Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 34 reviews | 1.6 out of 5

1.5 stars

34 reviews | 1.6 out of 5

5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 stars
25
15%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 34 total reviews
Love this it really works!
8/28/2014

Customer review by Bryght

5.0 stars by Bryght

I am a swimmer and I am always looking for a top coat that is chip resistant. I am in the pool 4 x a week, workouts are 90 mins, and we swim on average 3 thousand meters every workout. I use grow stronger base coat, 2 coats of any essie nail color, then no chips ahead top coat. My manicure lasts at least 5 days with no chips! AND that is with being in the water, my nails hitting the walls on my finishes and all the normal everyday wear and tear( like washing dishes, cooking house cleaning). You have to make sure you use a proper base coat as well as top coat otherwise it will not work. I tried using the cheaper brands of nail polish even with their base and top coats. It did not even last one swim workout! Essie is by the best nail polish out there right now.

Bryght
Long Beach, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works perfect!
8/28/2014

Customer review by Codiegirl

5.0 stars by Codiegirl

This is what I've been looking for to make my polish last. I didn't have any problems with bubbles and it dried perfectly. It doubles the time my polish lasts. If used by itself, it stays on for a long time and helps strengthen my nails.

Codiegirl
Sacramento, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
PERFECT!!!
9/20/2014

Customer review by venersa

5.0 stars by venersa

I am a competitive swimmer who swims 6 times a week and have workouts for 2 hours. everytime i paint my nails, the next day, they tend to chip off because of the chlorine and during workouts. when i bought this polish, i tested it out right away. the next morning when i had practice, it didn't chip off at all.

venersa
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Mostly Impressed!
8/28/2014

Customer review by SuburbanFarmerChick

4.0 stars by SuburbanFarmerChick

All of the other review are accurate in expressing the longer dry time for this top coat. However, when it does completely dry (sadly over 24 hours) it works as promised. I have had the same polish on for about 5 days and there are no chips. My nails look freshly painted! Usually my nails chip with-in the first 2 days, so this is wonderful. I do recommend it, but with a warning on the long dry time.

SuburbanFarmerChick
NJ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works Great!
1/9/2015

Customer review by polishlover5

4.0 stars by polishlover5

I just bought this about 2 weeks ago and my nail polish and nails still look like I just had them done! Although there showed to be a few bubbles on one of my nails, I would still recommend this product. I would use by itself or as a top coat.

polishlover5
Phoenix, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good but never actually dries
8/17/2014

Customer review by Ells

2.0 stars by Ells

Got this top coat a few weeks back hoping to extend the wear of my polish. I loved it the first try because it didn't chip but the more I used it the less I loved it. Hours after I applied the top coat, it still wasn't dry and I had to be careful not to mess anything up. The next day it still really wasn't dry either, I could still press down on a nail with a finger and the finger print would be there.

Ells
Houston, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disappointment
10/6/2014

Customer review by ladyemma7

2.0 stars by ladyemma7

I bought this product about six months ago and was really excited to try it. When I did I was so disappointed. I found that this did not prevent my nails from chipping at all. It chips faster on some nails than others but I am still not satisfied. I would not repurchase this product again.

ladyemma7
Massachusetts, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not quite there.
10/10/2014

Customer review by caitlinf

2.0 stars by caitlinf

I love pretty much everything Essie. This top coat was disappointing. It takes FOREVER to dry and I always ended up with bubbles and smudges. I gave it two stars because once it is dry it doesn't really chip, which is what it advertises. I would not recommend this top coat.

caitlinf
Denver, CO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not my most favorite top coat!
2/9/2015

