaning isn't too bad either. This morning I have a boston-butt smoking and I know the neighbors are loving the aroma. This smoker is large enough to smoke food for a good sized group and will accomodate just about any cut of meat I can think of.

Was this review helpful? (31) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
exgrndpounder
Niceville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great smoker for beginner
7/21/2014

Customer review by amazon43

5.0 stars 7/21/2014 by amazon43
by amazon43
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have been looking at smokers for a few years and finally made a decision. I purchased this on line and was told it would be a little over a week for delivery to my home. It was here in 2 days!! couldn't believe it. Shipped out of CA to AZ so that was great. Got it put together--a snap--only took 20 minutes max. I have used it twice already on baby back ribs and brisket. This smoker works great--it is very simple and allows me to hang out with my guests while it is smoking. Its great for a beginner and easy clean up. I have a new hobby--I love looking up new recipes and trying them out. So far so good and great for the price. Recommend this product to anyone that like smoked foods. All i can say is if you get one ENJOY!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
amazon43
Buckeye
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Performed Better Than Advertised...THUSFAR!
4/10/2013

Customer review by TheProfessorSWBTS

5.0 stars 4/10/2013 by TheProfessorSWBTS
by TheProfessorSWBTS
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I read many reviews of this smoker on many websites, especially those reviews with one or two stars, before making this purchase. To be cautious, I went with Walmart because of their extended warranty (for purchase) that would lessen some of the anxieties I had from having read the one and two star reviews. Realistically, about 25% of the reviews have been problematic. Because those having a negative experience tend to be more likely to offer their review than those having a good experience, I calculate that probably only 10-15% of the smokers are actually having significant problems. Based upon this, the four to five star reviews, and the experience of a close friend with a Masterbuilt smoker, I decided to make the purchase over the internet. I was told to expect a two week delivery date, but the smoker arrived in less than one week. Great! The smoker arrived all in one piece without any damaged, broken, or missing parts. Relief! It was simple to assemble. Expected. The theromostat was rated to operate within a 15 degree temperature range (plus or minus) of the desired temperature, however, I found that my theromstat kept the desired temperature with only about a four degree range (plus or minus). Wonderful! I checked the temperature by the thermostat, the meat themometer, and my own wireless meat thermometer. All were within 2 degrees of one another. Important. I seasoned the smoker as directed and smoked lamb chops on my maiden voyage with my Smokehouse. Deeeeelicious! There was plenty of smoke with amazingly few chips. Happy. It was wonderful NOT having to devote so much attention to the smoking process as I have had to do with both my ole faithful Smoky Mountain gas smoker and my fire pit smoker. Estatic!! I am very, very happy with my smoker THUSFAR. Let's see how well it holds up going forward. I have a close friend whose Masterbuilt smoker has done exceptionally well for just over two years now. I have high hopes that mine will do likewise. If this unit holds up, I will be very, very pleased to recommend it to all my friends. BTW, you CAN use an extention cord with this unit, but be sure that the cord is properly rated to handle the electrical current your smoker will be using. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (91) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheProfessorSWBTS
Fort Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great and Easy to use
8/4/2014

Customer review by pitmistress

5.0 stars 8/4/2014 by pitmistress
by pitmistress
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I agonized hard and long about what to buy since I have had a weber for a long time and love it! I find when I have a group (30) I am struggling to cook everything on the weber. So I bought a grill and then this smoker to round out my cooking ability. This way I can cook several things at once and have someone help with the grill cooking as well. I have only used the smoker once, with a good outdoor extension cord, it heated quickly and did not have any issues. I cooked a peice of beef to shread for tacos and I cooked it six hours. It was so great to set it and visit with my friends even take a dip in the pool while it cooked! Can't wait to cook ribs, and pulled pork. It was easy to clean also......Love it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pitmistress
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for a beginner.
4/28/2014

Customer review by PDMJR

5.0 stars 4/28/2014 by PDMJR
by PDMJR
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My husband wanted a smoker for his birthday. After much research we decided on this one and it has proven to be exactly what he wanted. It has been very easy to use and does a great job. The meat he smoked has been very tasty. We would definitely recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PDMJR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
like this smoker
8/3/2015

Customer review by leif

4.0 stars 8/3/2015 by leif
by leif

My husband just loves this smoker. The only problem we had with it was that the remote didn't work. However, we contacted the company and they are sending a new one. I'm very impressed.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
leif
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Master built 40 inch electric smoker
11/25/2015

Customer review by Phil

5.0 stars 11/25/2015 by Phil
by Phil

First smoker I have ever purchased. Assembly took about an hour, then seasoned it for about 5 hours. Next, ground up some venison, mixed in some cure and slices and smoked 10 lbs of snack sticks. Overall for my first time, this smoker made it easy. Great for a beginner or chef.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Phil
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No Smoking Allowed
2/24/2015

Customer review by TomS

1.0 stars 2/24/2015 by TomS
by TomS

Smoker did not work out of the box. Assembled smoker and turned it on for the curing process. Power light went on but after 1 hour the smoker did not heat up. Called Masterbuilt Customer Service. After a lengthy hold time I got an unenthusiastic rep that asked if I was using an extension cord, I was. Was told to plug smoker directly into outlet. One hour later, still no heat. Returned smoker to local Walmart. Waiting for a new smoker (different brand) to be delivered.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TomS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great smoker for beginners
5/1/2014

Customer review by LesiDave

4.0 stars 5/1/2014 by LesiDave
by LesiDave
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my first smoker and I love it. Assembling was very easy as well as using it. Smoked chicken and ribs and both were great. Smoker keeps temperature without any problems. Just be careful when loading wood chips. Load max 1 cup. It will last around 45 minutes. Generally, I am very satisfied, only would expect this smoker to be built with better precision.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LesiDave
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great smoker
11/23/2015

Customer review by mmyfce

5.0 stars 11/23/2015 by mmyfce
by mmyfce

I just got this smoker, and have already used it twice. I am looking forward to doing the thanksgiving turkey this year.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mmyfce
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Masterbuilt 40 inch Electric Smoker Model 20070311
11/14/2015

Customer review by MacD

5.0 stars 11/14/2015 by MacD
by MacD

So far so good. It arrived from Walmart in two days, assembly was easy. When I plugged it in, the temperature was about 10 degrees off but the manual said the temperature can fluctuate 10 to 15 degrees. As of right no complaints, it works as stated. I did get the three year extended from Walmart just in case.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MacD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/9/2013

Customer review by manofsmoke

5.0 stars 7/9/2013 by manofsmoke
by manofsmoke

I have owned this smoker for over 3 years with very good results. This smoker performed much better than I expected. I have smoked brisket, turkey, leg of lamb, beef ribs & chicken all with exceptionally good results, voice by those that have eaten the food. I have used mesquite, hickory, apple, peach, cherry, pecan, oak and grape woods to smoke with, outstanding results. I recommend that you go very easy with grape as it is a very heavy smoke flavor. Only one thing has broken and that was the handle on the chip holder. I highly recommend this smoker. Well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (20) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
manofsmoke
Moore, Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Works well and easy to use
9/7/2015

Customer review by Bill

4.0 stars 9/7/2015 by Bill
by Bill

First project was smoking three sides of St Louis style pork ribs. Came out excellent after 10 hours of cooking. Cleaning the unit is very difficult and time-consuming. A great value. Paid $150 less than from other vendors.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bill
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window
11/16/2015

Customer review by Wags

5.0 stars 11/16/2015 by Wags
by Wags

What can I say............. It's GREAT. I love my smoker. Arrived in 2 days.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wags
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 64 total reviews
1-20 of 64 reviews