Customer review by tayfay8

2.0 stars by tayfay8

HI! I am an extremely loyal customer when it comes to nail polish. Essie is my go-to! I think I have over 40 colors now! So as a loyal customer I just wanted to give some feedback about a couple of the new bottom and top coat polishes. Like I said I have lots of Essie nail polish and have been through multiple bottles of both top coat and bottom coat. Therefore, when I saw there were new options I was extremely excited. I purchased both of the "Protein Base Coat" and the "No Chips Ahead" top coat. To my dismay, I have had trouble with these two products. Now I don't want to get this review confused with a complaint, because I don't want to complain. I want to inform you of the results I am experiencing with these products. Ever since I switched to the two polishes stated above, the finished product is not nearly as good as when using the "Good to go" top coat and the "Grow Stronger" base coat. With the new top and base coat, I have experience bubbles on my nails and little bumps and imperfections. Now with the previous base and top coat, I used to get so many compliments a day about my nails asking if my nails were gel. I would ALWAYS explain that it was Essie, the color of the nail polish, which everyone always loves, because they are so creative, and they were so surprised that it was standard nail polish and not gel. And now with the new base and top coat I am not getting the same results. The base coat is very watery and the top coat results in bubbles and bumps on my nails. So in closing, I do not want you to think this is a bad review or anything like that. I just want you to be aware that the new product isn't looking as great as the old! I will still continue to buy every new color that is out, but I am just hoping the old base and top coat will come back so I can show off my nails and rave about Essie like I use to do!!

tayfay8
Charlotte, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wouldn't Recommend - It Bubbles
7/27/2014

Customer review by Danni

1.0 stars by Danni

I'm surprised to be the first person to review this because I imagine everyone is having bad results. My roommate and I both have this and have the same problem - it bubbles and takes forever to dry...even when you use the top coat hours after the color has dried. Really surprising coming from Essie.

Danni
New York, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
100% agree with Dannie
8/1/2014

Customer review by jack

1.0 stars by jack

It never dry! and do not really work. read the review below. it is very helpful! maybe use "Good to go" instead, works better!

jack
Montréal, QC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed...
8/12/2014

Customer review by steph5

1.0 stars by steph5

Before buying this I was always saying that Essie were great, dry rapidly, didn't chips and were just great! But... not this time the product doesn't dry.. even after waiting more than 45 mins...and 2 days after the Essie colour chips.

steph5
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worst Top Coat
9/1/2014

Customer review by aynzosaurus

1.0 stars by aynzosaurus

I am very surprised at how long this takes to dry. I painted my nails in the evening and they were STILL tacky the following more. Very disappointed in this product.

aynzosaurus
Omaha, NE, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Waste of Money
9/2/2014

Customer review by madewithc4re

1.0 stars by madewithc4re

Don't buy this!!! I got this 2 months ago and was very excited to try it out. The top coat is very thin and almost watery, yet is has a very strong smell. My nails were very shiny after applying this, but they would not dry, even after I waited a good 2 hours without touching anything. When I went to bed 5 hours later, I woke up with smear marks on 4 finders. Then, my nails chipped just 2 days later and cracks began to appear.

madewithc4re
Would recommend to a friend? No
Never dries
9/22/2014

Customer review by Tailer

1.0 stars by Tailer

I love essie products but this top coat refuses to dry. For hours after you put it on if you touch anything ut smudges and wipes away.

Tailer
Alaska, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
I'll stick with "Good to Go"
10/26/2014

Customer review by KAG1

1.0 stars by KAG1

Bought this trying to extend the life of my polish, instead I waited hours for it to dry and it never fully dried and I was left with nothing but smudges.

KAG1
NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
More chips ahead
11/3/2014

Customer review by Fnulee

1.0 stars by Fnulee

I've used this twice and both times I experienced chips. This time in particular, my polish not only chipped but peeled more than usual. I use it on top of Essie nail color too.

Fnulee
Wahiawā, HI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Terrible Results
11/3/2014

Customer review by LynnChi1255

1.0 stars by LynnChi1255

I've now used this twice with the same awful results, it bubbles and takes forever to dry, if at all. My nails look terrible, you wouldn't know I just did them yesterday. Now I have to remove the polish, what a waste!

LynnChi1255
Chicago, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
sigh.... so disappointed
11/21/2014

Customer review by SamC

1.0 stars by SamC

I like all the others was excited for a great top coat. I'm extremely disappointed. after 2 hrs I'm lying here and they're still not dry and I now have fingerprint creases on them because I fell asleep.

SamC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed
11/25/2014

Customer review by barbie09

1.0 stars by barbie09

I love Essie, but this product not so much. It takes forever to dry and even hours later its still not quite dry. I painted my nails in the morning and they felt dry after a really long time and woke up the next day with sheet marks on my nails. I would of bought the good to go top coat but they did not have it at the store at the time so I got this one. Good to go is great I highly recommend that one.

barbie09
New York, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 34 total reviews